(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Came back fr gynae not long ago. A bit disappointed 'cos gynae didn't even hazard a guess on gender... looks like i've to wait for detailed scan on 4 May. So many of u having ur scan much earlier than me... *envious!* haha...

The 'blood donation' went well tho'. Drew only 1 tube but itz a huge tube. Lucky gynae was skillful, didn't feel any pain.

My gynae charges $29 for NeuroGain, which is same as Unity Pharmacy, so guess i'll juz buy directly fr him.

puppylove ... didnt u ask the gynae ?? oh he just dont bother to scan ahahha

nvm keep you in suspense, so that you can start to play the bb gender quiz. let us know ur results !

wahhhh, 1 morning aredi sooo many posts!!!

hi puppylove,
my detailed scan later than u leh..on 8th may..
did u ask gynae abt baby's gender?or mayb he dun wana give u false hope..cos my chk up on tues gynae told me baby's shy cant tel e sex..so wait til next chk up on 25th apr

hi eling,
i chk my email nw...gum xia

hi ilovebabies & pjen,
i asked the gynae abt gender last time, n he said normally can only tell at 5th mth, so can tell he's not the kind to give predictions loh...

then today's visit happened so fast, i even forgot to ask him some qns i had! go in, scan, draw blood, then out! Saw gynae measuring the size of bb's head, n he showed me the body n legs as well, but the monitor not v clear leh...

btw, i clicked on this link n it immediately shows the results... how do i go to the questions? http://www.justmommies.com/quizzes/getgenderpredict.php

oh, thanks ilovebabies! mine's 58% boy. The motherhd gender predictor also showed boy, n i'm hoping for a boy. So so far, quite consistent! hahaha!

Hi Gals

I am 15+ weeks and according to my gynae baby's masurements are proportion becuz he said for asian size the legs and body are always smaller only the head is bigger. So mine are all above the avg and is accordingly to the american size chart. Baby's weigh 125g now.

I shall be doing my detailed scan on 9 may.

Hi gals, so many posts!!! I did the gender test from Melissa. 67% chance of having a boy. alamak!

anyways, will be doing my normal scan tomorrow. hopefully can confirm the gender.

my gynae charges $50 for Neurogain & $10 for Obimin. I will definitely not buy the fish oil from the gynae again...so ex.

I hope to go natural all the way. Heard that the epidural injection is just as painful as the birthing.

Do you gals sleep on your left side at night? I read somewhere that this is the optimal position to sleep. I have been trying to sleep on my left everyday, but there are days that I have problem doing so (cos I am a right side sleeper)...

Do you know if I will be doing any harm to the baby if I sleep on my back or my right throughout the night?

hi peachie

I have also started to train myself to sleep on the left ... and I am those who seldom moves at nite ... then when I woke up, i realised I have backache due to the stagnant sleeping position ahah .. but according to frens, sleeping on the left or right is ok for the bb ... left is optimal of cos ... just prevent sleep on your back .. I cant really do it now as i feel that my tummy is pressing on me... and may become breatheless...

lucky for me I've always been a side sleeper even b4 pregnancy. I toss quite abit in bed from 1 side to another. I think I read somewhere that sleeping on left side is preferred cos sleeping on right will place additional pressure on the mummy's liver?

do u gals suffer any hair loss now ?
I think I am dropping more hair than prior to pregnancy ... but some says mothers start to drop hair usually 4 mths after delivery ...

I am sufferring from hair loss too! My floor tiles are white, so it is extremely obvious that I am losing hair all over the flat.

I have backache whenever I wake up during the night too. And I don't sleep well on my left. According to my colleague, sleeping on the right is bad cos the placenta is on the right side, and I may be obstructing the flow of oxygen and food to the baby if I sleep on my right. Is this true?

Swell Maternity is hving sale uo to 50% off. So make your way to Paragon....dont forget wallet though

Angeline,
My SIL did that hair strand 'test' on me when it was preg wt my twins. Since I had an older girl already, she did it twice. First time it rocked back n forth so it was right. But when she did it 2nd time, the ring didnt budge at all so we found it weird. The nxt day when we went for checkup, found out we were having twin boys!! Dont think its reliable but def fun. Hv you found gyne in HK already??

ilovebabies
yupe, its true that after giving birth you will start to drop quite alot of hair. I was shock too so i hav to use a hairloss control shampoo during tat time. As for during pregnancy, I didnt ntoice there is any hairloss.

hi 77peachie, ive read from pregnancy magazine tt sleeping on the left will ease the blood flow to bb. but im oso used to sleeping on the right.

i did the prediction test. im having 50% chance of having a boy. so tt means 50% chance of having a girl too. so back to square one. hahaha...

TGIF
morning mommies...

i did e test too..58% girl...bt hor my fren say since my baby movements alot can b boy oso...hiazzz that suspense feeling somex gets me crazy..keke

hi ilovebabies,
i thk its normal if u encounter hair loss..i read this frm the pre pregnancy book..me worse leh..scalp gets oily by e end of e day...nw i hv to wash hair evyday....if no wash, its gross lor...& eeeeeeeeeee...

mommies who had given me the contact details, i hv aredi update & email was sent out ytday..

morning gals !!

ok at least I am not the only one losing hair .. cos what I read from websites are mostly hair loss after delivery ... count myself lucky to have thick hair prior to pregnancy .. but it is still a worrying sight.

maybe we shld include in our table, the predicted gender and the confirmed gender, then we'll know how accurate the quiz is !!

hi Sasha,
Glad to see you back in the forum, I have so many advice that I would like to get from you. I do have a gynae in HK. It's 80% decided that I will go back to SGP for the delivery of the baby cos I think costs, facilities and benefits are better for me and the baby there. Do you mind to private message me with your contact so that I can ask you more question about how you managed the last time. Thanks.

For those going shopping for maternity clothings. You might want to take a look at Chloe's latest Autum/Winter 06 collection on Style.com to get some ideas. This collection has quite a few pieces that may look good and stylist for us preggies.

ilovebabies,
Good idea. Predicted Gender vs Confirmed gender! Think a lot of girls here predicted more boys vs girls. Resha, the predictor predicts a boy for you right? But you're probably having a girl right? Hehehe.. Don't believe in this predictor thing. Just for fun only!

Regarding sleep,
I always sleep on my left side but sometimes I found myself tossing and turning to my back or my left. I don't think we should be obssessively worried about that. As long as we can have enough sleep, baby is healthy too.

I'm going to see my gynae for a regular scan + result of OSCAR test later! Hopefully bb can cooperate and spread its leg wide eagle and no cord on the way!!! I'll update you guys! Remember, Chinese calendar and all prediction quizes predicts a boy for me and for some reason, my father keeps calling the baby "boy". So let's see if those are true or false! So excited! Can't work!

helo helO! firstly, bjiou glad u are okie. gynae said rest more u must rest more kae? dun squat too much, take care!

sasha....mu haha hahaa yesterday went down to swell! didn't even know they have sales hehehe. bought another pair of white pants which i really like (30%).
but the rest of the things i like not on sale so din buy.

peachie, ilovebabies, angeline, edksd, sleeping on the left will allow our kidneys and liver to discharge waste more efficiently. and also allow more blood and oxygen flow to the placenta. i dun think its coz the placenta is on the right though, its due to some other reasons. but i also read that its alright to sleep on your right, it doesn't harm the baby. as for sleeping on the back, they said its okie as long as you dun feel breathless (like ilovebabies) and if u are not too heavy with child yet. coz when u are heavy with child the weight of the uterus will press down on the major vessel on ur back and cause u to feel breathless, as well as restricting blood flow to the uterus. if u feel fine, its alright to sleep on ur back sometimes. for me, i slept best on my back. when i am conscious or awake i will turn to my sides (preferably left, sometimes right). but hard to fall asleep like that, so usually turn on my back too.

ilovebabies and peachie, if u sleep on ur side often, try to hug a pillow or bolster between ur knees/legs. it helps to align ur spine to its natural position. if u dun have anything between ur legs, ur back is not aligned and u have backaches. if u can, can also put a pillow behind ur back to support when u sleep. alternatively, if it still doesn't help, it could be coz ur tummy is growing and its heavy for ur back. so put a thin pillow, or buy those specially made maternity pillow (triangle wedge shape ones) to put under ur tummy to support it. will ease ur backache problems.
but we dun need that so soon coz we only at most 4 mths now right? so try the pillow or bolster thingie first.

hey ladies

I've been feeling alot of bb movements when im in my sitting position. Its kind of tickles you when bb's move. How abt all of u? Anyone here already feeling punching from bb.

bjiou, i'm not sure if i'm too sensitive..i got the kind of punching pain inside yesterday. And it was twice, not sure isit my bb kicking or punching mi!

hi daisybuttons

yes I do sleep everynite with a pillow between my legs .. make me sleep better also ... cant imagine when our tummy gets real BIG !!

lichristin, yah i am doing on 17 April 06 but i cant remember the time, got see go home check my appt card.. I also do at TMC. What time is ur appt?

bijiou, i also only feel alot of flushing movement sometime is very obvious.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Preferred Birth method </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>80% girl</TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural birth WITH epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppylove</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD></TD><TD>natural brith w/o epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>End Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>HK</TD><TD></TD><TD>C-section with Epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

aiyo so envy u gals. . so fast feeling the kicking ah ? I only felt that the bb turned, once only ... am looking forward to that ... and next week is my 19th week ... !

looks like this morning's topics were on hair n sleeping position!
I read that due to hormone changes, many actually will hv healthier, glowing hair while pregnant, which doesn't drop much. After delivery, all the hair that was supposed to drop while we're pregnant will drop. Tatz why we'll experience major hair loss. But I guess diff pp will experience diff levels of severity..

thanks daisybuttons for tat detailed description on sleeping. I've been sleeping on my back 'cos itz most comfy. Hv been trying to lie on the left, but somehow the tummy seems to 'sag' towards the bed so the strain is uncomfortable. Hv tried using pillows to support but still not comfy. Maybe my bed is too soft??

btw, any of u experience dry nipples? Is it safe to apply moisturiser?

hi puppylove

i did realised in my 1st tri, my nipples skin is coming off ... it lasted for quite a few weeks but now it is ok....

It wasnt painful at all during the peeling .. probably it is a change in skin to prepare for breastfeeding ? eheh

anyway i also realised my nipples are glowing leh ... how abt u gals ?

how do they 'glow' har? heheh... I only noticed they're enlarged loh, and probably tatz why the skin is dry. No peeling though.. Normal moisturiser should be quite safe hor?

hi puppylove,
me oso hv peeling nipples...bt i dun do anything to it cos i dun wat to use is safe leh..

oh ya talkg abt hair, my tummy n chest area developing more n more hair....soooo weird lor

pjen .. I am also experiencing the same thing .... hai suddenly tot I become a hairy monster .. so scary !! see now i lose the hair on top and grow it over my tummy and chest ... luckily the newly grown hair is v fine ...

bt hor puppylove,mine not really fine hairs leh..
quite long n black leh....thou e book i study says its normal to hv hair growing those areas, it wil eventually drop jus b4 or after we deliver..duno true anot...wait i not sexy liao...

i have another question to ask.
Do you think its safe for us to use those home massaging machines now?

I get the occasion shoulder / back aches and frequent headaches. I have those Osim foot massagers, tapping machine, and the thing with the sticky pad that we can stick to our body and it will send electron pulses to massage.

Do you think we can use these equipment to ease our aches?

hi angeline

My gynae told me before that preggies can go for facials and shoulder massages, but DO NOT touch the tummy area.

But i feel the electric pulses one are not safe leh .... we wont know how our bb feels inside ... better don't use.

Did u chk with ur gynae ?

Probably feet massage is ok ...

alternatively, you can look for professional who provides massages to preggies.