(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi edksd

my baby is in the kneeling position leh .... head on the bottom left and leg on the top right of my tummy ... so the pic shows that the bb is kneeling ...

tot it is normal ?

u know I heard some myths ... if u are longing for a boy and it turns out to be a gal, the gal may become more boyish and vice versa .... ahahha not sure if it true ... so gals, stop fantasizing abt the gender in case the myth is true

hi melissa, do u know what oscar test includes? how many tubes of blood u've drawn for this test? our edd is a day apart so i guess u're wk 15 today?

hi ilovebabies,

what i meant by kneeling is u can see the bb legs in kneeling position, not stretched out straight or anything. u know the legs positioned like a '<' sign. meaning knee pointing out, feet underneath the buttock.

helo little pony and elaine, congrats on finding out the gender!

edksd, dun be so worried, i can understand ur paranoia but its true that for TMC, no news is bad news. when i was taking my blood tests of the 5 tubes of blood, i got ask the nurse and she told me that they will call regarding the beta hcg test (oscar), but the rest of the blood tests they will leave it to the gynae to explain during next visit. and the nurse will not call b4 that if no bad news. think a few days later (2-3days) the nurse updated me on the beta hcg results, but din mention the rest of the blood tests and i didn't ask since i oredi know how things work. don't worry too much kae? if you wait til 1 week is up and they didn't call, its good news!!!
when is ur next checkup?

littlepony, oh ur nose is red ah? at one point of time, i was firmly convinced a red nose is a sure sign of a boy, coz i heard of it and i see actual cases. but there was once i saw my friend's 2 SIL, one very obvious red nose and look so tired and no makeup, the other one very jolly and radiant. i guessed the 1st one is boy, 2nd one girl, but when i asked my friend, its the opposite! then later i heard my other friend said if carrying girls the mother will not look as radiant or pretty coz the girl will take away some of the mother's beauty. opp for the boy. hahahhaa so it sorta make me understand all theories are only 50% right hehehee.

what abt ur tummy? for those carrying boys and those carrying girls (like i lovebabies who already know), what is the shapeo of your tummy like. i heard :

girls : tummy will be quite broad in shape, like the fats and growth is spread to the sides of the tummy.

boy : tummy will be pointed. to me, that means very rounded, like the exact shape of a ball inside ur tummy like that. from behind, cannot see u preggie.

smiley, you are right, anticipation is soooo exciting!
eh, i just notice ur details not in the chart above huh?

Hi Smiley,

Not v sure with iPod. But I can link my Palm to speakers and play music from there and read my ebook at the same time in the room... It's pretty cool. But I think shouldn't be an issue. Just bring your iPod to Funan and ask around.

Hi Daisybuttons and E-ling,

Thanks for the recommendation on Swell, Mothers and Vogue and Maternity House. Haven't been to all 3 before. Maybe I will pop by this weekend. Trying to cut down on the things I need to buy cos have been buying a lot lately. Maybe will get 2 tops and 2 bottoms for a start first.

Think it would be a great idea to rent maternity clothes! Saw this place called Maternity Xchange at Specialist Shopping Centre. Very ex. Haiz. Renting 4 outfits for 1 month cost $299. If got cheaper shops, I would surely rent. For people who just want 1 kid like me, very heart pain to buy and wear for a few months.

Bijou,

You are amazing!!! How do you find the stamina to look after so many? Really admire you. I have trouble coping with even 1.

I tried the pregnancy predictor. Yay! I am going to have a girl! Anyone knows whether the predictor is accurate or not?

hi edksd

yes my baby legs is in kneeling position ... with the v shape very obvious in the printout leh ...

I can show u ...

daisybuttons, ppl say I dun look like preggie from behind leh .. but mine cld be a gal ??? Yest my col also commented i looked radiant and no change of looks after pregnancy ... so she also guessed that mine is a gal !!!
faintz !

helo peachie, hehehe swell and blisse maternity are the 2 shops i am hitting tomorrow with my friend.
i have left swell to the last coz we agreed to go together, and also that i know its super expensive but super nice too, so i know i sure go berserk there. so wanna make sure i have some clothes oredi before i go there so i wun spend too much hehehee....

yep i know of maternity exchange but i will never rent maternity clothes from ppl i dun know.

oh the pregnancy predictor ah, depends leh. i heard of ppl who get it right and ppl who got the wrong results.

bjiou yah loh, how do you cope? i guess u have been coping well or else ur hubby wun want #4?? who takes care of the kids when u work?

ilovebabies hehehe confusing hor? hehehe so cute.

littlepony, but ur tummy showing from the front liaoz? actually whether can see from behind a not think only plays a factor when u get bigger. but if ur tummy showing a bit oredi, can see the shape vaguely? hehehee...

heehee..ilovebabies... then it also means that if I am carrying a boy and i fantasize a boy, my boy would be very macho in the future.. and vice versa for a girl.. more feminine! Heh heh heh... :p

Daisybutton, I am not sure of my due date leh. My gynae gave a range from 18th to 25th Sept based on my last checkup. My hospital is TMC. I am 29 this year.

Peachie, maybe i will try that this weekend. But right now I am more interested in getting a digital camera and a video cam to capture shots of my baby. Very confused over so many models. I went to Sim Lim before and nearly got tricked into buying a very old and obsolete model!! Lucky I didn't buy from that man!

hi smiley

ahah You can try that !! believe it at ur own risk hor

i tot locals buying digital products at Sim Lim shld be quite ok ?

anyway I suggest you visit harvey norman.. do you know you can bargain there ? bargain for discounts or goodies ... that time I bgt a Olympus digital camera i get quite a fair bit of free stuff

Smiley i recommend the CASIO Slim cameras series ... sorry I dont know the model name .. but this camera has a fast shutter speed. You know how difficult it is to capture babies or kids pic esp they move about so frequently .... so this camera is able to capture moving pictures quite well.. I tried it before ... you may want to go take a look.
btw it is those slim and small type of camera that is quite popular nowadays ...

as for video cam.... I dont have any recommendation. I have a JVC one .. v small also ... which I bgt many yrs ago ....

hi ilovebabies, so urs is oso in kneeling position? tts good. at least im not the odd one out. when i told my mother n friend who's oso currently pregnant, they were both surprised. gave me scare.

hi edksd

ya ... surprise meh ?? if u see those baby website some babies are shown in kneeling position also leh ... so I din find it weird ....

hi daisybuttons, what's beta hcg by the way? what does it tells?

alamak, tt means ive to wait 1 wk. my next gynae appointment is 4 wks later. v long leh.

hi all, i oso heard tt when u look radiant and normal, u're carrying a boy. if u look tired and w breakouts, u're carrying a girl.

my friend has no breakout, look normal self. she's carrying a boy.

as for me, i'm having breakouts and look damn tired. so i guess mine is a girl.

but to me, ive no preference whether girl or boy.

Hi Smiley, we are the same age, scarly we went to the same school! u wanna them to update your chart for you? gotta provide ur gynae name too. who is updating huh? hehehe...
aiyoh why the sim lim man so bad one. sometimes they see u girl they tot u technical illiterate so they wanna cheat u money. if u not sure, go with ur hubby or guy coll next time, let them do the asking, they wun dare to bluf. or u can do ur camera research on the internet too.

edksd, beta hcg is something present in our blood from the time we pregnant. it is the hormone that pregnancy test kits test for, to give a positive. and it is also the hormone that gives you morning sickness. for the same reason, morning sickness eases off in the 2nd tri, after 12-14 weeks because thats when the beta hcg drops then remains constant. in the 1st tri, it rises so causing worse and worse MS. so for oscar test, they test the level of beta hcg in ur blood, as well as PAPP-A which i forgot what it stands for. since beta hcg supposed to drop around that time, there is a "safe" range. the blood test results will test the amt of beta hcg then couple it with ur NT scan to give u the oscar test results. by right, if u taking only the beta hcg blood test, u only need to draw one tube of blood. but rarely lah, coz most of the time they draw more...

hi daisybuttons,

thanks for the explaination. i heard from most of u tt oscar test is to be done ard wk20 is it? im only in wk14+. so i duno what tests i took on monday :p

for those of u who've done the detailed scan ard wk20, how long is the session do u know?

my next appointment gynae will be doing the detailed scan for me. i'll be 18 wk 5 day only. duno whether can check accurately or not.

daisybuttons,
Think they give extra tubes of blood to a vampire leh.. hehehe.. Most of us take 3 max only! LOL.

Hey I heard about round and pointed tummy being boy and wide being girl too. And for boy-carriers, mothers are radiant and vice versa for girls. I don't look pregnant from the back and my tummy is definitely pointed b'cos I still have my waistline. I can only confirm my findings this friday IF bb can cooperate..hehehe.. so interesting to see you all speculate the gender!!!

edksd,
My oscar test draws 3 tubes of blood from me. The test will tell me if bb has Down Syndrome and other chromosomal abnormalities. Yes I'm 15 weeks today!! Very excited but not halfway though. Normal pregnancy is 40 weeks right? 20 weeks then halfway there. I can't wait to go for my detail scan!

Smiley,
Getting a digital camera izzit? Get one with anti-shake stabilizer b'cos you really need to get sharp pictures and you won't believe how much your hands shake sometimes. Newer cameras have this. Stick with Cannon, Casio, Nikkon, Olympus or Fujifilm. The other brands I've tried, some night shots are horrible and need extra flash. You can go to asia.cnet.com to see reviews of latest digital camera. Oh get one that can record video as long as your memory card allows it. You will need videos once your baby starts to move around!

Hi Smiley,

I bought a videocam in Dec 2004. As with most of my purchases, it was a spur of the moment decision cos I thought it was a great bargain. I received my bonus that week, and was itching to buy something. When I passed by Harvey Norman and saw that they have a videocam promotion, I grabbed the JVC videocam on sale for $649, which was originally sold for $1499.

Anyway, I regretted the decision the moment I got home. The low-light performance was really bad, and the videocam has very slow response when it comes to its auto-focus function. Fortunately for me, I went back to Harvey Norman the next day and practically begged them to allow an exchange (refund is out of the question), and they allowed it. I returned the JVC cam-corder, and I was given a letter to come back to exchange for another cam-corder within a week. That one week was one of my greatest crash courses on the world of cam-corders. A good place to start is all the tech websites such as C-Net, or hardwarezone. There are really many brands out there with varied reviews. Basically, it is good to know your own budget for a start. What are the specs that you really want? Do u need an external microphone or extra flash? If yes, then u need one with a hot-shoe. Will you be filming much in low light conditions? Is colour correction very important to you? If yes, you may wish to get a camcorder with 3CCD. For a start, Panasonic and Sony are both great brands that are widely recommended. But there are some models of Canon and JVC that are quite good too.

One advice is that do not try the videocam in the cam-corder section. That section is always brightly lit. Go to a spot that is dimmer. All camcorder performance will be compromised under low light conditions. See if the shots are grainy. And see if the auto-focus is very slow. If can, hook it up to a TV set and look at the colour correction. The JVC one which I almost got came out with a slight bluish tinge under white light conditions. You won't be able to detect this unless you hook it up to a TV set.

Anyway, I bought a Sony HC19 for $849. It has been a great videocam for someone who is not tech savvy like me. It has fast response and great color correction. But the downside is that it is an entry level model. So if I am a pro, the manual functions are pathetic. But since I used it only when I go abroad, which is once or twice a year, the videocam I got is sufficient to meet my needs. For Panasonic entry models, the lens used are in-house manufactured by Panasonic. It is only the higher end models that are fitted with professional lens. For Sony, all models use Carl Zweiss professional lens. This may be one of the things you may want to look out for.

Just a word of caution - the camcorder you buy is just the tip of the ice-berg on your expenditures. You still need an extra battery which is another $150-$200 (since the battery that comes with it only last for 1.5hrs of filming or so, and the last thing u want is to run out of batt in the middle), a separate charger (another $60-80) since u may suffer power outages when abroad and this will spoil your camcorder, if u use it to charge. Plus if you need a separate flash to film in low light, it is another $150. Plus you need to get other basic stuffs like wide angle lens ($70-$100), to give your shots greater depth, a tripod to reduce the shaky movement ($30-$50), and many other stuffs like UV filters (to give optimal outdoor shots).

I went into Harvey Norman thinking that I would spend $649. But I came out spending $849 on the camcorder, and another $600 on the rest of the accessories. Plus we need a high end computer with a processor of at least 2 GHz to convert the digital images from tape to VCDs. Anyway, those were the days when my hubby and I were without much financial commitments (ie no car, no kid)...

On the upside, a camcorder really does wonders. It captures the sights and sounds in a way that no camera can. And filming is a great hobby to cultivate. It is a long learning process. If you are on a tight budget and really cannot do without a camcorder, then my advice is to get a camcorder first, and do without the accessories.

Hi ilovebabies, daisybuttons and melissa,

Thanks for your recommendation! My hubby would like a Canon Powershot but I find that too bulky. But the quality of the pics is really nice. I prefer Canon Ixus or Casio Exlim (?) coz they are sleeker and lighter, but these small cameras usually difficult to take moving pictures or when there's low light condition. I will take your advice to choose one with fast shutter speed and anti-shake stabilizer coz babies move a lot. Must make sure I capture their expression

Daisybuttons, yah loh.. Singapore not very big. Maybe we were from the same school before.. hahaha!

Wow peachie! Thanks for the detailed analysis! Sorry I didn't get that yet when I was posting my earlier message.

My hubby and I are thinking of getting Sony 755 (or something like that). It is using miniDVD instead of tape. The price is a bit steep, $1299, and of coz without the accessories you mention yet. We find that it is not bad, but in low light condition, the picture turns greenish. The Canon one the Sim Lim guy showed me is still colourful in low light conditions, but the model is very old and out dated liao.

here's a useful site on digital cameras inc. in-depth reviews, complete specs, and comparisons between models. Prices n launch dates r US-based. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sidebyside.asp

smiley,
i recommend MS Colour at AMK - can get v good prices for camera n accessories. Once u've identified a camera model u want, get an e-quote fr them, then bring the e-quote printout to the shop. E-quote prices r cheaper than the price u'll get if u juz walk in. Here's the link: http://www.mscolor.com.sg/

if u're going Sim Lim again, u shld visit Alan Photo. Juz say ur friends bought fr there n recommended the shop to u, n try to bargain for better price.

As for videocam, i'm using Sony DCR-HC90E, which is v handy n has excellent features. A cheaper alternative is Sony DCR-HC42E. Info for both can be found here: http://www.sonystyle.com.sg/sonystyle/jsp/smallproduct/smallproductdisplay.jsp?Level1=26947&amp;Level2=2041&amp;Level3=4128

As peachie mentioned, got to budget for accessories. I bought extra batteries n wide-angle lens.

I recommend the video store in Clementi, opposite Ginza Plaza. Very good price, friendly n knowledgeable sales staff. Address is the last item in this page: http://www.sony.com.sg/Sony_New/where_to_buy/where_to_buy.html

Digital cams can take videos, while videocams can take photos. If u're thinking of getting juz one, then got to consider whether u prefer good photos or good video loh. I would say videocam would be a better buy 'cos u can capture movements n sounds, plus take reasonably good photos. Juz my 2-cents.

helo edksd, no, Oscar test can only be done between 11 and 14 weeks. any other chromosome abnormablity test done later than that is triple test or others, cannot be oscar oredi.

melissa hahahaha, give blood to vampire...hehehhee. no lah. all of us have different blood tests cos our gynaes diff clinics so different practices, and we test for different things.
oh, really, u still have ur waist line?? what u mean, mean when u measure the circumference ur waistline didn't increase or what?

peachie, wow thats a detailed analysis of video cams!

smiley, yep we may be from same school, or we may find each other familiar hahahahhaaa....its a small world lah. ooooh canon powershot is good. "Make Every Shot a Powershot!". hehehe Emma will find this tagline familiar coz her nickname echoes the name of the tennis talent who featured in this advertisement.

oh ladies

Scary...just now go toilet and found some bloody discharge..dunno what happ. call gynae ask me to go n see him tmr.

Hi Bijou,

Hope u are fine. Take care yah?

Anyway, I recall reading in one of the books that should you have bloody discharge, it is advisable not to wash up the discharge from your undies. Your gynea may ask to see the discharge to ascertain if it is anything serious.

You may also wish to check with your gynea if the above is true.

hi bijou

you feeling ok now ? any discomfort ?
peachie is right .. ppl always say to keep the "evidence" for furthers analysis by gynae. Hope you ok.

huh..no leh..i didnt. Juz flush it away. Is like brownish stripes on top of the normal white clr discharge leh. Then i tummy not painful so I will only see my gynae tomorrow.

Aiyoh Bijou!!!
I hope you're ok!!! Please update us! Take care!

daisybuttons,
Means I still have my figure lah. From behind, I don't look pregnant. My body look like a guitar! Except there's a bit of a tummy in front. LOL.

reading from other pregnancy websites, the brown discharge seems to be just simply spotting. I guess it should be fine but of coz, going to see the gynae helps because he/she could determine that everything will be fine.

Bijou,
That's like staining only. I thought you had red bleeding. If it's just minor, brown discharge with no cramping, there's nothing to worry about.
I hope you're ok but I agree you should see the gynae anyway. You signed up for antenatal package? Then there's nothing to lose.

Hi Melissa
Not yet thou. I hope I be fine. My gynae will only starts ard 20weeks. Still paying $100+ for every visit.

helo bjiou, dun walk around too much and rest more today kae? go see gynae tmlw, and dun think too much for now. like littlepony and melissa say, if its brown it may be nothing to worry about....

Hi Bijou, hope you are feeling ok.

Edksd, my gynae advised that it is better to do the detail scan on week 20. No point doing it earlier coz some of the organs are not completely form. Actually wanted to do the detail scan when I saw my gynae on Monday, but was told to wait until next week.

morning!
Any of u taking NeuroGain Plus - the fish oil supplement? My gynae prescribed me during my last visit at 13wks. Not sure how much it cost as i paid for calcium &amp; prenavit together as well. Any idea if I can get NeuroGain at a better price fr pharmacies? So far, I checked one selling at $29 for a bottle of 30 pills. Or do all of u juz buy ur supplements directly fr ur gynaes? Thanks!

My gynea selling to me at $30 per bottle. I hated that stuff. It stinks and worse still, I feel nauseous everyday right after taking it.

hi peachie,
$1 a pill a day v expensive hor! Thankfully I'm ok w swallowing this one. Itz the calcium tat makes me want to vomit. Itz an ugly grey powdery pill tatz too huge for me to swallow n my hubby has to cut into 2 for me. So double the suffering n it melts easier cos itz cut... hai.. wat to do?
I oso feel bloated after eating all the medicine every day, no matter what time i eat. Not sure if itz cos of the huge amt of water i gulp down every time!

morning everyone! I was also recommended NeuroGain plus - the fish oil supplement. But i am still thinking whether to buy it or not. The gynae asked me if i taking fish liver oil.. which yes, i am taking! it's meant for kids but i am taking becos i need the extra fish liver oil ( i don't really like taking fish).....
the fish liver oil is worse than taking supplement, i guess! I can't wait to finish that big bottle of fish liver oil I had at home and change to tablets instead

Hi puppylove,

I totally agree with you! I feel like a patient every morning with so many pills to swallow... calcium, fish oil, folic acid and obimin. Makes me feel utterly miserable every morning. My gynea started prescribing fish oil at 8 weeks. So I have been enduring that smell for 2 months now.

To make myself feel better, I started taking fish oil on alternate days. Until my husband got suspicious cos the pills seem to last very long. Then he started counting the fish oils capsules. Sigh.... But nonetheless, I still am skipping one every other day. =)

The calcium pills I got are quite alright. They are small yellow pills and they are 250mg each. I can find out the brand and let u know tmrw.

hi im oso taking neuro gain plus. initially i oso had problem gulping down all the pills i need to take. bloated w water at the end of it. but now slowly get used to it.