(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

helo pjen, sorry sorry, i have just activated the PM function, pls try again?
tank you you...

hi e-ling, i agree w the rest tt the measurement seems not v accurate maybe for asian babies. hehe... scared me when i first saw the table.

hi edksd ...

why did ur hubby go for the test ? tot usually it was detected in the mother then trigger the hubby to do the test ?

anyway hope everything is fine for you ...

the thalassemia has to be tested on both hubby and wife. yday we went for blood test. his is only on thalassemia. mine is on thalassemia, HIV and some other things i guess. so his result came out on the same day while mine is not out yet coz a lot more things to test.

hi daisybuttons,

not really sure which test i went for. i only know it includes thalassemia and HIV. there's something called FBG or something like tt, cant rem. 3 tubes of blood drawn so i presume 3 types of test??

Wah bijou, u are amazing! I am really think about stopping at just one!
Anyway I wasn't planning to have any, cos I dun really like kids. But since I accidentally got pregnant, so bo bian. Hopefully my maternal instincts will kick in soon.

Hi Daisybuttons, sorry to hear u have eczema and rashes as well. I think moisturising your skin with a water based moisturiser will help.

I think some moms even know the gender of their babies as early as 11 weeks. 1 of my friends actually knew that she is expecting a boy through a normal ultrasound scan at 11 weeks. But I guess baby will have to cooperate for such cases (ie legs should not be blocking), and it is easily conclusive if it is a boy.

Oh no I left this forum for a few hours and I have so many to catch up!!!

pjen,
I went straight to work after my GP visit though and so far no nosebleed. I read through the internet and found out that I shouldn't try to control my sneeze. I should let it all out. I have a habit of holding my sneeze or holding my nose when I sneeze so probably my small little vein in the nose ruptured or something. Anyway, will keep a tissue paper handy next time.

Elaine,
Congrats for having a boy! Now that you're confirmed with a boy, could you please confirm some old wives tales? What's your diet like? What are you craving for? Do you have a clear complexion or do you break out? Do you look pale or radiant? Tell me anything! I'd love to have a boy too! So far, I do not break out and I have no particular diet and no craving for anything extreme too (like salty or sweet). So it's hard to tell!

ilovebabies,
Yep i heard that it's really common for the cord to cross the pubic area hence doc won't be able to see the genitals. I pray very hard it won't happen to my bb when I go for scan this Friday!

Thanks Melissa, ok will then check with my gynae again regards to the discharge in my next visit also.

Melissa, puppylove, edksd. As for the measurement, my bb is following the chart leh, accurate for my bb. not sure whether is it for ang mo bb size. hehe but just for reference lor

ilovebabies, yah really amazing that ur friend can deliver huge babies naturally.

elaine, congrats for having a baby boy. So fast you can confirm the gender. Me still cannot confirm but 80% is girl

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>80% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD>boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppylove</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>End Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>HK</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

pjen, thanks for making the effort. Email or PM me the contact list also can? i will update mine cos not really good to post here? My email is [email protected]

hi Melissa,
so cute of u...anyway hope u get a boy too

for my case i have MS since wk 6 till now so cant really eat much, touch wood... didnt have any outbreak on my face too. as for craving is always hot hot tea n "hor fun" lor... nothing much. dont really like very sweet stuff too cos it makes me cough then i will vomit.

from now onwards... more n more of us will start to know e gender of our baby. i can understand e excitement of going to see e gynae recently...heehee soso fun when e gynae let u see baby private part...

elaine, can we drink tea?? My husband has stopped me from drinking since we know abt the pregnancy!!!!

Can't wait to visit Dr Adrian nx Mon...so curious to know e gender of my bb! Haha. Hope I heng heng can see, jus like u!

one cup of caffeinated drink is okay.. but i always exceed one.. haha.. cannot control.. sometimes drink coffee or tea alr at night wanna drink coke.. so drink lohz.. hehe... they say if preggie got craving dun satisfy, next time baby will always drool one.. haha... so die die also muz have my coke...

bijou, I'll be doing my detailed scan at SGH next Tue.

Chng's wife, I still drink chinese tea and green tea once in while... As long as you don't consume more than one cup a day, I think it should be ok... Tea contains caffeine....

i just bought an Ipod today to start playing music to baby. How should I use it so that baby will be able to hear?
a - listen using the adult earphone
b - play aloud using the speaker dock
c - place speaker / earphone on tummy so that baby can hear through the tummy

Hi Angeline,

You can play it on a speaker dock or place earphone on tummy. Listening to earphones yourself will not work cos baby will not be able to hear.

Hehe, although I bought loads of things for baby, I have yet to buy a single piece of maternity wear. Looks like I have to start looking for some. Clothes are getting tighter. I can still get into my jackets and dresses, but am having problem with some of my skirts and pants.

I tried some maternity stuff last week, but I found most of them to have huge arm-holes (such that part of my bra is exposed), and the sizing does not really suit me.
Anyone here has the same problem? And the pants look quite strange. Some are V-shaped at the waist and a huge part of my tummy is exposed. The worst part is the bum area and thigh area is so large and roomy. Anyone has any nice maternity places with better fitting clothes to recommend? And what type of cutting is better? I am quite confused here. Some friends recommend that I buy only in my 5th month, when I should fit the maternity clothes better. There are others who said that it is better for the baby if I start wearing maternity clothes earlier...

gd morning mommies,

ytday had my scan &amp; baby dun co-operate..cant tel the gender of baby yet!i blame hb for not talkg to baby enuf..so far oni put on 0.5kg in total leh, i start to worry liaoz...schedule my detailed scan on 08th May

hi peachie,
so early tdy huh?oh yeah i hv not bot much maternity stuff yet...mostly baby doll tops &amp; dressed frm mphosis..v user friendly,got time chk out e plc...oh ya abt e maternity tops &amp; pants,the size are slightly bigger to fit the later stage of our pregnancy..as for the v-shape,tats suppose to b the way to let our tummy exposed covered w the maternity tops...keke

Hi e-ling,
oh u can PM me yr details..Anyway i hv send the list to u liaoz..

Hi pjen,

You are so early too! I stay in SengKang and hubby and I work in town, so try to save $$$ these days by driving to work earlier to "escape" the 2 ERP gantries along the CTE. Once they get turned on at 7.30am, we will have to pay $3 for using the CTE alone in the morning everyday. And this is on top of the 50cts we pay for travellig home via CTE every evening.

Still haven't got used to the early hours yet. The worst thing is that my boss like to give me stuffs with tight deadlines and schedule meetings at 5 to 6pm. So I stay till 7.30pm to 8pm everyday. That makes me working 12-13 hours days everyday.

Thanks for the info! Maybe will pop by CityLink Mall mphosis during lunch today.

Dun worry about the weight gain. My baby also very uncooperative. Legs and umbilical cord are always in the way. I am going for my detailed scan on 5th May. Hope can know the gender then too!

hi daisybuttons,
can give me yr email add bor??i jus realise i duno hw to send attachment w PM leh...wuahahahaha pai sey hor..kuku me..

can any1 enlighten me can it b done?

hi Peachie,

Are you sure we can place the earphone on tummy for baby to hear? I did that previously and then after that, I read from some of the postings in this motherhood forum that doing so may cause the baby to be deaf leh.. Made me so worried.

I recall I read that a lot of Chinese women did this and it's not good for the baby. Don't know how true..

But it is more convenient for me to place the earphone on the tummy coz I don't have a CD player in the bedroom and I listen to my ipod and place one earphone in my ear and the other on my tummy. Now I don't dare to do that anymore

Hi Smiley,

Actually I also am not sure. This is how my friends play classical music for their babies.

I very lazy, so have not been doing anything. Maybe an easier method is to just play it on speakers.... then mother and baby can listen together.
Can get a cheap pair of Creative speakers which is abt $30 and link it to your CD player... then you can listen in the room.

? Can the Creative speakers be linked to the ipod? I have checked out the prices of the speakers at the Apple Gallery at Cineleisure. Quite expensive for a speaker!! That's why i didn't get the speakers from there.

I saw a documentary once tat says bb can hear the mother's voice best (for obvious reason lah). As for external sounds, they're usually muffled... like how u can't really hear when u're submerged in water?

Then another documentary says the same type of music tat ur bb hears b4 he's born can calm him after he's born. Mayb it reminds him of his peaceful time while in the womb.

btw, since so many of us r talking abt gender, hv u gals tried this gender predictor? Tell me if itz accurate.. i'm really curious to know!!

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/tools/gender.asp

Yo Peachie,
u my future neighbour liaoz...keke..oh u manage to escape the 2 gantries ah...then leave hm super early lor...nw i stil stay Yio chu kang...leave 7.15 bt the stupid CTE jam like mad by e time i reach 1st gantry aredi 7.31-7.33am..pay 80cents...nw i give up liaoz...leave later no jam..traffic more smooth..

hi smiley,
aiyo like tat i oso scared la..thk use cd player better

helo edksd, dun worry too much before the results r out kae, chances are you may not have it.

oh i dun know what is FBG test leh, sorry....

peachie, thanks. the thing is, my ezcema very funny one, its not purely dry skin with flakes, its hard and raised and those on my legs got pus. *gross*. i did try moisturising with lotion but it didn't help, at least for those on my legs..

oh about your question on maternity wear, those pants with v-shape waistline is the low waist cutting. not many ppl like it, i don't like it too. very funny. and if u pull it low enough so its not obstructing ur tummy, its too loose at the hips and thighs, so i know what u mean. try to buy those pants with waist height elastic bands instead, u will know when u see them. some allows u to fold the elastic portion over ur tummy when it grows bigger. now we just wear it folded down. my only pair of maternity pants, and 2 of my maternity skirts, is like that. so far, i have bought my clothes from 4 shops hehehee....going to hit 2 more tomorrow. You can try Mothers En Vogue at Delfi Orchard, i bought a very comfy pair of pants from there.

as for big armholes, think those u try on are too big sizes, or those cuttings thats not suitable for us. if u try those suitable ones at mothers en vogue u will noe the difference. or you can always buy dresses, which are more comfortable. i bought 3 dresses recently at a sale at Maternity House. think the sale no more, but they have a branch at plaza singapura, raffles place mrt, parkway parade and marina sq. I find their dresses quite pretty and the size suits me.

melissa, i also used to have this habit of "holding" my nose when sneezing, to prevent the mucus from splashing all over the place kind hehehee. but ever since there was one time i did that during pregnancy, and i got a sharp pain on my tummy, i scared oredi. so thereafter i just let it all out! hehehe. :p its better for the baby. but of course must cover if in public places lah.

pjen, i just pm-ed your my email eddy. think its better of every one PM you their email addy, then you can consolidate the send out to us.

Hi Pjen,

Yah loh.. I don't dare to take the risk lah.. told my hubby last night that I am worried. He says should be ok lah, just don't continue to do that.. :p

Anyone of you know which VideoCam is the best and value for money in the market? I am thinking of getting one for my baby
Is Sharp videocam good?

hi ilovebabies, pjen, daisybuttons and 77

No need to envy me, very soon you will have 2 or more children.
I am 31 so older than most of u...by the time u reach my age is the same liao. Anyway I tot I will stop at 2 oso but hubby keep pestering for 3rd then now he start to tell me no.4th...Oh my god...I surrender!!!

pjen

Dun be too worried. I tink only if you listen to very loud noise everyday will affect otherwise shld be save. That why last time I dun even dare to watch concert I feel so scare after tat oso..keep asking hubby will it affect baby.

wow! i was away for two days and really do need to catch up with this forum! haaa!

hey, i went for my check up on Sat and my gynae was able to determine the gender of my baby. He said baby is a boy. My in laws are happy except my hubby who wants a baby girl. He said that girl will be able to take care of siblings better.

To me, i think a healthy baby is most important.

yeah, only the mother who is carrying the baby is more concerned abt the health rather than the gender of the baby. whether it's a boy or girl, equally happy coz afterall the baby is a part of me, how can i discriminate him/her just becos of the sex.

those parents in law esp mother in law, they've been thru this stage before. they shld know there's nothing u can do to control the sex of the baby and no matter it's a boy or girl, it's still someone dearest to u. so why get extra happy just becos it's a boy. i dun understand.

but anyway, im glad my in laws and parents are open minded to this. next time when my daughter or daughter in law is giving birth, i'll oso be open minded.

hi i believe some of you may hv had blood test in TMC before. do u know roughly how long it take for the results to be out?

on monday, we went for the blood test ard 4pm. at 5pm+, my hubby's result was out and gynae informed me abt his thalassemia minor.

yday tuesday, i waited one whole day no call from them.

so this morning hubby called them up. the staff at my gynae clinic told him no news is good news. if there's anytg not so ideal, gynae will definitely call us like what she did on Monday evening.

but i wonder they did not call is it really becos everything is fine or they hv not received the result yet. sigh... im worried queen. so i'd like to know how long it takes for results on 3 tubes of blood to be out??

hi edksd,
totally true... sometimes, tradition still is alive in this modern world.. Sigh! To me, i don't really care of the gender... most importantly, health is most important and i still love my kids no matter if boy or girl. Glad to heard your in laws and parents are open minded....

Hi Bijiou,

77, maybe u can take a look at 9moi(swell) at Paragon, their maternity are quite nice and I am very petitie and it fitted me well since i can wear it during or after pregnancy. As for music, i advice you play it on speaker else if you put ear piece on ur tummy you wont know whether is it too loud for him since you put it so near.

edksd, i agreed with you regards to the gender thingy.

pjen, i will check and send the list to you in a short while

littlepony,
Congrats on having a boy. Now tell me your symptoms! hahaa.. I'm a little obssessed with having a boy b'cos the Chinese calendar told me I might be having a boy. BUT a girl will do fine too b'cos it's true what your hubby said, girls can take of their siblings better. My niece is first-born and really takes care of her baby brother well. They have this in-born motherly traits already hardcoded in them. So in terms of practicality, girls win hands down. I don't mind getting either.

edksd,
Think if you do the blood test in the morning, you can get the results on the same day. My test results were sent directly to my gynae at Gleneagles so we will only get to know it this Friday. That was like 3 weeks ago. I'm not so worried though. I really want to enjoy this pregnancy. No use worrying. Baby can feel you, you know.

About the speaker thing,
It's true that baby can hear mother's voice best. Outside everything is muffled. Remember that bb is inside the amniotic fluid. How can you hear well in water, outside layers of skin? Also if you need to put the speakers to your tummy, volume down please. The sound is very sensitive to baby's little ears. You can have hubby talk directly to your tummy. Surely there's feedback coming from bb.

Hi edksd,

I had my blood test done with my gynae who's at TMC too. When they didn't call me after a few days, I got worried, so I called them. They said everything is okay and they don't call unless it's bad news. I was quite upset becoz here I am, anxiously waiting for them to call! Anyway, I asked around and this practice is normal in S'pore. So, if they haven't called you, everything is probably alright. No news is good news! Anyway, they told me later that it takes about 3-5 days for the results to come out.

hi puppylove

i also tried to predict the gender of my bb with the same link you posted. my friend it is accurate for her. I tried and it predicted to be a boy but gynae says mine likely to be a gal leh .. so I dont trust the table now ahahha ...anyway to be cfm during detailed scan lah

ya I also heard cannot put the earphone so loudly on tummy leh in case it hurts the bb ears ... just play it loud enough lor ...

I play it almost daily on my office PC speakers for my bb to enjoy while I work.

bijou, I am 31 this yr also leh ... guess I have to hurry to have my 2nd and 3rd ... felt so old oredi ...

hi joon, u mean take 3-5 days? wow! tts long. i rem tt time i went for glucose blood test. and the result was out on the same day. and there was oso another test, oso out on the same day. except this time is 2 extra tubes of blood, dun think they need to take so extra long?

hi melissa, i cant help but worry. really im too paranoid i know.

hi, i believe many of u hv seen the many actions of ur bb during the scan esp those going to 3rd trimester soon. hv u every seen ur bb kneeling down before? i told my mom and she seems quite surprised. luckily ive the scan printed w bb kneeling down, will show her next time i see her. i know most of the time bb just lie on their back.

Hi puppylove and ilovebabies,

I tried the predictor before too. But it's quite confusing coz I don't know whether they are referring to chinese calendar or English calendar.

But I still tried it for fun and mine's supposed to be a boy

ok eling..

daisybutton,
i send u the spreadsheet liao..

hi bjiou,
ur hb loves kids sooo much ah???bt at least u get e support frm him totally mah..me cannot take stress 1 so cfm xiu gang @ no.2..got help frm any1 for the 2elder kids?

hi little pony,
hard to find men prefer baby girl leh..not like my lao gu dong ah lau stil prefer boy...keke
anyway congrats to u ya..

tdy i learnt something new...mus sneeze out n cannot ctrl...no wonder i had pain on my tummy when i sneeze ytday morning..

edksd,
Mine is the standard Oscar test. Heard only TMC is conducting Oscar test. Results is more reliable than other tests in 2nd trimester. Gleneagles don't have it. I asked my gynae already.

Smiley,
Chinese calender has a special calculation for age. It's not necessarily equal to the ang moh calendar. I found a website that calculates your chinese age during conception but can't seem to find it now. I am 29 by ang moh age but according to chinese age, I'm 30 at the time of conception, so that gives me a boy. Else girl lor.

hi Melissa,
Haaa! i really can't figure out if my symptoms are a good prediction of the gender of baby.
I guess what i can share is my skin gets ultra dry..i get red nose, sometimes. I can't be bother to doll myself up (before preggy, i veri vain)..

As for food, it's very funny that bb takes after the liking of food from my husband.
I am a big fan of fries! but my husband hates it.
I don't suffer from morning sickness at all.. but when i take fries, i vomit out the fries. I suspect my baby hates fries as well.

Well... i think the best is our own gynae! He or she will reveal your curiosity! Haaa!

Come one or 2 months time, most of us would know our baby gender by then and when we look back to this archived thread, we would find it amusing and memorable how each of us are trying to guess our baby's gender..

Treasure this moment now. Heehee... Anticipation can be sweet too...

i agree with smiley. Yes, it's quite fun to guess the gender of our baby and we have thought of hundred of names for each gender...then when gynae confirmed, you are just as excited becos you simply just screen for one gender's clothings instead of both! haaa! Yes, it's fun! Enjoy!

Heehee.. yah.. And Little Pony.. after we know the gender, we will start to wonder who the baby will look like more.. =)

I hope my baby looks more like my hubby.