(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi edksd, I am in my 15th week now .... same as amylim I am not so tired during day time ... but pee a lot a nite though ... esp when I drink AnMum every night ...

helo bjiou, rainnie only doing nt scan, which is actually part of oscar test. just that since she young her gynae dun recc the blood test portion of oscar test.

helo peachie! how are you? feeling better today? hope u feeling well oredi. thanks for the info on birdnest, i didn't know that leh! the part abt it being calcium and not being absorbed by the body? then why does the elders say birdnest is for yang yan and run fei ah? oh about the tangkwei, dun worry, think none of us here taking tangkwei. at most some of them taking paosheng and cordycerps only, but in the 2nd tri i think. me not taking any herbs yet. oh when we mentioned "bu" just now, think we tokking abt the black chicken essence. but i din put any herbs inside.

edksd, nt scan stands for nuchal translucency scan. scans for the translucent liquid in the nuchal fold (behind baby's neck) to determine risk of DS. coupled with a blood test to test beta hcg levels, both are usually "packaged" under oscar test.

angeline, i think sasha's advice is very sound.
try not to travel in 3rd tri coz some airlines do not allow. keep all your doc's records and scans. i am sure its alright with the docs here as long as u provide medical history.

hey ladies, something to ask you. Any of you read the Mother & Baby magazine? is it good and worthy to subscribe? how much is the mag, $5? Is MOtherhood better than this mag? I am asking coz some of my friends wanna buy the mag subcription for me for my birthday present. Thanks!

hey so u gals noe that normal chicken soup with those packet chinese herb can drink anot har? Those packet herb usually is "bu qi" and my col say can drink leh.

HI Sasha, glad to hear from someone with experience. Cathay allows to fly up to WK36, so I intend to go back then. When I was in SGP, I used Dr. M. Tan at TMC, so I'll probably use her again.
Can you give me more advise on the preparations I will have to make? Thanks alot.

Girls, I considering TMC or Mt. E. but won't be able to visit them. Whic will you gals recommend?

Hi daisybuttons,

Still coughing away... haiz. It's been a week plus, so I endure and endure every day and hope it will go away.

My husband is boling green apples for me (ie peel the apples and slice it, and dump it into the slow cooker). It is supposed to be his mom's remedy for curing coughs. But it doesn't seem to be working. Taking ginger and honey tea everyday too. So hope that one of these will work after all. I think black chicken and paosheng and codyceps should be fine. Anyway, my gynea is pretty much on the cautious side. There was a pregnancy talk organised by TMC which my colleague went to, where they touched on what kind of chinese herbs a pregnant woman can take as supplements. Hence I guess not everything is bad.

Birdnest is essentially protein and calcium. But there are many grades of bird's nests out there, and there are many different opinions as to when it is best to take and whether it is good for pregnancy. Since I don't have much knowledge as to which school of thought is correct, it is better not to comment and take sides. =) Anyway, 2 of my frens are firm believers of bird's nest, and they have been taking on a weekly basis. They have since given birth and their babies are very healthy, so bird's nest should be safe. On the other hand, I also have frens who avoid the bird's nest, especially with the recent outbreak of bird flu. So I think at then end of the day, it is your own judgement that is the best.

I agree that there are a lot of pills to take every morning..... My gynea prescribed obimin (which is a form of multivitamins including iron), calcium tablets, folic acid and dha pills. Also taking vitamin c such that i can recover from my cough (hopefully!).

Hi all, I am new to this forum. I am at my 12th weeks now, and how come i see and hear people saying that when we approach 2nd trimester, we should feel more energetic but instead I feel more tired than my 1st trimester??

Hi peachie

I tot you shld have recover by now .. oh u really must rest well ... sometimes finding a GP who prescribed the correct med is impt ... I used to have cough during my 1st trimester also .. and I went to a few GPs until I found one who finally cure my cough within a short period of time ... but of cos, more rest may speed up your recovery process ! take care ..

hi Smiley,

welcome ! hmm probably you are still consider in the first trimester ?? haha anyway I think it doesn't happens overnite, that you become v energetic suddenly ... it is a gradual process ..

Hi ;),

Thanks for your good wishes! Will try to rest more over this coming weekend.

Do you know when we will know the gender of our baby? Kinda excited to know.

Hi peachie,

welcome ... my next visit to gynae is 28 mar. Gynae say may be able to see the gender if the bb corporates ... if not then have to wait for another month when I am in my 5th mth of pregnancy. That is when I will do the detailed scan... think by that time, it is quite confirm that we will know the gender from the scan.

how many weeks are u now ?

hi peachie
You may want to try frying some overnight rice (couples of spoon) with ginger in the morning. Eat it while hot. This is normally how i cure my cough.

daisybutton, I have read Mother & Baby mag. Not bad, my colleague says it's beta than motherhood leh. Should have subscribe during the Mother & Baby festival last Sat at Expo, can get very good offer.

helo morning ladies!

bjiou, not sure leh, coz dunno what herbs are inside the packet. better to avoid, to be safe ok? if u oredi drink, then its ok, but try not to drink more until 2nd tri. or alternatively, u can bring it to ask the chinese medicinal hall ppl? they shld know.

Hi angeline, i have seen Dr M Tan before too.
not sure exactly what u need to prepare, but probably:
1. call up the clinic and explain the situation. tell them ur EDD and ask them if possible to help u book a bed in TMC first around ur EDD.
2. go for ur antenatal classes. actually if possible, after u come back to singapore, can join TMC's hospital tour. it familiarise u with the delivery ward and procedures so u wun feel so lost on the day itself.
3. before u come back, make an appointment with M Tan first.
4. DOes M Tan deliver at mt E? i tot she only delivers in TMC. anyway, heard Mt E is super expensive, not sure by how much though. but they have good docs there too.

hi peachie, u have a doting husband.
yes i heard apples with starfruit or nan bei xing ren(almond) is good for cough, my dad always drink that when he coughing badly. its okie, continue with what u are doing, something will work sooner or later. it takes longer now coz u preggie. oh i see...birdnest got a lot of xue wen hor? the TMC talk sounds so interesting, too bad i didn't know of it. I also takin obimin.

Helo Smiley, first of all, welcome to the thread.
I think when we say 12 weeks, technically not in 2nd trimester yet. coz i subscribe to this pregnancy weekly update. even though i am in week 13, they only say "soon you will be in ur 2nd trimester". i also scratch head. some ppl say 13 week onwards is 2nd trimestr though.

BUt basically, think ur tiredness coz ur hcg levels are peaking around this time. hcg is present in our blood from the time we are pregnant, and is the marker of whether or not we are preggie and sometimes how many weeks along. it rises very fast during the 1st tri, all the way and peaking at around 12th, 13th week. thereafter it drops and stabalises at a lower value all throughout the rest of our pregnancy. and HCG happens to be the hormone that causes nauseas and morning sickness and sometimes tiredness. therefore, usually around end of 1st tri, the MS, nausea and tiredness may peak. so think shld be normal. if u are worried, just rest more, get more sleep and dun tire urself out too much during the day. things shld look up soon!

ilovebabies, hehehe ur next visit is on my birthday! hehehe. :p oh u mean can see gender even before 5th mth detailed scan if baby coorperates? is the usual scanning clear enough?

Chng's wife, thanks.
i just bot motherhood march issue yesterday. first few articles are fine, but later they only talk about toddlers and preschool liaoz leh..... so i think mother & baby shld be more targeted to babies lah hor? hehehe thanks thanks. yah i also tot of subscribing during te baby fair at expo, but its SOOOOO far! too tired to travel. :p

Thanks ilovebabies and daisybuttons =)

Not only I am tired, but I have extreme shoulder and backaches. I had this problem long time ago, even before I was pregnant. I went to see doctor on my shoulder and backache problem before, doctor always say muscle too tight and just prescribe muscle relaxant to me. So I usually use SalonPas plaster or just pop muscle relaxants to solve the problem.

But now that I am pregnant, I don't dare to use the SalonPas plaster nor take the muscle relaxant. Now my shoulderache and backache is killing me

I try to do some shoulder exercise, but i heard that some people say pregnant woman should avoid lifting their hands up high above their heads. So I don't know what I can do to solve my problem.

Anyone has this problem? :p

Hi Pig2,

I can't find your recipe on the chicken essence. I know how to make the chicken essence but just can't remember how long to double boil. Please let me know. Also, can we put herbs, like cordyceps when brewing the essence?

Hi Smiley,

Welcome to the thread! I have been raising my arms above my head during pre-natal yoga.. to stretch my muscles on my chest..so, i don't see why cannot leh..

I am in 2nd trimester now..week 16 going on 17... the tiredness fades off and you really feel more like yourself pre-pregnancy.. but on & off, you get overwhelmed by this fatigue.. and will sleep early! At week 13, my baby was growing its spinal cord, so that was a major task, and i did remember feeling very very tired..

early this week, another wave of fatigue hit me and I slept early that night.... I assume that baby growing in process lor..

Angeline,
I went for Mt. E Hospital tour before.. the delivery suites are airy.. and.. well ok lah.. can't expect much from a hospital.. the rooms are quiet.. Most important is the lactation consultants are available when you delivery.. Mt. E is really pro- breastfeeding and will try their best to help you in this sense.. But i did hear that they are rather expensive (Got limo service to fetch you home after you check out of hospital!)

I will be choosing MAH... affordable, friendly nurses and near my home!

hihi... my sis in law gave birth to both my nephews at Mt E... alright lehz.. not that ex compared to other pte hospitals.... and quite ok.. the nurses all ok... not much attitude... but i feel thomson's nurses are nicer.. hehe....

hi daisybuttons ...

happy bday to u in advance !!

ya gynae told me at 4th mth, there is a chance to know the gender of the bb ... hope we can see it lor !

hi smiley

I also experienced aches on shoulders and backs especially !! gynae say it is normal leh ... and try to walk around if you sit in front of ur PC for too long ...

yes, I am also very tired at nite .. and I can sleep as early as 10pm which I can't prior to pregnancy ... anyway more sleep is good for bb so !

Btw I have not heard abt preggies not lifting hands abv head ....

helo smiley, i am not sure of what exercises to do ease the aches. but have found some things - certain poses in YOga that you should avoid during pregnancy. hope this helps a bit...

<font color="0000ff">
* Don't perform any poses on your back after the first trimester as that can cut blood flow to the uterus. (Editor's note: Not all experts consider this a hard and fast rule. Many women are comfortable lying on their backs well into their pregnancies.
Listen to your body if you feel dizzy or short of breath, lie on your side.)

Avoid poses that stretch the muscles too much, particularly the abdominal muscles. Remember, you are more apt to tear and strain muscles now because the pregnancy hormone relaxin, which allows the uterus to expand, also acts on all connective tissue.

Perform standing poses with your heel to the wall or use a chair for support to avoid losing your balance and risking injury to you or your baby.

When bending forward, bend from the hips, not the back. Maintain as much distance as possible between the breast bone and the pubic bone to make breathing easier.

Keep the pelvis upright when stretching the chest and the front of the thighs.

If you need to bend forward while in a sitting position, place a towel around your feet and hold both ends. Bend from the hips and lift the chest to avoid compressing your abdomen.

When practicing twisting poses, twist more from the shoulders and back to avoid putting any pressure on your abdomen.

Listen carefully to your body. If you feel any discomfort, stop. You will probably need to adapt each pose to your body's physical changes.

Also, you may want to purchase the book Yoga for Pregnancy: Safe and Gentle Stretches by Sandra Jordan to get information on specific yoga poses that are safe for pregnant women. I like the book because it is easy to follow and focuses on safety, with specific poses for each trimester. If you have any questions about certain poses, always check with your doctor or midwife.</font>

helo ilovebabies! thanks for the advanced well wishes! hehehe so sweet of u.
387564.gif

Angeline, found something on what to look out for during airtravel. hope this can help ease ur flight comfort when you come back to singapore.

I have summarised it, but the full page can be found here.
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/pregnancytravel/6977.html

<font color="0077aa">- arrange ur seat assignment, get an aisle seat for the frequent trips to toilets.
- leave for airport early.
- drink a lot of water, carry some favourite snacks on board.
- put on a pair of thick socks, remove ur shoes.
- elevate ur legs on luggage is possible.
- stroll the aisle every hour and do simple stretches.</font>

they have more details in that page, happy reading!

you girls are so helpful thank you very much.
My cousin devliered at Mt. E in Oct'04, and recommended it too, but I am still undecided between Mt. E and TMC. Seems that the nurses in TMC are more personal.

Been trying to reach Dr. M. Tan the last 2 days, but can't seem to catch hold of her staff. Will continue to try.

For the tiredness. I used to be a workaholic who worked in office till 10 - 11 pm and went to bed past 12. Nowadays, I start to get a headache and feel sluggish after 7. Go straight home and fall asleep by 10.

Envy you gals with parents and in-laws pampering you with home made soup and tonics. Prompted me to order online a flask of Chinese Soup for myself this morning. :-(

need to get a little more info on pregnancy insurance coverage. Hope someone out there can help.

My health policy doesn't cover pregnancy and birth. Read on another thread that there's a plan 'NewLife' that accepts application up till WK16. Haven't been able to get a reply from that thread. Anyone with more info on where I can get new coverage for an someone who's already preggie?

hi peachie, I think we should be able to know the gender around 4mth+ - 5 mths. Can't wait for my next appt...

hi Angeline

I know of a insurance plan offered by Prudential. But it only covers the mother after she is pregnant 10 mths later she sign up the policy. The plan covers ectopic pregnancy and other stuff which I can't remember. It also covers some baby's illness as well. You may want to check it out at their website.

So since, we are already preggie, I am not too sure which insurance companies does offer similar policy...

daisybutton

you are really active in this thread and can reply so fast. Are you still working? Is tis ur 1st bb?

I am currently in my 13th week of pregnancy. Have been reading this forum for quite some time but did not join in till now. ^_^

I am now in a dilemma .. was hoping that someone could advise me... I have been seeing a private gynae all these while.. everytime, the charges is like $100plus... My next visit will be on my 16th week and the clinic's nurse had already tell me to consider taking up their anatal package which cost $950 (exclude delivery charges and medicines and blood test).. I find it a bit ex since my company do not subsidise any of my pregnancy expenses and medisave can only claim up to $450. Till now, I have spent about $400 with this gynae liao.. if i sign up this package, think is a bit siong lor....

Then i was thinking of other alternatives.
Alternative (1): Dun sign up the package, but see the same gynae like every 2 months. I was thinking whether it's a must thing to see the gynae that frequent(once every month) as now the bb is consider stable.

Alternative (2): Go to the same gynae every 3 months and 2 times nearer to my due date, then meanwhile, go to polyclinic for checkups if i really need one regularly. I heard from my collegue that it's very much cheaper at polyclinic.

eh.. i am not sure if which of the above is workable?.. is there any restriction whereby i can only see 1 gynae throughout? If i dun see the same gynae that often, but I chose to let her deliver my baby, is this okies?

I know i beri lor soh lah.. but really dunno what to do lor... I first-time mUm lor... how how??.. can anyone advise me??

Joanne

Hi Coolqoo

I don't advice you doing that because only the same gynae will responsible througout your pregnancy. If you keep changing then other gynae or dr may not know your previous scans or history from day 1. So better stick to 1 gynae. However, I think signing up package is cheaper then al-la-cate mah. If not we dun call it package liao rite?

hi tch

I add herbs to my chicken essence. So far have been using korean ginseng, tung seng, pao seng. My mum will boiled for about 4-5 hours before serving. But some of the girls were saying is very heaty, but for me no problem at all.

angeline, what u mean by chinese soups? not herbal soups right? try not to drink such stuff during ur 1st tri okie? esp if u dun know what herbs are inside. dun worry, when u come back in ur 36th week, ur loved ones are here to pamper u.

bjiou hahahaa.....right after that posting i MIA for half a day hahahaa. no lah, i very active meh? yes i still working, am first time mum.
i log in when i feeling too tired from work and need a rest loh.

coolqoo, can understand how exp this is. actually, i just signed up the package too, my gynae is slightly more expensive than that. i did consider, but as i trust her, i know i want her to be my gynae. and calculating the expenses, think package is still worth it. and before i signed, i went to TMC for some unscheduled checkups due to certain reasons, as well as pay for the 2-3 visits to a few gynaes. when i totalled up, i actually spent close to $1K oredi, before i signed up. but bo bian loh, thats the way things are. as your baby health is important, you want to entrust it to ur preferred doctor. though u may consider it stable now, but its best to see the doc at least every mth til 30-32 weeks, after which some ppl see once every 2 weeks, depending on doc. its better to keep constant monitoring of baby in this way. my company do not subsidize me too, only medisave.

well, i am sure ur gynae wun mind still delivering for u. but out of concern i am sure she wld prefer u see her more often. yes polyclinic's are cheap but different doctors see u at diff visits, and u have to wait such long hours.

the decision is up to you. for me, i just try to save and save loh hehehee...... take care okie?!

bjiou, mi 25...this yr will be 26 ... triple test?? no leh .. only go for NT Scan leh.... sorry for the late reply coz i was on mc for the past two days due to Mumps infection....

coolqoo, $950 is kinda expensive but...for the sake of baby it is advisable to go back at least 1 once every month. I sign up my package when i 1st visit my gynae when i'm 7 weeks preggy. went to visit my gynae every 2 weeks and now after 3 months i will be seeing him only 3 weeks once...it is impt to see if baby is fine and whether are u doing good or not. So this kind of money better dun save loh....for the sake of ur baby ya...if u think ur gynae charges is too ex .. u can try see any other gynae which offers a cheap package.

I'm new here. I've been a lurker of this board but I could not find the courage to participate b'cos of my medical history. I'm 29 and have had 5 miscarriages before I manage to create some new milestones in this current pregnancy. My EDD is 27 Sep based on ovulation day. I am now in my 12 weeks and very keen to get the morning sickness behind me already. I have been having a bad cold these few days.

Also I'll be doing the Oscar test at TMC next week to rule out any chromosomal abnormalities. I see that some of you have done this. I took up Oscar + 20 week detailed scan package. I have yet to catch up with all the posts I've missed.

I have one question though, during your NT scan in TMC, do you get to see the monitor? I've had so much bad experience in KKH. I think as a MTB, I have every right to look at my own baby and ask questions as much as I want to. KKH technicians like to act dumb (maybe they're really dumb) but I don't know about TMC though. Any thoughts?

Melissa, I've done my NT scan at TMC. The technician is very friendly. She will let u see the monitor together wif ur hubby
and if u have any queries u can ask her she will answer u...regarding to the test u are doing. so no worries at TMC... i have bad experience with KKH staff last thursday therefore if u want me to compare...TMC staffs are more friendly and helpful than KKH staffs.!!!
hope u will enjoy ur Oscar test ;)

hi all... yesterday i went to PS after 2 days of non action.. to my horror... u found a pool of bloody stool.... after a while, i went to the toilet again and the same thing happened... bloody.... from the anus.... anyone of u faced this prob before???? could it be because i am too heaty?????????

hi emma

SOrry to hear what you have been thru' .. but I am not too sure what is your problem. If you are not preggie, we will probably guess that you could be too heaty. Once we are preggie, any symptoms shld be reported to ur gynae asap !!

Hope u r ok ....

Hi coolqoo, as the others suggest, it is wise to stick to one gynae and of cos, not skip the monthly appointment you have with ur gynae. I guess this is also gynae's responsibility to make sure you have a smooth pregnancy thus the monthly appt is impt. Money can be save in other manners, but I guess seeing a gynae is unavoidable. But ur package is quite steep as compare to other gynaes. You may want to take up recommendations from friends on any other gynae. Try out and who knows you may switch gynae to save u on the package cost.
Just my two cents worth of opinion.

Rainnie,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Now I have to call my hubby up and remind him to take leave tomorrow for my Oscar test! What kind of bad experience have you had with KKH? Mine was that they won't entertain questions from you and always insist that doctors do the explanations. C'mon you're a sonographer, surely you're well-informed!

Emma,
If it's coming from your anus, I don't think it's threatening to the pregnancy. A 28-wk pregnant friend of mine also had the similar experience and she wasn't worried. You could have that checked with your gynae if you have time.

Coolqoo,
If this is your first baby, I'd rather take a "kiasu" approach and scrimp and save! My company do not cover any prenatal treatments too so I'm forced to be frugal in my spendings. I'll be generous with any medical treatments my money could afford though. My gynae charges $800 for antenatal package but I found her sonogram machine to be a little dated. It can't even measure heartbeat let alone hear it. So 3D scan is out of question. It also depends on how equipped the gynae is. The reason why I stick to her anyway is b'cos she knows about my medical history. It's convenient.

Hi daisybuttons and ilovebabies

Thanks so much for your advice
Appreciate a lot!

I sign up a package at TMC and the package itself cost me $2000++ (exluding oscar, blood test and some other things). I also find it expensive. I went for the oscar test on my 11th week and the blood test is separately charged also, and the OScar plus blood test cost me nearly $500! This is on top of the package I am already paying! I find it quite expensive. Is this the same rate everyone else is paying?

And how come my sister and from the forum thread I read, the technican does the oscar for you? For me, my gynae is a lady, and the person who does the oscar for me is another male gynae, also from TMC? Is there a difference between gynae doing it and technician? Is that why mine is so expensive??

daisybuttons, thanks for your concern. I check the ingredients before I order them. They use mainly abalone, fish maw, dates, etc... Mostly normal kind you find in Cantonese soup. I will skip when i see an ingredient that I am not familiar with.

Will try to call TMC again this afternoon to get details for the delivery arrangements.

Sasha, how did you bring your baby back to the foreign country? Have to make arrangements for passport issit?

Emma, sad to hear that...u better call ur gynae to check...no harm checking ya...its safer to check den doing nothing

Melissa, last thursday I went to my gp (my gynae is overseas) coz i found out my right cheek is swollen. My gp advise me to go A&amp;E @ KKH since my gynae isnt arnd. Coz he suspect it is mumps. When i was there after urine test the nurse 'chase' me out of the A&amp;E becoz of mumps! ask me to stand outside A&amp;E where it is warm and no seats there!!! I could understand why she ask me to go out coz it might spread to other mtbs BUT she should have told me where i can seat coz i cant stand too long...its very tiring. Until my hubby found out there's seats available at the other side (non aircon) we went over. When the nurse came back to me ask us to go into a consultation room (isolated) den the doctor and another nurse came (with mask on them) stood very far away from me! the doctor dont even dare to stand near me and did not do anything except telling me that there's nothing they could do they could only gave me panadol or painkiller to relieve the pain or swell. Saying that baby is fine since its after 12 weeks... When my face turn black the doctor ask whether do i want to scan and check on the baby. Throughout the whole incident both myself and my hubby felt that they are very irresponsible and unfriendly. Did not bother to check or stand near me whereas my gp or gynae (this am i visit him) did not avoid me at all! And we spent $80-$90 just to get those advise from them...

Smiley, how come ur package is $2000+++? wat does ur package include har? Mine is with TMC as well...I only paid $550 for antenatal package ya....for delivery and hospital it will be separate charges.

Hi Rainnie,

I also don't know how come mine cost so much. I better check what my package includes and excludes.
Feels a bit cheated.

<font color="0077aa">helo melissa</font>, welcome to the thread.
yes TMC scans they will let you see the monitor. in fact, you are supposed to do that. whether you scan at the 4th level radiology clinic or in ur doc's office.

<font color="0000ff">emma</font>, pls ask ur gynae about the bloody stools. better to check first.....

<font color="0077aa">Smiley</font>, my oscar test is also around $170 + $130 for the oscar (blood tests and NT scan) itself. on the day, they will also ask u to take up the routine blood tests for hep a, rubella, hiv, hameoglobin, toxiplasmasmosis etc and i think that cost another $100 plus. my bill that day totalled arnd $400 plus, so ours about the same. as for ur $2000 package, could it also have included delivery charges? as for why urs is the technican doing, IF i am not wrong, ur NT scan is done in the same clinic as ur gynae right? by TC Chang issit? TC Chang if I am not wrong is the expert on fetal abnormalities, he is quite reknown in his field. in the early days, he and Dr Ann Tan is the only 2 certified doctors to conduct oscar tests. usually patients in that clinic will be referred to him for NT scan. For those done by technican, its done at the 4th level of TMC, in the radiologogy department. this is usually because their gynaes are not based in TMC (although the gynaes deliver there), or their own clinics do not have doctors with such a machine. those Oscar tests done at 4th level is entitled to the 10% FBI discount, but not the ones done at your gynae's own clinic. not sure of the price difference, but I wun be surprised if there is. Mine is done by TC Chang and I am pretty happy with him, prefers a one-stop service too.

<font color="0000ff">smiley and rannie</font>, actually gynae packages without delivery ranges depending on the experience of the gynae or the charges of the clinic. it ranges from $550 - $1200 also have. it really depends. smiley, check out what ur package includes first, dun feel cheated.
for all u know urs included some things we don't have. my gynae package is abt $1.1K before delivery expenses.

<font color="0077aa">rannie</font>, hope you recover soon. yah the docs and nurses are really one kind in kkh...sigh...

Hi gals, long time no talk. so many postings since my last visit....

Raffles Hpt quoted me $2.4K for my antenatal package. It starts from 12 weeks. Includes:
1. 11-12 consultation &amp; US scanning up to week 40
2. Antenatal supplements such as Obimin
3. Urine tests for sugar &amp; albumin
4. Normal Delivery Fee
5. One Post Natal Visit after delivery

All other stuff is excluded like blood test,fish oil supplements, etc.

To sign up you got to pay 70% first &amp; remaining just before you go in to deliver. Later can claim only $450 from Medisave.

Is this expensive? I did not sign up when I was at 12 weeks. But I can sign up at my next one...so still thinking about it

Hi hi!

I will go back and check what my package includes.. but I know for my package, it does not include the multivitamins (Obimin)

Daisybuttons, you are quite right.. I took the test in the same clinic at TMC, on the first floor. Not the 4th floor. I can't remember the name of the male gynae actually, but it was a guy who wore glasses and look very clean and neat. In fact, he seems more patient than my gynae. :p

But hor.. I still prefer my gynae coz she's a female.. Me quite conservative lah.. :p

Daisybuttons,
Do we get to keep any ultrasound pictures as well? I have this habit of keeping everything that's baby-related. I keep them all in a journal.

Rainnie,
I'd be furious with that kind of treatment given by KKH too! But I guess that's just very Singaporean to be panic like that. So did you really have mumps?

Smiley,
My OSCAR package + blood test + 20 week detail scan is around $500 too. To be done in TMC, 4th floor. I got you there on being conservative too! My gynae is female. I always feel a little uneasy spreading eagle in front of a male gynae! But male gynaes can be much gentler than a female! It's so ironic!

Resha,
My antenatal package cost $800. Delivery is another $1k I think. If we take up the delivery package, we'll have to pay $550 deposit. My gynae delivers in TMC and Gleneagles but Raffles sounds neat. Maybe I should ask her if she can do it in Raffles. My aunts told me they could enjoy a meal at the Banquet if I deliver there. LOL! Crazy aunts.

Melissa, mine hasn't include the 20 week detail scan yet.

For those who sign up package, how many times did your gynae arrange to meet you (without extra charges) per month for the 1st and 2nd trimester? Mine's only once every 4 weeks. My fren says hers is more frequent. Like once every 3 weeks. I have to wait until my neck long long for every visit... :p

Hi Melissa, I do get to keep the ultrasound pictures...

The package rates which some of you have mentioned are quite expensive. I'll check what is the antenatal package SGH is offering and share with you all.

Amylim,
Thanks for sharing! :D

Smiley,
My $800 package covers vitamins, consultation and ultrasound from 12 weeks onwards. She suggested I see her every 4 weeks but due to my past miscarriages, I requested to see her 3 weeks once and she agreed. I guess it depends on your personal arrangement with your gynae.

Anyone knows where I could get 3D scans done? I heard it could detect cleft palate.