(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

just went for my NT scan this morning at TMC....
quite a nice experience it cost me $99++ include GST. i have signed up the 1st born incentive too is actually $128 but if got citibank creditcard then will be $98 only... but i sign it after e NTscan so cant have 10% discount from there.
those going NT scan or oscar must talk to baby nice nice 1st if nt like mine it took me half hr for e doc to take e measurement.... haahaa i got to cough n turn myself here n there to wake e baby up.... so tiring

Hi Daisybuttons,

I don't know the cost of the antenatal classes yet leh, since i haven't started enquiring.. maybe the rest of the MTBs are clearer on that. But i see on websites for hypnobirthing classes, it cost from 450 sgd onwards.. This is more expensive then usual, i suppose.

Regarding OSCAR, i posted above b4 liaoz. Will post the link again:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/expert/557433.html

OSCAR Test according to above is actually the NT test (My gynae never charge me for this part), plus triple test (my gynae charge me 100 sgd). The test for HIV, thalessimia etc is another test (my gynae charge me another 100 sgd for that test also)..

hmm.. everyone has diff rates hor?? :p

Hi Elaine,
Wat is the 1st born incentive? Have to sign before the NTscan to entitle for the disc? Pls enlighten me

hi 1st born incentive is actually a 2yrs membership from TMC given to MTB having their 1st baby ... got to pay for this membership. it entitle 10% discount on most of e test done at TMC therefore if u r doing any test at TMC then sign up 1st b4 u go for e test then can get e discount. hospital stay during our delivery also got discount... if e gynae u engaged is 1 of their participation doc then can also get 5% discount from e delivery package.... after baby born if u go see e participation paediatrics when baby sick or injection also got 10% discount. antenatal course attend at TMC also got discount... n lots more..
u can find out more for TMC website.

helo pig2 and amy, i couldn't register for the talk last saturday coz got something on that day. could you let us know what the talk said and what we need to know pls? wld love to find out, thanks so much. i registerd for the 25th march one though.

ilovebabies, hehehe you due early sept so u shld be 4th mth now? 2nd tri? think most of us not so soon lah hehe. i tot of tai jiao, but not sure what to do except talk or sing to baby? sometimes read to baby issit? but what kinda books do we read? simple baby books or chim chim books ah? hehhee i also dunno leh. anyone advise?

elaine, wow citiband card get such a good discount? i didn't know that. so do you feel that the FBI is good? i tot to pay $100+ just to get 10% here and there may not be worth it, but now u mention antenatal classes and pediatrician also have discount can consider. so u have done ur calculations and find it worth it? if i sign up, how fast will it take effect? e.g can i sign up on same day as my oscar test, just before the test?

how come must wake baby up to scan huh? so that he's positioned correctly huh? hehhe so cute. coz i read that one mum's baby was so active kept turning around that doc cannot scan. she gotta wait a while outside before goin in to try again.

hi all .... yes my EDD is in early sept .. oops sorry din realise the difference in our EDD ... btw for those who are interested in the ante natal class in MAH, i just called up and asked. Here are the details:
1) You start attending the class when you are in your 6 months of pregnancy.
2) There are evening classes on Wed or Thur from 630pm to 830pm, and weekends classes from 230pm to 430pm. Classes are conduct once a week.
3) Cost = $126 if we are delivering in MAH. Payment can be made on the first day of class, so i guess we have to ask our gynae to book the hospital before the 1st class to enjoy the discount.

I will be attending mine in June lor ...

As in tai jiao.. i thought of singing and reading simple children's books to my bb ? shld be enuff right ? dun expect us to read science or maths book to our bb ? ahhaha ....

i may be new to all of you. i am a mother of one my son is 6 month old, and my son is using the beansprout as a pillow or to put on his chest when he is baby. ii am getting 2 more for my firends too. so i do not know whether all of you mother to be interested to buy beansprout pillow for your little one. i am actuall arranging a bulk order for the bean sprout pillow. so if you are insterested u can join in the thread.
or we can arrange the order there too.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?270192/378816

hi all... me juz came back from my NT scan... everything seems ok.. baby's neck thickness is 1.3mm.
think if u all going tmc to scan, try to go early in the morning.. i went at 9.. v fast my turn.. after i was done, the place v crowded alr...

helo ilovebabies, thanks for the info on antenatal classes.
oh but i delivering in tmc so i think may be diff. hopefully more runs per week, or else sure very pack hor? hehehehhee yah loh, funny right reading chim chim books to baby? but i always have the impression leh heheehe. heard some ppl put the books upside down on their tummy for baby to "read"! cute hor? heheheee....wah u ask me to read those chim chim books now i sure fall asleep.

linsaw, thanks but i think some of us here not yet planning to buy the pillows yet.
shldn't we buy closer to delivery?

helo emma, congrats on the scan.
where did you did your test ah? coz i am doing in the same clinic as the gynae i am seeing on thur.

hi daisybuttons, no problem ! just sharing the info ... probably we can lookup internet on how to do the "tai jiao"... btw wat do we call "tai jiao" in english ?

helo ilovebabies, me no idea leh. hhhmmm........babyteach? fetus conditioning? hehehe just guessing, shld be some proper name..... yah i shld look up internet some time soon.
they say shld start teaching when huh? u 4th mth can start oredi right?
perhaps such things only chinese believe, not sure if ang moh websites have?

emma, yah i know tmc.
i meant, coz you described better to do in early morning, so i had the impression your oscar is at a special plc in TMC and not your usual gynae? just wondering. thanks.

hi daisybutton...
u have to sign up b4 ur oscar test to enjoy e discount... e membership takes immediate effect. anyway TMC brochure for e antenatal course stated 20wks then need to attend so i'm nt signing up so early yet... i find e membership quite worthwhile if most of e things u wanna do at TMC if nt then no point signing it....

helo emma, oh i see i see, thanks.

elaine, so the membership takes immediate effect. in that case perhaps i shld go and read more about the FBI before i go for the test. coz it sounds good.
but that means pediatricians must be in TMC also before u can get pedia discount huh?

hi daisybuttons
Amy, myself and our hubbies were there at the public forum. In fact we met up during the short break! The forum was great, though some of the speakers were abit boring!

We were shown on the slides what are some of the tests for preggies are, how are they conducted, etc. Pretty technical, but informative.

One of the speakers were also sharing about sex during pregnancy! Basically is alright to sex, as long as the pregnancy is normal and preggie is comfortable. But she mentioned that semen may contain a chemical (cant remember the name) that may actually stimulate contractions!

Also we were show how to breastfeed our babies. I think is pretty early to learn now, but good to know it! One thing is to remember to latch on the baby immediately after delivery. Our babies are the most alert for the first 1 hours, there after babies will Zzzzz all the time. And also by breastfeeding immediately, our babies will feel the mother warmth and smell! Correct latch on will not infringe any pain, and majority of the woman will be able to breastfeed our babies.

hi daisybuttons

i am now in 14 weeks of my pregnancy ... not yet 4 mths
... ya i heard that we can start the tai jiao from 4th mth onwards as the ears are formed ...

Hi Pig and Amy,

So you went to the forum as well! Are you going to the one on 25 March too? Me very Kiasu. Signed up for both.

Daisybuttons,

The talk was pretty informative. It covered mainly 4 areas, (i) which are the tests performed for feotal well-being, (ii) how to have a smooth pregnancy, (iii) common childhood illnesses and the vaccinations required for your newborn, and (iv) optimal attachment for breastfeeding.

I think what really is very useful to me is (i), (ii) and (iv). (iii) was really boring as the pedeatrician was really long-winded.
but I think to first time moms, such forums provide useful information for all our reference.

On (i), it was shared by Dr Henry Cheng who is a very good sonographer (someone who is professionally certified in ultrasound). He shared on the tests which can be done to ensure that the outcome of the pregnancy is as close as what you expect it to be. Basically there are the non-invasive procedures, as well as invasive ones. Non-invasive procedures include things like double test and NT scan (done at wk 11 to 14), and triple test (done at wk 15 to wk 20). He shared on the pros and cons of each type of test, and what they can detect and their false-positive rate. He also shared what can be detected from an ultra-sound. Basically at week 20, a detailed scan is available. It is amazing what can be detected through the detailed scan. Defects such as hole in the heart, aorta deformity, bladder problems, cleft lip, spinal deformity (spinal bifida) etc can all be detected, depending on the skill of the gynea perfoming the ultrasound and the level of clarity. Mums-to-be can also elect for the doppler test, which test the rate at which blood flows in and out of the fetal heart, which detects heart defects such as heart murmurs. He also shared on the risk level for women of different ages, as well as the invasive procedures (such as Chronic Villus Sampling - which is extraction of placenta cells, and Amiocentesis - extraction of amiotic fluids) which are available. CVS is available from wk 14. And Dr Cheng also shared that such invasive tests can detect genetic deformities, such as thalassamia (which affects 3% of our population) and down syndrome with 100% accuracy, as compared to non-invasive tests. However, such invasive tests may also result in miscarriages in 0.5% of the cases.

One thing Dr Cheng also brought up was that ultrasound scans are not 100% fool-proof, given the size of the fetus, and the body has a self-aborting mechanism for unsatisfactorily pregnancies. Hence, the longer a woman carries the fetus, the lower the possibility that the fetus has severe deformities. Dr Cheng also shared that testing allows for early detection and parents can make informed decisions. Plus if the parents wish to continue with the pregnancy, the gynea can also discuss the delivery methods that will best ensure the baby's well-being.

Part (ii) was shared by Dr Lisa Chin. She shared on the vitamins and food that should be taken for pregnant women, and how to reduce pregnancy symptoms. She also shared on sex during pregnancy which was mentioned by Pig, and that sex should be avoided at the last few weeks as it can induce labour. Otherwise sex is fine as long as both parties are up to it. Lisa Cheng also mentioned that milk should not be taken together with iron supplements, as this will reduce iron absorption. Iron supplements should be taken with vitamin c to enhance its absorption rate.

I came out of the talk better informed, and also started exploring my test options. My gynea is offering triple test at week 15 for me, as well as the 5th month detailed scan and the 8th month detailed scan. I just did the NT scan with my gynea, who did not charge me for it. The NT measurement is 10mm (below 20mm), so feeling quite assured.

KKH is offering antenatal classes, which I will be going for in April. It is pretty cheap. It is $180 per couple and for 10 sessions. It covers everything from exercising to the birth process to looking after your baby. All pregnant couples can start attending from the 16th week of their pregnancy onwards. If you are interested, you can visit their website for more details and call them to make a booking. They have just opened booking for the April sessions, and the classes are snapped up pretty fast since it is max 10 couples per class.

Hope the above helps!

helo dear peachie, its so sweet of you to post this. thanks so much! could i ask u a few questions?
what are the vitamis and food that is rec for preggie woman as mentioned by Dr Lisa? she mentioned what to take with iron supplements (e.g. vit c). did she mention about how to take any other supplements?

what made u decide to attend the class at kkh when u are delivering at gleaneagles? is the kkh class better?

and how did they teach iv? could you share a bit on what you learn in iv as well if you dun mind?

Hi Daisybuttons,

No probs. I have a pretty good memory, so manage to capture most of the presentation that I am interested in.

Dr Lisa Chins sharing is mainly on the supplements. She highlighted that pregnant women need folic acid, calcium (mainly in second to third trimesters), iron and DHA. However, she cautioned that should mums-to-be prefer to buy DHA off the shelf from pharmacies, be careful cos the DHA to EPA ratio is very important. If the EPA ratio is too high, it can be harmful (cannot remember why) to the foetus. So it is preferable to buy DHA pills that are suitable for pregnancy.

She shared that supplements is mainly sufficient. Many pregnant women make the mistake of over-eating, especially on filling up on empty calories. She shared that the ideal weight gain throughout the entire pregnancy should be 12-14kgs. Anything more is excessive. And in the first trimester, there is no reason as to why the pregnant mum should eat more, cos the calorie intake should still be roughly the same as pre-pregnancy.

Dr Lisa Chin highlighted an important issue on the use of retinol A, for women who are currently trying to get pregnant. She stressed that the use of retinol A (which is common in a lot of facial products) will lead to an increased risk of birth deformities. Hence for women using retinol A, they need AT LEAST a window period of 1 month for the body to clear the retinol A before they start trying to get pregnant. Since all of us are pregnant here, I guess this is a non-issue.

The lactation specialist part is harder to share here, cos she did a lot of demonstrations to show the audience the optimal angle for breastfeeding. Basically what I can share is that the optimal time for breastfeeding is within 2 hours of natural birth, and 4 hours of c-section birth. Baby is most alert right after birth. After which the baby will go to sleep. Basically, the baby should be as close to the moms breast as possible for optimal attachement, and the ENTIRE aerola (which means the nipple PLUS the aerola) should be in the babys mouth for proper breastfeeding. If the baby is only sucking the nipple, the mom will be suffering from sore nipples and baby is getting insufficient milk. Easy breastfeeding cycle should be around 30mins, and baby is to be fed every 2-3 hours. But a lot is based on gauging the babys expression. Once babys mouth is open or baby is sucking fingers continuously, it is a sign that the baby is hungry and due for feeding. She also shared that feeding through milk bottles will inculcate bad sucking habits in the baby. A baby who is bottle fed will not open his/her mouth wide, and the mom will have problem breastfeeding later on.

This is what I can recall. Hope this helps.

Oh yes, I read somewhere in the forum that the Gleneagles class is pretty boring. Anyway, my husband did a comparison of all the antenatal classes currently offered. Basically, all hospitals such as TMC, MAH, Gleneagles, Changi Hospital and KKH all offer antenatal classes. But I found the KKH one to be the most comprehensive. Although I am not delivering at KKH (which will entitle me to a $30 discount), I still found the whole package very reasonably priced for all that it will be teaching, especially for 1st time moms who are clueless like me. However, there is only 1 Saturday class. The rest of the classes are on weekdays which I am not able to make it.

helo peachie, u are really a dear. a kiss from me!
382316.gif
hehehee.

i see i see, thanks for the info. My gynae has not given me any supplements yet. will ask her about it in the coming visit.

really? KKH classes most comprehensive? quite surprised to learn that. i guess i can find out about what they teach on their internet right? if its KKH it will be pretty convenient for me. think i better find out more so i can reserve the april classes.

thanks thanks.

hi peachie, regarding the retinol A issue, i think it's not right to say tt since we're all pregnant, this's an non issue. as i tot they already mentioned increased risk of birth deformities. so when the baby is developing inside us, if we're still using retinol A, then maybe will cause deformities.

Hi Daisybuttons,

No probs. Since I can remember, might as well share here so that everyone can benefit.

Hi edksd,

You are right. It pays to be careful when using facial products. Just stay away from those containing retinol A, okie? My Uni friend was prescribed face cream containing retinol A by her GP to clear her acne problem, and she used it consecutively on a daily basis for 3 years, as her acne problem will return once she stops the cream. She only found out its effect on pregnancy after she got pregnant and visited the same gynea to replendish her stock. So it's pretty scary sometimes as to what we use, especially the effects of such products on pregnancy is not well-publicised.

I am still applying makeup for work everyday.... and using fancl facial products. Honestly I am also not sure if there are traces of retinol A inside as well. It is pretty scary, come to think of it.

Down with cold and a bad sore throat right now, and got some antibiotics from my GP which is supposed to be preganancy safe this afternoon. However, I still have second thoughts about taking it. Sigh.

hi peachie ...

tks for ur info .. envy your powerful memory !!

have to be extra careful during pregnancy not to catch the flu virus ... gynae always warn me about that ... if you are always prone, ask ur gynae if you can take any vit C ?

meanwhile avoid spicy and fried food lor .. you'll be better
take care ...

Thanks! Trying very hard to cure myself, but it doesn't seem to be working. It is a huge pain to be sick and pregnant. Got MC for tomorrow. Will stay at home and rest and pray my immune system kicks in soon....

helo helo peachie, pls take care of urself. I know what u mean, we are so cautious nowadays of the med we can take. I think antibiotics if GP knows u are pregnant, shld be safe. during my 6 weeks i took augmentin (containing amoxycilin) to treat some infection. it was given by my gynae herself. so guess augmentin and amoxycilin is okie for pregnancy?

better to get well soon before getting into flu. coz flu we can't take antihistamine, so a bit more tricky. right now, try to cure your sore throat with warm honey (soothes throats) mixed with lemon (vit c). and gurgle your throat with salt water. it helps kills some germs hopefully will prevent it from spreading. and drink lots of water, take good care......

Hey peachie,
Take care. We are more prone to sickness becos our body temperature is much higher. Perhaps you can drink home cooked barley (without putting any sugar). I know it's quite tasteless but drink it like normal water. The barley can help to cool down the body temperature.
Hope you get better soon!

i did get sick when I was in my first trimester. although I told the GP that i was pregnant, i usually call up my GP and make sure the medicine is safe for consumption.

Hi rainnie, daisybuttons, emma, littlepony and ;),

Thanks for all your good wishes and advice! I truly appreciate them!

Couldn't sleep the whole of last night even though I was very tired. The minute I lie down, I started coughing. What's worse was my throat felt as if it is being burned. I tahan from 10pm till 2.30am, and could not get to sleep. In the end I gave up and took the medication (basically the anti-inflammation pills, the anti-phlegm and cough syrup). The only thing I skipped was the anti-biotics.

Anyway, felt better after that and managed to sleep. Told my husband that I took the medication after all this morning. Well, he consulted those pregnancy guides he bought from Borders trawled the internet for the contents of the medication I took, and started telling me that the cough syrup contained coddein, which according to the guide books should be avoided cos it may cause birth defects. Haiz.... what to do??? Taken a dose already. Can only pray for the best. Looks like I have to endure endure and endure from now on. Honestly my GP assured me that the medication are pregnancy safe, and the cough syrup which she prescribed is pretty common (the blackish syrup that is slightly sweet). So it's hard to tell sometimes.

I am still waiting for my immune system to work. Sigh.... Hopefully I can get some sleep tonight.

Anyway, my very resourceful husband was inspired by the Sunday talk, and he started researching on the tests that I can do. Since my gynea does not perform the double-test, he tracked down a fantastic sonographer called Ann Tan (who used to head the ultrasound unit at SGH) to perform the double test plus 12 week ultrasound on me. Went to her clinic at Mt E today,. I was basically sick and yawning away. Almost fainted at her charges. $325 (incl GST) for the double test plus ultrasound. And amazingly, she is booked up for the whole of this week. My husband managed to slot me in at the last minute yesterday cos I am in week 12 of my pregnancy, which is the optimal time for the double test to be done.

Anyway, her ultrasound techniques are superb. She could scan for even the bladder (which really is very small), the right and left cortex of the brain (whether they are symmetrical and normal), the spinal cord flexibility, the nuschal tube, the existence of the nasal bridge. Even the five fingers of the hand, the ears, the chin and the cheeks can be seen. She measured the heartbeat (and I could hear them) and checked the placenta. So all in all, she is pretty detailed, so the $325 is not so heart-pain after all. My husband also booked the 5th month detailed scan with her. The 5th month detailed scan is $250-$350, which is a lot more than the $110 my gynea is charging me.

Still very tired right now. Maybe I go and try get some sleep. You gals take care too, okie! By the way, there is a baby fair coming up at Singapore Expo this weekend. Hope I am well enough to go by then!

I am back again. was on mc for a long while....yesterday went for the First Trimester scan....NT scan with the blood test. The baby was fine...saw the hands and feet (skeleton), kidney, bladder, brain, ears, etc. Everything is in its place.... the NT is 1.5mm. My DS ratio is 1:15683....I am so happy. The gynae also said 60% chance that my bb is a girl. But still early to tell until next scan or so...the legs were blocking genital area. I have start searching for baby girl names for my little one. so many websites & books. my baby will be a Virgo. According to Hindu star sign, the name shd start with "P"...got any unique names to share

In week 20 will have another scan similar to this....

helo peachie oh i didn't know GP gave u cough syrup or else I wld have asked u not to eat that. but its only one dose, not to worry, dun take that anymore kae? from what my gynae said, for med, whats safe is certain antibiotics, antacid, panadol. whats NOT safe is cough mixture and antihistamine.

Hope you feeling better now.....
try the honey or the salt gurgle, it may help.

peachie and resha, seems like quite a few of us just did NT scan. I did mine today.
quite amazing isn't it? can see so many things. gynae showed the nasal bone, the head circumference, abdomen, nuchal fold, measure heartbeat..etc. didnt ask about gender though, think will leave that til 5th month.

resha, wow can find names oredi.
hehehe... can't think of any girl names starting with P except Patricia, Pamela, Priscillia, Penny.....you are a hindu issit? so it must be a hindu name right?

helo ladies, for those who have left their msn email addy earlier, have just sent u a request to add me hor?
though i can't log on in office, but perhaps non-office hours or weekend can see u girls online hehee.

hi daisybuttons, I am hindu....yes looking for hindu names but with a modern twist as well. Lets see...still got 6 mths to go.

My bb was moving a lot during the scan...the hands & legs were jerking so much...my hubby & I were giggling throughout...

After my scan that day, I went to buy maternity bras. I had tried some promotional ones at mothercare but found the straps to be rough....then saw some at M&S, so soft & comfortable...but ex$$. any idea if the maternity shops you gals have been to sell extremely soft ones? My boobs are so sensitive now...can't even wear my normal cotton ones.

wow, seems like those FT scan done at Pte is better. I just did mine together with blood test 2 weeks ago at KKH. Dr only measured nuchal thickness and check for nasal bone. Didn't measure the rest of the body. It costs slightly over $300. So Peachie, your scan is considered very worthwhile for the same price but so much more detailed.

hi rani, u mean M&S has maternity bra too? i think in the past i never noticed :p

im used to wearing bra w underwire. i hope maternity bra has underwire too?!?!

Hi Peachie, hope you are feeling better I was down with sore throat yesterday also... Was given panadol, amoxicillin and dequalinium by my gp which was supposedly to be pregnancy safe....

Ann Tan's charges are quite reasonable. She's very popular when she was in SGH and was often featured in the media.

Anyone planning to go for pre-natal yoga classes?

Went back to work today.... got 3 meetings back to back, and one of them was with my Chairman. Sigh... Coughed all the way till my face turned red, and it's really embarassing. It's been a really tough day.

Have been working till 8 plus everyday, and weekends are spent clearing work. It's much worse when I am sick and pregnant and with loads of work. Really thinking of giving up sometimes. Just see how long more I can endure. Got to keep my job, especially now with another mouth to feed. Everything costs so much these days.

Cough didn't seem to get any better, and neither is my throat. Tried everything from the mouthwash to barley to honey water. Let's just see how. My immune system is virtually non-existent. Haiz. Started taking vitamin C today. Hope this will help.

Looks like Ann Tan isn't so expensive after all.

Hi Amy,

You take care too! Hope u get better soon!

Hi MTBs, sorry to interrupt.

In case any of you are contemplating a purchase of a manual pump, in anticipation for the relief of engorgement during the 1st few days, and are also unsure of your breast milk supply, before committing into a purchase of a good electric pump.

Please pop by my thread to view/consider. Thanks a lot!

<u>Want to Sell: AVENT ISIS Manual Breast Pump</u>
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/383733.html?1142089548

helo helo ladies!

helo zach's mum! yes yes i remember you.
you are the nice friendly lady sitting next to me.
how, have you spoken to ur hospital and hubby about signing up? ur EDD is June issit? sorry recently very bad memory leh. hehehee. me thinking of starting the course later leh, i really scare blur me will forget all i learn by the time my labour starts if i learn too early hahahaa.

helo resha, i not buying maternity bras yet, coz all of the bras look so huge! hehehee. though my breasts do feel fuller but not big enough yet for the maternity bras i think. the girl did recc i come back prob when i 4-5 mths then buy. what is M&amp;S?

edskd, i heard that for preggie us, underwire bras are not good as they may impede the growth of the milk ducts. i think most maternity bras do not have underwire, but somehow still good support. i still wearing my underwire bras, sometimes so pain i had to release it a bit.

helo amylim, i tot of going prenata yoga. i heard that babys n cream and shambala classes are good issit?
we can share research, heard wong li lin teach at shambala or did i rem wrongly? oh u are sick too, hope you get better soon.

dear peachie, sayang ah *pat pat head*. ur work sounds tough, but hang in there. u can take mc or leave to rest at home right? our immune system as preggies are 10-20 times weaker than that of a usual person. thats why we are susceptible to common flus. must take care of urself, continue drinking loads of water. i think the natural remedies also takes time to help, so continue with the honey if its not too troublesome.

If you are feeling tight with your underwire bras and yet, not intending to buy maternity bras till later stage, I suggest that you go to any lingerie department in shopping centers... ask them for a bra extension. Just hook the extension to your current bra and you will definitly feel better and less painful. Well, I am currently using bra extensions.. and highly recommended.

Dear peachie, hope u feel better today!

Daisybuttons,
I start pre-natal yoga liaoz.. went for 2nd lesson yesterday, hubbies included in price (220sgd for 10 lessons). www.lavidaloft.com.

I am improving in my stretching (I am naturally inflexible!).. and i sleep better at night.. though next day, my muscles are aching.. I am now learning the breathing techniques and it does help to calm n slow down my heartbeat rate and relax me.. hopefully, the stretching will help me to stretching my pelvic muscles n abdominal muscles so delivery will be easier and I can lose the weight better after that..

It's great that my hubby is with me, cos he helps to encourage me to stretch further and provides emotional &amp; physical support for me in some of the exercises that i find tough, which is good, especially when my tummy grow bigger.

Hubby gets to stretch also and learn the breathing.. since he seldom stretch, hee hee, he gets tired after every class and sleeps well at night too!

I am glad i start early now instead of later when my tummy gets even bigger, as I can train my muscles to be stronger and more flexible..!!

helo little pony! thanks, and yes I am using bra extensions. it does release a bit, but sometimes still find it tight. so sometimes will have to release the bra for a while heheheee.

jasmine,wow u are fast, u how many weeks now? 14th? thanks for the link! the price does sounds good esp since hubby inclusive. how did you decide on this company? are they reknown for their pre-natal? i bit worried coz not all yogas are suitable for preggies right? wow, it hellps you sleep better at night? sigh....tell me about it man, i slept very badly still. keep waking up or tossing and turning, and very very sensitive to my hubby's movements or sounds even though our bed is a good one. last time, i dun even know if he goes to the bathroom and back. now he turn sides i wake up. :p

Hi Daisybuttons,

Me today is 16 weeks from my last menstrual period.. a little lost count after a while..

I went with 2 June MTB who i got to know from the TTC thread for the trial lesson to see if we like it.. 2 of us signed up for it.. The other didn't want to commit to 10 lessons as she is afraid that before she use finish 10 lessons, she pop liaoz.. (she is ~30 weeks).

We found the website and found it reasonable and gave it a try. The instructor is female (Regina) and a mother of a 1+ yr old boy. During her pregnancy, she was still doing yoga, and even went on a few TV programs to show pre-natal yoga poses and its benefits. I saw a few articles on it in her studio lah..
The place is just a room (which is the studio liaoz). Nothing much, but there are shower facilities available near the toilets if you need it. As i didn't perspire much, i usually go straight back.

I don't know if they are renown for their pre-natal, but it is good enough for me.. I mostly took it up as my husband can go along.. (so per pax is only 110 sgd for 10 lessons!

hi, i just went to see my gynae yday. bb is 11 wks 6 days old already. the next visit is 3 wks later which we'll do a blood test for thalasaemia, down syndrome and NTD.

any of u started taking bird nest already?