(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Alright! Thanks <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Phoebe</font></font>, hope it's not too much trouble..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Joon</font></font>, weird that your carrot turned bitter. But are u able to describe the kind of bitterness? is it like in hokkien 'kum kum'? or bitter as in veg kinda bitter, like bittergourd? You mentioned the smell of the carrot is still nice, I suspect the problem comes from your blender. What were u blending before? GARLIC? GINGER? Could be a chemical reaction le.. A bad carrot is xng xng, nua nua and the color turns dark, can be black too..

Here are my suggestions: (and I assumed u know u must steam your carrots thoroughly cooked ya..)

1. Guess if your's wasn't a bad carrot then try thoroughly washing your blender first. If there's a 'pulse' function, use that with warm water and some mamalemon or lemon juice/vinegar. Then later, rinse the blender with warm water, using the 'pulse' function again. The 'pulse' thing turns the blade the other way round. Try pureeing your carrot again, see if it's the same.

2. If #1 doesn't work, then USE another carrot and puree the same, see if the problem still persists.

3. If both #1 & #2 don't work, then bring THAT SAME carrot (the supposedly bad one) to someone else's blender to puree and see if you face the same problem.

4. If all of the above fails, then don't give carrots lo.. hee..

Each time u try the above suggestions, make sure the blender is washed with WARM water ya..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">DB</font></font>, when you say less milk as in before u intro the cereal right? or lesser than 500ml per day? If it's the former, then it's only natural mah..

I am feeding Arianne 2 feeds of cereal+puree a day and during each feed, she drinks about 80-100ml of water. I don know how much water is sufficient for a bb of ours' age though..

Yahh.. I guess Jovann will tell you if 2 meals is ok when you try feeding him the 2nd serving..

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Congrats on Jovann's 6 months! Well done mummy!</font></font> I'm sure he'd love his animals milk bath tomorrow!

Hi Jerene,

great .would like to join for the trial class as well. can we have it on sat instead? as hubby traveling to states on that day. thanks

sorry will update the list later as am using pda... super slow to type..

was it brenda or blessedmummy tt says what vitamin/supplement is gd for hairloss problem?

what vitamin/supplement is tt? is it really good? i think i need to take too.

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">Brenda jie jie</font></font>
gong gong mui mui ask u hor... if cannot find SUBTEX zinc supplement, other brand can ma???

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Happy 6 mths Jovaan!!</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY 6 MONTHS , JOVAN !</font>

ladies, anyone heard people using or have used the below ?

728886.jpg

Learn & Groove Musical Table

I think this is the one i bot at taka, tot it was the touchpad and grabbed this wrongly at taka sale..

will be delivered o wed to my place..

Orange
Wah you also super early on a Sunday morning!

Brenda
And you super late on a Sat nite!
YOu don't sleep one is it?
I think i better give sophie more water, i'm not used to feeding her water, sometimes i just skip it! Argh...

Milk Minimum
I checked Gina Ford's book and the recommended is 600ml min once we start solids. This can be in cereal etc... as long as it goes into baby's little tum tum. Anyways more better than less at this point COZ according to my new pd(!
), that's where baby still gets most of the nutrition esp calcium n protein. Coz we haven't intro meat yet. SO..... my stand is better to focus on the milk and go easy on the solids.

In fact in one case example in the book where the 4/5 mth old baby drinks too little milk and began to slow down on weight gain, Gina Ford recommends to cut back on solids and increase milk first n then slowly intro solids again.

<font size="+1">Ling..</font> wah... sophie and jovann take milk bath together ah.... keke.. then all the animals no use alr lohz... heheheee

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>

U r rite , buying toys must plan
I did a lot of impulsive buying on Thursday at taka & isetan , esp when i need to rush back to office( hehe, next time must plan properly..just like the one above that i grabbed wrongly..)

what is HYPY ?

<font color="0000ff">melody , xena-priness</font>
well, kelicia dun like the toys lor..will pose her pictures when she first see the toys vs just with daddy no toys, taken w1 min apart

<font color="0000ff">emma</font>
aiyah,if only u have post that earlier, jrt got extra set of the first one & was trying to sell it ! now think booked liao..

<font color="0000ff">eldksd</font>
what happens is that i attend a weaning class at bukit batok polyclinic.
was told by the nurse training us at the class that solely crereals to be introduced from 6 to 8 months..any puree is after 8 months lor..

I have a weakness for what doctors & nurses said :p like in a medical cult

<font color="0000ff">Daisybuttons</font>
oops, i raed wrongly, u r the one who bot it ? is it the same as the one i post above, can post the picture of teh one u bot ?

btw, y float is sala ?

<font color="0000ff">emma</font>
enzo looks liek iger wood in the making leh
taht is an innovative pic !

<font color="0077aa">jo,</font>
i was thinking of buying a learning table for DN too. i read some positive reviews about toys like that. (good for encouraging them to pull up and stand up, lots of activities) decided not to get it coz my place is TOO FULL OF OTHER NONSENSE. so we got a smaller toy instead! are u thinking of changing it? how much did u pay for it? what's a touchpad??

<font color="ff0000">brenda,</font>
ah, u're so sweet! thanx for cracking ur brains to think of the different permutations of "Reasons for Bitter Carrots"!
i know it can't be the blender coz just before that, we blended his apples and they tasted great! i'll try again with the balance of the carrots and see if they're still bitter. will keep u updated!

<font color="119911">ling,</font>
thanx for the info on min milk intake. golly, i think i'm stuffing DN like a fat goose. he takes 540ml when i'm at work, then i latch him on 3x from 7pm to 7am the next day. then the overfeeding cycle starts again! hahahahah!!! what a little pig he is.

Rachel: Jovann di di, happy 6 mths old !! *shake hands*

Jovann smiled shyly at Rachel and extend his hand

Rachel: Oh btw, I'll be turning 7 mths old tomorrow!!

Jovann eyes lit up and give Rachel a big hug !!!

and they live happily ever after ....

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">edksd</font></font>, yes it's zinc that can help with strengthening our hair. Just like if you need to strengthen/increase your blood, you take iron supplemens. These act as supplements. If you want miracles, hair transplant.. heehee

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">June-mui</font></font>, any brands can la.. as long as it's Z-I-N-C, not the zinc roof ahh..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Ling</font></font>, I couldn't sleep the whole of last night until about 3/4am cos of 3 HUMONGOUS ulcers in my mouth. Hurts like sh*t! Even had to postpone Shawn's bday dinner to tonight, hoping that the ulcers will be tamed by then in order to enjoy my food..

Thanks for the info from Gina Ford.. especially on the slow weight gain and going back to milk bit. Arianne is having some rash-like red patches and I'm suspecting that she's not receiving solids well. So for the whole of today, I'm going stop feeding her any solids, so will be going back to her old milk feeds schedule and hopefully by tomorrow morning I can see some light if not will be a visit to the PD..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Jo</font></font>, it was <font color="ff0000">jRt</font> who taught me this 'HYPY' = HanYuPinYin..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">J@@n</font></font>, okok.. once your mystery is solved, must tell me cos I'm really curious to know.. hee kpo me..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">TPL5</font></font>, hi! you're welcome but all our babies here are SEP babies (with a couple exceptional cases of Aug/Oct ones) in this thread.. there's a thread specially just for June 2006 babies which you might've find the chats there more relevant to you. But of course you can always stay here too!

Jerene,

Updating the list :

Parent/Baby/Remarks
1) Jerene & Alexis
2) PG & Chloe
3) shirlyn & Yu Jie
4) Blessedmom & johannah
5) Orange & Cayden

* Mummies, let me know if can change to sat ya! If sunday, anytime before 1pm can? as hubby's flight is 4pm. THANKS.. sorry for any inconvenience!!! *

Ling,
aiyo.. Little Cayden woke up early today ! at 8am so after feeding him, we are ready for breakfast! i was logging in with my PDA to search for some stuffs so came in to the forum for a quick glance !! hehehe..

<font color="aa00aa">brenda,</font>
hahaha! that's funny - j@@n.
ah, u know what? i'm thinking of doing the same with @@. ever since he started on solids, his eczema has returned.
not in full force, but there's a bit of rash on his cheeks. *sigh* looks like i'll have to eat all his apple puree then. it's a chore, but someone's gotta do it right??

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">j@@n</font></font>, heh.. new nick for u ahh.. hee..

YEAH! and their purees are so yummilicious isn't it? I bet u can't wait to rush them down your throat heh.. I love the steamed pear puree especially, so fragrant!

Well, A's rash doesn't look like eczema.. patchy, red but not scaly or dry.. like this >>

729099.jpg

I suspect it derives from SOLIDS itself cos these patches appeared since day 1 I fed her cereal but I didn't think it was serious cos the patches were 20cts like only then and I brushed it off thinking it was just some bug bites.. but since 2 days ago, the patches been increasing. Moreover, she wasn't unhappy and was downing the cereal so well.. And we did whatever we could to suss out HEAT RASH and we're pretty convinced it's not..

So will without solids for the next 24 hours then see how lor..

Emma
sell u wat ah???
i am lost! kekeke

Daisybuttons
<font color="0000ff">Happy 6 mths to Jovann!</font> i am oso wondering wat to do for R's 6th mth leh... its a thurs... and i probably cant take leave coz got a workshop... gotta do post celebration, i think.

<font color="119911">WATERMELON anyone?</font>
729103.jpg

YUMMY!

729104.jpg

<font color="0077aa">jrt,</font>
OMG! the teether is so cute! hahahahaaa...

<font color="ff6000">brenda,</font>
from that pic, the rashes are obviously not bothering A, haha! i swear, bbs are the most hardy of all. it's US who get all worried when they get rashes/coughs/ba-lu-kus, heh heh. hmm... @@'s patches are eczema patches. so it's not due to his solids then?

jrt.. actualli i'm not that sure also.. but i think jo was talking abt the gumball toy u got from the isetan sale?? u have an extra one to sell???

j@@n
so funnie! u chg ur "o" to"@"!!!
its v apt!!!
bot the teether at the taka fair! so cute rite? i love it as well!

emma
oh u r late! sold it to one oct thread mummy liao. pai seh hor. wah seh, din noe the toy was such a hot commodity!

<font color="0077aa">jrt,</font>
pls give the credit to <font color="ff0000">brenda</font>. she called me that first! LOL! i too, burst out laughing. oh, why did u sell ur gumballs toy? i love to look at and play with all the toys at the baby dept. if can press, i surely press!!!!! i bought DN this at the taka fair... not that expensive and it keeps him entertained for some time, heh heh...

729172.jpg

j@@n
same here! i am like a big kid myself ok! i will go and press watever toys tt can make sound one... if i like it enuff, will get 4 R!
the toys muz impress me, the mummy, 1st b4 i decide to get it 4 my kid!

i am selling it coz my dear sis told me she has the exact same toy fr her girl's baby shower lor. i din intend to sell it initially, juz posted in Oct thread. then 1 mummy asked me if i wanna sell to her instead. so i thot why not? since it makes no sense to hv 2 same toy mah.

tts a COOL toy as well! i spent $30 on a FP toy at the taka fair yest on the 3 soft blocks of Mix & Match. i cant believe its so darn exp! din think too much abt it coz my hb was the one tt picked the toy and i juz paid.
why does FP toys cost so much?!

Emma
sayang lah, dun b sad... one OCt mummy told us tt Metro is selling tt toy at $29.90... a couple of dollars more than isetan fair though.. if u r keen, can check out Metro.

my frren juz told me kiddy palace is selling it @ 29.90 too!! woo hoo! -10%.. then its close to isetan's price too.. hehe... me not sad alr.. keke

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font> agree pear puree is yummy. just made some for caleb n he loves it. mix wif his cereals n he finished everything in less than 15 mins. 4 tbs wor. so happy. think i will hijack some of the frozen ones as my snack - pear icy.... yummy.

<font color="0000ff">j@@n</font> was still wondering who is this j@@n... me super blur. only realised it when brenda mentioned. n i agree that the '@@' very appropriate too...

<font color="0000ff">daisybuttons</font> congrats on Jovann's 6th months. he shares the same birthday as vivian's Rhys. did u know esther (oct thread mummy), her son's name is Jovan. quite similar hor. so coincidental.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font> yah lor. FP toys are always more ex but me & sis rather spend more on FP toys cos it is realiable. we had FP since we were kids. FP toys u can b assured, the paint on the toys wont run n r safe for kids. some toys, cheaper but colours will run so very dangerous (not saying all cheap toys are no good but paying extra for the peace of mind ba).

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">j@@n</font></font>, yahh she's definitely not bothered with it. But what u see is only one area and yesterday when the rash was at its angriest stage, almost the whole body was covered with it. I felt like I was looking at a naked roasted suckling piglet like the one at my gf's wedding couple months ago when I was looking at A's during her bath time!

My understanding of ECZEMA is = severe dry skin. There's a possibility that since DN does have eczema base, the solids might have agitated it. So if you've sussed out all other possibilities like new body soap/new carpet eg.., then I suggest u try a 48 hours no solids experiment just like me..

Eczema is very itchy cos it's very dry right? So I guess poor DN must be suffering from it.. haiz Does the calendula helps btw?

Selina
wah u had FP toys as kids?! so gd life! i din even noe wats FP until i was in my 20s' man.

eh u blur lah... tt day daisybuttons met Esther at the Isetan sale and they both noe their sons shared the same name, juz slightly diff spelling only.

Mummies, wanna share some boh liao pix...

i found some pix of my mum's funny ideas on R... (my mum was the sole "director" of these acts!)

Duck duck stuck on R's head...
729259.jpg

duck duck, go away lah!
729260.jpg

Reubern wearing Rochelle's ballerina shoes! hahaha
729261.jpg

729262.jpg

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Selina</font></font>, wanna try one of my self-created strawberry sorbet? Bet you'll love it as much as my family does (probably better than the icy pears!) and it's a HOT request from them all the time. Especially nowadays the weather is so so so hot. Try this if YOU DARE! heehee..

<font color="ff6000">~ Brenda's Strawberry Sorbet ~</font>

Ingredients:

SORBET >>
- Fresh halves Strawberries
- Strawberry Jam
- Syrup(just boil water with double amt of sugar and add some pandan leaves for fragrance)
- Lemon

Toppings >>
- Fresh Cream (Bulla's is good enough)
- Mint leaves for garnishing (can do without la.. i like my foods fancy looking though..heh)
- Sliced Strawberries

Steps:
1. Standby a tray with glass bowls or liquer glasses or tealight holders as containers for the sorbet in the freezer. Glass freezes well, the rest not as good.

2. Wash and halves the strawberries. Divide some for blending to become sorbet and some for toppings used.

3. Lemon - squeeze juice and keep in the fridge

4. Blend the rest of the halves strawberries, add strawberry jam, add COLD water, syrup (as desired) and the lemon juice. Amount all has to be aga-aga cos I don know how much you're making..

5. Fill the containers with the blended strawberry mixture then cover each with the plastic wrap. DO NOT leave them OPEN in the freezer, it'll be contaminated with the other foods smell! FREEZE for at least 6 hours or just hard enough like ice shavings in ice kachang.

6. When the sorbet are hardened, serve with a HUGE SPOON of fresh cream flop onto the top of the sorbet then place a few slices of the strawberries and finish it off with a mint leave.

7. Put your legs up and <font color="ff6000">SAVOR!</font>

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">jRt</font></font>, wah! your mama must be damn bored with 2 noisy bbs and since they're so cute might as well do some funny things with them! heehee.. I love those ballerina shoes, so sweet looking! where did your sis get it?

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font> tks for the recipes. will definitely try cos i love shorbet

<font color="0000ff">phoebe</font> wanna check if you organising any more spree for the candelum cream? wanna stock up cos my mum & hb loves it. my mum's got super dry hands n kept cracking n bleeding n she said alot better now after using the cream (she has to use alot each time) so wanna stock up for her. let me know can. tks. btw, i had blisters on my feet after wearing new shoes n immediately back home applied the cream n tada! it dried up the very next day n started to itch (i.e. recovering) so i really like the cream too...

Some mummies are asking whether K likes the toys..haiz, she either licks, kicks or stared at them boringly...

she is happier just with a human face

729378.jpg

with toys

729379.jpg

selina, sure. think will do our sept mummies. maybe enuff to hit 36 tubs

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">CB CALENDULA CREAM</font></font>

Merchant: Vitamin Life
Website: http://www.vitaminlife.com/product-exec/PNAME/Calendula_Cream/product_id/31995

Price: US$6.93
<font color="aa00aa">Conversion: <u>S$11.09</u> (US$1 = S$1.60)</font>

<font color="0000ff">Collection Point:
- Bt Batok
- Harbourfront MRT
- Postage
- Courier @ $5</font>

<u>ORDER FORMAT</u>
1. NICK | EMAIL | COLLECTION | QTY

1. Phoebe | [email protected] | Bt Batok | 4

Hello DB

Congrats on Jovan's 6 months milestone. Wah! the milk bath sound so interesting. Is it pure milk or a mixture of milk and water?

BTW, did Jovann try to drink up the bath water since it must smell very delicious to him.

Joon,

Opps! Kena found out by you. Husband and wife got nothing better to do so go around posting baby pictures on forums after baby sleeps. Hee hee!

Ilovebb,

The training sounds siong. For me, I'll probably just change to new schedule overnight. But then again, I'm no lactation expert.

<font color="ff0000">brenda,</font>
that sounds GOOOOOD! i'll def try it when i want to impress friends. abt @@'s eczema, actually, it doesn't seem to bother him AT ALL, but it bothers my PILs a lot! the calendula cream worked excellently the last time - really kept the eczema at bay. i'm still using it on him now and i think it's keeping it down. it didn't flare up like the first time, before i found out abt calendula cream. aiyoh, A's rashes sound scary! oh gosh. keep us updated on how it goes. i hope it dies down soon.

<font color="119911">selina,</font>
i agree with u abt the apple puree!! sedap! when i first tried it, my eyes also went @@... lol!

<font color="ff6000">jrt,</font>
oh my gdness, the duck pic is HILARIOUS! ur mom really has a sense of humour. it's really stuck! R can still sit in his bouncer?? i got 1 of the FP bouncers for @@ too and he's too big for it now. when he lies in it, it sinks down until almost touching the floor! *faint*

<font color="aa00aa">jo,</font>
hahaaa... the pics are funny! lol
the FP toy is called the "Buildin Band" and it's part of the Dance-Baby-Dance series of toys. got it for $29.90 at the Taka bb fair. it was selling at Robinsons for $49.90!! *faint*

<font color="0077aa">pigeon,</font>
hahahah! my hb hasn't worked up the courage to post on the other forum coz our standard still quite lousy! hahahaha!! *shy* surely kenah "suan" by pple

<font color="aa00aa">JOVANN, HAPPY 6TH MTHS BIRTHDAY!</font>
kao_kiss.gif
from Victoria & me!

<font color="0000ff">Jo</font>, K sure looks very happy with her daddy than with the toys! Thanks for the feedback & you've definitely helped me in saving some $$!!

<font color="119911">j@@n</font>,
How is the Babies N Cream Class coming around? Any idea which class are we in?

<font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>

Can I join this BP? Pls let me know when to transfer payment to you.

<font color="ff6000">CB CALENDULA CREAM</font>

Merchant: Vitamin Life
Website: http://www.vitaminlife.com/product-exec/PNAME/Calendula_Cream/product_id/31995

Price: US$6.93
Conversion: S$11.09 (US$1 = S$1.60)

Collection Point:
- Bt Batok
- Harbourfront MRT
- Postage
- Courier @ $5

ORDER FORMAT
1. NICK | EMAIL | COLLECTION | QTY
1. Phoebe | [email protected] | Bt Batok | 4
2. Blessedmommy | [email protected] | postage | 5
3. Xena_princess | [email protected] | postage | 4