(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Doreen & Selina
wah u mummies v daring leh... went 4 gathering then go to yoga class together! hehehee, i dunno if i am so brave to try it as R will probably end up so cranky!

Brenda,
Your pics of the 2 As flirting so cute! Hehehe... Because they are the only 2 gals there, they prefer to flirt with each other rather than the boys ah?

<font color="119911">Dumpty</font>
1. I like that I get to stretch out and do some exercise with baby. The environment is nice too but the reno noise really make it hard to hear.
2. Yes I would
3. Still deciding

Mummy+BB Yoga
Package: 8 sessions = S$195.00/ Adhoc: 1 session = S$30.00 | Every Sunday @1.30pm | 1 hour duration | Mother&BB Ctr @Tanglin Mall

Yogimamas who attended today's class, can share:
1. what are your thoughts of the class?
2. would u like to attend future sessions? if yes, go qn.3.. if no, go home.. hee
3. would u prefer to buy package or on ad-hoc basis (Pay by per class)? (For those who are interested in the next sessions but yet to decide on package or ad-hoc, it's ok, can make yr decision on the day for the next session ya..)

Brenda
1. I like the flow of the class and I'm comfy with Colleen's style of teaching.
2. Yes!
3. Cannot decide now.

Selina
1. I like the environment as well as Colleen's style but cant really hear her very well when bbs starts kicking a fuss.
2. Yes definitely
3. Package definitely

Doreen
1. I like the class but cant really hear her well with the renovation noise.
2. Yes
3. Package. The savings r really alot!

E-Ling
1. I like the class too but the renovation noise.... argh!
2. Yes. but not every sunday i can make it leh. So will still decide and see how
3. Package.

Melody
1. I enjoy the class except half way when yun turn cranky.
2. Yes but will not be able to commit every sun
3. Most probably will be on ad-hoc basis

Those didn't make it today but are interested to attend future classes:
1. Daisybuttons

Nic & funny pic Brenda. Thks for organising the class

Phoebe,

How much to pay for the shipping cost & account no. to transfer $. Thks.

Joon,

Der nen is so cute, could already crawl to get his pacifier.

Mummies sorry that yun had been cranky half way thru d class. Mmm... will make sure she had her sleep first b/f we join for the nxt class.

DN can crawl! OMG, and I never get to see
Gab lah... halfway want to feed and sleep.

Selina,
Yah lor. Gab wanna get friendly with Caleb but got "rejected" *boo hoo*

Brenda,
Gab's CNY costume was from his cousin, aka my sister's son. Fit just nice for Gab during CNY so let him wear it.

Phoebe

so can still meet tmr 1245pm at Harbour Front Cheers ? How much shld I pay u ? I ordered 2 tubes right ?
TKs.

Eling,

PD ask me make plain porridge in slow cooker and steam minced meat or fish separately. Then add it to porridge when feeding. Yest let Rachel tried out a bit of porridge and cod fish. She only took a few spoonsful of it.

melody
$1.40
kindly transfer to DBS Saving Plus 020-1-02024

ilovebabies
yes, tomorrow see u at harboufront cheers.
yes, 2 tubs. $22.18 + $2.80

LOL surely got something left behind after a gathering.

Hey think I'm having mastitis or severely blocked milk duct. Now my right breast distorted liao and nursing is painful. Can somebody recommend an LC? Is there an LC in Gleneagles? I gave birth there. What's the rate? Think I should see a GP first?

phoebe,

how much is my shipping cost? BTW, i need to drop out of the bumbo playtray BP.. izzit still onz?

Cos, Jadelle refuse to sit it in liaoz after she learn how to sit by herself leh.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Mummy+BB Yoga</font>
Package: 8 sessions = S$195.00/ Adhoc: 1 session = S$30.00 | Every Sunday @1.30pm | 1 hour duration | TBA > Mother&BB Ctr @Tanglin Mall</font>

<font color="119911">Yogimamas who attended 25th Feb's class, can share:</font>
2. would u like to attend future sessions? if yes, go qn.3.
3. would u prefer to buy package or on ad-hoc basis (Pay by per class)? (For those who are interested in the next sessions but yet to decide on package or ad-hoc, it's ok, can make yr decision on the day for the next session ya..)

<font color="119911">BRENDA</font>
2. Yes!
3. Cannot decide now.

<font color="119911">SELINA</font>
1. I like the environment as well as Colleen's style but cant really hear her very well when bbs starts kicking a fuss.
2. Yes definitely
3. Package definitely

<font color="119911">DOREEN</font>
2. Yes

<font color="119911">E-LING</font>
2. Yes. but not every sunday i can make it leh. So will still decide and see how
3. Package.

<font color="119911">MELODY</font>

<font color="119911">DUMPTY</font>
1. I like that I get to stretch out and do some exercise with baby. The environment is nice too but the reno noise really make it hard to hear.
2. Yes I would
3. Still deciding

<font color="ff0000">Those didn't make it today but are interested to attend future classes:</font>
1. Daisybuttons
2. Crystallized (aiyo.. make up yr mind la jRt!? or wmnn? hee..)

DID I MISS OUT ANYONE?

<font color="ff6000">Melody</font>, the LC in GlenE I know is Katherine.. don know where is her number liao le.. how about calling the main line?

Hi Brenda

I am interested in future classes. Btw, u mention can be other places besides Tanglin Mall har? Tanglin Mall is a long walk from the MRT station and my hubby is usually working on weekends... hmm...

brenda!
duh! <font color="119911">wmnn</font> the mummies muz b wondering wats wmnn! hahahahahahaa
i stick by crystallized coz its my registered nick mah.
so funny, u became the lost & found collector ah?

melissa
i noe the LC in TMC. her name's Mrs Wong... will PM u her contact. hope u get better soon. i noe the engorged feeling sucks!

Melissa,

Try warm massage, it may help! My LC also taught me to prepare a basin of warm water, "soak" yr breast in the water and massage.

Do you feel any lumps? If yes, where is it? Mine was below, so she ask me lay down and latch my boy, it helps.

Also keep latching.... I know is very painful, and latch with the "injured" breast first.

wah u mommies sure can chat fast! by the time i finish cathing up on all the old posts, i got no time to post my reply! *faint*

melissa
aiyoh blocked ducts huh. i got christina before to help but she does charge quite a bit lah. will PM u her contact shortly. but wat i know is, get help sooner rather than later! am sure blessedmommy will advise u the same thing too ;)

comfort nursing
realised that ethan now must latch on every nite b4 he sleeps - i know he's not hungry cos he would hv just had a bottle b4 that. anyone of ur babies hv the same habit? how ah? scared next time difficult to wean him off. but i read some articles n they said the bb will wean themselves off eventually so not to worry?

melissa

The other time when i got blocked ducts, I called my LC before going down to see her, so on the phone she taught me how to "cure" them, and somehow i manage to clear the ducts, so never went down to see her.

Melissa,

Lots of warm towel massage, endure pain and squeeze the milk ducts to clear it and latching. So far, this is useful for me whenever I got lumps.

Michelle,

Mine yun also had this comfort nursing habit. I tink it's my fault cause I used to nurse her before she sleep. Nowadays b/f she sleep she wan to suck suck first. But since tis is d only time I breast feed her so i let her be lor also treat it as way to prevant lumps.

<font color="ff6000">E-Ling</font>, see! so what my A is bigger also no use! She still kena bully! heehee.. so funny to see the both of them playing isn't it? ermm.. I guess that's what we called socialising la..

<font color="ff6000">Selina & Doreen</font>, oh! didn't know that u girls went for gathering first! Wah, but both Caleb and Damien were behaving so well during the class, hardly any fusses!

<font color="ff6000">Dumpty</font>, no la.. There's also YUN, Melody's girl.. but the two As already met at the last gathering before, so I guess they were getting a little more cosy on their sista-hood!

<font color="ff6000">Selina</font>, what was Caleb trying to do to Gabriel?? Doing the brudder brudder thing like the two As is it? hee..

<font color="ff6000">Melody</font>, aiya normal la.. My A was the worst.. The Most Crank-iest BB award has to go to her!!

Oh, <font color="ff6000">Orange's</font> lil Cayden was also another goody boy during the class.. so cooperative with his mummy until the end la.. heh

<font color="ff6000">ilovebabies</font>, eh.. your PD really said OK to meat for bbs at ours' age ahh? I'm a bit skeptical about it.. I thought they can only do veggies/fruits for now.. hmmm

<font color="ff6000">emoments</font>, the venue is likely to be fixed at Tanglin Mall unless their reno is still on-going when we go for our next class. The long walk is good for u hee.. I'll let u know again ok? Would u like to put your name in the list so that when the time comes, you'll be included in my mailing list?

<font color="ff6000">jRt</font>, no choice le.. or else they'll throw away all these stuffs.. what if the zutzut bb cannot sleep without the zutzut? or the papa needs the hankie for comfort? etc.. heh

Aiyo! who doesn't the famous WMNN in this thread?! Can make MILKICINO one le! hee..

<font color="ff6000">Melissa</font>, you're getting all the info u need from here so no need to see LC la.. but if u kena fever, u might need anti-biotics.. meanwhile just keep nursing.. painful, but that's THE WAY to reduce and remove the lumps.. Also do u have thermal pack? Make them warm and lay on your breasts then gently massage your breasts with it..

Hi Melissa

My son also.. needs comfort sucking everynite b4 he can sleep.. sometimes I can latch him for 3 times b4 he finally fall asleep but then my son different.. he needs hours of coaxing b4 he can sleep sigh. Everynite, I can coax him from 9pm till abt 1am b4 he finally fall asleep and in between, he will want to latch on.

I let it be cos thats the only time I can latch him on and also, he only knows how to latch on after 2&1/2 mths.. and Im enjoying every moment of it now as I intend to stop when he reaches 6 mths.

Hi Brenda
Yes, pls include my name.

michelle,
i had the same issue..
Jadelle must latch on before she sleep, even though she has a bottle already. But during CNY holiday, i start to train her to sleep without my breast.. using the baby whisperer method.. This was discussed in 1 thread ago..

Now i am left with the night waking, which is due to her looking for comfort too.. last night, she woke up @ 3am and cry to latch, but i pat her back to sleep after a cuddle and a sayang and my soothing voice.. (DUH!) i only latch her @ 6am and 8am after that.. I hope she drop the 1am & 3am wakings soon..

Those didn't make it today but are interested to attend future classes:
1. Daisybuttons
2. Crystallized (aiyo.. make up yr mind la jRt!? or wmnn? hee..)
3. Yuna

brenda,
think your message is for me izzit? heehee. i did try to call the main line but was directed and that joker at that extension wasn't around to pick up the call. left a voice message but haven't call me till now. i don't have a thermal pack but i think i will go and buy one later.

crystallized,
received your PM. thanks a lot! $40+ looks affordable to me.

pig2,
i will definitely try that! too bad i don't have a bathtub, so how to soak your boobs huh? I got big lump on the right half of my right boob. so big it goes under my armpit too. i stopped wearing bra b'cos it's too painful. it's like a leaking pipe, keep leaking milk but when i offer to my girl she keeps crying b'cos i think the flow is too slow? eh you call LC means you no need to pay izzit?

michelle,
last time i remember you got a lot of this blocked duct problem also right? and i remember you have to massage a lot. thing is i don't know how to massage. tried pressing against it also i can pee in my pants b'cos it's too painful liao. regarding comfort nursing, yes sometimes my girl also likes to do that but i don't make it a habit. sometimes i will just become a yaolan and sing to her till she sleeps.

jasmine,
i believe night wakings is a combination of hunger management and comfort management. last time when my girl was 2 months old, she begin to sleep through the night but when i started working, she will wake up at 1am, 3am for feed. Which is very tiresome for me of course. it last till she's over 4 months. but now that she's over 5 months, she's sleeping through the night again. her last feed is 8.30pm and she goes to bed at 10.30pm. she will wake up for breakfast at 5am. she has 2 bottles of 170ml that lasts for 4 hours per session and once i get back from work around 7pm, i will latch her every 2 hours. i think in due time all babies above 6 months will be able to sleep through the night liao. at the meantime just put up with it lor.

jasmine
i am still struggling wif nite feedings and worse thing, rejects latching. i am still dancing and singing while latching for most feeds. its only nite feeds tt i really enjoy as there is no fuss, but the irony is i wish he can drop nite feeds. sigh. last nite i woke up at 3+am, 4+am and 5+am for feeds. was practically like a zombie when i woke up but surprisingly till now dun feel sleepy.

melissa
no worries. hope u get better soon. the feeling sucks. each time i kena blocked ducts, i will massage like crazy and at times use thermal mask. so far it usually clears. once i can, will quickly rush home to let my boy latch. its the best way to clear blocked ducts.

brenda
hahaha, so funny, i agree lah. mayb the bb juz likes tt zut zut... yah man, i think my dancing stunt so famous liao. oct thread oso rem me for this. shacks!

do ur bb hv problem staying still in the car seat?

kai now wanted to sit up straight 90deg though ive adjusted the car seat to the straightest it can get, still he just wanted to 'sit straight' so i cant belt him n hv to constantly hold him so tt he wont topple.

n sometimes he just didnt want to be in the car seat as he wants to stand up! (w my hands holding him under arms).

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Mummy+BB Yoga</font>
Package: 8 sessions = S$195.00/ Adhoc: 1 session = S$30.00 | Every Sunday @1.30pm | 1 hour duration | TBA > Mother&BB Ctr @Tanglin Mall</font>

<font color="119911">Yogimamas who attended 25th Feb's class, can share:</font>
2. would u like to attend future sessions? if yes, go qn.3.

BRENDA
2. Yes!
3. Cannot decide now.

SELINA
2. Yes definitely
3. Package definitely

DOREEN
2. Yes

E-LING
3. Package.

MELODY

DUMPTY
2. Yes I would
3. Still deciding

<font color="ff0000">Those didn't make it on 25th Feb but are interested to attend future classes:</font>
1. Daisybuttons
2. Crystallized
3. Yuna
4. Emoments

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">ANYONE ELSE?</font></font>

Brenda...... that ZUTZUT belongs to my Amabel. Wahaha look high and low for that ZUTZUT. Luckily got 2 other ZUTZUTs at home. You keep for me first can? Next gathering then get from you if not got to buy again. Yup Amabel need more than 2 ZUTZUTs. wahaha..

crystallized,
think now my block ducts graduated to mastitis liao. it's red and swelling already. going to see mrs wong at tmc soon. she sounds inviting and her rates are not bad. i hope tmc can issue me an MC b'cos i can't go to work with sore arms! *sob sob*

edksd,
my girl take the jab at 1,3 and 5 months i think. hep B taken at birth. she took her last dose of 6-in-1 last saturday. no fever on all 3 jabs. my girl behave in car seat leh. maybe b'cos she's used to it. boys tend to be more rebellious hehe.

Melissa, Mrs Wong from tmc is good. I see her before last time. Hope your mastitis will go away soon.

ilovebabies, porridge is it difficult for bb to eat? Do we need to grind it first?
Brenda, If to intro veg then what veg is suitable for bb then?

melissa, hope u can better after seeing mrs wong!

hepB has 3 jabs - 1 to be taken 1 day after birth, 1 to be taken 1st mth, 1 to be taken 6th mth. since u're in 6-in-1 guess it's transparent to u then.

im taking 5-in-1, not sure whether to take 6-in-1 for the last dose.

melissa
then quickly go see Mrs Wong. i dun hv to see her yet for such blocked ducts or anything (i hope i nvr hv to!) but my sis saw her and it helped to clear her blocked ducts. i hope ur mastitis goes away fast fast.
dunno they can issue MC anot but u check wif them lah.

E-ling
R has >2 zutzuts oso, 3 in fact! hahahaha but coz he stays over at my parents plc so we need more than 2. and there r 3 new ones in my drawer! hahaha

edksd

my gal Rachel also take well to car seat. Think she quite enjoy it. At times when she tries to sit up straight, I will scold her and push her to lie down. Then she will kuai kuai lie down to nap or enjoy the scenery.

eling

my MIL made stew porridge. She cooked it for hours so it's v v soft oredi. and then u press on/grind the fish till it's very thin and soft. In fact, Rachel dont even need to chew, can just swallow it.

i think Spinach is good to start with. Some say brocolli but I'm afraid it may cause wind.

<font color="ff6000">Melissa & Melody</font>, oops sorry I mixed up the two Ms.. heh.. if u need the MC, ya better go see a doc, I don think LC is qualified to issue MCs le.. Hope you'll recover soon ya..

<font color="ff6000">E-Ling</font>, is it?!? how come the zutzut is blue color one?! hmm.. okie.. I'll wash it and keep aside then pass u when we meet again ok?

<font color="ff6000">edksd</font>, our bbs now are all at the age of trying to be mobile.. so Kai wanting to stand up is normal la.. but u better fasten his seat belts tighter in case he slips.. car toys to keep him occupied?

kai has never really fallen asleep in the car unless he's extremely tired (which is v seldom too). or is it becos most of our car rides are rather short (never more than 20min)?

when he wants to stand up, he'll be on my lap, no more in the car seat, so i cannot belt him up. putting him in the car seat is so difficult. but everytime i'll try, until he really cries non-stop then i bring him out of it.

melissa
i must be the queen of mastitis here! got 2 episodes within 2 weeks last mth alone! r u running a fever? if yes, its definitely mastitis n u need antibiotics. amoxycillin is v safe. pls get help before it turns worst. m sure the helpful moms here hv pm u lc contacts.

meanwhile, massage v hot towel, starting from aerola to open up milk ducts then go inwards then back to aerola for few mins b4 u feed or pump. pls dun keep massaging if u dun intend to feed or pump cos will causre more blockages. then as u feed/pump, massage in circular motion the affected area.

hope u recover soon. take care!

phoebe,

wru? i went to tanjong pagar mrt wait for u leh.. no see anyone!! 1pm rite?? waste my lunch time to go there..
how now? u PM me ok?

<font color="ff6000">ilovebabies</font>, u didn't reply my post le.. I asked if your PD really gave u the green light for feeding Rachel meat, as in fish, pork, chix etc? cos my PD is against it as FIRST foods.. he wants me to go on these stages >> rice cereal >> porridge with veggies >> fruits as dessert >> meat. But each stage we need to establish her steadiness with the food intro first, meaning to single out allergies and meat is also very 'rough' to digest so will take awhile before we progress to that stage.. Please share with what your PD has instructed u can? I like to hear more opinions.. thanks

<font color="ff6000">E-Ling</font>, my PD said generally most of the veggies/fruits are quite ok..

I stole this from my previous post:
<font color="119911">Pear (the green color type), papaya, banana, avocado, broccoli, SWEET potato (love this!), pumpkin make good First Foods. But remember hor, use SINGLE ingredient, don mix them until you're very sure that Rach is not allergic to any.

Generally, keep the menu ROOTY.. meaning root veg la..</font>

These foods were taken from the book I bought (did u see it lying on the table at the Mother&Child Ctr? Annabel Karmel's book recipes for Baby & Toddler..

<font color="ff6000">edksd</font>, yes I second ilovebabies, DO NOT compromise on safety!

edksd,

my girl also like to sit up 90 degrees and sometimes will cry to come out of the seat. Like your Kai, she also wanna stand up!

I usually latch her in the car for a while, until she unlatch. then, i will put her into the car seat and entertain her with toys, games, songs and when all else fails, i feed her rice cereal in car! by then, we probably reached our destination liaoz..

brenda

sorry sorry ... ahah thnk I abit blur yesst, din ask much qn, but PD did mentioned meat. then I "huh" at him, and he repeat "MINCED MEAT" ahhaha .. but I wont intro meat to Rachel now too. No teeth how to bite .. and she still learning how to eat and swallow from spoon. So i tot fish and vege is good enough.

Brenda,

agree with you on most foods.. except i not comfy starting with sweet stuff like fruit puree..

I see on www.wholesomebabyfood.com that carrots & spinach, if prepared yourself, don't use back the water you boil/ steam it in to make the puree due to presence of nitrates.. as such, i prefer to keep off spinach & carrots until end of 6 months..

Now, Jadelle has consumed & pass the test for heinz rice cereal, plain porridge, green bean (from jar), apple (from jar). Next coming up will be pumpkin which i will steam & puree, followed by changing the rice cereal to brown rice..then i will introduce carrot.

My rule of thumb is aiming at 60ml of carbo (cereal now), 60ml of veg (green bean now), 60ml of fruit (apple).. this will gradually replace her current feed @ lunch time...

Jadelle can now consume 1-1.5 tablespoons of rice cereals, 4 teaspoons of veg, 4 teaspoons of apple..

jasmine

u mean u feed green bean/apple from those Heinz ready made ones ?

i just bought the sweet potata, carrot one from Heinz just now ...

so if i want to puree the steam carrot and spinach, I have to use fresh water ?

so many posts... can't catch up!

you gals talking about the MOST INTERESTING TOPIC of WEANING!!!! I love this topic as it concerns my favourite - FOOD!

ask me ask me ask me leh!! i want to join in too! :D :D i have 6 cook books for babies/tots/kids and i used to spend so much time reading up.

brenda, i use annabel karmel's book too! have you started cooking any of her recipes?

e-ling, two of the best fruits to start first are apple and pear. but for bb under 6 months, the fruits (except for banana and avocado) must be cooked first, then pureed, otherwise their delicate tummies cannot digest. for bb above 6 months, no need to cook. to cook fruits, you can either stew or steam them.

dumpty, i have been trying to take pictures of nicholas's pearlies but he just won't cooperate. he will only smile when i put the camera away. when the camera is out, he stop showing his teeth!!!! Urrgghhh...

ilovebabies,
ya.. cos hor, i not sure if jadelle will take it.. so i feed from jar first.. before i spend time to steam/ puree it/..

ya, according to the website, use fresh water.. but that is confusing to me, cos i tot i will be throwing away the vit. C in veg..

<font color="ff0000">DG</font>,
hehe.. you are our food goddess now.. btw, what is stewed??