(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Racoon,
hope justin is fine and you are fine too. I admire your patience and tolerance!

Hi Amy,
I am also letting megan haf her pacifier for now, esp when she is cranky, the pacifier can soothe her. Try not to let rae haf it all the time, only when she is cranky and only at night when she is abt to sleep? then try taking it out after she falls asleep? I am doing this for megan and I think she will wean it off over time.. dun get too anxious over this

hi augbb,
aiya! now then you tell me! I bot my britax liao!:p ok la consolation, megan likes to sit and sleep in it haha what colour did you get for Jay?

my hubby over-protects megan.. maybe that's one of the reasons y she still needs to stand with assistance..For me, I gif megan a bit of free reign so that she will know where r the danger points, but that would mean knocking her head on some walls while walking ard.. but I also get the rap from him lor

hi crisann,
my megan like your crisann only sees the world of my mother cos my mother lets her "win" in everything and anything and she asscoiates more play and fun with my mum...u shd haf seen during her birthday party, she only wants my mum..

Hi Piyo

Hahaha. But hor my mum do beat her when she is naughty leh. My mum will not give anything she wants cos i ask her not to pamper her too much.

Since many of you have uploaded your sample birthday e-invite, this one is my boy's. Sent out through his very own email account at gmail. The kind of replies he's been getting are hilarious. :D

Btw, the b'day cake is just some random pic I downloaded from the net. Definitely don't look like this. :D

921249.jpg

piyo,
haha...think its too late too lah when i tell u coz u already bought yr britax...:pwe got the navy blue colour...there is a dark grey one that is nice but the side where the head protection is, it is like velvet kind so i scare it be hotter than the normal cotton material lor...so in the end we got the full cotton one instead...hmm think yr hubby adore megan lor n sometimes daddy tend to be over-protective of their bb girl like my daddy of me as well...haha...but i also agree to let bb have some free reign coz that way they can learn faster and its normal to have some falls n bumps along the way lor thou it will make us heartpain still...hee hee...

Hi jas,
I think my friend aka photographer (for that day)got your family pic among the pics.. will send to you

Thanks!Glad that Jadelle and you enjoyed the party... at least I make the right decision to rent the boat of balls! dinno you also like that cake design :p I din make alot of effort apart from searching for baker for the cake.I admit I was very anal about the cake cos I dun wan Megan to murder next time when she sees her 1st birthday cake..her dad shd get the credit cos he did the video clip for his precious princess haha I cater the food from delihub, after good reviews from my cousin's wedding recently. balloons can get from greg (www.grefio.com.sg), he is good and cheap and hassle free!I rec to Fiona and he did it for Denise birthday party too
and I am also glad I make the decisions on gettng more balloons cos the kids rally love them and I gave them to all the kids who came

Leia,
I like his Beckham's hairstyle!and his actions look like Harry potter's! hahaha

Augbb,
ya lor! like ytd megan walked towards the wall.. I told her "be careful" she banged her forehead on the wall and wailed very loud... but like that she will learn mah.. my hubby beside scolded me again..

Hi piyo,

I kind of agree with what ur mum says. Actually, this is also what the late president wee kim wee said before. So, I tend to be relax a bit with the way the grandparents are dealing with her. Don't want to pressure them too much on educating her, rather they enjoy the times with her.

Hi piyo,

I kind of agree with what ur mum says. Actually, this is also what the late president wee kim wee said before. So, I tend to be relax a bit with the way the grandparents are dealing with her. Don't want to pressure them too much on educating her, rather they enjoy the times with her.

Hi Piyo, Augbb.....

Well really we cant depend much on guys to help us in certain ways.. not to mention my hubby also cant really focus or take good care of Natalie. Maybe playing is the only thing they ca do? hahaha!

Ranking in family.... think I am quite lucky. When I am around she only want me.. she can totally ignore grandpa grandma.. BUT she love my dog alot. When she saw Buffer(our shih tze) she was crazy head over heels with him, crawl to him play with him beat him everything she can do to attract his attention! Even do not let him sleep in peace.. gosh poor dog..
Ok a ranking over myside hehehe
1)Me
2)Buffer
3)Ah Ma (MIL)
4)Daddy
5)Ah Gong (FIL)
6)Grandma (My mum.. cos she only see her once a week haiz...)

I think babies at this stage changes alot to their mood.. sometime happy want mummy sometime just shoo their head aways from us.. so lets try not take it to heart they innocent haha.

How to realy discipline our bbs at this stage? Do they really understand? Sometime say NO they may ok but sometime jus scream at you, jump and don let you carry make alot of pattern to show their anger.. IS everyone experiencing it? Natalie seems to have very very bad temper! When she want something like the food i eating she must have. I say NO she will angry den start to show the anger fake crying etc.. only stop when I give her. MIL say I pamper her! OMG...

Maybe I feel now she can only understand not much so just give in.. M I doing the wrong thing?
Sometime just kinda don no how to realli discipline bb at age of 1 cos its a stage they know bit here & there!

So who will be the first to delivery their 2nd bb here? is it Augbb? Do keep us inform....

cyn,
no lah..definitely not me....haha...it b cheers 1st i think then dickson mummy...n then me ba...i will only be due in oct lah...hee hee

Hi Leia,

Nice invite you have! so comical! heheheh... I didnt do any einvite.. jus by sms hehee lazy mummie..

I think for Nat party will spend less than $500 cos ours is very small simple and nothing much to decor or prepare.

Amy,
I agree with what they say but sometimes like that makes our job so difficult... like I looked at megan sternly, my mum carries her away.. like that how? my dad says she is like my mum's youngest daughter liao

some pics to share from megan's birthday party, hope I dun jam up the server space:p

mummies (esp cocomo and Kelly:p)
for your viewing pleasure :p

balloon galore
921329.jpg

megan's balloon bouquet
921330.jpg

daddy-created for megan's movie clip
921331.jpg

megan's birthday cake
921332.jpg

Augbb,

Oh... I think its counting down for them liao.

Piyo,
I think maybe we shld get pad guard or even helmet for our gals! Cant imagine how they look in it hahaha! Nat also hold the wall and try learn to walk and just fall from on her back.. lucky her head knock very lightly! Cant imagine if knock on the head again gosh! Think at this stage either they walk run or learning to walk & cruise around by furniture around them.

Crisann,
Hmm parents role to disclipine and educate.. i thought is teacher! hehehe actually all have the responsibility la.. at sch is teacher, at home is us, at pil law is them hehehe.. try to delegate to them lah :p

Cynthia,

I think at this stage, they are beginning to understand simple concepts like "No", "Don't touch", "Don't move", "Dirty!".

It used to be a challenge to change my boy's diaper. But lately, he seem to understand when we tell him not to move. And he'll just lie there, occasionally will look at us intently and wait for us to change his diaper. :D

HI, piyo

think my mum mtd opposite lei... she said must teach JH now lor.. cannot be too qing cai....so my mum teaching JH what is right & wrong lor.. what can be done & what cannot lor... yesterday JH knocked down her meal lor & split on my sis who is feeding her... so in the end, my sis carried her to the wall & punished her by letting her stand there lor... quite funny....hee hee hee

she loves to bully my third sis... dont know why... if feed her too slowly, she will use her hands to beat her....

recently, she loves to beat pple & also loves to bite the table... her top teeth is finally coming out... maybe that the reason she is biting the table....

noticed that when JH falls or knock herself, if the pple around her never make any sound, she will not cry but if we happened to make sound, she cried very loudly....

usually, i am the one who is more kan chiong lor.... very scared of baby falling... but hubby will always said dont worry lah... it ok to fall down lor... so that JH can learn...

piyo,
megan looks so sweet in the last pics wif her pressie...seems like she reali like the ride ah...v nice...n wat a lovely dress she is wearing..notice megan dresses or tops all v nice one ah..where u shop ah...i also like the top she wore to denise party yest....where u get that n this dress ah?? so did u let megan open any of her pressie yet?

piyo,

Very pretty cake and decor! What are the words "M E G A N" made of? Fondant?

Your function room got projector? That's good!

Leia,

Ya I think the very basic are all these... this is what i can try to do haiz.. think i shld be more firm. Though she very noti i do beat her hand when she just anyhow take and touch. But she know the wires cable at our hse, fan ah cannot be touch so when she go near it she will shake her head! OMG.. wonder what are inside their brains!make us happy and angry at times

Piyo,
Very nice pics! Cake is so lovely don think i bear to eat it too...

Jesline,
U r not alone... I also scare bb fall and dunno what will happen next. Maybe scare bruises or even bump coming out or fracture. Maybe just try to look out and follow them before they stable and able to walk properly.. I think bb at this stage like to bite and even beat ppl. Maybe they do not really know how to show? Nat even like to throw toys.. think its temporary bah.. now teaching her hope she will learn.

Hi Leia,
Megan seems to understand those commands you mentioned but she like act blur, just turned away! I think damage for her birthday party ant $900

Thanks! that cake was a fondant cake, so exterior all fondant. Fn rm no projector! hubby went to borrow a few days b4:p din wanna use posters cos a good friend reminded me on what2do with them after the party is over.. u c no place in my hse to store.. throw away pics with hr face inside also no good..

Hi jesline,
Megan also knows who she can bully - my maid! at least jaihui bites the table, mine bite pple! sometimes my maid piggy-back her and she will suddenly bite my maid's arms, shoulders etc very notti! I see my mum is more patient to her than anyone of us..

hi augbb,
I thk most babies like the ride that night, all riding on it the whole night thru!actually lots of megan's clothes are hand-me-downs, incl the one she wore when she took the pic with the pressie..this was worn by my colliq's dotter who is 7yrs old now:p I shop online like you, and sometimes those push carts..last night that attire was bot from gymboree online... ya we let her oped her pressies ytd after taking the pic.. you leh?

Hi, cyn

at least nat knows that the wires cable cannot be touch.... Jia Hui loves to play with it even if we told her.....

last sat, beat her buttock & she cried cos she's naughty lor....then my mum hugged her but she dont want & crawl to me & want me to carry her... really cannot tahan her....

scared wait too much fall & bump will cause damage to her head or development....

piyo,

Very nice pics indeed and AGAIN Justin missed the fun becos we were at another full mth party so couldn't make it
. The cake is simply gorgeous and what a nice family photo u have. Like wedding party leh.....cos got slide show some more...hehe. I must really assign someone to take photo for us that day if not, too busy and no proper photo taken.

I'm celebrating Justin's bday this Sun and he's actual bday is 22nd. Hubby inviting his whole dept and friends which is like over 30 pax so end up I can only invite abt 10 of my personal friends, can't even invite more .....sad

Abt costs, I already catered from Neo Garden out of convenience and its abt $650 ++ liao and the cake from Pine Garden too abt $130..... And i haven't even buy other stuff and decor...... waaaah.... really expensive leh to throw party. The cheapest is to book my condo's function room which cost me $10 only.

icic..hmm gymboree has nice online ah...icic..okie i must go check it out..ya i also let jay unwrap the gifts but not yet open the pressies to play...haha...intend to open some at a time only so there be novelty for him and he wont get sick of his toys so fast n then i dun need to buy new toys for him...haha...

augbb & racoon, yes! my hubby also always complains why i wanna bring the stroller out when bb dowan to sit inside! it's almost like every outing he has to ASK this stupid qn!

my answer is always the same, "if bb is tired, at least she can hv a proper place to sleep, rather than our arms!" and we can train her to sit still in the pram also, rather than allowing her to walk all she wants all the time ma...

the bag - he also complains heavy... >__<

think next time i will tell him, "ok lor! everything also dun bring, no need to bring! u just prepare to buy watever BB needs later!"

augbb,
ya they haf nice clothes for gers (I feel lah) online but you go browse dun buy 1st wait for their crashing sale then AIM and go in at the right time.. machiam like buying shares hahaha

me like you! allow megan unwrap but will let her play 1 new toy per mth... think the novelty can last for awhile:p

I 4got to post this! me me me! I did research on nursery and pre-nursery... some schools already haf waiting list for enrollment into 2009 classes... fainted

racoon,
no prob! we can always mt another time during our augbb gathering
ya like our own wedding 2nd time huh? super tiring I must say cos we haf about 90guests excl kids.. fainted after the party...

agree with you.. big damage! and very tiring! I think I am not doing this type of party anymore..

you can try delihub next time - they are another subsidiary from neo garden and got disc too leh! megan's cake weighs 4kg cost abt $190 incl delivery.. cheapest fondant cake in the mkt with exquisite workmanship liao...this baker quite nice cos I asked if she can do a sample for me b4 i cfm with her and she did!

oh ya must get a friend of yours to help you take pics cos you will be busy that day.. that's a jolly good advice a good friend gave me some time ago hehe we din wanna spend $$$ on photographer so got some good friends to take pics for us.. idea?

Leia, i spent abt $700 for cake n food n misc for 50pax. think it's quite reasonable la, abt $16 per head. think the guest list cannot be any smaller, coz relatives are already some 30 heads.

piyo,

I've checked out Delihub's website. Their menu items are quite identical to Neo Garden's. Not a bad choice since Neo Garden's food is pretty nice in my opinion.

$900 for 90pax excluding kids is very decent... considering the cake is already about $200...

leia,
from the way you analyse, I agree with you but $900+ 1 lump sum for a birthday party is BIG to me:p Btw, I catered for 70pax...

most guests told me the food is good.. provided they are not trying to be polite..

Crissan/Racoon,
Sayang your Crisann/Justin for me ya! Ai. .. my hubby also same kind one lo. Kay will fall during most of his gurdian time, esp when he is watching TV! There was one occation I so mad till I asked him to stick the TV on his face.

Piyo,
Thanks for the photos, everything so NICE!!!! Too bad not able to attend the party, hope Megan likes the toy. Initially wanna get her some battery operated car but all very boyish, so at the end got one for Jay instead.

Chabo, you still owe me the photos le. quick quick email me! can you believe I dun even take photos on the ballons on Jay's party! Hope you have taken!

Augbaby/leobbsmom,
Ya, my hubby also always complain why want to bring stroller since Jay dun want to sit in it!!! He song song coz Jay only want me to carry, both arms really aching after sometimes as they are getting heavier liao plus I super petite type lo.

wah, there's so many postings today. think my case is different from most of u. my hb is more careful at taking care of Kayden compared to me. He fell a couple of times when I am supposed to look after him. haiz... am really a lousy parent when i compare myself to my hb.

re: birthday parties
wah! everyone's having a great time celebrating our kids' birthdays. so nice. keep the pics coming.

leia,
jadon is so nice, sending out his own invites huh
the invite is very nice and personalised.

augbaby n piyo,
I'm going to check out playgroups too. think Kayden is really very bored at my mum's place. also can let my mum have a break when he's at playgroup. but most prob will consider the ones near my place cos more convenient for my parents.

piyo,
thanks for the invitation. honestly, the food is really nice (not 'ke tao hua'). somemore, u have so many toys to entertain the kids. am thinking of getting the ball pit too cos kayden also enjoyed playing in it very much.

hi..really long time nvr log in here..finally can log in at nite..haha

seem like all babies will be having their 1st BD within tis month..
saw some really have great party..guess e mummy and daddy put in so much effort..

I do agree tat most daddy is inpatient and careless in taking care of bb...but guess is e effort tat's count..cos sometimes in just second..anything may happen to our bb..if fall..just nd to make sure tat our bb is alright..and monitor for awhile, sometimes they cry loud might be they scare off by our scream..haha tat's wat i observe for dickson

like all others babies..Dickson do throw his milk bottle, toys and books out from his cot or anywhere..once i saw this..he chia lat liao..kena beat e backside lor..den he will cry loud to look for his mummy..will crawling there..he will turn back and look at me..once i say come over..daddy sayang..he will crawl back and wan daddy to hug hug lor..haha..feel "shiok" lor..

leia,

i luv the card. what software? very good idea to send the card via baby's very own account.

piyo,

very nice pics. haha... the cupcakes with strawberries look familar

now you worry about nursery. next time pri schools. so many things to think about. anyway, will send zac to noah's childcare. like the school very much. noah's happy there, so are the other children there. also, like the emphasis on play, music and drama. only bad thing is mozzies, cos private housing

morning mummies & daddy

yesterday night, Jia Hui fell down again... she was standing around the table & she loves to rest one leg on the shelf & she lost balance & knock her head against the floor & cried.....sayang her & after awhile, she do her stunt again.... haiz....

HI all, ages since I had time to log in. Happy Bday to all august babies! Keiran celebrated his on the 29th July since he turned One on the 1st Aug.
He enjoyed himself so much on that day, thankfully everything went smoothly. : )

Keiran is becoming a little terror wanting to walk everywhere, touch everything. But also learning things so fast knowing his body parts, pointing at individual ppl when we ask where are they, etc and the most endearing thing giving us kisses and hugs when we ask him to do it. Haiz. Guess it evens out = the playfulness and the loving gestures.

Was reading earlier posts about caterers Delihub actually belongs to Neo Garden, thus almost similar menu. Only thing is that Delihub is Halal & Neo Garden is not. They used to be my client, so know them inside out.

Any mummies know if we get 50% discount on any items at Kidzloft since this month is our babys birth month?

babyboy,

About Delihub and Neo Garden - no wonder the menu looks similar!!! They used to be your client? What do you sell to them btw?

Yes, 50% off at Kidzloft. Bring original copy of birth cert.

augustmum,

Can't remember the name of the s/w offhand. Need license one. Will check it out and PM you.

As for the card, had originally wanted to send to the printers cos need to give to some "old school" relatives who don't use email, but thought it'd be ex. to print small qty. In the end, I got it printed in some Kodak shop on photo paper for 25ct (4R size).