(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Kelly/Amy - Tks for the advice..be bringing my gal to see a PD today..but i doubt the PD will say anyting much..everytime i say my baby tis & that..all he could say was 'yes, mebe, perhaps'..so angry but wat can i do..he is the ONLY PD ard who can speaks English.

Amy- I wish i hv someone to help me but i hv none..even my hb cant do much..everyday comes hm ard 8pm den i will hv to put my gal to bed at 10pm coz it takes a long while for her to sleep & she doesnt like my hb to carry. My emotions has been a roller coaster ride.

Noticed some of you has blog...i have too...so may i knw hw to access to some of your blogs ?

for those who are interested to get Leap Frog Activity Station, Taka Baby Fair is having a promotion, selling for only $149 for 3 days weekend special, from Fri till Sun. Normal price is $200plus, so is quite a good buy.

do be careful when putting baby in the baby high chair. always remember to buckle the safety belt. that time when i was shopping for high chair, heard another mummy complaint that the previous high chair she bought don have safety belt and her child actually fell out of the chair, but luckily baby ok.
it is better to get those with safety belt strapped across both shoulders, more secure lor.

for those who are interested to get Leap Frog Activity Station, Taka Baby Fair is having a promotion, selling for only $149 for 3 days weekend special, from Fri till Sun. Normal price is $200plus, so is quite a good buy.

do be careful when putting baby in the baby high chair. always remember to buckle the safety belt. that time when i was shopping for high chair, heard another mummy complaint that the previous high chair she bought don have safety belt and her child actually fell out of the chair, but luckily baby ok.
it is better to get those with safety belt strapped across both shoulders, more secure lor.

Ya i agree. Must always remember to belt baby. The last time I put my baby in the high chair (the combi kind), thought the tray in front can hold him, but he fell straight off when he tried to grab something....lucky only cry a bit and no big bump!!!

Now I also need to belt him when he sit on the FP rocker chair as he always tried to sit up straight himself.....

Looks like as our baby get older and picking more skill...we need to pay more attention.

No wonder a lot of experience mummies always ask me to enjoy baby the first 4 mths.....now I know why....

To all mummies working in Orchard (or those who like to join in), I tentatively organising a lunch a Paragon next Friday, 16 March...let me know how many would be interested.......

honeyhaven
kayden's very smart. gd effort on ur part 4 teaching him.

me have been guilty 4 not teaching edward as much as i've taught gabe back then. oh well...hopefully i can make it up later on :p

i dunno any bb who spoke at 7.5mths but i do know of a bb girl who spoke at 8mth+. she said e word "up". as for bbs's speech abilities, most girls tend 2 speak faster than boys.

dun worry, my gabe didnt speak much even at 1yr old. he only said very very simple words like mama, papa, ball, etc. he only really started 2 talk (not parroting) abt 18mths.

now at 29mths, he's a 'chi cha gong', yakking nonstop. so i not so worried abt edward. let him develop at his own pace.

erin,
kayden's very advanced 2 pull 2 stand at 7mths. gabe back then only pulled 2 stand abt 10mths old.

let me share wif u gabe's milestones 4 u 2 hv a rough guide
5mths = started 2 sit
6mths = sat well
8-10mths = commando crawling (he crawled on his tummy, not on all fours)
10mths = pulled 2 stand
10-14mths = cruising + walking wif assistance (tat means he wanna walk but need us 2 hold his hands)
abt 1yr = started crawling on all fours but wasnt keen on doing it, prefers 2 walk
14mths = walk independently

so wif gabe gor gor's milestone record, i not surprised if edward skips crawling. FYI, crawling is NOT considered a milestone cos some bbs juz dun crawl.

i brought gabe 2 gymboree when he was abt 9mths old n i saw tis bb who was walking at 1yr old. i chatted wif e mummy n she shared tat her son juz pulled 2 stand at 7mths n started 2 walk then. my jaw dropped cos i didnt know bbs can walk at 7mths old. oh well, u never know rt?

so 4 kayden, let him develop at his own pace. if he dun 1 2 crawl, let him b. dun purposely put him on all fours or his tummy. it juz frustrates him further.

catherine
if i not wrong, it shld b 7mths = sit, 8mths = crawl, 9mth = teething. my MIL has been saying it very often whenever she sees tat edward's sitting well n looks as if he wanna crawl.

juz 2 share wif everyone bb development (2nd or 3rd mummies, pls correct me if i'm wrong)

GROSS MOTOR SKILLS
sit -> crawl (depends) -> pull 2 stand -> stand unsupported OR cruising (depending whichever comes 1st) -> walking wif assistance (depends) -> walking independently

the above is juz a list of gross motor skills. 4 more info, do check ur bb's health book.

i didnt state e mth cos every bb develops differently. my GF's daughter still cant sit well at 8mths. tis doesnt mean she cant sit well. she will but give her time.

hey kelly....keiran isnt really crawling also..he is more keen to pull and stand up..the scary part is that as long as there is something that he can reach, he pull and stand up...
and he does it so fast...then tries to step forward....
worried that he gets "bow" legs..Kelly,is there anything to worry about?

so that is his latest "trick"...

Superdad. just saw your msg - cant make it tmrw...SORRY...had a long day today and very tired....SORRY about it....
You guys enjoy!~

babyboy
i also suspected tat edward may hv bow legs. i cant really remember but *i tik* gabe has bow legs too. e legs turned out fine when he grew older.

4 me, being a KS mummy, 2 prevent edward's legs fr being 'bowed', i carry him by my side so he wont open his legs wide wide. hope u understand. mayb next time when we meet, i demo 2 u.

SuperDad/babyboy/piyo,
Soli I cant meet you guys tomolo morning liao coz we are renovating the living room so the contractor juz called said coming to do the measurement tomolo morng. We meet again next time k? You guys enjoying yourself.

You all know the ergo carrier. I bought it 1 mth ago and used it when i go out with kayden by myself. Yesterday as usual i brought him to the minimart and carried him in the carrier. There is this auntie commented that kayden very 'xin ku' sitting in the carrier. I doubt he is 'xin ku' as everytime i used the carrier, he always fell asleep in the carrier. My concern is his leg open wide wide. For those ladies using ergo, what do u think abt this??

honeyhaven,
hmmm i also have to observe my son too then... i carry him either in sarong style or baby bjorn.. legs oso open up pretty wide...

i came down with the flu again (thanks to my colleauge) couldn't make it to the swim class. I didnt wan to pass to other baby. Oso hope my ryan dun get it.. he still has blocked nose.

what else u do to keep baby entertained in the day? other then playing with him, i give him independant time in the play pen and activity centre... buy not too long, just about 20 mins.
Do i need to get a mat and let him 'roll' about? I problem is that i have dogs, so fur is on the floor. i know one day when he crawls i have to let him be on the floor issit?

hi kelly,
thanks for the info.

hi babyboy,
ya, kayden is just like kieran. just want to grab things to pull himself up.

hi butter,
can read to him, sing, do action songs,etc. hope u'll recover soon.

anyone been to the taka fair? is it very crowded? when's the last day? am thinking of going on tues but dunno ended liao or not.

visited my friends yesterday at their new homes. kayden likes dog very much. my friend's dog is a husky and was barking at him but he wasn't scared. the louder the dog barked, the louder kayden laughed. he kept looking at the dog too. later, he reached out to touch the dog's tail. in fact, he grabbed hold of it and I was so worried that the dog will turn around and bite kayden.

re: milk feed
kayden has been refusing to drink from the teat at times and we tried feeding him milk using a spoon. strangely, he finished it up. dunno why he behaves like this. perhaps i'll let him try drinking from a sippy cup and see if it works cos feeding by spoon really takes a long time.

erine,
taka fair ends on 25 mar u can go anytime,

re: milk feed maybe u want to change his teats to faster flow sometimes the teats flow is too slow baby will reject milk.

erin00,
Thanks, feeling slightly better after self medicating for past 2 days - Panadol for cold and Febs kekeke
ya at one stage, ryan is very interested at my dogs, once we let him touch them and he pulled their ears and lips hehehe.. lucky more dogs very loving... dun mind only thing i have to clean him after that, cuz they licked his hand and feet. U can visit one day if you like - bring your baby to see doggies

I went to the Taka fair for a quick one last week during lunch, I think if I can, I will pop by again, maybe pick up the faster teats for ryan to switch over.
wonder when I should switch to Avent no. 4 teats...???

for porridge - how to cook or what can i put in for baby 7mths old?

kelly.....dont understand what you mean by carrying at the side?
i usually carry keiran on my right side and just resting above my hip bone to act as support..and usually open quite wide...

can give more description? TIA!

hi butter8,

i cook porridge by either with slow cooker or double boil it (like cooking bird nest). if you wanna porridge to become soft more easily, you can soak the rice b4 hand for some time. i usually cook for min 2hrs for the porridge to become soft then add in fish. once fish is cooked, off the fire. mash the porridge until very fine then feed baby.

A quick one..
Swim@ suntect 10th March.
Reina & Emma is enjoying so much! How wonderful!
A rich experience for me too... Natalie bit cranky Cry baby! hahaha

721490.jpg

hi rain and cynthia,
glad ur gals enjoyed the swim. next time, we can all bring our babies for a swim gathering again.

hi rain,
what did u spend on? a lot of good buys? at first, i wanted to go down tmr but now, heard isetan pte sale on thurs so thinking of going down on thurs.

hi catherine,
thanks for the advice. have just changed the teat to 6months and above. perhaps can change to the large hole teat which is meant for the cereal. kayden's quite fussy. just now, he's willing to take the bottle but must sit up and drink. the position so awkward. but as long as he's willing to drink and he doesn't mind, i don't mind too.

hi catherine,
made some mistakes in my earlier post. i have changed to the above 6months teat when he turns 6 months old which is like one month ago. dunno why he cries when we pop the teat into his mouth recently.

Hi erin
My kayden also wants to sit up to drink his milk. BTW, recently i keep on hearing from my hubby that his friends' newborn son also named as 'Cayden'. A couple of times already. This name is getting common or 'popular' among parents. Luckily they all using the 'C'ayden not 'k'ayden.

Hi kelly
Kayden knows how to clap his hand... How come when i asked him to clap hand, he always refused to clap. Then i will say "Kayden teach mummy how to clap hands", then he will hold my hands and clap. Your elder son when younger also like that or not??

I found a place quite nice for bb to swim..Lower Delta Swimming complex..not many ppl ard...somemore they have the cover on top...no nd to scare of raining..

Just bring my boi yest..he enjoy it very much too..
here's some photo for viewing..
721623.jpg
721624.jpg

How do you bathe the baby after swimming? I only bring my baby to hotel's pool as I know I can go back to the room to bathe him. anybody got any good tips? really want to bring him to swim more...but cannot always go hotel...will be broke soon!!!!

hey superdad,

your baby sure looks happy! where did you buy the float from? i'm contemplating buying one. i brought leon swimming over the weekend too, was carrying him around, think a float might be good

UPDATES - LEON GOING TO CHILDCARE
haven't been posting much as busy sorting out next chapter in leon's life.
v long story, feel rather low abt it, but well this is life. i'm going to start full time work in early april, and my mom also going back to FT work too, due to things happening at home. and MIL cannot help either, so i'm sending leon to childcare. any mommies here bb in childcare, can share feedback? altho i don recall anyone having baby in childcare here. anyone can share their thots on childcare?
also leon lately totally reject bottle, only want to latch on to me, advice?

Julie,
of cos e bathing for bb is a quick 1..just rinse through wif water, but guess can bring the smaller bath tub..which used @ hm type may help..
and bring changing mat along will help too..

Hi pup,
i bout it from kiddy palace..can't recall how much liao..anyway..not really expensive lor..

Hi Pupsandcups,

Don feel low.. smetime its a transition of life esp with our little one. Drop by here more & if we could be in help we shall do so and share too okie...

Though Natalie is not in childcare, but I heard those childcare ard bungalow area wil be much beta from those housing estate. There is different kind of prices if you wan a 1 to 2 bb or 1 to more bb kind of stuff. Some concern on Childcare is afraid bb might get sick easily BUT think just a start as wat i heard from my friend.

For me last time how I make natalie not to latch me anymore is: Let her latch awhile and in the midst I interchange to bottle with my BM inside.
I have stop BF for sometime & now she ok with bottle. Jus a simple way of mine. I believe other mummies will have more rich experience to share wit you too ya!

Julie,
What I bring is let bb sit on my lap den i have a container with me to fil up the water n wash her. Hmm Im fat so squating down wil be tough bt ok la can manage as while u bath u jus talk to bb and let them feel comfy. Hope it helps.

Erin00,
Has the teat flow too fast for him? Starting mine also find the 6mth too fast (avent fast flow). Now she slowly trying to get use to it. Once a while i wil slightly pull out n let her rest a while before she contd... Or u can check sign of oral thrush or teething.

pups,

Float can buy from Kiddy Palace. They have a wide variety. I bought a plain yellow one, the cheapest avail there for $6.90. The more ex ones are the colourful ones or the mickey mouse ones.

You can also find them in places like OG, Metro, Toyrus,....

Julie,

i buy mustela physiobebe.. no rinse cleansing solution.. then i wipe my bb all over and then change clothes liaoz! go back then bathe again!!

Went to taka just now n guess what the bb finger food dat i intend to buy for bb is SOLD OUT...

Pupandcups,
Dun be too low morale ya.... Bb who is going to childcare will more prune to sickness abt 3 - 6mths. I had frend who is putting her dds in childcare, I found that they are more independent.

Pupsandcups
Cheer Up!
My elder son is infant care since he is 4mths.
Intial stage, he always fall sick, fever, cough, flu etc.
But I do find him very independent and sociable.
I will put my younger son to childcare when he turns 18mth.

sorry is that a bit small kekeke
here's another one..
722218.jpg

for those looking for chair like this one, i bought another from cheng choon only cost about $45 dollar, almost similar but does not have any cartoons. just plain design.

hi bbnmum,
can u share more abt your experience with infant care? my baby has been going since Jan 07 when he was 4 mths old. since then, he's had fever 4 times, hospitalised once for bacterial infection, bad runny nose and cough. i 've heard that babies fall ill more often at infant care , but this seems too frequent , almost every other week i have to take child mc . is this your experience too in initial stage ? and how long before your baby settled in ? sorry so many questions, really sad and stressed when baby is ill all the time .

Hi Kelly and all mummies,

Just realise that there is a contest going on in foto-u. I just sent in my child photo for the March contest too....

pups/jill/bbnmum,
What's the time schedule of the child care ya? For eg from what time to what time? I have a fren also send her bb to child care and according to her the initial stage bb always fall sick, maybe alternate week, then after a while her daughter has developed the immune system then will be very strong liao.

I have bring Natalie for her pneumococcal (prevenar) jab and she is having the last one next thurs. She doesnt have any side effects and still actively behave. I feel though its bit high on the cost but my still think its best to get it as when the problem or bb got infected MORE higher cost to incur and bb is the one to suffer... just my 5cents thoughts...

hi pups,
think the infantcare these days are fine. don't worry too much.

hi butter,
ryan is so cute. does he enjoy sitting in the high chair? I bought a 2nd hand one. in good condition but haven't let him sit in it yet.

Hi cocomo,
usually 7am to 7pm. if late to pick up baby, i hear some infant cares may charge fine. there are also a few infant cares who work extended hours till 8pm. useful coz it can be quite stressed to rush to pick up before 7pm...sometimes traffic jam, sometimes held up at work.

need to vent my frustration about my mil again. urrg... yest, brought kayden home at about 7+ and she says kayden still not sleepy so let him sit outside for a while. ok, let him sit outside then. after dinner, abt 8plus liao, she still doesn't want to bring him back to our room even though he was cranky and making noises. his usual sleeptime is around 8+. in the end, abt 9 when the channel 8 is abt to start, she brought him into my room saying he recognises people liao. don't want to stay outside. i was thinking he's cranky not becos he recognises ppl but bcos he's sleepy.

then this morn, i was changing his diaper when he started making noise, wanting me to carry him. She knocked on my door (cos hb was in the room. usually, she doesn't even bother to knock if my hb is not in the room). I thought something happened and quickly opened the door. She quickly scanned the room, saw my hb was in the washroom and then said she wondered why kayden was making noise. i said that bcos he doesn't want to lie down cos i was changing his diaper. i proceeded to change his diaper thinking that my mil would leave the room and close the door. to my surprise, she just stood there looking at me changing the diaper. when i finished, she just come over and said she want to carry him and carried him out of the room. i was like fuming mad. she's always like that. for us working parents, the only time we get to spend time with our kids is before his sleeptime and before we go to work. she'll always want to carry him away. i always commented to my hb, if she wants to carry, why can't she stay in living room where we can all play together with him. why must she always bring him into her room?

every morn, go to work, she'll always be the one carrying him downstairs. we don't get a chance until she leaves and we can then carry him to my parents' place. this is the same as during confinement, refuses to let me get close to kayden. can't even latch him on (her excuse is she wanted me to rest), can't carry him into the room to have his jabs at the polyclinic bcos the polyclinic only allow 1 person with the baby into the room. think i'm going crazy. hb says it's bcos she hardly sees him during the day so want to carry him. then i was saying, what abt us? he said we have the chance to carry him during the nite feed. i was thinking what is that. he's practically sleeping. how to bond?

sorry for the long post. need to get it out of my system. seems like nobody understand how i feel. my parents kept telling me not to get angry with my mil and to 'kan kai'.

Hi erin,
I do understand how u feel..especially if kayden is her 1st grandchild...she can't bear to see their "bao bei" cry or making noise abit..it become we do not know how to take care of him....
Same as my mom...tat's make my wife Sophia feel frustration as well...

But i guess as hb...it's difficult for us as well..cos 1 is our luv 1...and other side is our own mom...unless he can scold his mom..hahah...

My suggestion is...yr hb nd to hv a gd talk wif yr MIL...like some schedule..wat time yr MIL will take care...and wat time onwards u will take care..
cos i always believe that only a happy family..than e hb or u can fully enjoy e family n work life..else all of u will feel depress..
this happen to i myself as well...

Hi Erin,
Ur mil is oso in condition that she afraid her grandchild dun recognise her in the future (as ur parent take care him during daytime...). Hv to really kan kai. I noe is easier for me to say that. Sometime my MIL oso make me urggghhhh....

Poor Erin,

Still got to have energy to 'battle' with mil over the possession of baby. I also have a lot of people always around my girl because my hubby's family is quite big and my mil babysits for me. So, whenever I don't get to spend quality (one to one) time with my baby before and after work, I will use the opportunity to do what i can, like quickly bathe, have breakfast & dinner, read papers, arrange the flashcards etc.

And, keep weekends exclusively for mummy and baby only to make up for lost time.We can only make the best out of the situation.

Hi Erin,
I think what cec say is true..think yr in laws worry that kayden wont recognise them etc..for my in laws, it is similiar as well thou not so bad since we are not staying wif them and they see jay only once a wk...But everytime we go out wif them, my MIL will sure want to carry jay one...carry him, push his stroller, feed him etc...so i juz let them carry him lor...also a break for myself thou sometimes i will still tell her i will feed jay myself coz since the wkdays i dun get to feed jay or spend much time wif him..Mine i guess is not as bad as yrs...i can understand how u feel...cheer up okie..hugs for u...try to talk to yr hb abt it and see if he can hav a talk wif his mum..

Butter8/cocomo/pups
My son is in Early Learning Centre in CCK for 4momth, but he falls very often.
He will get fever/flu/cough on every other week.
So I change him to another infant care.
Things start changing better for him after 5months.

Infant Care is from 7am-7pm.
It is true that some centre impose fine if parents are late.