(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Any,
Very nice name! short and sweet!
would freezing the fruits and veg puree kill the nutrients? btw, can you teach me how to "make" the fruits and veg into puree? how to blend? use what?

Btw, is Gina Ford book good? I am still contemplating to buy or not... A friend of mine also recommended this book!

My parents are also quite for the idea of flashig cards but they flash too slowly liao so for now just my hubby and I are doing the flashing

When you flash the maths equations, do you continue flashing the dots cards as another set as well? or once you start equations, you stop the dots cards temporarily?

Hi Noe,
you make me laff on the flashes! We also have flashes of young kids running ard Megan when my mum bring her down to gai gai haha!

How to toilet train? teach me lei! then I can teach my "mei mu" aka my maid! haha! I using bumwear, any help in that?

Preggie can continue to bf ah? I tot cannot cos the womb will shrink?

Hi jesline,
I brot Megan to baby jumpers Gym cos they adopts the Glenn Doman method.. Actually, I also wanna learn how they flash cards, catch baby's attention and the physical activities so that I can modify my own flashing

Hi HoneyB,
Megan dun elbow me BUT she kicks me quite frequently at night when she sleeps next to me... very pain leh! makes me lose sleep somemore!

Hi augbaby,

I read Gina Fords The Contented Little Babys Book Of Weaning, I understand what you mean by read until confuse, Im like that sometimes so got to read and read and even summarise the common important points so that i wont forget.

I also read Annabels book before but I find most of the recipes too foreign so I didnt follow much. And, I have to consider the availability of common vegetables and fruits here so that in future it will be easier for myself and my MIL to prepare. Avocado is also one of the earliest fruits advisable to introduce, Gina Fords book did mention that it is suitable to be freeze. I didnt try avacado because I didnt want to have to go all the way to some supermarket to get all the necessary ingredients, so I start with the basic ones first.

So far, all the vege and fruits which I mentioned, I prepare them over the weekend at my place, bring them over to my MILs place and freeze it. Apple and pear will only turn brown if you have steam them for too long. Boil the water first, then steam for not more than 15 or 20 minutes.

You can try to feed the first few teaspoon of the fruits and veggies without mixing into the cereals first. If your baby really dont like, then you mix them. This is to ensure that the baby will slowly get used to the variety of taste of different fruits and veggies so that they wont become fussy.

Oh yah, how coincident! If I have a boy, I would have call Ray, I like single syllabus name.

Hi Jesline,

Rae is now just 6months. Shes out in 5th Aug. And, to help your baby to sit, maybe you can do some balancing exercise with her. As part of the ability to sit comes from being able to balance.

Noe,
I just bought the lucky baby sling from the same supplier. The material is cotton so quite comfortable, can fold into very small piece if want to keep so very convenient to bring around. There is a small side pocket with velcro for keys and some cash. I've used the sling with my girl and it really takes the weight off my hands so I like it. She also don't mind sitting in there. Just taught my mum how to use it yesterday cos she's also interested haa..

Piyo,

One of the mummies in the forum sent me the scanned version of Gina Ford's book of weaning (1st Stage). PM me your email add if you are interested to take a peek before deciding if you would like to get a copy of her book.

Piyo,
Yah ... Jul enjoys watching his bros play too.
He gets excited rubbing his feet looking at them.

I didn't start toilet training for Jul yet though (not disciplined enough).
Basically it's the routine they need.
Once Meg clears her bowels in the morning, she can be diaper-free (no need bumwear) for the rest of the day.
Take her to the potty & shh her every hour to clear her bladder.
Soon enough she'll associate shh to passing urine.

It works for Jul.
I have shh him and he will pee.
The first few times, it took some time before the urine really came out.
Subsequently, he got the hang of it.

I stopped when he caught a flu and was having more poo poo sessions.
I used diapers instead for convenience now.
Haiz ... Will start again when he's fully recovered.

Hi Piyo,

Out of all the book on weaning I read, I find Gina Fords book most useful. She has suggested on the schedules and stages of the weaning process, type of food to introduce, how to prepare them etc all the way till baby is one.

Freezing fruits and vege puree wont kill the nutrients, only if you boil (rather than steam) them before making into puree and freeze and the way you thaw them, dont use too hot water to thaw them.

Peel the fruits first, cut them into medium sized cubes (cutting them into smaller sizes then steam will shorten the necessary time require to steam, which is better), blend them using a blender (I use Braun hand held blender), let the puree cool off first, then put them into cubes and freeze them.

I know what you mean by flash too slow, my MIL is like that too then she will say slower is better so that baby can see better. But, I think Rae is more excited when I flashed faster. Anyway, I cant possibly explain to her in details why the speed for flash card so just let her be. I already quite lucky that MIL is not resistant to the idea.

GD recommends flashing the equation when you reach #30. But, I find that with only #1 - #30, I cannot play around with a lot of equation. So, I waited until i reach #50 and then introduce the equations. While doing the equations, I will continue with the rest of the dots card (#51 - #100) as another set.

Thanks HoneyB!
Glad to hear your feedback.
So you bought it at their fair?

Does the sizing suit you?
I measured myself and it's a 61cm.
So it can be an S or M for me right?
I'll likely go for a second hand piece as I already have slings and EC.
Am toying with the idea of having a adjustable free piece for home wearing purpose.

Hi Amy,
Like Jesline, I have same qn! How to help her with bal exercises?

How long can we store the forzen puree b4 they turn bad? hmmm so must go get blender liao?

ya just ytd morning, my dad tried flashing the chinese words to her... aiyo so slow! but I let him try try for fun... Megan looked awhile then turned her head away liao... sometimes I really wonder do they really absorb things so fast?

okie noted! maybe I can modify and flash till 50 dots. I have reached 36 dots so far wondering should I start with addition now cos GD book recommend after 20 dots start addition eqns for 2 weeks b4 intro subtraction... if it's 2 weeks addition, I think 20-30 dots should be enuf? do you following the 2 weeks addition 2 weeks subtraction, then 2 weeks multiplication then division like what GD says in the book?

hi honeyB,
I pm-ed you liao!

Noe,

No, I contacted the supplier directly and she sold to me at the BP rate. I went to her place to try on the slings, I'm using a size S but size XS actually holds baby closer and leave me hands free, size S I still have to hang on to her with one hand else she'll be like leaning backwards.

Depends on whether you want baby closer to you if so than you may want to consider size S.

You mentioned adjustable free piece, are you thinking of getting those with rings? I have a piece that I don't use cos I find it so difficult to adjust with baby in the sling, gave up and bought the lucky baby sling instead

Hi Noe,
After Megan clears her bowels in the morning, she may have anther poo-ing session in the afternoon, then how to go diaper free? Is the purpose of shhh-ing her every hour making her pee only when she heards the sshhh and wo the ssshhh she won't urine? wah if it;s like this very good leh! but beginning sure will have accidents when she pees and creates a mess wo any diaper?

Hi Jesline,
go www.bjg.com.sg for more details
Can look for Annie. I think there is 2 branches, one at Bt batok and one at Pasir Ris

Hi Amy,
wow, rae is only 1 day older than jay..hee hee...i had so far only tried avocado...will be trying sweet potato tis wkends..btw sweet potato is actually the orange skin one or the white flesh one which is actually call yam..n the japanese sweet potato, can bb eat that coz my MIL bought those instead of the orange flesh sweet potato...

Hi Noe,
i usually will say shhh to him when i am abt to bathe him..coz there r a few times when he was in the tub n he pee...Gosh..so now b4 i bathe him, i will usually say shhh n most of the time he will pee...only once in a while there is no pee so i guess he might juz hav pee early...hmm if that is the case, maybe i can get my mum to try toilet train him thou it might be rather troublesome to have to bring him to the toilet every hr..wat is he is sleeping..haha

cecelia,

yup, I'm already a mommy of two

cheers,

stay happy during this pregnancy. positive mindset helps

kelly,

wow...going for no3. pei fu.

piyo,

I only start toilet training noah when he's two and can talk. I'm a lazy mum. No patient to go shhhh....shhhh....

noe,

Ya, I din flash any cards to zac. His gor gor Noah is the one flashing - all around him. However, zac likes that, can chuckle out loud just looking at gor gor.

noah treats zac like his toys and guinea pigs. Bought his a medical kit and he ends up 'treating' zac.

as for sleeping. noah sleeps on his own bed, in his own room. Didn't train. Just that one fine day, he insisted on sleeping in the room and from that day onwards, he sleeps there. When it comes to bed time, just throw some books on his bed, close the door and leave him there. come in 10 mins later and tell him," you must be tired.', keep his books and he will guai guai lie on bed and sleep.

btw, would you the one who message me yesterday? hee...reply the messages without finding out who's the sender.

post some pics
684958.jpg

684959.jpg

Hi Jesline & Piyo,

Let u know about the balancing exercise later, I got to refer to the book first. A few that I can remember now includes :
1. Let the baby sit on your lap while you sit on a rocking chair
2. Let your baby sit on your shoulder while you hold her.
3. This a bit more adventurous, my mum freaks out when she saw me doing this. Hold your baby up with her hands holding yours and swing slowly from left to right. Otherwise, hold the baby around the arm pit area and swing a bit.

Hi augbaby,
Japanese sweet potatoes are alright. I did both types, so far so good. But, it may be a little dry after you freeze and thaw it, so maybe when served, add a little bit of milk or warm water.

Oh HoneyB,
You are such a wealth of info!
May I know how much did you get it for?
Hmm ... Size S sounds a better fit right since our babe will grow bigger?
Is there a max weight e sling can take?
I can't seem to find that on the website.
Yeah, I have an MIM sling, a BayB sling and Ergo Carrier.
Thinking of investing in Lucky Baby and sell off my current slings if LC sling works well for me.

Yeah Piyo,
Then can let Meg go diaper free for a few hours before the next poo poo session?
Agree it's a lot of effort lor ...

Ya, definitely there will be accidents.
That's why with Jul having more poo poo sessions, I have him wear disposable diapers as it's easier to clean up pee accidents than poo accidents leh.

Unlike when the boys are older, the poo accidents are lumpy so it is easier to pick and throw. Wah ha ha ... So gross hor.

Hi5 Augbaby!
I do that too. Likewise, sometimes Jul pees, sometimes he doesn't.
Good habit nonetheless.
Can be tedious though.

Hi Augustmum,
I think I also lazy mum! I will get my maid to sshhhh megan!haha!

Hi Amy,
Do you hold her by the armpit/waist etc when you "1. Let the baby sit on your lap while you sit on a rocking chair "?

Do you do the swinging in item 3, something like what GD mention in the physicall superb book? I always swing megan left to right BUT i hold her under her armpits..

Hi noe,
Thanks for sharing! I will ask my maid start trying tomorrow
will update on the results!

Amy,
u have been a great help...u r one experienced mummy..
so u use the orange flesh sweet potato n not the ya, rite?

Hi Noe,
Just another tot, can I let her continue to wear Bumwear but still go sshhh every hour? so that I can still catch her output if there are accidents?

Noe,
I bought it at the BP price of $50 (one of the cheapest sling I can find hee), my mum was nagging away thou..said she could sew that too haa...

I read about max weight before but can't seems to recall where and how heavy, you can check out more info at lucky-baby.com

How do you find the Ergo carrier? My hubby wants to get one but I think the sling is good enough, baby also don't mind stroller when we go shopping.

Piyo,
You've got mail!

Hi HoneyB,
Thanks! Did you send to my company email or yahoo?

Hi Noe,
Read that you are using Ergo carrier, is it good? Cos I am contemplating of getting it. Practically, how long can our babies sit in it? Good to use? I am thinking of joining a BP on ergo carriers organised by one of the mums here...

Hi HoneyB,
no prob! better for me so that I can receive it sooner but maybe the file size big so till now have not received... Never mind, will monitor the mails... Thanks again!

Hi augbaby,

I use both the white flesh (Japanese sweet potatos) and also the orange flesh ones, both are ok. By the way, don't have to peel the skin, steam them first then peel will be easier.

Hi Piyo,

Advisable storage period for frozen puree is not more than 6 weeks.

When sitting on lap, I hold her at her armpits. And, yes i follow GD's phusically superb book, hold her with her hands (fingers rather) and swing. That's why, my mum freaks out.

Sling,
I tried both Baby Bjorn and Ergo (rent from Chloe). I love Baby Bjorn, have been using it to carry Rae to and fro my place and MIL's place in the morning and night. But, when baby is near 7.5kg, it will be a bit too tight for the baby. And, also if you are using sling so that you can be shopping at the same time, then Baby Bjorn is not that comfortable for your back. (For me, I only use it to fetch her around) Ergo will be more comfortable for mummies.

Personally, Ergo a bit more difficult to sling baby alone (when you don't have another person with you). But, Ergo can carry baby till 18kg. But, frankly speaking when your baby reach 10kg, whatever slings you use may not be very comfortable whether for mummy and baby.

And, one problem I have with sling is my MIL thinks that the baby very 'xin ku' so she don't really like it when I have to use it.

piyo,

I used the Ergo. My boy is 8kg. I can front carry him and shop without resting for 2hrs before I give up (thigh ache, back ache).

I use it at the malls for short shopping sessions (is 2hrs short?) when I don't need to stop for meals. Can't eat properly carrying my boy.

honeyhaven,

No worries abt the food. Just come and eat lah. We'll have enough.

Hi Augustmum,
It's great to watch Noah & Zach at play.
Yeah, it's heartlifting when we hear Jul chuckle whenever his bros play with him.

Bravo Noah! Wow!
Is he an independent child by nature?

No leh ... I didn't msg you.
Ha ha ... Must update our list again already.

Hee hee Piyo,
So blessed. You have domestic helper to toilet train Meg.
Ya, let us know how it progress.
It takes some time for both your helper & Meg to get a hang of it.

You can still have the bumwear on for convenience. (I most likely would too)
I recall mum's advice was to keep it off:
1) To air the buttocks & keep rashes away
2) Baby to recognise she's not wearing diaper & not pee anytime she wants. (something along that line)

Girls generally are toilet trained faster than boys.
My neighbour's dd who's 2 months older than my #2 was toilet trained when she was about 16 months old.

The domestic helper did a good job.
She took care of my neighbour's dd better than the mother did.

Hi HoneyB, Piyo,
Yeah I was scrolling through LC Website especially the FAQs but didn't find it though.
Perhaps I browse too quickly. Shall try again later.

Blessed thou art that your baby doesn't mind stroller.
All my boys refused it.
It became our shopping cart the initial days.
They wanted to sit in it only when they were 18 months and older.
Now the older boys fights for it. Ha ha ...

Personally, I used Baby Bjorn before.
However, it's as Amy has shared, you will feel the strain once your baby is over 7kg.

Jav was 9kg when I was using Baby Bjorn. It was a back breaker experience carrying him in it.

The difference was vast when I swtiched to Ergo. (Mine's old generation).
Ergo provides a whole lot better support.
My dh didn't mind using it (compared with the sling).
We can carry my child in it for a loooong time (up to 26kg or the weight your back can take).
It's a good investment for me as I carry both my older boys in it occasionally too.
In fact #2 has been wanting me to piggy back him of late.

Con

1) It's bulky. Once you are out alone with your baby, it's most inconvenient to remove it (compared with the sling).
Awkward to carry a sling bag or haversack or pouch due to the bulky straps.

2) Baby cannot face forward. The website explains well for this reason. Not good for boys as the pressure point at their groin area when we carry them in conventional forward facing baby carriers.

You may like to try it first as I have come across mothers who find that their children don't like it.
My friend prefers old gen EC to new gen.
I have yet to see the new gen so can't comment much on it.
The colours & prints are definitely nicer.

Hee hee Leia,
2 hours shopping session is a luxury for me now liao loh ...
Ya, agree not easy eating carrying baby.

I carried 9.5kg Jav in it when he was 9 months old in Thailand for the whole day!
I had slight backache from that.
Imagine using conventional baby carrier the whole day ... Pengz.

Amy,
thanks for the info...can i check how do i actually steam the fruits n veggies if i dun have a steamer ah...i v blur one...dun noe how..

btw i got the dvd of the show our babies r in..anyone wan me to burn a copy? i can pass to u all at raffles place area or at next gathering too...

Hi Amy,
Our babies can really tahan ah if we hold them by their fingers? I only do that during BJG class and the instructor will do that on each of the babies. I dun dare to do it wo the instructor around...

Hi Leia/Noe/Amy,
Noe mentioned one of the cons is baby cannot sit frontwards. Does that mean our babies cannot be faced forward looking of frontwards for them to look ard? we have to put them with their face facing out chest? then defeat the purpose of having the ergo liao?

Pls advise if you can as I am considering whether to get the ergo carrier as one of the mums is organising another BP on this.
thanks!!!

Noe,
I forget to tell my maid last nght about toilet training! C how forgetful I am... must really make a mental note to do that liao... if dun wear bumwear/nappy, does that mean just put on a pair of shorts/pants will do?

hiaugbaby,
even tho i not in the show can i get a copy to watch? wanna learn from the show... maybe I pop by raffles one day ( i so near..tpagar)...

Hi augbaby,

I also don't have a steamer. So, can use the wok, fill it with water, then use a 'metal tray with short stands' that can be place in the wok while holding the bowl or plate containing the cut fruits or vegetables.

Always boil the water first then you proceed to peel and cut the fruits or vegetables, when the water is boiled, bring down the heat, then you put in the stuff and covered the wok. Look out for the time once you covered the wok that you can keep track.

Hi Piyo,

You have to do it slowly with Megan on the bed and grap their hands tightly. My baby can 'tahan', at times you may see that she's like breathing a bit harder in order to have strength to hold you which is also good because by maturing their breathing, it helps in building their language ability.

And, Ergo sling confirmed cannot let baby sit frontwards.

Hi Jesline,
We will be moving to One Raffles Quay, the new office building. maybe next time can organise lunch among our Aug thread mums liao haha!But I prefer my current office lei! more eating places and SHOPPING!

Hi Amy,

Y on the bed ah? Aren't we swinging them? scare they fall?

Is Ergo sling the same as this which I am thinking of purchasing?

686118.jpg

piyo, jesline, butter8,
okie..i shall burn u all a copy each ya and maybe we can all meet up together for lunch 1 day and i can pass the dvd to u all..cool..;P

AMy,
icic..great..i thou i have to go get a steamer..haha...but how long shld i be steaming the fruits/veggies ah..n how would i be able to know when they r ready??Btw wat the title of the book for the exercise that u r telling piyo abt that we can help our baby balance better..maybe i can go library to borrow to better understand..

Hi Piyo,

When you are on the bed, let the baby be in sitting position facing you, then you carry her with your hands holding her and slowly bring her up. Your baby may slowly shift her legs to adjust to the standing position you want her be, just in case the baby needs to fall back to the ground to feel safe, thats why on the bed is better, ground will be too hard or cold. Then, you slowly raise her up off the ground, let her experience her own body weight, then you slowly swing her from left to right (by now, you would need to be standing on your own bed, so dont wear slippers).

Do every step slowly so that you can observe how the baby learn to shift her legs, experience her own weight, as you do this more and more, you will find her getting more and more experienced.

And, yes the picture you posted is the Ergo sling. Why dont you rent and try it out first.

Hi augbaby,

Amount of time you steam them depends on type of vege/fruits, how small or big you cut them as well as depth of wok, amount of water etc. Generally, the idea of steaming is mainly to soften them enough to blend them. For fruits, 10 to 15 minutes may be sufficient especially if it is papaya, banana or mango. For vegetables such as carrot, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, you may need 20 to 25minutes. You test whether they are soft enough by using a fork to pok them, if the fork can pok in a bit then you they should be ready to be blend. If you still find them difficult to blend (and it also depends on type of blender) , then maybe it is still too hard, then you steam them a while more. Anyway, practice make perfect, as you go along, you will slowly know the timing and procedure.

The book is called How To Teach Your Baby To Be Physically Superb By Glenn Doman and Janet Doman. It is available for loan in library but you need to reserve first. All 3 books are on loan now.

Amy,
So our bb hands shld be stretch out totally such that with both hands it shld form a straight line, like that? N then we interwine our fingers with them and then swing them side to side? having some difficulty imagining how leh..hee hee

Let your baby's fingers wrapped around both your thumbs, then you cover her hand with your hand (remaining fingers), not interwine the fingers.

By right, GD book says only support the baby with the thumb while the baby learns how to support herself by holding to the thumb. Imagine us doing pull up holding on only to the pole.

But, this is really if the baby is very physically superb, Rae a bit too fat to be able to support herself in this way so I still support her with my hands covering hers.

check with all mummies who is working in office, can help me check ur company using any good groceries supplier.

if got good one let me know. The one i am using cannot make it at all..
kao_angry.gif

Amy,

Will that hurt the baby's arms? Sometimes when I carry my girl from her armpits, I can hear some 'cracking' sound and that always scare me, always wonder if I might have injured her or what.

Noe,

If you need more information on the sling, can always pm the supplier - MilkyWay, her name is Kay, she is super friendly and helpful.

Amy,
i think is too early to let our baby do the standing part with out our hands helping to support their back. i find it very dangerous, might hurt baby's hand.

honeyb,
same same...i also sometimes carry jay under the armpits and can hear "cracking" sound..so scare sometimes i might cause his shoulders to be dislocated...

augbaby,
Ya quite scary hor, come to think of it, the ang mos don't really care, they are game to try everything that works, asians tend to be more conservative..hee, baby whine only go and sayang already

Hi Augbaby,
okie on! btw, dun scold me ah but is the DVD clear? :p

Hi Amy,
I roughly understand what you mean. So when we start the exercise, we should be in a kneeling position somewhat then slowly straighten up on our own bed right? I worry about the cracking sound like what Augbaby and HoneyB mentioned cos occasionally when I hold Megan by the armpit, I also hear cracking sound...

Hi cat,
if we do the exercise slowly, I think it's ok. Megan is on the braciatron ladder every Sunday in the BJG where the trainer swing her using baby's own hands from bar to bar, like monkey bar and also let her hang on the bar for 20 counts like the way Amy mentioned.. only difference is she is handing on the bar and not on our hands alone... Megan enjoys it

piyo,
hee hee..i haven seen it yet so i dun noe if clear leh...tonite i go see..btw the BJG class that megan goes to, how much is it and any website i can go to see where other places they have etc..i am keen to let jay try some activity....where did u bring megan go to for that?

waaa i cannot keep up with the posts already.

Piyo,
Leon also took studioloft pics, we have one just like yours! will post it up here when im on my home comp.

Flash Cards
so far, i haven't been flashing cards to leon... he's been watching the baby can read vcd daily, think thats about all the 'education' he gets haha. other than that, jus spend a lot of time bonding with him by playing w his toys w him, and babbling with him, baby la, i let him enjoy baby life hehe.

POSTURE
leon has been sitting extremely well for quite a while , he can sit for i think 40 min or more, playing with his toys. since he dsnt complain, i don't think he is in any discomfort. crawling wise, he's still happily 'swimming' backwards haha, v cute. i think his backside is getting higher n higher tho.

see u gals on saturday!

BTW leon has no swimsuit! only swim diapers can swim annot? else i hv to rush n buy one tomorrow.