(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Piyo,

Your Megan has changed so much since the video shoot huh, so pretty, how did you get her hair all so neat..my girl's hair is always standing up look so funny.

mommies,

zac has finally pooed after 8 days. haha...so happy over a pile of sh**

Congrats. Welcome to the gang of twos

Piyo,

Megan so cute, so pretty. How I wish I have a girl. Recently going gaga over baby girls.

However, we have decided to stopped at two. Think I'm physically too tired to have three.

thank you for the wishes.
hopefully i'll be able to sustain this pregnancy.
cos i've been having staining for abt 1.5wks, will finish the progesterone pills b4 going to doc again.

piyo,

Megan pretty pretty
Her hair looks so different from the video shoot in Dec!!! You bring her for haircut?

cheers,

Congrats!!! And I really *kowtow* to you
Enjoy your pregnancy!

Augbaby,

Happy belated birthday! Still haven't hit 3-0 hor?
Enjoy the last few years of 2-X.

Leia,
Hee hee...tks for the wishes...ya still haven reach the big 30 yet..but then i am juz a year away from it..
oh btw i am afraid i cant attend the swim fest at yr lace
coz my parents juz told me that sun is our whole family reunion dinner with my uncles, my grandma n all...wich takes place every yr so i think i need to let jay have eno sleep b4 we go if not he be super difficult to handle n cranky...sigh...anyway pls take more pics and share wif me ya...i somemore went over the wkends to buy jay a swim toy to play and swimming float too...

Congrates and have a smooth pregnancy! I also tot of having a second one, but think not so soon, maybe few months later. Hee. . .

Butter,
I am the one installed the 3G cameras. Think superdad suggest to you Singtel webcam, so dunno which one you installed?

Piyo,
Megan so pretty, mei nu yo. Her haie so nice!!! my Jay botak now, after shave then hair not growing

Augustmum,
My Jay also not poo for 3 days then I gave him pumkin and he pooed ytday. He likes pumpkin a lot so I am giving him 2-3 table spoons daily, will slowly increase the amount and 4 days later (this is to see if he allergy to the food) then change menu.

Hi Jesline and HoneyB,
Confirmed it's fire pig and this is small fire pig... our babies are big fire dogs
Golden pig will only come in another 20+yrs I think so can forget about it.... for the pig to be golden pig, the year must be a "gold element" aka "jin1" year.
Mickey Mouse would be earth mickey mouse liao

Hi Butter8,
Hope you get a good maid soon... I know the pain and trouble cos we changed 4 times liao and the current maid is our 4th one...

Hi HoneyB,augustmum, Leia and cocomo,
got changed ah? she looks the same to me since birth haha!Her hair has been flat since day1 dunno y lei.. we just take a bunch of the hair sweep backwards and clip! Did you shave your ger's hair?maybe that's y it's standing?

Din bring her for haircut... dun bear to cut off her hair but her grandpa snipped too high up her ears side so now growing back that's all. I told my father cannot snip anymore else looks like boi boi liao

I also brot her to foto-u take some shots.. tonight gotchance post some of the foto-u shots to share with you all

cocomo,
dun worry! hair will gorw and maybe by then thicker than you can imagine!!! be patient!!!

Hi, piyo

oic.. so our babies r big fire dogs.... cannot be bullied... hee hee hee

Baby Jia Hui got abit of temper... yesterday night, saw daddy eating ice cream & start to cry & scream when did not give to her.....

so in the end, trick her by feeding her water with spoon & drink non stop... hee hee hee

cocomo,
i oso got the cams,but dunno if 3G. Maybe lower end then yours?

*piyo*
thanks, is your indon or filipino?

cheers,
takecare and wish you a safe and Happy preganancy!

hi smlow,
yah the Trixera is really good! can share with me how do you get the discount for guardian pharmacy?

hi piyo,
Megan is so babelicious! makes me so gian to bring mine for photoshoot liao...

talking about fiery temper...hmmm. Denise sure has one of a kind temper too. Not to mention not giving her the things she's interested in, if she sees me will make noise and wriggle fiercely till i carry her(she's a superglue!). so now my mil says got difference in the way we carry meh...hahaha

Butter8,
So you not using the Singtel one huh? Initially I wanna install the Singtel one coz not aware of the cameras I currently using but that point of time Singtel discountinued the service. I am quite happy with my current setup tho. hee. . . my cameras not those high end one la, maybe mid class. D-Link brand DCS2120.

Piyo,
Sorry just now din reply you coz I was driving and in Msia. I am thinking to buy the original one, my mind like 60% go and 40% no. How huh? Shd I get the original? wanna go to their workshop so I can roughly know how to flash. Kelly did mentioned to me that even if I go to the workshop I still need to read up the books. Ai. . . me no time + lazy le. How Megan doing with flash card? She like it? But hor I just worry if I buy then Jay not like it then waste money le. Any advise?

cocomo,
hey we are using same one
but now i have no maid hahah so nothing to monitor :p

these few days prob have to go maid agency shopping.

what classes are you talking about? where will have classes for 6mth baby?
now i only teach my boy count 1- 10 hahaha

piyo
aiyo, u very 'eng' hor...i was scrolling thru e whole thread wondering when did 'cheers' announce her 2nd pregnancy?

megan so chan-teeeeeeeeeek. my edward chope her already rt or she rejected my edward?

ur indon maid ok?

congrats congrats! do eat well, rest well. b positive, tis bb's here 2 stay.

augbb
oops! got ur bday wrong. pai seh
will miss seeing u & jayden on 11feb.

me not planning for #3 yet, mayb in 2009 (so will start planning in late 2008). i really like 2 spend time wif my boys (who r sooooooo fun 2 b wif now esp when they play wif each other) n watch edward grow up.

leia
i shld b coming abt 12pm, after edward wakes up fr his morning nap. wat shld i bring 4 lunch? i love 2 whip up a chicken curry 2 go wif cocomo's fried bee hoon but dunno if i hv e time. can i confirm by fri?

butter8
wat happened 2 ur maid? hope u get a gd one tis time round

honeyb, augbb, erin, piyo
me was itching 2 b preggie after giving birth 2 gabe. after giving birth 2 edward, i STILL itching 2 b preggie cos i miss my bb inside me SO MUCH.

there r definitely difficulties when #2 comes along but it's how u manage it. i'm still managing fine without a maid n still undecided abt getting one.

no matter wat, when #2 comes along, YOU yourself will tend 2 pass #2 to e other caregiver (be it ur parents, ILs, maid, nanny, caregiver, etc). y? bcos all ur #2 does (in e initial mths) is eat, sleep, shit. it's ur #1 who needs A LOT of attention cos he needs 2 get used another bb in e family n tis bb is going 2 take up time & effort fr his dear papa & mama. u tell me which human being (even as an adult) will like it when someone else comes out of nowhere & fights 4 attention wif u, much less a toddler who is still trying 2 learn & comprehend things in tis world.

which is y my gabe needed lotsa attention & effort. he was constantly doing things 2 get our attention. i must admit wif 2kids, it's VERY tiring but e JOY outweighs e fatigue & effort.

for me & my husband, we chose 2 hv a bb b4 my gabe turns 2 is bcos we dun 1 a big age gap between my kids. i really cant imagine gabe being 4-5yrs old n i hv 2 handle an infant. IMO lah, a <2yrs gap is most perfect cos i can really c how gabe engage in playing wif edward n gabe can understand abt being a bb b4. i not saying tat a 4-5yrs old wont b nice 2 e new sibling or wont participate but while changing diapers, waking up 4 milk feeds in e middle of e nite is still fresh in our minds, y not hv #2?

like wat my parents & lotsa other relatives (esp my aunties) all said, "u juz need 'xin ku' these 1-2yrs, after tat si-nang liao" my husband & i totally agree. e next 18mths is tough but come 2009, when edward goes 2 school wif gabe, *whee whee* i can at least shake legs 4 3hrs in e morn liao...unless i become preggie wif #3 lah.

like all of u, i also wonder if i can love another bb juz e same. trust me, as mothers, u can. in fact i love my boys so much until i dunno who i love more (which isnt impt) n i never stop telling them how much i love them everyday.

mummies, i only sharing my experiences. not all mummies r the same. juz parent within ur means - physical, financial, emotional, etc.

juz 2 share something wif u all...

1) whenever edward poos in e diaper, gabe'll come & say "da pi gu (beat buttock)" (cos i beat his buttock if he dun do his big/small biz in e toilet - me was toilet training him). very funny! so i taught gabe tis, "darling, when didi is learning 2 use e toilet, u must show & guide him ok?"

2) whenever gabe wants 2 b carried bcos he saw tat edward is carried all e time (jealousy but we expected it), i always tell him, "darling, wat did mummy tell u? we are carrying edward bcos he cant walk like u. once he can walk, will u hold his hand & walk by his side?" tis always bring a smile 2 gabe's face n he readily agreed. after tat, gabe'll kwai kwai walk by my side n once in a while, he wanna hold his brother's hand while i carry edward. very sweet of him!

kelly - dats is nice to hear frm your boy.Wonder if i can kip my gal away frm jealousy if i hv a 2nd one in near future.

smlow - May i knw if SG sells Avene pdt expensive ?

cheers - Congrats...take care ya.My MIL was telling my hb to tell me to hurry hv a 2nd one...aiyoh..now 1 oredi headache hw to hv another baby soon..realli 'pei fu' you

kelly,

Curry would be greaaaaaaaaaat... if you have the time! *drools*

Btw, can share more on how you toilet train Edward?

My kayden is teething. His 2 lower front teeth is growing. Any babies also like him??

Hi leia
I dun think i am able to bring food with me.... Very pai seh. Like what i mentioned earlier, my hb is working on Sunday and my maid is to help my mil to do spring cleaning and so I will be there with Kayden by taxi. I will be carrying him and take his barang barang. I may not have another hand to take other food with me. I try to bring some tibits that is not so heavy. Pai Seh. Hope u understand.

did your baby grow thru a stage of waking in the nite, cuz they rollover, cant sleep properly, but not becuz hungry? Ryan has been kinda waking,whining, flipping over n starting to cry..
I am wondering if this is just a phase.

kelly,
i changed 1 maid cuz she say father died,then my replacement from the agency,work 4days, then say her daughter in hospital... so i alsohad to let her go...maybe just unlucky, cuz their story could be true...

btw, i oso let my boy suck hand, fingers & thumbs...really cant be keeping them clean all the time hehehehe

Hi honeyhaven,
My gal is also teething, 1 bottom tooth is getting obvious so she drooling more and at times she will bite harder when the gums are itchy. She's also a bit more irritable.

hi butter8,

my baby did the same! she would keep flipping over and crying for help several times in the middle of the night and need to carry to get back to sleep. it took her abt 1 to 2 weeks to stop doing tat.

i read tat it's because they are trying to get used to their new mobility. it's jus lik if u did a lot of exercise and after tat, u wil feel some tingling in yur muscles. same for the babies, so they r feeling uncomfortable n need to move about. sounds logical?
it's just a phase but the bad news is tat they may keep doing it everytime they learn a new skill! *faint*

Piyo,
Oic, our bbs are fire dog har... alamak kena con as hub said gal is gold dog. My gal hair oso standing type hv to put hairband then it will look nice. If nt, look like lion...

Augustmum,
Planning for 2nd 1 oredy
?

Jesline,
So Jia Hui oso like to be feed whatever food that adult is eating. Same happen to my gal. at first i cant understand how come she is so 'tam ciak'.

Share with u. Isetan is having the Hokkaido sale till 11 Feb. Recommend u to try the cheese cake yummy... yummy.. lei.
Furthermore they sell small scallops, bought some yesterday to cook it with rice. My ds love it.

Hi, Cecelia

Baby Jia Hui also very 'tam ciak'... whether i take out a packet of potota chip to eat.. she will stare at me & will be excited .... if dont give her, she will make some noise.. to indicate that she want to eat... of course will not let her eat the rubbish that i am eating as she is still young...

recently, Jia Hui kept biting the teething toy that i bought for her & she is biting very hard.. not sure whether is her teeth coming out... whenever try to see.. she will push her tongue out to lick at my hands....

Hi, mummies
had all yr babies learn how to sit on their own????

hi all mummies,

thanks for all the well-wishes. but pls dun mention anything when my HB is nearby on sunday, scared may trigger him to announce to his parents during CNY. cos i only intend to tell my in-laws in march, when the pregnancy is more stabilised.

cecelia & jesline,

my girl also very "tam chiak". when she sees us eating, she'll start to move her mouth.
perhaps it's bcos since she was 1mth old, we had experimented with her, letting her lick orange juice, chocolate, cookie, roast pork/chicken, chicken essence, bread, etc.

amy & honeyhaven,
mine shld be teething soon, cos lots of saliva and like to bite things but i haven't seen any tooth yet.

jesline,
my girl can sit by her own since 5mths, now she can stand but need to support onto something.

kelly,

i admire you on handling the 2 boys on ur own. i hope to be the sole caregiver too, but i've to let my mum handle my girl when we open the shop soon.

Hi cecelia & jesline
My Kayden also very "tam chiak". After he ate 1 1/2table spoon of rice cereal. He has to drink 120 ml of milk. (abt half of his usual feeding 210ml now). Or else he will cry and cry. He will also stare at us when we are eating. Sometimes make me feel bad that i dun let him eat. So far he just tried apple.

I saw somewhere one mummuy prepared pumpkin for baby to eat. How to prepare it?? Just steam and mash is it??

Piyo,
Aiyo, big fire dog year, no wonder my girl has quite a bit of temper, my mum always say my girl very "chiak". My girl has alot of hair since birth, has since cut her hair TWICE already and its still blooming.. ha, worse still, of all people, she seems to have inherited my FIL's curly hair, but only the front, back of her hair is straight. My hubby always say her hair looks like "kali pok" (curry puff)...haa, hope her hair will straighten down like mummy's.
684569.jpg

Kelly,
I agree with you, just 'xiong xiong' for a couple of yrs and by the time you know, they are all in school already, was also thinking since my mum can help me out now, better be quick before she change her mind haa...

Wow, all your babies know how to sit already, mine is still trying to learn, she tends to lean forward when I put her in the sitting position, maybe she's more interested to grab her toes.

Hi honeyhaven,

For pumpkin, i did a stupid by trying to skin it first then steam. Then, I realise, just steam, when it's soft, use spoon to 'carve the skin out' then mash/blend. Don't buy 1 whole pumpkin, buy 1 quarter. 1 quarter can make around 8 cubes (8x30ml=240ml)

Hi, cheers

wow... yr baby can sit already... my baby still cannot... abit worry....

Hi HoneyB
look like my baby also like yr.... when try to put her in sitting position, she will try to grab her leg & so will lean forward.... think her body muscle not strong enough.... think got to wait ...

btw... how old is yr baby now? mine is 6mths ++

hi amy,
so pumpkin can be freeze? where can i get pumpkin in 1 quarter one? Btw is there any fruits or veggies that shld not be freeze?

ANy mummies starting bb on porridge already?

Hi jesline and cecilia,
ya our babies are big fire dogs.. I wanna have a fire baby so I am very sure
my megan also got fiery temper dunno is it cos of the big fire dog:p

hi honeyb & jesline
cham! so many babies can sit liao... my baby also can't sit on her own yet, will tend to bend forward or sideways if left on her own
instead of sitting, I think she prefers to walk or stand cos that's what she is trying to do now when we hold her up... any mums experinecing this behaviour too?

Hi Honeyb,
Hannah is very fair and mei mei lei! and I love her curls so ccuuttee!How about using a clip on her hair too? hehe

Hi Augustmum,
what's the age gap bet Zac and Noah ah? Can share with us your experience of taking care of 2 at the same time?

Hi butter,
Sometimes, the maids have funny reasons... my 1st one steal money and abuse my dog. My 2nd one nua nua, wanna eat good food and drink 5 packets of coffee made into 1 mug kind but still wanna sleep when carry megan. My 3rd one misses her boyfriend back home and cries everyday says wanna go home. My 4th one (thank god!) currently seriously wanna work and knows how to take care of baby...I hope my 4th one can stay with me for as long as possible FOR NOW HAIZ so I believe it's really heng suey kinda thing. 1st 2 fili last 2 indon

Hi, piyo

me too experienced that... baby likes to stand rather than sit.... so whenever let her sit, she will not sit.. need us to make her sit....

Jia Hui only knows how to flip from back to belly & not yet 2 way.... how??? anyone same as me??

Hi augbaby,
Most (Almost all) of the vegetables and fruits can be freeze. So far, I have done apple, pear, mango, carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin, brocoli+carrot. Introducing different types of vege and fruits by stages according to what is suitable based on when she's 5month, 6month and so on.

Bought my quarter pumpkin from nearby market, actually not sure if supermarket sells them in quarters.

Haven't start on porriage yet because I intend to let baby get used to the different taste of vegetables first before cooking them altogether as porriage.

By the way, do remember to always give fruits first then wait a while (15 - 30minutes) before giving porriage or cereals. Fruits' nutrients are better absorbed in an empty stomach rather than after meal.

Hi Augbb,
I am only starting to intro megan to rice cereal nia... so no porridge for now... c I so slow...

Hi Fiona,
quick quick bring take photoshoot can get some good pics to keep! hehe!

Hi Kelly,
I not "eng" lah! I just happen to scroll down the threads then I saw cheers nick in Oct07 thread so I just open and kpo loh! not intentional hor!

My maid so far so good, occasionally forgetful and careless but she really loves kids esp megan so much that megan chuckles whenever she sees her but smile and flap hands at me ONLY when I come into sight. Not a good feeling can only console myself that baby is well taken care of, not being abused lor.

Btw, I pei fu you can take care of both boys together... If it's me I peng san liao! When I have no.2 then I come consult you okie!

Can ask you when would be a good time to toilet train our babies ah? and do you make baby poo poo in the morning everyday so as to get them into the habit of clearing their bowels in the morning? what about other mummies ah?

Hi Amy,
What's the name of your ger? She got lots of hair!!!!

Can I ask you how do you intro veg to babies? you squashed them? like I see you intro brocolli and carrots, how do you prepare them? and do you mix them in the cereal/porridge? or served independently? I am only in the midst of intro rice cereal. Roughly after how many days of introducing rice cereal can I intro fruits and veg ah? and you mention intro fruits then later intro rice/cereal... after eating fruits etc they still got stomach to eat rice/cereal ah?

Hi Cecelia,
Thank you for your well-wishes.
The boys are better now.
#1 had fever last Thurs but thankfully didn't need to visit the doctor as we self-medicated.

Hi Pups,
Regarding our babies' sleeping habit, it's as you have put it, depends on their personalities and ours.
I am one parent who can't stand them crying out for long.
I don't have that tune the wails out feature in me.
Some parents are good at that and it's an advantage when comes driving in the car with a crying baby.
DH speeds when Jul's wailing his heart out when strapped in the car seat. Urgh.

So I do nurse my boys to sleep.
Jav now turning 2 and half still need me by his side before he falls asleep by himself.
(I will return to my bedroom after he zzz).

Always remind myself that they won't want to cling onto me for long.

Hi Cocomo,

I owe you a reply hehe! Yes what Kelly says is correct. You would still need to read the books even though you got for Lawrence's workshops. those are powerpt slides and some notes. Details still need to read the book to get better idea
IMO, you may wanna invest in new cards if you urgently wanna flash to Jaydon now. Cos prep the cards on your own and DIY can be quite siong and time consuming as you need to have at least 1 hundred cards ready b4 you start flashing else halfway stop flashing not good for the prog...and b4 you know it the 100 cards finished liao and you may be tempted to flash old cards to him when you run out of cards. Not good also. If you get the set, you are ready to go and you get support from lawrence as and when you have trouble with flashing or if jayden has issues of concentrating? you are not stopping at 1, so you can amortise the cost of the original cards among the 2 or 3 kids you having so quite ok lah! but if you can wait then take time to wait for mums to sell 2nd hand ones ... I was planning to get new sets but at that time, a few mums were selling off theirs so I changed my mind after consulting other GD mums in this forum and the sgparenting forum... else I would get new sets too
How's your decision so far?

I flash the cards based on what I read from the books and improvise after attending BJG seeing hte way they flash so without the workshops I am doing fine still...and you will need to modify the flashing sessions based on your work schedule, baby's moods, attention span etc so IMO dun need to get new cards just cos you wanna attend the workshop sessions.

We flash to Megan every morning 2 times b4 we go to work with at least 15mins interval between the sessions and evening 1 time after we come back from work. Usually, my hubby would flash in the morning while I would do that in the evening. Megan's concentration is much much better in the mornings than in the evenings. We can flash maths, english and chinese cards all at 1 go in the morning but for evening, I have to play with her a bit, make her happy happy then flash say english then stop play play with her again then flash maths and this goes on till I finish flashing all as GD's principle is only do it when baby is in good mood and stop b4 the child wanna stop. Megan stares at the cards and sometimes quite happy and will kick her legs, move her hands and chuckle. Over time, we are enjoying the sessions too
it's like a game both we as parents and megan enjoys...

I suggested that you try DIY some cards flash to him and see his rxn then you will be more confident in getting the flash cards?

Congratulations Cheers!
You must take care of yourself okay.
I had to take those pills during the initial weeks of my last pregnancy too as I had blood clot in my womb which was irritating the embryo.
May God bless you with a healthy and smooth pregnancy!
Hi Augbaby,
If pregnancy is stable, can BF lah ...
I BF into all my pregnancies till milk diminshed.
Kelly Lao Ban Niang,
Gong Xi. Gong Xi.

Heh heh ... You have planned 2009 huh.
So happy to hear that.
Yeah, it's joy to watching them grow.
I find now I play the peacemaker & disciplinarian role more often as the older boys squabble when they are at play.

Jesline,
My girl is 5.5 mths, realized when I tried to let her stand, she like got no strength, but she can kick very well leh, all those toys that she used to play with her hands, she now uses her legs to kick them instead...and she likes to elbow me when I carry her, any of your babies do that to you too?

Piyo,
Yes, Hannah is very fair, she's almost white with pinkish tone, guess its becos both me and my hubby also very fair. I tried to put clip on her hair but it will drop out after a while, sometimes I use a headband to hold her hair down but she seems to hate it cos she wants to pull it away...ha

Amy,
Your baby also got a lot of hair, how old is she now?

Augbaby,
I saw those quarter pumpkin from NTUC before, you can go check it out else local market sure have.

kao_sad2.gif
Haiz ... Reading that all of you are preparing flash cards etc make me felt kinda of bad.
The only flashes Jul's having are his brothers running across or jumping over him.

Lucky Baby Sling
May I find out from mummies your feedback using this sling?
How's the material like and is it convenient to use as it has shared on its website?

Her name is Rae.

For all the fruits and vegetables, I steam them first then blend them into puree and freeze it in cubes. On the morning, i take the cubes out from the freezer and my MIL will thaw it 1 or 2 hours before her meals. So, for brocolli+carrot, I blend them together because green vegetables tend to be bitter in taste for baby, so to prevent baby from resisting the vegetable, it is advisable to mix it with either carrot, sweet potato and pumpkin. So, before you need to introduce carrot, sweet potato or pumpkin first then you can move on to mix them with other vegetables.

I serve the fruits and vegetables independently because I want the baby to get use to different taste of these food so that she wont become a fussy eater. You can start with fruit puree first after a week of introducing cereals. I started with a cube (30ml) of apple puree during lunch hour. My baby a bit greedy, so far she can finish all the food. So, you need to observe your baby and maybe for a start dont prepare too much in case the food is wasted. Once you start with 1 type of fruit or vegetable, stick with it for 3 days to ensure that the baby does not have allergic effects. Then, you imtroduce the next type.

I basically follow Gina Fords book with a bit of changes according to my babys schedule.

I also love the flash card as a game with my baby. And, luckily for me, my MIL is quite open to the idea so I can count on her to flash the Mandarin cards later. Intend to finish the equation maths program first and then will do the English and Mandarin cards.

Hi Jesline,
My Jul's flipping onto his tummy only too.
No worries lah ... They will reach their milestones on their comfortable pace.

Ha ha Piyo,
If you are disciplined enough, you can start toilet training Meg now liao.
My mum did that to my bro and I.
Morning time poo, every hr pee.
No diapers used.
Xiong ah ...

Amy,
wat book did u read that tells u wat fruits/veggies is suitable to feed bb at certain mth? Coz the funny thing is i read Super Baby Book and Annabel top 100 puree and super bb say can freeze avocado but annabel say cant..so i got confused...do u mean that so far you have already freeze the fruits that u have mentioned?N i thou apple n pear if freeze, might turn brown?? Also i actually mix the avocado into his rice cereal n then feed him..does it mean that all fruits and veggies i should not mix into his cereal?? SOrry ah, so many questions..but sometimes i read the books till i make myself confused..haha..btw yr girl name is the name i thou of giving my baby if she is a girl...nice name!!