honeyb, augbb, erin, piyo
me was itching 2 b preggie after giving birth 2 gabe. after giving birth 2 edward, i STILL itching 2 b preggie cos i miss my bb inside me SO MUCH.
there r definitely difficulties when #2 comes along but it's how u manage it. i'm still managing fine without a maid n still undecided abt getting one.
no matter wat, when #2 comes along, YOU yourself will tend 2 pass #2 to e other caregiver (be it ur parents, ILs, maid, nanny, caregiver, etc). y? bcos all ur #2 does (in e initial mths) is eat, sleep, shit. it's ur #1 who needs A LOT of attention cos he needs 2 get used another bb in e family n tis bb is going 2 take up time & effort fr his dear papa & mama. u tell me which human being (even as an adult) will like it when someone else comes out of nowhere & fights 4 attention wif u, much less a toddler who is still trying 2 learn & comprehend things in tis world.
which is y my gabe needed lotsa attention & effort. he was constantly doing things 2 get our attention. i must admit wif 2kids, it's VERY tiring but e JOY outweighs e fatigue & effort.
for me & my husband, we chose 2 hv a bb b4 my gabe turns 2 is bcos we dun 1 a big age gap between my kids. i really cant imagine gabe being 4-5yrs old n i hv 2 handle an infant. IMO lah, a <2yrs gap is most perfect cos i can really c how gabe engage in playing wif edward n gabe can understand abt being a bb b4. i not saying tat a 4-5yrs old wont b nice 2 e new sibling or wont participate but while changing diapers, waking up 4 milk feeds in e middle of e nite is still fresh in our minds, y not hv #2?
like wat my parents & lotsa other relatives (esp my aunties) all said, "u juz need 'xin ku' these 1-2yrs, after tat si-nang liao" my husband & i totally agree. e next 18mths is tough but come 2009, when edward goes 2 school wif gabe, *whee whee* i can at least shake legs 4 3hrs in e morn liao...unless i become preggie wif #3 lah.
like all of u, i also wonder if i can love another bb juz e same. trust me, as mothers, u can. in fact i love my boys so much until i dunno who i love more (which isnt impt) n i never stop telling them how much i love them everyday.
mummies, i only sharing my experiences. not all mummies r the same. juz parent within ur means - physical, financial, emotional, etc.