(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Cheers - Aiyoh..ur gal oso very cute..& so much more hair den my gal..she is like botak leh. The pose in the above pic so funny...

Jasmine - Ca va bien. Oh..issit posted on tis thread..must go search liao. I bot so many big toys for my gal..dunno go back SIN gt space to put or nt man.

Hi all Aug mummies,

I'm new here. My baby girl is born in 5th August. She is 8.8kg when she's 5th month. Currently on Friso Gold will be changing to other FM because Friso seems to have a higher sugar content. Mummies, any recommendation?

Has just started her on Heinz rice cereals for breakfast and pear and apple puree.

Has been doing GD flashcard with her, now doing Maths program, will be doing English & Chinese program later.

cocomo, I'm actually the one who sold you the cool cat shoes for Jayden. Saw him wearing them during the show on Monday and the photo earlier. Cute.

Have a nice weekend.

Hi Amy,
Welcome! Your baby ger is of a very good weight! What's her name? I am going to introduce her to Heinz rice cereal this weekend! Hope she will take it well...

You bot original GD flashcards? Which number dots/equations are you at now with your baby? I am also doing Maths program with Megan now. Just started recently so still quite slow and doing up to 30 dots with her now... Hope we can share more

Hi Piyo,

For Maths dot cards, I DIY. For English & Chinese program, I bought the original GD.

I did the Maths dot program (2 sets of dot cards) until 50, then i started with 1 set of dot card (going until 100) and 1 set of dot equation (2 weeks of addition, 2 weeks of subtraction, 2 weeks of multiplication then 2 weeks of division) starting on multiplication next week.

Btw, mummies who read GD's books, you may want to try this language stimulation with your baby which has worked for me. For 5 days, recite the following rhyme with your baby as many times as you can :

When I come back, I say Hi.
When I go back, I say Bye.

Until the 6th day, recite it until before the word 'bye' and look at your baby, wait patiently for the baby to respond with a sound. Any sound is a response, then reward the baby by hugging, kissing or clapping. Then, from now on, whenever you recite, always let the baby do the last word, It actually works with my baby. Kind of cute. Happy trying! And must have patience.

Wow..u all started to do flashcards for ur babies liao ar..1 qns..do the babies pay attention & knw wat u r doing ? Where to get flashcards ar ?

Julie - Oh..so a leapfrog looks like tis..see if France got sell, mebe buy for my gal.

Cecelia - From my past HR experience, you do need to clear your maternity before the company can submit the claim. However, you are entitled to clear within 6 months so HR should not be telling you to clear them earlier. You can refer to here for more info: http://www.maternityleave.gov.sg/

Piyo - I found the munchkins teether! Went to the NTUC hypermart in Ang Mo Kio today and saw 2 aisles of baby toys, and so many munchkin products, I nearly went crazy! Here's another great new baby shopping destination!

GD mummies - Any good references (books, website etc) to refer to start my Emma on the program?

The Gathering cum Swim Fest is happening this February!!!

Date: 11th February 2006 (Sunday)
Time: 10am-3pm (Makan and chit chat session from 12pm)
Venue: Leia's place (fringe of Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol - will PM addr/contact)

Some simple bites will be provided for lunch.

For those others who have not indicated their attendance but would like to come by for the swim, makan/chit chat session or both, pls let me know so that I can PM you my addr/contact.

See you guys then!

hi leia,

had reced ur PM...thks

polo spree thread is closed, thght of getting some for CNY for my gal...
no choice need to wait fornext spree.

hi cheers,
ur gal look so cute, alot of hair lor,want to get 1 bumbo seat for my gal too...

anyone know any spree for bumbo seat gg on, thght of getting 1 for my gal...

hi vel,

you may want to consider buying 2nd hand, or renting ard $10/mth frm rental websites. as babies outgrow the bumbo quite fast.

Went for the 3rd 5-in-1 jab today. Will take pneumococcal vac at 7th mth.

PD said since bb's gaining weight on BM, can delay introducing semi solids till ~6mths. I asked if it's "start of 6th month or end of 6th mth into the 7th month". She said abt 6mths, no need to be too strict abt it. :p

1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -kelly's edward 5.5mths - 8.4kg 66cm
3 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
4-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
5- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
6- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
7 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
8 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
9 - mrschng's Jordan @ 4.5 mth - 6.6kg (duno length though)
10 - honeyhaven's Kayden @ 5mths - 8.3kg 68.5cm.
11 - dearbaby's Keiran @ 5mth 1 week - 7.0kg (dont know length)
12 - augbaby jayden @ 5mths n 1 wk - 7.385kg 69cm
13 - Cecelia's Rachelle @ 5mths - 7.9kg 68cm
14 - Leia Jadon @ 5mths - 8kg 65cm

update my gal details. went for injection today.

6 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
7 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
8 - mrschng's Jordan @ 4.5 mth - 6.6kg (duno length though)
9 - honeyhaven's Kayden @ 5mths - 8.3kg 68.5cm.
10 - dearbaby's Keiran @ 5mth 1 week - 7.0kg (dont know length)
11 - augbaby jayden @ 5mths n 1 wk - 7.385kg 69cm
12 - Cecelia's Rachelle @ 5mths - 7.9kg 68cm
13 - Leia Jadon @ 5mths - 8kg 65cm
14- celine's yee leng@ 5mths 2 wks- 6.3kg 62cm

Hi, cecelia

me also taking flexible maternity leave...my leave must be taken by this mth end... & i had already done that... for my company, we submit our leave via internet lor so all other stuff done by the HR & did not face any problems with that..... dont think yr HR has the right to ask u to clear all yr leave lor... as long as u clear it within the 6mths period

Hi, piyo & Amy
me too going to teach baby flashcard on GD but really no time.... had bought dots cards from BP but had not flash yet lor...

reading up GD books one by one.... had just finished the "How smart is yr baby"... going to buy the next book "how to teach yr baby to read" & "how to teach baby math"

updated my girl's details.

15 - cheers' Gwen @ 5mths 2 wks (24th wk) - 7.7kg

hi all, good sunday morning,

hee julie, i just put my boy in the leapfrog so I can type a message here :p
actually it take a bit of time for babies to know wat to do, and explore on these toys... we got it for him for xmas but only recently he can go one round and play with all the toys..(but i didnt put him in it everyday)
but i am glad we got it tho i find it a tad pricey...he enjoys it.

jesline, piyo & amy,
wow u mummies so educational.. me ah, so tired out with baby that i only sing nursery rhymes to him..keke... in the beginning i still read bedtime story but now, haha i seldom.
if there is anything easy for me to learn to teach my boy, can share here? thanks!

Hi, I am oso an Aug mom who is always remain as observer of this thread. I have a Qs that some of u may be able to help. Is there any mom here on total BF but required to travel for a couple of day in overseas? I am going for biz trip for 5 days next mth and troubled with the BM storage and transportation problem. Anybody has expereience here?? Heard tt in US, BM is not permited at Custom, exccept travel with young kid.

Hi MH,

My baby does look at the flashcard quite attentively for 80% of the time. She definately does not understand what I'm doing with her, but it's alright, just do the flascard like a on-going game with her.

There a quite a few ways to get the GD flashcards. For original, you can only get in Singapore from GD Baby. Some mummies print their own together under a BP. Some buy second hand from sellers in this forum.

Hi Sharon,

There are around 6 books by GD :
1. How Smart Is Your Baby (Only valid for baby till 1 year old)
2. How to teach your baby math. (Reservation queue in library is very long)
3. How to teach your baby to read.
4. How to give your baby encyclopedic knowledge. (i may do this program only after i complete the Eng & Chinese)
5. How to teach your baby to be physically superb. From Birth to Age six. (Quite technical and focus really mainly on physcial stimulation for babies)
6. How to multiply your baby's intelligence. (An overall discussion on Math, to read and encyclopedic knowledge, can borrow from library )

Other than the GD threads which you can read in this forum, another website you can visit is http://www.sgparenting.com/forums

Hi Jesline,
Since you have already bought the cards, do start the program earlier, especially since it is the Maths programme which according to GD Baby (Lawrence), the earlier you start, the more the baby will enjoy. I'm also a FTWM, so I only have time to flash in the morning. You can adjust the programe according to your schedule. Like for me, instead of flashing 5 sets for 3 sessions daily, I can only flash 2 sets.

Hi Butter,
Bedtime story is a very good habit to have, it enhance the bonding as well as a signal to tell the baby that it is sleeping time. You may want to try the 'Hi' & Bye' rhyme I suggest in my post earlier. It's the language stimulation exercise recommended by GD from the book, 'How Smart Is Your Baby'.

Ok, pardon me for being a bit long winded here. You may wish to PM me if you like to know more (don't want this thread to end up with too many GD stuff), I can only share what I can from my ongoing experience.

Just gave baby carrot today, she looks like she don't really like. Anyway, will still continue to give for another 2 days.

ATTENTION: Those coming for the Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11th February 2006!!!

For those who are coming for the swim, ADULTS NEED TO BE IN SWIM ATTIRE, else the security guard will shoo you out (like what they did to me today when I wore t-shirt and swim bottom... And I was only -standing/squatting- inside the baby pool with my boy!)

Date: 11th February 2006 (Sunday)
Time: 10am-3pm (Makan and chit chat session from 12pm)
Venue: Leia's place (fringe of Hougang/Sengkang/Punggol - will PM addr/contact)

Brought my boy for his 2nd swim today at about 1pm. There's no sun and the water was cold (by my standards). Doesn't help that it was rather windy too. He took to the water better this time round compared to the earlier session.

Still, I don't think he terribly enjoyed being in the water cos he looked a little uncomfortable. Did not immerse him all the way in the beginning. Just his legs. It helps to distract him with other activities like jumping or walking in the water. And then progressively lower him down into the water till it's like chest level... and let him lean back against me, while his hands and legs are free to move. He was kicking a little and waving his hands in the water.

He wore his wetsuit and when the HB took him out of the water, he commented that the water that flowed out from his wetsuit was warm.

He had a warm bath after his swim and he was back to his usual "dragon in the bath tub". And now he's sleeping soundly... maciam like he has swam many laps in the pool. HA! :D

Looking forward to the Gathering cum Swim Fest on 11 Feb. Hope the weather is nice and warm on that day.

Amy - My gal hates carrot too haha.

See u all like mentioned so much abt exersaucer & stuff dat i went to buy a play gym (sort of) for my gal..a pity here no such things as rental so hv to buy...She kinda enjoy it...when she lie on the mat & 'press' the animal on the mat, got sounds imitating the animals..& there r melodies on the Do Re Mi keyboard in front..

Amy - Thanks for the info. So if I am starting my baby on the program now, should I still start with the "How smart is your baby" book, although she's now already 5 months old?

Feel so guilty that I am not doing much for my gal though I'm a SAHM, have only been singing action songs to her and trying to make her laugh. The rest of the time I am busy putting her to sleep and feeding her (and myself!)!

Sharon - Personally i tink there is no nid to stress urself so much..for me,same like u, i oso only busy playing wif my gal & putting her to sleep & feeding her..i will only starts to 'teach her proper when she reaches 9mths (tho' i dun tink its late lah)..Coz i tink my gal shld hv a relax childhood nw else when she starts to go sch..she wun hv time to realli relax.

Shirlynn,
My bb also on TBM and I m travelling tomolo morning. You can refer to last Wed/Thursday's thread, Jasmine taught me on the storage and transportation of BM.

Hi, cocomo. Thank you so......... much. will have to go and hunt the accessories required. Have a safe trip to you tml.

Leia, may i join the gathering? would like to take my elder son & maid along

an update of kayden's height and weight.

16 - erin kayden @ 5months - 7.6kg 65cm

hi sharon,
I also have not been doing much. only read stories to him when he finishes his 1st feed, sing songs, hold him to let him walk and play with him that's all.

think will let him enjoy his childhood 1st even though i get kan chiong at times (worried he will lose out) but i see some of the kids around, they are so sophisticated and mature. No "chun zhen" so think will let him learn and play. don't stress him up 1st. will let him learn through play. believe he will pick up things faster.

Hi augbaby,
Ye chin will deliver the handsqueeker today to my parents' place. when u want to collect it? if u need it fast, i can get my hb to pass it to u at raffles place during lunch time at around 1plus.

hey Erin!

kayden has grown soooo much! so handsome leh...he looks like a pro in the car manz!

Shirlynn,
you have FBM in fridge? you probably got to use some of it during the trip, as the 1st 3 days of travelling/pumping is more of pump and throw, unless you have access to a freezer...

I know cocomo have stock up lah.. keke, so i no worried for her!

Travelling mummies, you should learn hand express.. my first trip, i didn't know how to hand express, and it was a torture to me.. cos gotta bring so much stuff for a DAY TRIP! and cos not drained clean clean, i kanna engorged and had to scream to hubby to bring bb to airport so i can latch her one!

Amy,
me also frequent sgparenting thread for GD and shichida! but been busy recently.. so, keke.. no time to go in n browse..

My jadelle was like not interested in the cards so, i am in lull period for the moment. me also FTWM, but i can only flash during weekends, as when i leave in morning, she is still sleeping after her 8am feed, and when i am back home, she iz cranky and want to sleep.. so, i am definitely much slower then you & piyo in terms of flashing of cards.. trying to hit 15x per card lah..

Like you, Jadelle abit blur about what i am doing, but, i try to make it fun with lots of enthusiasm as a means to do something with her and recently, i discovered, that, when we go down in the lift, she seemed to be extremely interested in the numbers and voice of the "lady lift" as she announced the floor level!

So, hmm, guess it is kind of working, but i don't test her lah..

hey piyo and mummies looking for dong chiang clothing!

i bought one for jadelle that looks abit traditional korean style from paragon's metro.. at 1st floor's CNY display section.. cost me 30sgd altogether for the romper/dress plus a pair of china infant shoes!

Hi Jas,
Thanks! do they sell the infant shoes separately? I am trying to look for one that matches the dong dong qiang clothes! haha!

Hi Erin,
where did you rent the car? I also feel like renting the car for megan cos she LOVES this better when i let her try sitting in this and the safety 1st exersaucer at Isetan Parkway last friday! wait grow up very tomboy haha!

an update of megan's height and weight which we recorded when she went for her jab 2 weeks back.

17 - piyo Megan @ 5months - 7.2kg, 64cm

Hi Jas, Amy and Jesline,

I read up on a few books by GD when I was preggie... some are quite repetitious on the methods... so if you read the intelligence book, should be enuf liao for you to start 1 program at least.

I also frequent Sgparenting forum to read up on Shichida and Glenn Doman. Any mummies bringing their babaies to Shichida?

Currently practising GD cards on Megan... I started with maths dots cards with Megan some few weeks back but I go with her flow and modify the programme...after going to BJG, we have added english and chinese cards along the way...

Do you all encounter that at times when you flash the cards, they will look away? If yes, what do you all do? stop and flash another time? or call her back and continue where you stop?

Amy,
Do you mean you start the 2nd set of maths cards from 60 onwards to 100? Since you are doing equations now, do you mean now you are doing 3 sets each day? Btw, do you flash the dot cards in sequence or you shuffle the cards and flash them not in order form?

My Kayden just went for his jab last sat.

17 - piyo Megan @ 5months - 7.2kg, 64cm
18 - honeyhaven kayden @ 5.5 mths - 8.5kg, 69 cm.

Where did u all buy the dot cards?? I only bought the flashcards like a for apple, b for ball etc. I can read until s, my kayden will look away. He seems to be more interested with his ball. Whenever I asks him where is yr ball Kayden. He will look at his ball. Sometimes if he wants the ball, he will look at the ball and says 'urg urg'. How to develop his interest in reading??

Hi jas,
thanks. kayden also very interested in looking at numbers such as my flat's unit number, the lift buttons, the clock and the lift lady's voice.

hi honeyhaven,
my hb also bought the a for apple flashcards. kayden's not interested too. he's more interested in books. he will concentrate when i read to him and will smile during reading. now, he's attempting to flip the pages like what i do. keke...

Jesline, Sharon,
Thx for the info...

Amy,
Read the way u teach bb remind me how lazy iam. Hvnt start anything on her yet. Plus, 1 week seen her only on weekend and 1 weekday.

erin - i agree wif u on letting baby learn thru play..kinda feel stress too when i find myself nt doing wat most mummies do..teachIng furthermore im a SAHM.But i guess my gal will learn eventually. Can i ask the 'car' u rented, hw much per/mth & can sit till hw big ?

I tink my gal more jialat leh..no lifts for her or numbers to attract her..the only things dat grab her attentionn now is TV, toys, me & hb.

Hi Piyo,

I started with 2 sets (1 set = 5 cards) of dot card per day, every set for 3 sessions. Altogether 6 sessions per day. Until I reach 50, then I introduce equation. That means now, there is only 1 QR (quantity recognition) dots set plus equation session. Will continue this until 100.

Equation session = per session of 3 equations for 3 session per day.

My MIL helps me to flash the QR dots card while I do 2 sessions of equation in the morning and 1 session at night. If there's no time, then just skip 1 session, no pressure.

Only the first 1 - 10 cards are flash in sequence. Then, everytime when you introduce a new card, the new card should always be the first card you flash. Then, later you should shuffle the cards so that it becomes less predictable for the baby.

Have fun. And, there's never lazy mum, all mum love their babies. I just happen to choose to do a program where instructions are clear and systematic because I suck at doing stuff on ad hor and gut feeling basis. Plus, hubby works overseas so that leave more time with baby because 1 person less to nag.

Happy working!

Shirlynn,

Sure, you're welcomed to join us for the gathering in February.

Pls activate PM in your profile so that I can PM you my addr/contact.

hi mommies

FLASH CARDS
waaaa... i also never use flash cards on leon leh, but i read to him every night and i think he likes it. we watch the Baby Can Read VCD n he seems to like it too!

Qn: What to do with babies hands when you feed?
i tried giving leon a teeny wee bit of the heinz baby cereal over the weekend, and he loved it! so cute, he knows how to open his mouth BIG. was smiling n giggling non stop.
but becos of his crazy octopus hands, half of the cereal ended up on the floor! do u gals encounter e same problem? how to resolve ah?
i'm tempted to start him for good on solids now but im not sure .. trying to stick to 6mths. but he is definitely ready for solids. perpetually hungry and puts everything in his mouth. i gave him a slice of apple to suck on today, when i took it back, no taste anymore, he cleverely sucked all the juice out.