(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

ANYONE GOT BREASTMILK TO DONATE?
hi gals, i've been donating my BM to a mommy who's premature baby cannot tolerate formua. As the baby is fully on my BM for the last month, i've run out of extra supply for him.
Does anyone have extra to spare? The mommy needs urgently and can probably collect from your home today or tomorrow.
PM me

thanks augbb.
think COD is better, cos i dun check my bank account ever...
he'll be getting the book today, so probably tomorrow in raffles plc is ok. he is at amoy st, where is ur office?

hi pups,
was gonna check about the book too. can my hb collect next monday? at the same time, if Augbaby meetup wif ur HB first these few days, can i tong pang my freezer trays wif ur HB first? cos i ordered from BP and Augbaby has helped me collected and it's still at her office?

Augbaby, if above is possible, can?

On Bumbo seat, my boy almost cannot fit into it liao. He got fat thighs. Only get to use for a total of 1 mth. So sad!!!

My hubby need to go back to office for duty for both sat 04 & 11(Sun) till ard 11+pm, by the time when I reach Leia's place all ready to leave. Maybe will join in next gathering...Thanks for organizing!

So nice too see so many babies here.

Juzt to share my gal pics when 5mths old.Born on 9th Aug.

663413.jpg

hi babyboy,

i'll introduce alternate feed, with each increasing stage2 feed after a few days.
ie: based on 180ml milk
1scp stage 2 + 5scps stage 1,
2scps stage 2 + 4scps stage 1, and so on..

hi cocomo

i've passed her your number. thing is, you may have to do a blood test, to ensure no hepatitis or HIV, guess she'll fill you in more.

Augbaby/piyo,
This is the swimsuit (size 1) on Jay . . . but hor think the water a bit cold and now he abit flu liao le
Keep sneezing. . .

663699.jpg

hi leia,
re. bumbo seat, probably jadon can still use it when he grows older... believe bbs slim down as they grow "longer"?

forgot to say so many posts nowadays... no time to read in detail cuz very busy at work recently... same question as babyboy, do u switch to follow on/stage 2 formula milk straightaway at 6 mths? or is there a need to introduce gradually?

hi kelly,
should be dropping by pasir ris before CNY so will collect/exchange the stuff from you then... let u know again ya... btw, my pd told me to feed aidan rice cereal at 6 mths and not earlier... so still got another 3 weeks to go...

handi,
rem u told me ur hubby said if bb got fever after vaccination is "good"? just asked my pd and was advised that bb is not weak just because they got fever, it's good in a sense that u know they are developing antibodies to fight against the enemy...

leia,
was told that some mummies use it to "hold" baby in place when feeding them solids... u know, sometimes they buay si tiam...

leia,

bumbo? can use it when they turn two. Now, Noah has monopolised the bumbo chair
, treating it as his personal sofa, refusing to let zac sit sometimes

don't think we will be joining the swim...noah's down with running nose for weeks. Doc diagnosed as sensitive nose and advise us to keep him away from the pool...if didi swims, he sure will want to join in

Im totally lost in what you all hv been talking abt such as Vaccination types, enrichment classes for babies, flash cards..wow..things r nt as simple as it used to be hor...Now i only let my gal watch TV & play...Guess i hv to bug u mummies out there more qns in time to come

augustmum,

Noah can fit into the BUMBO??!!! Amazing!!!

Why don't you come by for the makan and chit chat session after the swimming instead? We shld be out of the pool by 12 noon. There'll be a good 3hrs after that.

Hi cocomo,
thanks for showing me the pic! helps a lot in my judgement! Jayden waer liao still leng leng right? what is his wt now ah? I think size 1 is not too bad can wear longer:p I rem seeing this at carrefour in suntec lei... I so tempted to buy... maybe will go take a look during lunch later...

Hi Jojokoko,
HI!!! long time no c!!!! where have you been?

I am thinking of bringing megan for trial classes but I thought it would be better if we can try organsie trial classes among ourselves since our babies are the same age? do you welcome the idea? If yes, maybe we can organise?

HI ladies
Long time never log in. Wow this thread is soooo active.

Changing to Stage 2
--------------------
That day the milk powder company called me. She gave me 1 can stage 2 to try. Her advise was to alternate the feed. When baby turns 6 mths, feed 1 time stage 1 and next time stage 2...subsequent stage 1. Until u have finished all the stage 1 milk powder. Just continue with stage 2. According to her, for similac the taste for stage 1 and stage 2 is the same and the amount we giving baby to drink is the same. Except that stage 2 has higher amt of fortified iron than Stage 1.

cocomo,
u juz brought jay for a swim recently? anyway the swimsuit is v nice..i like it too..might consider for jay too...
Hope jay feel better soon as well...

piyo,
u saw the similiar swimsuit that cocomo has for jay at carrerfour? How much ah? U going down today to see? Can update me the price and if there is nice designs for boys ah...if price not too exp then i might pop by tom during lunch time to buy too..haha..coz PS and United Sq alittle too far for me leh...

Hi Augbaby,
I saw the same suit that cocomo bot for Jayden in carrefour b4... the ger's design is bright yellow and pink if I dun rem wrongly....I see liao if can take pic and send to you later ok?

Vel!

your bb is national day baby! when we were going to deliver, we were wondering who in the thread then will pop on that day!! but in the end no one! So, you will be the one with your national day baby!! keke

piyo,
me on if you wanna organise trial classes.

Wow this thread is vv active. I miss it for 2 dae n reading till 'puff' 'puff'. The program on monday is a successful one i should say as there are more newbies join in.

For those who just join.... WELCOME

Piyo,
Ur megan definitely a star in the bb's gathering. so many bees around her...

Leia,
Cant commit for this month gathering cos both dd n ds are having cold (dun wan to spread to others) n dun noe whether they are recovered by then... Real 'siong' having 2 fall sick at the same time.

Kelly,
Congrats for ur new job. Hv u sign d contract yet?

Hv u encounter this prob? i try to upload my dd's pic bt unsuccessful (due to the pixel problem). how to fix it??

hey erin, honeyhaven,
hee hee...i saw that u both also ordered the bumper playmat ah..hee hee...i will be receiving mine today..yeah..but i din order from smallsmallworld..i got from babejoy instead as the same mat is cheaper..

hey erin, honeyhaven,
hee hee...i saw that u both also ordered the bumper playmat ah..hee hee...i will be receiving mine today..yeah..but i din order from smallsmallworld..i got from babejoy instead as the same mat is cheaper..

Cecelia,
I normally reduce the size instead of resolution coz if reduce reso the colour not nice liao. Go click at 'start', 'accessories', 'paint', open the file you want, go 'image' then 'strech/skew' to reduce the size you want and save as other file name.

OSO. . .Anyone travelled during BF period? Can lemme know how you handle the pumping and storage of EBM? How to sterilise the pump and bottles? How to store overseas and bring back to Spore? Or you guys just pump and discard? TIA!!

so many posts to read cant finish reading
i don hv much time to login now
louisa takes up a lot of my time, she hardly naps the most sometimes half hr only, once in the morning and once in the afternoon
typing with 1 hand and the other hand carrying her!! cant join the swimming session in feb, but looking forward to u all coming over my place in march.

Augustmum,
Good idea, think we can have pork luck session. Each of us just bring some food there? But so early bit difficult to get food hor. I can ask my maid to fried mee hoon.

cocomo,
me traveled this period.. i bring avent iq uno with rechargeable battery pack.. if battery give up on me, i use the manual handle and pump.

i bring along avent liners in abundance with clips.. basically, i have 3 set of the pump parts. enough to last me 1 day.. (3 pumps). If i had to rush/ pump more often and no time, i hand express into the liner bags which i put into an Avent big 260ml bottle.

BM outside temperature can keep 6 hrs.. 8 if you are in aircon environment.. so, for day trips, i bring a huge icepack.. for overnight trips of 2-3 days, i store my BM in hotel fridge until i depart and put into my insulated bag with icepacks on way to airport. Once back, i put into freezer.

To wash/ sterilise, i have medela bags which use the microwave to steam sterilise the pump parts. I make sure my hotel room / service apartment have a microwave lah.. otherwise, i bring sterilising tablets along and find a container/ big ziploc bag to sterilise.. when all else fails, pour boiling water over the parts and juz use..so far, Jadelle has been fine!

BTW, if longer trips, i discard the 1st 2 days' milk and closer to going home, i will store up..

hi augbaby,
how much did u pay for it?

won't be joining u in feb but most prob will go for mar gathering.

Jasmine,
REALLY REALLY THANKS!!! I used to travel very often b4 pregnancy but this is the first for me after gave birth. Just decided ytday and need to travel monday, so very panic now and dunno what I shd do lo. My boss behave like not happy I still BF coz in off I take time to pump and now I told him I need to pump while overseas. ai. . . but I really want to continue BF Jay if possible. Scare later come back from overseas my ss decrease and not enuf milk for Jay liao.

Oh ya, you mention the medela bag for microware. Which one huh? and how? I also using Medela PIS.

cocomo,
i bought it from first few yrs @ 14.90sgd. good for 20 uses.. think it iz called medela quick clean microsteam bag..
but, only ok if got microwave ah...

aiyah,
bosses are like this.. i was complaining to sept mummies about my boss. he say pump need only 5 min, not the 30min i need min.. and not so often.. then he say me boob smaller then colleague that is why i slower milk flow..

made me so angry with him.. heng my big boss tell me to bo chap him and take as long as i want..

travelling is a hassle.. cos, inbetween meetings really hard to pump. i pump in airplane toilet.. during lunch time.. anytime i got 15min, i run! end of the day, super tired and engorged.. and when i come back, supply dip 2oz each time..

now not enough to feed my girl liaoz..

Jas,
Dun scare me le, dip 2 OZ each time!!!
Few weeks back my boss asked how many mth's my boy then I said close to 5 liao. You know what he said "wah, 5mth still breastfeed? Who's record you trying to beat huh? Your mom one? or your grandmom's?". Damn idiot hor, really feel like just slap him lo. A guy some more so keh po!!!

But I dun care lo, just pump as usual! But everytime very rush lo, if not he will complain why I take so long liao.

Cocomo, jas,
How come some bosses are like tat har? I think my GM is the worst case... as ytdae take urgent leave to tend to my dd who hv fever. When i submitted my leave today, she kinda nt happy n get a feedback that after i called yesterday she purposely shouted from her office for others to hear that i am on leave. So mean rite.... furthermore she is mother of 4 lei.

Dear mommies,

An article for your info.

Many babies are lulled to sleep by the movement and hum of a moving car - making car trips a great idea. However, as your baby gets older and is increasingly active, he or she may not want to sit still in his or her car seat for very long. If you are having problems getting through even a short trip in the car, try the following tips for keeping your baby occupied and happy:
Hang toys from the clothes hooks in the back seat using ribbons or yarn (no longer than 12 inches).
Tape some pictures to the back of the front seats, so they face your baby.
Attach some toys to your baby's car seat using elastic or short string. He or she can enjoy the toys without requiring retrieval every 10 seconds.
Cover your baby's car seat with a beach towel or a seat cover to prevent the metal parts of the car seat from getting hot in the sun and burning him or her. A blanket is also great in winter to cover the cold, brittle plastic.
Babies don't like the sun in their face any more than we do, so block the sun with window shades in the back seats.

At five months old, babies usually range from 23.5 inches long and 12.25 pounds (10th percentile) to 26.5 inches long and 17 pounds (90th percentile).

Many babies at this age begin to show an interest in solid foods. Your baby may watch you intently while you eat and try to reach for some of what you have. This is one indication that he or she may be ready to try some solid foods. Other signs include sitting well while supported, holding his or her head steady, and losing the "extrusion reflex," which causes him or her to push food out of his or her mouth.

Your baby is probably conducting some new experiments such as dropping his or her toys on the ground to find out what sounds they make when they land. To help sharpen his or her auditory skills and encourage his or her interest in the world around him or her, try pointing out a plane flying overhead, or an ambulance speeding down the street.

If you place a small object on the floor, your baby might be able to rake it towards him or her with his or her hands. Just make sure you stick close to your baby to make sure that the item doesn't end up in his or her mouth or that the object doesn't pose a choking hazard.

Is your baby still not sleeping through the night? Believe it or not this is normal. Even as adults we awaken several times a night, but we learned at some point to put ourselves back to sleep. Until your baby learns how to put themselves back to sleep, you will, unfortunately, be awakened to lend a hand.

Babies around this age also love faces - even their own. Try placing an unbreakable baby mirror in the crib; or if you don't have a baby mirror, trying putting your baby on the floor in front of a mirror. For a few minutes at a time your baby may be his or her own entertainment. He or she has no idea that he or she is looking at his or her own reflection - that revelation will come much later. For now it's just a new adorable baby face that's fun to look at.

all yr baby girls pic are so cute..makes me wan a little girl girl next time..haha..but wont be so soon lah..keke...

erin,
the pooh and friends design wich u bought is bought online using the free $20 voucher, it is only $113. But this sat they are having a moving house sale and the playmat for that design will cost only $110..but i order online coz troublesome for me to go down to buy hence i juz pay extar $3 lor and they will deliver to me too...
but then babejoy got limited designs only so unless wat u wan is there then worth it to buy..dimensions n all the same...my mum juz cal me to say that my playmat delivered liao..yeah..:p