(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

pups,

My boy don't mind the carseat, maybe b'cos sometimes he feels so uncomfy with my carrying him so putting him down makes him more happy. Hahaha. Then again, there are times when he fusses in his carseat, not bcos he doesn't like it, but bcos of other reasons - hot, hungry, sleepy but cannot sleep, etc. I guess partly bcos he's gotten rather used to the idea of the carseat as I put him in there everyday for the past 1.5mths when I send the HB to/fro the MRT station, and sometimes I take him for long drives too.

hi leia

got your PM. i see... hey i'm keen on being a teacher, PM you to ask some stuff later when i'm more free.

i do the same thing as u, drop hubby at mrt station then drive to my moms plc, about 15min drive, he was always ok until lately, think its cos he's becoming more active and he hates the constraints of the seat belt, v stressful when im driving alone. sigh.

VACCINATIONS

leon's jab tomorrow, realised his jab schedule is different from you guys, 2, 4 and 6mths, anyone on KK package the same as me?

so far those who drank barley n bfeed, does it really help bb to cool down? im drinking barley and thinking of preparing green bean..

Jokojoko/Pups/Piyo/Fiona/Kelly/Augbaby/erin,
Hi Sorry no time to drop a note here coz bz with Jay. Yes, he's back at home now but still lao sai 4 times today. But I gave him 2 feeds porridge (4OZ each at 1pm and 3pm) the diarrhea stop and I gave BM at 5pm and now he diarrhea again. ai. . . maybe I shall just stop the BM. But hor, cant just drink the porridge water for all feeds right? will observe more and see wat to do next. But I am very tired le.

My baby sitter just quit without giving me notice, eg today tell me and tomolo she din come liao. So if I go back to work on Wed, will left my maid oni to take care of Jay. On the other hand, I was told my boss not happy I taking so many days leave when Jay sick these few days. ai. . . I am thinking to quit my job liao. getting more and more tempted liao.

Although my savings should be more than enough for me to not work for few years, but it will be a big move for my to be a SAHM coz dunno if I can handle or not. Also, dunno if I can get used to the life without income? I just dun feel comfortable/secured surviving on savings lo. Very luan le. Any advice?

hi cocomo

so glad to hear jay is much much better. also can imagine how exhausted you are. alamak babysitter not reliable hor ...

about being SAHM, i know exactly how u feel, i also don feel comfortable living on savings, and like my hubby say can spend can spend, but its i jus don feel good spending.

as my project ends end this year, i'm also in the process of becoming an SAHM. i think it is more tiring looking after baby compared to working seriously. but at the same time, i just can't trust a maid/babysitter with baby, won feel at ease. and if i do have a full time job, i'm sure i will perform badly as i'm constantly thinking of baby n being home.

its vvvv hard initially, but i've cut down on my expenditures a lot, and only buy baby the absolute necessaries.

altho sometimes i really wish i can buy leon more stuff, and indulge in my own shopping, i think the rewards of being with baby are better. especially cos i love bfeeding bb and letting him latch onto me, i really think being a SAHM till baby is older is v good.

it is a v personal decision ....

ehh, sorry dunno if my sharing helps. but what i'm trying to say is, from my experience, it's a bold step but worth it.

hi cocomo,
relieved to hear that jay's better. did the dr. say anything abt his condition and how u can help jay? perhaps besides porridge, u can try making some puree for him.

if ur savings permit u to be a sahm, why dun u give it some thought? however, if u are worried abt living on ur savings, u might want to consider part-time job. I'll be thinking abt abt this option once I finish my bond.

hi jokojoko,
pm u.

cocomo,
maybe u try giving him soya base milk instead of BM he might be lactose intolerence. try NAN HA. since u say after he took ur BM he lao sai again better stop BF him.

cocomo,
glad 2 hear tat jay's back at home. i did suggest tat he could b reacting 2 ur BM, even though he has been drinking all the time. bbs r very funny 1.

abt being a SAHM, 1 2 call me 2 chat? i typed my long SAHM stories b4...very lazy 2 type again. i may not a SAHM soon. will update every1 here.

erin,
i went 4 an interview at ur company leh...

Morning all .....

Raining day ! So lazy to go to work !

Just wanna chek , last nite , my boy urine , got abit of blood ! but now ok already , so i was thinking , whether to bring him to PD anot ? Or any baby have this experience also ?

Hi cocomo

Great to hear that ur bb is alright. I brought my ger to kk last sunday as well for diarrhea. She lao sai 10 over times over the weekend. Even now, after medication she still poo poos for ard 7 times yesterday. I guess it probably takes a week or so. Just got to be careful that bb is not dehyrated, no fever, no restless. And is still active.

I tried to switch my FM to those lactose free FM, but it taste terrible and my ger rejected. So no choice, still continue feeding her with FM but more diluted.

I so envy those SAHM. Personally i feel that the first few years with bb is the most pecious. U will be the first one to see bb's movement e.g. flipping, crawling, start on semi-solid foods expression etc...

Hi Cocomo,
My gal also had a bout of diarrhoea two days ago, about 9 times within 24 hours.PD advises TBF and cut formula, (I was supplementing with NAN HA). Apparently there is good antigen in BM that stops diarrhoea. Happy to say she has stopped purging since TBF. I think TBF is better.

BTW, I am also an aug mom , my Tegan is borned on 12th Aug 06. I have been a silent follower of this thread

Cocomo,

Glad jayden is home. Hope he recovers soon. What did the pd suggest? Think the best person to ask is yr pd? Just curious. when you said you fed he bm, is it direct latched on or expressed milk? Does jayden get diarrhoea from drinking expressed milk or direct latched on?

Kelly,

Have you realli thought thru carefully......????

I also drop a lot of hairs these few weeks, especially when bathing. Now everyday can see a lot hairs on floor...

We need to do anything? or just left it?

hi mummies , just to check with u all, ur period come after delivered?
I stopped BF one month after delivered, my baby 3 mths 3 weeks now. But my period still haven't come yet, not sure normal or not.
I need go to see gynae?

u let ur bb sit 'tam pui' to poo poo?
My son can sit 'tam pui' pangsai when he just 1+ month. Now he use 'tam pui' pangsai almost everyday, pangsai once a day.
Normally pangsai after feeding.

hey mummies!

i also notice some hairs dropping off when i comb too fast, but dunno izzit cos i paranoid.. keke..

Leia,
how's the pumping? dun stress ah.. do ur best can liaoz.. i ren ming liaoz.. my Jadelle drinks 300ml when i am at work.(60ml in morning, 120ml x 2 feeds).. and i can only express 240ml on average only.. i run back to latch her on ASAP to help me clear my ducts as everytime i pump, like not drained leh.. i am using the avent uno single electric pump and i finish up with the manual pump to drain better and the whole process takes me 45 min!....

Hi Foonny,

Normally menses will come after u stopped BF 6-8weeks. It all depends. Some may have regulary some may not. If u practise protected sex den not a worry too.. hormones needs to get adjusted after a year of NO MENSES!

I been dropping hair frm e start of 3mth plus. Esp Bathing. So dread of washing my hair or even comb! ESP my hairs are scattered ard the floor. Its all HORMONES again.. Dono when it will be beta. Some say may last for a year & I have done rebonding! Well no doubt how much hair control shampoo o conditioner or tonic also no use.. must let it go away naturally liao.

hi pupandcups/ augustmum/ other mummies,
can share n PM me your photo shoot contact and package info? after looking at the shots, very tempted to go for it. many thanks.

hi erin,
thanks, will send out tom... actually wanted to send today but whole day raining so cannot find mailbox... you work in a private bank? me too leh...

hi cocomo,
really glad to hear that jay's better. i wouldn't encourage you to stop breastfeeding, but rather put it on hold for the time being. since suspected is he's lactose intolerance, then have to start from total abstaining of all dairy products eg. milk, cakes etc from your diet, like i've mentioned before it'll take 2 weeks for your system to clear up, just an advice but up to you to decide.

just sharing my experience in regards to being a SAHM...i would say it's not as tiring. whenever i come home from working part time, i felt really tired and find that there's really not enough time left to interact with my baby. even my gal felt the tension, she's more cranky if i work for a full day...

when is the suitable time give solid food to baby? anyone start giving already?
My PD said better start after 6 months.

Diana,

i bought from Daiso, ice cube trays with cover over the entire tray instead of individual covers.. figured it works as well and only 2sgd/ tray..
bought for X'mas party gathering as well as to stand by.. and so cheap, i can buy more!

foonny,

yeah, best time is 6 months onwards... especially when baby starts to take interest in table food and starts to reject milk... also look out for the moment when they lose their tongue reflex that make that keep pushing out items in their mouth..

jasmine, diana
i also bought covered ice cube trays. bought fr isetan for abt $4 per tray. i bought a few n since gabe stopped eating frozen food cubes, i've been using it 2 store ice. now when edward starts 2 eat at 5.5-6mths, i can use them again

pups, augustmum,
got ur PMs. noted and thanks.

jasmine,
u stopping breastfeeding ah? saw u selling ur pump. ( btw, not trying for second one??)

How to make baby sleep thru the night? My boy still wakeup midnite, very tiring. He sleep abt 11.30pm or 12am, wakeup at 3 something to eat, 6am++ wakeup again.
I found that my boy sleep very less, daytime sleep about 3-4 times, everytime abt 30mins, the longest 1hr only.
Night sleep at 11.30-12am, wakeup 8-9am morning.
Any method can make him sleep earlier or longer? and sleep thru nite..My dark circles eyes very serious now, go to beauty center also helpless

i want to buy some " ceral " that can be mix into my baby FM evertime during feed ones ... any one got any good recommand ?? thank

hi COCOMO

how r u? your boss treating u ok since u returned to work? I think for working mommies, what makes a world of difference is an understanding boss.

hi foony/white lady,
if u r bfeeding, PD actually recommeds after 6 mths, was just told again by my PD yest when leon went for his vaccination at KKH

Jay still diarrhea le, but less frequent liao. ytday poo 7 times (pasty + waterly). Went to PD ytday, she said still continue BM, I can try to give soy milk but limited to twice a day only coz she said soy milk helps on female hormone so no good for baby boy to take. She dun encourage for long term. I will try give him tonight as I started to work today and dun trust my maid to make the soy milk.

Reg my babysitter, I dun talk to her nowadays as I think she was irresponsible, say quit then quit without even giving me notice and quit when my boy was sick! Then today she dare to ask my hb to ask me dun face black black when see her coz we all neighbour. How can I not face black black? She makes my life so miserable now!!

As for SAHM, thanks mummies for sharing your thoughts and experience. I am still struggling on decision. Very tempted to quit but then even hubby dun agree coz he dun feel comfotable with single income. My sis also said wasted if quit coz now the salary not bad, job quite eng and can go back on the dot type, later wanna find such a job bit difficult lo. On the other hand I worry abt Jay at home with maid! My hubby said just let my maid try for sometime if really cannot then I quit lo, lucky I installed cameras so at least can monitor from office.

Pups,
My boss din mention a word to me today but I heard from his PA that he's not happy I taken so many days leave while my boy not feeling well lo. Ai. . . difficult hor. Dun take leave cannot, take liao also boss not happy.

Jasmine/Diana/Kelly/Erin,
Yo, same as foony, I also dunno what's the ice cube tray for le? erin you mentioned that I can try to make Jay puree. . .eh. . . how huh? Soli la, me blur, first time mum. That's why I find my Jay very poor thing, have me blur blur one as mom.
When fascing my work I am 100% confidence but when taking care of kid. . . think I failed my comfortable level.

erin,
Thanks. So I think this is something like those Heinz one right (those small small bottle one - banana, papaya etc)? Just we homemade it?

Actually i plan to give cereal to my son, because my boy reject milk now. But my PD told me better start after 6 months, cos scare bb will allergy if eat too earlier.

So, all mummies, what u give yr baby to eat except milk and plain water now (4-mth old)?

foony, white lady
like wat pupsandcups shared, best 2 offer solids (cereals/porridge) after 6mths. tis is wat all PDs recommended n e earliest they'll allow is 5mths.

cocomo
not all mummies used pureed frozen food cubes (be it veg or fruits). if u do read books, pick up tis book "super baby food". i cant recall who e author is but tis book is very popular & highly recommended for introducing solids 2 bbs.

e website which erin provided is also gd for picking up a lot of info. do check it out.

hi leia,
the wetsuit thread got removed? can find it... anyway anyone contacted u regarding the wetsuit? me thinking of getting one... cant find it in kiddy palace as hubby's colleague mentioned...

me also dunno abt the ice tray... saw on bp before and was wondering why mummies ordering that... :p

thanks kelly, have saved the link under fav liao...

hi erin,
have mailed the socks this morning.. u should receive b4 x'mas, provided the postman is not overloaded with x'mas cards...