(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi pupsandcups
When i was breastfeeding that time my MIL also asks me to stop breastfeeding. I enjoy breast feeding my baby then but Kayden poos a lot in a day which is normal for breastfed babies. My MIL says is not normal asks me to stop bf him. I got so much milk and I enjoy the bonding with him. Of course I didn't listen to her. She will go on and on saying u see he poos so many times a day. She doesn't know abt bf. She never bf her kids and her daughter also never bf. I only stopped bf recently as i came back to work already and my office no place to pump milk. Really wasted leh. I got so much BM for Kayden to drink, but I got no choice. haizzz.

Next mth our babies will be 4 mths. Anyone thinking to start giving baby cereals?? Can add in his milk?? Or is it still too early to intro cereals?? Any advice.

long time no post!

i facing conflicting emotions from leaving jadelle with my MIL. I am grateful to her to volunteer to quit her biz and help me jaga bb. but, i dun like her methods: prefer to give FM, sarong, pacifier, put baby in front of TV, rocking her even when carrying and sleeping already in sarong!

Wish i can quit my job.. sigh.. will return to work next monday.. time flies!

pupsandcups, kelly, cat, honeyhaven,
I have my share of MIL stories too... even more buey tahan than yours.... wait till got chance then tell you all....yours is 1ear in1ear out... mine is no eyes c!

honeyhaven,
I plan to gif megan cereals after 6months when she can sit properly and her system is more developed.... I think that's the guideline of WHO too.. what about other mummies?

Hi Jasmine

Mine is the same as yours. My Chloe is now taking pacifier, sleeping in sarong, let bb watch TV, rocking her. All these are introduced by her. Nowadays even worse, got to sing when feeding her....

MILs

I guess i know her intention is good, but the way she communicates just constantly upsets me. sigh, sometimes it is a REAL BIG issue between my hubby and me, when i'm really pissed i even feel like our marriage will fall apart becos of it. u know when my hubby feeds back to her like to more mindful of how she speaks, she'll get all drama and CRY and say things like how can her son talk to her like that. then she so old, and she's alone too, i will feel kinda bad.

actually she even wanted us to stay in the same house as her, and when he said we're moving out, she said she might as well die in an old folks home. i mean!!! Sigh, it is really v tough.

i don wan to be a bitch of a DIL either but it is REALLY hard.

wah, when it comes to MIL, i always have a lot to vent, and type vvvv hard. keke.

btw Honeyhaven i have a small list on how to spoon feed at 4 mths when i come back from msia next week tues i scan and post here for u all.

And last evening, i'm so fed up. My mil told me that Chloe din sleep the whole afternoon. So when i reached home around 7.15pm, i saw my mil lao lao her as she is in the sarong. She told me that she is not sleeping. Of course, she is not sleeping. My sil, her hubby, her son (1 yr+) are all around her talking and playing so loudly. How to sleep like that??? They are so selfish. And they also "buah zi tong". Seeing Chloe is trying to sleep, they should soften down, but no no no ...*wah lau*....

how come all MILs have the same behaviour hurrr?? i still have yet to leave my baby with my MIL when i go to work, altho she also wants to be a part of it. i'm v comfy with my mom taking care of Leon, cos we're the same wavelength, but more imptly, my mom respects that i'm leon's mom and won't do things without asking me first. my MIL, i'm vvvv scared she'll do things without telling me, i'll b ultra upset.

dunno which is better, my MIL completely MIA... has never helped with baby, never bothered about him. maybe its better then for you gals, i dun get bothered and bugged by her...only when she calls she will 'yell' some instructions and then cant be bothered any more.

so i am left with help only from my mum. if not i cant go back to work...

jasmine & pupsncups...

ahhhh yooo soooo cute & SWEET
make me wanna gal... but... not yet hehehehe
i've always wanted a gal..

but think one now is all i can handle... lets see how..

pupsandcups,
ya, i hope my mil respects that i am the mum...

my girl is very attached to me..and my breasts! even though i dun have enough milk for her still (i gotta give 1 bottle of FM every day still). She wants me to carry her before she sleeps usually and wants to latch on in the evenings instead of being fed via the bottle..

Today, i tried to put her to sleep but she kept crying, although as usual, i sit on my gym ball for a while to rock her upright (this is her usual favorite position to get sleepy!). My MIL came over and whisked her back to her place, put her in the sarong, put a shirt of mine near her and my FIL rock her and sang her a song and she slept! I wanted to cry..... she was only introduced the sarong last week, after me resisting it for so long!

now, my girl wants to be carried, constantly rocked to sleep (cos dear FIL, see his grandchild sit in bouncer/ sarong, can't resist rocking her, plus MIL dunno how to sooth her initially, will rock n shake her..) i feel so out of control!

and talking about TV, i am trying to delay letting the TV be a nanny to my girl, but it seems inevitable, as my FIL like to rock her in her boucer in front of the TV, which by the way, is gonna conk off soon, but the way it is blinking and winking! ARGGHHHH!!!

3rd Dec gathering where? i wanna go too! can repost again the location?

thks piyo & butter8,

she is a darling, but also a screamer! keke..
587734.jpg
this is a picture of her earlier before i shave her hair! it was a pity, but she was dropping hair at the back... so.. off it went!

regarding weaning, heard that once bb lost the tongue reflex (pushing out the tongue), plus they seem interested in the food you put in your mouth, but making smacking noises, it means they are ready to try solid food!

went back to work today so u can see me not "active" liao... will be busy till end of the year so 90% will not see bb before he sleeps... only can greet him in the morning and if he wakes up late, then it'll be the next morning... so sad... like today, he alr sleeping while mummy on way back...

kelly,
email me at [email protected] for the CCs stuff ya... thanks...

i shaved my older boy's (joshua) hair when he was abt 4month plus, coz his baby hair all falling off, so it's not nice. took some time for it to grew back, maybe coz my husband's hair also very little and thin. same for my girl. shaved her hair off when she was 2 months. i just went to the hairdresser at my next block (home hairdresser), $4

yeah, me hv boy n girl. can close shop. hee hee.

regarding MIL.... hmmmmmm
ladies - ren ren ren. i stayed with my in-laws for 2.5 years. ok lah. she's quite open abt things. she doesn't nag at me or interfere, just that sometimes she's not really hygienic and loves to give my older boy sweets, to pacify him. i was really tempted to tell her that doc said her grandson is a diabetic, to scare her. hahaha. since she's illiterate, she can only let him watch tv to keep him occupied, and he really watches a lot of tv when we were staying there, i.e. the first 2.5 years of his life. i mean, he could tell me stories abt those channel 8 dramas ok! he will tell me which guy is the baddie, their names etc. :p
initially she's not really supportive of me breastfeeding josh, when i returned to work full-time after my ML, she kept saying it's very mahfan to heat up the milk etc.... one day, she took josh to the playground for a walk in the stroller when he was abt 3 months plus, and all her friends came n look at her grandson, praising how chubby and goodlooking and healthy he is and how he looks like a smart little baby etc etc all the praises, and asked her what brand of milk powder he's drinking? so she replied "breastmilk". lucky all the aunties told her "BM is so good... very good". from that day onwards she never asked me to stop breastfeeding, somemore every morning will remind me to bring my pump to work else her grandson wont hv milk to drink!
also, she makes sure that i have fish to eat for dinner everyday , she will only steam the fish when i arrived home, after my shower the fish will be ready. she makes sure that the fish is fresh and always steam, coz she feels that eating more fish will increase milk supply. must thank her friends for all the praises for josh!!
i guess i'm one of the lucky few who gets along with MIL and i have to say, she's been a great help to me. last time when i was working in the IT line, always hv to OT, sometimes up to midnight, when i OT means she also has to OT, i.e. take care of josh. she never once complain and never call me at office to ask me to come home or anything like that. perhaps because she always think young people shld go and work, and since she's still able to care for her grandson, she's willing to do it. we can chat for hours, abt anything!
i guess sometimes the older generation hv their own way of doing things, and i know they sure will use this line "i brought up all my children this way"!!
dont be too hung up abt what they do or say, and esp if your kid is the first grandson/granddaughter, they will be very kanchiong also.

din log in for a few days and there's so many postings. dun think i'll read all cos no time recently. have to attend meetings and workshops these couple of days. me very sleepy now.
re: mil
i also have a lot of stories to share. ai ya, think i'll never finish telling all my stories. anyway, after giving birth to kayden, i'm not so guai liao. last time, i will always say yes to what she says and even apologises to her even when i'm not wrong. now, i won't quarrel with her but if i think that certain things are going to make kayden very upset, I'll tell her that I'm not going to do it. of course, she won't be happy lor. me also very sian cos have to stay with her. no choice leh. my hb is the only son. haiz.

re: feeding semi-solids
I'm only starting on the 6th months when their digestive system is more stabilised and when they would not be so easily allergic to certain types of food.

my mil wants me to give brown rice porridge to kayden when he's 4 months old. I refused lah. porridge leh. dun even know whether he can swallow it properly and digest or not.

hi kelly,
so sorry that day. shdn't have gone in. cause u so much trouble. was gabriel ok?

my mil also said the same. talking about it, i am still a bit upset with her. actually i wanted to shave my boy but was thinking of doing later cos we will be going to kk after the full month and can do the tai mao bi there. mil insisted that we must do it on 'man yue' or before so my hubby said we just cut a bit 1st lor. mil refused and thought i was the one, kept telling me not to worry that kayden will not look good as the hair will grow back very fast. i said i'm not the one and she kept telling me that must shave everything cos kayden's hair is considered as 'tai mao' so very dirty. i'm not the one who doesn't want to shave kayden hor. anyway, in the end, we brought kayden down to shave lor. me v. fedup at that time but no choice, just kept quiet.

hi jokojoko,
will transfer u the money perhaps next mon and tues can? my mum is sick too cos i have to take care of kayden.

pupsandcups,
i hi-5 u...when i read ur posting, it totally sounds like my story. i can understand how stressful it can b when MILs go ON (til infinity) abt not having enuff milk. i was SOOOOOOOOOO stressed until i had 2 tell my husband 2 tell his mum 2 STOP saying abt me having NOT enuff milk. my MIL also not very supportive me of BFg but now she sings a different tune cos she saw the benefits of BM - gabe was a chubby sumo bb when young n his complexion is smooth & fair. now when i BF edward, she kept saying BM gd, BM nutritious, gd 4 mummy, blah blah blah. if only she was like tis when i gave birth 2 gabe back then.

my parents r different. they do nag abt my parenting method (cos i dun believe in beating/scolding my boys) but they do respect the way i bring them up. whenever they wanna do something wif e boys, they'll ask me 1st...such as feeding e boys water, putting edward 2 sit upright, etc

so different...which is y i always feel at ease wif my parents but not wif my MIL lor...

erin,
so pai seh abt tat day leh...gabe was juz being difficult.

FEEDING SOLIDS
like a few mummies here, i wanna make sure gabe was able 2 fulfil some requirements 1st b4 i started him on solids. gabe started at 5.5mths cos he was able 2 sit upright and he was almost 6mths (wanna make sure he's close 2 the suggested age b4 starting on solids).

IMO, bbs r different fr the olden days when the bbs then could eat solids at 4mths old. WHO must hv their reasons 2 suggest tat bbs start 2 eat solids at 6mths old so betta follow. me KS mummy lah.

piyo,
LOL abt u probably killing megan if u r a SAHM. megan's such a pretty girl. i saw her & wanna have a bb girl.

fiona,
i 4got 2 share wif u tat i tot i would see u at cocomo's hse tat time so when i saw megan, i tot she was denise cos both so pretty, lotsa hair. so pai seh when piyo's husband said she was megan.

BABY EINSTEIN SET

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581532/585757.html?1164210105

tis mummy is organising a BP for baby einstein set. if u r keen, can buy. quite a gd set of DVDs. BUT u must take note tat it's not e original set fr US. it's an exported china version but gd enuff 4 our bbs 2 watch.

i hv 1 incomplete set n gabe loves 2 watch a few of the DVDs. will let edward watch when he's bigger. now he watching "baby i can read"

someone asked abt e Disney Height Chart. i bought one for gabe. he LOVES it. kept standing next 2 it 2 measure his height. also insisted tat we measure edward's height. very funny!

588273.jpg

morning mommies

re: breastfed babies, can i ask you what are the obvious differences between a breastfed bb and a formula fed one? cos my leon not v chubby leh

Hi pups,
I think its not easy to see the difference using sight. Easier way is to feel the flesh.

Usually breastfeed baby's flesh are firmer, formula milk baby's flesh are flabby.

kelly,
I have the same disney chart, bot it during some BP organised when we were still preggie... c how KS I am haha! I bot the piglet version!

Thanks for your compliments! But I find megan a bit tu tu looking... always looking so blur... like I say, I am not those mums who go goo goo ga ga over babies haiz..so if I stay at home, you will see me in the newspaper headlines!

edward started watching TV liao ah? is the baby einstein DVDs good? cos I am planning not to let megan watch TV till she turns 2...what is the I can read series about?

ningyo
oic. hmm leon is firm, but jus not chubby lor ... guess it is really his genes la ..

piyo
megan is cute cute
is not tu tu la her look, she got the v innocent look

hi pupsandcups,
kayden is also firm lor but not chubby leh. did i mention it before that kayden looks a bit like leon? met kelly's edward. He's so cute and chubby. very nice to carry leh.

hi jasmine, jesline and catherine,
wah, all the gals so pretty and they have big eyes. me also hoping that i'll have a no. 2. want to have a girl but afraid i'll spend a lot on her clothes and accessories.

hi jasmine,
jadelle's hair grows very fast hor. my boy after shaving still has very little hair.

hi honeyhaven,
ur kayden is so big and chubby. seems like my kayden is the smallest of all. must really try to fatten him up when he's taking solids. now he doesn't drink a lot and loves to do sits-up. My sis asked me whether he wants to have 6-pecs. hehe...

hi kelly,
no la. i understand. am thinking of getting baby can read. heard from colleagues that it's good. but will only show it to him later.
baby einstein very ex leh. if get the whole set, it's a few hundreds. me not rich even with the bonus coming in.

I also have the chart. a gift from a friend. keke... will use it when he's older.

hi erin,
i must see kayden's pic again
actually i find a lot of baby look alike, sometimes i go out, i see other baby look like leon too. here is another pic, my sis took wit her handphone, funny angle, but kinda cartoon i like it heehee. in the office when i pump, i will put this pic in front of me

my leon's hair really growing v slow.

a lot of people think he's like really newborn 1-2 months old ...

How much is Baby can Read? I read all the posts so many pp using like v good leh.

588547.jpg

erin,
e whole set of baby einstein is only S$75 for 21DVDs. the price is very reasonable.

as for "baby can read", i hv a lobang but not sure if u mind. sms me if u r interested.

hi kelly

i love your edward too, so nice and chubby!

my sis is one year younger, are you 1978? if so, u're the same age as my sis. my husband also has a sister 1978, and they are both mad about leon heehee.

kelly i'm also keen on baby can read lobang.

Hi pupsandcups
I think Leon is very good looking leh. When he grows up will be a handsome boy.

Hi erin
My Kayden also likes to sit up and stand on my lap. I think baby at this age likes to be in these few positions. Last nite I was playing with him and assisted him to flip. He was so amazed abt it and was happily kicking for what he has done. You can try with yr Kayden or r u the one who was saying that yr baby knows how to flip already. I raised my concern abt Kayden not flipping yet to my pd. She says is normal baby should be able to flip by 4mths to 5 mths. She asks me not to be too kan cheong.

Hi mummies esp those who give their babies formula
Have u got yr menses already?? My gynae told me I should get my menses one mth after i stop bf, but until now i haven't got mine yet. Have u all got yours already??

hi honeyhaven,
hope leon will grow in size too, small for gal is cute, but small guy hard to find gf next time hahaha. i was the shortest in class up to my adolescence, then i shot up, well just a bit only lah, but i'm confident leon will grow in time

re: flipping, leon also hasn't flipped, and dislikes tummy time. well my mom always assures me by saying where got baby 2 years old, still never flip/walk right? so i guess each bb has different timing. leon is q good at grasping tho, how about other babies? he also babbles a lot, and all kinds of different vowels, we always say A E I O U to him heehee. he finds it v funny.

Kelly,
I need info on CC too, pls email me as well. Thanks!

Ningyo/Piyo,
Jay's flesh also 'leng leng' not 'giat giat' le. How can help to improve huh? Maybe I only eat those non-fat food so not enouf fat?

Jokojoko,
Thanks, nowadays very bz so no time to check on the threads.

Hi pupsandcups,
Leon is really handsome lei! Can matchmake not? haha!

hi honeyhaven,
Megan is on TBF and my menses came back eactly on her man yue. In fact, I am having the 3rd cycle of my menses now... today is 2nd day... it's so heavy flow today...

Hi kelly,
pm me too!

honeyhaven, erin, pupsandcups,
2 save my effort, can u gimme ur email addresses here? i'll do mass email out 2 all of u. easier lah.

pupsandcups
my sis is born in 1988. i'm in my 30s. me & my sis r >10yrs apart.

erin, pupsandcups
my edward not firm firm...his thighs/arms all 'neng neng' 1.

piyo,
u cannot reserve ur megan for my edward huh? she already punched him leh...her 1st move at him hor...LOL!

BABY CAN READ
mummies who r interested, pls provide me ur email HERE. it's only 4 mummies in tis thread. i'll share further details in e email. if u r not comfortable wif it, u need not proceed wif it.

cocomo,
since we staying so nearby, we should consider putting them into the same cc near our place haha!

My megan also leng leng one... not like those TBF babies all michelin ones... I eat fish everyday... maybe should start eating oily foods? but no good for baby and ME right?

Kelly,
what about me???

honeyhaven and erin,
just this morning ont the way to work, megan was trying to stand on my mum's lap when my mum carries her to see scenery... very cute!but only for awhile then she stopped trying liao... think she gets tired easily... "kar bo lak" haha must let her eat frog legs next time...

pupsandcups,
I used to gif megan tummy time when I am at home... now very little liao... only in the evening s IF I REMEMBER cos everytime come home I am so tired...

Hi Kelly,
Email me also. [email protected] Thanks!

anyone intent to have your next baby soon? I know it early to ask la but I actally intent to le. Maybe when Jay's around 7mths coz I am very old liao so after second will stop production!! But then scare very tough life taking care of two kids while the first still so young. Any advice on this huh?