(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

any idea where to get those inflatable wading/ swimming pool? m thinking of getting one so can let him play in the water when he's abt 6 months old?

Hi Fiona

U can go back to elmo book BP, catherine is willing to give it to you. YOu are the last person to have it.

Hi cocomo,
At least ur boy still latch on. After 2wks back at work, my boy no longer want to latch on.

Anyway, my boy at my mum's place, i only bring him back on Fri nite. Occasionally visit him after work. sighzz.....

Probably, u want to consider introducing formula milk to him.

I've started introducing formula milk to my boy.
Tried Enfalac A+ and my boy totally dislike it! He cant drink enfalac by itself. So we switch to Similac and seems like ok.
So sometimes, my mum will feed him FM+BM.

Anyway, i ask my hubby to try the formula and he said Similac is sweeter and smell better also. Enfalac powder by itself taste of iron and smell fishy.

My sis-in-law said Similac's taste resembles breast milk and it states that it doesnt contain palm olein.Supposingly palm olein ingredient can make baby fat.

Hi ningyo

my bb drink similac as well. agree that it tastes better as compared to many others. however, they will introduce wind to bb and it is rather heaty. So got to take note.

Hi cocomo,
i also think ur supply is quite alot leh!

Hi piyo,
I kinda regret not getting the 16hrs. Anyway, mine supposingly can keep for 12hrs but i dun really think it can keep cool for 12hrs.

Usually abt 8hrs, the bag seems to have lost its coolness. So b4 i go home, i'll go to my office canteen and pack a bag of ice cubes to keep the bag cool.hehee

no problem, BTW GER! Theres is taka Baby Fair again!!! i going after work today shall see how its like then report to u all.

piyo,
wow...the fridge to go seems reali good leh...anyway how much u paid for it ah...i dun noe if i shld buy it leh..since min i intend to BF till jay is 6mths old but might continue longer...but dun noe if i shld invest..was thinking ah, if dun BF alr, can it be kept for 2nd bb next time ah? My ss is ok only lah...cocomo and fiona ss is so much better..how do u all do it ah..i at nite dun latch at all...feed jay FM...too tired..haha..

erin,
i am also thinking of buying it! Haha..think toys r us shld have ba...not sure too...but hor was thinking where shld i let him play in the house leh...play in toilet like a bit stupid leh..i got no yard or anything...so dun noe if shld get or not as well

Cath,
do update us ya....is the taka bb fair at the atrium? Clothes for bb got sale or not ah? Help me see can...tks..

wow....response for the gathering is great. I've emailed keiki and she sounded keen to show us her products. Hee...asked her to give us discount...see how she responds

wow...so many of you buy from BP. Bring down the good barang barang on 3 Dec and show us leh...Piyo, bring yr fridge to go along can...Aiyoh, this thread makes me want to spend $$$. Since the previous gathering, I've been thinking of the floor mat at cocomo's house. So tempting...haha, still restraining myself

Oh btw, Zac flipped liao. Last night was distressing to us...he kept flipping and when he couldn't turn over, he cried

reading all your posts

actually i plan to breastfeed leon as long as i can, but i read somewhere that actually at 6months old, should introduce formula as well, cos its got added vitamins etc.

gals, what's your take? what is the ideal length of time we should bfeed our baby.

and when to introduce other foods/juices? some say 4, some say 6 months ..

my leon watches me eat v hungrily these days. i let him lick my apple he vvv happy

Hi jokojoko,
My boy is using the toothbrush from age of 2 onward. Purchasing dat for him cos it does not contain any flouride. Before that me n mil only massage his gum using soft cloth with plain water (add in abit of salt).

Hi mummies, it me.... MIA for soooo long, dun hv x 2 log in, I notice nowadays mommies are on shopping mood.

Hi, augustmum

me too had been thinking of buying the floor mat that cocomo had......

wow... looks like quite a number of babies had start to flip over.... my baby can only flip abit from head to hand.... buttock cannot flip over... too heavy .... will get angry when she cant flip

I got this article for those who is BF..

If you want to express your milk, but don't want to use it immediately, you may freeze it for later. There are special freezer bags available, but these can develop leaks. If you do use a bag, try double bagging, or choose one with a nylon outer layer. The best choice is hard plastic or glass. You may store your breast milk safely in the freezer for up to two weeks; however, some studies have shown the antioxidant levels in breast milk drop dramatically after the first 48 hours of freezing.

ohhh...baby fair again, shall check it out tmr after my interview hehe...

you see lah, i keep spending $$ even before i earn it..jia lut! the gap between my fingers is juz too big, leak $$...

piyo,
i got the Fridge to go 1200 model when i was preggie too, maybe we got it in the same BP. now i have another model 1175 which DH got it from the subaru challenge, can only keep cool for 12hr but it's more compact.

augustmum,
when u say flip, is it turn from back to bed to the tummy? jay is like zac too...he turn from his back to his tummy..will slowly slip from back to side and then to tummy but his hands also always get stuck..n then he will makes those upset sounds...haha..so we have to lend him a helping hand...

erin,
hmm balcony..good idea..hee hee..it be fun..think toys r us having sale now but not sure what..saw a catalogue but flap thru it..
if u buy alr, let me know how much n from where ya..

pupsandcups,
jay also nowadays will stare at us when we eat..juz like leon..he also looks at us like he is v hungry..haha..

anyway hor, i observe that if i am carrying jay and with his face facing the tv, he seems to be like watching the tv and when we placed our hands infront of his face to block his view, he will make those angry sounds..anyone experience the same thing? not possible rite??

Hi Fio & Erin,
Yeah, I go sniffing on Jul's butt too!
Jul's fart also very powerful.
Sometimes dh thought I was the one who farted!

Hi Erin,
We bought ours from Kiddy Palace.
Most kids shops should carry them.
Mine looks like this -
580476.gif

augustmum,
Zac's 4 days older than Denise but already started flipping, any tips to share? bcos i dun see it happening anytime soon for her leh...

Hi augbaby

my bb likes to watch tv as well. she can sit on my lap (with her back resting on my stomach) and watches tv for an hour. She will drools also..

ningyo/augbaby/piyo/Fiona,
I only latch my boy middle of night le. So when he's awake, all his 5 feeds are EBM! You guys got let bb latch on ma so maybe that's why pumping cc lesser than mine! But then now I can only pump out 25OZ ytday which is what Jayden needs a day (5OZ x 5feeds)! No extra liao.

Ningyo,
Actually I still have frozen BM but then tot of keeping for future use (also dunno keep till when?! Firstime mum damn blur, ppl pump I pum, ppl keep I also keep lo), unless now daily pumping really not enuf then will defroze the BM lo (ytday gam gam ho 25OZ for 5feeds so hope it will not decrease further lo).

augustmum & augbaby,
Wow! ur babies so clever know how to flip already. Mine seems like still got problem supporting his head.If we put him on his tummy, his head always tilt to the side instead of looking in front.

augbaby,
Jayden wants to watch tv! Yongjie also watches tv now. Coz when we put him on the rocker, his head will turn towards the tv.

augbaby,
yes...your jayden is happily watching tv. it's happening with my denise too, once i block her view, she became kan cheong...haiz

so when did jayden start flipping? i'm looking forward to see denise do it, sure laugh one...i always tease my gal, very bad hor

Noe,
hahaha...i always look at DH when i smell bcos i can only fart when sitted on toilet bowl(weird huh?), then he goes..."it's not meeeeee, it's neo neo(my dog)"

Augbaby,

Ya Ya...zac is the same as jay. Hands always get stuck.

Fiona,

I din do anything. When it's time, it's time. Did not teach both no. 1 and 2 to flip, they just practised on their own. Both of them liked to practise in the middle of the nite. You could actually hear them lifting their legs and then jamming them onto the cot mattress.

me just back from pumping... seems like increasing the frequency helps hehe! now feeling better about milk ss

me also bot alot from BPS, from flash cards to bumper mats to clothes and other bo liao stuff! but cos no.1 can recycle for no.2 so just buy... I think the temptation is worst than outside shopping! Dun you think so?

Megan started flipping at 2.5mths I think but it's with help from us... like we encourage her to flip then she flips. Then she gets angry cos her hand is stuck makes lots of grunting noises then we help her turn ard...then we would repeat the exercise for a few more times b4 she gives up! BUT she never initiates to flip herself yet... wonder when would that happen...

Hi pupsandcups,
I heard that theory too... that FM have some vitamins that may be lacking in our BM if we continue after 6 months... mummies is it true?

HI ningyo, augustbaby and augustmum,
the fridge-to-go is very good for me cos I likes to go shopping and out for long hours with megan and sometimes she fusses at my breasts although I try to direct latch on... so I bring my EBM in this fridge-to-go... can last till end of the day and stil very cooling inside! worth the buy and like what august baby says, can recycle for no.2 so I buy lots of things from BP cos can recycle mah!

Augustmum,
I brot it to cocomo's house last sunday. Maybe it's compact enuf that you all can't see it!

cocomo,
it's been a while since i last latch my gal le, gonna be full EBM all the way liao.. managed to store mainly bcos she's drinking lesser nowadays. so might as well stock up in case my supply really call it quits one day.

Hi Noe,
thanks. will go kiddy palace n toysrus to check it out.

hi augbaby,
ya, kayden will look at the tv when we are changing his diapers too.

Hi Augbaby,
megan likes to watch TV too if she is carried facing the TV so we will cover her eyes or turn the other way... we very bad but heng ah she likes to watch scenery and surrounds more than the TV... I hope she dun pick up watching tv as a hobby!

hi cocomo,
i always latch megan the 1st thing I come bk from work cos she seems to get cranky without latching for the whole day and will make crying noises... so even if I wanna pump when I go home, the milk already sucked dry by her liao.

About frozen EBM, my colliq was telling me best give them fresh EBM for now since they are stil young and need the antibodies to build up their immunity... so maybe you can give fresh and keep those stored ones till when he is older and immunity has developed? I am clearing up all those old EBM in the fridge and then not taking out anymore frozen ones... once the old ones in the fridge are cleared I will continue to give her those freshly squeeezed ones (machiam like orange juice) if not enuf then take out older ones in the freezer to defroze and gif her

Hi cocomo,
frozen bm got expiry dates too, dont store until u forget then waste the milk. hehee

I also wish to latch on, but problem is Yongjie no longer wants to drink fresh milk. His suckling style changed to that of suckling from bottles.

Now gotta bring more stuff when we go out shopping, cooler bag,therma flask n breast pump.

hello

ya leon also likes tv, disney channel, but we try not to let him watch too much. he's more keen on 'chatting' with us, he makes a lot a lot of babbling sounds, vv cute

he doesn't really flip leh, how to encourage? he does tho, wan to keep trying to sorta stand, and jump jump jump, good annot for bb?

timpani, ningyo, fiona, augustmum,
hahaha..seems like alot of our leo babies share the same traits...but can we let them watch tv now? thou they r too young n not good..anyway jay juz started flip only recently abt 1wk i think..can sometimes i let him lie on his side to sleep and sometimes on his back. on our bed.n once when we came into the room, we saw that he has turn to his side and kind of onto his tummy with his one hand stuck of course..haha..last time a while back, he has learn to turn to his side alr but did not turn till almost onto his tummy...he only started lifting his head fully up yest nite...a day ago, he is like trying to lift his head but cant..so was so surprised when he did it yest so quickly took a shot..haha ;P

piyo,
for me jay is also drinking FM so that is not a prob for me..i most prob still feed him BM but not so strict like now when i go out must bring cooler bag wif EBM..next time juz bring FM can liao

augustmum,
so cute, babies more active during the nite huh? And i thot it only happens to adults kekeke...shall wait for the day she decides to flip then.

Hi Ninygo,
Ya I think we bot from same BP or maybe you bot from the 1st fridge-to-go BP cos the one I participated are all going for the 16hour one. That was the 2nd BP of FTG I think.

me also! go out machiam bring whole house go out... so I can't wait to collect the allerhand diaper bag, another BP haha then can be more organised!

Piyo,

Wow, then the fridge must be very compact. Must see. Must restrain myself cos like you guys, bought a lot for no 1. Storeroom all filled with baby's stuff.

Re. TV

I din lit Noah watch TV b4 6 months. I'm very kiasi, scare he has short attention span. Doing the same with Zac.

anyway the shelf life for frozen EBM is 2mths or 3mths ah..coz some website says 6mths..some say lesser leh..confused...my freezer is those with its own compartment door one..in fact i donated quite a bit of my frozen ebm..coz those r those i pump out in sept and early oct..din wan to waste it so donate to mummies who need it lor..

Hi Augustmum,
ya quite compact... just imagine it can carry 6cans of soft drinks exactly that size.

you 6 months ah? I plan not to let megan watch TV for 2 yrs hahaha

do you mommies still swaddle your bb at night? leon loves to be swaddled, it makes me laugh and smile, so i still do swaddle tho i'm not sure it inhibits his dvt?

augbaby,
ohhh .. then i think leon does sorta flip a little. :p

augbaby,
I din have the prob of old EBM in the past cos I used the FIFO(First in First out) principle.. but I anticipate I will have such probs soon cos I am planning to gif her fresh ones as much as I can... may end up throwing my reserves... but if really like that means good news my BM is enuf for her! hehe!

augustmum,
hey tot you said bu she de buy that playmat? ha. . .

augbaby,
My Jayden only flipped once!!! and his hand kena stuck also.