(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi pupsandcups,
I no longer swaddle megan after 1st month... and at night she sleeps on her tummy so all the more no need to swaddle hehe but she crawls and wriggles like a caterpillar when she sleeps at night

augbaby,
i read that EBM can be kept up to 3 mths in the freezer compartment you mentioned, so i'll most likely use it by 2 mths+. anyway i've been feeding fresh ebm from the fridge all this while unless when i'm away. what i intend to do is, if the stock expiry is near, i'll just clear 2 packs each day so that she still can have fresh EBM for rest of the feeds.

Jayden likes to watch tv also. He can watch till not want to suck his milk so no choice sometimes gotta switch off the tv and on again after his feed.

dear mummies,
My menses nt yet come till now lei and i am not in any kind of contraception. Am i abnormal har, any advise on the contraception part as i do nt noe which is good.

Pleasure Erin!
Ya Fio,
Weird things we mothers do for our children.
And more to come ...

Hee Piyo,
I still swaddle Jul leh.
Only in the night after he zzz.
It seems to help him sleep longer.
Day time's a no no as he gets frustrated being swaddled.

cocomo, augbaby,
bad news... our orders for ralph lauren purchase were rejected... pm your a/c details to regi so she can refund $ back to us...

piyo,
actually its not gd for baby to sleep on their tummy, i read that it might cause sudden death. They might unable to breath properly. If you wan to let her lie on her tummy u got to as and when check her is she breathing well.

BTW it is not advise to let baby sleep side ways you ,might not know when baby will start turn and flip themself onto their tummy and if they can't breath will also lead to sudden death.

hi noe

phew, i thought i was the only one swaddling still :p ya i htink he sleeps longer when i swaddle. i don swaddle in the day time either, he'll sleep for too long.

Piyo,

Ya, wanted to keep Noah away from TV as long as possible till I discovered 'Baby Einstein' and 'My Baby can read'. Hee...did I just encourage you guys to buy more things.

Cocomo,

Ya, a bit bu she de cos' stopping at two. However, the more I look at the photos, the more tempted I am. Still trying to think of possible uses for the mat.

hi piyo,
re. sleeping on tummy, my book also mentioned the same thing as cat's... should adopt "back to sleep, tummy to play" approach...

cocomo,

have fallen into temptation...have added to the bp for the bumper mat.

going to keep away from the pc for a looonnnng time b4 more damages is done

jokojoko,
huh!!!! why like that! I like the All Star suit very much le

augustmum,
ha. . . which one you buy? worldmap? Nowadays I bought a lotso stuff from BP too. broke liao!!!

fiona,
ya me too...same same..feed jay fresh one...freezer now only have oct onwards date...

pupsandcups,
i do still swaddle jay leh...coz he tend to sleep well that way leh...

piyo,
oh u let megan sleep on her tummy alr ah..i heard from a few friends that best not to sleep like that unsupervised leh..coz in case bb turn n face faced down, n dun noe how to adjust...so i only let jay sleep that way when we r around...

Hi jojokoko and cat,
I read it too but surprisingly the nurses told us babies are smart and they will know how to adjust themselves to breathe.. Beginning I was paranoid too but after observing her through the nites... we were like only 20% asleep cos worried ma... we realise she really adjusts herself to have space to breathe... so we just continue...when she starts flipping more, may change her sleeping position again..

jokojoko,
ya i rec a PM from regi...sigh...so sad..was telling hubby this morning abt it somemore...

I also only swaddle in the night only coz in the day he dislike being wrapped up like a mummy...haha...so no choice but his hands will be flinging into the air n he will wake up n cry...

augustmum,
me letting edward watching 'baby i can read' too...very gd. he also LOVES 2 watch tv. husband & i joked tat our 2nd son another tv addict like gor gor, daddy & mummy. edward's eyes dun move when he watch 'baby i can read' or barney. very funny!

piyo
catherine is right. b careful abt SIDS. edward sleeps face down during e day time but i dun dare 2 put him face down at nite. gabe also like tat, last time. very scary if he cant turn his head 2 e sides, skarly suffocate how?

piyo,
yah piyo once something block their nose they will struggle instead of adjusting themself better be careful.

I thou' only my dd love watching tv. Thanks god knowing that she is not the only one..

BTW, does anyone with bb sleep in sarong/yao lan in daytime?

juz received an unsolicited mail fm fridge-to-go that they having a demo of their cooler bag at HDB hub mall on 21st & 22nd Nov.
Only FTG-1200 model available.Probably this is the 1 which can last 16hrs.
Based on the pricing which i got fm the BP i joined, could be $53-$58.

hi cecilia

no i don use sarong / yao lan, don wan bb to be addicted to it. although he needs to be 'yao-ed' to sleep by someone for sure. my bb can nvr fall asleep on his own. can any of your babies? leon will b cranky, make a few eh eh eh sounds, then hv to rock and sing him to sleep. but nowadays, 5 mins will usually do. phew. in his first month, must sing and rock for an hour, v siong.

Hi, mummies

my baby likes to watch TV also.... especially the U channel korean show "Gong"& "da chang jin".... will ignore anyone who call or want to play with her....realised that she like to watch violence also... especially "PrisonBreak" which is shown on every Thursday (10pm) & sat (4-5pm)....

Hi Cecelia
my bb is sleeping in yao lan for daytim & night time.... she dont like to sleep in the cot so got no choice but to let her sleep in yan lao....

talking abt watching tv, when is the best time to let them watch? cos i did a course once and they mention why the children nowsadays are easily distracted and active during lesson time is becos they watch a lot of tv (many images within a short time) and the teacher in the class couldn't possibly be as animated as the tv programmes. i will always block kayden's view and he will make noise lor.

hi pupsandcups,
mine also trying to stand and jump like urs. my mum says when she carries him, he's like trying to use her tummy to climb.

erin,
jay too...i am also concern when is the right age to let them watch tv...i will alw block jay view and he will make noises and shift his head to try to see...**scratch head** din realise that bb has to watch tv now..thou jay is the only one..haha..phew luckily i ask u all

oh ya mummies,
how do u all carry yr babies now ah...still lying flat in the arms or u can them upright now, with our hands cradling their bums? also when u bathe them, do u bring them over to ano tube to rinse off the soap? coz i am now using 2 tub to bath jay leh..n like v troublesome coz after bathing in the soapy water i will bring him to the other tub to bathe him

hi augbb,

wat do u bathe him with? i use j&j's head to toe, which is what they use in the hospital, no need to rinse, the nurse showed me.

wa siong leh, use 2 tubs. leon loves to bathe

i hold leon upright from time to time, when i lie him flat he will make noise, till i put him upright. then when he's upright, he will b v happy.

hi augbaby

i'm carrying bb sitting upright... cos tried to carry her lying down & she will make alot of noises to show that she dont want to... so carried her upright & she is happy....

My GP also mentioned that bb should be carried upright & not lying down... by carrying upright, bb can slowly learn to support the head....

Jes,

yep my bb the same, likes to be upright
i think it makes him feel like a grown up so he smiles heehee.

aww, i'm having a super i miss leon day in the office ... ...

hi augbaby

i'm also carrying my bb upright with one hand supporting her bums and the other with the fingers/palm for her neck.

like others, my bb is unhappy if carry lying down except when she wants to sleep then she will be guai guai.

augbb,
i cant find anything on 'baby i can read' series leh...will try 2 search some local websites then i get back 2 u.

we've been carrying edward upright since he was 3wks old, he dun like 2 b carried horizontally - he'll fuss whenever pp carry him tis way.

as for bathing, i use 1 tub all along. since edward's able 2 sit well on my lap, i lather him 1st, wash his hair then put him into e tub of clean water. very leh chey 2 use 2tubs unless u hv a big bathroom.

pupsandcups,
i hv 2 "dance" & rock sideways 2 make edward sleep. btw, i intend 2 BF for min 14mths if possible. i BF gabe for 14mths so wanna b fair 2 edward too. i also use J&J head to toe body wash.

aiyo, e thread very active 2day so quickly read thru e posts

SWADDLING
stopped swaddling edward when he returned fr hospital. weather was very hot when i was doing confinement n edward dun like 2 b swaddled. he'll fuss, kick everything off.

Hi Augbaby,
Megan likes to be upright and hates to be carried horizontally cos she likes to c the world!so we carried her on her bums and the other hand holding somewhere near her chest.

We bath megan in 1 bathtub... she already wails and screams when we exposed her naked.. cant imagine if I bath her in 2... my ear-drums will break:p

mummies, what bathing lotions and shampoos and moisturisers are you using for your babies?

aidan likes to "stand" now... my maid will support his shoulders/hands and he "stands" on her lap... unfortunately, he dun like tummy time... will make noise after a while...

hi piyo,
now using J&J head to toe body wash, pigeon body wash, before that used sebamed... sebamed body lotion, j&j baby oil... ai ya, mine no fixed one cuz bot diff brands when preggie...

hi pups,
my gal fall asleep on her own, or sometimes with the help of pacifier, but dun need to carry or rock. of course it didn't start out this way, did put in some effort to develop the habit.

hi augbaby,
i also carry Denise upright, she'll make noise if i carry her cradle style.

i'm also using J&J top to toe, like Kelly will lather her 1st then put in tub to rinse. No soapy residue at all.

hi jojokoko,
how do you support him when aidan tries to stand? I mean your hands?

I read somewhere that watching TV at a young age is not very good to develop their creativity skills. Is that true?so I am trying not to let her watch tv for some time...