(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

pai sei hor, can i ask wat do you all wash the breast pump with? just tap water? hot water? toilet hand soap? or you bring your own baby food detergent?

i am still considering whether to pump out milk in office. office do not have nursing room, conference rooms are blind kind, so pple can actually peep in from outside. toilets are very smelly also. however hubby said as long as i handle the breastpump in a hygience way, it shld be ok to pump in a smelly toilet.

and also my milk supply is very low, each pump can only achieve abt 70ml for both breast with interval of 4hrs each pump. so donno whether is it worth the trouble or not.

thinking of getting fenugeek to help increase milk supply. but now almost 3 mths already will it still be effective? is goat rue or fenugeek better?

hi there mommies,
back to work.. xianzzzz...

any mummies are weekend mummies here? maybe your mum or mil looking after during the week and take home on weekends?
I am having baby blues, and feeling bad I leave my son at mum's place.
anyone can share thots or experience?

bbmum,
how did u find nanny? so u leave bb alone at home with her during those timings?
is she good?

cocomo
i work in Tuas also.
No room for me as all rooms are with glass door.
So I have to do it in the toilet.

bbmum
I use hand liquid soap to use the pump.
B4 use, will sterilizer w hot water.
I pump 2-3x in the office, abt 7oz /pump.

I am wearing nursing bra with no padding.
If i m wearing tight fit top, then will wear one with padding.
But all without underwire.

Hi, Butter8

I shared the same thoughts as u... had been back to work since Oct 9 after 2 months of maternity leave.... was feeling very bad when I had to leave my baby at my mother in law house

really miss my baby...thinking of quitting my job to be a SAHM so that i can look after baby personally & watch her grow up day by day.... wanted to provide her with the best....

i will fetch baby home every friday afternoon as i am on half day & will bring baby back again on monday afternoon.... so i had been going to see my baby after work everyday till 9pm after her feed & rocking her to sleep.....

jesline,
hmmmm i send my bb to mum house on sunday nite. and plan to bring back on thur nite. except when have events or work late. so at my own home, feels so quiet now since i been back to work for a week. but sometimes i guess its oso good so baby is not shuttled to n fro too often.
also we get some personal time with hubby...
however, i hope to be a better mom.. sigh...
like if i have a whole day wedding on sun, my mum say better to leave bb with her instead of bring back for weekend... so he dun get affected by changes all the time...
i oso dunno how...

i will make effort to go over for dinner and play with him and do some feeds at nite...

its more tiring like this cuz very late by the time i go home... but at least i dun have to send back again the next morn...

so mao dun...

my bb has been lifting head very often but not yet flip.
he kicks a lot and ends up at diffenent spot in his cot... :p

Hi, Butter8

Normally i will fetch baby home on Friday afternoon & on saturday will bring her to my mother house & stay until Sunday afternoon....

me too hope to be a good mummy & hope to teach her well from very young age lor....

my baby dont like to sleep in the cot... so had been sleeping in the sarong..

my boy keeps putting his thumb in his mouth to suck and each time i pull it out n replace it with pacifier, he spits the pacifier out.
so we are practically 'fighting' over what to be placed in his mouth....

any solution or suggestion?

Hi Butter,
me also have same sentiments as you...feel guilty leaving bb with my mum..but at least it is my mum who is mainly looking after my boy thou in the morn, my maid looks after him...dun wan the maid to be too close to my boy..but for us, bec i stay v close to my parents..like 5min away, so every morn and at night, we will bring him there and bring him hm...so at least at nite i get to play wif him and latch him to establish bond...I am wish to be a sahm but need to find some ways to have some income b4 i can do that..
My boy also started lifting his head off his pillow and kicking and nowadays always end up in different position... So now we actually am more careful where we placed in on the bed and will use pillows to block..Juz in case..

Hi bbmum,
for me, i juz rinse my pump with tap water but each time i want to use it, i will sterilise wif hot water from dispenser...For me it is worst, the rooms are all glass windows and i dun care, i juz stick a few pieces of water on the glass and use the v last room where usually pp dun go there one...N i sit in a high backed chair wif my back facing the glass so hopefully no one can see...anyway dun care lah..coz want to BF my boy till min WHO guidelines of 6mths lor...Tis is my 2nd wk already pumping milk n kind of got used to it...

jesline,
i guess i will try some kind of routine like yours. except when we have like events on, i am not sure whether to just leave him there or bring him back for a short period over weekend like say 1 nite from sat - sun.

even if we have help to look after, we feel bad, then how to get back some personal life rite? after work just go n see bb... dun join gal friends for dinners or shopping (can forget about any parties or even facials :p)

augbaby,
i really think u r great mum, still pump milk at work for bb & latch after work when u can bring him back...i feel bad i have stopped now.
lucky u stay near mum, 5 mins is ok so can pick up or send over anytime.. i stay too far, takes at least 30mins if no jam...

any mummies, mum or mil help oso with the nite feeds?

bbnmnum & augbaby,
thanks for your advise.

my baby will try to sit up during his feed. the way he struggle very cute

he also kick a lot until his position change when we put him down in his bed.

i'm staying with in-laws, so they will help take care of baby when i return back to work. praying hard that i don need to work ot frequently, cos if got ot by the time i return home will be 9plus 10 already and baby will be asleep by then. i will be handling night feed mself though. guess that is the only time i can interact with baby.

i also hate to go back to work, but mummy no work no money to buy toy toy for baby leh

hi bbnmum,

my bb is also drinking 120ml now.. he's weighing 6.3kg at 10 weeks... but recently sometimes he cries after feed so i guess need to increase intake to 150ml soon...

hi augbaby,
mine is the same case as urs. mum staying 5 mins away so can bring him back every nite.

hi bbmum,
how u manage staying with in-laws? i have quite a no. of problems with her after delivery. haiz. different ways of bringing up kids.

hi butter,
nobody except hubby to help out with nite feeds. i'll make the milk and feed baby. he'll wash the bottles and change his diapers. at least got him around.

hi jokojoko n bbmum,
wah, ur babies can drink a lot hor. mine got mood one. sometimes can drink 120ml but at times, drink halfway, will struggle and make noise. have to persuade him to drink (cos he still hold on tightly to the teat) until he pushes the teat out. drinks abt 90 to 100ml most of the time nowsadays.

any1 getting walkers for their babies? wat r ur thoughts about it?

mil asked me abt it but i dun feel like using it leh. so worried dat she'll say whatever she proposed, i reject. i rejected pacifier, honey water, water with glucose, sarong, baby powder using the powder puff. but i really dun agree with her leh. am thinking shd i give in this time.

hi augbaby,
the pump dun need to use detergent to wash? mine always feels oily after each pump leh...maybe my milk has high fats content? no wonder my gal is drinking lesser like 110ml, but can last her 3-4hrs...but not fixed one la...

when i thot abt the trouble of finding privacy pumping at work, i reconsider finding a job. but i am quite a spendthrift, so cannot stand not being able to spend $$ freely...hahaha. think will most likely start with a part time job 1st till Denise is bigger.

hi jesline,
i've juz bought a bumbo seat, now waiting for my gal's neck to stabilize before putting her in it, i can't wait...hee

hi erin,
i remembered reading somewhere that baby who used walker tends to walk tiptoes after that, which inhibits baby's walking process instead. anyone else heard of the same thing?

my friend's son ain't using the walker but already started walking a little at 8mths, so i think it's really unnecessary...

hi jesline,
my gal's 2mths 8days old only...hehe

i got it from a mummy in this forum, brand new and she sold it at 60 to me. saw some postings on 2nd hand one as well, think cost around 40-50. Kiddy palace is selling at 79.90

augbaby, yes, i'm also getting used to the pumping liao.. =) i will also BF till bb is 6mths old, dun tink i will carry on. coz quite siong for, i sacrifice alot of sleep and freedom! =P and i wanna try for another baby next yr, so i wan my body to hv enuff rest.. =)

fiona, i also din use any detergent to wash my pump after use in office leh.. it's a little oily la, so i use boiling water to rinse, and the fats will be gone. =)

after tat, i just air it dry in office and do the same when i pump again later.

BUMBO seat, my colleague is letting her 5-mth old baby try on bumbo seat, but bb keeps leaning forward until her forehead can touch her knee.. not sure why, maybe the backbone is still soft, or is tiring for bb to sit on bumbo seat..

any mom is letting her bb trying the bumbo seat now? any advice?

my ger is 11week plus... =)

hi leobbsmom,
thks for the info, or else it can be so "ma fan" to bring detergent out.

regarding the bumbo seat, i was so keen to let my gal use bcos i saw how comfortable and convenient it was when my friend put her son in it. She brought it to my place and have him seated in it during feeding, then he can't anyhow move about hahaha...and also when she's tired with carrying him, juz put him in the bumbo and hand him a toy.

hi, when i was working after giving birth to my 1st born,i pumped in the toilet, will zoom in there immediately after the auntie cleans the toilet at 10plus am but in the afternoon no choice, smelly toilet. i sterilise my pump in a container with sterilizing tablet, can last for 24 hrs. since it'll be dripping wet when i take it out, i use tissue to wipe dry.
so when is the next gathering. would really try to make it this time.

babyboy,

My boy has been attempting to put his entire fist into his mouth and we have a rough time wrestling with that also - he put in, I pull out. I have not intro the pacifier yet. And as I am typing this, he's doing it again...

my ger likes to suck her thumb, sometimes the whole fist la.. i took out her mittens and she gave me a "sour" face when she realised she was "eating" her own hand! hahaha...guess she not use to her own hand since she has been used to her mittens by now..

and i hv introduced pacifier to her since i come back to work, coz she wont stop crying in the afternoon.. no choice, my mom cant pacify her.

but once she's asleep, she will put it out..

Have not logged in for a looong time.. Just back at work yesterday. I moved to stay with my PIL, so was busy packing and transfering things. I pumped once yesterday, planning to pump twice today, see how. I pumped in the ladies yesterday, very messy and my pump dropped on the floor.. sigh.. I have requested to pump in the meeting room today with blinds covered.

Very sien when come back to work.. miss my baby.
Anyway, i m only come back to work for 1 month or so, as me and bb will be following hb to overseas for work for at least half a year. Now headache of how to tranfer my frozen ebm there. Any advice or suggestions? I have around 60 packets in the freezer. It'll melt if i put in cooler bag rite? and my cooler bag is only able to keep 12 bags at most leh.. If when reach there all melt or melt partially, have to le bb finish it in 2 days rite.. it's impossible leh.. help help

Hey erin,
Our boy almost the same..nowadays he also dun finish 120ml usually for FM..he will make noises n i hav to try hard to get him to drink..usually now he drink abt 3oz to 3.5oz...n always fall asleep..haha..For nite feeds, hubby will get up to make milk and then i will feed lor... so still ok..not too bad...

Hi fiona,
i also dun use detergent to wash..i do it almost like leobbsmom..But i will wash the pumps when i am at hm lor..coz like u say it is rather oily...

Leobbsmom,
My hubby wants 3 kids which i say he is mad..but i wan 2...n he wants the kids to be 2yrs apart max..so he was saying if that is the case, need to try again end of next yr..i was like..what...faint....Haha...but anyway like what u say, i most prob b feeding my boy till 6mths too coz reali tough n difficult coz i have to carry my PIS backpack to and from work everyday..so heavy..plus when i wan to go out, i need to get my hubby to come pick up the PIS and my BM to go hm..coz too troublesome for me to bring it out plus super heavy...

Leia,
Haha..my boy has also been attempting to put his fists into his mouth, esp when he is hungry..that is his signs that he is hungry...he has been either putting his fingers into his mouth or fists since i stop letting him wear mittens alr...haha but i am still not giving him pacifier

also want to know regarding frozen BM..if for example i only take out my frozen EBM to defrost it in the morning b4 i go work and it is at nite that it is fully defrost, so does that mean that i have to feed all the EBM within 24hrs..but then it be at nite alr wich i dun get to feed..then how? i am confused...help....

Also do anyone of u who are still bfing, do u take coffee or japanese green tea? Miss my coffee and green tea

Leia,
ya ya..thumb in, thumb out, pacifer in, pacifier out, thumb in..goes on and on..
and he does it even when he is sleeping..i have to get up from my bed to his cot to remove thumb every 10mins...
driving me nuts....
put mittens also he can put his thumb in, until his whole mittens are all wet with his saliva...

cant seem to find a solution to this problem..
dont want him to get used to it and end up with a sore thumb....

augbaby,
yah very inconvenient when going out hor...the longest i've ever tahan is 10hrs before pumping, my breasts were hard as rock. wah u bring the PIS to work ar, very bulky right? i'm have both medela dual electric & avent manual pump, but if i go back to work may use the avent one instead bcos i thot the electric one quite noisy leh...

I'm TBFing but i've been taking green teas and all, as long as in small quantity is fine. I only avoid those food said to cause wind like cabbage, broccoli, onion and etc...

fiona, the longest i tahan was 8hrs!! pengzz... i rushed home like mad to pump it out on Tues... since then, my supply gone haywire.. the supply decreased!! =(

i also hv the same pumps as u.. i'm using medela pumps only..coz find avent manual too slow(only can pump one by one).. so i gotta bring the pump back n forth, work n home..

i'm TBF-ing, so i'm avoiding carbonated drinks, alcohol, cola, coffee and tea, coz Mrs Wong from TMC said these are stimulant, which are not good to bb.

re: hand/fist sucking
Kayden used to do that but guess he got sick of sucking his fist. now he licks everything that is available to him. my shirt and shoulder is always wet with his saliva.

re: signal to show that he's hungry
My boy also very funni. will give a loud muak (dunno what he's kissing) keke... to indicate that he's hungry and wants milk. nowsadays, he seldom cries for milk when it's bedtime. usually, he'll make all these kissing noises and we'll know that it's time to feed him.

leobbsmom,
true that the supply went haywire & supply did decrease...sad leh..

come to think of it, i rarely drink any carbonated drink eversince confinement, now only drink juice or ice milo, maybe subconciously will be more careful with F&B when TBFing hor...naturally we would want to give our best for our babies.

yah the avent manual slow & tiring for the hands, but it's better at establishing supply than the medela, so when i find supply dip will revert back to manual pump, can empty breasts better.

hi erin,
your boy so cute! kissing the air...

my gal indicates by taking short fast breathe while thumping & swinging her arms more aggressively...

Speaking of food/drinks to avoid, very occasionally, I'll indulge in a cup of teh from the coffeeshop. Shiok! Initially, I was so afraid the caffeine will go into the BM and keep BB awake whole night. It didn't happen that way of cos! :p

so long never post here..
How do u adjust yourself ( life ) for baby ? I find it so hard, work 0830 to 1730 . Got to study for ACCA , take care of baby. Totally no life for me now. My husband and my mother not helping at all. They start to blame me for not taking care of baby etc. Hiaz...not a joy having baby

Hey leobbsmom, fiona,
Haha..same here...din pump regularly for a few days and ss when haywire..sigh...now my ss also decrease..sob sob...

Erin,
Yr boy is so very cute...was laughing when i read yr post...so cute of him...

Hi, mummies

just to check with u all, what flow milk teat r u all using for your baby of about 3 mths?

slow flow or medium flow? how to make an extra hole in the teat... cos tried poking a hole with needles but no water is able to flow out...

Do u feel that your baby is drinking less milk at about 11-12 weeks? thot they r undergo growth sprout at 3 months? how come there is a decreased in the appettie?

Hi Jesline,

Yes, agree that my boy is also drinking less now. he uses his tongue to block away the teat. 2wks ago, he can finish 130mls. Now only able to finish 90ml at each feed.
I am using size M from pigeon, and also Avent teat for size 3.

Hi jesline,
I also feel that my boy is drink lesser too..last time he is able to finish 4oz/120ml but now max is abt 3oz/90ml...also dun noe y..i wan to increase his milk to lengthen the time he sleep also cant coz he cant finish 120ml..

my boy drinking 150ml each feed and weigh abt 5.3kg at 8th wks. now donno how heavy is he.
at wk 10, he still drink well.

erin,
my PILs are quite modern kind. but still got different views at times. no choice got to give and take at times. but i forsee there will be more conflict when baby is bigger.

fiona,
yep, i did heard b4 that walker will cause baby to have problem walking properly in future.

augbaby,
i started drinking coffee occasionally. but i drink quite a lot of milo, will usually drink hot milo b4 each pump. chocolate also got caffine content. a bit shld be fine lah.

Hi, Leia

May I know where to get the teat puncher?

Augbaby & Dino

So how many is your baby now?

my baby usually drink 120ml but these few day, she will drink about 60ml & then about one hr later, she will finish her 120ml of milk... scared that she is not drinking enough milk & not gaining much weight also...

does anyone know how much weight should baby gained per weeks? my baby is coming to 3 months but think she is only about 6kg?