(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi pupsandcups,

mine overall is white and diluted not creamy lei. Heard from my sil that such BM is not good for bb as there isn't any fats in it.

I have already used pacifiers when my Chloe is around 3 wks old. It helps in a way that there isn't much crying. It won't affect our breast milk supply as pacifiers is for bb. I don't know will it affect their teeth but it will definitely affect the shape of their mouth, i.e. lips. My nephew teeth formation is straight and nice whereas my niece one is crooked and ugly. Both are given pacifiers so i think it depends on individual.

Hi timpani,

the diff between foremilk and hind milk is that the latter is high in proteins, fats & calories and bb will not get hungry so easily.. your sil may be correct if your bb is not gaining weight as the foremilk is low in fats... however if your bb is growing well and putting on weight then think you should be fine... other mummies, agree?

hi pupsandcups,

i also used pacifier on Aidan but only when he's really crying very hard or at times trying to get to sleep... he's not obsessed with it and could do without it... your bb might reject it even if you first introduce to him (my bb did)...

hi leia,

we've got the same netted bouncer... i just let aidan sit and not rocking it...

hi pupsandcups,
i've not introduced the pacifier to my boy even though i have 2 (free gifts when I bought the avent steriliser). I've read that frequent use will affect the teeth development. Furthermore, my mum told me that babies using pacifiers will drool more than those without using pacifiers. She tried it out with the 4 of us. My elder sisters used pacifiers and they drool a lot. My 2nd sis can't live without her pacifier too. will cry whenever she drops her pacifier. So my mum did not give me and my younger sis pacifier and she found that we did not drool as much compared to my 2 older sis.

If u did not let ur child suck on the pacifier for long duration, I think it would not affect the teeth development and it would not be so hard to wean him/her off the pacifier later.

hi leia and jokojoko,
i have the same bouncer too. Mine is with wheels and i let kayden sit in it too. I dun rock it too. sometimes, just roll it around like in the stroller so he'll get used to the feeling next time when i bring him out.

Hi erin,
Which woman clinic are you refering to near our hm? Me alittle blur..hmm the price is rather cheap hor...

Hi timpani,
As what pupsandcups says, initial BM is rather light and transparent looking and then after a while, the bm that comes out shld be white n thicker..n hence the overall BM will be like milk colour..Think maybe u din experience letdown is it? Coz hindmilk is suppose to be thicker and more filling...

Leia, Erin,
Any idea how long the netted bouncer can last? Coz if it last only abt 3-4mths then no point for me to buy as jayden be turning 3mths soon alr...

Hi pupsandcups,
Have found this info abt pacifiers.

Problems with the use of pacifiers:
1) Pacifiers have been shown to interfere with breastfeeding, especially if introduced within the first 6 weeks of life.
2) Children who suck pacifiers may also be more prone to ear infections (otitis media); the relationship was demonstrated in the journal Pediatrics in September 2000.
3) Some older infants may have delayed speech development due to the pacifier's constant presence in their mouths preventing them from practising their speaking skills.
4) Some believe that pacifiers, if used for too long, may cause crooked teeth.

You may also want to read up http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/library/PR/00067.html

Hope it helps.

cocomo, okay lah! for you special! i will talk to my princess abt it! hahaha... =P

timpani, do not worry, sometimes at the beginning when I pump, my milk is also white n diluted. it's bcoz the milk isnt thick enuff yet, but as we pump n pump, the milk will run in. every mom is diff coz our bodies are diff in producing the BM.

just relax and enjoy BF-ing while we still can. and everything will be fine gradually. the more we stress over little things, the more our bodies cant relax. =)

Hi pupsandcups,

my gal suck pacifier only before she sleeps at night. So that she can sleep well, and i can sleep well too.
daytime, i did not give her pacifier.She can still sleep without sucking pacifier, but take a longer time to fall alseep

i also got the netted bouncer! haha...seems like alot of mommies had tat already! it's a good place to rest babies so tat we can face them and play with them! esp after bath, so cooling to let them rest on bouncer and play! =)

can one knows where to buy lamaze toys or anyone organising a BP for it? Coz saw that they have nice and educational toys for babies

Hi augbaby,
there is a women's clinic near to prime mart. The gynae is dr. loke.

dunno how long the netted bouncer can last but my friend was telling me can last till abt 8months old.

oh, he is very popular and affordable too. i actually wanted to engage him as my gynae when i was pregnant. heard he is very good and his stitching is really fantastic, some moms can even walk around in their ward the next morning with not much discomfort.

hi leobbsmom,
i went to him at times when i'm worried abt bb's development. cos sometimes can be quite hard to get my gynae from kkh in cases of emergency. my gynae from kkh also v. gd in her stitching. i gave birth at 2+am and was walking around at 8+am without much discomfort.

U also staying near tampines?

Hi cocomo,

Jayden was not wearing mittens already at 8 wks+? I tried on Aidan but he seems unaware of his hands and still scratch his face just a while ago! a big one somemore... so i hurriedly put back the mittens again... wanted to let him explore his surroundings... dunno when i can remove them permanently...

Hi jokojoko,
I juz started letting my jayden dun wear mittens and he seems to like exploring his hands and its better coz when wearing his mittens, his hands like permanently clench his fists and after i remove it, its better..but i cut his nails reali short so he wont scratch his face..U might wan to consider not letting him wear..so better for development...that is wat a friend say..in fact i also dun let jayden wear his booties anymore during the day as well...let his hands n legs air coz if not they will smell

hi augbaby,

ya, agree its better for his development... i cut and file his nails real short leh... but he still scratch himself... near the eye area... ok, think for a start i'll remove them when someone is watching... remove booties at day too...

pupsandcups,
i'm a anti-pacifier & anti-sarong mummy. didnt intro for elder boy so didnt give 2 edward too. in fact, when edward was abt 6-7wks, he was crying/fussing so badly at nite, husband went 2 get 4 pacifiers (fr different brands). edward refused all of them.

i dun give paci cos i dunno how 2 wean e bb off it. i heard some bbs can take paci until 2-3yrs old while some take until 5-6mths. i very soft-hearted mummy. once my bb cries very badly, i'll give in & offer e paci SO how 2 give paci like tat. the same happened when i wanted 2 stop BFg my elder boy when he was 6mths old. he cried so badly, refused bottle, rather starved so i gave in. i dragged & dragged weaning off BFg, all e way until he was 14mths old when i was preggie. then bo pian, hv 2 harden e heart & stop BFg.

wif me being like tis (a SAHM too), husband & i agreed tat we dun give paci & sarong.

jokojoko,
hahahaha, ya most pp says edward looks like my husband.

btw, i stopped putting mittens & bottees for edward since he turned 1mth old. it's essential for their development when they need their hands & feet 2 touch/feel stuff. edward loves it & is very happy when he's able 2 grab our clothes, touch our face, touch himself (his other hand, face, body), grab toys & feel other textures.

as for scratching himself, edward has scratched himself a few times but i guess it's really hard 2 avoid it cos their nails grow very fast. i'm already trimming his nails every 2-3days.

cocomo,
how's ur boy's poo poo? betta?

pupsandcups,
i dun give water when i'm TBFg. when i was BFg my elder boy, i also dun give water n relatives/my parents/ILs r concerned tat gabriel dun drink water when he's bigger. i started introducing water 2 my elder boy when he was 6mths old (when he started eating solids) and he wasnt keen in e 1st plc. now he's 2yrs old, drinks water everyday. i've also trained him 2 drink water on his own (when he's thirsty, he helps himself 2 his mag mag cup). of course i do remind him at times cos he can play until forget 2 drink water.

in fact when my parents/ILs saw my elder boy drink water (u shld hv seen them "forcing" their grandson 2 drink water when he was younger), they were SO surprised. they kept telling me, "i tot he wont drink cos u didnt give him when he was younger". i only shook my head & very happy tat i stood by my stand.

thanks all for the advice. but i realised that mine is really watery lei. Anyway, will give while i still can because i'm going back to work on the 1st nov and i have to stop. Before that, i will also need to introduce FM to her just in case she rejects. Hopefully not.

hi kelly,
your edward is so adorable & chubby too!

hi pups,
My hubby was the one who intro the pacifier to my gal when she was less than a mth old, bcos there was a period of time she always cries to be carried in the middle of the nite. But now she only wants the pacifier when she's tired n can't fall asleep, will push it out once she sleeps.

I heard from my mil that babies who suck pacifier won't suck their hands or thumbs, which is even harder to wean off, dun know how true lah...

And i dun give my gal any water too since she's on TBM.

hi jokojoko,
i've juz started not letting Denise wear mittens, so far so good after trimming her nails really short. the 1st time without the mittens she rubbed herself so hard that it hurts & she cried, now she's learnt to be more careful it seems and didn't scratch herself much.

augbaby,
My boy using the netted bouncer also but I dun think u shd buy that one now coz once Jayden can flip liao will be dangerous le coz the belt not very secure kind. I m gonna to change to others already.

Pups/Kelly,
My bebe poo-poo was greenish colour, PD said colour is normal for BF baby but then maybe infection coz after I burped him his tummy still lotso wind and also my bebe has been poo-ing once a days for past two weeks then suddenly ytday pooed 3 times. So now on medication lo.

Pups,
I let my boy has pacifier but only at night and only when hard to make him sleep.

Jokojoko,
Yup after one month I sometimes dun let Jayden wear mittens for his hands development (like what Kelly said) coz I read a book saying at 2 mths, baby hands mostly open and peers with interest with his fingers so better free them. But as you said, Jayden will scratch his face sometimes (ya esp near eye area) so I will make sure his nails are always short and smooth lo.

hi augbaby,
i put the frozen milk in the normal fridge compartment the night b4 for it to thaw.
currently my baby does not drink my frozen milk coz got enough supply, i give it to my 3.5 years old boy instead, coz i don wanna stock up too much frozen milk, taking up a lot of freezer space.

hi cocomo,
dunno leh, if i wanna freeze it then i'll do so immediately. always thot shldn't freeze it after 24 hrs, thot i read it somewhere. *shrug* dunno leh... :p heh heh.....

i put my daughter in the bouncer during the day, the one with the net material. mine is the super big type, selling at kiddy palace for abt $40 I think. can let her use it for a longer period compared to the small normal type. i got it from msia, Rm45. haha

hi, regarding feeding baby with water, i dont give my gal any water to drink, since she's on TBF, didn't give my son too until he was on solids. he's got no problem with water. a friend told me not to feed babies under 6 months with too much water as it'll dilute the blood. not sure if it's true.

smlow,
need ur advice here...does ur elder son takes e EBM? do u mix it wif FM? aiya, i have spare reserves of EBM n i doubt my younger boy edward will b able 2 drink it so tot of feeding my elder boy gabriel wif it. i gave him EBM b4, he refused 2 drink.

one other question, notice many not putting on mittens for baby now.. i tried but my boy scatched himself few times till bleeding....
so my mum/maid dun dare to leave him w/o mittens...
how?
how do u all cut nails, quite difficult ya, when they move jerkily and pull away...
his nails are so sharp tho so small :p

hi butter8,

my boy on FM... its ok to give water cuz FM is more heaty compared to BM... if bb is dehydrated then you sud give him some water... my boy only drinks abt 10ml each time i give... before i feed him milk else he wont drink cuz full already... but i dun give water so often la... only once a few days...

Butter8/Jokojoko,
My PD told me to give water around 15ml twice a day if given FM (maybe he refer to total FM la) around 1 hr after feed. Anyway diff ppl diff way of handling. hee. . .

thanks for all the tips
i think i will not introduce the pacifier, as much as i feel tempted to at times ...

about mittens, leon doesnt wear mittens anymore either. booties, i'll let him wear if we go to cold places.

about giving water, thanks for the support! think my stance is similar to kelly's on both pacifier and water heehee
my MIL also, keep asking me to feed leon water says he's dehydrated, what does she know bwahaha.

i was thinking, is it normal that leon still poos as much as he did when he was first born? i'm doing TBF, and basically after every other feed, esp feeds that last 30min, he is sure to poo.. so in a day .. he poos about 4times at least??

hi pupsandcups,
my gal also poo-poo abt 3-4 times a day. she's also on TBF. occasionally once a day, but that one time will be a BIG time poo-poo!!!

hi kelly,
i mix 1 scoop of his usual FM into the EBM. i dont let him know that it's EBM.... also, he's been taking amway protein berry flavour with his FM, so i still add that into the milk, i suppose the berry flavour mask the taste of the EBM so maybe that's why he doesn't know.

Smlow,

okie then i guess its normal that he poos so much. how do we actually tell if they have diarrheoa?

also leon dsnt sleep much, i counted, about 10hrs at night, and at most 2-3 half hours naps in the day. suppose to sleep at least 16hours a day right i read, for devt.

Hi Butter,
U can try cutting yr baby nails when he is sleeping. That is what i do..after feeding him, i will let him lean against my body and sleep coz i usually hold him for a while b4 putting him down as i scare he puke his milk..so as i am doing so, i can cut his nails lor..i use the pigeon scissors kind to cut his nails..think this is specially for bb..v easy n safe to use..

pupsandcups,
Leon is soooo very cute....!! Hee hee Btw check wif u ah, does yr bb hair grow v slow ah? We cut jayden hair when he is abt 1mth n till now, his hair like still v little leh...growing but slowly..haha

hello augbaby

no leh, i didnt cut his hair. his hair front grow q slow, but back grow fast, v weird haha.

u guys believe in trimming the eyelashes to make them grow longer? leon's eyelash q long now wondering if i shd trim

Hi all aug mums, I would like to know how much are your babies drinking and how often? My twins are drinking 120ml about 3-4hourly and still wake up for 2x feed at night. Wondering how many 2mo has sleep through the night?

I wish they would soon as I am very sleep deprived having to feed 2 babies at night.

Hi tch,

my ger drinks 80-110ml about 3 hrs. wake up one time at night for feed. last feed at night normally around 10 plus-11 plus. After that she will wake up at about 3am-4am for feed.

hi pups,
we did trim jayden eyelashes...n it grew even longer..we actually cut all his hair, eyebrows n eyelashes during his 1 mth...for him, haha, opposite...his front hair grow faster than his back. :p

hi tch,
for jayden, i feed him FM at nite..We usually make 4oz, but most of the time he do not finish 4oz...sometimes he does..but not often...last feed is abt 11+pm at nite...b4 that is all EBM...n then he will wake up at abt 6+am in the morning for his first feed which i will feed him ano 4oz which he usually finish abt 3oz only...As for EBM, he usually drink more..he will be able to consume 3-4oz and it last him abt 3-4hr max only...