(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

just brought kayden to pd. he's having phleghm and slight cough. was given med to dilute his phleghm. asked doc abt his decreasing appetite. She said it could be due to his cough. She asked me to dilute his milk and let him drink whatever amt he wants. Not to pressurize the baby into drinking. will be putting him at my mum's place these few nites until i recover. sigh... all my fault.

kayden has also been sticking out his tongue and tasting everything that he could reach. My shirt all wet with his saliva.

Also has been putting him on his tummy occasionally. was rather surprised that he could flip onto his back (only once) but he could not flip his legs. so his position was a bit awkward.

hi skyblue,
i also seldom use the sarong stand. it depends on kayden's mood. If he's fine, he'll willing sleep in the sarong. If not, he'll crying badly until we picked him up. Thanks. I just hope his appetite will go back to normal soon.

Hi JJ,
I did not use the cloth nappy but my CL is willing to handwash the cloth nappy if I use. Just that I think it's quite troublesome cos baby will cry when he'll wet. If using disposable diaper, not likely to cry so much. My confinement lady changes his diaper every 3 hrly before feeding or half and hr after feeding so use abt 8 diapers everyday.

Hi erin,
dun think its yr fault ya..i think u have been a reali good mummy already...take gd care of yrself in the meantime...anyway we can always meet up for a short while maybe during wkends or when i take leave..coz i still got 3wks...btw u juz put kayden on his tummy n he dun protest? i never try b4 leh...anyway i think shld not put him on his tummy after a feed rite? Coz thou of trying too..hee hee..anyway wat the difference in position ah? Coz jayden always lie on his back n i thou of lying him on his side or on his tummy.lying on his side, he will usually move back to his back again leh...

Btw i am thinking of getting motherlove goat rue to try as i still wan to increase my BM as i think now my BM is juz average..moreover i am going bk to work soon so i need to stock up..has anyone tried it n is it good?

Ninygo,

My son will put his whole fist into his mouth and suckle. Will not stop him yet. Will wait and see if he will wean off this.

My elder son weaned off his thumb on his own after a month. So will wait and see if it is the same case for #2.

hi AUg mommies...

my son also puke milk after drinking and this worries me.. it happens like 2-3 times a day. sometimes while sleeping, the milk shoots out from his nose and drools from his mouth then he awakes crying.. terrified.. is this normal?

he also got milk rash on this chin and face although i try to wipe everytime after feeding... see liao, so poor thing.. any solution? he also got some little ref dots like rashes on his eyebrow area... wat are those?? hmmm...

not easy be mum... hehee

Hi August mummies,
Hope u all don't mind me intruding! I also delivered my no 3 end aug.. and my gynae is Dr Joycelyn Wong.

Hey Leia and other ladies,
Saw your posting about the ebm stored in ess of chicken bottles.. I actually took some glass bottles from TMC's nursery for ebm too..

later found out from my CL that the avent disposable plastic bags are more convenient to store ebm.. you can just slot the empty bags into the milk bottles and express the milk right into the bags, clip them with a paper clip and label the dates, then store them in the freezer..

Thawing is so much easier as I just have to put the bag into a cup of hot water. Change the water if the milk is still cold then pour them into milk bottles for feeding..

Read from an article that plastics are better for storing than glass as the antibodies will not have any reaction with plastics( thought was the other way round when I had dd1 years ago)

Hey Mrs Chng, my bb also had milk rash, so aft nursing every time, I'll wipe his mouth with cotton wool dabbed with cool boiled water.. it helps !

My bb will also puke a little aft drinking.. try burping your bb? And mine will cry half way thru nursing him, cos he choked on the breast milk..

Hope my info helps ! Cheers !

Hi celine & skyblue,
Thanks! Now trying to make him kick the bad habit. Whenever see him sucking his own thumb,i'll pull his hand away.He used to suck his left hand but now he seems to learn that he got a right hand to suck.

Hi augustmum,
Wah! ur boy is even better suck whole fist.
Btw, my mum was telling me that if the baby suck the thumb, he'll be good to his father.
If baby suck whole fist, he'll be good to both parents. So u're lucky!

Mrs Chng: my gal did that too when she was younger. what u can do is spend more time burping your son, oso make sure that your son sleeps on his side and prop up his head with a pillow so that he's not sleeping flat on the bed.

hope this helps!

Ningyo,

Wowww, you made me sooo happy...

Mrs Chng,

I used cool boiled water to clean my baby's face. Apply Hazeline too. Took about a month for the milk rash to go away, for my son's case.

As for the red dots on the eyebrows, could be cradle cap. My son has it too. I just wipe with cool boiled water. You may want to check yr baby's head to see if there's brown patches or flakes; if yes, then can confirm it is cradle cap.

I bought cradle cap shampoo from Guardian to clear the cradle cap (on the head, not the eyebrows). Took a week to clear.

wat are milk rashes? what do they look like? my girl has rashes all over nose, cheeks and forehead.. abit like pimples leh.. and only on the face.. in 2 minds whether to go see PD or not about it..

Jasmine,

Yr description sounds like milk rashes...haha...pd will tell you to wipe with cool boiled water...that's wat zac's pd told me...this info for $40...

jasmine,
if got a white dot in the middle of the red rash- it's not milk rash. it's'pimple' due to pregnancy hormones. my boi got it n PD gave 'pimple' cream. otherwise, it's not.

sierra,
u mean using a pillow prevent milk regurgitation? my boi sleeping on a piece of nappy n after every feed pukes. i tot sleeping flat is better, so wont choke?

ningyo,
haha, i like ur mom's theory.

gals,
btw i m trying to collect sakae sushi receipts to apply for member card. anyone eaten ther recently n can spare me their receipts please let me know. keke..

hi mommies

i haven't logged on for so long as i dont have regular internet access, but really miss the support i get here.

had a quick read thru the thread, and also experiencing the same stuff with leon. milk rash, don like to burp etc.

feeling a bit low
i have real difficulties EVERY night putting leon to sleep. the moment either my hubby or me puts him down he cries. sigh. the worse thing is, my maid (at my mom's house) has no problem putting him to sleep, she takes jus 10minutes, and he's fast asleep. my hubby and me struggle for 2-3hours sometimes trying to put him to sleep. makes me feel v incompetent as a parent...

i'm still doing TBF, jus latching on. any idea if i introduce the bottle now will leon suffer nipple confusion?

miss u guyzz

pupsandcups,

Don't fret too much. I feel the same way too. I hate it when my boy cries and when I pick him up and hold him close to my chest (learn from CL one), he cries even louder. But when my CL does that, he quieten down. Like duhhh!!?? It's like he doesn't like me!!!

Whatever...

Anyway, if he doesn't like, I also bo pian. He's just gotta learn to like or have fun exercising his lungs a little. I really tried to be as consoling and comforting as I can already!

*frown*

thanks for the assurance Leia

sigh i think baby knows the experienced mommies, my maid has 3 kids, and she's v cool and calm, not anxious like me i guess. sigh, so tired from spending nights trying to put leon to sleep. nowadays, we put him in his carrier, baby bjorn, at midnight, jus to put him to sleep, works some times.

cj,
If ur bb regurgitates milk, it's not safe to lie flat cos the risk of choking is even higher. Propping up on a pillow/holding upright after feeding may reduce regurgitation.

ningyo, celine, augustmum,
Though i prefer pacifier to thumb, my boi doesn't like pacifier much. At times he 'pui' the pacifier out and sucks the side of his fist. Oh well...

erin,
My Kayden oso dun like the sarong at times. :p Last nite he was fussing, so we put him in sarong. Fussed even more. Got him out, pat him a while in the arms, he zz liao. ;P

haven't log in for a while...been kept awake by my gal during the nites haiz...

She's been regurgitating milk (a few times projectile kind, puke until whole body) very often recently and it does improve by propping her up on my pillow. However, the colic problem did not go away so she wouldn't sleep. Tried every method like massaging wif 'ru yi' oil and gave her the anti-colic med given by PD, only sleep for few mins then wake up crying again. Today really desperate liao, went out to get the gripe water as adviced by my eldest sis, hope it'll work well for her...

By the way, i thot baby on breast milk wouldn't be so colicky leh, how come stil like that huh?

hi leobbsmom ,

I have already try the jamine flower last time , make BB face worst , so stop applying and went to see a PD , Pd give cream to apply lor =)

kao_sad2.gif
Hi Skyblue,
Nay, Jul doesn't entertain himself.
When he's awake, he very much wants us to interact with him or carry him.
Even the expensive mobile that we have didn't work that well with him (though it worked well with his brothers).
The maximum time he stays in the cot with the mobile on was 10 minutes.
Thereafter, he would want a change of environment, either by placing him somewhere else or carrying him.

He's sleeping much better only when carried.
This was further reinforced as I picked Joe up from school with Jul.
(Journey takes about 2 hours to and fro including waiting time for the bus services)

Ha ha ... I have no idea how to wean him off this.
I just came out of my confinement and didn't expect Jul to have this habit so quickly!

Hi Fiona,
I was reading some articles and came across the following excerpt that will be helpful to us:
http://www.drgreene.com/21_393.html

Studies strongly suggest that if your breast fed baby is colicky, it is worth a try to eliminate cow's milk from your diet. You will want to avoid cheese, ice cream, milk (in a glass or on cereal), yogurt, puddings, custards, cream sauces, and butter. This is not a quick fix, however. Cow's milk protein can remain in breast milk for up to two weeks after the mother has stopped eating dairy foods. To see whether dropping dairy really makes a difference for your child, have your dietary experiment last about 3 weeks. If the change in your eating habits does improve your baby's colic, you will probably want to avoid dairy at least until the typical colicky period is over -- when your baby is 12 to 16 weeks old. If your child's colic was severe and it turns out that he or she is especially sensitive to cow's milk protein, you may want to avoid dairy even longer. Although many babies become tolerant of cow's milk protein before their first birthdays, some children can take a full year or longer, and some never become tolerant.
kao_sad2.gif
Personally, I took a lot of milk during my first pregnancy and Joe came out allergic to diary product.
(It was quite bad. We had to rush him to A&E when he's 4 months old as the rashes and swelling spread all over his body & possibly his internal organs then). Now he's coming 4, his allergy is tapering off however he does develop rashes when the milk content in the food is high.

With Jav, I didn't consume as much milk as I did with Joe and Jav is not allergic to diary product at all.

hi mummies..

i gave birth on the 2nd aug to jabez.. my gynae's A.L Lim from TMC..

pupsandcups: i had the same case as u.. during confinement, my mum and elder sis was the one looking after jabez.. after confinement end, i was not close to him at all.. felt incompetent as well.. like he doesnt like me or what? why is it that i always could not make him to sleep and when i carry him, he cry.. if they were the ones who carry, he stops crying.. i nearly had depression because of it.. haha.. im so weak! i guess i'm too rash.. they just ask me to take my time.. hehe..

Fiona,

I guess bb don't just take in air from milk bottles but if they cry, or "gek" (maciam like constipated) a lot?

I can sometimes get several big burps from my boy after bfg (he's on TBF) cos sometimes he don't nurse quietly but make a lot of noise, which I reckon are opportunities for him to suck in more air.

hi augbaby,
ok. hope we can meet up one of these days. I've been sleeping throughout the day for these 3 days. The cough mixture is strong enough to knock me out. luckily, i leave kayden at my parents' place overnite. otherwise sure cannot take good care of him. me feeling better after all these days of rest. am hoping i'll recover fully soon.

kayden will rest on his tummy for a while. in fact, he seems to enjoy it some times. Is Jayden's neck stronger? Kayden can now turn his head from left to right liao but my parents say i still have to look out.

hi augustmum,
kayden also like to put his fist in his mouth and suck. my dad says he's eating drumstick. lol. will not be giving him pacifier thou cos my mum says very difficult to wean him off pacifier. my sis will wail for her old pacifier even though my parents bought her a new one. anyway, if he's doing well wothout pacifier, even better for me.

hi ningyo,
that's gd news for me too

Hi Noe/Leia,
Thanks for the info, i did took some milk recently. comes to think of it, she started fussing thru the nite eversince then.

Now i have a headache...will be joining my hubby for a trip to mauritius in 1st wk of oct but until now only managed to stock up about 10 feeds of EBM. And now baby has this problem, today tried one feed of formula and she regurgitated everything again, so thot of supplementing her with soy formula instead. What would you suggest? And any soy formula to recommend? Kinda desperate now....haiz

Hi Fiona: u can try Isomil, available at most supermarket. Perhaps your baby doesn't like the taste of the formula that is given? How about mixing it with a bit of EBM?

Hi Sierra,
Thanks! Will ask my hubby go get it today.
It's not the taste bcos she actually finishes the formula feed, she can regurgitate twice in large amount and will only stop when the formula is totally out of her system, very scary... And the vomitus is not digested at all kind(no sour smell), think she juz can't tolerate cow's milk...

sierra, skyblue
thanks for advise.

pups,
i also felt v 'useless' cos my maid is the one who can carry the bb n calm him down better than me. At the same time, i m worry dat bb will be sticky to her n not closeto me. i was so mad wen one night Hb went to spot check n found she actually let bb sleep together on her bed instead of in his cot! however, i cant cope without a helper n i dun hav a substitute babysitter dat i can trust now. life is so 'stuffy' nowsadays, cant leave bb at home alone, cant leave the maid at home alone.. so outings mean everybody goes together.

cj,

Just curious, will you be going back to work? Is the maid going to be the only person looking after bb when you're back to work?

hi cj,

my maid also calms my baby better than me.. and im ok with it... she is more experienced and this is the reason why we have a maid right? to help us taking care of baby and relieve our stress... but u have to make her understand that baby must sleep in the cot.. dun worry too much about baby sticky to maid... end of the day they know who's their parents and who is bringing home the bread and butter... just make it a point to feed/carry/play with baby often enough..

dear mummies,

just called my pd's nurse and asked her about the feeding... was told that every baby is different... so long as they do not have persistent vomitting means they are not overfeed... cuz my baby drinks about 4oz 2-3 hourly... seems a lot right.. he is only around 4.2kg... she says the feeding is alright...

On a separate note, just to share with you a story about my baby... he caught bacteria infection 2 weeks ago and it's called salmonella... fever and constant diarrhea with blood in his stools... very sad... had 7 jabs of antibiotics and finally discharged on the 5th day... while in the hospital, pd also discovered he has an inborn physical defect called hernia (common for boys, 1 in 500)... done a day surgery 2 days ago to stitch up the hole inside near groin area... lucky it's 100% success rate... i said to myself to be positive at least it's discovered early.. told it could be death-threatening sometimes if discovered too late (my pd's boy also discovered he has it in his early teens just sometime ago)...

my afterthoughts... everyone must be very clean and hygiene is very impt when handling baby... make sure we (and maid) wash hands (with soap!) before handling baby... also, i will not save on vacinnations... even for those that are optional... it will be too late to regret if anything happens in future...

hi guys

finally regular internet access

can i ask, usually for boys when should u start considering circumcision?

sigh, had a breast infection, well, block milk ducts earlier this week, which resulted in a fever. i called the breastfeeding hotline, they said jus keep nursing baby, and massaging, ive been doing that, but i still feel some lumps .. but my fever is gone.

yest, i spent an entire day giving in to baby, and devoting myself to carry him non-stop, it REALLY helped him and he slept v well last night. but it means i cant do any housework, watch tv or anything .. but the night before we tried the more 'strict' method, and not carrying him as much, and he was a terror the whole night.. sigh, dunno how.

pupsandcups,

Hv u tried putting bb on the bouncer chair? In the day, when my boy is tired/cranky but can't seem to fall asleep and keep crying on/off, I put him on the bouncer and rock it. If it happens at night, I'll nurse him to sleep - it has a sort of calming effect (the bible calls it "comforting breasts" - Isaiah 66:11 :p).

And sorry to hear about your infection. How did that happen, really? You stop expressing for a while? Last Tues was out for abt 7hrs to run some errands. Though I brought a manual pump out to "relieve" myself, decided to take the risk and not use it. By the time I got home, I was ROCK HARD and was damned scared I'll get blocked ducts and the whole suite of other things. Prayed damned hard, and pumped/massaged out milk from one side which nearly overflowed a 4oz bottle. It was a major relief after that and I vowed never to do anything as silly as this again. :p

Jokojoko,

Thanks for your sharing and sorry to hear about what your bb has gone through recently. Hope bb's well and happy now. I checked out the net on salmonella and found this:

http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dbmd/diseaseinfo/salmonellosis_g.htm

However, after reading the article, I'm still puzzled as to how your bb would have gotten infected. Something that had gone into the mouth must be contaminated. Then again, besides milk (formula?), what else can there be? Milk bottle? Pacifier?

hi fiona,

all babies will hv gas problems no matter how we try to avoid. we can only reduce the colic.

u can boil an egg, until it becomes hard-boiled. peel the shell, take out the egg yolk. use only the egg white to rub bb's stomach and back. then apply ru yi oil to her stomach and back.

u can also use the egg to rub her head(front). bb will either burp or fart to release the "wind" after tat.

this method also will help bb to pass motion, if your bb has bowel movement problem like mine too.

Leia, i also nurse my bb to sleep sometimes. yes, she sleeps beta this way. the moment i transfer her to sarong or bed, she will wake up and cry.. =(

juz pop in for a while..been busy lately..i be organising a BP for Motherlove Goat Rue to increase BM...A lady was nice to share the contact wif me..however she requested that i dun reveal the pricing till there is confirmed buyers...however it is less than $45 while outside is sold at $48...kelly be getting as well...so if anyone of u is interested, pls join in the thread in the BP...thanks..

hi jokojoko and cj,
i m august mummy from this forum as well. have been reading all the post. can i ask, is ur maid phillipines or indonesia? cos recently i just employ 1, but seems like she cant handle my baby well.. my baby do not have the habit of puking, but since last week after she feeds my baby, even b4 he can finish, he puke, n puke alot. heart pain to see him like tis, feeling very angry as well..

hi leia,

baby is ok now... seems unaffected by all the things he went thru... baby was infected either from contaminated poultry or after toilet visits by the infected person handling baby if he/she did not wash hands thoroughly before feeding baby... it's not from the bottle or pacifier... but rather the persons handling baby... thus good hygiene is the preventive measures in this case... must remember to wash hands thoroughly...

hi ling2,

my maid is from phil... she is new here but has experience in taking care of baby in phil... understands and speaks moderate english (in my opinion not that bad) and so far she handles baby quite well (noted she managed to burp baby better than my ex-CL)... chose her cuz she indicated "infant care" as her no.1 strength... did u watch ur maid feed your baby? did she feed the same amt and is the teat size same as previous? did she burp your baby? was wondering if baby was overfed or drink too fast thus cannot digest/swallow in time...

hi jokojoko,
thanks for the reply. mine is from indonesia. she claim that she has got experience looking after baby from previous employer, which is 4 yrs ago. if as wat she claim, even if she has forgetten, by nw, (a week), she shd be able to do better already.
1) she dun really know how to hold my baby and burp properly
2)the amt she feeds my baby is the amt i gave him b4 she came.
3)surprisingly, usually i take abt 20mins to half an hr to feed my baby (150ml). but for my maid, like she spend 20mins, my baby only consume abt 50ml, by then, the milk alrdy becomes cold.
as for housework, she can handle quite well, but tats not wat i m looking for. have been teling her tat baby is no. 1, housework no. 2. she got to learn fast. the agency also told her when i 1st employ her tat my only concern is taking care of baby. nw i m lost, to let her try again or change? if i let her try, its like let my baby suffer leh, dun know how..

hi leia,
wen i go back to work, i intend to bring bb over to my mom's.however, my mom is no good at bbcare as well n i m afraid she will oso need to rely on the maid.

jokojoko,
i agree that i need to spent more time with bb. but wen bb gets cranky, seems like he doesn't take well to me so e maid has to come n 'rescue' me.

ling2
mine is fr indo n previously has no experience in bb care but learnt fr my CL wen she was still around. my bb does puke all the while after drinking... i m worried cos these 2 days he did not pass motion n his drinking volume dropped. furthermore, he duzen seem hungry too. like wat jokojoko said, u shd check whether how was the bb fed. As for my case, 1 morning she told me she gave the bb 1 oz each time at 3am, 4am and 5 am again. wen i ask her why, she told me cos he din finish his milk at midnight. On another day, my bb din finish his milk at 1 am, so she gave him the remainder at 4 am and ther was still some leftover. she 'smartly' went to top up this qty, mixing wif BM still in the fridge. luckily HB woke up, n stopped her in time. but my BM wasted, cos have to throw it away, so heart pain.

Hi mothers,

Zac went for jab this morning. Sign...his rashes came back agin. PD asked me to stay away from dairy products, eggs and nuts. Aiyah, happened to have eaten all these three b4 his rashes came back. Now, quite headache, most food has eggs and milk. How? no more ice cream, chocolate, milo, cookies etc

hi cj,

for ur case, u hv to watch tightly over her. cos i heard its not good to let baby drink milk that is leftover for more than an hr, and we cant mix with "fresh" milk. so r u worried huh? for me, i feel so worried..

i do watch her when she does the feeding. she like no strength, keep pushing the bottle so hard into his mouth, or if not press so hard onto his tongue. thus i keep telling n reminding her not to do this, but my baby still puke when she feeds. but not when others feed.. then when i ask her how she feed her own kids(3), she says she does BF. wat makes me more annoyed is that she tell me her previous employer's baby smaller size, not so diffiult to handle, the baby dont fuss abt so much.

thanks for the advice LEIA

think i had the infection cos leon now demands milk in the day every 3-4hours, as opposed to 2-3hours, night time only every 4-5hours, is this normal? each feed is at least half an hour, and he still poops and pees loads so i assume its ok, altho i don really know ....

leon used to like the rocking chair, but these days it doesnt pacify him anymore .... latching on he's v guai, but the moment i un-latch him, on a bad night, he'll cry again. he's rather unpredictable, i dunno wat r his triggers. anyway to figure it out?

hi cj,

same for me, maid always comes to my rescue... so u are not alone...

ling2 is right... dun keep leftover for next feed.. guess the maid did that in hometown (my maid told me their milk bottle is longer thus continue feeding with leftover)... u have to stress it to her not to do it again.. u know, they might feel it is a total waste to throw the leftover away...

ling2,

u may have to re-train her... show her how u feed... teach her like how u would teach a new maid... guess if she can do that then u dun have to go thru the whole maid hiring process again... u never know if what u see is what u get right...

hi jokojoko and all mummies,

ya, to re-train the maid is really not easy. can i ask, does ur baby sometimes fuss when drinking milk? eg. shift head left n right and seems frustrated, make noise like grumpy at times, fall asleep n doesnt want to drink and let the milk flow out from the mouth? cos my baby (jayden, same name as augbaby
) seems to behave like this more often recently..

Hi all mummies

I'm new here and have been reading all threads. My bb is 6 wks old now and i'm thinking of employing a maid to take care of her when i'm back to work in Nov. Any recommendations on whether Indon or Philp Maid is better? What is the price differences and any good agencies?

Hi ling2 - my bb is also like that, she likes to stretch and also shifts her head left and right. Whenever she does this, i will stop the feed to burp her. She will give out a big burp and then continue drinking. You may try. Or, it may means that ur bb is already full. In such circumstances, i won't force bb to drink cos am afraid that she will vomit all the milk out. I kanna once like this before. It is like merlion. Scary!

hi ling2,

yes my baby also behaves like that when drinking milk and has been like that since weeks ago if i remember correctly... think sometimes the baby cannot suck the teat in right position hence got frustrated... ya if he falls asleep while drinking halfway then sometimes the milk will flow out cuz they did not swallow... half asleep i guess... just rem to let baby sleeps on the side to prevent choking on milk...

hi pearlyn,

think it really depends on luck to get a good maid... but some points you could consider though:
1) if your family can speak malay, then u may still consider indo... however generally phil speaks english better..
2) phil tends to learn and adapt faster
3) look at their biodata if they have relevant experience... for my case, i looked for maid who is a mother herself, plus-point if she has experience in taking care of (other) babies and not too old as she may feel lethargic if handling night feeds (my maid is 27 yrs old)... my family doesn't speak malay so phil is a better choice for us... phil is ard $350 and indo is ard $280... hope this helps...

Hi Jokojoko

thanks. i guess there are pros and cons. heard that Indo is better because they do not entitled to any day off thus not easily corrupted. :p Anyway, like what you said, it depends on luck to get a good maid. Btw, i thought for an indo maid is around $450. How come it is only $280. Are there any hidden costs? Any levy?

Talk about bb. Sometimes my bb can still puke after an hour of her feed. Does you all encounter this? And the smell is sour seems like vomiting. Is it normal? My ger is around 6 wks old liao.

hi pearlyn,

phil can also without off day but must pay extra ard $20 and the maid must accept of course. the contract will specify this if both parties agreed... the costs above are just the maid's salary, levy is another $200...