(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi jokojoko and ong fong ling,

thanks for the reply.. tink will have to monitor baby n maid more.. as for my case, when i hire this maid, the things tat i look out for also the same as jokojoko, my maid is 29yrs old..

Hi joko,
how much is the maid's salary? So what u mean is that actually phil maid costs ard $550 but with the levy of $200, u only fork out $350 per month and this excludes her salary. Am i right? I'm sorry for so naggy cos i am blur. :p

Hi ling2 - urs is also Phil maid?

hi timpani,

mine is indo, her salary is $290 w/o off day. levy fee is $200.. sigh.. she just broke 1 one my sliding glass in the kitchen, a loud bang, like something explode, luckily nobody is hurt. din noe wat to say, she keep apologising..

alamak. how did she managed to do that? Do u mean one of your sliding glass door? That is huge? What do u intend to do to her? Asking her to compensate? By the way, how long is this maid with you liao?

long time no come in here - was at my mums place cuz hubby overseas...

did see a doc and chatted to many friends. i am having stress & anxiety coupled with lack of sleep my hormones are going haywire... but lucky i am aware and can seek help. partially need to get help to look after baby so i can catch some rest and oso learn to let go and trust others. i wan to settle this, before i go back to work.

but as i see the thread has been talking about maids... sigh, how to trust them rite? mine when at my mum's place become like another person, whatever i train, she seem to purposely forget, maybe not scared of my mum. but gave her a chance, did a pep talk and hope to see some improvement.
better u know this one, her problems, and can control.. get a new one, oso dunno she will be like how.
unfortunately maid is also one of the stress for me. anyway, if we dun feel comfortable, then better to change.

hi timpani,

its huge! from 4pm till nw, still cleaning. mum advice me to throw away all rug and table clothes, so many tiny glasses all over. worried tat baby' utensil will get it. keep cleaning. all together, 5 BIG red plastics bag of glass. will not ask her to compensate cos dun tink she got money. very angry also cannot show, cos she also very scared liao. tell her wat happen is no choice liao, then tell her PLEASE be very careful next time, do not bring baby to the kitchen. sigh, wat can we do rite? boring, some more going to bangkok on thus for a short trip b4 going bk to work, seeing her like tat, make me feel so worried, like i made a wrong choice to travel..

yes, it is always better to have a change of maid if you are not comfortable. I find that it is difficult to trust them unless they have already worked for you for years. So, i always think that it is better to have an adult around even when back to work. Unless, they dared not do anything fishy behind your back. Maybe i too kiasu.

ling2 - agreed. you can't do anything except to accept it lor. But you can use this as a reminder and tell her that if such things happen again, she will be back to her hometown lor. Hopefully, she will guai guai. U going to bangkok for a holiday? Leaving only ur bb and the maid?

for all - any good maid agencies to recommend?

timpani,

will be going with hubby. maid n baby will b staying at my mum's place, cannot leave her alone with baby. even after i go back to work, maid n baby will be at mum's place as well, then will fetch them after work. me in retail, so timing not fix lor, abit difficult.

glad to hear that as least someone can watch over your maid. Since your mum can help u to look out, no worries. Enjoy ur holiday.

btw, did u on BF? What are you going to do when u are in bangkok? Pump and throw away?

hi, mummies
did any of u feed ur bb with infacol (meant for treatment of colic/wind)? my bb is 7 wks old and has colic - been cying alot at night and cannot be consoled. bought infacol but wondering how much we can give. according to the instruction, for 1 month - 2 yrs - to give 0.2ml but doesn't say how many times a day. is it once a day or with every feed? can someone pl advise? quite desperate now. tks.

edksd,

Zac's rashes are on his face and ears. His skin (whole body) is also very dry. As I had eczema when I was young and so does my elder son, doc suspected that Zac has eczema too.

So, to prevent it from getting worse and to reduce the dependent on steriod cream, I have to watch my diet to avoid food that can trigger off the eczema. Zac also could not use soap at the moment.

Agreed that one has to watch over the maids carefully. As a SAHM, has seen maids gathering in the afternoon, at the void deck chatting while the babies and toddlers are left by the side, playing.

Have also seen maids who are chatting among themselves, feeding toddlers about one year old or younger 'twisties' in the evening at the playground. Isn't it supposed to be the young one's dinner time?

Seeing all these, I dare not employ a maid.

long time no log in... been stressed with baby and maid myself. Megan wants to be carried all the time.. only puts her down when she sleeps but after less than half hour, she wails again wanting to be carried. Apart from carrying her, feeding her, changing her diapers and pumping milk, I am left with little time for other things except sleep.

Do any of you encounter your babies not wanting to sleep at night? for the past few nights, i have been feeding her at 2 am for an hour and she will be wide awake till 4 am before she knocks off... so tiring!Any idea how to resolve this?

How much is your baby drinking now? my baby is about 4.7kg now at 6 weeks..is 120ml enough or she would need more?

Talking about maids, I just sent off my previous maid and only to be plagued with problems with the new maid. This time I got an indo maid... she is much better than my previous fili maids... she is hardworking, obedient and helps as and when she can.. just when I thought I found the one, she told me (after 7 days with me) that she missed homw and wanna go back indonesia... fainted... now she is working with us on a temp basis waiting for my replacement maid to come...I really hope to settle the maid issue b4 i go back to work!

going crazy....

hi timpani,

mine is phil, her salary is $350 w/o off day. levy fee is $200.. the levy is deducted from your bank account thru giro... $350 is what you pay the maid.. so total $550...

hi amberlyn,

im feeding my baby ridwind (also for infant colic).. 0.2ml 3 times per day before feeding... dun think you should feed your baby too many times...

hi piyo,

my bb is also 6 wks old and drinks 120ml 2-3 hourly... is it same as yours? sometimes i wonder if i should increase to 150ml so it could last longer...

hi augustmum,

yes, common worry is maid will chit chat outside when no one is at home.. what we've done is to put house keys in a sealed envelope and maid can only use it in case of emergency... if the envelope was opened we will know...

Hi Amberlyn

I'm feeding my bb with ridwind as well. It is 0.5ml 4 times a day before feeding. It is prescribed by PD. You can direct feed her or if she is sleeping, you can add it into her milk.

wow, you guys are feeding 120ml of milk. Mine is only 100ml. And recently my bb crys after feeding her. I'm not sure if it means she doesn't have enough or she has difficulties in burping. I think i will try to increase her intake and see how. I'm just heartpain if she is not able to finish my BM.

Hi jokojoko. thanks.

Hi all mummies. Any maid agency good? if yes, can email ([email protected]) me the contact. I'm looking for a maid urgently cos i'm going back to work in Nov.

normally if i feed her, she is able to finishes all her milk. But if it is my mil, she will definitely left 10-20ml. Does ur bb finishes her milk everytimes?

hi piyo,

my bb now sleeps better at night... this is what i do.. i put on night light instead of lighting up the whole place when doing night feeds cuz dun want to break bb's sleep mode. also, when i put bb to bed, usually he dun fall asleep immediately so i let him suck pacifier for a while until he got tired & sleepy then removed it... think sometimes they just want to nibble for comfort.. my bb is not a fan of pacifier but dunno why this managed to work quite well... at least for now...

my bb's feeding interval is around 3 hours. And it can be more if she is sleeping but not more than 4 hours. My bb is still not able to sleep through the night. Really envy those that are able. I'm now lack of sleep because i still wake up in the middle of the night to pump. My pumping is also every 3 hours. *SIGH* Being a mother is real tough.

Hi piyo

this is wat i do as well. and in the middle of the night, i usually feed FM instead of BM. Because my bb will wake up wanting to drink milk but only managed to drink around 60ml FM at most each time and then doze off. Once she dozes off, i won't force her to drink but just let her be. And if she can't sleep, i will give her pacifier lor. Once she slept, she will puke out the pacifier.

hmmm, my boy will finish the 120ml at 2am and at 5am... hope he not drinking too much :p
most of the time he takes almost all his 120ml during the day, at about 2 -2.5hr intervals...

seems like a lot to me...

my bb gives trouble after his last feed the 9pm one, will not sleep and eyes open big big...me and maid have to take turns carry but usually fall asleep after maybe 45mins. a bit tiring but still holding back the pacifier... wonder whether i should introduce it yet...

however, during the day, he is now much more active...

oh just wanted to do a wipe for him and found red dots on his chest... ah yo - is that rashes?
can i use drapolene creme on it?

Hi butter8

How old is your bb liao? 120ml at every 2-2.5hr interval seems alot to me. Mine is only 100ml at every 3 hours or at most 2.5 hours. And she is around 6 wks old.

Not sure whether u can use drapolene. But any of you know of rashes all over the face. My bb got it, not sure if it is what called milk rash. Now, her face seems to peel.

hi timpani,

my bb got rashes tat seems red n patchy on his 3rd wk. went to see PD, was given a cream to apply. it clear within a week. PD says maybe due to us kissing him too much
, allergy to fur from pets or toys..

ya, mine is red n patchy now and it begins to peel. Anyway will bring my bb for hep b jab next mon. Then will ask the PD for it.

Nat she is having rough skin at her cheek.. is it becos of her sensitive skin or? any recommend to apply which will help? I keep using lukewarm water to clean her face cos still got shedding skin....

Hi Cynthia

My Chloe also has dry skin after recovering from her rash. I'm trying out Cetaphil moisturising cream on her face. Seems to be working so far. Cetaphil is pretty good for sensitive skin according to my dr friend.

Cynthia, Timpani ling2 and zshih,

I'm using aqueous cream, a moisturiser prescribed by my pd, to treat the dry skin. As for the rash, use cool boiled water. I also notice cool weather and air-conditioning help to reduce the redness.

Ling2, the cream prescribed by pd has steriod in it, so, must limit use, no gd for babies. My pd advised us not to use it too often but be patient. Although the cream works very fast, the rash will also come back.

Hi mummies!!

I'm an Aug mom too!!Gave birth to my 2nd girl on 14th Aug at ESH.Hope to be able to share and contribute to this thread regularly.
My baby girl is coming to 7wks and is on tbsfd.Weighing in at 6kg now-definitely much bigger than her sister was :)My 1st girl was tbsfd for 2yrs and I hope this time it's just as long!Used to be a FTWM but now am a SAHM who's pretty much on my own as the hubby travels often.Some days can really be very trying as I've no help but as my elder girl who's coming to 4yo is in a daycare/nursey,it somehow lightened the load.

any1 using hazeline on their baby? my mil just suggested using it everyday after bath to moisturise my son's face but i din want. she says his skin will be smooth and pimple-free. i remembered that we shouldn't anyhow apply things on baby's skin.how to reject her ah? btw, i've checked with my parents and they din apply anything on my sis n me and our skins are still fine.

my boy is about 7 weeks old now...

jokojoko,
hope my boy dun become heavy weight champion then :p
checked with PD, she say ok... if he wan eat can let him have more milk...
sigh...
looking after bb is not easy.. always worry for them...

my hubby is down with flu, grandma wans me to send bb over as a precaution... sigh. all the moving around is tiring, each time must pack things up and down...
any of you have to shuffle b/w home and grandparents home a lot?
i dun mind actually, cuz my mum can help keep an eye on bb and maid... at least bb has loving grand ma...
only if i dun stay over, i will miss bb...
i hope he dun get affected with moving up and down on the weekly basis.

hi!

any1 still having flabby and big tummy? i'll be going to work in 3 wks time. can fit in the pre-pregnancy tops but waistline still tight for my pre-pregnancy bottoms. How? guess i'm still very sensitive about ppl's remarks. my mil and aunt has commented how come i still have a big tummy. my mil even asked me what good food i eat at my mum's place until my tummy is so big. was rather angry at 1st but after talking to hubby, decide to ignore her remarks.

Have been doing crunches and cutting down on my diet but my waistline is still big. 30.5". How to reduce back to 24"? anyone doing something else that can help reduce the flabs?

With regards to rashes on babies faces,do you all know that our bm itself is a natural antiseptic as it contains lots of antibodies...no need to spent money on countless creams...just apply a bit of bm!It worked on my 2 girls.
You can also use it for light scars,mosquitoe/insect bites,as eye drop for mild eye infections etc

hi butter,
so envious that ur boy is a big eater. mine used to drink quite a lot during the 1st 5 wks but then the amt he drinks nowsadays is stagnant for these 3 wks. He's still drinking 100ml to 120ml. at times, it can be lesser than that. a bit worrying huh?

i was down with flu and left my baby at mum's place overnite. baby was ok there at nite so not so bad. I was the one who was very sad rather than the baby. Missed my boy a lot.

I have been bringing my boy over everyday to my parents' house after confinement ends. A bit ma fan but as u say our mums can help to keep an eye on bb. To avoid packing and unpacking things , I buy double of everything (1 set to be kept at home and another to keep at parents' place).

butter8, seems like one of my twins is quite like yrs. He will sleep most part of the day, then after the evening feed at 6 or 7pm, he will eyes big big, then after awhile, inconsolable crying till about 9+pm. Don't know what to do with him.

My twins are now 7 weeks. Wondering how much wake time does all your babies have in the day? Mine normally are only awake for abut an hour or slightly more, twice in the day. Wonder if they are sleeping too much in the day and thus fuss at night.

Hi tch!

My 7wk old is pretty much awake for the same duration as yours in the day time.However she still sleeps well at night.Usually by 8.30pm and thereafter will wake up every 3-4 hrs for milk.

Normally baby fusses a lot if they're over stimulated=overtired esp if we 'play and talk 'to them too much before bedtime thus important for tuning it down when night falls.Also could be they're uncomfortable from gas?Try burping/massaging.
Thse are what works for me.Perhaps could be other probabilities too.Just sharing!

Hi delsa,

ya i heard of BM v gd to treat heat rashes etc.. BT i use it for bb face... IT WORSEN! DEn I got nag by MIL n mum say e face rashes or dryness can be due to "milk" a kind of dono wat saying..

Nat she seem active.. she can stay awake for a stretch 3hr in e morning like 9-12 den slp till evening abt 6plus wake up till 10pm den slp till next morning 7am plus... still drinking 3oz every 3hr sometime 2hr30-45mins.. wonder if we can start intro her 4oz or wait till she is 2mth..

Anyway to prevent fever before n after jab?

Erin,

You din apply for extended no-pay leave? I applied for one year cos no one available to look after the baby.

My tummy is still flabby and the skin is still loose. Don't worry too much. It takes time to go back to pre-pregnancy. Can wear pre-preg. tops but bottoms, ha ha... still need some time.

Think for my previous pregnancy, I could fit into my old jeans at about four or five months later.

Delsa,

WElcome. BM doesn't work on my baby's face. Ha ha, he always got sprayed by BM when he let go suddenly during the let down but rashes still come and go.

Anyway, he has eczema, a present from dear mummy, and hence his rashes will not heal so fast. His brother who also has eczema is rashes free only by his third month.

Cynthia,

Allegy to dairy product could also cause rashes. That's why my pd asks me to stay away from dairy products, as well as nuts and eggs, for a while to see if these food the trigger factor. You may want to consult your pd. BTW, do you or hubby have eczema when you are young? If one of you has, then yr baby could have eczema.

erin,
I'm returning to work in abt a mth's time. So urs will be abt end oct?

Any mummies still having lochia? It's nearly 2 mths but mine hasn't totally clear. Some days it seems like almost nothing, then the very next day, i see red again. So have been postponing my pap smear for weeks ;p The nurse told me to stick to my appt next wk even if lochia doesn't end. Said my gynae may prescribe hormone pills. I'm jus tinking is it really necessary?

cynthia,
My bb oso has 'rashes' on the face. But they're not red or anything. Just raised bumps. My aunt says it's due to milk, is after drinking milk, nvr clean face, dats y got such rashes.

hi skyblue,
I have lochia on and off too! just when i thought it has ended, the next day, I need to wear pad again cos it will come like menses! if we are breastfeeding, our menses won't come so soon right?

Cynthia,
Megan has rashes as well. They come and go. I think my breastmilk that sprayed on her worsened her condition than helped her!:p Initially, I used desitin cream to apply and it works but due to the steriod content which would thin out the skin on her face, I stopped applying and now only used cool boiled water to tap on her face.

Jokojoko, Timpani and butter,
I can only estimate that she is drinking about 120ml as I latch her on most of the time...

butter, my baby also like that! sometimes when she wakes up at 2am for her feed, her eyes will be super big and refuses to go to sleep.. then we have to carry her and walk her ard the whole house... i hope I don't have to resort to bringing her downstairs for a walk in the middle of the night... alot of friends ask me to standby sarong...that would be my last resort...

Hi augustmum,
no la. din apply for extended no-pay leave. think p would be very unhappy. she asked me b4 and i said most prob no need to take as my mum would be looking after baby.

oic. it takes 4 to 5 months to go back to pre-pregnancy figure ah. so worried dat i'll nvr lose all that weight.

hi bluesky,
my last day of ml would be 26th oct but 27th oct is a sch hol (in lieu of deepavali). am rather lucky that i only need to go back on 30th oct. will miss my boy v. much. feel like taking no-pay leave for 1 month but everybody advised me not to. say i need to let go. guess i shd do that cos everyday i would stick to my boy and not go out. perhaps shd go for haircut soon.

when's the last day of ur ml?

My lochia has ended but cos i'm not bfing, am having white discharge.

hi piyo,
i standby sarong too but my baby not very used to sleeping in it. anyway, i also don't really like to put him in cos his sleeping position is a bit awkward and he would cry when we put him in.

Mine drinks around 3.5oz every 3 hours or less if she is not sleeping. Actually you can slowly increase ur bb's intake. I tried to increase to 4oz but realised that my bb is not able to finish it most times and ended i have to throw it away. Very heartpain. And my bb will puke milk most of the time. Do you all know why? i have tried to burp her, but she still puke. And sometimes, it is merlion out. Very scary! yesterday evening, the milk even came out from her nose.

I heard tat bb should sleep around 15-16 hrs a day and they will cry around 10-20% of the time. I guess it is pretty normal. My bb can remain active the whole afternoon without any nap and she begins to sleep around 7pm till the next day. Of course, she will wake up for milk every 3-4 hours.

As for the big tummy, heard that we will only regain our usual shape in about 7-8 months. tentatively, you can try the malay massage or you can buy the binder and use it yourself.

btw, any of you know of good stretch marks cream? Mine is damn jia lat. And i'm thinking of ways to reduce the lines.

hi augustmum,

reali thanks for reminding me. come to tink of it, it reali helps to clear very fast, so medicine must be very "strong"..

as for our figure, reali so tempted to sign up slimming courses. me going bk to work on 15th, m waering jeans for work, and all bottom cannot fit, top still feel rather tight, must spend money to buy new jeans again.. aiyoh!

Hi Butter,
Dun worry..think yr bb is ok feeding that amt..my bb is also drinking 120ml and sometimes during the day it is alittle lesser..but still drinking only 120ml...PD say it is ok..My boy will be 2mths old this fri...

Hi erin,
Me also feeling sianz abt my tummy...tumy still there thou not that big but flabby...I can fit into most of my pre preggy bottoms bec think my hips din expand alot..but when i wear them, can see my tummy showing...flabby n ugly...feel v sad...My tops all also can wear but i am conscious of it coz i can see my tummy when i wear them as they r mostly rather fitting...also alot of pp has commented that my tummy is stil big..makes me so upset too..i also dun noe wat to do...have started on crunches but dun have time to do it everyday..sigh..started on my cardio boxing class too so hope it helps..

I have just give birth to my 2nd BB on 28 Aug. But PD says he is a G6PD deficiency BB. Does anyone out there has the same problem as me? Appreciate experience sharing on this.
Tks!

hi butter8,

i dun even know what's my bb's weight now.. just went to buy a digital scale and realized the battery's dead! so still no idea of his weight... wanted so much to see if he has put on weight after all the trauma he went through...

hi timpani,

think it's safer to ask pd since bb is puking so much milk...

my bb seems to get "heated up" easily hence i keep monitoring his temperature... last week he got fever 38.1 so i fed him medicine then it subsided within same day... does this happen to your bb?

oh, one more thing.. my hubby keeps saying bb does not smell good... think the weather is making bb smelling "sweaty"... any idea how to make bb smells good?