(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Jasmine,
Seems like mine is the most ex one compare to those mummies, maybe my PD clinic is part of Thomson Paediatric Centre that's why they charge more.

i think i know why some polyclinics have and some don have. There are 2 groups of polyclinics. The Singhealth group and the National healthcare group. Seng Kang and tampines belong to the Singhealth group. But Jurong polyclinic is the national healthcare group. So maybe one group have 6 in 1, the other group do not have.

erin00,

When you brought your boy to the polyclinic for the 2nd Hep B jab, how much does it cost for the bill?

Also, did the doc do a physical examination on your boy? Or just administer the jab only?

hi leia,

For your info, when i bring my gal for the 2nd hep B jab, the bill is $15. And inclusive of a doc physical examination. Normally they will ask u to bring baby to see doc before going to another room meant for immunzation.

Don't know if all the polyclinics done it in the same way

celine:

Thanks for the info!

Did you hv to wait long at the polyclinic? My colleague was telling me that the polyclinic in Bukit Batok has priority queue for children and infant.

All:

My PD from Mt A charging $127 x 3 for 5-in-1, inclusive of consultation. It's about $80+ more than Polyclinic. Quite reasonable considering she's a specialist (I wonder if that matters for vaccinations... But then, there's also the physical examination) and minus the waiting time. :p

hey celine,

i called up the call centre of national healthcare group.. they say no 6 in 1 leh..... only 5 in 1 and 4 in 1 azt first.. then i call in again and they say it is recently introduced, so not all the polyclinics have it. I wanted to bring my girl to Toa Payoh polyclinic but now not sure there got boh.. and for polyclinic, the jabs are taken @ 6 weeks or 2 months?

my pd @ mt. a charge 115/jab for 5 in 1 and 60sgd for hep b jab...for 6 in 1, it cost 155sgd/ jab. All inclusive of consultation.

Leia
I'm a July mummy. fyi, for immunisation, babies have priority so no need to queue. Everything can be settled in 0.5 to 1 hr.

Hi Leia,

waited like 1.5hrs. They have a different level and rooms for infants and children. Sort of priority queue. But Jurong polyclinics is always very packed.

Jasmine,

I not too sure why like that. They told me its 6 in 1.

May i know for how long each time ur bbies sleep during the day? Mine will sleep mebbe abt half an hr then wake up again. Nid to pat/carry her to sleep again. Wonder y my boy like can't sleep well.

Hi leia,
I paid $25 for hep B package. Just jabs only. No doctor consultation. Think different polyclinics have different practices. They din take kayden's length that day. only his weight. when augbaby and i talked abt it, i then realised the difference. augbaby brought jayden to bedok polyclinic and they took his height and weight. Furthermore, the nurse at tampines polyclinic did not check whether he has fever or not. just ask me and din check. after that, just ask me to sit outside and monitor for 15 mins to see if he has anyrashes or abnormalities. That's why I decided to bring kayden to pd for jabs. Think pte pds will do more thorough checks.

hi celine,
guess it's newly introduced at certain polyclinics only. too bad tampines polyclinic doesn't have it.

Hi all , i bought my BB for 6 in 1 jab today , FYI , the cost is abt $170 , include medicine for fever and i ask for some cream for my BB rashes

Hi all Mummies ,

Just wanna share this lobang with everyone

call and get free diaper samples

from july mummies tread :

Fitti & Pet Pet
Email: [email protected]
Tel: 6861 9155

drypantz / drypers: 1800-466-3002

mamy poko: 6265-1648

huggies: 1800-484-4437

hi whitelady,
thanks for the info.

hi samantha (if i'm not wrong),
i accidentally deleted the email u sent, hence not able to email u back. The pd I was talking about is Dr. Cecilia Lee.
The details are as follows:
Name of clinic: The Paediatric & Family Medical Centre.
Add: Blk 139 Tampines St. 11 #01-52
Tel: 67838743
Hope my reply is still useful to you.

Confinement officially over!

Took Jul for his Hep B jab at AMK Polyclinic this morning. It costed $15.

Hi White Lady,
$170 for the whole package or just the first jab only?
So 5-In-1 & 6-In-1 differs by only taking one jab lesser is it?

I'm still having a bad cough n I'm worried that kayden will also get the virus from me. If he coughs occasionally, do i have to bring him down to the pd? I have checked his temp and he is not running a fever.

Hi skyblue,
my kayden wakes up longer now too. he'll wake up about 8+ for his feed and then i'll bathe him at 9+ but he won't sleep until 11+ or 12+ even though he's very sleepy. we'll talk to him or show him some things until he falls asleep. He can be very 'guai' as to lie down for some time but mostly, he wants us to carry him to look at the surroundings. after that, he'll have his feed again and usually can sleep from 1+ to 6+, only waking up for his feed at 3+. But recently, he has been having bad dreams and will wake up crying during the afternoon. He's more demanding from 7+ to 10+. Wants to be carried around or just for cuddles.

I can understand how u feel about having to carry him all the time. I brought a baby carrier from mothercare. He hates it when I'm putting him in but once everything's ready. he can fall asleep in it and I can do my things. But I din use it very often now as my parents are helping me to take care of him. Perhaps, u can try get a baby sling or a sarong stand.

Hi Noe,
congrats. finally, confinement is over. can enjoy all the food now.

also another problem. not sure if anyone also facing the same problem. My boy used to be able to finish 90 to 120ml of milk in each feed but recently, he only finishes 70 to 80ml of milk at times. Am rather worried. Not sure what's wrong. Sometimes, he cries when he's drinking and I'll remove the bottle. then he'll cry again (i assume he wants the milk) and pop the milk bottle in. sometimes, he'll cry again.

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Skyblue,
Jul wakes in the morning from about 9am - 12pm (stealing minutes of doses in between).
He will nap soundly from about 1pm - 6pm (waking 3 hourly for his feed).
Now we are trying to tweak his day/night schedule. We attempt to keep him awake more in the day time so that he will sleep soundly in the night (though still waking 3 hourly for his feed).

I alternate between the cot and sarong.
There ain't any difference to his sleeping periods. Except that he perspires lesser when he sleeps in the sarong.

Hi erin,

could it be that ur boy wants to sleep or want to poo?

when my gal cry and twist and turn like worm when she is having a feed, always becoz she is sleepy or she wants to poo. Thats why cannot concentrate on drinking.

Thanks Erin!
Not all though ... My mother's still dead against me drinking cold water.
She thinks it affects the breastmilk (cause baby to have diarrhrea).
It doesn't sound logical to me though.

erin,
Hehehe...so farny to have to address our bbies as ur kayden and my kayden. ;P
Does Kayden cough when he's drinking milk or other times? If he coughs when drinking milk, could be he choked. But other times, he could cough cos he choked on his saliva etc. Does he sound phlegmy when he coughs? Dat time my kayden kena flu virus, oso no fever, but when he coughed, he sounds phlegmy. PD prescibed cough medi for him. U can continue to monitor him but u oso mentioned he cries when he's drinking milk n his milk intake dropped. Is it only today or a few days oredi? Mebbe he's unwell. For peace of mind, mebbe betta to bring him to PD for a check of his throat.

Thanks White Lady!

Hi Erin,
Have you tried propping him up in between his cryings?
Perhaps he wanted to burp?
(Bottle feeding introduces some air into baby's system right?)

That's what happened to Jul too.
Sometimes he cried after I lay him down after a feed. Once I picked him up, he will let out a loud burp!

Noe,

You're back! You've disappeared for a long while! Good that your confinement is over. Congrats! Mine will end next Wed, bb's full month. :D

Oh yes, my CL also says not to take cold drinks else it'll affect breastmilk and bb will LS. Where got make sense?!? Anyway, I've been secretly drinking cold HL milk and yoghurt drink for the past week. Not as if bb's poo got any difference. :p

Speaking of burping bb, I realised that I hv to burp mine during and after bfg. Mine can "gek" a lot, and even when nipple slip out of his mouth, he'd make so much noise like there's no tomorrow. Damned impatient! My CL says bbs are like that one, but I really wonder!

erin, yenny, celine:

Thanks for the info!
But I'm not too surprised that the specialists in private practice will do a more thorough checkup. The question would be whether this thorough checkup is really necessary. Last time I also get my jabs from GP. Where got people go PD one?

Hi all mummies ,

i notice a "pimple" on my BB backside ! and it look swollen ! so i was worried , until today , the PD told me , its actually the Bcg jab that cause that "pimple" ! haahaa ... any other BB also having like that ?

Leia,
I have been lurking around.
Popping in and out the thread but didn't add messages.

Oooh! Your CL too?
Interesting. Hmm ... I am trying to find info on that now.

Heh heh ... That means he's latching on well right! Yeah, Jul does that as well. He doesn't start with a sob but he kinda let it out making known that he needs his feed now.
kao_dizzy.gif

white lady,
yup, my bb got the 'pimple' too. some pus came out but after that will dry up. may take a while to go away.

noe,leia
not sure abt cold drinks but past 2 days i ate food that were more cooling n my bb's stool were more watery leh. not sure if coincidence but guess will monitor.

White lady,

Yes, BCG jab. The CL pointed out to me, and I din even notice ( no butt fetish :p ) The booklet I got from the PD also stated so in the FAQ section. In any case, the BB's health booklet also indicated the site of the BCG jab, which happened to be the left buttock.

whitelady, leia
yes the BCG jab on the left buttock. duzen seem to be bothering my bb much cos he din fuss about it. jus avoid rubbing the area wen bathing, if ther's pus, lightly clean it away. mayb u wan to monitor whether it's become dry for ur bb, cos every bb different?

cj,

My CL say veg is considered cooling food. So she fry veg with ginger cos ginger is heaty food so it sorta neutralises. Duh! I really cannot understand how that will affect breastmilk, if it does at all!

White lady, cj:

Remember, we used to have BCG during Pr 6 or Sec 3? I had BCG during sec. school on my left arm. It does hurt for a while.

hi noe,
thanks. i always burp him after every feed but not successful all the time. But I will still continue to carry him in an upright position for another 15mins. Don't think it's due to this leh.

Hi celine,
thanks. That's what my mum says too. Sometimes, will be very sleepy during the feeds.

hi skyblue,
ya lor. have to refer to ur kayden and my kayden. lol. perhaps we can bring them out when they slightly older? he coughs occasionally during his sleep. Not sure whether it's phlegmy. will continue to monitor tho. his milk intake has reduced for a few days already during some of his feeds but sometimes, he can still drink about 100ml. Is this a phase that they will go through?

Hi whitelady,
My baby's BCG site is on his left arm. doesn't seem to bother him. but remember not to apply anything on the area where he was jabbed. You can only clean the pus with warm boiled water.

Did u give him panadol? It should help. I'm also worried about my boy having fever when he goes for the jab. I'll be working then. Guess my parents have to comfort him then.

hello everyone,
how are all the mummies?

can u believe that uptil now, about 6 weeks after birth, i still get teary.. anything to worry about? need to see doc?

anyone here has their maid sleep with baby? hubby feels that thats better then leaving baby alone

My boy had learnt to suck his thumb while falling to sleep. Is it better to give him the pacifier or let him continue to suck his thumb?
Initially thought he's hungry and i let him latch on my breast but he somehow puke out the milk.

Any mummies' baby having such habit too?

Hi butter,
Think it's better u see a doc abt ur teary problem. Could be post natal depression.

Butter8,

Are you able to identify what trigger you off to feel upset and teary - helpless with baby? lost of personal freedom? etc etc. Then from there try to find ways to psycho yourself or work around these anxieties.

Be strong, ok?

Hi Butter,
Ya, do u know what makes u cry? R u still stress out wif yr bb? Take care okie..PLus it is always gd to maybe talk to someone, yr best friend etc, hubby..

I also initially thou that jayden is having a pimple or nappy rash on his bum, but when i went to see the PD, she told me that is actually the BCG jab..haha..oh i din know cant put anything on that area leh..coz usually that area will have nappy cream leh...is it ok ah? Btw anyone has tried taking goat rue? Heard it can increase BM and i thou of trying coz i still find my BM average n still wan to increase esp since i am going bk to work in 2wks time n wan to start freezing some for jayden to drink when i am bk at work...anyone can advise..thanks..

white_lady, u can use jasmine flower or tea leaves, pour some into a cup of boiled warm water.

then after every feed, dip some loose cotton wool in the warm water and wipe bb's face, and quickly dry with a piece of tissue.

i usually prepare a small cup, then keep adding hot water when i wanna use.

then after u bath bb every morning, u can also use baby johnson(pink bottle), or hazeline's cream to apply on bb's face.

try this method, coz it works perfectly for my ger, the milk rash will disappear within 2 days.

then keep bb clean after every feed by using plain warm water will do after rashes are gone.

augbaby, my ger had the pimple on her buttock when she was 3weeks old, my mom tot it was bitten by red ant! haha...

but i called my PD, and he advised me to keep it clean, and do not apply anything on it, and it's not painful at all..

but my ger has a lump at her left hip bone, up above her thigh.. u check your boy, he shld hv it too. make sure the lump is not too big, or u shld be concerned ok..

my ger still has the lump.. i will ask my PD when the lump will disappear..

u check your boy too la, coz PD said if BCG is given on left buttock, then it will be left hip..

if u noe anything more, sms me hor! thanks! =P

hi augbaby,
oh dear, u are going back to work in 2 wks time. i'm still having cough. now worse, got runny nose. have already finished up my med but still not recovered. dunno when can meet up with u then. hopefully, i'll recover soon.

Jasmine,

I'm confident with using the bottle... but the cap, I'm not sure if I'm able to wash it till it's so clean and remove the smell of the essence of chicken...

hi Ningyo,

I think its betta to have pacifer than thumb, according to Mrs Wong when i went for course at tmc during pregnancy.
Pacifer easier to get rid of. But thumb is part of his body, difficult to control. cannot throw away.

Hi butter8,

U stil feeling teary? wat caused u tat? alone wit bb or bb cries or ?
Now im beta. Less teary thinking more positive esp holding little natalie.

Confinement is finally over! Still latching bb bt flow is lessen.. think i stress myself too much n tiredness. Well since been trying ways to increase n no use den i will let e flow slowly dry up lo.

BB is drinking 3oz every 3hr is it normal? she is 1mth old. Sometime at nite she can sleep for 6hrs without feed & when she woke up i gave her 4oz she finish it. Will this affect any?

When will bb start to drink more n longer timing between feed? Does any of ur bb puke some milk out even after feed? I try burp her BT sometime she do Bt sometime not..

Hi cynthia..

my girl taking estimated ~2-2.5 oz of BM (~30+ml each breast, cos i latch on lah) and she last ~ 2.5 hrs max in day and up to 4 hrs @ nite...

If she sleep longer then 4 hrs, she will wake up and try to compensate for it, but not by much, cos a bb's stomach will limit the amount they take in at 1 time. perhaps your girl iz feeding more frequently in daytime so that nighttime can sleep for 6 hrs?

My girl wakes up 2x still..12-1am, followed by 3-4am.. then next morning ~7am..I heard that from 4-6 weeks onwards, babies will sleep longer and last longer between feeds?

My girl sometimes regurgitate her milk out also.but, i attribute it to a still developing digestive system that still have reflux of milk..my girl dun puke alot at 1 one though.. and i make sure that when i lay her down, her face is tilted sideways so if she vomit out milk, it will flow downwards, especially i dun normally get a burp from her if i latch her on..

noe,
When Jul is awke, does he entertain himself or he wans to be carried?

erin,
I bought a sarong stand yday but haven used it yet. I read from other threads dat some bbies do drink lesser at a period of time. I'm not sure leh. Yar, if got chance, we bring our kaydens out

butter,
Yar, my maid sleeps with my bb. She handles the nite feeds as well. I do use a bb monitor to monitor and sometx my hubby/myself will get up to see.

ningyo,
I prefer pacifier cos if suck fingers, it's like so dirty.

I m from Dec 2006 MTB. Like to check with all mummies with CL experience. Did you use cloth diapers during confinement and CL did the washing? And one day need to use how many diapers?