(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi cyn

i read only about 10-15% of women will actually have their water bag burst outside, before labour actually begins.

Noe,
how does BH contraction actually feel? i get like cramps, and some times, jabbing pains at my pelvic bone area, is that it? Esp when my bladder is full, the whole area hurts a lot.

I juz seen my gynae. coming to wk 39th in 2 days time. But baby still not engaged and cervix not open at all. very disappointed.

baby about 2.5kg. only increase 100g to 200g for 4 weeks. quite stabilize baby weight.

fix next gynae appointment next thursday. that will be 17th aug. 3 days b4 my EDD.

I still hope baby will come out asap.
so disapponting.

celine

hmm, try to do more squats and also ask hubby to talk to baby from below, hopefully that will help bb to engage.

Did doc say wat the plan is if bb don engage? i heard depending on the level of your amniotic fluid, your gynae can still physically turn bb ard for you.

pups,
don't think thats the pain leh i also encounter the same thing as you once i release my bladder it won't hurts anymore.

think we should do more squating to let baby come faster.

Was at the Taka baby fair during lunch. I thought there's nothing much there...

Bought a nursing pillow though... at a pretty good price of $19.90. I saw one at Metro going at a whooping $39.90!

hi cat,

ya once i release bladder the pain is ok one. and it doesnt come like a 'wave' as how some pp describe contractions.

hmm ok, then i guess i got no contractions yet, dunno... blurrr. i heard that 1st timers don really have BH contractions, is that true?

been trying to squat too. btw u guys still use the squatting toilet? i use really hard to get up man, like can fall in toilet bowl like that ...

leia,
i can't wait till sunday to go taka fair seems like alot of things to grab ahaha.....
hope baby don't spoil my planning.

hi leia

did you by any chance see the

Aprica
UN Nelccobed Stroller (4.7kg) with free storage bag (Newborn to 3yrs)
UP $899
Now $399
(Limited to 30 PIECES)

was thinking of checking it out, q a good sale on it right? 30 pc dunno if all sold already ..

pups,

Don't know will have contractions or not for first time, but heard from my colleague that last time her girl was late for first time.

i still squat in the toilet leh no problem for me cos i am used to squating.

cat,

okie.

for me i feel q unstable these days, haha cos i'm the relatively clumsy type. sometimes also q blur, like open doors towards me always accidentally hit my poor baby, cos i forgot to make space for the tummy heehee.

I cant wait till 16 liao as the water retention in my leg make me VVV uncomfertable n pain if walk too far. Its look like PIGs

Congrats to mummies who have popped!

So many threads to catch up...

Anyway, do we have any national day babies in our Aug thread?

pups,
me too ahaha sometimes will knock here and there.

cecelia
lift you legs high up or put pillows under your legs at least it helps reduce part of the water retention.

My birth story:

<u>6th Aug</u>
5.30am - woken up by some pain on &amp; off in lower stomach, not sure if its contraction pain or ate something wrong
9.30am - still havin the pain during breakfast and so believe could probably really be contraction pain
11.00am to 3pm - went jalan jalan with my family at bugis coz my mum says walk more will help
3pm+ - Gets more painful and so thought its best go hospital get a CTG scan to confirm its not false alarm and also ensure baby is safe.
At hospital, nurse did the CTG scan for me and confirm its contraction and did a VE check was 3cm dilated and ask if i want to admit now or wait. So choose to admit coz dun know if later 12am i still can walk to hospital or not.
5pm+ - My gynae came to see me and he wanted to burst my water bag but i told him i dont want, can wait or not. He says if burst water bag probably by midnite can deliver but i still choose to wait.
10pm+ - Unable to sleep coz the pain is making me uncomfortable and i havent master the correct timing of using the inhaling gas. Ask nurse to give me a jab at the thigh. This jab supposed to last for 6hrs. Quite effective jab coz can sleep thru w/o using the gas.

<u>7th Aug</u>
3am+ - effect of jab wear off liao.
4am+ - surrender liao! ask nurse if can have epidural. Nurse did VE check, 8-9cm dilated.Too late for epidural. Anyway, this nurse quite gd, taught me &amp; hubby how to read the CTG machine to see the next contraction so that hubby can remind me to inhale gas.
8am+ - My gynae came and see me and this time he say must burst water bag since baby still not engaged and put me on some drips to make the contractions higher and more frequent.
9.50am - Baby finally out!

I was so scared that i'll suffer the contraction pain for nothing coz baby not engaged &amp; i dont know if he can come out naturally. Luckily things turn out the way i want.

thanks for sharing ningyo!

sounds like your tolerance level for pain is quite high, since you only surrendered when you're nearly completely dilated.
Lucky gal

Some tips for mummies going for natural delivery :

(1)When admitted to the delivery suite, make sure hubby learn how to read the CTG machine. The CTG machine got 2 indicators - 1 is for baby heart beat and the other is for mummy's contraction indicator.

The contraction indicator will have a baseline, eg my case was 20 and from 20 will start to increase. So can ask nurse what's the baseline or ask nurse to teach hubby how to read.
So once hit 20, mummy can start to inhale the gas and stop until it lowers.
The gas will make mummy googie[dun know how to spell] and high, so wont feel the pain.

As I was feeling tired so was using the gas too late at wrong timing and so suffered pain for nothing.Only later part when a nurse taught us, then i ask my hubby to monitor for me and to tell me when to use,then did i find the gas really pretty useful!

(2) The pushing part is also VERY TIRING coz only push when the contraction pain is at PEAK and so must fully utilise. So need to take deep breath and push hard and then quickly catch another 1 and another 1.
My gyane was saying try not to scream during pushing coz it'll only use up ur energy for nothing.
So maybe mummies, can try to train up ur stamina and to catch ur breath fast.

Hope the above will be helpful.

thanks for the tips ningyo!

v useful indeed cos me planning natural.

btw did u have chicken essence before admission? wondering if i should ...

also, how is your episiotomy? me scared of that ...

My interim bill :
Stay at 4 bedded Mt Alvernia Hospital. Wasnt lucky enuff to get free upgrade to 2 bedded.

Normal delivery 2days - $530
delivery suite Bed charges @$190 for 1 day - $190
Nursery bed @$45 for 1day - $45
normal bed charges@$135 for 1day - $135
Clinical consumable &amp; supply - $23.30
Diagnostic imaging services - $60
Pharmacy - $33

TOTAL hospital charge + GST = $1,067.12

Doctor charges
Doctor's attendance fee - $100
Doctor's operation fee - $200

TOTAL chargable by doctor(gynae) = $300

TOTAL chargable by doctor(peditrician) = $190

TOTAL charges inclusive of doctor's = $1,557.12
Deposit to hospital - $300

Estimated medisave claim for hospital = $1,067.12
Estimated medisave claim for gynae = $300
Estimated medisave claim for pedi = $190

Total claimable = $300

Btw, mummies remember to bring ur antenatal package receipt to submit together to claim with ur hospital bill.

Ningyo,

Wow, you have high tolerant level...haha...actually, I liked the final push...when you could feel the baby slipped out of your body...very amazing

Actually, after giving birth twice, I still din really know how to push

Erin,

Gosh, your case sounded complicated, even the expert in lactation is unsure...

Pls do not feel upset if you are unable to breastfeed for some reasons...you have tried and suffered...singapore government v. strict re. FM, so FM is also very good...

Cynthia,

When I had show during my first pregnancy, there was blood too...

Hi pups,
er, actually i'm quite scared of pain. The thought of injecting epidural scares me that's y i delay having it. N i delay bursting water bag also coz i'm scared i wont be able to take the sudden increase in contraction pain. N i choose natural delivery coz i'm scared of c-sec pain.

anyway, i didnt have any chicken essence and i dun like the taste also. I was unprepared when i checked in the delivery suite. My hubby actually went home to get my bag and the adminission letter.

As for episiotomy, u wont feel anything when gynae is cutting coz he'll apply anesthestic b4 he cut.

Did feel abit of pain down later and doesnt help to eat painkillers but the pain is definitely so much bearable than labour pain.
Whole body was aching after delivery and i was having difficulty even shifting my own body or getting myself up from bed.

But by 2nd day, i'm ok liao. Can walk by myself and take a shower and check out early.

Wow NingYo

Am so envious of you, sounds like it was relatively a breeze for you. So fast 2nd day all ok!

Think we all hoping for similar story to tell!

Hi augustmum,

Yeah i also like the final push coz it means the pain is over liao! :D

Btw, how long will the blood flow stop? I'm supposed to see my gynae next mon so wondering i it'll stop by then else it's seems so gross.

And juz curious, will we accidentally tear our wound when we clear our bowels?
I only clear my bowels yest.and that's with the help of those enema bought fm medical halls....

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

how does BH contraction actually feel? i get like cramps, and some times, jabbing pains at my pelvic bone area, is that it? Esp when my bladder is full, the whole area hurts a lot.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Pups,
That sounds like BH already.
It's like tightening under the navel area.
Sometimes, it can radiate to the pelvic bone area and even the butt muscles as you have experienced.
kao_dizzy.gif
Not painful like real contractions but can be quite uncomfortable sometimes.

Ningyo,

Books said won't tear but I'm scared so took a lot of fruits, made sure it was 'a smooth business', before I attempt

Mine took two weeks to turn brown...but after two or three days, the discharge is not that heavy.

kao_smile2.gif
Hi Ningyo,
Thanks for sharing your birth experience with us.
Very good refresher write up for me now.
As for lochia, I had it for up to 5 weeks for #1 and about 2 weeks for #2.
It varies from mother to mother.

Heh heh Augustmum,
I know what you mean.
I pushed more effectively for #1 than #2 too!
Either that, or our pelvic muscles kinda lax liao after first birth.
kao_sad2.gif

ningyo
congrats! u r another mummy i shld kowtow 2 u for not using epi. do post pics of ur bb when u can.

u wont tear ur wound when clearing bowels. for me, i didnt poo poo for 2 days so drank some prune juice 2 help me poo poo. ever since then i do big biz everyday.

for both pregnancies, e lochia finished abt 3wks after i popped.

augustmum,
since epi didnt work 4 me tis time round, i can feel my bb coming out fr e me. i didnt feel a thing when i gave birth 2 my elder boy. squirmy feeling but felt very 'wei da'.

Hi augustmum,
I also ate alot of fruits like 2 bananas a day, 1 apple or pear and even ate those pitted prunes but doesnt seem to help. I wonder if breastfeeding cause all my fibres to pass to baby.hehehe

Btw, is the lochia suppose to smell? I find mine smells like rubbish.

pupsandcups:

Nope, din chk out the strollers. In any case, don't forsee that I need it now... And sometimes, people will give as gifts...

Abt BH contraction, I also hv no idea how it is like. Occasionally, I'll get this sharp pulling pain just where the tummy ends. And then I'll have to stop walking for a while and just stand there. Doesn't really hurt too much, but it feels uncomfortable.

hi Leia

thanks, might check out the fair later, really hope it won't b too crowded. don think i'll buy the pram today, if i do, it is an impulse buy.

yeah i get that sharp pulling too...

thank pupsandcups ,

actually my birth story is nothing so special , as i went thru epidural c section =P

now trying to breast feed my baby , but baby refuse to latch on ... =(

used to come to this thread and read the posts...i ever come across a mummy nick peddie(dunno if i got it correct)...how is she now..dun seem to see her post liao..she alright??

hi augustmum,
thanks. guess part of the reason for me crying for nothing is due to my failure to bf my boy. but anyway, now slowly learnt to accept it liao. just know the next time, i will try to seek help from lactation consultant first to make sure my ducts are cleared so i can bf successfully next time. the ducts are still there even though my milk supply is slowly diminishing.

erin00,

*huuuuuuuuuuugs* This is no failure! You're just unable to bf your boy cos you tried but it didn't work out for one reason or another, so that's fine. Nothing to be overly upset about and it's definitely not the end of the world!

My mum never breastfed me past 1 week I think, cos I can't latch on properly and 30 years ago, dunno got such thing as lactation consultant or not. And she also blur like sotong one. But I still grow up to be fine and healthy. So what the heck!

Take care and have a good confinement!

For mummies Who still waiting for baby to report,
i suggest once after birth you seek the nurses for help of breastfeeding. I am sure they willing to help.

Erin,
don't be sad over this matter ok? its not the end of the world. your boy still can survive on FM. With or without BF we cannot stop one..some people might have lots of bf some might have just very little bf. DOn't let bf affect your health and your mood ok......enjoy taking care of your boy is most important.

Can i post a general qn regarding the 1st mth cakes.

I'm thinking of ordering Choz cakes for my colleagues. Thought of ordering same value cakes for all and then get something else for those who contribute more.
But dont know what else to give. Any ideas?

Supposingly can also order higher value cakes for those who contribute more but abit pai seh coz some will get bigger box and some smaller box.

hi ningyo,

what about getting some kind of voucher, so that they can collect the extra items from the shops themselves. then wun be pai seh of the bigger and smaller boxes thingy.

btw which PD will ur boy be seeing? maybe I can choose the same one since i will be moving to west side

hi leia and augustmum,

hi kelly,
thanks for recommending mona to me. i've lost 1 and a half inch liao. guess mainly due to water retention and wind. tummy still big la but hopefully will shake all the weight off in 3 to 5 months time. the lumps have disappeared after the massage. ai yo, guess all my massaging also no use. only get bruises on my breasts. mona thought i applied some herbs on my breasts but they are blue black. lol...

hi celine,

i'm also thinking of vouchers but dun know what vouchers lor. Like if get those robinson or metro vouchers abit weird. hehehe
then thought of gettin other cake shops vouchers but dun know if its funny to give pple 2 diff.cakes.

My current PD is Angelin Tan. Her clinic is at Marsiling, opp.Marsiling MRT.
Blk 303, Woodlands St 31, #01-177.
My gynae's clinic is above hers.

Anyway,will be seeing her tmr and hopefully my boy dun have jaundice.

i'm feeling much better now. guess hormone level stabilising. see baby happy and healthy is the most satisfying thing now. i can sit beside him and watch him without being tired.
he has more facial expressions now. Can smile and grimace. Very cute hor when u see ur baby doing that. Kayden's jaundice level is also coming down which really comforts me. Just that I have to worry about his next thyroid test which is on the 12th. So sad that he has to go for so many thyroid tests because of me. me going to rest now. hope to hear more mtbs popping soon.

pupsandcups (EDD - 28 August) waterbag burst this morning &amp; is admitted to the hospital!
Looking forward to hear from her on her arrival of her prince.

kao_smile2.gif
Piyo (EDD - 23 August) will be going for C-Sect this coming Tuesday on 15 August.
Her GY recommends that this is to the best interest of both herself and her baby girl.

Wishing both of them a smooth &amp; safe delivery!