(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

pupsandcups & wanli,
i 4get 2 add...i've lost all my pregnancy weight & more. i put on 12kg 4 tis pregnancy. i've lost 13kg so far

pupsandcups
u'll still look 4-5mths preggie so u'll need 2 wear loose clothing

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Read that b4 nine, the child's brain development is the most advance. After that, whatever remediation, not much use.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augustmum,
I was homeschooling my #1 before I sent him to school a month ago.
Thought I share a little of my experience briefly.

Formative Years (Absorbent/Spongy Years) - Birth to 6 years old
Birth to 3 Years Old - Learning is unconscious &amp; spontaneous
3 to 6 Years Old - Learning is conscious &amp; intentional

Most boys developed their language skills a tad later than girls.

Hi Kelly,
Gabe is doing fine.
Jav is coming 24 months on my EDD &amp; he's expressing similar set of vocab too.

Will share more another time.
Got to log off now.

Wow Kelly!

May i ask wats ur original weight n height? that's really lucky leh! i hope i'll b like u too.

currently ive already gained 12kg for tis pregnancy n still hv 2-3 more weeks to go
but i read on the net mb cos i originally not that big? (160cm n 46kg). sigh i dunno really concerned abt going back to original size.

okie - looks like i'll pack my maternity clothes then ...

Kelly

i see i see. wow this Mona sounds really good, since she can help you lose even more than u put on!

think i'll hit past 15kg from the rate im going. well i keep telling myself all in the good for baby, so still continue to eat n drink milk generously.

sorry for barging in like this....
was being curious &amp; reading thru some posts... learnt alot from all of u here....

congrats to those who have "popped"
mine still long way to go.... edd is next yr jan/feb....

can i have the contact for the massage lady too?? since have heard so many good comments abt her here.... thanks in advance....can pm me or email me at [email protected]

Noe,

You did homeschooling...wow...wanna do that but afraid I am not discipline enuff...wat do you teach your boy?

Kelly,

Ya, my boi was also speaking these words...wonder if my pd is over-anxious...she was so worried that she took out a picture book and started asking my boi to point to pics...haha, she wanna my boy to point to a bunch of banana but my boy pointed to a tray of eggs...she started to panic until my boi said 'egg'...and started to listen to her and point to the correct pics.

noe,
my boy doing ok huh? he can say more words but i cant recall them at 1 go. over dinner, he just said "more more more". he also can say...no no, yeah, nana (it's banana), ball, shoes, keys, on (telling me 2 switch on his Barney VCD 4 him), bubble, water, jie jie, di di, gor gor, mei mei, "zuo zuo" (sit sit in mandarin), "zou zou" (walk walk in mandarin). he even knows how 2 call my GF's 6wks old bb girl...yan yan (her chinese name). i tik he can say a few more but i cant recall until he finally says it.

pupsandcups
i was 86.5kg juz b4 i popped (i weighed outside e delivery suite). on 25jul, i was 77kg (lost 9kg in 12days). on 31jul (last mon), i was 76kg. 2day, i weighed 73kg. not sure how much mona helped me lose but i'm sure at least 1-2kg.

augustmum,
then ur PD is scaring me too...

cecila,
well ya, i put on so much and baby maybe put on 250g only.. :p he is now 3kg. so thats why dr n i worried he wont have space to turn around again..

sorry for my late post, was tied up at work n now still working from home... really will be working till the latest date i can... its a busy time for my boss, n i cant get away early

hope my bb is ok, so late now, he is so active, twisting and punching me...

Happy National Day gals! wonder who pops next?

Hi, White_lady

sorry for the late reply... had been busy looking after my baby &amp; also trying very hard to improve my milk supply....

As for c-sect, u will feel the pain in the 1st two days when u try to get down of bed but after that, it will be ok... u will be given painkiller to ease the pain....

will update baby photo soon.

take care all mummies...

Hi, Augustmum
my baby also seeing Dr Terence Tan but becos if the travel time, Dr Terence Tan refer me to his doc friend at Woodland 888 which is also Dr Lawrence Ang's friend...

Hi all, I have popped on 2 August. Will PM my bebe's particular to piyo. you lao le Piyo!

Here's my bebe birth story. . .
28 July
went for my 38th week consultation and "fetus weight" scan, baby weighted 3.3kg, placenta is at good position but gynae worried baby too 'big' for me as I m small in size, also she wonder why baby's head still so high up, she suggest that I have a x-ray scan if want to have natural birth. Went for x-ray immediately.

1 August
x-ray result shown nagatively to have natural birth as my pelvic bone almost same size as my bebe's head. So gynae suggested I go for c-sect.

2 August
I was admitted to hospital at 8:30am. Have blocked time for my operation to take place btw 1pm-3pm (this cost me $100!). Nurse pushed me to theatre at 2:15pm and I told her I am going for epi c-sect. While I was waited at the theatre for my gynae to come, one nurse asked me what time must my bebe be out? I told her by 3pm. Then she said "Oh no they plotted 3pm for u to have the operation! but no worries la, we should be able to deliver the baby by then". Gosh. . . that time already 2:30pm! I wonder REALLY CAN?! Then everybody inside the threatre looks very rush and gang qiong. I feel so scare, so told the nurse 'bebe out after 3pm also never mind la, take your time and slowly do whatever you need to!".
At 2:35pm anesthetist inject epi. Gynae waited for 5 mins and she used niddle to test the numbness of my tummy and legs. After few times testing, she concluded that the epi's not working effectively as I can still feel the pain. SO. . . I have to go for GA!!!! Anesthetist injected anesthetic and I fall asleep.

Baby out at 3:09pm. My hubby was asked to go in to the thretre for photo taking immediately after that (before baby actually clean up).

Ai. . . so conclusion. . . myself and baby both are healthy and fine but I have taken epi for nothing

hi smlow,
our babies share the same birthday.

hi augustmum n catherine,
thanks. ya, went to see gp abt it. due to me not able to express the milk out so a lot accumulated inside. i tried pumping out, hand expressing and massaging (confinement lady helped me) but still no use leh. not much milk out cos of blocked ducts. require baby to latch on to clear. he's not latching on well due to his sleepiness. doc says i have to look out for signs of infection cos I have fever and shivers due to the engorgement. gave me med to reduce milk flow at the moment so can't bf him at the moment. bfing is really difficult. perhaps will try to increase supply next time by taking fenugeek when i'm feeling better.

hi kelly,
ya, kayden's back.
mona very in demand huh. i called immediately after u phoned me and she's booked again. earliest she can do for me is this sat.

congrats to cocomo!

hi pupsandcups,
i only lose 5kg when I was discharged from the hospital. still look 5-6 months preggie when discharged. am still swollen due to water retention. confinement lady says swelling will usually go off in abt 2 wks time after delivery. I still have 10kg to lose. hopefully, can see some results after the massage.

Hi, sorry to intrude....I'm fr the May MTB Thread.

I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

I am throwing in 2 standard packs of Pampers Dry &amp; Clean Diapers, of which I only used 1 diaper as it is too small for my baby.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

Sorry for the late reply. Din sign in during ndp, busy with boi n bb's barang barang. Furhtermore, gynae wld like to move the op date advance by 1 wk. Kind of really last minutes prep.

Kelly,
Oops... sorry. I thought ur supply for ur 2nd 1 is not enough...
kao_embarrassed.gif

BTW, for the 1st mth celeb, u do it at ur own house or rent someplace?

Augustmum,
Wow... u planning 2 b temp sahm for 2 yrs. Me... envy lei.
I have 1 4 yrs old boi n i am an weekend parent. This arrangement will change when my 2nd 1 comes. I will taking care of my 1st 1 myself.

Thanks for sharing Erin

Hmm, I still thought i can pack my usual clothes into my hospital bag :p Guess I will bring my pregnancy clothes, which I'm so tired of.

Btw anyone using Dr P maternity pads? how r they? I bought 1 pack of Dr P, and 1 pack or 35cm long sofys, should be enough right? Oh, and 2 packs of disposable underwear.

also, i remb u gals were talking once about where to buy button down nightgown, where ah? sorry i can't remb, anyone can help me refresh? I went OG and Chinatown yest, saw some, but terribly hideous looking ...

You did homeschooling...wow...wanna do that but afraid I am not discipline enuff...wat do you teach your boy?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augustmum,
Are you a SAHM? I quitted my job after my #2 arrived.
Heh heh ... Actually homeschooling ain't as structured as we think (I am not very disciplined in teaching him although I have teaching background}.
In fact, it's the mindset of our education system that cause us to think there's a lot effort required to homeschool (definitely some reading up is necessary).
I think it's how we balance them.

30 - 36 months are usually the recommended starting age for homeschoolers.

There are namely 2 types of homeschooling methods.
1) Structured - Theme based (akin to those in child care centres)
2) Unstructured - Child directed (you literally follow your child's interest &amp; work out learning moments according to his likes)

I have read that there is no necessity to sell boys to school (in our context, childcare centres) until they turn 3 years old. Of course, in a busy society like ours, not every family has that privilege.

There is a small homeschooling support group in Singapore &amp; I think someone is coming up with a proper website on it.

Wah ... I have typed so much already.
Urm ... There a lot to consider &amp; talk about lah.

Just take one day at a time &amp; don't overwhelm yourself if you do decide to homeschool lor.
Hope you will enjoy homeschooling your ds in time to come!

hi Cecilia

U're talking abt ur nightgown? Hmm, okie ddnt kw giant has nightgowns, i bought my Dr P from there. The turf club branch.

Will check it out - thanks

my boy doing ok huh? he can say more words but i cant recall them at 1 go. over dinner, he just said "more more more". he also can say...no no, yeah, nana (it's banana), ball, shoes, keys, on (telling me 2 switch on his Barney VCD 4 him), bubble, water, jie jie, di di, gor gor, mei mei, "zuo zuo" (sit sit in mandarin), "zou zou" (walk walk in mandarin). he even knows how 2 call my GF's 6wks old bb girl...yan yan (her chinese name). i tik he can say a few more but i cant recall until he finally says it.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
kao_smile2.gif
Hi Kelly,
From your description, Gabe sounds like he has a good understanding of his environment &amp; interactions with people.
I am sure he knows a whole lot more of vocabulary but is not able to pronounce the words fluently yet.

Oh Augustmum,
For your Noah, if MIL doesn't mind, playing nursery rhymes over audio/video will be helpful too.
It seems like it is not that Noah is slow in his vocalisation but he does not have the exposure to a wide range of vocabulary.
MIL didn't read books to him either?

Welcome back Cocomo!
Have a good rest &amp; speedy recovery ay.

Hmm ... Didn't hear from leobbsmom.
Her EDD was 7 August right?

Hi Pups,
You are on leave already right? Heh heh ...
Yeah ... Me now just take one day at a time.
My next GY visit is on 16 August.

MORNING mummies!

Have any of u went to taka bb fair?
Yesterday was kiasu, went out abt 830am n have breakfast etc.. hoping to avoid e crowd lo.

Didnt bought much stuffs maybe due soon so all has been prepared. Avent having promotion &amp; i find its worthwhile. Like for EG e disposable bottle which we didnt get to see in e market they have. Cost $15.90 include free 10 storage disposable bag, 10 clips &amp; 2 blue teats. This way we can pump our milk into e storage bag much more easier!

Hi Chrys,
Don mention abt e catering, u can have more options to choose also ah yeah!

Hey cocomo,
Congrates n welcome back! Rest well.. n share wit us more on childcare too!

Now almost half of us went to delivery bah.. &amp; gg into another stage! Wow we will be sharing different stuffs again!

hi Noe

Not yet, last day this Friday, then will be a SAHM mom like you
I really wonder how i'll take to not working, cos I'm the kind can't do nothing one, but with bb i guess where got do nothing right.
My next visit is next Monday, 14th, we still have quite a way to go huh..

Congrads Cocomo
Wow all these birth stories making me anxious too.

Anyone heard from Augbaby? Wonder wat her birth story is
Her water bag burst right?

Heh heh Pups ...
With our newborn, we will be busy for quite some time.
That's great. 14 August will be our 38wk+1d of gestation already.

Hi Cocomo,
Congrats! Post your baby's pics soon! Can you provide me your baby's gender, weight, hospital, gynae and your age details so that I can update? Thanks!

Hi Kelly,
Noted! Hope Mona can help me slim down too!

Hi pups,
Augbaby' s waterbag burst and she went into labour after that... she was admitted at 3+ in the morning and delivered naturally with epi cos she said gas dun work for her
She should be here to share her birth story when she settles down...

hi Cyn,
Now left the half of us stil playing the waiting game... me going to see the gynae tomorrow... hope can hear some good news!

Noe,
We can contd here as Augmum cos used of logging in here early morning too yeah!

Pupsandcups,
Wat i hear frm augbaby is her water bag burst she told mi messy hahah.. den go straight to hospital.. Think she resting ma cos she seems v tiring lo.. mayb she will post when she is better bah

i'm also still waiting for my turn to go deliver.
tomolo will be visiting gynae also. coming 39 week already. but baby still no sign of coming out.

done plenty of squating also. dun knoe if baby is engaged already.

hopefully. I'm thinking of inducing the baby next week or this weekend if still no sign tomolo.

trying natural birth, if cannot then c sec. baby is not big, but i'm only 1.49m in height. So the doc say its a borderline case for natural birth. I think my baby will probably be ard 2.5kg now.

Thanks Jasmine!

Hmm im still undecided on whether to go Polyclinic.

Mommies - the other jabs in the 5in1 or 6in1, would you consider them a must have still? Can share your experiecne.

Pups, you can find the night gowns at Taka too(level 4), there's this brand call Karmy (I think its this spelling), they have dresses or tops and pants, not exp about $9.90 per piece for certain design, some are quite nice. I found similar brand at Robinsons too, you can try searching there.

Congrats Cocomo!!

Geez...after hearing so many birth stories, I'm actually feeling scared as to how mine will end up...

Celine, my baby has been engaged since last week but still no signs of her popping out. Hb has been telling her to come out everyday but she seems comfortable inside. She's turning 39th week too, hope I don't have to wait till full 40th week, my hands are feeling so numb so often, eat halfway also must rest awhile to relax the fingers...

Yoz Piyo,

Ya bb love to play waiting &amp; guessing game wit us now haiz....

Jus came back frm gynae visiting. IM SO LUCKY! After seeing me he rush to delivery! Phew...
Hmm Like to ask all mummies.
Will bb tends to lose some weight now?
I dono.. sometime felt my gynae he measure bb weight ah not so accurate though i know its an estimation too lo.
Now bb abt 3kg (as compare last week she is abt 3.2kg), IS IT NORMAL FOR BB TO LOSE SOME WEIGHT WHEN REACHING EDD? I ALSO LOSE SOME WHICH I FELT SHOULD BE NORMAL BAH...

Will be gg to 38weeks this coming SUN!
Hmm hw long is bb gg to play waiting guessing game wit us hahaha!!!!

Hi Celine,

I am also in my 39th week, seeing gynae tmr..so sad, still no sign yet...thought of inducing next week also..lets hope our baby can come out this few days...

I'm from Dec MTB. Any1 interested in buying NUK Silicone pacifiers (0-6 mths)? It's brand new &amp; still unopened. 2 pacifiers in 1 pack.

I bought the wrong one...I wanted Avent but got NUK instead. Exchange validity from the shop is over.

Willing to let go at $9/pack (negotiable). Pls email me to discuss - [email protected]

Hi Cynthia,

I think the baby weight is just a rough guide. maybe the previous estimation slightly higher, so this visit become like smaller. my baby din increase weight for 3 weeks ( 3 visits), still same 2.3kg. So i guess its normal

seems like alot of mums in their 39th week already. dun know is its a good choice to induce birth? i scare if dun induce next few days, end up overdue also have to induce, then no difference. wait baby too big end up c section worse.

Celine,

Okie tks for e assurance too..
I think most impt bb growing healthy.. yeah!
Maybe i have high expectation on her hahah to gain mroe than 3KG! Though alot advise mi it will be bit difficult to delivery bigger bb..

Haiz.. now jus wait n wait bah.. CANT WAIT LIAO I BELIEVE ALSO for all of us!

Celine,

I have the same thoughts too. Not sure if should go for inducing or wait till baby's ready. On one hand I want her to be out quickly on the other hand, I'm afraid of the entire birth process too...

i will seek the gynae opinion tomolo during my visit. See if he got say induce baby.

Btw ningyo actually fixed to induce baby the past monday. but she admitted into hospital on sunday b4 the induce appointment becoz of contractions.

So i guess sometimes its difficult to say, maybe fixed induce date already, baby decide to come even earlier.

So far no significant signs that baby is going to come. But i have the tendency to go toilet pass motion more often. normally will get some soft stool, like LS. maybe that's a sign?