(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Wow Chrys!
It's anytime now?

Hee hee ... Since GY advises walk & squat more, shopping consider or not?
Perhaps it can even help you relax a little from the waiting.

Hi Chrys,
I know what you mean.
Now after I ran after #2, I will experience the contractions & pelvic muscles pain.
Sometimes the pain is so acute that I will drop whatever I might be holding in my hands & winced.
kao_dizzy.gif

When's your EDD again?
Didn't see it in the list leh ...

Hi chrys,
Yah, after admit can not eat only cn drink a little bit of water. That's why I mean must eat enough before we go hospital.

I think u r poping anytime
. Do more squating now, because the more u dilated then the shorted the waiting time. Just like what Dr wong said if only dilated 1cm still got long way to go unless yr water bag burst or the cramp become very short interval like 5 mins then need to go hospital immediately. In labor they need to make the contraction come at every 2 mins.

Take care and let's us update

Hi Wanli,
Its nice to read your birth story. From your experience, I dun think I have the threshold to tahan without the epidural too.

Hi chrys,
Me too. Dr wong did the v check last fri. I also experience brown to pink jelly-like discharge, but no strong cramps yet. I call dr wong. She say I dun sound painful, so probaby dilate 1-1.5cm and no point to go the labour ward yet.

hi mommies!

i shld be the next one to pop. Today's CTG scan was clear, the babies are fine, so I should be delivering on wed, via c-section.

Will come in and update after i deliver!

augbaby: i got another contact for the massage lady, may use her instead...will keep u posted!

Hi Wanli,
Thanks for sharing your story..it certainly helps esp i am sure for many first time mummies...
It helps me guage to know that if it is reali too painful i shld juz ask for epi...
Hope that yr bb jaundice is not too bad..
Take care n rest well..

Wow..seems like everywk there is one aug mummy popping..hee hee..this wk...Now it is chrys and then sierra...

Hi Chrys & Sierra,
Take care and share yr delivery story with us ya..

Hi Piyo,
how was yr doc checkup on Sat? Do keep us updated ya..Take care..was worried abt u on sat but thou i dun sms u, ask u on monday instead..

Hey Jas,
The impression bras are already on sale...is there still a further discount? Coz if yes, i am interested to get a few more..any mummies went OG, pls let me know abt the bras ya..thanks..

last sat checkup at 38Wk, bb is 2.6kg. Total weight gain is 12kg...
Told my dr abt my on and off cramps. He didnt say anything..
yesterday night, I have this cramps on an off.. cant sleep well.. The cramps is all below my belly button but no tightening feeling.. Sometimes i think bb moves, so it is a bit tight and can see the shape of the bb. I dun think is it tightening... Aiyo so confuse.
Anyone knows that is it contraction?

My dr nvr check dilation for me last sat. :-(

sierra,
so excited 4 u...u'll c ur 2 darlings soon. have a smooth & safe delivery. do post pics & share ur birth story when u can.

wanli,
hope i've answered all ur questions last nite.

yes, contractions is very painful. 2 me, it didnt matter if waterbag burst anot. my pain threshold VERY LOW.
bcos i know i cant eat after using epidural, i had a heavy lunch when i was having contractions n even b4 i reached MAH, i ate a fish burger. for u, u vomitted when u r abt 2 push. 4 me, i vomitted my lunch & fish burger JUST AFTER epi was administered (abt 5pm+) so i was freaking hungry by the time i popped (abt 10pm).

it can b stressful 4 urself & bb if ur bb is crying every hr. wat u r producing now is colostrum, so mayb not enuff 2 keep ur bb full. for me, my BM kicked in on e 5th day. for my 1st son, my BM kicked in on e 7th/8th day.

Hi Chrys,
Congrats to u too.

HI Wanli,
Yah it is definitely not easy becoming a mother.

Hi Rain,
Did yr gynae mentioned that baby engage already??

Hi Rain,

I have on and off cramps (something like menses cramp) also. But not regular. So i guess its not the real contraction yet.

But my cervix is slightly opened already.now on medication until end of this week. Then I will be week 37.

Hi Honey,

yes head engaed. Gynae say is my EDD I still not pop - 1Aug, then he will induce me on my Wk41.

But I want him to induce me on 1Aug if I hv not pop by then.. Dunno he will agree anot :-(

hi peddie

sorry i was v bz the whole weekend forgot to mail u the obimin, plus also forgot to bring it to work to mail. will mail it out tomorrow, eat a lot of fruits n vege to stay healthy ya.

take care...

Chrys: congrats!!!

Cecelia: my c-section is with epidural...that's suggested by my gynae...my hubby wld be in the theatre with me
are u planning to go for c-section?

Sierra,
Which type of c-sect you having? GA or Epidural?

My doc said my baby's head not engaged yet and also the placenta sitting quite low. I will have fetus check this friday, so if my pelvic not big enough for me to have natural birth or the placenta is not in good position then I will have to go for c-sect. Very worry and scare actually and can't really sleep well for the past two days.

Any suggestion on to go for GA or Epidural? If my test results suggest that I can only go by c-sect then I am think to go for epidural coz I don't wanna miss the first moment when my baby is born. But then epidural c-sect sound scarelyas you may not be able to feel the pain but you can still feel the pressure when cut. Anyone have experience or knowleadge on this?

Hi Honeyhaven.

I gg for my next check up wit Adrian also next FRI! Wat time is urs? Maybe we could even catch up talking there...

Sierra,
My doc wan me to go for c sect bcos of my med condition. For my first boi, am going for ga which have to bed rest for 1 full dae. Thinking of epidural but heard there are alot of side effect due to epidural admission that make me reconsider....

cocomo: i'm going for epidural for my c-sect. Dun worry too much, do the fetus check first then consider your options. Sometimes when situations like that occur, take the route that's safest for both u and the baby. Have faith, you'll be ok!

Cecelia: what kind of side effects does epidural have vs GA? i have the impression that GA has higher risks

Sierra,
Heard of vomitting after the epidural injection, hair loss, back pain (few month after that n some drag til a year).... ever heard of?

I went for my gynae appt last sat at my wk35 and guess what? my baby's wt now 2kg, up from previous 1.7kg
Her head and length etc are 34wks gestational age but her abdominal circumference still stays at 31wks plus
Gynae also did a scan of her cord to see the blood and oxygen flow to her and so far he says no concern. He also strapped me on CTG to measure contractions and baby's heartbeat and so far I dun have many contractions.. he mentioned baby not in any danger as at now so would like her to stay inside for another 2 weeks b4 deciding when to deliever etc... he did not mention anything on csec this time but still....

So I think I should continue with my increased dosage of milk and beef intake?

Hopefully I can keep baby in me till full terms else I can imagine how small she will be if we take her out anytime from now till 38weeks?

Hi Cecilia,
I understand that generally your gynae would have a binder for you if you do csec... you can check with your gynae on this. The other which I heard is effective is the OSIM slimming/binder belt. They have one for natural delivery and one for csec... Anyone has any comments on this?

Hi Chrys,
Congrats!!! Pls rest well and post your details soon!!!

Hi Sierra,
Good luck! and come back and update us k!

Hi Wanli,
I enjoyed reading your birth story
Any pics to share? Btw, what's your baby name? Me wanted to update the table as well
YOu rest well and recouperate during your confinement k! Hopefully, I can go thru natural delivery just like you... now trying to beef up my baby during the last 4 weeks

Hi Augbaby,
Thanks for your concern.. me super touched I am here posting liao think we must jia you together, our EDDs the same leh!

Hi Rain,
If your baby is engaged means anytime will pop liao right? You will be seeing your baby very soon!

Hi piyo,
Glad to hear that yr doc say bb is doing ok..when was yr last visit to him when bb is 1.7kg? Sounds like bb is putting on weight but slower only..i think u shld continue drinking milk but maybe dun take too much beef coz it is heaty too...can take a little but not too much..think it shld be ok..yr bb shld be putting on weight...By the time, in 2 wks time, u be in yr 37wks...so bb lungs shld have been developed already so dun have to worry too much..keep up yr cheerful mood n talk to bb...
Take care...Like what the other mummies say, u can always build her size up when she is ok as long as what impt is that she is healthy...
Dun worry too much okie...hugs for u

Hi piyo,
ya we will jia you together okie..our edd is same and if you feel down or anything, u have my contact details...Take good care of yrself in the meantime n eat nutrious meals all the time...things will definitely improve..

piyo,
if you think taking more milk and beef can help your baby to grow why not?
take some chocolate as well and eat more fish as well. maybe you can also drink soya bean milk as well.

told you not to worry about your baby..you must keep yourself happy so that baby will grow well ok?

Hi Cynthia
My coming checkup will be 28/07/06 (fri)-6pm at his sk branch. How abt u??

Hi piyo
Glad that yr baby's weight has went up to 2kg already. Keep up the good work for u and yr baby..
BTW, share something with u. My friend delivered her boy when she was 30wks preggie and baby's weight was 1.9kg when born. According to her baby stayed in the hospital for 10 days. But her boy coming to 2 yrs old is so active now. As long as yr baby is healthy, everything will be fine.

hi cecilia

i bought the dale binder, not cheap around $55, but i spoke to a masage lady that told me its worthwhile, and if possible to wear it soon after natural delivery.

from the birth stories we've heard, sounds impt to go to hospital w lots of energy. mommies - any recommendations? i thought redbull, but im not sure, or chicken essence, or gulp down heaps of milk?

piyo
don worry too much, from wat ur gynae said, bb sounds all in all ok. jus continue to eat well,esp fruit, vege, soyabean and milk, and everything else in moderation.

pupsandcubs, not sure if i remind u ladies, to drink essence of chkn b4 going into delivery room and after coming out..

it's been advised by my experienced colleagues here, and tested and proven GOOD!

and for helping our bb to get engaged, we can do squatting, but not flat on our soles. we shld tip-toe..not easy to do, but it's surely helpful..

Hi Augbaby, Cat, Honeyhaven, pupsandcups,
Thanks for the encouragement
feel much better after the visit last sat...one farni thing is I lost 0.5kg even though I ate so much last week. After mid of this week, will start drinking a bit of coconut juice to cool down body...

Hi pupsandcups,
Where did you get the dale binder? and is it effective? what can it do?

Hi Leobbsmum,
safe to do squarts after 36weeks?

hi piyo,
just relax and dont think too much abt bb's weight. my SIL is 37 weeks pregnant and bb is 2.5kg, she is 167cm tall and quite big frame.
just eat whatever u can, but dont overstuff yourself too
take care.

hi piyo

i got it from the pharmacy at KK hospital, every hospital shd sell it, but i heard it is cheapest at KK. will go home n check the model number. the massage lady told me it prevents your skin from sagging and prepares it for the massage. check with some doc frens, they also recommended it, altho after giving birth it might be a little uncomfortable, but to get back in shape, worth it lah.

hi pupsandcups,
this binder can only be used for those doing thru natural delivery? must wear 24/7 after popping? If it helps I don't mind wearing also

For squats, how often you do it?

Hi Smlow,
Thanks!! If my baby is 2.5kg I will fly to the moon
My gynae mentioned that if my baby comes out now, he will let me try natural... makes me feel better as he did not mention csec this time...I will be seeing him on weekly basis from last week so will be able to monitor the wt better

piyo,

ya only for natural, from what i was told, if u can tahan, ya best to wear 24/7.

i do squats every night for 5mins x 10. but bb was engaged a long time ago. i also swim every night, and been walking around a lot, so i think all that helped bb stay in place heehee.

hi piyo, good to hear that your gynae did not mention csec
just relax ok. i'm having my 2nd bb, but still get the jitters whenever i think abt the delivery room... :p friends always tell me 2nd bb very fast one... but i hope mine wont be too fast that i dont hv time for epidural. i really salute those mummies who opt for no epidural and all mothers and grandmothers and great-great-grandmothers and all those women in olden times who had to endure the pain b4 epidural was introduced!!

wah pupsandcups you very sporty type huh? I spend my weekend resting at home cos recently feel so tired...then hope I rest more baby will grow more... each squart last for 5 mins?

then if csec any binder that can be used?

smlow, I dun think I can tahan the pain without epi too but I willing to give it a try... I really hope I don't be robbed of the chance of feeling labour pains and got to go csec.. 2nd one should be quite fast! friends who are going thru 2nd or 3rd time have babies out less than 5 hours!!so if yuo really think it's the time, better rush to hospital asap huh!

piyo, can! can do squatting... actually i just got to know from a new fren who has been a midwife so many yrs...since 1978.. but now she is in Admin dept now.

oh, after every bath during confinement, we must drink a small cup of wine, Wincarnis or DOM. it will help to guard our bones..and warm our bodies.

For Wincarnis, we can drink like tat. But for DOM, it's good to pour on soup or dishes b4 eating them. DO NOT boil any form of wine, except rice wine la...

Just an update. Chrys gave birth last night. Her bb weighs 2.96kg. When she was admitted, already dilate 4cm. Her's is natural without epidural as she dilate very fast. She will discharge 2mrlo.

piyo, can! can do squatting... actually i just got to know from a new fren who has been a midwife so many yrs...since 1978.. but now she is in Admin dept now.

oh, after every bath during confinement, we must drink a small cup of wine, Wincarnis or DOM. it will help to guard our bones..and warm our bodies.

For Wincarnis, we can drink like tat. But for DOM, it's good to pour on soup or dishes b4 eating them. DO NOT boil any form of wine, except rice wine la...

pupandcups,
Thx for the advise.

piyo,
congrats on the increase of bb's weight. cia yo again ya but remember not to overstuff urself. eat n rest moderate. importantly, keep urself strees free.

I din noe gynae advise us on binder as for my 1st, eventhough he noe am on c-sect never mention anything. will definitely as my present 1 next appt. thx for the info.

Hi and congrats all mummies,
I was wondering how would anybody knows tat U have been dilated? or thru gyne we come to know? pl. guide me. Thanks a lot!

OOooh Congrats Chrys!!
So happy and amazing all our mummies one by one giving birth..
make me look forward too

Thanks Dino for update!

what is good nipple cream or any other 'assistance' we can get to sooth the breast feeding process? I want to try, so what items should i look out for

As for DOM and all, what is good brand to buy and where to buy at pretty ok prices?

Thanks!!!

Who is next! I get to be happy for everyone and hear more birth stories since me end Aug MTB.. hehehe