(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, Cecelia

I had not decided on that yet... my gynae only told me to choose between normal or c-section. But i will be asking him more on the c-sect this sat as i think there r different methods of c-sect (such as GA, epidural, spinal). Not sure what is the different bet these few...

do u know the differences?

hi peddie

thanks for updating us. hmmm, your bf sounds like he has a lot of personal issues, y not persuade him to see a social worker TOGETHER with you? i think he needs help as well, and a third party giving advice to both of you together might benefit you. ring those help line numbers augbaby listed you earlier.

he does sound like he's jus delaying things and making excuses, poor dear, can understand how frustrated you are, and he sounds like he has anger management issues.

about him being caring, it sounds like there is a part of him that cares, but perhaps he's not matured enough to deal with this in the right manner.

with baby so close around the corner, its best to sort things out asap, seek professional help, once baby comes u will have so many other things to worry about.

keeping you in my prayers..

hi peddie, i'm sorry tat it din turn out as planned.. well, since he promised to tell SOON, then u can try to ask him again a couple of days later, maybe tmr or so.. do not let him drag, fix a date to tell the parents and make sure u guys really stick to it. and no more excuses, make your point clear to him this time. and tell him tat this is YOUR plan! and u will not let anything/anyone to spoil it.. it's time to make your firm stand this time! =)

well, we can tell tat he has his fair share of fear and worry too, but maybe he is not matured enuff to handle this yet..thou he confessed tat he still loves and cares for u and his child.

u are matured enuff to handle all these by now, so maybe u can lend him the support tat he needs now. assure him tat things will be fine after u guys broke the news and that his parents are definitely more capable than u both in handling this new life. no point in delaying or finding D day or D time to tell, both of U hv to tell anyway!

and my dear, u sounded like u had a real bad nite last nite.. u must hv been thinking and worrying too much and it's affecting the bb.. hv u been sleeping on your sides? preferably on the left, ok? for the bb's sake, try not to think so much b4 u sleep. coz when ur mind it too active, bb cant rest well too inside.

do take care dear! God bless u and the little one! =)

Gosh...peddie!!!!

@##%$&^%*&%$@!!!!!!!

Ok..tt's the censored font for all profanities I've spilled...

You need help <font color="ff0000">immediately</font>, no point depending on that Tasmanian devil anymore!! Grrrrrrrrrrr....

Please...please...inform your parents, they love you very much despite their evident flaws.

Feel like punching his nose off mannnnn......ok..better take deeeepppppp breath now before I hurt anyone or anything.....

I smsed Kelly ard 5pm, she had her water bag burst by gynae and she shd be delivering in 3 to 4 hrs, so shd be ard 8 or 9pm, let u all know when edward is out, okay?

Hi Jesline,

I din engage a confinement nanny, my mummy is helping me out. Reanne is sleeping in my room, my HB and I take care of her at nite.

Hi Augbaby,

That's true, at least i can see her every second when she is at home and still can nurse her. Will be veri heart pain if she's at the hospital, like my older daughter who din get discharged on the same day as me 4 yrs ago.

Yes, we rented the machine, cost abt $250 for 3 days package.

I hope ur labour and confinement will be a breeze too. Just keep telling yourself that the worse will be over when u r in pain, it somehow works for me. Jia you!

Hi pupsandcups

Can't wait to see your baby too! Sure hope yours will be just as smooth and breezy

Hi Butter8,

cheezels come in mini packs too, very easy to hide one! Hahaha.... ;p

Hi Cecilia,

Yes, I bf Reanne and she was discharged with me on the same day (Sat). PD did say she has jaundice but it was nt very high at that time and PD said usu can tell more accurately only on the 3rd or 4th day. Her jaundice level was 16 on Tuesday and today was at 14.4. Considered quite high. Some PD might insist baby to be admitted. It varies across diff PDs, i tink. Reanne will hv to continue with the photolight treatment for these two days and hv another blood test on Sat.

Quite tiring ... but got to dong lor cos' at least we get to see her every second. better than being at the hospital.

Hi peddie,

I think u r probably having all the practice contractions, can start to time them, in case they are real contractions. I m sure u will nt regret your decision to bring your boy to this world when u hv him in ur arms.

As for confinement, frankly speaking i m nt a firm believer or rather the kwai kwai mummy to follow all the rules. Maybe other mummies can advise u more on that, i dun wan to teach u the wrong things ;p

hi all, hope everyone's doing well.

wow! cant keep up wif e postings, guess must read more often. EDD brought forward 1 week by gynae at today's checkup cos 1 cm dilated. oso started 2 hav tightening feeling today. so countdown starts now for me.

Peddie, you may like to call one of these nos in the meantime, to help you out. I was a youth worker before changing career path in preparation for marriage. Was attached to several voluntary organisations in my course of study and work.

Trust me pls on this issue....do seek help cos you and baby truly need it urgently.

CALL :

1. Andrew and Grace Home: 6348-5674 (24 hours)

2. National Pregnancy Helpline:
1800-686-8623/1800-MUM-TO-BE (24 hours)

3. Family Service Centres toll-free line:
1800-838-0100

4. Beyond Social Services: 8111-3535
(Babes SMS helpline, 24 hours)

5. Pregnancy Crisis Service: 6339-9770

6. Young Women Muslim Association: 6745-5862 (Monday to Friday, 8.30am-5pm;
Saturday, 8.30am-1pm)

7. Shan You Counselling Centre: 6741-9293
(Monday to Friday, 9am-6pm)

8. Rose Villa: 6253-6556

9. Pertapis Centre for Women and Girls:
6745-3969 (Monday to Friday, 9am-5.30pm;
Saturday, 9am-5pm)

They may even help you discuss these matters wif your parents and bf's parents.

Moreover, they'll seek out shelter, food, services which you and your baby would require. Do consider....take care dearie.

Lotsa love...

Hi, piyo

Please help to update me on the list &amp; send a copy. Thanks!

Here with my details:-
Mummy's Name: Jesline
Baby's DOB/EDD: 11 Aug 2006
Daddy's Name: Mark
Email Address: [email protected]
Home Address: Woodlands
Blog/Online Photo Website: NA

hi Kelly,
Congratulations. have a good rest. waiting to hear ur birth story and baby edward's photo.

hi mtbs (end of aug),
i can understand ur feelings. me too waiting until neck is very long liao. really wish to deliver during early aug. feel like asking doc to induce but i know she won't. sigh...

hi peddie,
i think u shd have alternative plans rather than waiting or him to talk to his parents. Perhaps u shd take nurbates and the rest's advice. get the social worker to help. otherwise, u'll be having a hard time after delivering. U have to start thinking abt baby too. There's a lot of cost involved. Furthermore, u'll need emotional and physical support too. Who's going to take care of u after delivery? Hope everything will be resolved before u deliver. take care.

Hi Kelly
Congrats to u and yr hb. So happy for you.

Hi ladies.
A good start for all the mummys in the mth of Aug. Hope ours will be as smooth as jfong and kelly.

congrats to Kelly!

Hope to see her online soon!

peddie,
sorry to hear about what happened... please listen to nurbates and seek help now. With your EDD so near, you can't depend on your bf now...especially seems he is dragging his feet. He does seems to have anger management issues.. Have he ever hit you? You are talking in metaphors, so i wasn't sure if the "thunder" = his shouting voice and "lightning" = him hitting you...

If he did hit you b4, please get out and seek help for yourself and your baby.. You wouldn't want anyone to hurt your baby in the long run..

Really sorry things turn out this way.. take care &amp; hugz!

Trust your own instinct..

peddie,

Seriously, you need to seek help immediately, YOu are in 37weeks in 2weeks time your baby will be out. And you still waiting and wait for your bf to tell his parents? I think you are mature enough to know whats happening, you should let your parents know instead. have you read the news? a girl 13 or 14 pregnant and her parent's don't know any thing about it... do you want to be the next person on the news? I don't wish to see that..
Trust yourself your instinct b4 you trust anyone. If your bf really really care about both of you he will not drag and drag this matter.. you may give birth anytime you know? after giving birth where are you going to stay?

i believe he is going to ask u wait wait trust him he love you again. this is old tales....come on wait until baby is out?

as you can see everyone of us trying to ask you to let your parents know but you keep on focusing on letting his parents know...whats the point? the best best person who can help you is your parents not his parents.. his parents can deny everything..but your parents will help you......
Its either you let your parents know or seek help from helplines...i don't trust your bf will do anything to help.....

wow, congrats to Kelly!

peddie,
pls pick up ur courage n do sth for ur baby now. seek help! we know talking is easy but u really hav to get moving. it's not just buying the physical bb things dat is most impt now. u need a place to stay too. u still at ur Gf's? how is her parent's reaction as u r giving birth soon?

Hi Kelly,
Just read that you popped! Congrats!!!! Am glad to hear that baby and you are ok! Pls post Edwards' pics soon ya? meantime, rest well!

wow, congrats to Kelly!

peddie,
pls pick up ur courage n do sth for ur baby now. seek help! we know talking is easy but u really hav to get moving. it's not just buying the physical bb things dat is most impt now. u need a place to stay too. u still at ur Gf's? how is her parent's reaction as u r giving birth soon?

PIyo heres my details as well :

Here with my details:-
Mummy's Name: Catherine
My contact : 98472489
Baby's EDD: 21 Aug 2006
Baby's name : Charlotte
Daddy's Name: Steven
Email Address: [email protected]
Hospital : KKH
Home Address: Clementi
Blog/Online Photo Website: http://natea.multiply.com

Hi peddie,
I felt uncomfy and very concerned after reading your post cos I am not very confident that your bf will finally speak to his parents after all even though he appeared to be caring and concerned about you and your baby. You are now in 37 weeks which means anytime you will see your baby soon. Best to tell your parents, call up a social organisation and seek help asap. I don't think time is on your side. What happens if you pop and by then both sides of the families are not informed of your pregnancy? I think that situation is worse than spilling the beans b4 you pop. Pls speak up soon. Hugz!

Kelly, congrats on the arrival of Prince Edward!! =) so happy for you, can hold Edward in your arms!

i also cant wait for my turn.. nervous and excited @ the same time!

peddie,
as you see all of us very concern about you, seriously the best way is to tell your parents don't drag anymore ok? you are a brave girl telling your parents won't hurt you as much as you end up with nothing..... Family supports are very important.

Have updated your details and have sent out the table. Pls check!

Btw, anyone know the weights of Baby Reanne and Edward? Would like to update the table of newborn babies :p

Peddie, i think u would rather meet the parents with the big tummy now then to be carrying your bb boy later, rite? i mean, while u can still walk around ard on your own now, u shld settle this issue asap..

trust me, u dowan to be all alone @ the hospital when u deliver the bb. tell your parents, at least they can be there with and for u. =)

i dunno if your BF will hv excuses again to MIA when the bb arrives, so to be on the safe side, tell your daddy and mommy first.

tell your BF tat u will arrange a date to tell your folks, not going to wait for your BF anymore! and this is YOUR plan! =)

go ahead and do it, and update us ok!! this is the right thing to do, and do not believe anymore of his craps abt delaying and finding the right time!

Updated list of Graduates

<table border=1><tr><td>August mummies</TD><TD>BB's Gender</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>BB's WT</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>OBGYN </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>GIRL</TD><TD>Reanne</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>06-Jul-06</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>BOY</TD><TD>Edward</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>13-Jul-06</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Peddie...

Like how you would do anything for your baby and how much u love yr baby before he's even born, your family most likely would protect you and support you.

In the end right, it's YOUR baby. Protect YOURSELF and protect YOUR baby. Get your own support from your family first. You're their baby too and you deserve all the support you can get! Already 37 weeks... there's no time! Won't it be worse if you tell them only when the baby is born?

As for that guy. From what you say, he seems like a coward. The guy can run off anytime one. He say utter sweet nothings to you but they're basically literally sweet nothings because they're worth nothing. What you need is some action on his part, and this isn't guaranteed.

Trust yourself and trust your own instincts. If you're writing about him in such a manner here, I'm sure you're wise enough to know what's happening.

*hugs* take care n be strong. =)

Peddie,

Taking care of a baby is not easy. You need a lot of support and financial help.

Pls see a social worker now or alert the medical social worker at KKH.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

u rented the machine? how much it cost u then? ya think treatment at hm is always better than in the hospital..:)<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
We considered renting the machine home for our boys too but dropped the idea.
One thing to note if you are the soft-hearted type, you will most likely end up picking your baby up from the machine regularly.
That's what happened to our friends.
Eventually they brought the baby back to the hospital as mummy couldn't rest well &amp; baby couldn't receive his proper treatment.

I know myself well, I will be perturbed over their cryings &amp; can't rest well.
For us, we returned to hospital everyday as I was nursing my boys.
Yes ... That can be tiring too.

At least, I don't get to see the heart-rending moments as my #2 was warded in ICU due to blood type incompatibility which contributed to his jaundice surfacing on the first day.
Blood (in small tubes) had to be taken to test the blood counts &amp; prick tests to test the bilirubin level every day.
Thank God for His strength &amp; peace as well as my dh who was with me. If not I think I would slump into depression.

kao_smile2.gif
If phototherapy is necessary &amp; you couldn't bear the thought of leaving your infant in the hospital alone, you can consider renting the machine home to gauge how you handle the phototherapy sessions.

Hi Jfong!

Yupyup... the princessy bed set is too cute to resist. Hehe. My mum couldn't resist it either. So pinky so cute. Just worried now if bb pop out n turns out into a boy.. Then all the pinky items gone down the drain.

It's been a long time since i posted in this thread. In case u've forgotten, i'm skyblue. Previously my nick was bearybear. Have been following but no time to post.

peddie,
I can't help but agree with peachsorbet dat ur bf seems like a coward. Knowing joly well dat u're due soon, he still prefers to adopt a wait and see attitude. Wait till dunno when attitude. It irks me to see u worrying abt all these on ur own while he keeps saying he's tired etc etc.
It takes a lot of courage and strength on ur part to keep the bb and u definitely nid the support of pple ard u. Mebbe ur own family members can lend a hand if they know of ur situation?

kao_sad2.gif
Hi Peddie,
It's time to face the music for the sake of yourself &amp; your newborn.
Please tell your parents regarding your pregnancy.

hey mommies, i got a colleague whose SIL just popped a bb boy @ Mt A last week. the bb is back home liao lah, but hor, his bottom was reddish, and he cried alot when they bathed him.

they suspect tat the nurses @ Mt A did not change his diapers as regular as needed, hence the rashes and all..

poor bb boy always cries when the bottom comes into contact with water, coz of the sting!

so as a reminder, pls make sure tat u tell the nanny @ the hospital to change your bb every hr or so..

my colleague recommended me to tell the nanny to bring the bb to us, and we watch them change the bb! =P juz tell the nanny tat we wanna watch n learn! so tat we can be sure tat they do not delay the changing of the diaper.

hi peddie

i know its hard doing this on your own, even talking to your own family on your own seems hard too. there is a lot for you to shoulder right now, and i can understand this is a very testing time for you.

pls speak to a social worker, they will walk through this WITH YOU and you don't have to take this journey alone. i have friends who seeked the help of social workers, but took a long time n much persuading, and when they finally did, they wished they did it earlier and have absolutely no regrets.

u mentioned before you have spoken to the social worker at KKH, i'm sure they are following up with your case, if they are not, give them a call now and say you need help.

seeking help is the first step in solving problems dear girl, take that brave step ok?

we're right here behind you. as we (well most of us) are not social workers, what we say may or may not make u feel better, but know that we have good intentions.

praying that God gives you strength and guidance through this time difficult period.

hugzz

piyo,
Of cos remb lah :p Hehehe... I still pop into this thread to read once in a while.

leobbsmom,
Actually we shd oso check on our own oso when they bring the bb to us. They'll always leave the diapers under the trolley and if we realise it's not been changed ot smthg, then quickly do it. If unsure, can ask the nurse to teach.

augustmum,
When r u popping? I can't bear to start my leave yet leh. So trying to 'dong' at work.

Hi peddie

think u should let your parents know... as i believe they will be support &amp; care for u.....they will be happy as they will become grandparents soon.... so tell them

they will stand by u

Hi Skyblue,
same here! "can't bear to start leave " is the right description! I wanna keep all my maternity leave for our baby so Dun wanna take and wait at home to pop like waste my leave!!!

Hi Nurbates,
If you are around, can you pm me your mobile number? I think I mixed up yours and Noe:p Paiseh!

Skyblue,

Supposed to be 14 August. But, with threatened early labour, could be anytime. Doc's stopping my medication (for relaxing the uterus) next tuesday, so may just pop next week.

Given hospital leave to rest till I pop. No choice. Job involves too much standing and walking (think we are in the same line, if I remember correctly)and with Noah to take care of after work eah day, I'm really exhausted.

augustmum,
I oso recall we're in the same line
For me, luckily my son is with nanny on weekdays, so i still can rest. But i'm really tired at the end of each day. Somemore keep worrying i have backlog cos i sure dun wanna leave any undone work when i pop. Now i'm seriously considering taking ML from august. But dats if i dun pop earlier :p

piyo,
Yalor, very wasted if start ML early cos dat means gotta go back to work earlier.

so many posts today...juz finish reading only. Wow...2 graduates from our thread already and more to come..
More lovely bb pics to see..

Kelly dear,
congrats on the arrival of bb edward.. Have a good rest and we can meet up together wif erin when our bb is born, thou it be a while more b4 me n erin pop.. :p

Piyo,
thanks dearie for the updates..huggies...

Peddie,
sad to hear that u din manage to talk to yr bf parents still. Like what all the mummies advise u, pls try to do so soon coz u might pop anytime and i am sure u wan yr bb to be able to enjoy both side of his grandparents love and hugs. Maybe u might want to start the ball rolling by telling your parents first..In the meantime, do take good care of yourself and bb and if you need any help, just let us know as u have most of our contacts as well..

Hi jfong,
ya me too...hope i can be like u n dun need to take epi..:p

The rest of the mummies edd is end of august..lets cheer each other on ya..i know all of us r anxiously waiting to hold and see our lovely darlings...piyo, must rem to sms me ya if u pop...hee hee...