(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi jesline,
when are you planning to take leave? I will work till I pop cos waiting at home is torturing...a t least work keeps me sane
but I nua all the way to work cos so tired! If only I can sleep longer! and looking at calendar is VERY TORTUROUS cos counting the days like so far!!!

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noe,
Yah...I'm mix feeling now. exciting, worry, happy and scare...... My gynea asked me why I feeling scare, I said I scare of pain and episotomy as well....then she said don't worry for that, you always have "epidural"! hahahah...... other than the delivery process, actually I still got a strange feeling, can't believe I'm going to be a mother. :) more resposibility...... with a new member to the family, I guess should be alot of changes right?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Wanli,
Heh heh ... Your GY is right you know.

Yeah indeed. Things will not be the same once the little one arrives.
Sleep for sure is one of them!
Till now, dh &amp; I hadn't got a good night sleep through since our #1.
(We are into Attachment Parenting &amp; I TBF my boys).
And just when the boys are older &amp; things are getting settled, here we are going to start over again!

Oh well ... Tahan for a few more years lah.

Relationship with dh is also an important factor to note. Sometimes being mothers, we are so into our little one that we neglected our relationship with our spouse.
Do pre-empt all these lor ...

Hi Piyo,

I think I starts yesterday night but i didnt bother it.

then thismorning i wake up, it crampy feeling is still there.. I start to worry.
I will call my dr to chaneg my appt from Sat to Fri

Hi rain,
I think for now try to walk lesser till you see your gynae. When the cramps come, I think walking lesser helps! me also trying to "dong" till I see my gynae this sat. Take good care k!

BTW, if gynae grant us hospitalisation leave close to our EDD, does it mean our company starts us on maternity leave from that date, instead of under the category of hospitalisation leave?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Jasmine,
Do check with your HR on this.

I was with the Civil Service.
For my #2, I really needed the rest but did not wish to waste my maternity leave.
My wonderful GY gladly granted me weeks of hospitalisation leave which is different from medical leave &amp; maternity leave).
Hint Hint. For mothers who would like to rest but don't wish to take pre-maternity leave.
So I was on almost a month of hospitalisation leave before I delivered.
Afterwhich, it's considered maternity leave (28 * 3 days for Singaporeans).

It also depends if your GY is those strict or understanding type. Afterall, hospitalisation leave does suggest hospital stay.

Long time no see, though I have been faithfully following your experiences. I'm 35 weeks now and looking forward to seeing my little girl in a month's time like all of you! Glad to see everyone is doing well in spite of swollen feet, water retention, etc. I'm sure seeing the little one will more than make up for it.

Just wanted to ask - are any of you storing your bb's cord blood? Am thinking of using Cordlife. Anyone else doing so or had feedback?

Hi piyo,
me also experience wat u feel..i very fast need to go toilet n sometimes when i go it is like the pee is very little n after a while then got pee..was asking the other mummies if they experience the same too..This sat is also my gynae checkup..wondering how much my bb will be at 34wks plus...33wks plus alr 2kg...now getting to be of good weigh...do rem to check with yr gynae how much yr bb weighs..

Hi honeyhaven &amp; Dino,
I think I wait and see how..... I remember Dr Wong said see blood only call her... :p I afraid is because I did the VE scan on tuesday causing the brown discharge. Yaloh, 3rd trim really not easy......

Hi Rain,
You should call yr gynea then. Personally don't think you still need to take the anti-contraction pill because yr baby already full term.

Hi Piyo,
Yah, I take those big green coconut. hmmm...don;t think I will pop soon lei....because contraction not consistent yet. Wait for a while loh, see what happen... :p

Hi Noe,
Yes, many people told me no more good sleep after baby born
. but I think still worth it loh, a complete family should have a baby. We have been trying for more than 6 mths in order to get this baby, both my husband and I really can't wait to see her
. How many baby you planning to have?

Hi Augbaby,
My gynae always never tell me my baby's weight!
maybe cos mine is small baby he dun wan me to worry? haiz! so frustrating! I hope I can push to know her wt at 34 weeks plus this sat! so at least I know the peeing little and a lot of times is normal hahaha!

Hi Zshih,
Welcome! I do not plan to store baby's cord blood but some of the mummies are doing that while some are donating... they should be able to share with you

Hi Piyo &amp; Erin,
I usually have my massuer(s) to come over to my place.
They are from SAVH &amp; do provide home service at the minimum earnings of $50.
I do this quite regularly whenever I have celebrations or just need to massage the aches away.
My family members enjoy my massuer's services so we hit the minimum earnings easily.
It's also my way of supporting them as they are visually handicapped.

kao_smile2.gif
$20 per 40 minutes.
Please PM me for recommendations if you are considering home service.
I only use the service of those more experienced massuers at SAVH as I have been with them for some years and more so now that I am pregnant.

Hi Noe,
Wow..yr gynae say u might deliver soon..that is nice..how i wish i can too when my bb has reach full term..coz 23aug seems soooo far away..i juz cant wait to hold my boy in my hands thou i am not thinking of the labour process..haha<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Augbaby,
Hee hee ... I know what you mean.
I am looking forward to my D-Day too.
At the same time, I have not finished packing our rooms! Mixed feelings!

Hi Noe,
Yes, many people told me no more good sleep after baby born :). but I think still worth it loh, a complete family should have a baby. We have been trying for more than 6 mths in order to get this baby, both my husband and I really can't wait to see her :). How many baby you planning to have?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Wanli,
Indeed. It's worth every inconvenience.
I know of couples who have been trying for years &amp; going through IVF to conceive and those who lost their newborn.
We are greatly blessed and I never fail to thank God for His grace &amp; mercy on our family.

Both dh and I are comfortable with 3.
I will likely go for IUD first as I am not comfortable with the thought of ligation.

This is Singapore leh ...
Giving birth is one thing, raising our children in a loving and healthy environment is another.
It's a life long journey.

wanli, but i only had tat swollen fingers after a stroll, normally i dun hv wor...

i'm having my week 36 hcekup tmr!! so excited liao.. dunno if gynae will see me once a week after this.. =P

augbaby, yes, i also feel the same as u abt peeing! somehow i m always URGENT easily! >__<

somehow am afraid we will become "loose" down there after all these...!! =(

so hor, pls do the Kegel exercise tat i sent u all ok?! =P

hi nurbates,
my mil also went for bypass too. hers was also badly blocked. luckily managed to clear most of the arteries.

hi wanli,
will try out the hand exercise and see if it works.

hi noe,
if we r not doing it at home, do we have to go to savh for the massage? is it near bishan?

hi zshih,
am not planning to store the cord blood. perhaps wait for 2nd child (if i have any). most prob will be donating the cord blood.

hi jfong,
r u using the massage lady that augbaby recommended? how's the massage?

Hi Noe,
Our compnay did organise for the visually handicapped to come to our office before to do massage! Sounds familiar! can PM me the contacts?

Hi erin00 and piyo

Did some online research on the difference between private and public donation - think for public donation there are a lot of restrictions - I don't qualify to donate to the public cord blood bank cos I was in UK for more than 3 mths between 1980 to 1996. Sigh. It does seem like a good idea to donate the cord blood to the public bank if you don't intend to store privately. For me looks like only choice is private storage if I want to do so.

Just went for checkup today actually - baby is 2.5 kg at the moment - long limbs
Think she will be tall like me and my dh.
So looking forward to seeing and holding her soon

hi zshih,
oh dear. I haven't check out the restrictions yet. i have thyroid problems and am currently taking medications. guess i'll speak to my gynae 1st b4 donating bb's cord blood. in case it'll cause harm to other babies.

hi jesline,
when's ur edd? my edd's on 25 Aug but i'm taking early ML starting on the 14th. don't want to lugi national day.

wow alot of u like taking ML soon...mine be long long away...me be taking only abt 16aug only..sigh...

Hi leobbsmom,
ya the peeing thing is a trouble indeed..ya i must start doing my kegels...dun wanna be loose down there..haha :p

Wanli,
that time i had bad stomach pains n doc did a V scan for me to see if i am dilted or not..n after that the next day i had some very light brown discharge so i think it is bec of the Vscan that she did for me that nite...

yeah today is the last day of taking the pills to relax my womb..doc gave me that for a wk, 3times to take after i had bad stomach pains...so many pills to take..

Hi,erin

my EDD is on 18th Aug but bcos i am opting for c-section so i had already made arrangement with my gynae that I will deliver on 11th August...

Hi, mummies

how do i know if i am having contraction? AS these few days, after sitting for a long time when i walk around, there tends be some pain at my back &amp; my belly will start to feel very hard... not sure what is that???

jesline, me too! 7 aug will start to take the ML. and i will work from home from 1 aug.. =)

augbaby, ya, must do kegel exercise hor! but must do only when u hv nothing to pee hor.. if not, u will put stress on "there" k! =)

leobbsmom,
oh is it...hmm like i always have the urge to pee leh...so dun noe if i shld start now..maybe i start at hm first...haha..in case "accident" happen n i leak...haha :p

erin, you same as me i will be taking ML at 14 aug too.

my gynea actually says don't need to take so early can go on birth then take..

Jeslin,

I'm seeing him every week now since the hospitalisation.

Wanli,

Hee...my hubby is the one who benefits...one birthday celebration for three

Hi piyo

My EDD is 19 Aug so quite near yours and still some time away. Can't wait tho!

Hi erin00 - yah, best to check the restrictions, otherwise if not suitable, they will discard the cord blood anyway, so wasted!

If all goes well, planning to take ML from 14 Aug too.

Hi, augustmum

r u delivering by normal or c-section? cos think i got alot of questions to ask Dr Ang this sat but he seems to be in a rush everytime i went to see him.....

me having contractions every 15mins since 12pm n i spoke 2 my gynae who told me 2 go 2 Mount Alvernia NOW since i MUST hv epi n i've been 1-2cm dilated since last fri.

y i'm still here? cos my stupid husband went 2 play golf in JB n he's still there. i just spoke 2 him, SCREAMED at him 2 come back ASAP, told him 2 go home 2 grab my hospital bag 1st (damn it, shld hv put it in e car like wat sharon's husband advised) b4 picking me up at my mum's plc (i came over tis morn cos i've been getting contractions since 12midnite n didnt wanna b home alone, skarly i really pop 2day).

Oh dear, Kelly,
Calm down..take a slow deep breath...it be ok.. Ya like wat rain say, maybe u can go to the hospital first and then ask your hubby to join you there straight. If yr parents are at hm, ask one of them to accompany u since there might be someone to look after yr 1st one...
it be ok..keep u updated ya. Take care..

kelly contraction is ok as long as water not break still got time to slowly bath.. calm down n try to be more relax.

Kelly,

Take care. Anyone else with you now? Mabbe meet your hubby at the hospital instead.

Jesline,

I'm opting for natural. Ya...Dr Ang's very busy. Better write down your questions prior to appointment.

Oh dear Kelly....calm down dearie....go to hospital asap so you can take epi the soonest possible.

Take care, wish you all the best

Hi, augustmum

ya true..... Dr Ang is very busy......i will write down all my qns &amp; will ask him this sat.... during my last visit to him, he just told me to choose a date for my c-section, pass me an admission form &amp; told me that he had book for 4-bedded room but there will be free upgrade to 2 bedded room.... hope he will have more time this sat as my appointment is in the afternoon instead of morning...

hi noe,
if we r not doing it at home, do we have to go to savh for the massage? is it near bishan?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Erin,
It's very near Bishan.

Here's the info:
SAVH
47 Toa Payoh Rise
Sinagpore 298104
Tel: 62514331

Hi Noe,
Our compnay did organise for the visually handicapped to come to our office before to do massage! Sounds familiar! can PM me the contacts?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Piyo,
Yeah, they do that regularly. Going to schools or offices for massage services.
Sure, I will PM you.
kao_smile2.gif

Hi, jfong

how r u coping with your confinement life? is Baby Reanne sleeping in the same room as u or with your confinement nanny during night?

Hi Piyo,

I think it depends on the PD, most of the time shd be 2 or 3 days after being discharged from hospital. becos, common problem like jaundice can only be detected or become more obvious after 3 or 4 days.

Hi Wanli and Cecilia

I din engage confinement lady, my mum is helping me out so it's a breeze cos' my mum very chin chye one. I still bathe everyday, wash hair alt days. Eat my cheezels....

havent started my massage yet leh cos' my bb doing photolight treatment at hm so need a lot of my time and attention. may hv to postpone of forgo cos' just nw doc say she still nd to continue wz the treatment.

We rented the photolight treatment bed (look like those u see in the hospital nursery). Nd to remove bb clothes and slip into the overalls that's attached to the bed and put on the eye mask to protect the eyes.

Hi Dino,

Varicose veins din hurt at all, infact disappear liao. Dun worry, i'm sure u will be fine!

Hi Jasmine,

my HB still very excited and in fact he hasn't have had a good nite sleep since bb is home as he helps out with the diaper changing and accompany me while i breastfeed.

Hi Peachsorbet,

U are rite, it's from Aussino, cunt resist buying it cos' so princess rite!

ooh..........
jfong hubby so nice... hope my hubby will be so helpful.. but i think it will be very tiring for him..
with work and all..

hi jfong,
u rented the machine? how much it cost u then? ya think treatment at hm is always better than in the hospital..
Anyway a speedy recovery for bb dearie reanne..
wow yr labour n delivery is a breeze and now confinement is too..hahaha..anyway take care n do post more pics when you have of bb reanne ya...

gals,

can i ask you if u still suffer constipation? cos of recently, instead i've had runny stools, sometimes with a bit of blood, wonder what that could imply, i forgot to mention to my doc the last i saw him, it does not bother my day to day life tho. my 2nd trimester i was so constipated it was terrible.

have you gals heard of the TENS machine? my fren who is giving birth any time in London is renting that for her delivery, apparently its v commonly used overseas.

jfong, you sound like ure doing great, we all CANNOT WAIT to share stories of our little ones too!

erin,
thats good idea, after my next week check, if baby not coming earlier, i oso better take ML after national day kekeke

piyo...
we count down together...

me no sign of any labor etc yet... no contractions, or major aches...or swelling.
maybe its cuz i am in the last week of Aug, the latest here... my signs will come later then all u gals... so me wait n wait...
baby not even turn down.. but as long as he is fine and happy, will let him be hehehe

jfong,
thanks for sharing pix - such a sweet baby! and also have sweet hubby

i hope my CL will let me eat cheezels :p

Jesline,
U opt for C-sect with/without epidural?? I havent decide going for which one.

Kelly,
Cia yo, gal....

Jfong,
r u bf ur gal? Dun mind i ask, how high ur gal jaudice level that required u to borrow the equipment back. Furthermore she is discharging wit u at the same time right??