(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

kao_smile2.gif
I saw my gynae this morning.
Baby is 1.9kg at 33rd week.

She did a VE. Baby is not engaged and I am not dilated.
However, she did say that I will most likely deliver between 14 - 20 August (EDD 28 August).
Ke ke ke ... I was hoping sooner.

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

anyone got cure for swollen legs? :-(<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Jesline,
I find foot reflexology helpful as they promote blood circulation.

I do that for all my 3 pregnancies.
kao_smile2.gif

If you do consider trying, please do tell the massuer the level of pressure you are comfortable with.
Most importantly, get one who's experienced with massaging pregnany women!

under what circumstances would the waterbag bursts on its own? like would walking alot cause that?

Hi Noe,
preggie can do foot reflexology?? I tot cannot?
wow! which means your EDD very close to mine liao haha!

Hi jesline,
I propped my leg on a cushion every night when I sleepa and I find sometimes pre natal massage helps!

Hi pupsandcups,
me reaching end of term, you think shd still invest in stretchmark cream? we do not use them after birth right? or we would continue still? If yes, I don't mind getting

Hi Cat,
you mean the redness will disappear with time?

Hi Augustmum,
this incident must have given you a scare! Glad to know your contractions are under control! I hope the pills prescribed can keep my contractions under control too! *pray hard*

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Hi Noe,
preggie can do foot reflexology?? I tot cannot?
wow! which means your EDD very close to mine liao haha!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Piyo,
Yeah, the massuers do perform reflexology usually for pregnant women from 4th-5th month onwards (depending on where you visit).

What happens is that they will avoid the pressure points that can trigger the uterus to contract. During those times when I was having constipation, my massuer will massage my pressure point that aids digestion.
It sure helps me poo!

Then again I have been having foot reflexology all the while (since I was 14) &amp; my favourite massuers have been with me for the past 5 years so it's not a shock to my body system to be doing foot reflexology during my pregnancies.

Hee hee ... That's only your EDD lah.
You might be delivering in your darling in your 38th week too.

hi piyo,

i think might be worthwhile to invest. i buy the palmers cream from chinatown upstrs, its $16/tube (usually guardian abt $22). i will still continue to use after i deliver.

so exciting, everyone is like having signs of labour! boohoo except me, wonder if my boyboy will be late

Hi Dino,
You feel boring at home ah.....ohhh, i feel so relaxing can rest at home :p, may be i'm too lazy. Anyway, I still need to do all my office work from home that's why I didn't feel boring.

Hi chrys,
The dilation check is not painful at all. I think our gynea is very gentle
. and it is very fast, less than min. But this time I have dilation then I feel a little bit of pain when Dr doing the check.

Hi Rain &amp; Bottle,
I don't think VE check is pain loh, but not so sure is that different doctor may give u different feeling.....normally doctor will not do the check unless you tell him you got contraction and crampy feeling. because only when u have contraction then will cause the dilation.

Hi honeyhaven,
hahah...better wait until yr baby full term then only start the contraction and dilation.....the feeling actually not that good... quite uncomfortable nowaday, totally can't sleep at night.

Hi augustmum,
Do take care and rest more.

Hi jfong,
How yr confinement? did u sign up any massage? How your baby doing photolight at home? Hope she get well soon. Can't wait to see baby Reane photo

Hi Noe,
Yah...I'm mix feeling now. exciting, worry, happy and scare...... My gynea asked me why I feeling scare, I said I scare of pain and episotomy as well....then she said don't worry for that, you always have "epidural"! hahahah...... other than the delivery process, actually I still got a strange feeling, can't believe I'm going to be a mother.
more resposibility...... with a new member to the family, I guess should be alot of changes right?

Hi Honeyheaven,

I started having contractions and bb engaged as early as wk 31. And I am on contraction pills since then.

Hi jfong,
Does the vericose veins hurt during labour?

Hi Wanli,
me too, got a lot of mixed feelings. Happy, excited, worry this n that, and everyday stare at the calender thinking when to start taking maternity leave, etc. haha.

Do u have swollen feet?

Hi Chrys,
I agree with wanli, actually not pain or tickish, maybe dr wong is quite gentle.

Came back from NUH, visited an uncle at ICU, he's had a heart bypass today and my aunt is totally distraught..poor thing. Couple still very young, in their 40s....and hubby is sole breadwinner. Operation was an emergency, my uncle had a scope done yesterday and doc at TTSH found tt he has 90% blockage, anytime can K O one...yikes!!! He was immediately warded and sent to NUH for bypass this morning.

Quite an eyeopener to me, made me decide to work as tutor at home once baby is out, at least if anything happens, I still have savings to help my hubby out.

Okay back to mommy talk;

I came upon this webby and saw pretty interesting baby wraps, quite a breeze for new moms I dare say.. do check it out

http://www.supremecare.com.sg/SwaddleMe.htm

Hi Dino,
yes, I only get swollen feet last week. I think is after baby engaged. I even have swollen finger and hand, when I bend my finger I will feel pain.

hahhaa, me too keep looking at the calendar everyday and thinking when my baby will out etc....

Are you going to employ a maid to take care of the baby?

Wanli, Dino,
I take leave sometime to rest at home too, and i feel very relax.. :p if i were given 1 week leave/mc, i dun think i will be boring too.. there are so many things can do at home.. i always feel tat time is not enuf for me, there r still so many unread books, especially those on childcare, etc, always got no time to read, after coming back from work.

i also keep staring at the calendar in office, counting days, calculating when to start taking maternity leave, haha.. sama sama.

my legs are SO SWOLLEN.. my fingers are painful too when i clinched fist, oh that's bcos of swollen too? my whole body swollen like tat..

Just have a stroll after dinner justnow, hope tat my bb will engage earlier..

chrys,

u at home under MC/ hospitalisation leave or annual leave??

BTW, if gynae grant us hospitalisation leave close to our EDD, does it mean our company starts us on maternity leave from that date, instead of under the category of hospitalisation leave?

wanli, chrys
my fingers/hands have been swollen 4 a while. my feet/legs started recently. very painful lor...even when clenching fist or bending fingers. aiya, really cant wait 2 pop so all these would go away.

i agree tat VE checks r not painful, i tik it all depends on e gynae's skills BUT VE checks by midwives can b painful. a few midwives did VE checks 4 me during my 1st pregnancy n they can b quite chor-lor.

Piyo,

Ya, the incident really gave hubby and me a scare. When midwife was preparing me for 'just-in-case give birth', I was so scared as many things were not ready then.

However, I can't wait to give birth now since most items are in place now. Like Dino and Wanli, everyday look at calendar, counting down. Hopefully will give birth on 22 July, same day as my no. 1 or 23 July, same day as me

BTW, anyone here ordering confinement food. Signed up for natalessential but got no reply yet.

do you encounter times when your feet is swollen and times when the swollen part subsides? It happens to me... on and off so I continue to prop up my legs when I sleep...

nowadays I can't seem to shop for long... after a while my pelvic bone and the thigns' joints would be aching and like baby pressing on something

Anyone started on raspberry tea and coconut juice?

Hi Noe,
where do you normally go for foot massage?

Hi pupsandcups,
Thanks! may just roll by to get the cream... now my tummy itchy again

Hi Jfong,
Your baby is so cute! and have lots of hair so nice!!!

hi wanli and chrys,
me too. my hands and feet are still very swollen despite me cutting down on salty food, propping my legs up and drinking more water. fingers (the joints) get terribly painful especially in the middle of the night. wonder if it's due to the swelling or poor blood circulation. so worried that it might be arthritis.

hi piyo,
my swelling never subside totally. either swollen or very swollen. my mil says start on coconut juice fr. wk 36 onwards but my mum can start fr. wk 33 onwards. not too sure who to believe. haven't start drinking yet. but i've stopped taking durians and tonics since wk 32 cos worried that it'll be too heaty and cause baby rashes.

hi noe,
can still go for foot reflexology? i'm thinking of going. hope it'll help in my blood circulation.

hi jfong,
ur baby so cute. can do the 'gong xi'pose when sleeping. keke...

piyo,
me encounter my foot to be swollen and subside. if i drink lesser water my feet will start to swollen when i drank lots of water it will subside.. but my hands are not swollen

hi erin and cat,
mine on and off, will swollen and subside but even subside will still be a bit... I can't wear my wedding ring and watch now think my hands and fingers also swollen

Jfong,
Your daugther is so... cute especially the way she sleep in the cot. How your confi going?
Cant wait to c mine...

morning ladies,

I have yet to start having really bad swelling... and pelvic aches &amp; pains are on/off and not really very frequent.. at the rate, think i might not pop 2 weeks earlier then my EDD of 31st Aug... keke..

I did wake up, screaming, with bad cramps in my right calf..ouch!

hehe, the swaddling wrap looks good! I visited my fren in TMC after she delivered.. and, we all realise we don't know how to swaddle the baby, including mummy! Had to buzz for the nurse to show us! (who is really helpful @ TMC!).

Hope the nurses @ MAH will be equally helpful! I opted for a 2 bedder, as not very sure if got chance to be upgraded to 2 bedder or not..
There is a total of 20 beds in MAH... My gynae has no guarantee of upgrades leh.. Any mummies have any feedback on FOC upgrades @ MAH?

Butter8,
i think, i will wash my hair in hospital after delivering... and up to the day i go back home.. then, i see how long i can go without washing my hair.. think not more then 3 days, i'll be buay tahan liaoz.. will get those chinese herbs for bathing.. really can't do without bathing bah..

piyo,
my colleague says is normal to have swollen feet and fingers guess you better stop wearing any accessories. try to drink more water.
mine also subside but not fully subside.

jfong, ur bb's got so much hair!!! aiyo...so cute! think she will hv nice n thick eyebrows when she grows bigger! =)cOOL....!!! =P

i hv been strolling more after every meal now, esp after dinner. i dun hv anymore heartburns after i cut down on my carbo intake weeks ago. which i think it helps alot..

congrats, jfong!

How is hubby's reaction during the birth of the 2nd one?? Was it the same as your 1st born? or he like bo chap liaoz?

hehe, so wat the books say is true.. genitals will be enlarged at birth!

461938.png

hey jfong.. the baby's adorable!! looks like she's praying to sleep.. hehe. is that the aussino bedding set? think i got something like that too =D

woke up at 5am last night with the irresistable urge to scratch my stomach. it was so itchy ... felt like i had a thousand mosquito bites on my stomach. couldn't sleep for a long while.. in the end put some oil and rub a little... then sleep. =(

jfong

baby is gorgeous, makes all of us mommies more anxious to see our babies soon too!

peach,
try palmers oil for itchy n dry skin, esp catered for pregnant women, its 100% effective, works wonders for me

Good morning ladies,
wow...so many posts this morning...Me also having swollen feet but like piyo, mine is like once only and then after that time, my swell has gone down alr...i tried to prop my feet up in office but find that sleeping wif my feet prop up under a pillow is uncomfy so i din...well some friends say if swell n then go down n when swell again the 3rd time, u r going to pop..dun noe how true thou..so far, me only once..haha..

Hi Noe,
Wow..yr gynae say u might deliver soon..that is nice..how i wish i can too when my bb has reach full term..coz 23aug seems soooo far away..i juz cant wait to hold my boy in my hands thou i am not thinking of the labour process..haha

Dear jfong,
thanks for sharing yr bb girl pics..she is so lovely and look so sweet sleeping in her cot..sigh...reali makes me want to hold my bb soon...but my doc say wont be so soon for me, coz bb not even engage yet n usually for boys, it be later...gosh....:p

Piyo,
think u might pop first b4 me..hee hee..thou our edd date is same..coz me haven experience contractions leh..dun think even brakston hicks..

do u all realise that when u pee, it is like sometimes u juz pee already, n the next minute u need to pee again..or sometimes u have to lean forward to ensure that all the pee comes out n sometimes even the pee, comes out a little n u wait a while, somemore will come out...i find myself going to the toilet rather often at nite n reali cant fall asleep again after that..sigh...

Hi, augbaby

i also experienced that..... especially at night.. tend to wake up almost every one to two hours to pee.... cant really sleep well....

me hope that the days will pass by faster to my due date... getting more &amp; more tired these few days....

Question : do any mommy here feel tat your fingers are very swollen and tight until u cant bend them after a stroll? i always feel this way..dunno if it's normal...

Hi chrys,
yah, seem like so much thing todo at home. Cleaning this and that, never feel boring :p. I think is because yr finger is swollen too. My finger sometimes pain until I can wake up in the night. Don't worry too much on the engagement thingy, it can happen in 1 night.

Hi Jfong,
Yr baby so much hair and chubby, very adorable

Hi Kelly,
yaloh, all these uncomfortable make me hope my baby can pop early....
...by the way, after you have dilated, do u have any brown discharge? smell like blood ....

Hi augustmum,
wah, you really well planning, then yr whole family almost all born in July
, can celebrate birthday together.

Hi Piyo,
I started coconut juice on 35wk. Think should not try so early loh because too cooling.....may be you can try but if u feel tummy pain or what then should stop first until u reach 36 wks.

Hi erin,
My gynea told me the pain from the swollen feet and finger are due to water retention then affect the blood circulation. She just asked me todo more exercise on the finger and legs to improve the blood circulation......but i still feel the same...the swollen never subside..

peddie, think u hv talked the parents yesterday, 12 July?? pls update us how it went, ok..

pray tat it all turned out fine and all is well.

hear from u soon girl!

Rain,
When u have crampy feeling, do u feel any thightening on yr tummy? If yes, then may be is contraction
. I think should be normal to have crampy feeling at this stage, especially yr EDD is on early aug. I always got the crampy feeling nowaday but just not in consistent interval. So still need to wait until the real contraction come in then go hospital. You can check with yr gynea see whether u need any VE scan and CTG.

Hi leobbsmom,
I think u r having water retention on finger as well, just like many mummies here having the same problem

anyone getting the Fenugreek capsules from GNC? Does it reali help in breast milk? Anyone can advise? N how much is a bottle from GNC n how many capsules anyone knows? Me thinking of starting to buy maybe 1 bottle for standby leh..

augbaby,

i bought 3 bottles stand by of fenugreek leh.. bought online from drugstore.com. cheaper then buying in SG.. dunno how helpful it will be...

Hi,Augustmum

May i know how frequently r u seeing Dr Ang? When is your next visit to him?

I will be seeing him this sat.... but my appointment tend to be 3 weeks apart even though I am now 35 weeks....

augbaby,
i suggest don't anyhow take pills unless your gynea advice, otherwise better not, cos you won't know the pills might contain other things which was not written down. if you want more breast milk take more fish......

Hi Rain,
You see how long the crampy feeling lasts... if it is still there in the afternoon, call your gynae or perhaps go down c him? he may check if you are having contractions or dilation. if you have anti-contraction pills on hand, perhaps you can take them? It helps for me...

Hi Cat,
you mean take more fish now b4 we pop wil help in breastmilk?

Hi chrys,
I do get bored home. There's 1wk where i didnt have MC, i took 1/2day PM leave daily and rest at home. Coz of the swollen feet, and pains at the pelvic bone, really uncomfortable esp in the afternoon, so need to rest lor. I got the urge to do packing and cleaning my new hse, but i am forbidden to go, coz old folks says my bb pantang, thats y i got so many pre-term labour signs. So now, my hb do all the cleaning n washing.

Hi jfong,
Your daughter looks very cute, feel like holding her. hehe

Hi wanli, chrys, kelly,
Not only my feet swell too, my fingers swell coz when i bend my fingers, i feel the pain. My feet swell once, then subside for a few days, and now back to swelling again.

Hi Wanli,
My hb still considering to hire a maid or nanny. He say there are pro's n con's. So i let him decide.

Really hope to pop soon, coz very xin ku with all those pains and aches, waking up many times at nite etc. Last nite wake up many times, at 1.5hr interval. coz the hardening hurts my gastric, causing the gastric pain, menses cramps, n also pelvic pains. Therefore,i got to sit upright, then go to pee. 3rd trimester is really a hard time for me.

Hi Wanli,
think I will do like what you say, start taking coconut juice from wk 36. I just started taking raspberry tea this morning. C will have any effect.. if not then I will gradually up the dosage... you take the big green coconut?

hi leobbsmum,
I think my hands and fingers swell cos my watch and ring are tight when I put them on but not to the extent of pianful yet...

hi Jesline,
I also feeling tired each day... and like ORD mood at work liao... every night can't sleep very well even colliqs say I have eyebags!

Hi augbaby,
cat says 1st timemothers may not pop so soon so I think maybe it will be a waiting game for us! I am seeing gynae this sat... hopefully he can give me some light haha!

Hi Wanli,
Brown discharge could be the "show". Maybe you can call up the clinc and speak to Dr wong personally. Who knows, you may pop tomorrow.

Hi Dino,
the thing about peeing is whenever I go walk walk, after awhile I feel the urge to pee but when I go toilet like nothing much... then come out liao walk a while more the pee feeling comes again.. then I feel the V area like swollen... anyone got this?

hi, *piyo*

me too no mood to work.... dragging myself to come to work everyday... &amp; looking &amp; counting down the number of working days left before i go on leave....