(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

dino,
i'm like u. dunno how to stand not washing my hair. think will most prob wash but without mil's knowledge. hb say wash at nite with herbs den mil won't know.

Hi Kelly,
Yah, may be we delivered at the same time hehehe :p. Yes, pls do let me update when u deliver
, I will sms you as well.

Hi Dino,
Ya, I really can't wait to see my baby
. Once you reach 37 weeks then you can start do more walking then will help dilation. Now baby head moving I will feel pain, the crampy feeling getting more and more often. Are you still working? or rest at home?

Hi erin & jasmine,
My strectmark only come out around wk33, think is because all the while baby is on small size then until 3rd trim it suddenly grow like 200g per week. Now it really look ugly
...... no matter how much oil and scream I put still can not stop it growing....

Hi Piyo,
What the other mummies said is correct, if the contraction go off when u rest then is false contraction. The real contraction is very consisitent and will not go off. Anyway, you should tell yr gynea to check whether you have dilated or not. If dilated too early then not good, you may need to bed rest.

Hi jasmine, nice pic. Your tummy looks small leh.. mine veri big...

Wanli, bb engaged n 1.5cm dilated. Congrats.. think you will be the next liao... how's the gynae check whether you are dilated?

Hey jas,
lovely pics u have there...yr tummy looks reali nice n smooth..hee hee..cant see any stretch marks for sure..nice and fun pics....makes me so tempted to go for shots too but think gotta save $ so i might try to take some pics on my own..haha..thou sure not so nice one..have been thinking of starting a journal on the pregnancy but till now haven gotten down to it..hee hee...

Piyo,
be sure to share yr pics wif us all ya..anyway think it is better for u to go see yr gynae and check out if it is real contractions...

Girls,
does walking alot reali help bb to be engage? juz saw my gynae at wk 33 n she says bb is not engage yet..thou i think still early for me but time seems so long...cant wait for it to be faster..when is it consider that bb is not premature? 36 or 37wks? me going to see her again this sat...wonder how much my bb will gain within 1wk..haha

hi augbaby,
think walking a lot helps us to have a shorter delivery but dun think it helps bb to be engaged. I just saw the gynae too and bb is not engaged. i walked a lot during work so think walking no effect. perhaps u can try.

piyo,

I took the natural sunlight shots in the studio.. they have another room near window! the rest are all studio shots leh..

I dun think i will buy that no rinse shampoo...i can't stand not washing my hair leh.. daily somemore..

aug,
should be 36-38wk baby is not consider premature.
My gynea say normally first pregnancy not so fast leh...

Hi bottle,
Not only me, Kelly also already dilated 2cm
. Dr said even dilated can still hold there for 2 weeks, need to wait until we have consistent contraction then only go hospital. Unless water bag burst early.
The only way to check for dilation is VE scan. Dr will put a finger into yr vaginal area and check whether it is dilated or not.

Hi augbaby,
Walking will help for baby engaged and dilation but normally dr said engagement should be happend after 36wk, if you don't have any contraction now then it should be fine to walk. But if you already having contraction at 33 wks then doctor will usually advice not to walk too much because 33 wks is too early. 37wks only consider a full-term baby. I think you haven't done the Grp B strep test right? It usually will do it on 35/36 wks, personally think this is very important because I saw a thread where a baby infected by this backteria and got to stay at hospital for 20 days...... sound scary.

Hi Erin/Wanli,
Then most prob they are false contractions cos I took the pills last night went to sleep and this morning like ok liao... but if it comes back this afternoon still consider false contractions? I have gynae appt this sat will highlight to him and see what he says. When they test for dilation, they do VE?

Hi Erin,
I intend to wash hair during confinement but they say best to wash hair in the day time before it gets dark!

Hi Augbaby,
I hope the pics turn out ok if too ugly no face show! haha!

Hi Cat,
you mean 1st baby not so fast pop? then I must wait very long leh!! cos I am only 34 weeks!

hi piyo,
ya, still consider false contractions. i had that the other time too. on and off every day.

re: washing hair
i no choice. if i wash during day time, my mil will know cos i'm staying with her. unless i close the door lah

Hey piyo,
Consistent mean the contraction will start coming like 20 mins apart then last for around 40 sec. After that it go off then 20mins later come again, until it become 5 mins apart. Then this is consider real contraction. False contraction usually don't have a fix timing apart each contraction. It can happen anytime.
Ya, got todo VE for checking the dilation. This is the 3rd time I'm doing VE, think should be a routine thingy when near to EDD.

Hi erin,
you close and lock your room door then go inside toilet bath, your MIL won't know

On and off??? fainted! mine is only hardening of the tummy till ytd

piyo,

yah normally first baby not so early pop. Cos our pelvis muscule is still tight so actually won't so early pop de. any 34wks still early lar.. can baby at least 2.8 -3.5kg is best weight to give birth..

Hi Piyo,
Based on what my gynea advice is, if you haven't reach 36 wks then already got contraction better rest more because false contraction mean it already started practicing the contraction, if you walk too much may cause the real contraction happen, which she dont't hope to see before 36wks. This is why Dino and I having 1 weeks MC at home for resting last mth :p.

Ya, I only see the doctor check using the finger, think they measure like 1 finger equal 1 cm.

Hi Wanli,
Thanks! How many weeks were you and Dno in when the false contractions started? Wa, I can't take 1 week MC for now cos so much to do at work now...

Hi Piyo,
I think is 33wks, Dino should be much more early than me, may be 31wks. If you can't take MC then better don't walk too much until u reach 35 or 36 wks. Anyway, you should check with yr gynea first see what advice he give

Hi Wanli,
I am still at home, MC till this thu, and going back to work this fri. Will be seeing her this sat. I have been resting for almost a mth, getting quite bored, so I request to go to work. I will stop the contraction pills by this wk, after which I will need to walk more.

Hi Piyo,
Gynae use CTG to check for contractions, whether regular anot. Then she use finger to check for dilation at vaginal area.

I am having strechmarks since wk 33. Sigh, those ugly lines.

Hi Erin00,
My relative is helping me with the confinement. She says I can wash hair, but only once in a few days. So in btw when i can't wash my hair, i still can use the dry shampoo

pupsandcups,
thanks for the tips.

jasmine,
nice shots..

wanli,
ur bb has engaged n u r dilated! congrats!
hmm.. when's my turn..
i'll be going for checkup tis friday, doctor wil check for dilation, first time for me, dunno how it feels....

Do you feel the pain for the VE scan? Can't imagine it if my gynae do the check for me. I have not done the checking before.

Hi Wanli,

Wow.. ur baby is ready! congrats..
My dr nvr say he wanna check any dilations or contraction for me lei.. my next checkup is this sat which is my 37Wk...

Hi Wanli,
thanks again! you take care of yourself huh and soon we will be hearing your birth story liao!
my turn is long long long time haha

Hi Dino,
how long are you strapped on CTG to monitor the contractions? nobaody would have more stretchmarks than me super ugly

anyone still going for pre natal massage?

piyo,
me... i still going.. cos of backache.. but the therapist will refuse to do me after week 36 liaoz..
Sayang over the stretchmarks... get something to apply on it after birth and hope it will lighten lor...

Erin,
u can't secretly go wash ur hair lah.. ur MIL will know one! come out from shower, hair all wet wat, even if u blow dry!! keke!

Hi piyo,
The 1st time i did the CTG was abt 1/2hr, the 2nd time i did was 1hr. Gynae will need a min of 1/2hr in order to see the graph pattern. Mine was chargeable, not sure abt your gynae.

Hi Chrys,
Dr wong will ask u to relax when she do the VE check. She will do it very fast and it is not pain. Dun worry.

My obgyn and i agreed to postpone cervix check until baby is engaged....probably 38 weeks.

As it is my baby is only 36 weeks, might take two weeks or more to engage since she's still small (EFW 2.6 kg) compared to her sister who was abt 3 kg or more at week 36.

I was so relieved tt we didn't do VE check, painfullah...worse than actual labour for me.

Piyo, take care sweetie, have lotsa rest. Your Braxton Hicks sound real bad, do check if you're having lotsa discharge. If you have jelly-like discharge (very jelly fishlike) do go down to hospital immediately cos it most probably be your mucus plug. This comes out before your water bag bursts.

As such, put on a pad since once the plug's out water tends to gush out fairly quickly.

Piyo,
u have to wait long??
me longer too boo hoohoo.. now only 33 week... better stop counting..

jasmine,
i wonder if i wash hair my CL will get mad or not? :p

this morning was such a nice cooling day, now sooo HOT.

wish i have a coconut now. :p

Hi Wanli,
SO good that u r engaged and dilated. I wonder when will be my turn..

Hi Dino,
I remembered your EDD is the same as mine, 13 Aug right?? Ir yr baby engage already??

Piyo,

I had similar 'gastric pains' last tuesday. Started at 11pm and by 2am, it was so unbearable that had to call gynea. Admitted to hospital and confirmed I was in labour. As I was only in my 34th week, labour was stopped. However, was also given a jab to strengthen baby's lungs just in case water bag burst.

So, if your pain becomes more frequent and got stronger and painful (to the extent lying on bed also cannot relieve the pain) better call your doc.

Now, I'm on 21-day hospital leave and is taking ventolin. Used to take 8 pills a day. Doc reduced to 2 per day. Will stop medication next week and let nature takes its course.

Hope my experience helps

hi piyo

wat cream r u applying for your stretchmarks? actually im stretch mark prone too, but so far for pregnancy i havent had any. i've been rubbing palmers stretch mark cream mrng n night from 1st trimester, i'm thru like 6 tubes, but i think its effective.

the palmer oil is also v effective for stretch marks.

wahhhh everyone experiencing some kind of contraction, signs of labour, i still don have leh.. does this mean my bb will be late? after how late does the doctor usually induce ah anyone know

Hi Rain and Jas,
So far I know only Golden Welless will massage till end of pregnancy. But I wanna go try other massages b4 returning to them for the last month haha! Jas, which spa do you go to again?? and how much?

Hi Jas, Cat and pups and cups,
me just applying mothercare stretchmark cream and occasionally got apply olive oil but guess no use... now thinking after baby out sure super ugly
you all apply alot huh? maybe cos I dun apply alot at 1 time so that's Y i got more stetchmarks than you all

Kelly,

I only hv to pay $10+ cash and baby's bill need to pay $65 cash after the medisave deduction.

mine was natural, 2 bedded.

Remember to ask for 4 bedded, seems like Dr Ang will get his patients upgraded at the labour ward itself. Dun bother checking with the admissions staff, which was wat my HB did and they said no FOC upgrade and he chose 2 bedded in the end. Was told only later all the paperwork was done by Dr Ang. But okay lah, difference was not that big.

btw, i cant seem yo do PM or upload attachment i tink smthing wrong wz my PC. Can i email u the pics, u help me upload in this thread?

Baby Reanne has jaudice after 1st checkup yesterday, she is now under photolight treatment at home.

Hi Dino,
So CTG chargeable but not VE? hehe I guess my gynae would charge for CTG as well but half hour lie there and monitor ah fainted..

Hi Nurbates,
Thanks for your advice! will watch out my discharge!but over time, it tends to get more and thicker right? and I am only into my 34 weeks lei...

Hi Butter,
we both can shake hands... sama sama I only starting 34 weeks so can count down together haha!

Hi Jfong,
when does the baby have the 1st
checkup? after how many days the baby is born?

Hi Augustmum,
How did they stop the labour? My pain or uncomfy was from 1pm plus till at night 11plus lei... longer than yours but I bear with it and pop the pills and force myself to sleep

For you, does the pain come back again? how frequent??

hi pupsandcups,
i'm using palmers too. u used 6 tubes? so many? i only used 2 and a half tubes. guess i only apply it at night after shower. morning, i'm usually in a rush so bathe and go liao. no time to apply.

hi jfong,
can't wait to see Baby Reanne's photo.

hi augustmum, dino and wanli,
take care and have a good rest.

hi jas,
will see how la. trying to convince mil to let me wash hair (perhaps not everyday but alt days). if not, then secretly (which I hope don't have to).
mil will not know cos after 10pm, i'll usually be in my room and not go out liao.

piyo,
the more i apply i find that the more stretchmarks i have but i still apply lar just treat it like massage, my gynea told me how to massage but i forgotten again.

piyo & butter8,

me also end aug mummy.. keke.. think when the rest all pops, we still hanging around and playing the waiting game!

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

noe,
thks 4 e write-up on episiotomy. for me, i leave it 2 my gynae 2 decide 4 me. i dun 1 2 make decision abt it cos skarly i CHOOSE not 2 cut, my son tears me up &amp; e condition is worse as compared 2 me having an episiotomy.

for my 1st pregnancy, even wif episiotomy, my son still leave me a tear (according 2 my 1st gynae, his shoulders tore me elsewhere) so on top of stitching e episiotomy cut, my gynae had 2 stitch me up elsewhere too.

i know e only thing i must hv is epi cos no epi, i cant relax. labour pains stresses me up &amp; my cervix cant dilate.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Heh heh Kelly,
I understand.
I am in for Epidural that's for sure!

Great shots, Jasmine!
You are looking good.

I was browsing the cost for family shots as I would like to get one done with dh &amp; my boys (since it's likely my last pregnancy).
$250/- seems a hefty sum for a few shots printed leh.

Any mummies has any other recommendations?

piyo,
yah lor apply or no apply like no different. But i just apply still hope oneday it will disappear haha fat hope i think...

Piyo,

I was put on drip, think was ventolin, for about 1 whole day. Hospitalised for 2 days. Midwife said if I responded to the medicine, the contractions would stop, which happened to me.

They also kept giving me pills to eat during my hospital stay. I think two types of pill. The nurse kept coming in to monitor baby's heartbeat and my blood pressure.

Think contractions could be stopped. If water bag burst, then no choice liao.

Think it is not the duration but how strong and close the contractions are that matter..Real contractions cannot tahan one. When you get it, you will know.

Erin00,

piyo,
at least the reddish color disappear lar.. and skin won't become like alot of cracks.

btw don't worry about nobody chat here.. the most everyone will start posting their baby's pic hehehe