(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi pupsandcups,
ya lor. so qiao. i'm with TPS. will be taking A1 unless having pre-term labour.

haven't wash baby's clothings yet cos still have a month plus of waiting. afraid the clothes will get dirty again. guess will wash in early aug.

hi leia,
ur dog so cute. human vitamins also wanna eat. how i wish i dun need to pop all these pills liao. so troublesome. sometimes, i'll forget to eat them.

hi peddie,
din realise it until i talked to my colleagues. they were saying perhaps it's kkh policy. but i guess not since u r seeing ur doc fortnightly after wk 34. hmmm... perhaps i'll change my appt earlier if i have other concerns.

Jfong,
Congrats. Have a good rest.

I've gained a lot of weight too. 11 kg plus. Gained most of the weight during 3rd trimester. Gained 7 kg just in 2 months. Really hoping to be able to lose most of the weight after delivery. want to be slim again.

Hi Fiona & erin00,

Actually, MS are quite smart. She drags durian seeds, rambutan seeds from dustbins and once, I don't know how she opened my drawer in the kitchen cabinet to pull out my packets of hot chocolate powder mix and ate them all. She's also eaten mouldy bread from my dustbin before, and it's a wonder she never LS! And even if she did, I will not be sympathetic.

She even manage to open up properly zippered up haversack left on the sofa and ate up the mints and chocolate she found inside. The most peng-san thing she did to me was to open up my properly zippered up backpack which I left on the floor after I came back from an overseas trip and destroyed every single piece of my individually wrapped sanitary pad (at least 10 pcs). She tore them up and the whole living room was strewn with strips of pads remains.

And they say all dogs go to heaven? Not her! She shred up my bible which I left on the dining chair last year.

I'm shifting house tomorrow and I have boxes and stuff left all over the place. As I'm typing this, I can't help but wonder what she's doing alone at home now - "separation anxiety" - right! Everyday when I reach home, before I open the door, I have to keep my fingers crossed and brace myself for what lies beyond that door! Most days, after I go through that door, my blood pressure shoots up.

Yes, my dog the ROYAL BITCH! *shakes head* I wonder if my son will be so jia lat... *frown*

I will post a pic of the bitch here tonight when I get home. :p

Hi Cynthia,

My dog also barks when there are people outside my house.

They say baby in the womb recognises mummy's voice, though it's a lil muffled? I think baby in my stomach will recognise my dog's barking more than my voice - my dog bark louder than I talk - so baby can hear clearer.

That's it man!!! :p

peddie,
dun worry, it is not a must nowadays

spoke to my gynea, she dun do it unless needed...
not true that all must do..
talk to your dr about your concerns... if u dun like to have it if not needed u should tell him.

36wks checkup
me went for my 36wks checkup n bb is now estimated to b 3.2kg. i'm also 1-2cm dilated. was in fact intending 2 induce edward on 10jul but gynae prefers bb to hit 38wks or so.
hence, i've fixed 20jul to induce edward...unless he prefers 2 choose his own bday.

Hi kelly,
so good. can pop soon liao and see baby edward
He's of a good size too. I'm hoping that my baby will be of this weight too.

hi leia,
wah, ur dog really very smart. can open zippered backpack too.

hi peddie,
think kkh will perform the cut there. the midwife at the antenatal class mentioned that it's a routine at kkh as they are worried about the tear. she says natural tear will be more difficult to stitch up. perhaps u can check with ur gynae again. I'm worried abt it too.

Leia,
I have to take my hats off your dog gal! Last time mine used to have a fetish for newspaper, see only must shred it up and the bits & pieces all stuck to the floor, clear until siao! But eversince he's house-broken, not so bad liao. I can't figure out how yours managed to open your bags leh, really smart! hahaha(pardon me but couldn't help laughing!)

Overall, my dog is very obedient lah(bcos mommie's super stern during his childhood heh..). He seldom bark, only thing is his greediness for food..as if I never feed him, buay tahan. Once he ate some durian seeds when I went out for just merely 10 mins, only found out when he puked all out the next morning...haiz

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Noe,
kekeke...i've been thinking about the leaking milk part too. Been imagining how DH will react if milk leaks during the process<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hee hee Fiona,
I was the one who felt so uncomfortable with the leaking milk.

Hi Noe,
Tear is better than doing episotomy? but I heard people said tear will more difficult to recover, is that true?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Wanli,
That was what I heard too and I went ahead with the Episiotomy for my 1st birth.

My ... The aftermath was really painful. Imagine having lochia, nursing the Episiotomy wound &amp; dealing with the initial breastfeeding pains.
kao_dizzy.gif

With a neat cut, it's easier for the gynae to stitch apparently. I didn't heal faster. Then again, perhaps it differs from mother to mother.

However, I definitely healed a lot faster with just a superficial tear for my #2. I was up and about 4 hours later!

Hi Kelly,

Congrat :D!! and wish you have a smooth delivery on 20 Jul....
Since you already having dilation, is that mean you can not walk too much during these 2 weeks?

Hee hee ... Wanli,
For me, I did walk more even when I was 2 cm dilated with my first two (finding excuses to shop).
However, walk at your comfort &amp; not to the point of fatigue or exhaustion though.

Congratulations Kelly!
Edward's arriving! Feeling so excited for you.

Have a good rest now hor ...
Once Edward arrives, it's starting all over again.
I can imagine when it comes my turn.
kao_dizzy.gif

Hey Leia,
Yr doggy sure is one of a kind...juz cant help laughing while reading yr post...do post its pic here for us all to see.. :p

Kelly,
wow...so nice that in a few more weeks u be able to see edward...take care n keep us posted.

hi all.
wow, so much happenings and jfong the first one to pop! i m so not ready yet... ... worse part is a lot of office work not settled yet. stressed now.

piyo, i hav PMed u my data for your compilation. thx.

looking forward to our great gathering after confinement. so dat's gonna be sometime Oct?

Hi Noe,
wah.....So you mean even dilated not mean that we are going to deliver? Then when should we going into delivery ward? wait for water bag burst? Do you have any feeling when u r dilated? got show?

Did some last minute shopping tonite for baby's room. Practically dragged myself to IMM, goodness me..feel like I'm gonna pop anytine, it's unbearable to walk and tummy's real tight since last week.

Been having Braxton Hicks almost every nite now so...just gotta speed up wif preparations in case I'm ready to pop come next appt, this Tues.

How's Jfong? Praying she's fine.

How are the rest of you? Anyone having regular contractions?

Hi wanli, chrys,
Went for my wk35 checkup yesterday. Baby weighs 2.6kg and no change in my weight. I have not dilate yet. So gynae says i am having those false labor signs. I am still on contraction pills and will stop taking once I reached wk36.

Hi Noe, Kelly,
I also thought that once we are dilated, we will head to the delivery ward.

thks 4 ur well-wishes. i do hope 2 pop earlier than 20jul. we'll c. i'll keep everyone informed then.

piyo,
we got some1 2 pick 'auspicious' dates 2 induce me. hence, 20jul. husband &amp; i may change e date 2 19jul but we'll c how 1st. both 19 &amp; 20jul are gd dates 4 me 2 pop.

wanli, dino
even if u r dilated, it doesnt mean u r going 2 pop. it all depends how much dilated u r. i come across a mummy who was 8cm dilated n she didnt even realise it. so if u r 2-3cm dilated, it also depends on ur gynae. she/he'll provide the best professional advice 4 u &amp; ur bb.

for me, i'm 1-2cm dilated but gynae prefers me 2 hold bb til 37-38wks. i wanted 2 induce on 10jul (considering bb is estimated at 3.2kg - gd size) but gynae said NO. tat's y i settled for 20jul )when i'm almost 38wks).

wanli,
i'm still walking as much, not bcos i 1 2 expedite e dilation but more bcos 'bo pian'. i hv a 21mths tod n i need 2 chase after him. i also cant stay home wif him everyday. both of us get really bored so i still bring him out every other day or everyday if possible.

in fact, we juz went 4 a picnic at Pasir Ris Park yesterday morn, came home 2 nap in e afternoon, went out 4 dinner &amp; dessert wif friens at nite. we only got home at

me not e type 2 stay home...i'll get cabin fever. tat's y now i not really looking forward 2 confinement. cant imagine myself being stuck at home for 1mth.

Hi Noe,
wah.....So you mean even dilated not mean that we are going to deliver? Then when should we going into delivery ward? wait for water bag burst? Do you have any feeling when u r dilated? got show?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hee Hee ... Wanli,
Ya ... We can be 1 - 2 cm dilated for couple of weeks but not going to deliver yet.
For #1, I was 2cm dilated for 2 weeks &amp; was induced at 38th weeks.
For #2, I was 2cm dilated for 3 weeks before real labour contractions came at 39th week.
Yeah, I had a show before I delivered #2.

I felt tender &amp; sore down there when I was 2cm dilated.
Hee hee ... also I had more room for food as baby was engaged towards the birth canal.
kao_dizzy.gif
Not forgetting the aching pains at the pelvic area as baby was resting his weight there!

Hi Noe, Kelly,
I also thought that once we are dilated, we will head to the delivery ward.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Dino,
kao_smile2.gif
Yeah, as Kelly has shared, it's not just being dilated only.
It's the constant contractions that tell that baby is arriving!

My cue for #2 then was a show + contractions coming every 5 mins and lasted for 40 seconds.
By the time I reached the hospital, I was 5 cm dilated already.

i come across a mummy who was 8cm dilated n she didnt even realise it.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Really Kelly!
Ooooh ... That means no Epidural for her liao right.
Ke ke ke ... I can't imagine as I did not go through my past 2 deliveries w/o it!

Hmm ... Unless DH gives incentive else for $200+ I will still go for it.

Hi Leia

WOW.... sometime realli wonder if my gal heard my dog barking will she stop crying! hehee if that so will be so great!

Kelly,
V fast u are popping! How i wish mine could be soon too.. but still gotta hold on to it..

REcently having pelvic pain... anyone experience it? Esp bottom... e kind of pain yuck.. on n off... dono is too stress or wat!

I am back! Thank you all for the well wishes!

Both Baby Reanne and I are doing fine, we were discharged together on Saturday morning.

Here's my birth story:-

had some mild but regular contractions (approx 20 mins apart) at nite. Some pain at pelvic area so decided to see gynae in the morning.

6 July 2006

11am - saw gynae, told him of contractions and pelvic pain, he did a VE and said cervix dilated abt 3 cm. Becos i was a case of threatened preterm labour; he asked that i admit to induce labour since it's past 35 wks already and that bb's weight is good at 2.8kg.

1pm - checked into MAH Delivery suite 10, changed into labour gown, enema administered, walked around the labour ward, took photographs, had some cakes while waiting for my gynae.

3.30pm - gynae finally came and broke water bag, he said my bb ger shake hands with him while he was trying to break the water bag
i was also being put drip cos' contractions not very regular and intense enuff. he said i shd deliver in abt 2 to 3 hrs time.

4.45pm - midwife came to check; still din feel much pain as yet. dosage increase to intensify contractions.

5.15pm - asked for pethidine and started on laughing gas. back was aching so HB massage for me while i lie on my left. Now abt 6-7 cm dilated liao according to nurse.

5.45pm - felt the pain liao, very very aching relied alot on the gas and HB's back massage.

6.00pm to 6.15pm - felt like pushing liao, kept doing the pant pant blow to resist the urge to push cos' my gynae not here yet! Midwife said it's okay if i needed to push becos she can deliver for me but she kept encouraging me to pant out the urge which I did with my HB's support; he was practically panting and blowing! The urge to push was so great that i felt like my bb is going to come out of my anus!

6.30pm - gynae finally came, my legs on stirrups and asked to push once, bb's head crowned and when the next contraction came, he told me to hold my legs towards my ears and push along as he counted from 1 to 10 which i did and Baby Reanne was born at 6.44pm! My HB said that push was so powerful that Reanne looked like she was going to fly out and the midwife shouted stop stop stop!

Thereafter, HB cut cord, gynae delivered the placenta, and stitch up the cut he did earlier.

Words cannot describe how relieved I felt after bb's out.

Btw, Reanne was veri clean when she came out not bloody at all as compared to my first baby. Dunno got to do with the coconut i took?

REcently having pelvic pain... anyone experience it? Esp bottom... e kind of pain yuck.. on n off... dono is too stress or wat!<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
Hi Cynthia,
Yeah I am experiencing that plus carpal tunnel syndrom.
kao_dizzy.gif
Ouch ouch ... Mainly the right side of my body. Urgh.

Ha ha Cynthia,
Am still up as I can't sleep with the pain.
Urgh ... Any other mummies experiencing this?
The pain's mainly the right side of the body.

Hi Jfong,
Congrats and rest well! Can I ask if you were eating the big green coconuts b4 you pop?

Hi Cyn,
I am experiencing pain at the pelvic bone area, somwhere above our V, especially when I get up or walk a bit etc...

hi jfong

sounds like a breeze! let's pray we all have nice stories to tell like jfongs

at week 33, my bb weighed 1.78kg, is that small? mommies pls advise. for KK, they seldom scan, so this is the 1st time im informed of bbs weight...

tk u!

monday so sian right, last night got woken to pee n decided to watch world cup last hour too

Hi jfong,
Congrats to u and yr hb..
Have a good rest. Can u still remember how much coconut u took this time??

Hi kelly,
Congrats. U r the next one to pop.

Hi jfong,

Congrats &amp; thanks for sharing ur birth story with us. Sounds like a breeze &amp; i assume u do it without epidural,right? It sure is encouraging for mums like me who r thinking of trying without epidural.

Hi pups,
I think 33wks at 1.78kg seems small but not to worry coz probably ur baby growth may suddenly increase over the weeks.1 of my colleague's baby girl gain 1kg+ during the last 4wks.

Is urs a baby girl? Coz baby girls usually weigh lighter than boys.
N not to forgot, what our gynae measure for us is juz an estimated weight, our baby may weigh more or less upon birth.
Anyway, i went for my 34wks scan last fri n my boy was 2.59kg.

Long time never check in this thread, didnt know there're so many dog lovers here n seems like majority got 2 dogs! WOW! I only got a maltese n she's already taking up alot of our time, helping her clear the mess she make when we're at work, hehee.

To mummies who have given me your contact details, I have just sent out the list of contact details to the emails you have indicated. Pls check if you have received it

If there are other mummies who would like to be in the list, pls pm me your details ya?

hi Kelly,
I did not include your blog address... let me know if you wan that included in the list?

hi ningyo

is a boy..hmm ya lor i think its q small
i know u gals say eat durian will make bb big, but i HATE durian .. nvm will jus try to eat more of everything. the thing abt me is i don eat that much rice/carbo, will try to load up on that. but i drink HEAPS of milk leh .. o well, hubby say don keep fretting, but ive been fretting ..

piyo,
i received the list - thanks! heehee now everyone has a real name, and one day everyone will have a face too wen we meet up aftr we all pop!

cythia, noe, piyo,
i also have pain at pelvis area, especially when stand up and walk and stand up from bed at middle of night to toilet.. very painful..

Hi noe,
what's capal tunnel syndrome?

kelly,
jia you jia you!!

May i ask what should we wear after we give birth? both in the hospital and when doing confinement at home? i heard must wear long clothings to cover down to toe? some pple even wear gloves + socks... crazy rite.. the weather is so hot.. should we wear long night gown/ front button shirt+ long pants? will it be uncomfortable wearing long pants - considering we have episiotomy wound? any mummies can advise?

hello mummies!

congrats, jfong! Your 2nd delivery sounds so easy.. wish mine will be like this!

Over the weekend, went to take maternity shots at a photo studio.. since this is our first baby! It was fun.. my photographer took 200+ shots.. i requested it to be burned into CD ROM only.. don't need it printed out as i can do that myself!

I intend to do a nice collage later on..

EPISIOTOMY
I know that some websites encourage us to use olive oil to do perineal massage to lessen the chance of episiotomy cuts.. the massage consist of inserting of your fingers into your vagina &amp; stretching the skin outwards, around the entrance, to encourage the area to stretch better...

But, i am personally squeamish about doing it myself, and i find it hard to reach my vagina opening now leh...

Sigh, really wish i can avoid this cut.. cos, i have an aunt who kanna excessive bleeding due to episiotomy cuts and died in childbirth..My problem now is, my gynae say he do it for all first time mummies... what to do now?

really in a dilemma!

Hi Jasmine,
where did you take your maternity shots? Me also taking cos 1st time mummy too! me scheduled it on this coming sunday cos that should be about the "biggest" liao before I become more difficult to pose? How much did you pay for it? How many change of outfits?

Hi Chrys,
Did you ask your gynae about the pain? I did 2 weeks ago and he asked me if I wanna take a jab to relieve the pain. I say it's bearable. This sat my next appt c what the gynae says again.

Hi Pups and cups,
My baby also small size so recently like you although I hate durians, I took a bit here and there and up my milk, cheese and beef intake. Not sure if it works but last lap liao try try also no harm right?

btw, anyone still going for massage?

Hi Jas,
You helped me recall that the massage lady did ask me to go get the wheatgerm oil from Body shop to massage or stretch the perineal muscles to prevent cutting up leh.. I no try so far :p

Piyo,
I din tell her as the pain is bearable, it's not sharp pain, but more like pain caused by bb's weight and pressure. Gynae told me when bb's engage, we'll feel the pain at pelvis area, but my bb hasn't engaged leh.. will it be more painful when he's engaged then, hmm..

Hi Chrys,
Sure! can you pm me the following details:

Mummy's Nick
Mummy's Name
Baby's Name
Baby's DOB
Daddy's Name
Mobile
Email Address
MSN Contact
Home Address
Occupation
Blog/Online Photo Website

Hi all MTBs..
I'm from the Aug/Sept '05 thread...
my boy will be 1YO soon.. i was thinking back to the time i was heavily pregnant with him &amp; rushing to clear my work so that i could go on ML.. fwah! Time flies.. before i knew it, i had a C-section, breastfeeding woes, 1 month confinement, 3 months ML, sleepless nights, EBM in offc, baby learning to sit, crawl, stand, walk, teething etc..
Now it's YOUR turn!! CONGRATULATIONS.

good morning all mommies! early in the morning, so many posts on PAIN PAIN PAIN liao har... aiyo... scared scared already leh...STOP IT!! (hahaha!!)

hi wendy, *wave wave* ^_* next yr this time, we will be able to post like u too! kekeke...=P it's really been a journey ya?!

wonderful learning experience..
really rewarding. Love your babies ok, take lotsa pictures. Coz they'll NEVER be this way again..

hello

ya me don mind taking some pics too, augbaby tell us more about your experience n how much

btw gals, do u know where to buy dry shampoo? i read somewhere (mb this thread i cant remb), can use that during confinements, its wat NS boys use when they go out in the field for a long time, i think its a powder...