(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Chrys,

Thats gd he kuai kuai sleep at night. Hubby n I sometimes watch soccer. We were wondering will our bb love to play soccer nxt time. Haha.

Hi Wanli,
I have went for my wk34 checkup. Was on CTG, the contractions are still there(6x in an hr), luckily not dilate yet. Dr Wong gave me MC for another wk. I have to monitor the contractions and continue with the pills. My bb now weighs 2.5kg. She told me I might hold on and deliver btw wk36 to wk38. But if my bb dun wan to come out after wk38, need to induce, else he will be a big baby. my nxt appt is 1wk later. Still unable to find out the cause of contractions, although I have finished the anti-biotic.

I asked Dr Wong abt the stemcord, cord life and also Spore cord blood bank.

I also asked her how many jabs we need to be poke during delivery. we will be poke if we drip, draw some blood for testing if we are donating cord blood to spore cord blood bank, poke either on epidural or jab before episiotomy. Lastly,jab to speedup delivery of placenta. Wah, i was so surpise.

Hi Kelly,
You must be really excited now since you've roughly know what's the route you'll be heading ar... I'm anticipating "the moment" as time passes by, on one hand very eagered to see my BB soon, on the other may miss being pregnant...recently my HB keeps asking me whether I'll get used to not having the protruding tummy after delivery...hahahaha

Hi Chrys,
Last nite I was a little worried too when my BB seems all too quiet (she's usually an acrobatic hee...), so I tried disturbing her by shifting here and there. More relieved when I felt her hiccups thereafter.

I'm also hoping she'll be more active during day time than nite after she's borned...

To all the mommies,
Have a great weekend!

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

jfong,
i wannna induce bcos
1) i very tired carrying #2, chasing after my 1st boy. i tik holding #2 til 38wks is enuff liao, considering my 1st boy popped at 35wks
2) i wanna avoid 7th lunar mth
3) i need 2 avoid any unpredictability. i cant afford my waterbag 2 burst anytime (esp in e middle of e nite) n if husband rush me 2 hospital, who's going 2 care 4 my 20mths boy? husband cant bring him into e delivery suite n i also cant find any1 2 bbsit in e middle of e nite.

husband also cant afford 2 take too many days of leave cos he just started a new job n still on probation. if husband cant take leave, i also need 2 make sure ILs are in town (they go 2 JB very often as my MIL is a malaysian) 2 bbsit my boy while i'm in e delivery suite or lie on e hospital bed.
if #2 really pops b4 i induce him, then bo pian...plan B needs 2 b executed.

wif a date 2 induce #2, i can make all e necessary arrangements. i actually pick somewhere in early jul...dr ang said too early cos i only 36-37wks. he prefers me 2 induce AFTER 37wks.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hi Kelly,
Heh heh ... I very much want to deliver #3 earlier too. I was hoping that I can give birth to him on my birthday day which is the 36th week. However, unlike your gynae, mine prefers to induce after 38 weeks.

Yeah, I can understand. It's tiring running after my 2 boys too. Not to mention disciplining them as well.
kao_dizzy.gif

Hi White Lady,
I just checked with my friend who delivered her boy one month ago. She had C-Sect with Epidural.
Same thing, also insert tube up the spine procedure.
kao_smile2.gif

Hi Fiona,
Yeah, same here. I have heard &amp; bought Okunishi clothings before. Good value for money.
Lint (qi mao) tends to surface on fabric of the cheaper range though.
kao_sad2.gif

Hi Peddie,
Glad to have you back.
Yeah, still think that it's best for the both of you to reveal your pregnancy to your folks as soon as possible.

I agree with CJ, your BF sounds like he's delaying the moment.

My #3 will be named Julien.

Hi White Lady,
Are you going for C-Sec?

When's your EDD?
I would really love to deliver earlier this round.
It's kinda tiring &amp; not to mention breathless keeping up with my boys carrying another at the same time.
kao_dizzy.gif

Augbaby,
my face slim? kekeke i got fatter all over, maybe face lesser by butt n arms suffered bad man..:p so upset, hope can lose the weight man...
u look nice! very hip young mama

I tried the tea, i think its not bad! thanks again!

we have ideas for baby names but not really fully fixed the name - Ryan , issac or joshua..

the next hurdle would be chinese one :p

fiona,
Okinushi has been having sales
but always dun dare to buy more baby clothes, waiting to have baby come out first

i like the stuff there, and some are really cute and affordable...

Heh heh Butter8,
DH has jia pu to follow huh?
Are you using dialect or hanyu pinyin pronunciation?

Ya, very wise of you.
BB grows very fast during their first year so take your time with the clothings.
Some of my boys' first year clothes were only worn a few times each.

Hi Dino,
6x in an hr really alot. Will u feel tightening on the tummy when contraction come? Are you still having medicine to control the contraction? I just heard my colleague said she also having contraction start from 28wks then she eat the medicine until 36 wks and then baby only come out on 40wks. Baby weight 3.6kg ..... really a big baby.

wah...need to poke so many times....I heard the nurse said when we admitted to labor ward normally will need to poke on hand first in case any emergency happen, then if you are donating cord blood, they will draw the blood for checking from the same place. So, are you going to store yr baby cord blood?

Hi Kelly,
I never plan to induce, just let it natural loh. I just heard people said induce normally take longer time and more painful. Mid of Jul I already 38wks, hope baby will pop naturally

Butter8,
Yah I know, but somtimes find it really hard to resist those cutsie clothing (imagining my BB wearing them
kao_drool.gif
)...so just buy a few but in bigger sizes lor...hiak hiak hiak

Noe,
Agree that BB grows very fast, fortunately I got pass me down from my sis for those home wear ones...phew! So I just get some nice ones for BB to wear out or when there's visitors

Hi peddie,

hope you don't mind my two cents worth of thought...think it'll be good for you to inform your parents first especially since you're in such late stage of pregnancy. At least, you can be rest assured tt if anything happens, your parents are there for you.

The earliest to deliver really depends on baby, sometimes even at 34 weeks if waterbag burst baby would be out.

btw, how are you coping now as in who's taking care of you while you're at this stage? And who's paying the medical bills? Do take care of yourself, be strong and assertive, this is the time when your needs and baby's shd take priority over others cos both of you are in the more vulnerable position.

TLC and OX from a fellow 34 week pregger

Dino,

wats the feeling like when u hv contractions? Is it only tightening or with cramp-like pain?

Dunno anyone here share this same experience anot - one side of my buttocks sometimes like crampy feeling and feels a bit painful?

Peddie,

i am naming my princess #2 REANNE. hv u tot abt urs?

Yup! I go to TPS at KKH.

TLC means tender loving care and OX means hugs and kisses from me .....keeeee....keee

And I'm 34 weeks too! Maybe we pop abt the same time yah..heeee...heeee...

Forgot to ask you peddie..how're your preparations for the baby coming along?

Bought stuff alreadi? Anything else you need??

Mine's a second baby so I might have some extra stuff like booties, mittens etc which you might need. Do tell me what you have not bought or need and I'll check my supply to see if there are extras.

Heee...heee. sorry...TPS means The Private Suite its the clinic near 7-eleven at kkh, actually pricing abt the same as the Women's Clinic so I opted for it cos my nausea was very bad and I can't wait too long in queue.

Two sets of clothes only?? Tell you what, I'll pack some baby stuff and pass them to you. Where do you live? Can get hubby to send them to you cos I have lotsa extra clothings.

Hi peddie

The diff between the both is waiting time and charges. TPS is considered private hence the higher charge, but it makes no diff for me cos my gynae alreadi charged me "private rate" since she's a registrar (well, I don't know what that means too haaa..haaa..)

Mine's a gal like the first but when I was pregnant wif the first and even after she was born, I tried to stay away from girly colours cos worried tt the second would be a boy. Besides, even if we don't buy pink stuff, our relatives and friends flood us wif them.

I've packed the bag of stuff for you. LARGE bag, perhaps can ask my cousin to drive up and we'll pass the stuff to you? How's your timing like?

Hi Jfong,
my gf who is in 35wks, she also experience very pain in her buttocks, n its both sides. Doc told her that its the bb that is pressing on her nerves, nothing can help. But her doc do encourage to go swimming in order to decrease her pain. Now she cant sleep on her sides, but sleep in a 45degrees sitting position.

Hi Wanli,
Its the very menses cramp feeling at lower abdomen, and then followed by tightening. When I press on my tummy, it is very hard like stone. When there is no cramps and I press my tummy, is much softer.
My hubby n I are still thinking of either the cord blood or to donate out.

Noe, Agree that BB grows very fast, fortunately I got pass me down from my sis for those home wear ones...phew! So I just get some nice ones for BB to wear out or when there's visitors<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Hee ... Fiona, ya ... it's amazing.

I was just telling myself that I should really treasure my boy's first month as he will most likely double his weight just like his brothers after that.
I got him some hand-me-downs for #3 too.

Hi Noe ,
I am not too sure yet whether going for c section or what , but just to get more info on everything =P<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

Yeah White Lady,
Indeed so. Parenting is an unceasing learning journey. Even with #3, I am still learning new things each day.
Each pregnancy is different indeed.

For those of you who had delivered at Mt A before, do they provide hospital nursing gowns or we need to bring our own?

I delivered my first two at KKH.

Hi peddie

I pack fast cos have alreadi set aside the stuff for my newborn. Have lotsa extras hence I'm passing them to you. I've packed a playmat (double up as baby mattress and it's portable), clothings, bibs, booties, mittens, one receiving blanket, one hooded blanket which can double up as towel, bathrobe, hats and utensils. Most are essential items which would see you through the first few months wif baby. You do need to wash the clothes cos they are kept in storage for abt a year and a half.

LARGE as in very, very big bag. I packed all the stuff in a superlarge shopping bag then tied it up before putting it in an IKEA laundry bag (the one with zippers). Not sure if you can carry it...any way we could pass it to your place?

Send me a msg at [email protected] or click my usename name to send me a private msg.

Noe,

Just return from MAH antenatal class... So, can answer your question about hospital gowns. As they are a private hospital, they provide hospital gowns only during delivery time.. After which, please wear your own gowns, preferrable with buttons/ side openings..

Hi Peddie,
Don't let your boyfriend delay too long.. me dun trust men in general to face the music bravely... especially when they are still young.. Take his words with a pinch of salt please... and do be mentally prepared if he run away from his responsibility.. this way... you are more prepared to cope when things don't turn out right.. we try to support you here, but there is a little we can do also.. please be strong ok??

Nurbates has been so kind to give you her extra clothings.. you have clothing settled liaoz.. now, please try to settle the $$$ section for the delivery... how you going to come up with the money?

I assume you both don't have much medisave?

Hi Peddie,
No prob!
Yah, just take 1 each daily after breakfast. Take care!

Noe,
Yap, we've got to bring our own nursing gown to Mt A.

Hi all, always used to read this thread, never posted till now. Congratulations and aso very best of luck to all moms.
Got regd. with GlenE.
There is some promotion going on in Mothercare, @ centerpoing only. very nice deal. (may be b/c of robinson sale , MC want to stay in competition lah).

kao_smile2.gif
Thank you, Jasmine &amp; Fiona!
Does that mean after delivery, we will be in the patient's gown?
Afterwhich, we will change into our own clothings for the next 2 days?

Hmm ... That means we might end up staining our own clothings with our lochia.
kao_sad2.gif

Peddie,

Whatever you do, DON'T SCRATCH! :D

I've been a silent reader for a while. 1st time mom, EDD of baby boy on 28/08/06 @MAH. Greetings to all, and hope your weekend has been great so far!

Noe,
Usually the nurses will clean us up before sending us to the postnatal ward. Probably will still be in the open back gown till we change into our own. We may stain our own clothings bcos of heavy discharges, so try to bring at least 2 sets bah...
kao_smile2.gif

Scratch and you get ugly red bumps that sting! I just counted 5 on my tummy and it's taking an eternity to heal though I've stopped scratching for some days already!

Peddie,

Safer to look at both 50% and 90% for the best case and worse case scenario.

Boy's name with the meaning "gift". Yes'day I was playing around with this random name generator from some website and this is what came up: Ihab <- click here

Try it! It's fun!

I have been reading but not much posting.
Can i ask, does TMC provide hospital gowns or is it better if we bring our own?
My EDD is 13Aug, but might be earli from the last scan.

bbnmum,
better to bring your own gowns. As first day during delivery you will wear their clothes after following days you can choose to wear thier clothes but they will charge you lor..

hi gunjan and leia,
A warm welcome to u.

Din post for quite a few days. was rather busy with work recently and also mil was hospitalised. need to go hospital these few days to see her so no time.

i haven't packed my bag yet and my colleagues were commenting that i might give birth earlier. dunno true or not cos my hands and legs have been swelling very badly and my calves and feet are all reddish. legs look like elephant's legs. keke... Will ask gynae this wed whether it's due to bad blood circulation or because I have been standing and walking around too much.

454354.png

Thank you, erin00.

Does anyone have a checklist for items to pack in the hospital bag? I've seen the list somewhere but I forgot to save it.

welcome to all the new mummies who just join us!!

Leia,

I have just packed my bag last night.. a bit KS lah since i end aug EDD.... keke...

I will be delivering in MAH.. so, i packed my bag according to what they advised..

what i have inside:

1) marriage cert (for registering baby's birth)
2) hubby &amp; mine i/c
3) 2 sets of night gowns (button front)
4) nursing bras
5) mittens &amp; booties x 2sets
6) doctor's letter &amp; laboratory report (from blood test)
7) pre-admission letter that i earlier sent to MAH
8) socks for delivery suite
9) breast pads &amp; maternity pads &amp; spare NB size disposable diapers
10) some simple cosmetics &amp; preferred toiletries
11) sweater &amp; shawl for hubby &amp; me respectively.
12) Mobile phone &amp; charger
13) lots of coins for hubby to get food &amp; drinks while waiting..
14) for discharge: 1 set of mummy's going home clothes &amp; 1 set of baby's going home clothes
15) receipts of all your antenatal visits to gynae (for additional medisave claim of 450 SGD)

optional:
1) baby receiving blanket (MAH is giving one)
2) swimming ring (in case episiotomy cut makes it hard to sit down..)
3) relaxation aids in delivery suite e.g. relaxation CDs, CD players (MP3 players), massage oil, hot/cold compress (for hubby to help in 1st stage of labour), TENS machine (if u rented it from MAH),etc.. MAH aparently have birthing stool/ birth ball etc on standby and there is one delivery suite with a jacuzzi..
4) nipple cream (in case initial stage of breastfeeding got sore/cracked nipples)

Did i miss out anything??

Jasmine!

That's a lonnng list you have there!!
Did you pack all in a "trolley bag"??? Really like going on a short vacation deh...keee...keee.kee

hehe.. nurbates,

actually, it all goes into a duffle naraya bag.. small small leh.. looks alot, but all items quite small small one.. keke

oh yeah.. i forgot disposable panties!!

rain
when is your EDD? mine 25 aug, don need to pack so early right?... dunno.
for first pregnancy, do most pple give birth early or late?

Din come in over the weekends n there are so many posts..me down wif gastric flu on sun nite..vomitted and all.sigh..went to thomson 24hrs clinic to see doc on sun morning n now feeling better..but still weak..sigh..was so worried for my little boy but doc say it is ok.. My feet started swelling last week and has become like an elephant..so ugly..sigh..anyone has any idea y? i heard it is because of water retention but wat is it actually? KInd of blur..I also haven pack my bag yet..tink i will do so when i am in wk 35 or so..but most of the items i bought already..except disposable panties and nursing bra...

Butter,
Hee hee..thanks for the compliment..u r also a hip mummy..

Leobbsmom,
Its nice to see u on sat as well...

Kelly,
Think most of us have PM our details to piyo already..i know i did..:p Ya we shld reali meet up once everyone has given birth..it be so nice...

Peddie,
great that u both have set a date to have a talk wif his parents but pls dun delay it anymore okie..

hi augbaby,

Both my feet are swollen too now, until i can't wear shoes to office, it'll look like "pak bak chang", can't walk too much/ too long now, feel the pressure and pain at pelvic area, dunno whether my bb has engaged already.. hope not so soon.. wish to give birth in mid july, at 38 weeks can liao.. smaller bb easier to deliver..

Hi augbaby, I had terrible swelling for my last pregnancy, think it's b'cos of my salt intake.

I was crazy abt Pommes Noisettes (right spelling??), those potato balls which I dipped in ketchup. High salt intake I must say and my feet just ballooned up. My toes were podgy and pink...like strawberries!!

So watch your salt intake, think it does contribute to the water retention.

had a check up today... help I put on 1over kg almost 2, but baby only put on 700grams in the last 2 weeks... is that slow for him??

n notti baby has turn up now... sitting up and hugging his legs???? :p so dr now say must monitor as if dun turn down then got to make other plans... me now at 32 weeks... dr expected my bb to be about 1.9kg

hi leia,
guess jasmine has listed out all the items needed. guess must start packing soon.

hi nurbates,
oh it's due to salt intake. but i din really take salty food. just like what I usually take leh.

hi chrys,
I can't wear most of my shoes too. feet too swollen. wanted to go buy new shoes but can't find the size. If the width fits, the length will be too long. can trip over easily. now no working shoes to wear, just only have a pair of sandals to wear. so worried that my 'boss' will 'talk' to me abt it.

I also feel pain at the pelvis area too at times. don't know if the baby is pushing down on it. will check with gynae on wed.

hi augbaby,
take care. I vomited again on sat too. so sian. thought no more ms liao. now trying to take small and frequent meals.

hi jasmine,
wow! seems like u r well prepared liao. seems like not long ago we were ttcing and now abt to give birth liao. time flies ah.

u mean without receipts, can't claim the $450! I din keep my receipts leh. die liao.

hi rain,
din 'see' u for a long time.

hi butter,
think ur bb is growing well. My bb only put on 600g in 2 wks and the doc was saying the weight gain is fine so dun worry.

hi erin,

thanks for the encouragement...
good to hear that...
i was a bit upset i put on more then the baby :p
was wonderin if it is me eating too much carbs or sugar...but dr say somethings not within my control..could be my placenta...

my bag i leave in baby room, anything i like i just throw in first hehehe...
good that there is pple sharing list, so we can make sure we dun miss out anything...
better do a check in a weeks time