(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Kelly
I also feel that most pple having a boy, as the blue color stock for suits, mitten/bootie/hat, almost run out while the pink color ones still have alot!

So are u planning to let ur #2 sleep in the cot? If there isn't much space in the room to put both, u think getting a cot/ playpen is better? Normally a playpen can't be shifted the height rite, unlike the cot, so it's quite tiring to carry the baby out when he's >3 mths.

Hi Kelly
Thanks for all ur comments on the topics that i mentioned.

I took the scan at TMC. Baby weight if i remember correctly is around 340g. I dunno what should be the ideal weight but gynae said it falls under normal weight, not too heavy or too light. I told her i m controlling my diet so as not to have a too big baby, (as i'd gained 3kg in my 1st semesester). She asked me dun control. But in fact my appetite has reverted to normal not so craving for food as in my 1st tri. Emotion also quite stable now, no more cryings.

chrys,
i'll put #2 in a cot and will let him sleep in the cot for as long as possible. husband n i havent been sleeping well since my son slept wif us since he was 4mths old. u c, when he's smaller, we had 2 b conscious NOT 2 "squash" him. when he got bigger, taller, he sleeps as if the whole bed belongs 2 him (he turns 360degrees, kicks, whacks pp wif his arms, etc). now i'm training him 2 sleep on the mattress besides my bed and soon he's moving onto his own toddler bed in the room next door (which is also his nursery).

in ur instance, betta 2 use a cot unless u can find a playpen which u can adjust the height. mayb u can put the playpen in the living room or spare bedroom for ur son 2 play in when he's bigger.

i've come across a few mummies who dun mind co-sleeping wif their bbs but husband n i sleep on a queen-sized bed and b4 i got preggie, both of us can sleep like logs (he snoring away while i 'bo hew' even when it was pouring outside). now when my son co-slept wif us, we technically havent had a gd nite sleep for a long while. tat's y i am very insistent abt #2 sleeping in a cot if possible.

hi chrys,
340g for ur bb at 20wks is a gd size for ur bb. dun control ur intake. eat as much as u can cos u NEVER know if YOU or ur bb is absorbing wat u r eating.

for my #1, at 19wks 6days, he was only 318g. quite close 2 ur detailed scan cos u did at 20wks.

Hi Kelly
Why mix & match between 2 pumps leh? In that case have to buy both lor?
Hope to clear my doubts: that is mean that we can buy brand A breastpumps, brand B milk bottle set, brand C streriliser, brand C milk bags, brand D milk bag clips, and they can all work together doesn't need to worry about brand/ type mismatched?

Hei Peacy, Wanli
Dun envy about me, u'll sooner or later experience it, just a matter of time. I heard from some pple that when the baby grows bigger later, u'll be waken by ur babies kicks in the middle of night! So better enjoy ur slumber sleep now when ur babies haven't started to kick u!! One of my GF who's having a twins in her now complaining to me sweetly that sometimes both kicking in her at the same time. So peacy, u'll have 6 feet kicking u!

chrys,
dun be silly! i also went thru wat u going thru now. blur blur, dunno anything but slowly learn after asking around, talking 2 pp, learning from experience and of course learning from the mummies in this forum.

i personally dun mix & match bet 2 breastpumps. i come across a few mummies who use a manual & electric breastpump for different purposes (mayb they bring manual pump 2 office so no need 2 hook 2 electric source and use electric at home)

i stick 2 medela single pump in the 1st 2mths, didnt like it so switch 2 ameda. of course husband not too happy initially cos i spent abt $150, sold it for $80 then spent $290 on the ameda pump. but husband knew i'm serious abt BFg (i pumped every 2-3hrs, woke up in the middle of the nite 2 pump, took fernugreek, drank lotsa soups & water, made fish & papaya soup 2 drink everyday) so he supported me. he also knew how inconvenient it was 2 pump 1 breast and have the other dripping BM into a bottle.

so in my example, i use ameda & medela breastpump, nuk, anakku & pigeon milk bottles, pigeon teats (nuk teats in 1st 3mths), avent steriliser & milk bags, ikea milk bag clips, brandless FM holder, fila diaper bag, avent bottle warmer, etc.

chrys,
u are very right! when i had my #1, i couldnt sleep until 1am cos he was busy kicking away when he heard music or when his daddy was talking 2 him. wah piang!

when i finally can sleep, i would wake up 2-3hrs later cos my hands were so cramped so i cant sleep. the crampy feeling is like 10000 needles picking into ur fingers & palm so it hurts very badly.

I changed my appt to tomorrow as i ahve this very bad backache.
I cant tahan anymore and I changed the appt to tomorrow for the detail scan as well.
Popi everything went fine with me

Hi Kelly,

wats fernugreek u mentioned? btw, wat are some food/soup u recommend to prepare for more breastmilk huh? shd start eating nw?

Chrys,

i oso recommend cot as compared to playpen leh cos' playpen altho can sleep but tend to swing abt a lot esp when baby moves. i tried it with my #1 at my PIL's plc, can't get to sleep at all.

i oso very excited abt my detailed scan. its on 25th mar. still got to wait...
can't wait to c the gender!

talking about breast pump, do u think its ok to take over someones old medala pump?its about 3 years old. I was thinking its ok, but what parts do you think I should change - the rubber tubes, bottles etc ?

oso does anyone know what kind of storage container medala can use? can buy the bags and clips you al mentioned?

i am so sleepy today, not becuz of bb, but cuz of HB who come home late and snore .. i still dunno how to feel bb yet...

thanks kelly,
still thinking to buy or not, hubby felt its too expensive leh......due to on budget i got no choice.....

jfong,

this is wat i found abt fenugreek online.

http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_fenugreek.html

u can buy fenugreek from GNC. They sell it. i took a bottle of it and stopped cos i was taking so much things 2 improve BM flow until i couldnt figure out which method was helping me.

i was recommended 2 drink fish+papaya soup (a common recipe) 2 increase BM flow. i also make an effort 2 drink all sorts of soups everyday and also drank lotsa water/fluids.
i really cant pinpoint if any of these methods help me but in the end, i managed 2 increase my BM flow by latching my bb directly. i stopped pumping my BM out and was nursing him straight from the breast.

i know this method worked cos my son had gd weight gain every mth. he was 2.8kg at birth, 2.5kg when discharged from hospital, 4kg at 1mth, 5kg at 1.5mths, 6kg at 3mths, 8kg at 6mths.

u can only start eating fenugreek and/or drinking such soups after u give birth. no point 2 drink now cos ur breasts 'not activated' 2 produce BM now.

butter8,
i posted a link sometime back abt using 2nd-hand breastpump. i tried searching the archives & google for it but cant find it. the article is saying tat it is not advisable.

for me, i dun feel comfortable using a 3yr old medela pump. it's up 2 ur preference but i cant advise u which parts 2 change.

medela dun use a specific storage container. u can consider glass bottles, avent or pigeon milk bags or even milk bottles (if u have lotsa spare but u also need 2 ensure there are airtight caps for these milk bottles).

if u r tight on budget, how abt considering a manual pump? if i not wrong, avent, nuk & pigeon do have manual pumps.

husband did ask me abt how serious i am on BFg. i couldnt answer him b4 i gave birth but i told him i'll try for at least 6mths. he did his method of accounting.
$150 (medela single pump) for 6mths = $25/mth depreciation.
FM every wk = $30x4weeks = $120
savings = abt $95 (havent include electricity used when pumping milk, washing of glass bottles, sterilising them, storing of EBM in freezer, etc).
net benefit = closer bonding wif bb, mayb more benefits for bb since bb is drinking BM (be it direct nursing or EBM).

when i sold my medela single pump and bought a more expensive pump, it was tat instance i know i was going 2 breastfeed >6mths. again husband did his sums and felt tat it was worth the while. on top of tat, i can use the ameda pump for #2 (yes, when my bb was <6mths old, i already knew i wanna have a 2nd bb). if not, i can always sell the ameda pump which can fetch a decent value.

Hi chrys

Re strollers: I heard combi brand also quite good - lightweight and easy to close. The only thing is some of the lightweight ones feel quite flimsy so I really can't decide. I like the look of the heavy duty 3 wheelers especially those with travel system but they are so heavy to lug around up and down stairs etc.

For cribs/playpens - also got headache trying to decide. But thanks to kelly for her sharing her experience on what works and what doesn't. I am contemplating getting playpens to put at my parents' and in laws' place for bb to sleep in when they are babysitting. Does that make sense or might as well get a travel cot you all think?

catherine,
how abt getting a 2nd hand set 2 try it out 1st? not all mummies die die must breastfeed. some give up not bcos they dun 1 2 breastfeed but bcos they cant breastfeed due 2 health reasons. some find it a chore, some just dun like it, some prefer 2 let bb drink FM (which is just as gd, IMO)

if u give ur bb TBFg (total breastfeeding), u must invest in nursing clothing, bras &amp; breastpads and a lot more equipment. husband asked me b4 how much i spent on BFg alone. i calculated tat i spent abt $1000...$360 for breastpumps, abt $150 on 5 nursing tops, abt $40 on avent milk bags &amp; clips, $200 on 6 nursing bras, >$100 for pigeon breastpads &amp; washable breastpads, abt $20 for glass bottles caps (which i bought from MAH's pharmacy) and cooler bag &amp; 3 ice packs to store EBM.

hi Kelly,

thx for info.. its no so much about cost (of course where i can save i will try) but my boss wife is being very kind to pack/clear out all her baby stuff to me. so it includes the medela double pump (it did look a bit grumbbie, have to do some serious cleaning) oso a car seat, which is super dusty , but i am thankful for her generosity.

after what u say, i feel i need a new puump.. will talk to hubby about it...

butter8,
my apologies if i mistook u.

y dun u give the 2nd hand pump a try after u give birth then decide if u need a new breastpump? of course u must spend some $$ on getting replacement parts. if u decide 2 get a new pump, these replacement parts tat u used on the 2nd-hand pump can act as spare parts rt?

kelly,
dun apologies
its ok.. i really appreciate your sharing...once i saw the pump i was so lost, plus the fact it dun look new.. gues its naturel for MTB to want clean new stuff for bb.. i will try hard tonite to clean up everything and see how all the stuff turn out

ur idea is good. anyway no hurry to buy now.
will wait n c.. i do hope to be able to BF but must see how ya..

HI girls...

Do you all feel alot of movement recently? I like feel it more obvious few weeks ago (fluttering), recently like very quiet leh...

Hi Yipee,
Just to check, how do u know if it is yr BB movements? Me dun noe how to feel at all..

My detailed scan is so far away still..in April..sigh..this 22 march i am going for a routine checkup only...sigh..now my gynae is going to move to TMC..so dun noe if i want to follow her or stay in KKH.
I also haven book my massage lady yet...

The feeling is like a feather tickling you on the stomach, or some bubble bursting effect..usually feel it when in a quiet environment...need some concentration
385270.gif

Hi chrys
Oki. I shall enjoy all the sleep that I can have for the moment before the babies start kicking.

My babies are only 280g each at week 19. It seems that they are quite small lay. nowsaday, I feel hungry easily but cant eat much coz feel bloated at time. Hmmm...I have already put on 12 kg so far and recently, I feel kind of aching or pain around my pelvic area when I start to walk. Is there anyway to relief this pain?
Hi kelly
If I order the ameda pump, how long does it take for them to deliver? My friend told me that usually after c-section, I can't produce much breastmilk so don't know whether to buy the pump or not before birth. thanks!

peacy,
i tik the guy takes 1day 2 deliver it 2 u. for me, i didnt start expressing BM until 2nd wk. ur frien is right tat u dun produce BM in the 1st wk but not bcos of c-section. u r producing colostrum which is very nutritious for ur bbs so u need 2 nurse ur bbs directly within the 1st wk. if they r not getting enuff (since u r feeding 3), u'll need 2 supplement with FM.

it is advisable 2 nurse directly 2 establish BM flow then u start pumping. if ur bbs r premature, there's no way u can nurse them directly so u may have 2 pump out earlier.

it's hard for me 2 advise u in ur instance cos ur situation is very special. u may wanna check wif a lactation consultant at the hospital u r delivering at.

putting on 12kg is a lot but if u r of smaller frame, it shld b fine. ur 3 bbs is of a very gd size of 280g each at 19wks. my GF's bb is 312g at 19wks 6days. she's carrying one n u r carrying 3 leh.

Hi kelly
Thanks for your advice.
I will try to find out from the lactation consultant when I go for my antenatal class.

augbaby..

i was oso looking out for flutters and butterflies - but none to be felt.. its really quiet in my tumtum and sometimes i worry. i can only wait till 2 weeks more b4 my next check up.

kelly u mentioned earlier with the ameda contact and webby rite? I cant find, can give me again... sorrieeee

Opps, Kelly, i remember wrongly, my baby weighs 324g only on his 20week.
I think i'll get a cot instead of playpen.
Do u think 4 pairs of mitten and 2 pairs of bootie is enough for newborn? My mother said need mitten more as babies tend to wet their mitten with saliva

Hi butter8,
me too!!..it is reali quiet n sometimes i worry coz i cant seem to feel anything n moreover since we r now in our 2nd tri, the symptons of 1st tri like MS is much better alr n so i worry too...n moreover recently i feel that my stomach seems to shrink and was super worried..coz my stomach is showing alr..n hence i actually went down to A&amp;E at KK for a scan to see if everything is ok..i rather pay $60+ then to worry..n am happy to say that baby well..
Think as 1st time MTM, we will naturally be more worried lor..

Kelly
I dun think i'll let my baby sleep between us in a queen size bed, as we already feel crampy now, and also baby'll be frightened by his daddy's snoring! :p

I won't control my diet from now onwards. I'll 'try' to drink milk everyday which i dun normally do. sometimes find it a bit heaty.

ya same augbaby..
my tummy oso sometimes flatter... but overall my friends say i am showing pretty early... they say some ppl dun really show till 4-5months...

anyone know how to best guess baby sex? my friends observe funny things like sleepyness or activness of mama and skin of mama

Hi Butter8, augbaby,
Don't worry too much. You are going to feel it very soon. I usually feel it when i am sittng down, or lying down on my bed. I feel a little ticklish feeling sometimes on my left, sometime on my right. And the minimum bubble pop feeling is 2-5 pops, and more than 3times a day. I started to feel that in my early 16wks. There was once I feel that ticklish feeling, that i stare at my tummy and there was a slighty movement.

i also havent book any massage lady nor buy any baby stuff yet.

chrys,
u wont 1 2 know how many times my bb jumped at the sounds of my husband's snoring. poor boy who was sleeping so soundly then suddenly 'frightened' by daddy's loud snoring.

i definitely got more mittens cos i got lotsa hand-me-downs. i bought 2 pairs but i tik i have abt 6-7pairs. since u have 4pairs, just make sure ur wash them everyday after use.

Dear Butter8,
Yups..i am showing already..think most of us are in our 4th mth going into 5mths soon so tummy shld be showing already..now i am wearing maternity pants already coz normal ones r not so comfortable..
Heard people saying certain things regarding the sex of the baby but think not so true lor..some say that is mummy is glowing, means it is a girl coz if it is a boy, bec of the different in hormones, mummy wont look good..but not true leh i feel..some say if mummy experience very bad MS then it is a girl too...n elders say the look of the stomach..if it is pointed then it is a boy..hee hee.. but then i dun noe how our tummy can look pointed..thou all look round one..haha..anyway there r also some website that can predict the sex of yr baby...like www.motherhood.com.sg There is a gender predictor..but dun noe how true lor..

Dear Dino,
Thanks for yr assurance..Me now trying to at least secure a massage lady as either my mum or MIl will be helping me wif my confinement.

dino,
me kaisu booked liao..kekeke
but not buy any major baby stuff.. only my friend gave me some bb clothes which i dun think bb can wear till much later..
the only things i have are some stuff handed down by my boss as mentioned earlier... swing...rocker... dunno can use yet..

augbaby,
i just curious, bored in the office... so thot i see what are the interesting theories :p

chrys
me too, either we may be afraid to squeeze baby or papa snoring disturb both me n bb.. :p

Kelly
What's the use of diaper bag, FM holder and bottle warmer?

Thanks for the b'feeding info. It's very useful.

When i was about to buy the avent milk bags at taka fair, the salesgirl said i must let the milk frozen in the milk bag, i first time heard of this, plus their clips sold out, i din buy at the end. The bags n clips are no longer in production, it's gonna be replaced by plastic cups which can be used for 4-5 times, according to the sales. Is it true that must freeze the milk?

Hi Rain
Hope everything goes well

chrys,
u wont 1 me 2 start on diaper bags which is my fav accessory since i have a bb. hahahaha!

the hospital which we deliver in will give us a diaper bag but the quality, design &amp; comfort (when u carry it) isnt fantastic.

there are many branded diaper bags in the mkt but not all mummies use designer diaper bags. some use shoulder bags, backpack, etc 2 double as diaper bag.

i give u some links...u check them out yourself ok? i myself am eyeing another diaper bag from allerhand. i bought a lunch bag from allerhand last yr which i used for my 17mths old son when i was still breastfeeding him.

www.allerhand.com
www.fleurville.com
www.oioi.com.au
www.katespade.com

a FM holder is a plastic container which comes wif 3-4 containers 2 store certain portion of FM for u 2 bring it out when u need 2 feed ur bb FM outside. when u visit KP, kids mall, major dept stores, u shld c such FM holder

for a bottle warmer, there are 2 types... an electric bottle warmer for u 2 warm up EBM &amp; FM at home and those kinda insulated bottle warmer which u bring it out in ur diaper bag 2 keep FM/EBM warm when ur bb dun finish his milk at one go.

chrys,
i dun quite understand wat u mean by let the milk frozen in the milk bag? for me, i just pump it out, pour into milk bag, then store in fridge or freezer depending when i intend 2 use it.

when u express ur BM, there are 2 modes of storage...in the normal fridge segment or the freezer segment.

the fridge segment can keep EBM 'fresh' for 48hrs while for the freezer segment, 6mths. i've read somewhere tat storage of 3mths is recommended if u freeze ur EBM but i follow the guideline given by the lactation consultant from MAH.

if u have abundant supply, u'll need 2 freeze EBM in the freezer segment since there's no way ur bb can finish all the EBM in 48hrs if u manage 2 pump out a lot.

for example, u r able 2 pump out abt 1L EBM in a day but ur bb is drinking abt 700ml EBM in a day. there's an excess of 300ml EBM everyday. over 1week, 300ml EBM will be accumulated 2 become 2.1L then wat r u going 2 do? u'll need 2 figure out how 2 store these excess EBM so as not 2 waste them.

hard 2 explain in words lah...u 1 2 talk 2 me then i explain.

wait til u start 2 BF and EBM, it can b quite stressful cos u need 2 decide wat 2 do wif ur EBM (should u put into the fridge or freezer); when 2 breastfeed directly; when ur bb's due 2 drink milk and ur breasts are full, should u breastfeed or express ur milk out n u just feed ur bb EBM (which u pumped out earlier), etc. aiya, really a lot of decisions 2 make.

zshih
Yeah, we also considering combi.

peacy
I have no idea how to relief the pain around pelvic area, so sorry.. maybe u can consult ur gynae?

Augbaby, Butter8,
What Dino described is right.. I usually feel the movement/ kicks when i lie on sofa/bed flat. when the kicks are great, observe ur tummy, u'll see a lump suddenly appear and disappear again. It's very fun.
I usually feel the kicks when i am taking bath, eating and during bedtime. I remember the first time i felt it was when i lied down on sofa, it's the best position to feel any slight movement in ur tummy. When we r walking we may miss it.

Hi Kelly
Thanks so much for explaining to me about the BM thingy.. haha.. i find it very interesting!
I am much clearer now, maybe the sales girl meant the fresh milk that i keep in the milk bag need to be put in fridge/freezer.

Kelly
Wah.. the bags are not cheap neh.. u ordered online?

If i buy the Ameda electric dual pump (that u recommended), can i use it at office? or must i use those manual type? how did u solve it when pumping milk at office?

hi chrys,
i pump in the toilet so i put in battery (6 AA batteries) into the ameda pump.

u can find allerhand, oioi and fleurville (a few limited designs) in s'pore. i wont mind spending on diaper bags cos i know wif a bag filled wif specific compartments, it's easier 2 pack bb stuff in and easier 2 find it &amp; take things out. imagine u handling a fussy/crying out loud bb on ur own outside, if ur bag is messy as u pack ur bb stuff everywhere (things piled on top of other things), u'll get kan cheong and more 'loon-goon'

of course u can find cheaper diaper bags outside. i tik there's a brand called pierre cardin which u can find in JL &amp; robinsons. Quite gd too. i saw a few mummies use it.

chrys,
i realised i not replying 2 ur query properly. yes, u can pump in the office. for the ameda pump, u can opt 2 use the electric source or use batteries. the ameda also comes wif a nice backpack which doubles as a cooler bag (i dunno how much extra). for me, i didnt buy the bag. i used my own backpack n a separate cooler bag.

kelly,

thx for your reply on the soup thingy. what kind of fish /papaya to use? do u tink u can enlighten me briefly on how to cook the soup?

btw,is anyone going for your antenatal class at TMC on a wednesday?

I also can feel my baby movement this few days. So happy. Will be going for detailed scan next week. Hope everything is fine.

rain,
glad 2 hear tat ur bb is fine. i just read in the Jul06 MTB's thread tat a mummy's bb wasnt doing ok. after reading, i started 2 worry again. hai...cant help it.
how's ur back? betta?

jfong,
i dun remember how i cook it liao but i know i use unripe papaya and ginger. wat kinda fish, i dunno cos my MIL/mum does the marketing for me. i throw everything in2 the pot &amp; cook. i also dunno how 2 advise u how much fish 2 use &amp; how much papaya. everything i agar agar 1...

no 1 helped me wif the cooking so i managed on my own. i tik i cooked every other day so 1st time was like trial &amp; error. subsequent times, the soup got betta.

Hi Kelly,
My ger ger keep on moving yesterday, so my gynae is spending quite soemtime to do this detail scan. When he wanted to took a photo of her for us, she use both her hands to block her face else she keep moving her head. Finally she settled down and the umbilical cord is in font of her face.. ha ha..

Notti ger ger.. The gynae commented that he rlegs is very long, so I hope she can be a tall and elegant lady next time :) First time i see my ger so in detail.. Now i stgarting to her her already

rain,
looks like u have a 'cheeky' girl there. r u &amp; ur husband the tall &amp; lanky type? my boy is like me, short &amp; chubby type. his arms, legs &amp; fingers all bah bah kind. very nice 2 'chew' them. LOL!

i still remember when i did detailed scan for my boy. he also very 'notti', covered his mouth wif his hands for a while n wont let the radiographer check his lips 2 c if it's ok. i have 2 talk 2 him, tell him 2 let the 'auntie' check so mummy'll buy him clothes then my boy agreed 2 put his hands down.

i did my detailed scan at ESH and spent abt 30mins. since the radiographer cant check his lips, she went back 2 checking his other organs 2 b sure again. nice filipino lady! tis time round, i doing it at TMC.

is urs done at ur gynae's clinic or a hospital's fetal assessment unit?