(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi Chrys,

I hope to give birth on the 15July else 22July..

So I will tell my gal to pop out on either days. It is a saturday

if on 14 or 21July, i also dun mind

:) ke ke ke

hi chrys,

no reason. but just want to see her earlier

bcos when u cross ur leg, hinder blood circulation and will have water retention on ur legs - swollen legs

rain,
no need 2 pop in. me wanna spend as much x as possible wif my boy so i wont be posting in this thread on wkends. even when he naps, i also nap wif him.

y 15 or 22jul huh?

Hi Rain, chrys & Kelly,
I think we will most probably give birth on Jul. I read some posting from Feb/Jan Mummies, and saw 80% of them pop before EDD. For Aug MTB I'm sure Peacy will be the first Mummy
, since she has to give birth on her 7 mths.

chrys, so u prefer a gal or a boy?

wanli,
I dun have preference on girls or boys, best is get 1 boy 1 girl
but i think is better to get a boy first, dunno why, just a safer feeling, or maybe i think on behalf of my PIL, i think older pple prefer boys, though they din say lah.. Elder boy can take care of family when he grows up. And one silly thing, boy easier to take care (for a start) when he pees, heee.. bcos for girl, u need to wash them clean clean when she pee.. :p

wanli,
i know i'll pop in jul, mayb even end jun. dun forget my 1st bb was born at 35wks. my gynae already told me 2 b prepared around 34-35wks n if need b, he'll make me pop pills 2 hold my bb til 36wks IF i want 2 and IF my bb's weight isnt ideal. 2 me, if i do pop anytime b4 35wks, as long as bb is >2.8kg, i'll let nature takes its course.

i tik i mentioned b4 tat i know 10% of MTBs (my friens) who pop b4 36wks, most pop bet 37-40wks, a few pop after 40wks.

y did u say peacy has 2 give birth at 7mths? i've come across a mummy who popped at 6mths when she was carrying triplets...2 girls & 1 boy. for MTBs who are having twins/triplets, the ideal is 2 hold the bbs as long as possible but if the bbs choose 2 pop, there's nothing u can do 2 hold them back.

hi MTBs,

my GF just sms-ed me, saying tat the fair is rather small, nothing much 2 buy and not worth the trip. she only bought a nuk bottle brush cos she cant find it in shopping malls.

looks like i may give it a miss. i'll check wif husband n c if he's keen 2 pop by quickly 2nite since we need 2 go out for dinner anyway.

Hi Kelly
The reason wanli said so becoz my gynae said so that he would be happy if I can hold on till 28 weeks. In fact, at the latest scan, he asked me to hold on as long as possible. So for now, I try to rest as much as possible and I keep telling my babies to hold on and hopefully I can drag to 36 weeks.

Thx Kelly for your info on the milk bags.

Hi Jasmine,

I have seen the nurser at the Taka fair, the lady recommended me to buy. supposed to use it with the milk bags becos can open from the bottom of the btl as well. I din buy cos' wanted to find out more 1st. i tink it cost $15.90 with 10 bags and some clips thrown in. Haven't seen it in the stores b4 so if u want, better get ti frm taka fair b4 it ends.

For me, i using Medela pump so maybe the nurser no use for me, i tink. i probably heed Kelly's advice to pour the EBM into the bag. I tinking of using the Nuk wide-necked bottle when I need to feed the EBM cos shd be easier to squeeze in the bag.

Chrys,

another reason for not crossing your legs when sitting is to prevent or worsen your backaches.

hello..just joined to this forum. I am a mama of a 15mths old princess. Now i am in my 2nd pregnancy due in 31 Aug 2006. Gynae is Dr Joycelyn wong(TMC). Nice gynae who take took the initiative to call me and reply to emails. Glad i change gynae. Hope to know everyone here.

Hi MTBs, sorry to interrupt.

In case any of you are contemplating a purchase of a manual pump, in anticipation for the relief of engorgement during the 1st few days, and are also unsure of your breast milk supply, before committing into a purchase of a good electric pump.

Please pop by my thread to view/consider. Thanks a lot!

<u>Want to Sell: AVENT ISIS Manual Breast Pump</u>
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/383733.html?1142089548

Hi chrys,
Yah, got the same feeling like you if the first child is boy will feel safer :p . For myself I really don't mind since this is my first baby, hope it is a healty bb
. Doctor said my baby 80% is gal.

Hi Peacy,
I read a book we must always talk with the babies, just talk with them and ask them hold abit longer, they able to understand it.
You must also rest well and take care.

Hi Welcome NRS

hi NRS

any mummies went 2 the baby care festival at s'pore expo? i gave it a miss cos a few GFs went &amp; said nothing much &amp; not worth the trip. husband also hates the parking at expo so skip it entirely.

Have anyone book yr confinement lady?? I called a confinement lady on sun. She is charging me $1600. (She did confinement for my sister in law).. and she wants me to pay $300 deposit. Is it the norm??

Hi Kelly,
I went to the Expo baby care, it is very small and crowded, nothing much can buy. I just bought a music CD for baby. but I did attend their workshop on breastfeeding and baby massage, quite useful.
I prefer the book fair more than the baby fair......bought some book from the book fair :p

Hi honeyhaven,
It is normal. Usually they will want some deposit. $1600 is not bad, thought market price is $1800 already.

Hi chrys,
How's yr details scan?

wonder i am blind or wat i remember i saw alist of wat to buy for baby but i scroll up and down i can't find it........

Hi Good Morning gals.. wah.. u all so early..

My scan shows everything is under normal range, it's indeed a very detail scan, measure the baby head, backbone, hand, leg, see the heart, lungs, kidneys, eyes, lips, etc.. and the position of the placenta (low or not low), etc.. feel relief that me and baby are both fine, nothing special to take note at the moment..

Hi Catherine,
It already in 09 March archive lah

Hi chrys,
Congrat! You can start shopping for baby stuff :D!! So you able to see the baby gender? How long you took for details scan? Is the scan can see very clearly of the baby?

Hello jfong &amp; Good morning ladies!

I went Taka fair on weekend and saw the nurser bottle.. but i didn't buy it.. went to IKEA first to buy the sealing clips.. (comes in 1 bag of 10 big clips n 20 small clips for 5.90sgd). The small clips are the one to be used to seal the disposable milk bags from avent.. The lady at the fair was helpful and showed us how to seal up the milk bag, and confirmed after seeing our sample of IKEA sealing clip (small) one that it can be used. I looked at the disposable cups Avent trying to promote, but i think it is more expensive and takes up more space compared to milk bags.. and Gerber brand is def. more expensive!

Also bought a pigeon steriliser with 2 free wide neck milk bottles and free 2 travel pack baby wipes @ 87sgd.

As promotion at taka says min 100 sgd will have free delivery, i dun need to carry home!

BTW, my mum went BKK and saw that Pigeon breastpads cost 8sgd for 60pcs. comes with sticker also to better adhere to the inner bra padding. cheap leh!! I saw pigeon selling 8.90sgd for 42pcs!! So got my mum to buy 1 box of 60 pcs..

Am not intending to buy anymore, until GSS!! especially since my EDD is end Aug..

HI chrys,
Great to hear that everything is fine for yr
detailed scan.

Who will the next lady to go for her detailed scan?? Mine will be on 31st Mar 06.

jasmine,
i did mentioned earlier tat i pay abt SGD6-7 for 60 pieces of pigeon breastpads in bangkok. i got my frien 2 buy abt 20boxes for me. in tat box of 60pieces, they even throw in a small pack of pigeon wet wipes. very handy for the bb.

the pigeon breastpads sold in s'pore also come wif ahesive stickers so it adhere to our bras but definitely more ex.

so ask ur friens/relatives who go 2 bangkok 2 buy for u.

honeyhaven,
my detailed scan is on 20mar, next mon...cant wait for it 2 come. quite excited 2 c my boy. for my 1st pregnancy, i did my detailed scan when i was 19wks+6days. i wasnt even expecting it and the next thing i know i was doing the detailed scan. for this pregnancy, a bit kan cheong leh. kept looking forward 2 it since 2-3wks ago.

Hi kelly,
I prefer yr 1st pregnancy.. Like not expecting it then asked to go for detailed scan.. Like what u mentioned now is looking forward yet gan cheong. Wondering how is baby inside..

Opps sorry, i stopped surfing to eat my breakfast first becos my little one's kicking me few times, reminding me to eat!

Thanks for all ur greetings and sharing of my happiness!

My appt with the assessment unit was at 10am, but there r few cut queue cases, so I waited till 1035pm. The scan took 20 min, n its a very detailed scan where the senior radiographer scanned thru all organs to check for abnormalities. As the screen was facing her, I only managed to hear the conversation between my husband and her.

She checked if all the organs are at correct position, checked the blood flow direction in the heart made sure its correct. Baby is now measured 15cm from head to buttock when I asked her, but she said this is not important now, its the backbone measurement that being the identifier of the baby age now, deciding more accurate EDD.

She asked if we know the gender already, I told her my instinct tells me it's a girl, she smiled and said, its going to be a boy. I was like huh.. are u sure? She then turned the screen to me n showed us the evident. Hopefully he din hear all the girls talk that I had been talking to him!

Welcome, NRS!
We r under same gynae. Yes, she's very kind to reply our enquiries thru emails, else u can call up n if she's busy u can ask Hazel to leave a note and Dr wong'll call back.

Hi Rain,
U are so cute, so eager to see ur girl..
38-40 weeks is the best too i think..

Hi Peacy,
Jia you!! U can do it. Talk to ur babies, tell them to come out only at the best time, cooperate with u to push during delivery. There r many cases showing the miracle of talking to baby during pregnancy. They can hear us starting 20 weeks, but every pregancy is unique, maybe ur babies can hear u earlier, no harm talking to them.

Thanks jfong for ur advice.

Hi honeyhaven
I book my CL who charged me $1.7k, but I din give her deposit as I told her I din know I need to give deposit ($200) when I met her (which I really din know), she asked me dun fly her kite. :p

Hi Kelly
I din go to the Expo too as i read many discouraging comments from pple who went. I went to Taka baby fair instead, it's very happening.

My DH was so excited grabbing the baby suits till I had to stop him from buying further. We bought a few baby suits, caps, mitten &amp; booties &amp; Pigeon baby wipes. The rest i dunno which one to buy.

May need to hear ur advice.. eg, whether to get a playpen or cot? The playpen is selling at $99 only while the cot is at $299, really no idea which one to go for/ more suitable.

And also the breastpumps, nursing set, since most commented Ameda is good, should i buy Ameda for wholeset or can mix and match?

I saw the Pigeon sterilizer too, quite tempted to buy, but my DH said why not using our food steamer at home! My mother said they used hot water to pour in the bottles to sterilise during the past! So i haven't bought yet lor..

Think i'll go to Taka again before the sale ends.

MIA for some time. now trying to read all the postings.

Haven't been to the baby fair. still not sure what to buy yet. seems like a lot of things to get but dunno whether we need all of them yet or not.

Peacy,
congratulations. Wow, 2 gals n 1 boi. can definitely close shop after this.

hi Rain,
Think u r not the only 1. I told my dh too that i hope to deliver bb by wk 38. can't wait to see bb. dh says i shd try to deliver at full term.

Congrats to all who have passed their detailed scan. Still awaiting mine

Have any of you thought about what type of stroller to get yet? I am lost. I know it's still a bit early, but thought I would do research first. Can't decide whether a lightweight (but flimsier one) or sturdy (but very heavy one) is better! Then there are those which can use from birth, those that can only be used from 3-6 mths onwards and those that fold with one hand and those that don't! Argh, any ideas?

chrys,
congrats on having a boy! looks like most mummies are having boys tis yr. i frequent another thread often (more for my 1st boy) and most of the mummies (2nd time mummies) there are also having boys.

COT
i bought a cot for #1 and got 2 playpens &amp; a cot from relatives/friens. i used the playpen for my boy 2 play when he was abt 4-5mths but he dun fancy playing in them for long (mayb bcos of poor ventilation and/or my boy sweats very easily). he would sit in there for abt 10mins max then he would wanna get out. we left the playpen lying around for a few mths then we kept it.

as for the cot, my boy was sleeping in it until he was 4mths old. i could have let him sleep in it longer if not for me breastfeeding him. when he woke up in the middle of the nite for milk, i carried out of the cot, breastfed him then put him back. he was ok wif this arrangement but i got very tired wif it (carrying him out, sit on the bed, breastfeeding him, put him back). i got too tired so let him sleep on the bed &amp; breastfed directly while lying on my side.

the cot is still lying around cos i used it all the way until my #1 is abt 1yr old. i leave him in there 2 play wif his toys while i take showers. the playpen is in his nursery cos i cant c him or talk 2 him while i do my big biz or shower. the cot is also more ventilated so he dun feel hot while playing in it.

i've given away the spare cot &amp; a playpen 2 my GF. i've come across a few mummies who let their bbs sleep in playpens all the way. i tik it's a matter of habit cos once the bb is used 2 sleeping in it and has no other alternatives, the bb cant b fussing abt where he sleeps.

wif this #2, i resolve (of course i wont know if i'll succeed but i know i've become a wiser parent) 2 feed #2 FM for the nite so he can sleep longer, wont require me 2 breastfeed and my husband can handle the nite feeds.

STERILISER
i had a gd laugh abt ur DH's suggestion. he's exactly like my GF's husband who has the same idea too.

the reason y the steamer is not ideal for the simple reason tat the steamer is meant for steaming food while the steriliser serves its function 2 sterilise bottles, teats, breastpump equipment, etc. a steriliser barely takes 3-5mins 2 do its job while a steamer may take longer.

i've seen a steamer in dept stores and i not sure if u can place 5-6 bottles &amp; teats &amp; teat holders in them, tgt wif ur breastpump equipment &amp; glass bottles (yes! i also sterilise the glass bottles meant 2 hold EBM). i used my Avent steriliser and i'm able 2 put in all these stuff 2 sterilise at one go. i only use 90ml of water n 5mins later, all gao tim.

i heard the pigeon steriliser is quite gd &amp; cheap too. i only heard from my GF recently not 2 buy NUK steriliser cos it's quite small so cant fit lotsa things in it.

hi chrys,
i cut &amp; pasted my post which is in 03March archive. i also provided some links abt breastpumps in there. u take a look can? i lazy 2 re-type everything again.

"i have GFs who rave abt medela, ameda &amp; avent breastpumps. all 3 brands are good so it depends on ur preferences.

all along avent breastpumps are manual, u need 2 work out when u pump milk, unlike medela &amp; ameda which are electric pumps. medela do have manual pumps but not as popular as their electric pumps.

i bought a medela single pump but regretted it big time cos when i pumped 1 breast, the milk will flow from the other breast. i ended up having 2 hold the breastpump on 1 hand, hold a glass/milk bottle on the other hand. the medela single pump is also more noisy. when i pump in the bedroom with the door closed, husband who walks past the room, can tell i'm pumping milk. a single pump is also not good cos when my bb (then an infant) was sleeping in our bedroom, i cant pump in my bedroom. i have 2 move 2 another room 2 pump milk.

after using the single pump (single deluxe) for 2mths, i gave up. i switched to the Ameda pump bcos i heard it's as good as Medela's PIS (the one tat costs $600+, before discount) but i only paid $280 for it. I tik the Ameda pump now costs $300+.

i have friens who swear by the medela dual pump (double select) so tat must b very good too. u check out their website www.medela.com

i also have friens who prefer a manual pump (from avent, pigeon, etc) but while they like it, they also complain abt their arms/hands being cramped after using the pump.

if i not wrong, avent has developed an electric pump but i not sure abt the cost.

betta 2 do some homework b4 shopping for breastpumps"

chrys,
another point 2 add...

u can mix &amp; match by using avent isis manual pump (which i know a few mummies swear by it) and also the ameda dual breastpump. after all, u can sell these 2 pumps if u dun plan 2 use them anymore or use them again when u r preggie wif #2.

for me, i swear by ameda and i'll probably sell it after i stop breastfeeding #2. husband likes me 2 BF for >1yr and i dun mind if #2 is ok wif BM and dun reject bottle like my #1.

catherine,
direct from euramedic. tel: 68447717

the guy delivers 2 u FOC and answers all ur questions abt the pump. u can also buy replacements from him and *i tik* it's much cheaper 2 buy from him than from MIM.

i tik 1-2 mummies here are tiking of consolidating a bulk order 2 get a cheaper rate. betta 2 buy later once u've decided on which breastpump cos the warranty starts the moment u get ur hands on the pump.

honeyhaven,
i tik i didnt pay any attention 2 the detailed scan cos i dunno wat it was abt. i like a blur MTB, went into the room, laid there for 30mins while the radiographer scanned me.

for this pregnancy, wif more awareness, i tend 2 worry more. it's always good 2 not know anything cos the more u know, the more u tend 2 worry.

Hi chrys
thanks for your info. So envy of you gals who already feel your baby's movement. I am in my week 20 now but don't feel any movement yet even though got 3 of them inside. Hmmm.. Maybe too crowded for them to move around freely. ;)

Hi chrys,
Congrat having a baby boy
!! so happy for u!

Hi peacy,
Me also dun really feel the baby kicking lei..... So envy about chrys can feel it :p , I think may be I am not petite type so can not feel the kicking yet.....

Hi Rain, Kelly,
Dun worry too much on the detail scan, everything will be alright, do update us after your scan.

In fact, my EDD has moved to 29 Jul from the measurement, and i was 20 week 0 day on the day of my scan on last sat. But gynae told me to stick to my old EDD so as not to be confused and having to have the date always changed.

Hi zshih,
I also still haven't made up my mind as to which stroller to get. But I prefer lighter type, easier to carry, with storage at bottom, and handle can be adjusted front or back so that baby can be facing front or facing us, but also quite expensive. I think Lucky Baby and Graco are quite affordable in terms of pricing, but dunno about the quality. Some brands even exceed $1k!!

chrys,
if i know of a 'new' EDD on my detailed scan, i'll follow it cos after my experience in the 1st pregnancy, i feel tat it's betta 2 follow the new EDD.

my son was supposed 2 b due on 9Nov but he popped on 10Oct (water bag burst on 8Oct). based on the EDD, he was 35wks old and considered a premmie though he's of a gd weight (2.8kg). if his EDD has supposedly changed based on his size, mayb he wont b considered a premmie (he went thru more stringent checks by nurses &amp; PDs. though i'm not complaining abt this checks, it can b quite heartache 2 c him go thru it) and i also wont need 2 take additional jabs 2 prepare him since he was considered a premmie.

any idea on ur bb's weight?