(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

bearybear,
i dunno leh. the dessert shop auntie said betta for me 2 take fu zhok. mayb she meant more in terms of nutrition level. i still eat chng tng now but i make it an effort 2 eat fu zhok every wk.

Can i check with all of you if you have booked your massage lady for after giving birth? If yes, can you share wif me who did you book? Coz now very confused as there are so many massage ladies out there..Thanks for the kind help gals..

i just book Mdm Nohaya yesterday.

$490 for 7 sessions...
Dunno good anot.. but is recommend by the ppl in the forum here

I also booked Mdm Rohaya.. Her pricing is bit steep... was thinking to look for others if any good..

Normally I get e feedback from the forum here lo..

augbaby,
i've booked mdm naini but KIV a chinese blind lady for tui-na + binding (who hasnt quote me her fees yet) and mdm renee (recommended by my cousin, serene from hougang)

Can we still go for facial anot huh? I know need to tell the beautician that you preggie then maybe certain facial like aroma facial will be avoided. Anyone heard totally cannot facial?

Hi kelly,
wow, so u actually book 2 massage ladies n another one KIV? do we need so many? Anyone heard of Mdm Rokiah then?

augbaby,
i booked 1, KIV 2. i KS mah...anyway, i'll confirm 1 when i'm abt 6mths preggie.

yipee,
u can go for facial BUT must inform beautician tat u r preggie so they wont use AHA or retin-A on u.

I booked Mdm Rohaya cos my good friend is currently using her right now. So partly recommended by forum but more of good friend's review.

I continue to go for facial at Leonard Drake. Only thing is you should inform them you are expecting and most probably they would not use any equipment on your face apart from the steamer. I did more of facials involving hydrating mask cos preggie women's skins tend to be more dehydrated due to our hormones. HTHs!

Hi Kelly & bearbear,
Thanks for your advice! I will make sure I take ba guo fu zhou once a week too cos that's also my favouraite! Yeh!

Hi Augbaby,

Mdm Rokiah have many positive comments also. Read from the forum her charges are somethinng like that $300 (5 session), $400 (7 sessions), $570 (10 sessions). Her number is 92716091.

Hi experienced mums,
generally, after completing the packaged times of massage by the massage lady, any of you added more times of massage after that? If yes, why? and how effective?

yipee,
thks for the tip on mdm rokiah.

chrys,
$450 includes jamu oil & the binding cloth. she'll ask u if u like 2 buy an additional binder (the sports type) at $20+ and if u like 2 buy her jamu herbs 2 help u in weight loss. u can nicely reject her.
after she massaged u for 2-3days, she'll advise u if u need more sessions. of course u can also ask her for more sessions n she'll advise u her charges accordingly.

piyo,
i didnt add on more sessions cos i felt tat mdm naini has achieved wat i desired. i still have a tummy after the 5 sessions and i left it as it was cos i already had a tummy b4 i was preggie. i wasnt sure if i continued more sessions, would i b able 2 flatten the tummy.

hi wanli,
for mdm naini, once u give birth, she will ask u questions when u call her. she'll call u 4-5days later, ask u questions again then she'll assess when 2 start massaging u if u have c-section.

if i not wrong (dun quote me), she did say b4 tat depending on ur pain threshold & comfort level, u can start massaging after 1wk but she'll go gentle on the wound area. of course, u being the customer, u can start later even though she says can start then.

I also asked Mdm Rohaya on c section. She told me massage can be done 2 weeks after the csec only difference is different technique used compared to normal delivery.

hi MTBs,
i found this link abt comparing NUK n Avent.

u can c tat some mummies prefer avent but some mummies prefer NUK. if i not wrong, the consensus is the Avent teats are quite hard compared to other brands of teats.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/382603.html?1141920554

i tik i mentioned b4 tat if u let ur bb use avent 1st & dun try other brands, it's fine BUT if ur bb try other brands 1st, then try avent, bb likely 2 reject avent cos avent teats not easy 2 suckle milk from.

jfong,
i just realised tat i forgot 2 reply 2 ur post.

i myself never try putting in the milk bag into the skinny NUK/Pigeon bottle cos it was my MIL doing it. i tik she somehow managed 2 do it a few times but she commented tat she dun feel comfortable for her bao bei grandson 2 b drinking warm milk from a plastic. she prefers 2 pour the EBM out from the milk bag into the bottle.

i had 2 resort 2 glass bottles and milk bags cos at 1 point, i had >10 glass bottles stored in the fridge. i dun have tat many spare milk bottles so relied on glass bottles. husband also brought back >30glass bottles from the hospital nursery.

when my son got bigger, i had 2 switch 2 milk bags cos he was drinking 4-5oz and i can only store max 3oz in a glass bottle.

u can put the milk bag into the medela bottle (plastic type rt?) while u pump ur milk into the milk bag which is in the bottle. if u find it difficult, continue pumping into the medela bottle then pour EBM into the milk bag.

Thanks Kelly

Btw, if we deliver normally, the massage normally starts after 1 week rite. At that time, we still not encouraged to take bath (according to chinese medical believe that wind will go in), so after the massage with the wrappings and the jamu oil, our body will be oily rite.. some more have to continue for 5 or 7 days, then wil it be very yucky? imagine the oil will be applied to u everyday, so add on everyday the oil to our body, plus the dirt after so many days not taking bath..
any experience to share? Thanks!

chrys,
i bathed everyday wif warm water (wif herbs thrown in) and washed my hair every other day.

i gave birth on a sun, discharged on a tues, started bathing on thu cos i cant 'dong' myself being so hot, sweaty & smelly.

u'll b consuming 'heaty' drinks (such as longan & red dates), no cold drinks and eating lotsa 'heaty' food (i already cut down on ginger intake as i'm breastfeeding) and u need 2 consume ur food while every dish's hot. i sweat a lot cos no aircon at nite, no fan in the daytime, must wear long sleeve top & pants and wear slippers around the hse (ur feet cant touch the cold flr). somehow i also seem 2 b losing lotsa water thru sweating, partly bcos i had severe water retention in my last trimester so my body was dispelling the fluids then.

u can wipe youself clean wif a warm towel, apply powder (like powder bath) but i still feel very uncomfortable. i was like wiping myself >10x in a day. i even carried a dry towel around 2 wipe my sweat.

by the thu, i buay tahan liao. i decided 2 bath & wash my hair tat day cos i am breastfeeding and ur bb is close 2 u in terms of body contact. imagine if u feel sticky & sweaty and ur bb is so close 2 u, their bb skin so soft & clean (fresh out of the womb). from that day, i bathed everyday, washed my hair every other day. 2 prevent wind from 'going into ur body', dry urself very clean b4 u step out of the bathroom. also dry ur hair after bath.

for mdm naini's massages (i dunno abt the rest), she'll ask u 2 bathe b4 she comes for the massage. after she applied oil on u for the massage, she'll wipe it off wif a towel when the massage is over (she'll ask u for an old towel which u can throw away) and apply tons of powder on u so u wont feel sticky or oily after the massage.

Hi Kelly
If I only take/allowed to take shower 10 days after delivery, can I have the massage only on the 11 day onwards, for example? As i also dun feel comfortable let pple massage me when i m still 'dirty'. Will it affect the outcome of the massage? Massage earlier will get results better? Just to clear my doubts.. Thanks.

chrys,
i c y not. y dun u check wif the massage lady u engaged? of course it's best 2 do the massage as early as possible but if u do c-section, u can only massage 2wks later so bo bian rt?

Hi CT,

Taka got baby fair until 19th March.

Regarding the AVENT disposable milk bags, apparently they are being discontinued. AVENT is promoting the containers to hold the milk instead.Now, you can't even buy the nursing bottle to hold the milk bags, cos they are no longer in production!

Kelly,
Can we still use the AVENT milk bags if we first time MTB dun have the nursing bottle to hold the bags?? The bags are being sold at 16.90sgd? there was a 20% discount off at Isetan private sale yesterday but i don't know if the price is already discounted..
other milk bags tend to be more expensive, compared to this AVENT milk bags.

Peacy,
congrats! so happy for you!

Hi Kelly
In fact i've booked Mdm Naini 2 days ago. I sms her and she called me back immediately. She explained to me again her service. asked me to give her a call again in mid July to let her know my weight that time, wat doctor say & my address. However later on, i read someone commented her service not good in one of the thread on massage lady.. quite taken aback too. Anyway, most of the comments are positive ones.
I think pple just come in here sharing their experience.. we still need to gauge it ourselves and decide what we r comfortable with, in price & service. I think the massage almost the same one lah..

jasmine,
wat nursing bottle are u talking abt? i a bit blur blur here. if u buy an avent breastpump, wont it come wif a nursing bottle attached 2 e pump? i not sure abt avent breastpump cos i know for medela single pump, they provide a bottle so u can pump directly into it. for ameda, they provide 2 bottles cos it's a dual pump.

if the avent breastpump dun come wif any nursing bottle, u can fit any avent milk bottle 2 the breastpump & use it. after u pump ur BM out, u can pour the EBM into the milk bag, clip it, label the milk bag & store it away.

chrys,
no 1 is perfect so the most impt thing is u must b comfortable wif the massage lady u book (be it mdm naini or any other lady).

Hey Kelly,

I dunno leh
.... the AVENT disposable milk bag said that it should be used with some type of bottle.. so, what you are saying is, we can simply open up the bag, pour the milk inside n clip it shut? The Avent lady say we should use it with the designated bottle leh..

I not intending to buy a good pump yet until after delivey.. probably going to get a manual kaneson pump first.. and see how my milk flow will be like.

Think I go Taka n check it out again..

For those who r interested to search for topics which are of interest to u in singaporemotherhood,
This is wat i normally do.
- Goto: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi
- Click on "Motherhood, Pregnancy and Babies" link
- Click "Ctrl" key together with "F" key, a "Find" table will pop out, u just key in the keywords u wan to look for, eg "massage", then hit "Enter". All threads with keyword "massage" will be highlighted. Open all the threads in separate windows for ease of browsing without closing the original page.

Hi Kelly
I have been using this approach to search, since it's impossible to read all threads.
The link on Mdm naini is found below. There are few more other links.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/376252.html?1134487540

jasmine,
ya, tat's wat i do. i pump wif my ameda breastpump. i get abt 5-6oz wif each pump (i pump every 2-3hrs) and i pour the combined 5-6oz EBM into 1 avent milk bag, clip it, label it b4 i pour the EBM in then store it away.

piyo,
u need 2 buy the clips separately. no need 2 buy avent milk bag clips, very ex. buy from ikea. b prepared tat if u managed 2 pump out abt >50 bags, u need tat amt of clips available.

chrys,
thks for the link. i read another link abt massage lady but couldnt find anything abt mdm naini.

i know 'mngo'. i was the one who recommended mdm naini 2 her. if i not wrong, she did say mdm naini was gd after she went thru the massage wif her.

b4 mdm naini massaged me, i was abt 78kg after i gave birth (i tik i hit 84kg but i shed 6kg during my stay in the hospital). after she massaged me, i was down 2 75kg. when she 1st saw me, she didnt tell me 2 add more sessions. she did tell me 2 buy the jamu pills and slimming belt which i did. if u tell her u dun need these stuff, she wont force u 2 buy or become whiny/naggy abt it.

she can be talkative but if u tell her nicely tat u dun like 2 talk much, i'm sure she'll oblige. her massage session is abt 45mins. did she tell u this when u spoke 2 her? i didnt dispute abt this cos i tot massage sessions are all abt 45-60mins.

The first-ever BabyCare Festival, Mar 10 - 12, brings together a host of creative and audience-specific activities, creating a vital meeting point for all pregnant mums and parents of infants and toddlers.

Highlights include a Celebrity Baby Talk show with popular MediaCorp mums Ivy Lee and May Phua, Evelyn Tan and MediaCorp/Fly Enterainment Allan Wu, a Baby Idol contest, A Star Is Born photo contest, Baby Marathon Crawling competition and a Toddler Telematch.

Come and have a ball at BabyCare Festival enjoying games, contests, food and loads of free gifts! It promises mums, dads, babies, toddlers and everyone in the family a wonderful time!

Event hours:
11.00am to 9.00pm (10 & 11 March 2006)
11.00am to 8.00pm (12 March 2006)

Enquiries:
MediaCorp Publishing Pte Ltd
Tel: 65- 64837118
Fax: 65- 64812309
email: [email protected]

*i copied this posting from the jul06 thread*

chrys, rain
our EDDs are very close but my detailed scan is the latest, 20mar (mon). i shld b abt 21wks then. it was originally on 17mar but gynae on reservist, will c patients bet 12-2pm. i didnt wanna squeeze wif other MTBs so postponed the date.

chrys,
let us know abt ur outcome from the detailed scan, esp the sex of ur bb.

Kelly..

ya.. you are 31/7, i am 1/8, and chrys is 2/8.. ke ke ke next fri, i will be in my 20wk 3days. Hopefully and popi everything shun shun...

but i can feel her movement these few days especially yesterday.. today dun feel anything lei

Kelly, Rain, Oh.. isit.. i din realise that our EDD are so close to each other.. haha. Wanli on 2 Aug too, n we r under same gynae, dunno who'll give birth first

I think i m getting a girl lah.. i always say wan to bet wif my DH.. hahaha.

Rain, i can feel her movement and kicking of responding when i lie on bed talking to her while massaging. it's very enjoying n fun, i love that moment.
When she's kicking on left side, i'll lightly tap on that area responding to her kick, signalling that i m communicating wif her..