(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi augbaby,
I think just follow the date yr gynea advice you loh, because details scan can be doneon 18-22 weeks.

Hi Rain,
All are recommeded by the MTB on this forum, just the price is different

Hi chrys,
I don't plan to buy so many thing first because like breast pump got warranty so will wait until the last mth then buy. Not so sure why Avent milk bag :p, just saw recommended by most of the MTB from one of the thread. Think is because of having 20% discount compare with other brands, so everyone think is good buy.

I think no need so rush to buy all the thing at one go. I will waiting for Singapore sales :p

BABY WIPES
I did ask the salesperson during the taka fair if the baby wipes would dry up. She showed me the expiry date on the packets of wipes which normally extend to a few years. She told me as long as you don't open, they won't dry up

me also waiting for Singapore sales cos by then it's about the right time to do all the shopping!

Hi Augbaby,
Welcome! I have updated your details into the table below
you and I have the same EDD!My detailed scan is on 7Apr. This is re-arranged by the nurses so that the detailed scan would fall around the 20th week from LMP. HTHs!

Hi Chrys,
I was at Raffles city for lunch today too... think we work in the same area... can meet for lunch in future and shop for stuff together hehe

Hi Kelly,
I have recently bought 1 packet of Avent milk bags (100 pcs) cos I heard it's no longer in production or something. would this be enough for the confinement month? would we be using it then? or when we go back to work? Need to stock up? Am I right to presume that we can put the milkbag into any milk botles , not necessary avent nilk bottles?

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NAME</TD><TD>AGE</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OBGYN</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>GENDER </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Sandy Kerk</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>31-Jul-06</TD><TD>Dr Chen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Connie</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>01-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Chrys</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Peacy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Wanli</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>02-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Babymum</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>04-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tanny Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Bottle</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>06-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Jfong</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>07-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Augustmum</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Bearybear</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Dino</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Honeyhaven</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>13-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Ningyo</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Lee</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Yipee</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>15-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Ling2</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>17-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr K H Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BOY</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Jas</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Zshih</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>19-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">GIRL</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>20-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Catherine Wong</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>21-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Augbaby</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Piyo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>23-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Fong Chuan Wee</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Buffel</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Erin00</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>25-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Butter8</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>29-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Lala</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Mrschng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>30-Aug-06</TD><TD>Dr Tan LK</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

piyo,
avent milk bags no longer in production? oh no, then i betta go buy a few packs.

100pcs shld b enuff, assuming u pump 5-6x in a day (every 4-5hrs, even during the hrs in the middle of the nite). cos u wont pump during ur 1st wk when ur milk flow usually dun come in yet. u'll b trying 2 latch ur bb 2 ensure tat ur bb gets the colostrum and ur milk flow kicks in 5-6days after u deliver. the ideal situation is 2 nurse ur bb direct but in some instances, the bb dun latch well, the bb very kan cheong so dun 1 2 drink from the breast direct, u r not in any comfortable position to nurse (if ur c-section wound hurts and u cant sit up well 2 breastfeed ur bb), u prefer 2 give ur bb EBM instead, etc.

ya, u can put the milk bag into any milk bottle. just pull the plastic over the bottle. hard 2 explain in words. hope u get the idea.

remember if u do manage 2 pump out abt 100bags, u'll need abt 50-60 clips cos if ur supply comes in, u cant b storing EBM n ur bb not drinking rt? u'll b pumping while ur bb will b depleting ur stocks.

how much did u pay for the avent milk bags? where did u buy it?

AVENT MILK BAGS

i forgot 2 add something abt these bags. they are NOT reusable. u need 2 throw them away after u used them.

tat's y i didnt use them in the 1st 2-3mths when i was breastfeeding. very painful 2 b throwing away these milk bags everyday.

Hi Kelly,

i bought the milk bags at taka last weekend too. Heard from the sales person that yep, stock is running low and might not be in production. dunno how true leh?

anyway i got one box at $13.20.

Kelly, wud you agree if i say it is going to be easier to place the milk bags in the wide-necked bottles like the Avent type cos it might be tough trying to squeeze the bag of milk into the skinny type of milk bottles?

I used to use milk bottles to store EBM during my first pregnancy. so not very accustomed to using milk bags. pls advise.

oso.... u said it's okay to use the milk bags with any brand of breast pump. any idea how i can use it with me medela ?

as for wipes, i swear by Johnsons &amp; Johnsons - very soft and smooth great for bb's delicate skin.
but slightly more ex.

understand the blur situation esp for first time mummies. here's a checklist (not exhaustive and also subject to your preferences too) that i hope is useful for you....

THINGS TO PREPARE FOR NEW BABY:-

Anti Stretch Mark cream
Music CD / Story Books
Johnsons Baby Bath / Shampoo
Bath Towels / Hooded Bath Towels
Wash cloth/handkerchief
Baby Talcum Powder
Baby Lotion
Blunt baby nail scissors
Baby brush and comb set
Disposable diapers
Diaper rash cream
Cotton Wool
Baby Wipes
Pacifiers
Milk Bottles
Milk Bags
Formula Milk Powder
Hot water Flask
Milk Powder container
Milk Bottles Drying Rack
Milk Bottles Sterilizing Equipment
Bottle brush
Bibs
Handkerchief
Baby Cot
Cot Mattress
Waterproof mattress pads
Cot bumpers
Cot sheets
Latex Pillow
Latex Bolster
Changing Table
Bath Tub
Pram
Bassinet
High Chair (later part)
Car seat
Snap t-shirts / rompers
Lightweight sleepers
Receiving blankets
Booties / socks for night time
Caps
1 sweater
Sleeping Bag
Nursing bras
Disposable Breast pads
Electrical breast pump
Comfortable Armchair to sit when nursing
Nasal aspirator
Alcohol wipes (for the cord)
Baby toys
Musical Mobile
Thermometer
Diaper Bag
Beansprout pillow

RE: bb wipes
I much prefer pigeon brand. I used tollyjoy b4, find it a little too thin and wet.

Clothes:
At 1st i thot 2 pc suits r easier to wear but i realise rompers r betta cos the top won't roll up and expose bb's tummy.

pacifier:
Have been using Avent for my son and still using. Dun like NUK cos will leave a mark on bb's face due to the curvature.

face towels:
Can buy from Bugis, one of the wholesale shops, opp Guanyin temple.

Disposable diapers:
Brand depends very much on ur bb. Like my son can use Drypers but i've heard of many who develop diaper rash after using. Similarly, many say dat Nepia is gd, my son can't use though. Tink the best common brands r pampers premium and mamy poko.

thermometer:
Buy ear thermometer. It's a must have when u have children.

This morning when i wake up, i notice sometime on my left side of my tummy. I take a look a see a lump on my left tummy..And I touch it, it was like something hard stuck there. Think is my little princess... Notti girl girl... curled up on my side making mummy so uncomfortable

Thanks for the information given by those experience mummies.

Hi Rain,
I do experience b4. I rub gently on the hard lump and slowly I dun feel that uncomfortable. I think you sleep on your left side last nite, therefore, ur little one curled on the left side. hehe

i know this gonna be lengthy but i'll share wif everyone i bought/used or didnt buy

Anti Stretch Mark cream - bought Clarins/Elanyl for 1st pregnancy but no use. stretch marks all over. Only used norma moisturiser tis time round
Music CD / Story Books - Only listened 2 FM92.4, bought fabric books for 1st child when he was 2-3mths old
Johnsons Baby Bath / Shampoo - I used Pigeon &amp; Gerber brands b4. All the same
Bath Towels / Hooded Bath Towels - Normal towels can do the job
Wash cloth/handkerchief - My GF gave me white hankies from SQ so i've been using them
Baby Talcum Powder - I dont use powder on my bb until he was beyond 1yrs old
Baby Lotion - Johnson Bb Lotion for me
Blunt baby nail scissors - Using Pigeon Nail Scissors, very good
Baby brush and comb set - Didnt buy cos c no need 2 comb bb's hair
Disposable diapers - Used EQ, Pampers, MP, Pet Pet b4. Now using Pet Pet, cheap &amp; good
Diaper rash cream - Using Bepanthen
Cotton Wool - Normal cotton wool will do
Baby Wipes - Pigeon &amp; Tollyjoy. Used 2 use J&amp;J but quite ex so stopped cos need 2 save $$
Pacifiers - Bought 3 paci for my boy but he never used it.
Milk Bottles - Using NUK &amp; Pigeon Bottles
Milk Bags - Any brand will do the job. I using a brandless &amp; Pigeon ones
Formula Milk Powder - Enfalac A+ for 1st 3mths, BM til 14mths. Now drinking Gain IQ
Hot water Flask - Didnt buy cos husband got 1 from his army
Milk Powder container - Have 3 of these, bought 1 as cheap as $2 from Taka Baby Fair
Milk Bottles Drying Rack - Didnt buy, dry the bottles on my usual dish rack
Milk Bottles Sterilizing Equipment - Avent steriliser for me
Bottle brush - Avent gave 1 but i bought a few from bb shops outside
Bibs - Bought a few but my son HATES bibs
Handkerchief - Using the SQ white hankies
Baby Cot - Got a brand new cot for my son
Cot Mattress - Came wif it. U can check out Babysafe for their latex mattress, supposedly quite gd but also quite ex
Waterproof mattress pads - Didnt buy
Cot bumpers - Bought from Aussino. Very gd quality
Cot sheets - Came in the Aussino set
Latex Pillow - Didnt buy, pillow came in Aussino set
Latex Bolster - Didnt buy, came in Aussino set
Changing Table - Bought from Ikea during their sale. Very good. Storage space below for bb clothing, towels, etc
Bath Tub - Given free by MAH
Pram - Didnt buy, given from relatives
Bassinet - Didnt buy
High Chair (later part) - Bought from Ikea. Got a Peg Prego highchair from a frien
Car seat - Bought a 2nd-hand Pierre Cardin car seat @ $60 and got a Britax car from relatives
Snap t-shirts / rompers - Bought a lot from Mothercare, Taka &amp; online. Bought Carters, Old Navy, Gap
Lightweight sleepers - Bought Carters sleepers
Receiving blankets - Bought 1 from Aussino, given 1 free from MAH
Booties / socks for night time - Bought a few sets but didnt use after 1mth
Caps - Bought 2 pairs but my son wore once cos he hates caps &amp; sweats a lot
1 sweater - Bought only when he was 4-5mths old
Sleeping Bag - Didnt buy
Nursing bras - Bought fr Triumph
Disposable Breast pads - Only used Pigeon
Electrical breast pump - Tried Medela Single Pump but using Ameda Dual Lactaline
Comfortable Armchair to sit when nursing - Tot of buying but didnt buy. Ended up breastfeeding anywhere.
Nasal aspirator - Didnt buy
Alcohol wipes (for the cord) - MAH gave
Baby toys - Bought them in progress when bb grew older. Friens/relatives gave during 1st mth celebration
Musical Mobile - Bought only when bb was 5wks old cos no one gave
Thermometer - Ear thermometer is VERY IMPT
Diaper Bag - Lotsa brands, lotsa design. I bought a smaller Allerhand bag. Some pp use backpacks, shoulder bags 2 double up as diaper bag
Beansprout pillow - Got one from relative

I add 2 more to the list
Bottler Warmer - Using Avent. Very good to warm up EBM
Mustela Cleansing Fluid - recommended by GF n i've been using since bb came home from hospital. very gd 2 keep bb's face clean

I forgot 1 more item...

Food flask - buy when ur bb is consuming solids, after 4mths (some pp start giving solids at 4mths, some 5mths, some 6mths). 2 good brands are Thermos &amp; Tiger.

Good to buy this during the S'pore sale in jun/jul cos our bbs will turn 4-6mths in dec and skarly there's no sale for such pdts.

Hi wanli
I think wat u said is correct, i'll buy breast pump at later stage. But other stuffs maybe can buy if real cheap, buy slowly lor, so as not to accumulate too many yet to buy stuff in 3rd tri. However i need to buy a small wardrobe/cabinet to keep all baby clothings and stuffs, else will collect dust, also no plc in our wardrobe!

piyo
i m working at outram park lah.. i took mrt down to raffles city to make a refund at Robinsons bcos the dress i bought can't be worn after pregnant, so refund it within 90 days.
Not much things to eat there hor.. i had fried koay teow at foodjunction.

rain,
no problem. everyone here is sharing &amp; learning frome one other. i share watever i know so all mummies can benefit.

of course the things i dun buy, u may buy cos ur bb or u may find it useful...like the nasal aspirator, sleeping bag, waterproof mattress pad, etc

Anyone here is starting to drink tonic soup or healthy food like bird nest? Any special soup that you cook?

Kelly, jfong, bearybear n other experienced moms,
Did u feed ur #1 pearl powder after ur baby's born? Dunno whether to believe this.

have been reading the thread and I have really learnt a lot from you all. Thanks for all the great info.
Supposed to go hospital for my jab yesterday but ended up doing my detailed scan as well coz I told the nurse about having pain on and off around my abdominal area. All my three babies are fine. Just got to know their gender yesterday. I am expecting 2 girls and 1 boy. Each of them weigh around 280g which is normal for this stage. however, doc wants me to have my weekly injection till I reach 28 weeks to prevent further dilation.
Finally, we can start to shop for baby stuff. Bought the pigeon sterilizer yesterday and also bought some baby wipes, disposable breast pad, cotton wool, milk powder containers, baby powder detergent, some toys and changing and bathing mats. We spent around $200 plus and we still have a lot of things not purchase yet. Didn't realise that we can spend so much on baby stuffs.
My sis also help me to go down to isetan private sale this morning to get the 1 litre thermo flask and the activity mat from chicco.
So exciting to buy baby stuffs but a bit heart pain looking at all the money spent.

Hi Chrys,

I started on birdnest 2 mths ago. Every week have once.

For the others, my mum will cook "dong zhong cao" sometimes my MIL cook dang gui and ginseng

chrys,
yes, i did feed pearl powder 2 my bb in his 1st wk. my mum is a firm believer in chinese medicine so she bought lotsa chinese herbs 2 cook soups for me during confinement n made me took lotsa chinese herbs 2 help me build up my system.

as for my 1st son, we fed him pearl powder, supposedly 2 help remove his system of the stuff he absorbed while in my womb. i dun have any other details but u may wanna check wif chinese sinsehs.

my mum &amp; i go 2 a regular sinseh so he does everything for us. even right now, other than my calcium, iron, folic acid, neurogain pills, i'm taking a chinese med pill 2 help me 'bu qi'. it has lotsa gd stuff in the pill so i just take. i took it for my 1st pregnancy too.

as for tonic soup, my mum's cooking black chicken wif dunno-wat-stuff regularly (once every 2wks). i took birds' nest 5x in 1st pregnancy but not taking now. i relying on 'fu zhok' which supposedly has the same effect of giving bb good skin.

baby Shopping list

1. Anyone uses or planning to use the sarong for baby to sleep in? Worry difficult to wean off when baby gets used to the rocking.

2. Would rompers or separates be better? How many and sizes(as an estimate) should we get?

3. Anyone started shopping for strollers/prams? car seats? need to get b4 baby comes or can get till after confinement? Which brands/models you all looking at?

4. Ear thermometer - would it affect the inner wax of the baby?

5. Head support need?

6. Grip water- anyone intending to use?

7. nappy rash cream - friends recommend me desitin (creamy) and/or drapolene?

wow so much good info - thanks!!!

anyone has address for the baby hypermarts or what is the other ones called at kaki bukit?

Hi percy,
Congrats to u. U have 2 beautiful princess n 1 prince..hee hee..guess sure will heart pain one from spending so much but no choice coz they r essential items for the baby..

Jfong n kelly,
Thanks for the valuable info..now still trying to absorb everythings..hee hee..

Hi Chrys,
i juz started taking bird nest this week only..will be taking it twice a week if possible..As for pearl powder, yes, my PIL told us to give our baby too..but if baby is girl then can let the baby continue eating, when u know baby is a boy, then dun let him eat too much coz they told me that pearl powder is better for girls as it will enable them to have rosy cheeks..my BIL took it las time when my MIL is expecting him, n till now is cheeks is very rosy..hahaha.too bad he is not a girl, if not can save on blusher liao..
I am also drinking black chicken soup now too..

Hi butter8,
baby hypermarket is at Shun Li Industrial Estate in Ubi area. baby Kingdom is smaller and next to it.

hi Peacy,
Congrats on knowing the gender of your baby gers and boi!You must take very good care okie?

Thanks so much for your well-wishes. I will definitely do what I can to take good care of them. I told my hubby that I will close shop after having 3 of them.

Oh ya another thing on the list, anyone using or planning to use baby monitor? useful? We planning to have baby sleeping in another room next to ours so thought that may be required?

Can we start taking bird nest commencing 4th month?

hi Peacy,
If I were you, I will also close shop after having 3 babies at 1 go!

Hi Peacy,

If i were u, i will close shop also lah... 2 gers and 1 boi is enough liao.
So which one you want to be ur eldest? must be son lah.. so that he can protect the 2 small sister kekke

I hope I can pop on the 15July which is my 37 - 38 weeks. but my hb wants me to carry full term. :p Bcos i realli cant wait to see her...

piyo,
responding 2 ur questions

1. Anyone uses or planning to use the sarong for baby to sleep in? Worry difficult to wean off when baby gets used to the rocking.
husband &amp; myself dun believe in sarong &amp; paci. when i was 2mths old, my malaysian cousin bring her bb girl (abt 8mths) 2 our plc 2 spend the nite. as they didnt bring the sarong out, my cousin has 2 double as a sarong. the bb was fussing n couldnt sleep cos no sarong so she shook the bb up &amp; down, mimicking sarong action. husband &amp; i decided for certain NO sarong. we patted our boy 2 sleep by rocking gently and singing songs. since he was 1yrs old, he has been falling asleep on his own. no more rocking or singing songs except once in a while when he likes 2 listen 2 his usual nursery rhymes.

2. Would rompers or separates be better? How many and sizes(as an estimate) should we get?
i buy both types but after bb is 1mth old, i prefer 2 let him wear rompers. easier lah. the top wont run up &amp; reveal his belly too. i didnt let him wear romper when he was <1mth cos his neck/head so soft. i dun find it ok 2 bring the romper over his head all the time.

3. Anyone started shopping for strollers/prams? car seats? need to get b4 baby comes or can get till after confinement? Which brands/models you all looking at?
will b buying a stroller cos the stroller given by relative used until kaput by my son. should b getting b4 i give birth and shld b looking at lucky bb or maclaren. i have a GF who is 21wks preggie now, 1st time mummy. we advised them 2 buy stroller after giving birth cos u wont know if anyone will b giving u one or giving u vouchers so u can use the vouchers 2 buy one.

4. Ear thermometer - would it affect the inner wax of the baby?
nope it wont.

5. Head support need?
i buy from JL abt $9.90. i'll post pics of my son using it in a stroller so u get the idea.

6. Grip water- anyone intending to use?
bought a bottle for my son. supposed 2 help him clear wind &amp; comfort him but when he drank it, he constipated. cannot pang sai. dunno y leh.

7. nappy rash cream - friends recommend me desitin (creamy) and/or drapolene?
i've always used Bepanthen. never use drapolene. very bad quality. desitin is also good. if i not wrong, there's blue &amp; green type.

8. Baby Monitor
got the bb monitor from bearybear. VERY USEFUL. cos bb fell from bed 3x and when i'm elsewhere in the hse, i cant hear him move or cry softly. i swear by the bb monitor.

peacy,
congrats! i'll close shop too if i have a boy &amp; 2 girls.

rain,
tell ur husband tat when u pop, isnt up 2 u. it's up 2 e bb. some bbs like 2 stay in mummies until full term. some bbs cant wait, pop <36wks. unless u have some problems, like GD or the bb not growing well in u, then u induce ur bb based on gynae's recommendation.

piyo,
i dunno if it's liang leh but i was advised by a few pp 2 take it. it's the bai guo fu zhok. during my 1st pregnancy, my mum &amp; auntie advised me. when i bought chng tng from a dessert store, the auntie told me NOT 2 eat chng tng, take the bai guo fu zhok.

since 3 pp advised me n i not comfortable wif taking birds' nest, i switched 2 fu zhok lor.

Hi Kelly,
thanks for your advice!
can I ask further:

Rompers and separates:
How many newborn/6mths/9mths etc sizes you got?

Strollers:
Which models of lucky baby and Maclaren are you looking at? Apart from Robinsons, do you know of other distributors selling Maclaren? Cos I know baby hypermarket carries Perego models as they are the main distributor.

baby montior:
Which model you using? what's the price range like? When do you stop using the monitor?

piyo,
i tik i not the right person 2 answer u abt clothes cos i clothing fanatic. my boy has so much clothing when he was younger. husband complained &amp; nagged tat he can wear a different outfit for 2wks and wont repeat.

i can only advise u tat i started out wif 2-3pieces of separates (top, bottom)...as in 2-3pieces each of
1) short sleeve top
2) long sleeve top
3) shorts
4) long pants
all of newborn/0-3mths sizes

i also bought a few 6-12mths sizes during robinson sale. i got a lot of hand-me-downs from relatives so didnt buy more. i did buy 2pieces of rompers for his 1st mth b4 i give birth cos i cant go out shopping during confinement mah. my 1st son started out wif these clothing. the rest were all purchased after my son turned 1 mth old.

i bought abt 10-15 rompers from mothercare sized 3-6mths &amp; 6-9mths, abt 5-6 brandless rompers from taka sized 6-12mths (meant for wearing at home), 10-12 rompers online (carters, old navy, gap, oshkosh, etc) sized 6-12mths &amp; 12-18mths, a no of tees &amp; bottoms such as denim shorts, khaki pants, etc from bb guess, oshkosh, etc. i also bought 5 pieces of carter sleepwear, 1 piece of sleepwear from KP, 3pieces from isetan (cant recall the brand liao) = 8pieces of sleepwear. of course there were other clothing (rompers, tees, bottoms) given by relatives during 1st mth. i did a count of my son's clothing last wkend cos my GF came over 2 collect some hand-me-downs, he has >100pieces of clothing, abt 20% are hand-me-downs, the rest are own purchases.

when my son was abt 3-4mths, he was wearing sizes of 6-12mths so lotsa clothing are in this size range.

piyo,
i cant tell u which models of lucky bb &amp; maclaren cos husband n i only decided on the brands but havent really take a look at which models.

as for bb monitor, i using chicco and very gd. the bb monitor is very sensitive. i live near the rd and if i dun switch on the aircon, the bb monitor can also pick up the sounds from the rd.

i started using the bb monitor when my son was abt 7mths old and stopped using permanently when he turned 13-14mths old cos i was napping wif him all the time. when he was abt 1yr old, i used it once in a while cos he was cruising then and when he wakes up from his nap, he rarely cries and would climb down the bed, walk out of the room (by holding on the wall) 2 find me. by the time he got 2 e bedroom door, he already shouted for me. i merely run from the kitchen or study room.

for #2, i'll use the bb monitor once he's born.

My hb is telling me not to buy clothes for bb already. wait until the first mth shower then start to buy again as we dunno what ppl will give us lei.

But what is my bb going to wear during this one mth.

I have 2 short rompers, 2 long romper, 2 long pants and 1 short top. Do you think is enough?

rain,
i personally dun tik it's enuff unless u r getting hand-me-downs and u can wash the clothing asap after ur bb wears it. if i recall, based on wat i bought and tgt wif the hand-me-downs i got, i tik my son has >30pieces of clothing (in mixture of short sleeve tops, long sleeve tops, pants, shorts, NO rompers as i dun feel comfortable pulling the romper over his soft head/neck b4 he turned 1mth).

Hi Kelly!

Thanks for ur advise..

I heard someone saying to get rompers better bcos the shirt tends to roll up and expose bb stomach..???

rain,
i did switch my son 2 rompers after 1mth. in the 1st mth, when they merely lie there, sleep, sit, drink milk. after 1mth, the bb can b more active, flipping, kicking abt so betta 2 switch from separates 2 rompers.

i still give separates 2 my son whenever i run out of wear-at-home rompers but i make sure the top gets tucked in properly. a bit leh chey but will make the conscious effort.

Hi Kelly,
I think I will end up like you with lots of clothing for baby haha! thanks for sharing. It gives me more insight as to how to plan the clothing purchases...hmm... think I will get more rompers still...

if we were to get separates for baby, would it help if we tuck the shirt/blouse into the pants so that we won't expose the baby's tummy? but tuck in the blouse, then not mei mei liao :p

btw, any idea how long it takes the cord area to heal?

How much is the chicco baby monitor btw?

hi piyo,
if ur bb is a girl, i'm sure she'll have more clothing than my son. hahahahaha! there are such limited clothing for boys liao and husband is still amazed tat i am able 2 chalk up so much clothing for him. he's often grateful tat we dun have a girl, if not 'siao' liao.

the most impt is 2 make sure u buy 2-3pieces of new clothing for ur bb's 1st mth cos there's no way u can go out shopping during confinement. i do know a few mummies go out cos they cant bear staying at home but i hate 2 do last min shopping and if i c any new outfits now for my #2's 1st mth celebration, i'll buy liao.

yes, u'll definitely need 2 tuck in the bb's top

it takes abt 1wk for the cord stump 2 drop off. as for healing, i really dunno leh. i just make sure i keep the belly button very clean &amp; dry.

i paid $88 for it as it was 2nd-hand and never been used. if i not wrong, it shld be abt $120.

kelly,
I'm glad u found the bb monitor useful. FOr me, i KS, bought during taka sale cos i thot i'll nid it, who knows, my boi always takes his naps in the living rm, so there's no nid for me to use the bb monitor at all.
I'm oso tinking of getting maclaren stroller cos my lucky bb one use until abit koyak liao. But maclaren very exp leh.

bb bath - Find it alittle too drying, but only now then switch to kodomo bb bath. SO far seems okie.

talcum powder - used from birth but nvr use the puff dat comes along wif the powder container. We bought the sponge puff dat woman use to apply pressed powder. Have been using kodomo powder. I simply love the smell

brush &amp; comb- agree wif kelly dat no nid to buy unless bb got lots of hair :p

bb lotion- johnsons cos given many free bottles.

diaper rash cream- have been using drapolene all along but if very serious diaper rash, i switch to desitin (the one wif aloe vera)

FM - friso all the way from birth cos hospital gave my son friso milk so i decided to stick to the same one

milk bottles drying rack - must dry separately? I nvr knew i have to. Usually jus wash and put aside until sterilize.

steriliser - Pigeon and mothercare brand.

bottle brush - bought tollyjoy cos on sale but any will do the job well

bibs - oso bought a few only. Didn't see the need to use cos i always have a cloth/wet wipes/tissue wif me when i feed. Unless go out and wanna protect the clothes, then come in useful.

changing table - kelly, i like urs!!! but i won't buy cos take up space.

pram - had a lucky bb pram, not too bad except the wheels not dat gd. Tinking of investing in a maclaren one.

thermos flask - yes, tiger is very very gd. Keeps porridge warm for very long. But some pple tinks it's too bulky.

bearybear,
ya, ur tiger thermos flask is VERY bulky but it's really VERY GOOD 2 keep porridge HOT (not just warm but PIPING HOT). u saw my Thermos flask b4. small &amp; compact. i tik 2 other mummies (berry &amp; lil prince) have the same flask. it can keep porridge hot for 2-3hrs. after tat, the porridge is warm.

aiya, my changing table is a white elephant now. i only use it 2 keep gabe's clothes. since he turned 1, i dun dare 2 change gabe on it anymore. wah piang, the way he tosses, turns, sits up on it, i scared he fall from it. now i change him on bed...back-breaking activity for me man! so i still swear by a changing table for #2.

chrys,
My CL gave pearl powder to my son a few times during his 1st mth.

kelly,
How come chng tng cannot take? Is it cos too liang? I took once from the famous taman bedok food ctr. Yummy

piyo,
After 4 mths it shd be okie to take bird's nest. Like wat kelly said, fuchok equally gd too.

peacy,
Congrats! So exciting to have gals and boi