(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

wanli,
Oic. But is there a diff betw the 2 tests? I'm oso like u, sometimes feel hungry but after a few bites, feel like puking liao.

Hi Jazz,

What bearybear said is correct, i think tomato is ok but liver definitely should avoid. My gynea has specifically advice me not to take too much liver as excessive Vit A may cause miscarriage and not good for bb.

Hi Wanli
Thks for your information. Will check out with my gynae on thursday.
My MS is getting better and I feel hungry very often. So far I do not have any special craving. At time, I also don't have appettite but I do try to eat a little for the sake of my babies.

Hi bearybear,

Of course there are some diff between these 2 test
. Basically there are 3 types of test you can choose for the down syncdrome test:

1. Amniocentesis - Accuracy 100%, however miscarriage rate of 0.5%

2. Triple test + Neck thickness (NT) scan (at 12 week) + Triple test (16 weeks) - Accuracy 80% $100

3. NT scan + OSCAR (blood test at 12 week) - Accuracy 90% $300+

Each of this test has their own pro and con, main different is the % of accuracy and the price for the test. Gynea usually will not advice to take the Amniocentesis if you are less than 34 years old.

hahah, yah I'm same as you can't eat too much at a time. but I think is good loh at least will not gain too much weight on our firt trim :p

Peacy,

That's good
I also feel my MS getting abit better these 2 days, hope will back to normal after first trim!! Yes, u definitely need to eat more because you have 3 babies and everything should be x3

hi all AUg MTB

I will nt joinin u all tis thread .. On last sat i had spottin n i went to gyane ,, he found tat BB no good.. no heartbeat .. n im ard wk 9.. I so sad and tis is my first BB ... =(

I went to clean up my womb last sat nw is resting at home....

So i hope all of u here hv smooth pregancy =)

Hope i oso can hv a smooth TTC again ^_^

Rdgs
Joylee

Hi Joylee

So sorry to hear that.. Dun be sad, try again next time.. take care of ur body now.. must eat some tonic soup to regain back ur energy lost..

Hi Joylee
Please take good care of yourself. You must eat a lot of tonic to bu your body. Health is important. Take Care!

Hi joylee,

Sorry to hear abt ur story...
Take care & remember to take more tonic to build up ur body!

Did u check with doc when u can start ur next TTC?

Hi joylee,

Sorry to hear that and do understand your sadness. All of us hope everything will turn out fine but sometimes things just dun go our way. Nobody at fault, just heaven's will. Do be strong and continue trying, you will sure have a smooth pregnancy one day. Focus in building up your health for now for the battle to come!!

Hi Joylee,

I know how u feel now esp u could felt e bb living inside you. Maybe not fated ah. Don worry I believe God will grant u soon But take care ur health n in future TTC & pregnancy will do u good!

Maybe u can check wit your mum about drinking "ba zhen" Its helps alot for woman!

Last time i TTC also take that n adjust my menses of cos see gynae too.. i veri kiasu.

Believe mi.. bb will come soon.

Take care okie!

dear bearybear and wanli, thanks so much for the advice.
ok ok, will ask her to stop eating liver or tomatoes. I didn't know liver is so bad for preggies! is it only for 1st tri? my mil still say its good coz it supposedly bu xue mah.

can you ladies pls advise which other food have very high Vit A, and which may cause jaundice?

halo everyone,
sori for traspassing....i found out tat i m 5wks pregnant....n gt an advice fm my GP tat i shld c a gynae in 1-2 wks later....

any recommendation for a gynae?

jazz,
I tink it's thruout the pregnancy dat one shdn't take too much liver. Other things dat r said could cause jaundice (heresay only, may not have scientific proof): yellow noodles, guava, papaya, carrot, curry. Tis is wat i can recall. But for me, i dun really avoid these food. Jus take in moderation.

joylee,
U must take more tonic. Heard dat must follow confinement rules in order to build up ur health.

Hi D woof,
Welcome. Nice to see you here, are you also from Dragon Gate thread?
You may start to source for a gynae. You must start to take folic acid. it can be purchase from the pharmacy. My gynae is Dr Joycelin Wong from ACJ women's clinic at TMC.

Hi Jazz,
For me I only follow what my gynea said. The following food is what she said should not eat during prenancy:
- raw meat
- Caffein
- liver
- ginseng
I think other food should take in moderation.

hello dino,
oh yes..i m from the dragon gate thread too....i haf been taking folic acid a mth again (b4 i TTC)...any comments on ur gynae?
where ACJ?

Hello there,

this is my 1st post
newbie here.

Will have a lot to learn and ask everyone cuz am a 1st time mother & furthermore I do not have any MIL or mum who know all the dos & don'ts. Been reading up myself but not sure on our 'chinese' ways compared to 'ang-mo' way :p

What is the Neurogain for? I was given that to take by my gynea.

If there is any other things I should take note, pls share with me... so far life is normal, I still go to work, but I get pretty hungry fast.

my gynea oso ask me to take 2 cups of milk and 1-2 eggs per day! so many eggs.... is it same for u all?

thx

butter,
Hi there. Welcome
How many weeks r u now? We learn from one another here. Neurogain is fish oil. My gynae nvr ask me to drink milk or eat eggs. I can't really stomach milk at the moment so my tin of Enfamama still in cold palace. As for eggs, jus remember cannot take half boil egg. Must take fully cooked ones.

Hi Bearybear,

oh didnt know half boiled cannot take...hehe

I am 7 - going on 8 weeks now only..

my gynea oso ask me to take folic acid pills

Hi MTB,

I am now in my 7th week, going to 8th week soon.
There is alot of things worried me. Previously before i conceive i actually taken antibiotics 1 month before but have confirm with my gyna that is safe cause by the time i conceive, the drug should have leave my body already. Hope it really safe.
I also having white discharge that keep me going to the toilet very often to check whether is it discharge or bleeding.
Another thing which worrying me is yesterday when i went to normal GP to buy a skin product (Differin), i known from the doctor that it is not safe to use that throughout the whole pregnancy. But i already using it before i conceived and during these 7 weeks of pregnancy. Before that i checked with skin dermatologist and she claimed that it is safe for pregnancy but now another doctor told me is unsafe. How? now i dunno who to trust and worried cause i have been using it for this 7 weeks of pregnancy. Now i also dunno whether others skin products like facial cleanser etc that i am using now is it safe or not. Do you all face these problems. Do you all know any skin product that should be avoid for pregnancy. Do you all actually check with ur gynas what skin product to avoid? Pls advise.
That day i went to Eu Ren Seng (Chinese Physician) to see doctor to get some medicine to eat for yang tai which my sister - in -law did last time. My MIL said i must go see cause is really good as previously miscarriaged for twice and only after she see the physician then sucessful in delivered a healthy baby. When i went to see the physician, she very sad that i went for virginal scan for twice cos she claimed that it is very unsafe to do any scan during this critical first 3 months as the frequency of the scan is very high and will affect the foetus in someway if the foetus is unstable. I told her i went to the gyna to do the scan because i wanna know whether baby got heart beat and the growing process but she said she got patient who went the do the virginal scan and the next day miscarriage. She also said if you discovered that your baby dun have heart beat it doesnt mean it will not have in the next few week, cos it may due to the foetus developed more slowly than normal foetus. SHe got one patient conceive twice both gyna said no heartbeat thes this time the patient came to look for her, she precribed her medicine for the first three months and asked her not to go see gyna at all for first 3 months then now in the end also sucessfully delivered a healthy baby. I going to seek her advice and not going to see my gyna until this critical 3 months is over and taking her chinese medicine to yang tai.
Hai...Overall this pregnancy only make me worrying the whole day except my sleeping time.. Aiyo!

butter8,
Half boiled eggs can't be eaten cos they may be contaminated or smthg like dat cos not totally cooked.

E-ling,
IMO, i tink the physician is full of nonsense. Wat v-scan will cause miscarriage etc. Oh pls... Most of us in the initial stage has to go thru v-scans cos won't be able to see foetus thru tummy yet. If really unsafe to do scans during the 1st 3 mths, then mine jiatlak liao, cos i visit my gynae every week due to my spotting in the initial stage. W/o my gynae's constant monitoring n riteful advise, i tink i won't be at tis stage of my pregnancy liao. It's true dat sometimes heartbeat can't be detected in the intial stage, dats y gynae will tell u to go back again in 2-3 weeks time to double confirm.
As for the skincare pdts, i can't advise u. I stick to my normal skincare regime, minus the toning stage cos got alcohol. If in doubt, it's always betta to consult gynae who is in a betta position to advise u.
Wif regard to medicine u've been taking, same thing like i mentioned above, best to ask gynae.
Not dat i'm against TCM. Some things r gd, like mebbe 'an tai' medi. But wat the physician mentioned seems so ridiculous... dats jus my 2 cents worth. No offense intended.

wanli,
how abt birds' nest wif ginseng... the BRANDS....can or not huh?

wa berrybear,
den we gonna haf big pores if we cant use toner after 9mths?

Yah dwoof,
I think u better avoid any food with ginseng, my doctor said ginseng is proof not good during pregnancy.

hi, was reading around and got a bit worried- u know about how easy to lose the baby at the early stage..

any of u have little or no symptoms at about 7-8 weeks? its strange, for me at the 5-6 week i had pretty bad symptoms, but now they have all cleared up...of course the foetus is so small, so i wont have any indication how it is, but trying to be in-tuned to my body... but now like can't feel anything...
i mean less symptoms and if baby ok, i think i am lucky... but could it be a bad sign?

Hi Butter8,
Although baby is fertile at first 3 months, but there's nothing u can do at ur side other than to relax, rest well and take good care of urself. Don't think too much and worry too much, it won't bring any good to ur baby. A cheerful mind and healthy body will on the contrary beneficial to baby ultimately. So, EAT when u need to eat, SLEEP when it's time to sleep, ENJOY ur pregnancy.

I had this worry on my first gynae visit too, my gynae told me there's no way to know if the baby's growing well other than the scan, but we can't do it everyday. So after every visit, she says let the baby grow and we shall see him again next visit. So in between the visit, just treat urself best and hopefully the goodness will go thru to baby as well, i mean, food, water, sleep, talk to baby, etc.. Other than these, it's all fate liao.

Hello Butter8,

Happened to come in and see your posting... if you have been having symptoms that suddenly disappear, please do go for a scan. Every week, your baby should double in size at least. At 7-8 weeks, the heartbeat should be detected. If one thinks negatively, loss of symptoms is a sign of misabortion where the baby stops growing but the body doesn't expel it out....

However, stay positive, as it is likely that everything is ok, especially if you have no brownish/reddish spotting.. good luck and keep us posted..

thanks chrys! will stay positive

Jasmine, my 2nd scan is planned by next tue, so i thot i should wait. the 1st scan at 6.5 week had detected heartbeat
so far no brown/red spotting.. but i dun feel much nausea or bloatedness as last week.
thanks for your help and encouragement. I will pray for the best...

let u al know next week how it goes.

Hi Butter8,
I also dun have any obvious symptoms, that's y i was worried before that. Until my last visit when i saw my baby's jumping about excitedly in me, i felt my worries were too much. My little one is so happy why is the mummy keep worrying without reason..?

However, relax also doesn't mean dun care lah.. be vigilant, if u find something not right, then call up ur gynae to ask or pay a visit. Cheers!

I see, so it's still ok if less obvious symptoms now? As I also feel that less symptoms now as compared to few weeks before. I am kinda worry also.

Btw, how come ginseng is no good during pregnancy? I didn't know can not take ginseng. Thanks for highlighting.

Hi MTB,
Oh no i have been eating ginseng from korean until i discuss that i am pregnant then stop which is already 5th weeks leh. Will it affect my baby? So worry now.

butter & bottle,
As we approach the end of 1st trimester, it's quite normal dat the symptoms gradually disappear. I agree wif chrys, jus stay positive. Take gd care of urself. If things r meant to be, then bo bian cos u have oredi done ur best in ensuring dat u're eating & resting well.

hello butter, wanli and bearybear,
thanx for ur info....but my mum gave me birds' nest wif ginseng......will put on hold till i c a gynae....

dino,
thanx for recommendation....

hey gals,
haf u all heard of Dr Adrian Woodworth or Dr Yvonne Chan? any comments pls....i m still in the midst of searching for a gynae....

Hi d_woof,

you're welcome, yah better confirm with yr gynea

My fren is with Dr Adrian Woodworth, she give him very good comments. Think his consultation is the cheaper in the market, his package can start during the first visit and also heard no extra charge for medicine.

bottle, E-ling, d woof,
From clinical trials, ginseng can cause miscarriage in mice, but human unknown. So it's encouraged to avoid that. Sharks meat also must avoid, cos of the potential mercury in it.

thanks for all the info!

btw, anyone know how to reduce bloated ankles and calfs?
and anyone go for any massage?

Btw, I think the ginseng in chicken essence is not much, how much ginseng do u expect they afford to put in one bottle rite.. the same applies to ginseng in korean cuisine too, this is what i think. If u have taken, then try not to take anymore, know earlier better than dunno at all. Unlike my case, i really took quite some ginseng before i know i am pregnant. Bcos my body was quite weak, so i cooked those ginseng black chicken soup to "pu", 1 packet of medicine i cooked twice, and total i took 2 packet, u know those $3 readily packed medicine bought from zheng zhong ping. But then... cannot undo liao.. so hope everything goes fine lor.. sorry baby..

Just to ask any of you have any vaginal itchiness before/after you confirm ur pregnancy???

Mine was quite unbearable and Gyne said it is Fungus, but it won't affect the pregnancy!

I hv to really pray hard and hope for the best.

I was given cream to apply to stop the itch.

Hi maxxx
Just before i knew i am pregnant, i just happen to do a medical checkup and some ocassional bacteria is found in my urine. Gynae said it's common in women but if we r pregnant, it may cause premature labor and also baby may get infected when coming thru vaginal during birth. She said she will test again to confirm but since the only cure is taking antibiotic (which is not recommended in 1st tri), so she will do it in later stage. But there is no symptom at all, that's y it's called asymptomatic bacteriuria. I asked whether got cream to apply to cure, she said no wor.. only antibiotic. Maybe urs is different..

hmm come to think of it, sometimes when I was out with family we did order herbal soup such as black chicken or ginseng chicken when I didnt know I was preggy... oh well, guess the amounts is not much...

Like what chrys say.. how much % can really be in it kekekeke just try to lay off now..

my gynea did say soup can but not herbal? what does that mean hehehe most chinese soup sure have some herbs ya??

anyone start to gain weight at 8 weeks?

maxxxx,
For me, i did my pap smear a few days b4 i tested positive. The test showed dat i had infection (forgot if fungal or bacterial). It depends on wat kind of infection u have. Some infections r not known to cause harm to foetus while some, like wat chrys has mentioned, will cause premature labour or be passed on to bb during delivery. So it all depends on the nature of ur infection and ur gynae will be in the best position to advise u. If he says won't affect, then u really dun have to worry.

butter8,
U kena tis pblm at tis stage oredi?

bearybear,

u mean the weigth gain or bloated ankles kekekeke

not really, now not even have big tummy, but i always had water retention in my calf etc.. so i guess when i get bigger, sure become a huge prob :p