(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

I used Guardian's pregnancy test and they're pretty sensitive. Sometimes at the box they will state what level of HCG they can detect. The lower the more sensitive.

Hi E-Ling,

I'm feeling the same way, will be my 8th week this Friday...I only started to feel like this a week ago. Usually you will feel better by the 4th month...I know THAT seemed like a very long time....*sigh* at least for me.

I'm going to have an OSCAR test in early February. The doctor said it might be good since I'm 33 years old. I'm also having my blood tests done on the same day at the doctor's suggestion so they only need to draw out a little bit more blood instead of having to poke me again at another time.

My husband managed to escape doing the Thalessemia blood test...lucky guy!!!! He's so phobic of needles and blood that he's grinning like a clown when we told the doctor of his phobia and she said no need. Unless I'm a carrier of thalessemia then he got to do also. But I think I don't have because my first child, now almost 10 years old, when I pregnant with her, my test is negative.

I hope my test will be normal...I'm so nervous because we waited so long for this baby.

I'm new here. Now in my Week 9.1, EDD is 15 Aug 06.

My MS started in my Week 5. Horrible! Beside feeling tired and nausea..I had dry cough since Week 5, dun know it is part of the MS or I just too weak to get well. Drink a lot of cough syrup but still can't get well, afraid will affect the baby.

Hi Bena,
I had used Guardian's pregnancy test(the cheaper one in the shelf) when I was Week 5(feeling nausea). I even used it at night and the result shown fast. The test kit depend more on your HCG than the brand. A friend of mine at Week 5 use ClearBlue still can't detect until she went to the doctor. So good luck!

hi stay,
Welcome
I'm oso in my week 9. Counting down to the end of my 1st trimester. I oso kena cough since last fri. Finished 1 bottle of cough medi liao n still haven recover. Kena sore throat oso but cannot take 'liang'. Lagi sianzzzzzzzzzz... U got see GP for ur cough? Tink mebbe their medi will be betta than those off the shelf kind.

Hi Makeupfairy,

Ya its so terrible to have experience all these symptoms. Wat we can do is to pray n hope it will go off asap!

I heard of AMWAY n i have tried their products n being their member before. I m out for that hehe no offence as i don like MLM.. TKS for e concern

Wow seem to have a debate for Bena abt e pregnancy test kit man hehe. Mayb some applies some not bah as it depends on individual HCG level too.. anyway, jus try any brand of ur preference BUT don be disappoint if negative cos not all are accurate lo. Try it again about 1 week later... if doubt, e best to see a gynae.

Cos i once had a frd she don have any symptoms, menses missed for quite sometime about 2weeks. They are not extreme active sexually.. she tried using off shelves test kit but its negative SHE STILL WORRY & go gynae.
Gyane do a test, done blood test too & do a scan. In e scan there is something mini inside which is her BB! Gosh.. so.. e theory of e story is... up to u to judge lah hehe.

CHEERS!

hi bearybear,
so when ur EDD and have u decided on the hospital? Properly, mine will be in KK or TM.

Thank you for your concern, I took my medicine from both gyane and GP. But dun seen to work for both, until my mom bought durian for me. The cough get a bit better. (She said it work for her when she was preggie last time..haha) Think my cough is cannot take liang one, must take heaty food??

Hi Stay,

Cough is tough as alot things cant take esp now pregnant too.

Try avoid chicken & egg now since u have cough. As for 'liang' i not so sure cos i odno how to judge from there. Normally i will avoid those 2 food as above. No harm trying.

Hi Chrys,

Hmm wat i know is prenatal check up claim is up to $450. As for hospital & delivery depending on which hospital max claim ceiling they having.

hello everyone,

another newbie here. EDD August too. how often do you gals need to go toilet? my baldder always seem to be bursting and at night i wake a few times as i need to go and cant sleep well.

Hi Welcome all new MTB joining us

Hi chrys,
As I know Prenatal checkup is $450, normal delivery is $1500 and c section is $2500. This is what Dr. Wong told me not sure true or not.

Hi cj,
I think it is very normal, try not to drink too much water 2 hrs before u go to sleep then will able to reduce the need of wake up at night
. I have even wake up 4 times at night but after listen to doctor advices not to drink too much water before sleep now I have reduce to 1 or 2 times only .

stay,
My EDD so far has stayed at 12 Aug from the ultrasound scans
My gynae is located at Mt A, so i'll be delivering there.
Eat durians to cure cough? Wow, 1st time i heard of it. hehehe...

cj,
It all depends on how much water i drink b4 i sleep. I only noticed dat i can't hold bladder for the whole nite now. Must clear at least once.

From my LMP, suppose my EDD is 15 Aug 06 (now 9wks) but yesterday went for a checkup and based on the size of the foetus, my EDD now change to 21 Aug 06 (8wks). Will be doing a DS test on my next visit.

My 2 main problem is nausea and always hungry. It started from wk5 and seems to get worse in wk8. Always wake up in the middle of the night to find food, in the end eat too much biscuits, now become high sugar content in my urine..sian. At night difficult to find food but have to eat leh..now i have to cut down on carbo and stachy food...anyone experiencing the same problem??

Hi, newbie here. EDD early Aug also.

Same here, I went toilet min 1 or 2 times at night. Sometimes can up to 5 times. So, I try not to drink so much water at night. But, drink more during day time.

Hi yipee, the EDD is calculated based on the size of the foetus? DS test is Down Syndrome test? Is this a optional test and how is the test will be carried out? I will be going for blood test in my next visit, not sure what will be tested also.

bearybaer,

Went to see doc on Mon and he brought my EDD to 12 Aug too

Mothers,

Haha, my MS is bad too. Vomit pills do not help too. Doc gave me one week mc but is going back to work next monday (sign). Somemore no appetite
. My doc stopped my hormone pills though, cos of the MS.

My MS during my previous pregnancy stopped at 3rd month. Hope it is the same case this time. Cannot tahan, sometimes feel like giving up.

bottle,
Welcome

augustmum,
Hey, wat a coincidence.
Mine oso bad on some days, other days seem okie. Siao siao one. Appetite oso siao siao. Last few days totally no appetite. SUrvived mainly on hubby's soups... SO envious of u, can stop hormone pills liao. I'm still on it 3 times a day. Jab until scare scare oso. I jus wish 1st trimester is over soon. I feel dat tis 2nd one is worse than when i was expecting my 1st one. SO i told hubby, i tink i wanna stop at 2 liao :p

Thanks ct and Wanli!!
Prenatal checkup can claim $450, that means we can claim the package for checkup from 12 weeks onwards lor? So must keep all the receipts rite..
Dr Wong told u that? really can claim so much ah?

bearybear
I also can't wait for the 1st trimester to be over. At about week 9 now. Time seems to be passing very slowly. Just continuing to hope for everyone here that everyday bb grows bigger, stronger and healthier.

BTW, do most ppl's bouts of MS come and go? I was fairly ok, just had gas and bloating and constant hunger, but 2 days ago was feeling pretty yucky and nauseous. Today not so bad but appetite seems a bit reduced.

I don think mine is jus MS... afternoon & nite i been having it too... Really dono how to reduce it. Does anyone have heartburn too?

Godh, im jus into 7weeks, if this contd its so hell for mi!

Welcome bottle

Hi chrys,
Quite sure about the $450, yah, u need to keep all the receipt then can give all receipt to the hospital during admission, heard they will settle the claim for us. I'm very sure normal delivery is $1k plus and C section is $2k plus, the exact figure I can check for you when I go home because doctor did write down the price for me :p .

augustmum, how come you have to take hormone pills? I've been vomitting and vomitting also, now starting to get cough...so fed up. Coughing makes you want to vomit more *sigh*

yippee, did you find out about the sugar in your urine during the doctor visit? I had gestational diabetes on my 7th month during my first pregnancy and big probability I will have it this time around again.

I think the MS is really not only morning, my MS become more serious during afternoon and night time......now already 11 weeks still the same feel so nausea and no improvement....hope it will go away after 1 trim.

I found out by searching online that wild yam might be able to help deal with morning sickness. But dunno if it will work or whether it is safe, must definitely ask the doctor first.

WILD YAM- VP-K+(in excess)

Actions: nutritive tonic, aphrodisiac, rejuvenative, diuretic, antispasmodic, analgesic

Indications: impotency, senility, hormonal deficiency, infertility, colic, nervous excitability, hysteria, abdominal pain and cramps, nausea, vomiting, morning sickness

The most common use of wild yam is for the hormonal effects, as it contains DHEA, a hormone precursor. This constituent has usefulness for both men and women, as it can be made by the body into many other hormones, but it does have a particular slant towards progesterone, and so is especially useful for women. These progesterone compounds are also used for exhausted adrenal conditions, and it is comparable to licorice in that effect and its effect on balancing blood sugar levels. Also used for digestive system problems of a bilious or gaseous nature. Its alkaloid constituents act as strong relaxants to the stomach muscles and nerves, and so can be very useful in nausea, cramping, and vomiting. Stong rejuvenative powers. Increase semen, milk and other horomal secretions, and increases body weight, tonic for female reproductive system. Soothing and harmonizing effect on digestive organs.

I'm now in 8 or 9 week. My MS also more serious in afternoon and night. Morning still not too bad........EDD should be ard 20 August.

Hi wanli,
Have u signed up package with Dr Wong? when's ur next visit?

I also went to toilet 1 or 2 times at night, but feel that it's improving now, previously more frequent. Try not to drink too much water at one go especially before sleep, day time also the same, drink sip by sip, take ur time to finish one cup, it's the best way to refil fluid loss in our body. It's like watering plants, if u water too much at one go, all the water will pour out, the plants will not fully absorb the water... (old grandma telling story... ;p) I put a glass of warm water beside my bedside, so that i can drink a bit when i wake up at night, it helps to refil fluid in our body too. ;)

Those mummies having MS, stay on!! Most pple will get over it after 1st tri.

Any of u going for the 1st Mom Congress at Suntec Convention Centre tomorrow?

Wow, so many of us in the same boat. My MS's also whole day affair. The funny thing is my son is imitating me now. When I squat by the toilet bowl to vomit, he will stand by my side and pretend to cough and spat. So funny.

Makeupfairy,

My doc gives pregnant woman hormone pills (white small pills) in the first trimester. Always thought it's the norm. What medications are you on now?

Bearybear,

Why are you on hormone injections three times a day?

Hi Celine, welcome !! Which gynea are u with?

Hi chrys,
I will sign up with her next week, because next weeked will be my 12 weeks, hurray!!
So, got to do the DS test on next visit. Heard the 1st Mom Congress already full, u going?

Hi augustmum,
haha, my son so cute
. By the way, I also curious why is the purpose for the hormone pills? My doctor never give me this......

augustmum,
No no no..i mean i'm on the hormone pills 3 times a day. Jab is twice a week. Hey, my son oso beginning to imitate me when i cough or vomit. Make me wana laugh at times.

augustmum n makeupfairy,
Hormone pills only given if the pregnancy is unstable, as in spotting etc. If urs is healthy pregnancy, gynae won't give. It's folic acid dats a must give pill.

Hi augustmum,
My doctor said that she won't give me any hormone pills if the pregnancy is strong and normal meaning no bleeding or spotting. Right now I'm just on folic acid and multivitamins.

Hi chrys,
If u able to sign up mean u r eligible to go. Now the sign up already closed.

So fast got todo Oscar test? i thot do it on 16 weeks? I didn't take up the Oscar test, only do the neck tickness scan and blood test. 23 Jan should be yr 13th weeks right?

Hi Bottle, yah, seems that the scan will measure the lenght of the foetus and estimate the nos of weeks thus the EDD date. DS=down syndrome

Hi Makeupfairy, the doctor check my urine sample and say sugar on the high side, sad leh, trying to eat as much as possible and so many things contain carbo..how to cut down!!!

Anyway, now i stock up my fridge with fruits and vegetable...and last night, as usual, get hungry in the middle of the night and wake up, cannot eat carbo so no bread or biscuits, in the end decided to cook veg, then u know what, vomit it out. OMG...what can i do...

hi yipee,

I used to like vegetable too, but dun know why I eat green leafy vegetable now, feel like vomiting. So I ended up eating more fruits and other type of vegetables like green bean, french bean.

Hi Mummies-To-Be

I'm from Nov thread. Me wanna check if any MTB would like to buy the Clarins Tonic Oil from me. I bought it 3 months ago, new and still in box. Me kiasu, bought 2 bottles @$78 each but lazy to use, so sell one at $65 self collect @Jurong/Raffles
This oil is good for
- firming, toning and improves apparent elasticity.
- Helps prevent stretch marks during pregnancy.
http://sg.clarins.net/main.cfm?prodID=65

PM me if you are interested.

thanks for advise. will try not to drink too late at night but somehow, daytime cant drink much. I tik my body is weak as i feel cold most of the time, especially going to toilet. I even get nausea while peeing.

Booking my OSCAR test for next week.

wanli,

the brochure says its best to do OSCAR during 11 -13 weeks 6 days period.

Hi Wanli
I am also going for my week 12 scan next week. But my gynae never say must do any blood test. How are you feeling so far? I am gaining weight almost like 0.5 kg per week. Now my tummy looks bigger than the norm size. What about you? How is your appettite so far? I felt hungry most of the time.

Wanli,

I think I will do the OSCAR test too. Since must draw blood anyway, might as well do the test.

Stay,

I hate vege too and garlic. Now also taking fruits and fruit juice to supplement vitamin C. Think only after MS is over, then can have a more balance diet.

Aiyo, counting down everyday for first trimester to be over. 3 more weeks...

bearybear,

Hormone pills 3 times a day and jab twice a week? OMG! That's pure torture.

Hope you are better now and the frequency can be reduced.

I've been feeling very tired and think would need a part time maid to help with household chores. Living in Yishun. Anyone has any recommendation?

Hello augustmum,

Happen to chance upon this thread....u are pregnant
Congrats!!! How come didnt tell us yet huh? Anyway happen to see Noah's pic in one of the backdated Today's Parents, cute

dear nicole and bearybear, can you pls advise why is liver and tomatoes bad for baby in the 1st trimester? my wife drank two cups of tomato juice last week, and my MIL cook liver for dinner 2 days ago. quite worried, pls advise.

jazz,
I nvr heard abt tomatoes being bad for bb. If really wanna consider 'bad', then it'll be the same reason as eating too much carrot/papaya. They contain too much of the beta dunno wat substance i guess which pple say will cause jaundice in bbies.
As for liver, it's not advisable to be taken in excessive amts cos of the high vit A content which may harm the bb.

augustmum,
My gynae wans me to continue wif the jabs n pills until the end of the 1st trimester leh. Haiz...

RE: OSCAR test
Wat exactly is tis? Nvr hear my gynae mention anything abt it.

I am from the June' thread Now in my week 21.

Anyway, is there anyone who is interested to buy Neurogain PB Plus fish oil at staff discount, $26.50 for at least 5 bottles?

If seriously keen, let me know at June 2006 thread, soonest eh?

Hi Peacy,

I can imagine yr tummy definitly bigger than me
. I can also see my tummy abit already and have bought some new pants. Actually I didn't gain much weight, think only around 1 kg so far. I feel hungry most of the time but my appetite not good, feel very nausea when saw the food. can only eat small portion at a time

Is yr MS getting better? Regarding the blood test (Triple test) my doctor said will do it on my 16 weeks. For 12 weeks I will only do the neck thickness scan. If yr doctor never mention I think you better ask him and check with him whether u need it or not.
Basically there are 2 type of blood test for checking the down syncdrome, Triple test and OSCAR. OSCAR should do it around 12 weeks but not all hospital offer this test. So some of the doctor may not mention it at all.