(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Jas,

Kelly have alot lobang. I went to one of the TCM she mention at Yishun. Nat alot better ever since I brought her there lo. Ever since she stop her school since jan now she is ok (touchwood) even when she play with other kids or my nephew whom is sick. Normally even she sick or cough wont last more than 2weeks. At most few days.

Normally TCM will say their lung weak due to phlegm n cough. But each health is different. Try out & see if it helps for a long run issue.

I tried EYS... but i don like..

kelly>> leon is the same,vegetarian at lunch time. actually in general, he just dont seems to be too much into meat.

mommies>> most your kiddies still take porridge? im having difficulty promoting leon to eating adult food. meat in particular, if he doesn't like, he can chew for ages and it never goes down.

catherine>> keep repeating her name to her. praise her once she gets it right. if she says dont want, say ull make mommy v happy if u say your name. hope that helps.

leon loves to talk. i think he got that from me heehee. his latest hobby is car spotting. he can spot a lamborghini from a mile away. i thot about it, and leon will prolly hate me for it, but i dont think i could ever let leon be a race car driver no matter how car crazy he is. hoping to convert his love of cars into an interest in car engineering and innovation haha so always showing him pics of concept cars in google image.

im on one week sick leave and took my laptop home hence have internet access. doc gave me mc for my morning sickness.

jas>> technically it is not right for your employer to insinuate that you are not productive on ML. nowadays MOM v strict about such things, you can actually report on it.

catherine, yes u shld repeat. This is wat i do to zheng;

Me : Wats ur name?
Zheng : ... ... OR shrug his shoulder
Me : Your name is ah zheng, ah zheng, say ah zheng~
Zheng : ah zheng

Hi jasmommy,
That's why I always take 2 months ML only and leave the last month to take flexibly. This time round, same thing. I would take 2 months ML and leave 2 months to take half day everyday until I used up all ML.

I feel that if someone else can help me with my work in office, then I can be easily replaceable.

And while during 1st 2 months of ML, I try not to totally lose touch with work. Still try to get some updates here and there. Reply a little bit of email if I can, so as to show company still need me.

That's why think being SAHM is better cos' can give kids full attention. But too bad, I need the $$$ to feed them.

But I agree with mummies that it's unfair to say we are not productive during ML.

Hi Catherine,
Realise Aden also dun say out his name when asked: What's your name?

But he know he's Aden. Cos' whenever he wants to do something, he would say: Aden ....., e.g: Aden colouring, Aden eat rice, and etc. His sentence always have Aden in front when he speaks.

Hi pupsandcups,
Aden and Avelyn still eating porridge. Aden only gets to eat special dish like rice, noodles and macaroni during weekends when I cook.

Avelyn still need to eat mashier food. Aden can take meat but he takes longer time to chew compared to porridge. Aden eating is ok. He likes meat. But he dun like vege. Whenever got vege, he would want you to remove from his food. Sometimes, I hide the vege inside his rice or noodle, if he realise it, he would spit out. Make me very mad.

2255385.jpg

realised i havent loaded pic of leon in agesss. those who have met him, may find that he still looks the same!!

hi cat
i think should be okay to ask our kids their name. anyway leon in front of us, sure say his name, but strangers he will be so quiet and shy! however with his teachers he is quite himself too. guess takes him a while to know people.

crisy apple:
ok. i have a friend, her daughter is eating beef, steak and everything! whereas leon still not much change in diet since he was a year old! even french fries he is ok about only.

Crispy, How you teach Aden to say his name with every words he say?

Augbaby,

I call her she know is her name but i ask her she will say don't want and i tell her her name is charlotte she will say don't want. funny right?

cat24: kiddies will go thru a stage where they call themselves by their name. after which they will say 'i' instead. so instead of leon wants, it will be i want. but that said, every child develops differently. maybe charlotte says 'i' want more. leon says 'i' want now, used to say leon wants, leon not happy. actually find that stage cuter haha

crispyapple,

my laptop with me the whole time, i reply and give quotations and send contractors down to site.. no one replace my work leh.. i work as much as i can from home. but i cannot help it if clients refuse to sign new contracts due to bad economy..

so what to say to counter about zero sales?

pupsandcups,
spoken and not recorded, hard to counter at MOM, moreover, CEO can easily fall back on the fact co. not doing well and iz a fact sales are below target during my ML..

jas
call me when u r free. i'll share wif u e 3 TCM docs lobang i hv. too much info 4 me 2 type here. i know jadelle's prob. my E n S are having it too. S has been vomitting too.

no need 2 pei fu me...there r days when i m a siao cha bo too. my boys juz said they dun want me yesterday. so juz another lousy day. i move on, dun mope over it.

PUps,

The way i see kids talking with their name infront are very cute which i want CHarlotte to learn that as well. Hopefully she go to school she learn more.

Augboyz,
Decided to start her in May Becos is a new Childcare center so the Principle actually say give them time to slowly bring in the kids becos if all comes at a time very difficult to handle. So i agree to Start her in May

Cath,
Slowly intro now. When she start going to school automatic she will know as the teacher will keep calling her.

It lovely & funny when kids know their name. I keep asking Natalie her name, meimei name, mummy name, daddy name. She knows how to reply. She like to keep saying her name with sentence.
LIKE: "Natalie take this ah. natalie eat xxx"
I ask her what your name? She will reply simple, natalie jia xin. I ask again meimei leh? she will reply nicole jia xuan. I guess we just keep talking keep asking and telling them calling out their name, they will know. Don't worry yeah.

hi catherine,
i will ask kayden "what's ur name?"
will help him out the first times by saying "kay..." and he will answer "den".
after a few practices, when i asked him "what's ur name?", he will automatically answer "kayden".
i do agree with the rest that they are generally shy at this point. Kayden will keep quiet when there are strangers around.

i think it is a stage when they will start their sentences with "(name) wants...". kayden does that too.

hi pups,
leon looks slightly different now. face looks a bit more chubbier but his hair still very fine and soft hor.

mummies with kids in childcare and school,

On average, how often do you receive news of HFMD from the childcare/ school? Is it normal or common to hear of one isolate case per 2 months?

hi augustmum,
i only heard of 1 hfmd case all of last yr from kayden's childcare. i took him out for 2 wks which was also because kayden was having flu at that time. quite a no. of parents also stopped their kids from going to cc for 1 or 2 wks.

hi augustmum,

just last week, i was telling my sister that his boy's cc seems quite good as so far since he joined them in July last year till now, there hasn't been any case of hfmd.

Thanks for the advise will practise more with Charlotte.

Augustmum,

You got to check with the CC to see is there a need to not let ur kid attend the CC.

By the way mummies with kids in the childcare if you have accounts with POSB they will introduce you the new type of insurance for your child which will cover HFMD, viral infections and other dieases and injuries which happen "touch" wood need to hospitalise can claim from the insurance. per mth only $16. but i don't know when is the promotion ending.

hey mommies,

thanks. just trying to gauge what is the acceptable level of hmfd? My older son's school has two cases this week and just two months ago, near Chinese New Year, there was an isolate case. Thought it is rather frequent for a childcare.

Having second thought about the school now though the principal, teachers, classmates and programmes are rather good. On the other hand, I'm also worried that this is the same scenario in other childcare.

need your opinions. Wen do we stop using baby detergent to wash their clothes n also their bottles r cups? Can share your views?

I hav finally decided to enrol Kaefer at a Playgroup to cut reliance on maids. Found one near my place and will be starting next week.It's only a 3.5 hr program so hopefully he can adapt to it and cross my fingers he doesnt fall sick more often n no HFMD lor.

Augustmum,

YOu can go around a check other childcare records of HFMD before you decide to change or not. Once the CC start to have HFMD you will see frequent Children get it becos it spread no matter how they clean it. Childcare should take precautions about this.

IMHO on HFMD, parents also have to do their part to prevent the virus from spreading. Last year when the outbreak was here, we stayed at home during weekends, no contact with other children except for those in ccc. No doubt there are still cases of HFMD in zheng's ccc but he did not get it.

ccc can clean the area daily with dettol etc but then the virus is also on the kids's clothes, hands, mouth or inside the body. When zheng reach home everyday its straight to the bath room for shower n change into a new sets of clothes. I will wash the clothes either that nite or the next morning.

Cleanliness n hygiene is the key

hi augustmum,

think now is the peak period for HFMD as told by the principal of JH childcare..... b4 enrolling JH into the childcare, also asked the principa abt HFMD.... & the childcare do not have any cases of HFMD last yr... & in the other yrs, think only less than 5 per yr....

the principal told me after she install a new type of sterliser, the no of cases had dropped lor... every kid will need to sterliser their hand with the machine when they reach sch & after playing....

agreed with AugBoyz that cleanning n hygiene is the key...

jasmommy,
JH also have been coughing, having running nose for the past 3-4 weeks.... bring her to see doc every week (so far see abt 3 docs) but her sickness get better after i brought to see Dr Koh at Nam Seng Clinic at Beauty World shopping centre...after telling Dr Koh that her sickness is abt 3-4 weeks plus already, he listened to her body & told me that her nose is blocked & full of mucus....doc said must treat her fast if not it will develop to asthma as the phelgm & mucus is causing her to pant quite heavily & also must control her diet lor no soft drink, choco & other stuffs.. must eat lightly lor... she also merlion during the night a few times.. after apply some nose drop & taking the medicine, she is now better already....

f

Jesline,

I used to bring Natalie to Nam Seng too. His nose drop is very good. But after sometime nat seems to be not reacting very good to the med liao.. so end up sometime have to go back PD if not use neubiliser to clear all her phlegm n mucus!

That why we turn to TCM. Do take time.... but at least I saw some sign of her improving liao.. meantime also gave her cordceyps too...

Hi pupsandcups,
Think Leon is just lazy to chew. Just continue giving him all sort of different textures food and let him try again and again. Maybe dun try during main meal in case if he dun eat, you would get frustrated cos' would worry he hungry and etc. Maybe give his usual porridge. Then as a side, when you are eating, give him some rice with meat and let him play and eat. This is to encourage him to learn chewing.

Also, the meat that you gave Leon to eat, is it minced pork and chicken? It's easier to chew minced meat. Let him try that first. And dun give up. If he refuse, try again and again. He would eat one day.

Hi Catherine,
I didn't teach Aden to say that. He learnt it himself. I guess he learn in childcare. I realise his language ability improve alot when he go CC but he also get sick very often too. He currently only go half day CC. This coming May, we would convert him to full day CC cos no. 3 coming soon. Would be talking to his teacher in early April.

But I does talk and read storybooks to him often.

Don't worry. All kids behaviours can be different. Let Charlotte learn at her own pace.

Hi jasmommy,
Then your company is real unfair.

Hi cj,
I'm still using bb detergent to wash their clothes and bb dish cleaner (is that what we call??) for bottles and utensils. As my #3 arriving, think I would still continue. Dun know when I want to stop too.

Haf not logged in for long time cos been very busy. I miss posting but I am utterly swarmed by things at work when in office and swarmed by kids and house staff and my own mummy's rantings about maid, kids etc when back home, on top of bfg...another 3 months, then I can cross the mark of 12mths bfg for Nicole soon..

Felt like posting long post today.. mummies - bear with me:

Mummies who haf brot your kids to TCM apart from EYS,
Can you all share what the TCM doc does to your kid? Does she/he gif those bitter powdery med? I tried bringing Megan to EYS TCM some time ago cos I am sick of her phlegm and cough but she refused to take the bitter med..and EYS TCM told me to stop all cold drinks, sweet drinks and food, gif plain water etc... but how to totally abstain? I find so tough to follow TCM rules. If your TCM does not gif bitter powerdery med and have other ways of helping them recover from phlegm and cough and flu etc, can you share with me your contact?

re: meals
Megan still takes porridge for lunch and dinner (sometimes) during the weekdays, esp lunch after school. But in between, she does snack bread, raisins, cake, whatever is available but still maintain some nutritious food bah...

Only weekends, we close one eye to her nutritious intake.. she will drink ribena, eat french fries etc.. In fact we just intro to her all types of food so that she won't grow up choosy with food..to me, all in moderation lah..

re: calling own name
Megan has been calling her own name for quite some time liao.. like I ask her:

What's your name?
she will reply "Megan! Megan Tay"

Like what erin says, just keep repeating the drill to her then she will answer naturally... kids will do it in their individual time when they are ready..

Just for laff, read below:

Mummy: How old are you?
Megan: Megan Tay!
Mummy: No Megan! Repeat after me, "I ... m.... 2... yrs... old"
Megan: I... m... 2... yrs... old!
Mummy: How old are you?
Megan: Megan Tay!
Mummy faints

I gotta keep repeating to her... hopefully she will get it some day haha!

You all know all along megan has been very slow in talking and I was so worried when she is going to open up.Some months back,she began to show lots of output and has been too chi cha for words, keeps singing songs repeatedly and dancing and stamping her feet etc.. I hope I dun haf to send her for dancing classes soon hehe

re: maids
Anyone having prob with maid? I am changing again..cut long story short, she ate Megan's milk powder, left the lid half closed attracting lots of ants.. prepare an extra set of snack for herself put it in the deepest pockets of megan's school bag and ate that xtra set when unpacking Megan's schoolbag when Megan comes back from school. Btw, she has 6 meals a day... Wanted her out of the house just this monday, she went amok wanna dash into my room for Nicole crying "I want Nicole, I love Nicole, I love Nicole very much".. like she is some mummy of Nicole whose baby has been taken by some stranger..I lock my room to sleep every night now..She will be out of my hse very soon.. searching for another maid now...

Enough of my rantings..

Augmum,
Long time no talk! How are you? Hope you haf not forgotten me :p Megan's current school is supposed to be high HFMD (from last yr stats) but so far, apart from hearing from Afternoon session mummy that there is an outbreak last month in one of the classes... we heard nothing from the school... and we let megan attend school still even though we know there is outbreak of HFMD in the afternoon session... so far ok *touchwood*

This is the season annually for HFMD.. normally it tends to be high. main thing is school must be vigilant about cleanliness and hygiene.

Crispyapple,
Congrats on No.3! and I salute you! I can't have a no.3 else I will be on my way to IMH very soon:p

Jas,
How can your boss say you are not productive during ML? I mean ML is SUPPOSED to be ML.. should not even logged into office email system manz...I hope what you felt about being retrenched is wrong... but on the flipside, if it does happen, you get a chance to be at home with your 2 kids!

mummies in bb music class
Are you all still continuing next term? I know Cocomo will not be.. anyone else terminating?

hi piyo, wow tts really a long post :D

The powder stuff tt the chinese doc gave zheng is not bitter, more like "gan-se" taste. Tried mixing it in water n give zheng but he hates tt taste. So I mixed it in his milk n he drank it. However after mixing the milk becomes light chocolate color. The 1st time i gave tt to zheng, he took a look at his milk, gave me a confused look but then still drinks it. He probably thot its chocolate milk LOL

Hi Augboyz,
1st time I gave Megan the med, I mixed with lots of wtaer and gave her in a syringe, she took after much whining but only finish 1 syringe (left another syringe!) 2nd time, she smart liao, c the syringe she ran! then 3rd time, I tried giving in very little water such that the med became more os a paste(like cereal) in a teaspoon.. wah...she stared at it long time then just use tongue taste a very little bit then gif the teaspoon a 5! and it flew! haiz! then for some time after that, everything we gif her to eat, she will taste a little bit cos dun trust us liao! If I put in milk, cfm she will high5 the milk bottle too!

So it's still those brown powdery med?

Amy,
ya I must really pat myself cos you haf not heard about me pumping in the dirty urine everywhere squatting toilets in China during my recent China trip, gotta tahan the stench, the dirtiness and I gotta try locate a dry spot to put my pump which sometimes is not really possible, and most of the time I was standing pumping milk... ultimately throwing all the expressed milk away just to maintain ss...and not forgetting carying the heavy pump throughout the day wherever I go..I seriously dunno how I did it.. I told myself since I have gone thru the worst situation for pumping milk, what is tahaning another 3 months?!?! then after which c can extend on a monthly basis not...

Hello piyo,
For TCM, Natalie is drinking those powdery form. Sinseh also tel mi to stop all cold stuffs, no sweets, no biscuits, no cornflakes... basically those that can cause phlegm. But when she got better, a bit of this and that is allow. The TCM i go is recommend from Kelly lo. Kelly have more info about TCM maybe you can get her advise too yeah. Sometime i tell natalie to drink finish den i will give her the goat sweets. I bough at NTUC Karihome. Not bad but better than giving her other sweets.

Salute you still been BF nicole. My Nicole is now all FM and eat cereal for breakfast, lunch porridge and inbetween is fruits or sometimes bit of bread pieces if natalie is eating too. Sometime i do give bb biscuits too lo.

For Natalie she eat everything she can now. Rice, porridge, pasta, macroni, bee hoon anything that I cook. I m lucky she not picky with food and now she start to love her fishes again! phew... So now she had enough of Fish, meat, vege, fruits...

GET YOU MAID OUT! Don pity her... if she do it she will do it again....

Hi Cyn,
How do you get her to drink the powder? If I can't get megan to drink, I might as well dun go seek TCM again cos it wil be fruitless if she does not eat the med..

My Nicole drinks milk by INSTALLMENTS faints, not like her sis drinks like a pig:p but she wats like a pig though, eats anything that we allow her! Whatever we are eating she wants too! so she now eats cereals, fish, veg, apples, papaya etc..if we allow her to lay her hands on.. if dun gif her she will screa, fiercer than her sis... this one is growing HORNS..

Same tots on my maid.. I very scared she qi siao thinks that Nicole is her bb wor...

piyo, ya its the brown powder stuff. I ever asked the sinsei wats inside, asked her does it have chuan bei n she said yes. And then named a few others which i cannot remember.

When zheng is younger I used to syringe feed him the western med n he hates it. Same lah, see syringe will run. I have to wrestle with him when its med feeding time. Sometimes he takes one mouth n shake his head n hand say dun wanna eat.

After he is older he will say dun wanna take the med, i say to him "either u eat on ur own or i force." So he guai guai take it willingly lor haha~

Augboyz,
ya maybe mixing in porridge is a good idea, haf not tried it.. let me go try with the EYS powder... if can then ho seh liao! but also cant put too much inside else she can detect too..

gam sia for the tip!

Hi Piyo,

You can try giving Magen Herbal tea which i find it very good esp Roselle Tea which taste like ribena can simply add abit of honey but not too sweet. My girl loves it so as to replace ribena. its help with cough and flu also as it have natural Vitamin C. ROselle Tea can easily grab at those Chinese Medical stall or Chinatown XIN ZHONG. Even Toa payoh also have

http://www.teacuppa.com/herbal-tea.asp

For mi.. starting is syringe. Then slowly use spoon. I keep praising her den she happy she drink. Need alot of coaxing. When about few days she get used to the taste and she know what it is and she auto drink from her cup. I tried mix into milk but not so good cos she reject her milk. So use the above method works for mi.

My nicole also horn out. Scream with natalie. Want to eat what she see. Don give scream. Buay Tahan. BUT she drink alot of water and now less milk. Dunno whats wrong la. Sian. Too exhausted liao. BUT jus make sure she must get enough milk quantity a day lo. She is still in BO GEH club haha