(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Kelly,

I'm interested in right brain training courses if you have, I'm searching for one now for Hannah to attend, any lobang?

The music class that Gab attends, does the teacher plays different musical instruments during her lesson? Can only start when the child is 2.5 yrs old?

honeyb,
pls include me for the music class,
Mandeville Music Class for Dec:
1. HoneyB
2. Piyo
3. Augustmum?
4. cocomo
5. fiona

honeyb,

ya, count me in

kelly,

thanks for the lobang
however, i'm going back to work soon so not possible to hv weekday classes now. As for weekend classes, would prefer UE area.

actually, my hubby is music trained but he (sighed!) once on the keyboard would just play any songs he likes... oblivious to the kids

as for art, actually i can teach as i'm in charged of art in school... so hv a lot of resources but lazy so outsourced to my sis. but sorry mummies, my sis' sch has long waiting list so not recommending as most likely will be turned away.

honeyB, think kelly meant this prog will last for 2.5yrs - coz she mentioned the total no. of yrs at the end is 2.5yrs prog
"her subsequent levels costs $240 every term of 11 or 12wks, abt $60 for materials. level 1A & 1B = 1yr. level 2A & 2B = 1yrs so total = 2.5yrs prog"

hi kelly,
i'm interested in the homebased right-brained training and the music programme. can pm me more info? thanks.

re: updates on Mandeville Music Class for Dec
I have a conversation with HoneyB this evening as she has gone down to register and make payment for us. Apparently, by the time Honeyb was there, there is only 4slots left. At that point in time, she only got confirmations from me, Cocomo and Fiona. She had already registered for us when Augmum text me..

So now, confirmed for the class is
1. HoneyB
2. Piyo
3. cocomo
4. fiona

The Dec class is full liao (I wonder y fill up so fast since Honeyb and I were the 1st 2 on the Dec list in the morning).

Augustmum - you are on waiting list and honeyb will contact you if any of those on the list backs out.

Hi kelly,
is the homebased music teacher located in pasir ris? If it is, then a bit far...car up n down, end up mayb about the same cost/more ex, plus time spend travelling...

Hi Augmum,
I heard about PMI from a mum in megan's shichida class last time. She has placed her boy there and told me the principal is very experienced etc.. I dinno it was ex though...

Wld your boys have a difficult time adapting to new school and env and friends?

Hi Fio,
What's the yardstick for bb being too big and must test for GD? No.2 now weighs 2.1kg at 32wks but my gynae commented bb's weight ok and is normal..

Now, i try to go down on my 4s if i rem.. takes the chance when I play with megan else my hubby would think what I am trying to do again..to him, turn or no turn also csec so y bother.. haiz.. i just wan bb to stay til end term that's all.

Hi Amy,
Thanks for your feedback.. ya I wld most prob throw her into ballet IF she still enjoys dancing ard like now.. if not, I won't force her else wait u see an elephant stomping ard in leotards haha..

Can share what does mindchamp preschool prog consist of? What's your plan for rae?

Hi Cyn,
Megan is more cheeky than nat. Having spoken to a good friend recently, I feel I fail miserably in the discipline dept.. haiz

At least your bb is in good position so you can pop anytime! I am still waiting for bb to turn else I gotta take her out by mid June liao! haiz.. I enjoy this pregnancy so much!

Hi Yoshi,
Nice talking to you this morning... the amino results would turn out fine and WK Tan is good.. c what she says..

My bloglink: www.frances-diary.blogspot.com

Hi racoon,
I think like you but I also agree that you both have to agree n think on the same frequency b4 sending Justin to school. Gif your hubby time to be ready to let go.. maybe with no.2 coming, he may decide to send him to school overnight?

hi honeyb,
Bites on Megan's face subside liao.. so ugly last few days :p The day you saw me at vivo was my most sui bian cos we actually went there for grocery shopping...next time you go vivo better tell me in advance then I can da ban nicer maybe put on makeup or something haha..

I have a list of questions that I asked the cc I am interested in.. in office, send to you tomorrow plus some things to watch out for...

Hi piyo,
thanks for smsing me just now. sorry for the short reply cos was very busy at that time. discussed with hb but don't think we will sign up. we'll look for alternatives nearer to our place cos we dun drive and din want to spend a lot of time travelling or $ on transport.

i would agree that those from montessori schools know a lot of things and are able to discuss current issues, just that some of them have some difficulty adjusting to primary school life at the beginning. a lot of things such as the child's results and attitude towards work also depends on the child's family such as whether they monitor the child's progress and inculcate the right values in them. Think megan shouldn't have a problem coping with primary school life.

piyo,

thanks. discussed with hubby. will check up PMI. We feel if he kids go to a CC near hubby's workplace, we would not need the help of pils so much. Save a lot of problems. We calculate the cost of placing them in the older one's CC, realised not much diff, if we factored in bus fares.

Older one will hv no problem adjusting. Just worried for no2.

Erin,

the activity is very simple. just pasting. You can easily modify it for other lessons such as to teach alphabet or colours or shapes.

piyo,
your gynae never recommend you to do the test for GD? it also depends on other factors like my urine was tested positive once and also bcos bb is big(our baby growth is charted on a scale and mine was a little out of range). but if you want to be sure can just do. but with no previous or no family history, it should be fine.

now i'm extremely nauseous...the glucose drink tasted horrible plus i'm on an empty stomach. still got to tahan till 10.30 for another poking session. but i mustn't puke or got to do it again...

Piyo,
Ya loh, its amazing how fast their classes fill up. I was there for about 15 mins filling up the application forms and settling the payment and I saw so many parents coming in and out to make payments for their children's classes, was telling my hubby it seems as thou these courses are FOC, so many people went in and out within that 15 mins. Lucky I went down after work to pay up else don't think we have any more slots.

Augustmum,
My apologies, I did not see your reply before I left the office and did not have your contact then to confirm with you. Fiona managed to get me before I left the school and I took the last slot for her. I've put you on waiting list and will help you monitor. There's two mummies on the list that have yet to pay up and if they back out, the school will call me to notify. Hope there will be another slot for you.

Fiona,
Hang on, hope your test results will be ok.

i have not been research much, nor know anything about montesorri. our kids are still young, could we do a mixture? they dun have to be full time schooled now rite?

i noticed that MMI has enrichment programs, which last only about 2 hours, u can choose to send once or a few times a week.
So we can exposed them to either church playgroup or pat's/kinderland etc, and also let them have some montessori enrichment?
just a thot.

i am also for home schoolling too ....

kelly, to share with me any info you have too can?

Piyo,
You can go to this link http://www.mindchamps.org/preschool/curriculum_preschool.html
The program is still very new and yet to be tested.

My plan for Rae is music now which she is already attending now at Seimipi and pre-ballet at 3 and chinese calligraphy at don't know which age yet. Phonics will depend on her ability, unless she is very lacking in this area then I will send her to zoophonics.

Due to logistic/budget issue, I cannot send her for Montessori or right brain training. Hopefully GD program can make up a bit on this.

HoneyB,

It's okie. If I miss this one, I will sign up for the next one. Wanted to sign zac up as he catches beats etc rather fast and could 'sing' a few songs (we can make up the tunes and only the ending words usually).

Amy,

I signed my older one for zoophonics but have missed a few lessons due to HFMD scare. Anyway, zoophonic has holiday prog. You can try. Quite good.

However, we are stopping zoophonics for our older one in June as surprisingly, he has picked up his phonics very fast and are already into blending. Now, we are not so worried and are convinced that when the kids are ready, they will learn.

reading the posts about all your plans for kids make me stressed. i haven survey any CC near my place yet and no concrete plans too. my mum actually discourage sending them to school so early cos she fear it robs them of their childhood lor.I only have a general idea dat maybe i would like to let Kaefer pick up martial arts ( boy mah) and third language ( if he is interested ).

Amy,
if u come across any foreign language progs suitable for our kid's age can let me know? Thanks.

Fiona,
how's the test results? hope u cleared the test. I had gestational diabetes during 2nd pregnancy.luckily was not severe so jus control diet, no need injection.

Fiona,
Same same.. mil always like to ask Nat didnt call ah ma ah? Nat always shake her head if not say NO. Don't know to be happy or not Sound like I am very bad & biased against MIL.. I don mind they spoil Nat but still feel to a certain extend lo. Now what they have done to her in the past is already making my life miserable now.. Like e.g, Must carry Nat to make milk even till now. Also always for nothing like to ask Nat wan ah ma carry wan ah gong carry end up NOW SHE WAN ME TO ALWAYS carry her with my stupig tummy. Hai.. Also try to kan kai... sometime just seem so tough. Hope maybe 2nd one can make situation better lo. Hows ur test result? Keep us update okie.

Just came back from gynae visit, BB at 35weeks plus 2.6kg. This round again having a 3kg plus bb again... Was complaining to gynae e pain I have around V area lo even sleeep turning also difficult. He only say no choice gotta bear wit it! Ask like no ask la... He say maybe 3-4weeks time can expect her arrival
Finally though now enjoying her inside kicking boxing everyday...

cynthia,

now you everyday teach nat to say 'po po'. My mil's so happy whenever zac calls her 'po po'. Every time, we are there, she will make him call her and in the presence of others, she will also do the same LOL. All ah ma sama sama.

Hi Piyo,

Thanks for your encouragement and was great talking to you too yesterday. At least i'm more relieved now to hear most of the time amnio test comes out all clear. Thank for providing the blog address too. Can I link my to yours? Mine is at http://preciousprincesses.blogspot.com

Hi Fiona,
Hope your GD test result is clear

Hi Cyn,
During my second pregnancy, V area and back also very pain and I still tahan to carry my eldest child who was 3 years old then and simply refused to walk! Have you tot of getting early maternity leave or AL to rest at home? For my case, lots of bed rest helps as movement is limited lor

Augustmum,
Nat she say ah ma (call ma ma) she depends mood to call one hahaha! Den she call mi sometime is Ma Mi or Ma ma (very chinese scholar calling yucks! makes my pores open) BUT she love calling Papa I don understand leh *angry* I agree with you MIL all same same one la. Always like to hao lian also..

Yoshi,
Hehehe I am SAHM now.. so even when I not walking, just having Nat alone enough to put me to hell hehehe. So I told HB working still the best cos i still enjoy leave.. Now Full time mum nothing man.. so now we also try to delegate Nat to mil (which i don realli like lo... prefer her to be with me than staying over once aweek there) So sometime when HB is around I try bed rest. Sometime help but sometime is the turning part yucks damn pain. Sometime I rather keep walking hehehe cos make me forget e pain

Hi Cyn,
Wow.....envious of SAHM. I was one too but have since started to work abt 11/2 years ago. Afraid that if i don't work, i may lose touch with society and also lost my sanity staying at home with 2 kids. Tat's why agree with you that even looking after one kid is not easy. Their demands are endless and coupled with your pregnancy, its even worse hor.

I know the feeling of delegating kids to MIL. However, must think of your own rest and sanity too. Being SAHM is not so easy. When i was at home, dun even have "me" time. Now that i'm working, at least i have my own time. And not to mention the benefits of AL, ML etc.

"JIA YOU" ....you got another few more weeks to go before baby pops

Yoshi,
Thanks for e encouragement. I also don think I will be sahm for long. Cos this round preg was not very smooth from the start so I quitted my job. I still wanna back to work and don't wish to lost touch and our "valuation" will depreciate hehehe
SAHM is 24/7 no own time.. soometime can b crazy to meet our kids demand hahaa..

But now still ok.. since 2nd one coming and we decided to stop so I tel myself to enjoy yeah!

re: ah ma
oh yes ( both arms up waving in approval)...they are all the same somehow.

cyn,
denise loves calling "papa" too and will either call me "ma mi" or "ma ma", think at this stage, they are more or less similar...wait till she's bigger then keeps calling mummy non stop then headache ar...hahaha

re: SAHM
i was and i admit i'm not cut out to be one, gets agitated very easily if i face denise for 24/7. i felt so much better eversince i came back to the workforce

good news! i've traced my blood result, negative for GD...yeah!

may all of you have a great long weekend, enjoy the holiday!

re: ah ma
haha...oh yes but my dad is the one lor..haha..but Elysia v smart to get full attention frm my parents.. havent reach their hse.. already kept saying 'Gong gong.ma ma..' never fail to hug them when see them...My girl already 'shou mai' ah gong's & ah ma's hearts liao...

as for me, she will call.. especially in need me to do or get things for her, she'll keep calling 'ma ma ma ma ma mi' until i response.. headache.. haha...

SAHM,
Fiona, i agree with you..haha..

All do enjoy long weekend...

Hi Augustmum,

Its better to take the flu jab b4 travelling to play safe la. I did when we go travelling especially since my kids get infected very easily!

SAHM,
My sentiments are like what fiona posted. Ever since i've been a SAHM for a few years, my marginal utility just went down hill. Gets agitated over minor things, mood swing, no "me" time etc even with maid's help. So i'm happier now working
It helps to have own income too..hehe....

yo cj,

was just thinking of you. saw ur hubby in shaw centre carpark during isetan private sale. told me u were busy shopping!!

dun stress me leh. i totally blur about what phonics, music classes, right brain training etc.

but, i think better to send kids for whatever classes then put them in front of TV 12 x 7 days like what my MIL is doing now to my DD..

hi all , long time no post =P

Glad that everyone are doing fine .... I m thinking of putting my boy in the GUG programme , wonder is there a long waiting list anot ??

Anyone DD/DS also attend classes there ? good ?

leobbsmom,
thks ^^

jas,
me sama sama lah...i also blur abt all these, but i learnt alot from the mummies here, now got some idea liao

today i very "fan", think i'm losing my sanity living with my mil. everyday seems to have something new to troubled me, i really feeling very lost now. i'm sure i'm gonna get postnatal depression again this round...really feel like crying but also feel very silly why i can't keep my emotion intact.

Fiona,

cool down urself.. dun always get urself troubled..perhaps u can speak to ur hubby regards ur matter... eventually he can help is to cheer u up abit.. or have some quiet moment with him.. might help i think..haha.. Lastly get a big & lovely hug frm Denise, sure help u alot.. as Elysia always gives me a nice & warm hug.. ^^..

Take great care all big tummy mummies.. :p

Hi Fiona,

I empathise with your situation especially if you're living under the same roof and will get to see mil once you reach home!

I don't live together with mil also got so many issues that need to compromised or resolved. Just yesterday, mil saw what my maid cooked for my eldest dd's lunch and straight away called her son up to complained that its too oily....etc...when i used to put my children at her place, everyday also got new things to grumble. Haiz.....take heart, I'm so used to it now that sometimes I just one ear in, out from the other lor. hee hee.....However, some comments still hurts la and I'll trash it out with hubby. So hubby always at receiving end of my anger

fiona,
i'm in the same situation with yoshi, dun stay with ILs but still got conflict. sigh, for me, i hv over-compromised in the beginning until i exploded, and now, they know they hv pissed the HELL outta me. and so now when i dun give face, they know VERY well tat they deserved it.

so long my own family is well n good, i really dowan to be softhearted again... coz in the end, i will be in the losing end again. lesson learnt and heartache experienced, so i told myself no more liao...

Fiona,
Cool down, go for a walk, will make you feel better. Preggie tends to be easily agitated, blame it on the hormones :")

Augustmum,
Better to take the flu jab, not just the younger ones, you and hubby should go take too. I find that it really helps.

Fiona & leobbsmom,
I also started out too softhearted. My mil is a very fiesty lady, coupled with her high blood pressure, I can't talk back to her directly or else she will say her blood vessels will burst! So i've taken the approach that i'll hmmm and ha to what she says even if i don't agree with her. That gives her face cos she will not be able to take it if i "talk" back at her and beside i never say i'll do things her way.

The role of hubby is very impt lor. He got to be the middleman between me and mil.

thanks for your encouragement. i also pity my husband, always there to hear me grumble. i really think it's a good idea for us to move out bcos on long run this may jeopardize our couple relationship.

i'm like leobbsmom, very soft hearted but this time mil and bro-in-law both irritate me too much, they are always so inconsiderate.

i've been exploding too much lately and today even shouted at my mil for giving me so much trouble lately, now maid's gone(thanks to her) i have to do everything myself alrdy very "pek chek", and this morning i found my bil's car parking behind mine in the drive-way, and she happily tell me to shift his car so i can go out. alrdy running late for work (have to give denise med and prepare her for school) and still have to entertain them. this is really too much!

i told her and hubby i am a very busy woman not like her so idle at home, never take initiative to help me still so problematic.

so sorry i'm complaining so much but i'm really at my wit's end...

hi kelly,
thanks for the contacts.

hi jas!
how r u? ur new workplace still at Orchard? really long time no see.

fiona,
jus remember the pregnancy is affecting the mood too. if it makes u will feel better, jus cry it out for a short while. rather than suppress sure will explode.

i dunno but i really dun feel like going home...the thot of it is enough to make me cry. now my head feels very empty, can't think properly. now mil tells hubby how she tried to talk to my bil, and my hubby said maybe she's just not good at expressing herself. but when her son is not around, she always answer me very reluctantly and sometimes even ignored me while putting on black face. but when my hubby comes back she'll answer me nicely. and i suspect she say nice things in front of my hubby when i'm not around or ask him to give in to me when we quarrel, or tell him how uncomfortable she feels bcos she's sick, then my hubby pity her.

i know being pregnant can get me all sensitive but i'm very sure of how she behaved when huby is not around.

hi fiona,
i do feel very fortunate i dun hav mil woes as i m not staying wif my mil. however, pls dun think too much cos these issues not likely to be easily resolved overnight and u r now preggie and need to take care of your physical n emotional health for the sake of the bb. if u feel that it is feasible to move out n maybe u can start sounding ur hb out. is he the only son? if he is ur mil will probably wan to stay together mah. nevertheless, try to think of positive things only now n bear a few more mths. By den it would be easier to plan anything.

i find ur hb loves u n denise a lot so he would be able to judge for himself. But as a son, he also cant openly criticise his mom bah. things may not be as bad as it seems bah. but if our hb r the blindly filial type, all the more we hav to be 'nice' to our mils lor else sure got things to quarrel.

hang in there ok n come to forum if really need to let off steam ok?

Fio,
Cool down!!! Something to cheer you up . . . I have uploaded some photos in Jay's blog, take a look and you will be happy that your little Denise is stronger than her mummy!!!

cocomo,

Just visited your blog. Jayden and the Aug06 bbs are all so "big boys/girls" already!

Btw, can share with me where you get your flash cards from the video clip that you've taken? The pics on the flashcards are lovely!