(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Leobbsmom,
Congrats! wow.. this Aug thread mummies really very very efficient ley... alot poppin 2nd ones liao.. very temptin.. but sigh.. cannot ley.. haha..

Kelly,
Congrats!!! do take great care of urself..hope bb Stella will be fine...

Stella is out of the NICU
any of you going to see Kelly tonight? Just cfm that I can't cos hubby got dinner tonight and I haf to be back home to jaga megan... I have Kelly's ward no with me if any needs?

kelly,

piyo,

I'm ok if they make up their mind whether they want to stay or not. If they're fickle minded, or they are not forthcoming, makes it v difficult for people to move on. Like my uncle/aunty's situation, if the maid has been forthcoming and say she won't be coming back (she can sms or call from Indon), at least they don't have to waste time (go airport and wait, make multiple phone calls to here and there, etc) and can just go ahead to get a new maid. After 10 years, I don't think my uncle/aunty deserve this kinda treatment from her lor. Naturally, they are v disappointed, not so much that she did not return, but she didn't even have the courtesy to tell them that she has decided not to come back lor.

Hi Piyo,

Yup, Shauna had umbilical cord around her neck when she was born. Luckily she was induced as I bled(false alarm) and gynae decided to induce her at around 38 weeks. Half way thru' my gynae wanted to perform emergency c-section as she realised shauna was "breached" - head down towards pelvis but facing upwards instead of down and bb getting distress. However, not enough time. . .so the gynae used forcep to turn her head and pulled her out! Tha damage was so great for me that i have to go for lasik treatment after birth but fortunately shauna was alright

thanks mommies for your well-wishes!

Here's something for sharing, this really spoke to me coz i tend to discipline Sherv whenever she's notti. and i feel guilty tat i was too harsh to her on Mon evening.. :"(

Accepting Your Kid's Mistakes

One of the most difficult parts of being a parent is learning to accept your children's mistakes. Let's be clear about our kids and their mistakes.

There aren't too many kids who get up in the morning, rub their hands together and say, "I wonder how I can screw up today and really bother my dad!" Kids don't enjoy or want to make mistakes; it's just one of the ways that they learn about the world.

When your kids make mistakes, you have choices to make. Parents can either make choices that help to create kids who are defensive and who lie to them; or they can make choices that help to create kids who can learn from their mistakes and improve upon them.

Kids who fear punishment or the loss of love in response to their mistakes learn to hide their mistakes. These children live in two different places--one place where they have the love and support of their parents, and another where they feel that if their mistakes were discovered, they would be undeserving of that love. It is hard for these kids to fully accept their parents' love and support even when it is expressed. It is also difficult for these kids to set high standards for themselves, because they tend to be fearful of failing.

So what can you do to help create kids who can learn from their mistakes, and who are not afraid of making a few:

First, believe that your kids are doing their best, and that they will learn faster about their mistakes if they are in an environment that accepts mistakes. Understand that your difficulty with your kids' mistakes is in fact a reflection of your difficulty dealing with your own mistakes;be aware of this and deal with your own issues first.

Know the shaming messages that we can all give so easily to our kids--messages that can do a lot of damage to them and help them to feel unworthy.

Provide a great model for your children by the way you react to making mistakes: do you get defensive and stretch the truth, or do you "own" the mistake and learn something from it? Create a culture that is based on learning from mistakes.

thks 4 ur well wishes. i'm doing fine, walking around n stella's out of NICU last nite. *whew*

i started BFg her 2day. she seemed 2 suckle well but as expected, she kept falling asleep on my breasts.

i'll post her pics when i get home. staying til 2mrw.

pls dun take e hassle 2 visit me if u r not free or it's inconvenient. i very happy by everyone's well wishes liao.

not confirmed yet but we tiking of doing a full-mth celebration juz 4 friens. it shld b e last wkend in Feb. will keep everyone informed.

wow.. so many postings in a day.. me on MC for three days.. managed to read all the posting only now when my father in law brings zorian out..

hi leobbsmom..

Congrats!! remember to tell us once can see gender.. keekee..

Hi Kelly..

Congrats!!! Glad to hear both mommy and baby are okie...

hi cynthia..

how u been?? my detailed scan is on 11-Feb at TMC.. i will be 20 wks by then.. baby also refuses to let us see the gender.. keekee..

hi erin, cocomo & augbb..

has ure kayden and jayden recovered?? also jazz, is she ok already??

hi piyo...

I agree with the mommies here.. advise you to sit down with the maid and talk this over... she might not tell the truth so u have to go by guts feel and try to get as much information out from her.. see if she wants to stay or not.. not good if she cant give u a confirm answer since no. 2 is coming.. plus u want the confinement nanny to teach the maid on handling of ure no. 2..

if she is not staying, ok to send her back early.. dun have to tell her early.. cos we are unsure wat they will do wen alone with megan.. in the meantime, try to minimize the time the maid has alone with megan.. possible to leave her at ure parents' place the whole day??

wen looking for no. 2 maid, maybe u want to bring megan there and see how they interact?? i brought zorian there when choosing my maid.. for me, the maid was there so we interview her and see how she handle zorian before we make up our maid..

since u intend to let ure confinement nanny teach the maid how to handle ure no. 2, will advise u to get the new maid before u deliver.. at least u have the time to see how she handle megan, let the confinement nanny teach the new maid, u will be at home for at least another month before going back.. so able to monitor the new maid..

megan to cc, will advise u to send her earlier.. like Yoshi says, dun want megan to feel that u r dumping her to CC cos of no. 2.. they are already jealous or scare that we wont love no. 1 wen no. 2 is out.. so must try our best to minimize such feelings..

just my two cents of tots.. hope it helps..

hi leobbmom..

thanks for the article.. i also very fierce when come to discripline zorian.. believe that he is already aware of things.. so will usually hit his hands wen he is naughty.. but will explain to him why lor.. after tat he seems to remember and wont do it again..

wow kelly, u still can log on and post? i really "pei fu" you! sorry tat i wont be visiting you in the hospital, coz i will rushing home to rest after work. very tired..

kris, thanks. now only 6th week la, still long way to go b4 i know if it's mickey or minnie! haha... scarly really name him mickey and her minnie!! kekeke... =P

Talking abt discipline & punishment. I think im qte strict..i already start using the cane on Gen..bad mummy some might say..but of coz im nt the type who whack hard on her..just a little strength..so nw when she see the cane coming out when she is not suppose to be notti..she will behave abit..she even will hide the cane & play with it..canning herself haha..she will say 'cane cane beat beat'. I have no choice coz Gen is really NOTTI.

Anyway hor..there r so many mummies due for their 2nd one till i cant keep track of your EDD..maybe can compile a list..can add on if your name is not inside

Augbaby & Kelly 's princesses out to the beautiful world already.

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Fiona -
Cynthia -
Piyo -
leobbsmum -

Kelly,
Congratulations on the arrival of your little Stella!! She's a strong girl huh, pushing her way out to a better world :") Have a good rest and oh don't worry about your gabe 'disturbing' my Hannah at Piyo's house haa, its actually quite funny to see our little tods behaving that way.

Leobbsmom,
Congratulations on your no. 2!

Piyo,
I would prefer the courses to be held after CNY too but if most of you can make it please proceed. I'm bringing Hannah for her 2nd jab this Sat and would prefer her to have some rest after the jab incase of fever. We'll be in Bangkok next weekend and so won't be able to attend, thanks for organizing! :")

Re Taking Medicine:
Think my girl is the wierd one. Since young she has taken a liking to medicine. She will willingly take her med if she is sick and she'll even ask for second helping most of the time...*pengz*...

I'm not preggie but Hannah is also very sticky to me leh haa, she follows me where ever I go even in the house and will reject my hubby, he is so sad. Hubby has to resort to buying soft toys to 'bribe' her when I'm not in town so that she will not cry to look for me. Think its probably part of their growing up phase where they learn to indicate their preferences...

MH,
my edd as follow, think the sequence is like that, pls amend if not,

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Cynthia -
Piyo -
Fiona - EDD 10 July 2008
Kris -
leobbsmum -

re: toddler being sticky
i'm not sure whether it's due to being preggy or like honeyb said, they just showing their preferences. but denise has all along been very sticky towards me, however recently she does exhibit more extreme behaviour like refusing to let me close my toilet door, used to be fine as long as her daddy is around. but now she follows me everywhere, even wants me to carry her when i sat on toilet bowl...how to do business like that...haiz

as for discipline:
i'm also very stern and fierce, will shoot her hands if she still touch the things she's been warned not to. and i simply detest if she throws things, at times will also bring out the cane to show her, but she seems to be more afraid of my handheld vacuum...weird

Piyo,
I am ok before or after CNY but 1-2pm is Jay's napping time so can't attend, will prefer later time and for Sunday if possible. Thanks for organising.

Leobbsmom,
When's your EDD? Shd be Sept?

Neither me, I'm not expecting but my boy prefers me to hb, and is rather sticky to me, esp in the evening. I think partly bcos I hv and am still bfdg him... so naturally I hv "things" that "interest" him which the hb don't have. HAHAHA!

MH/cocomo,

my appt is 4 Feb, so i guess i will only be able to advise the EDD then. =P but shld be around mid Sept, hopefully same as my b'day!

hahaha....suddenly got this thot.... maybe i shld create another nick called "virgobbsmom" HOR??? =P

now i'm still stuck with the excess 8kg from my first preg, i wonder how much i'm gonna put on this time... xiang dao wo jiu sianzzz... >_<

CONGRATS Kelly! Meantime try to catch as much rest as possible okie.. anything jus let ur man and maid to do it.

Hi Kris!

I am sick too... haiz... cough &amp; flu lo. Gynae gave me med and it doesnt seems to help at all.. thinking to visit my regular lady GP and see wat medication i can take.. My detailed scan on 15Feb TMC 2.30pm. Mine also don let me see so i presume its a gal again hehehe. Now I am 18weeks plus. Stil the same, eat as normal 3 meals. no appeitite esp nw sick worse. Haven gain any weight cos I been losing since preg.

Fiona,
Think now mother is the one fierce instead of Father! My gal is totally spoilt by grandparents &amp; hubby. I will just beat her and don care. She cry demanding something i just let her cry and she will auto stop! Think we still have our own ways to discipline them. My PIL always say cant beat her la, beat her den she get use to it. Sian when this kind of words will just goes deaf in my ears hahahah!!! Nat she love vacuum cleaner. So I have no worries in doing hsework when she is awake as she is my supervisor teling me wher to vacuum!!! haiz....

The list keep going from here

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Cynthia - EDD 22 June 2008
Piyo -
Fiona - EDD 10 July 2008
Kris -
leobbsmum -

Leia,
Hahaha...your boy very "selective" ar...clever

cynthia,
ya lo...my mil &amp; great grand mil also said dun frighten her. and my hubby's the one who bought the cane but he never use one, only raise his voice at times if she really gotten on his nerves. Aiya although I very stern, i play very hard with her too, so sometimes she thinks i'm funny and even laughed when i beat her hand or tell her off :p

Denise very funny de...she's fine &amp; would even touch the big conventional vacuum cleaner but terrified of the small portable one...hiak hiak hiak

hi cynthia..

plse take care.. mine is on the leg is still ok lah..

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Piyo -
Kris - EDD 04 July 2008
Fiona - EDD 10 July 2008
leobbsmum -

wow so many posts, must slowly run thru the thread.. ytd morning got a big fright, I have very sharp pains at the lower abdomen, so sharp n sudden that it pains at each step I took, even to the extent of kneeling down in the toilet..We rushed down to gynae and saw our bb kicking and very active..concluded it's front joint pain that travels up the abdomen but to rule out other causes like kidney stones etc, gynae got me to do urine test rested at home whole day ytd. My detailed scan scheduled on 13th Feb.

Maybe the good thg out of ytd's visit is that my gynae happened to scan the gender at the same time and told me most prob a minnie! So We are having 2 princesses! hubby very happy cos he prefers girls! I happy cos I dun haf to worry about their schools in future!

Yoshi,
Y do u haf to go for lasik treatment after delivering Shauna? maybe you can share with me on having 2gers? haha

Leia,
Agree! At least shd inform b4hand that she is not coming back...

Kris and mummies,
Dun thk my maid is renewing.. she keeps asking me how if she cannot renew her contract?

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Piyo - EDD 30 June 2008
Kris - EDD 04 July 2008
Fiona - EDD 10 July 2008
leobbsmum -

sorry, need to change the date to next sat cos hb still haven't recover from his cough.

BUSYBUDDIES TRIAL - BUSY BODS
Trial fees $45
Max no. of tods: 12
Duration: 1.5hrs
Date and timing:
This Sat 26th Jan 1.15pm or
Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm

Pls put your name/bb's name down so that we can do a poll which Sat we would like to go for?

This Sat 26th Jan 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Yoshi/Kieira
Pls add on

Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Augustmum/ zac
4. Yoshi/Kieira
5. amberlyn/jord
6. babyboy/ Keiran
7. erin/Kayden
Pls add on

Hi leobbsmom,
congrats. have a healthy and happy pregnancy.

hi piyo,
hope u r feeling better.

re: discipline
think i am also quite fierce to him too. my parents and sis pamper him a lot and they say he still doesn't understand anything. will smack his hand quite hard and tell him why he can't do it. now it seems like he understands a bit more.

re: stickiness to mum
Kayden is sticky to me even though i'm not preggie. sometimes can't even go to the washroom as he'll cry when he can't see me.

Piyo,
so it's a blessing in disguise...at least this visit satisfied your curiosity. Megan will have a nice companion, congrats

thanks erin for your well-wishes!

piyo, congrats on your little minnie! good tat your maid is truthful to let u know tat she's bent on leaving. u can prepare to plan...

Trial fees $45
Date and timing:
Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm

Pls put your name/bb's name down so that we can do a poll which Sat we would like to go for?

This Sat 26th Jan 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Yoshi/Kieira
Pls add on

Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Augustmum/ zac
4. Yoshi/Kieira
5. amberlyn/jord
6. babyboy/ Keiran
7. erin/Kayden
8. jesline/Jiahui
Pls add on

Think our BABIES are really grown up!!! Sorry for those Aug babies who not in it as I only these babies' photos for comparison!

1216645.jpg

haha.....cocomo, thanks for putting up these nice pics! think the most obvious growth is their eyebrows! from very faint to very SOLID lines now!

Leobbmums,
Congrats.....

Kelly,
Congrats.....

Sorry, MIA for so long... Busy with work <phew...>

Trial fees $45
Date and timing:
Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm

This Sat 26th Jan 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Yoshi/Kieira
Pls add on

Next Sat 2nd Feb 1.15pm
1. Piyo/Megan
2. jokojoko/aidan
3. Augustmum/ zac
4. Yoshi/Kieira
5. amberlyn/jord
6. babyboy/ Keiran
7. erin/Kayden
8. jesline/Jiahui
9. Cecelia / Rachelle
Pls add on

Hi mummies:
<font color="ff0000">re: busybuddies trial</font>
Seems like many can make it for 2 Feb afterall! Max is 10-12
so we are reaching on target. Will go inform the person in charge later... meantime may haf to start collecting the trial fees hor

re: gender
Thanks! I think my hubby is the extremely pleased one.. he only started talking ALOT to the bb after ytd's scan and even ask me what name we shd name his 2nd princess fainted.. c he is so bias on gender...

for me, I am happy cos makes my life so much easier, can recycle things, can go same school etc! yeah! but must start eating more bird nest and bai guo fu zhou liao!

Hi cocomo,
you must haf spent alot of time digging out the older pics! thanks!!! very nice!!
My parents also said the same thing on discipline and spoiling!

Hi leobbsmum,
My maid did not exactly tell me she can't renew but from the way she keeps asking, I think about there liao...she even asks me if I will shorten her contract etc wor

cecilia, thanks! n_n

piyo, think she's hinting u liao la, maybe she doesnt know how to break the news, so by asking u all these relevant qns, think it is liao..

you already plan until schooling liao ha?? hee... so advanced leh! i hvnt even thot of which playgroup yet... still thot if Sherv is too small to go playgroup now or shld wait until 2yo.

To all the mummies who have know the gender of their babies, once again congrats....

Piyo,
By now, ur hubby must be stocking up the first grade of bird nest for you to consume liao....ke...ke...

Re: discipline
My mum oso saying the same things as cocomo's. So rite now for my gal, i am the big bad guy while MIL is the good 1.

Hi piyo..

Glad to hear tat u r ok. Please rest more.. Congrats on knowing the gender.. me still waiting.. haahaa..

Since ure maid hinted u liao, think u better start to look for one..

Piyo,

Wow princess... I don mind a princess too cos in long run not jus save on the clothing but also hoping both princess can communicate well too yeah
Sakali if I am having a princess again den hb say try for a BOI! siao... I told me this is going to be my last liao. Tiring... I don like the process been preg and ok with labour process..

Cocomo, Fiona,
I guesss grandparents are like this. Wonder in future will we be like them? Fiona, for mei beat n scold Nat and she will scare but oni for that short secs. Hb e most beat her hand and she cry come find me that all. I guess sometimes its hard for them to figure what is right or wrong at this stage as it may confuse them. So now I am hoping when 2nd one come, will make her temper more better &amp; less noti..

Hai.. I m still very sick even though this morning see doc again. The cough is worsen &amp; alot med cant take. So now keep on consuming more water...

mummies and babies,
pls take care..seems like the cough n flu virus is going around still...Jay is ok liao..no cough but he spread to jazzele n now her cough is worst..yest brought her go see our regular PD coz on sun they dun open and we brought her to ano PD. PD switch her med coz her cough worst
now she has 4 types of med to take...so heartpain to see her cry n try to close her mouth when feeding her..sigh.. Plus i am super tired..yest nite after feeding her at 4.30am, she wants to be carried and i carried her till 6am and sleep till 7am wake up n pump n go work..can faint...

augbaby ,

u must take care woh ...

My ray also flu n cough ... think the virus is everywhere .. and at night he sometime also dont want to sleep and keep crying , then when cry , the flu more jia liat ! i also headache

augbaby, think i kenna flu virus, slight fever now, sore throat n running nose.. =(

u take care and sleep early if u can tonite, dear. seems so tough to hv another baby hor, i worry for myself lehz, now tat i m finally expecting(which is my plan) then i start to worry that i will be exhausted by the NB again...

dunno leh, now tat Sherv is big enuff liao, i sort of enjoy abit more... dunno why the rest, sleep n fatigue factors come to haunt me now!

dunno if it's the preg blues tat i m feeling, abit down lehz... wat shld i do?

hi all mummies &amp; bbs
pls take care of ur health

hi kelly..
jux drop by to say CONGRATS!!

MH - EDD 4 May 2008
Piyo - EDD 30 June 2008
Rachel - EDD 01 July 2008
Kris - EDD 04 July 2008
Fiona - EDD 10 July 2008
leobbsmum -

Hi Piyo,
Congratulations on having second princesses! Thankfully u're alright!

Well, i went for lasik treatment as the damage or tear was especially bad
The gynae has to used forcep to turn shauna's head and pulled her out as i wasn't able to push leh. . .Tat's why needed lots of stitching and i can't really move and go loo as its too painful for abt two weeks.

Well, its good to have two girls too
They will be able to confide and share with each other when they grow up. We did not plan for Kieira and when i know preggie time, I was very worried that shauna might not be able to handle it emotionally as she was too pampered by everybody!

Initially, I think she resented the baby. cos i suffer from severe morning sickness and hug toilet bowl all day. She thinks its the bb that makes me so sick. However, when i'm abt 5~6 months, and tummy starts to show, then i'll let her feel the bb's movement, talk to the bb etc. I think she was rather amazed by my tummy and called me fat instead. However, thru out the whole pregnancy, I was still very involved in her daily needs and even carried her till the day I gave birth! Imagine I was 7 months plus preggie and I brought her to US (without hubby) and she refused to walk. At San Francisco, I got to carry close to 20kg on top of the bb's weight!

I still tell her that she is Mummy's &amp; Daddy's precious "Bao Bei" all the time. I believe that we have to ensure that they know they're impt to us so as to minimise jealousy. However, now she'll ask whether she is more precious or kieira! we'll always reply her that they are equally precious to us. For now, she accepts this answer. I don't know next time how to answer if she really insist us to choose.

Let us know which a/c to transfer to for the trial fee

Hi Augbb,
Take care &amp; hang on. "ganbatei neh" - jia you

Hi cocomo,
woh... you really make an effort to do up the kids photo. The kids are all so handsome and pretty

augbb,
you better take care of yourself too, do you still have any leave to take? it may be a good idea for you to rest a little too. many well wishes to jaz that she'll recover in no time.

whitelady,
hope ray gets well soon. last nite denise also suddenly cried while sleeping bcos her nose was blocked and she have to accomodate by breathing through her mouth while sucking the pacifier at the same time, she must be frustrated. but there wasn't any symptom before she slept leh...sudden onset. later go home check again.

leobbsmom,
no worries...initially when i was preggy with this 2nd one, i was rather emotional too and even had a huge quarrel with my hubby. i was probably too stressed about how i'm gonna cope since i'm alrdy so tired with one now, and the MS only added to my woes. but as my tummy and baby grow, i'm over taken by another kind of feeling now, feeling quite excited and decided to let nature takes it's course along the way. Do take care of yourself ok?

piyo - Congrats...2 cute little princesses.

The other day went for my detailed scan with the 3D scan..my hubby say our babyboy features look exactly like Gen Gen..but i see see..all babies inside look the same wat haha..

Guess all our darlings qte sticky to mummies..we cant even go to toilet in Peace !

Fiona , cecelia ,
thank , hope he get well soon n not so cranky ..

Cocomo , WOW , so nice of u to do up their photo ! so cute =) Thank ya

kelly,
congrats! rest well n do post pics soon.

congrats to all preggie mummies.. heehee more joining the #2#3 club this year.

keen to join too but only free after CNY. will there be a second session?