(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi MH,
ya, going there F & E. Heard from friends and read from reviews that HKG not very child-friendly place. Best to bring ur baby carrier or a light weight stroller as u might have to bring the strollers up the stairs or escalators at the train stations. can check out www.tripadvisor.com for reviews on hotels and other info.

MH,
I didn't get the Octopus or Tourist card, got the normal one way fare cos didn't know how many times I will take the train. Guess its easier to get the tourist card if you are going to Disneyland cos I think they have a package for that. Yes bring kid along not easy, I didn't have time to shop for my own stuffs but no regrets, feels good to have my child with me, bonding time lah :")

Erin,
I stayed at The Langham Place Mongkok, if you are looking for abit of luxury I will recommend this hotel. Its very lovely and is connected to a big shopping center and 5 blocks away from Ladies street. The MTR is also at the basement, the surrounding has many shops and restuarants too so its very convenient.

Hi HoneyB,
I stayed there a couple of yrs ago but it was a package deal. now i'm just looking for something cheap and good and near the mrt station. there's so many hotels so quite difficult to decide on.

Hi erin,
I think the most impt thing is to let your child develop at their own pace. No point worrying too much. when the time comes and he knows how to tell you, they'll let you know la. My eldest child nvr sit on the potty before. Same like what MH say, like got needle on her bum. So did not toilet train her at all, much to my MIL's horror hee....hee...

Hi crisann,
You're most welcome. Actually Kindermusik do have trial lesson too. Can go for trial first to see if your child like it or not. If I'm not wrong, it cost abt $19.50 or $20.50 for the trial.

Erin,
Yes, there are lots of hotels near to MTR station, since I brought my kid along that time, my main consideration is that the hotel must be clean, in a safe area and near to all major facilities. I went to Langham cos its one of the newest hotels in HK haa...

erin, u can try ramada hotel @ tsim sha tsui. very convenient and u can shop till very late around hte hotel.. and it's within walking distance to harbour centre. i can fwd u info on the shopping n travel guide tat my colleague did for her last HK shopping spree n sightseeing.

just want to check, has any of ur child still dunno how to walk yet ?
my son was also born in Aug 2006 & till now he has not start walking yet..

h@ppymum2b ,

not to worry , some baby only walk when they are 18 months ... as for mine , i was worry too , cos he dont crawl at all ... then recently just learn to walk too ... so dont worry ya ! =)

hi white lady,
so ur son had just learnt to walk.. tat's great!
i know i shd not worry too much, but as i m expecting my #2 and due in Feb 2008, really hope he can walk b4 i deliver.. :p

Hi all , am happy that my son start learning to walk , but today when i bought him go united square to see spongebob , he had a really BAD FALL ! i m so sad and sooo heart pain ... i was using my camera to video cam how he walk towards me , suddenly he fell forward , forehead on the ground first ! and a great BANG sound , i video how he fall and when i see the video , i feel like crying , so heart pain , and i m so scare that he might get internal injury ... =(

white lady
Toddler skull will be hard by now. dun worry. Fall down is part of the walk process. If he dun fall he might not know how to balance himself to prevent him from falling.
If he is kinda giddy or lethargic after a fall or even vomit.... you have take extra precaution but if not, not a big deal.

HoneyB,
Same with you.... when i holiday with my children i must make sure my hotel is clean.... otherwise my hubby wont have a peace in mind <cos>

MH,
Indeed hongkong is not a baby-friendly city (i do not know abt their disneyland cos never been there b4). Baby carrier / light stroller will be good. 2years ago i stay at this hotel near ferry terminal to macau (forgotten their name). Opposite of the hotel is esprit warehouse where i shop like crazy.

Anyone been to bangkok with your toddler before, can advise me on what to bring? Will go to bangkok end of dec for 4d3n trip. Thanks in advance.

erin,
When are u going to HK huh? If it's ard x'mas then will it too cold? I oso want to 'escape' from sin but dunno where to go? Ya, HK very baby unfrenly and most of their MTR station dun have escalator.

Honey_B,
Thanks. I very sian to stay in Spore and wanna bring Jay overseas but hubby always nag nag and nag that Jay too young la, troublesome la, food issue la. So at the end not able to make it for the trip. Envy that your hubby so supportive on family overseas trip

White lady,

aiyo... so heartpain ley.. help me sayang ur boy.. falling indeed is a learning process.. so long we parents make sure later on closely observation on the little ones.. should be okie la..
jus came back recently frm KL/Genting trip with my family...so far Elysia enjoys her trip... but kiasu me insist on bringing Spore water over to KL for her to drink her milk and water.. the rest like food there I really closed one eye.. Elysia seems really know how to enjoy herself.. the moment she enter into the hotel room.. she shouts "WoW' with her sparkling eyes and runs all over the place..haha...

Hi whitelady,
Hope ur boy is fine now. Do monitor for any unusual behaviour.

Hi cocomo,
I'm going on the 7th Dec and will be back on the 9th. shouldn't be too cold though. think around air-con temp. We're not bringing Kayden there too cos hb has the same concerns. Now, I'm worried that Kayden and me will have separation anxiety. Just hope he won't miss us and be cranky.

Any pics on the excursion yesterday?

cecelia
not advisable 2 bring toddler 2 bangkok cos it's pretty like hk. not bb/toddler friendly. moreover their food (unless it's jap food) can b very sweet or spicy. when i went in early nov, i bought iced lemon tea fr mac n it tasted like sugared water + a dash of lemon. very hard 2 swallow esp when u r thirsty.

b prepared 2 walk a lot n do take e BTS (their mrt system) cos e jams can b quite bad.

Hi Whitelady

Hope you boy is fine.

Hi erin00

As per my customer, HK is quite cold now. Do enjoy.

Hi Kelly

I have the same tot as u about Piyo... Hehehe.

Hi HoneyB

Nice meeting u again today. Hannah is still so cute. Thks for your help....

Any idea which hotel in Macau is gd. Will be going there in Mar.

Piyo is pregnant??? Ha... Piyo, beta come and clarify...

I'm also very sian of singapore but is also a kia si parent, so only hopping to Sentosa island in dec. However, the hotel package is not cheap man but aiyah, just go there to be pampered.

erin,
So shiok you!! I can't go without Jay le, else every min will think of him. ha. . .

Kelly,
I have not let Jay eat full adult meal yet, he is very choosy in food, not like other babies eat everything we give. A lot of things if he never eat before he just dun wanna even try. Put in his mouth he will 'pui pui pui' *headache* Plus if I give him adult food he eat very little, if porridge he can eat fast and a lot.

Kelly,
Thks for the info....

Piyo,
Me oso got the same FEELING..... ke...ke...

Cocomo,
Wah jay so good har... hope my greedy gal wil have the half of your jay. Cos everything we eat, she always say ai..... or nod her head <faintz>.

Crisann,
Wah....so good har.... just back from bintan now planning for macau.

Hi Cecilia

Crisann also like your gal leh. What we eat she also want. Than hor 1 day she can say mua mua (eat) for more than 100 times. Wana faint.... When we are outing dining people also laugh at her. Cos she kept repeating the word non-stop. V tired need more break. Than wana try letting Crisann taking plane so we plan another trip.

Hi Kelly

Most likely liao lor....

Hi Leia

Your boy is so cute.... The scenery of the playground is nice. Can share where is the place?

Crisann,

Thanks. It's a playground at Braddell View estate. Ordinary playground with some trees surrounding it. I guess because the pics are taken with SLR camera, the background becomes blurred and so it looks more "scenic". :p

Kelly and mummies,
I long time never meet Piyo for lunch liao coz she taken ONE week off for JG class. Prior to her leave she was super busy coz need to settle her work before going on leave. Then Megan was not feeling well these few days with flu and running nose. Preggie is a good news and no need for her to hide, so if she really preggie she will tell us when time comes.

Cecelia,
walau that one call good meh! I rather Jay like Rachel and Crisann, eat and eat and eat. easilier to bring him out also.

Leia,
Jadon so handsome and cheerful!!! Time flies and our little August bao bei really growing up fast!!!

Crisann,
Pai seh, I forgot to ask if you want to have a drink hee...sorry my house was quite messy that day, no time to tidy them up cos my girl refused to take her morning nap. Too bad Crisann was asleep else I'm sure the two girls will love to play with each other ha.

Leia,
Like the pictures, thats a very happy boy, he looks like he is dancing along the streets singing in the first one ha.

Cocomo,
Keep trying to give Jay different types of food else he may become picky next time. As for traveling, no choice also, hubby and I travel alot for work and we thought might as well let Hannah get used to it first haa...

Cecelia,
You're going to Bangkok end Dec? Me also thinking of going there for a short trip but I worry end Dec will be bad timing cos 23Dec is their general election, not sure if there will be any riots...

Crisann,
Are you planning to go to Macau? I'm going to Macau too in Feb during the CNY period, am bringing own family and my hubby's family over to Macau for 2 days and another 2 days in HK.

Leia,
Your yan dao....sure got a lot of catch har....

Cocomo,
u should ask crisann how u feel if ppl lauf at ur gal cos she keep saying the mum....mum... word nonstop. Furthermore, she is not whispering to you hor.... rachelle will get agitated if she dun get what she want and ..... <you>.

cocomo
icic...didnt know megan sick mah. u didnt meet megan & piyo at JG? tot e 3 of u were attending e hol prog. pai seh if i got e info wrong.

of course being preggie is gd news but there were a few mummies who didnt announce until 12wks preggie mah. we'll definitely hope piyo'll announce when she's truly preggie n ready 2 do so.

i did call & sms piyo but no reply leh. was juz worried abt her.

Hi leia,
nice pics of jadon. he's always so cheerful.

hi kelly,
thanks for informing us that crispyapple has popped.

Long time did not come in here for updates.
Had been busy with work.

Updates of charlotte,
She recently start to eat lesser solid. Normally she will finish her food but now she start to eat lesser and will split out her food. Wonder why she develope this kind of act.
Having a very hard time for me to feed her. but lucky that she still drinks her milk.
Even cereal porridge rice and other food all she eat a few 5 spoon and after which she will start splitting out..
She has been walking well at home but she will not want to walk when outside. wonder does any of your baby same as her. how do i train her to walk by herself outside. she just simply don't want to come down and walk and she insist of me to carry her.

Hi cecelia,
Kayden's also the same. always want to eat our food. if dun give him, he'll cry. i'll give it to him if it's healthy.

hi cocomo,
ya lor. i'll miss kayden too. dunno whether both of us will be ok cos i've never spend 1 day away from him. hb's more ok with it as he has to go for reservist b4 and din see us for a couple of days.

hi leia..

Jadon so cutie and handsome.. he seems to be having lots of fun...

hi erin..

zorian also wants to eat whatever we are eating.. if we dun give, he will scream at the top of his lungs...

m sure u will miss kayden alot.. i went to taipei during deepavali weekends without zorian also.. miss him every second... luckily he is well taken care of by my mother in law...

hi catherine24..

zorian also like that.. at home, walk everywhere.. once he is out of our house door, carry all the way.. refuse to come down... even if he does he will be holding us tightly and refuse to walk.. dun know why lah... hmmm....

Hi Catherine,

Try intro her more. Maybe she is teething so she reject. Now our toddlers are 15mths and rice is part of which necessary as they need that to walk well, more energy. Try gv her soup with rice and even she take few spoonful no worries, just encourage her. Solid food is necessary now as nutritionist mention milk unable to provide what solid food is giving now. So 2-3x milk a day still ok.

Nat is walking well and start running! She is a spoilt brat! Outside shopping, she doesnt want tobe hold nor sit in her pram nor carry. When I stand bit far from her she still can wave BYE to me and walk away!!!! Gosh. I had a hard time chasing her esp no.2 inside me is not making my life easy too. Always unwell everyday. I am afraid soon it may affect my work. I think can just hang on till I cant & really my body cant take it, I may just quit & SAHM...

Nat she is teething again i think. Reject water, less milk too. But she still tk her rice, porridge, bread, hotcakes, pasta, cheese. I also cant figure ways to force her drink water liao. Fruit juice she also don't want ans so afraid she constipation again even fruits she still eat.

Can share with me what kind of fruit juice you all gave ur tod? I try those bb jars she also don't want lo.

Kelly,
Last week we have JG but I only brot Jay there Mon, Wed and Fri (my hubby tues and thurs) where Piyo was there thru out the course but most of the time she did not go in the class as only allow one parent in. After the class we left. Not much talking tho. Ya, some ppl will only announce after 12wk, like ME!
You know last time I was preggie with Jay for 2 mths and I attended my hubby cousin's wedding, during that time everyone in his family asking when I intent to have baby, his grandma still give me their 'zhu chuan mi fan' for having baby. I just smile and one month later (12weeks) during CNY only I told them I preggie. The Grandma still tot her 'zhu chuan mi fan' works well on me!! *faint*

But then why suddenly you all have this idea that she's preggie??? Anyone saw her vomit or there is any sign?

Cecelia,
I find it very cute when I saw Megan keep eating and I will tease piyo and Megan . . . however, for me when I said that more envy then to laugh at them. That's why me and Piyo always take this as our topic and we will both laugh. I rather Jay to eat then not to eat lo. Whenever Jay asking for mum mum I will give him 'cheeros' as it is small and easy to satisfy him.

erin,
Since you have decided to go then just GO, dun worry too much. have a nice trip!!!

Cat/kRis,
My Jay also like that, a DRAGON at home but a WORM when go outside. . . face black black, wanted to be carried, scare of stranger and recently we notice he scare of sand and grass! when I let him walk on sand/grass he will SCREAM! jialat ah.

Crispyapple,
CONGRATES!!!! post your BB photo pls. . . .

Hi cynthia,
u can try giving nat fresh fruits. kayden likes apples n papayas very much. i also gave him fruit juice from the jars but he doesn't like it initially. threw away quite a no. of bottles (cos can only keep it for 2 days after opening) before he started to like it. i gave him the heinz apple juice.

I am here!!! kena bombarded dun come in also cannot:p anyone miss me??? hahaha

Hi Crisann, Cecelia, cocomo and erin,
My megan eats NON STOP.. during last week JG class, Cocomo n hubby keeps calling my megan "chi1 bu4 ting2". They even passed those snacks that Jayden can't finish to Megan and Megan finished all of them... so paiseh.. like we never gif her eat..

Here's one pic of her in action with her favourite DORA bottle:

1090884.jpg

And outside, she will go "mum mum" to pple or when she passed by eating places...

I was telling Cocomo good she can eat outside my womb cos she refused to eat when she was in my womb and came out so so small...

Some more pics of her at JG class last week:

Megan during "swimming session"

1090885.jpg

Megan is getting very notti! Screams very loud if she can't get what she wants and very super active, not like a gal.. she even bullied jayden, took one of his toys, left Jayden stunned..

Megan at free play:

1090886.jpg

hi kris,
thanks. i know he'll be in good hands. just hope he won't miss us and can adjust to sleeping at my mum's place at nite.