(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

aidan just went for his 6th mth jab today.. lucky pd said not overweight (yet!) and his weight at 90th-95th percentile liao... he has tried nestle rice cereal and apple puree so far and taking both quite well except dumex rice cereal which he cried while taking it... i guess because dumex tastes bland as it is plain rice without milk content whereas nestle has it...

just to share his "statistics" taken today
age weight height head-circumference
6 mths 9.5kg 69cm 44cm

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Hm. . . this CNY is not a good one for me, I have fever on 1st and 2nd day of CNY due to engorgement. ai. . . till now the lump still not clear yet.

Re solid: I have given Jay Heinz plain rice cereal, Heinz banans cereal, Heinz organic rice cereal, dumex rice cereal, fish porridge and carrot porridge. One day one favour.

I realised my Jay dun finish his milk these few days, dunno if it's because of the solid, bcoz teething soon or bcoz he 'hong sim'?? Bit worry tho. . .

Jokojoko,
I let Jay try Dumex rice cereal just now but he seems not really like it as well. Jay likes Heinz plain rice cereal.

Re: solid
charlotte first few days she is feeding well with her brown rice cereal but when i thicken the the brown rice cereal she starts to reject headache really dunnoe how to feed her liao.

cocomo,

wow, jayden has tried so many foods. Did you introduce one food for at least 3 days before starting on another? This is recommended so as to help detect any source of allergy.

Now, zac is on healthy times brown rice cereal. Stopped Heinz ever since he had a 10-day constipation. Have introduced him: carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin and spinach. Have yet tried fish, mabbe next week when he turns 7 months old.

He's taking to semi-solid quite well, compared to his bro. in the past.

need some advise regarding feeding baby semi-solid food. i have just started introducing rice cereal to my son. will feed him milk and rice cereal during breakfast. i will give him his bottle of milk first, halfway then feed him cereal then finish up his feed with the balance milk.

do i gradually increase his cereal intake until he substitute his morning feed with only cereal?

shld i wait till his morning feed is solely rice creal then introduce semi-solid into his lunch? or can i introduce semi-solid into his lunch together gradually at the same time with breakfast?

thanks for your advise. i think my son is one of the latest to be introduced to semi-solid. and also he actually developed a rash after taking heiz organic rice cereal, so i stopped giving him cereal for some time. will start to give him Nestle rice cereal this weekend

hi bbmum,
i have the same qns as u. i'm also quite blur. he's still only having 1 feed of cereal a day but i'm increasing the amt of cereal for that feed. when do i introduce the cereal in the 2nd feed?

He had some rashes when I started him on Healthy Times rice cereal a couple of days before he reached 6 months. Now, he's taking heinz rice cereal and he's ok.

What time is the gymboree class conducted? forgot liao and no time to look at the previous threads.

BBmum & Erin,
My gal having her semi solid foods 2x. 1st abt 11 am n others abt 5-6pm.

BTW any mummies hd feed their bb porridge? Can share with me the method of cooking. Thx.

anyone received the similac followon samples yet?? can request leh.. I too late liao cos bb is coming 2 yrs old but i doing a marketing project and i need the literature that promotes it leh.. If you have can PM me pls!!

Happy New Year!!

Kelly, just to confirm, the Sunday class is at 3pm right? Just have to print out the page from the link you sent us right? Thanks!

Pups, I printed out 2 copies, can pass a copy to you if you are attending the Sunday class. Btw, your Leon is so cute, like his face, so chubby and handsome.

Mummies, have been feeding my girl Heinz rice cereal for the past week and so far she likes it. I added some steam carrots the other day to her cereal and she happily walloped up all. After her 2 hrs nap, she woke up throwing out all her cereal with the carrot bits, wonder if she is unable to digest the carrots or is this an allergic reaction? (She has no other rashes or whatsoever thou). Gave her some cereal with potatoes the other day and she didn't throw up after that. Anybody has the same experience?

Hi Cecelia,
My boy is feeding on porridge. I add 'Guo" fish and diced carrot. Lastly, add a drop of light soya sauce. After the porridge is soft and puree type, i stir and press till very smooth. So far, he has his porridge for lunch and he can finish one bowl.

Cecelia,

I used the slow cooker to cooked the porridge. If cooking carrots, pumpkin (root vege), I will throw the vege in and cook with the porridge. As for leafy vege, I will blanched them in water instead b4 serving.

b4 serving, the vege will be put in blender with some water from the porridge. However, when the baby is about 7-8 months, I will start chopping the vege instead.

As for meat which I will intro when baby is 7 months old, I will chopped chicken and pork finely and add them before serving. As for fish, will steam them instead and mash with fork, then add in porridge. Better to cook fish separate from porridge so that bones will not get into the porridge.

Dino,

no salt (soya sauce including) b4 one year cos baby's kidney is not ready to handle salt. In addition, baby's fine with bland food.

help! my boy has some kind of rash...
1 type, is on his left scalp... just a bit red and sometimes has a few small bumps, I think this is due to the heat... but he tends to scratch it very badly when drinking milk..
oh by the way, my boy sweats pretty badly when drinking milk...do u al have the same problem?

2nd rash, just popping out today, its little small red dots on both arms... is this like an allergic reaction?
today he had banana puree for breakfast ??

Hi Augustmum,
Zac also has constipation from heinz rice cereal? I was sms-ing some Aug mums here cos Megan did not poo for 5 days ever since she is on the rice cereal fortified with iron... I was desperate till the 6th day morning she pooed! thank goodness! thinking of changing cereal to see other foods' effects on her...

1. Is it normal for babies to not poo for a few days after intro semi solids? I only intro about 5 teaspoons of rice cereal for each breakfast and lunch and top up with milk feed lei... so little only also can coz constipation ah?

2. Do you feed milk STRIAGHT AWAY after feeding a little semi slids in the beginning? or do you wait for say 10-15mins later b4 gifing your babies milk? or wait about 1-2 hrs later?

3. This may be a stupid qn but how much teaspoons do we increase to for rice cereal as max for a meal? I mean aga aga? I wanna get a feel how much a baby can take although I know each baby varies in appetite...

4. After testing rice cereal, what do we gif next? any advise?

5. If I wanna intro veg to baby, which vegs apart from carrots would be good to start with? and do we cut until very very small pieces? and which month good to start? 6 or 7 months?

Hi cocomo,
your lump still there ah? I gif you the thomson no you got call not? go c k else wait get mastitis no fun liao lei!

Hi mummies going for gym trial on sat,
I printed an extra copy of the leaflet, anyone one (apart from cocomo), pls let me know

oh ya, pls bring camera hor! cos this time round, kelly not ard haha!

hi jasmine,
there's a free gymboree trial lesson tmr and on sun. we've submitted the names to kelly. perhaps u can sms kelly to find out more.

there's also a free aquaducks trial lesson on 3rd and 10th Mar but the trial lesson on the 3rd is fully booked liao. perhaps u want to join me for the 10th march lesson.

hi kelly and pups,

hi piyo,
can introduce potatoes, spinach, brocolli, pumpkin to the baby. i've not introduced any cos he wasn't feeling last week.

dear mummies,

Long time din post here already. Ever since school started, hardly have time to breathe.

i am also giving my gal heinz rice cereal, add inside her milk powder. She got no problem poo poo. I still remember how hard i tried to find a suitable milk powder for her, and now currently she is drinking dumex mamil gold, which enable to poo everyday. about twice per day. Enfalac gives her diarrhea and similac gives her constipation.

have not introduce my gal to any other food yet. maybe will try pumpkin next week. Then try another food the wk after next.

It is best to introduce one food at a time, and try that same food for 1 week 1st b4 introducing another, so that we will know if there is any allegy

Piyo,
I also noticed that my gal now poo every 3-4 days after starting on semi-solid. Was quite worried initially but her poo was not hard so I think its still ok.

I usually don't give milk to my girl straight after cereal. Will feed her after 2 hrs or before she takes her afternoon nap.

Hi Erin,
If we gif brocolli, do you gif the stem part smashed into smaller pieces or only the "flowery part"?

hi honeyb,
Currently I am only intoducing about a few teaspoons of food to her so I still need to feed milk and can't skip that feed yet. Should I still wait for 1-2hrs still?

hi <font color="0000ff">piyo</font>,
my reponse to your queries:

1. Is it normal for babies to not poo for a few days after intro semi solids? I only intro about 5 teaspoons of rice cereal for each breakfast and lunch and top up with milk feed lei... so little only also can coz constipation ah?

<font color="0000ff">I feed Jadelle only 4 teaspoons of heinz on breakfast only (she is younger then megan by 2 weeks..) and i find she straining abit to poo and make loud urhh urhh noise! so, yes, it is possible to have constipation.. as long as poo is soft and not like hard pellets, it is fine. remember to give water/ milk after solids..

2. Do you feed milk STRIAGHT AWAY after feeding a little semi slids in the beginning? or do you wait for say 10-15mins later b4 gifing your babies milk? or wait about 1-2 hrs later?
<font color="0000ff">I latch jadelle on first, then i feed her cereal min. 1/2 hr later. After feed, i wait 10min, i give her plain water via sippy cup (me training her on this now..) and then 1/2 hr later, i latch her on again.</font>

3. This may be a stupid qn but how much teaspoons do we increase to for rice cereal as max for a meal? I mean aga aga? I wanna get a feel how much a baby can take although I know each baby varies in appetite...

<font color="0000ff">the heinz cereal box say to increase until bb is taking 2 tablespoons of cereal that isn't too liquidified.. for me, i gauge that 1 tablespoon ~3oz of food, so 2 table spoons = 6 oz of food.. you are replacing the milk feed, so if megan takes 180ml, u have to slowly intro as a guide, min. 2 tablespoons of main dish (cereal, porridge,), vegetables & fruits.. try to aim 6 tablespoons.. give & take a little..

4. After testing rice cereal, what do we gif next? any advise?
<font color="0000ff">i have just started on apple puree. I Introduce new items in morning. Those that pass the morning test, u can introduce into lunch time & dinner time. I will be moving to steam pumpkin and pear and banana followed by pureed green bean and potatoes and carrots and spinach.. each new dish will take 4 days.. If you want, can introduce different type of high carbo dishes too, like brown rice, porridge, etc.</font>

5. If I wanna intro veg to baby, which vegs apart from carrots would be good to start with? and do we cut until very very small pieces? and which month good to start? 6 or 7 months?
<font color="0000ff">vegetables start from later part of 6 months bah.. for me.. cos it seems harder to digest. I will start with green beans, potatoes, carrots, pumpkin.. all i will steam/ boil and puree in blender. i feed bb with the mix then balance will freeze it for MIL to use.
End of 7 months, i will start to mix all that into porridge for jadelle.. then will start to introduce meat like fish, mince meat..(MIL prefer porridge!</font>

<font color="0000ff">erin</font>,
i interested in aquaducks on 10th march.. who i inform hah?

Dino,
Thx for ur technique...

Augustmum,
Thank you for the cooking technique n sodium reminder as mil asking whether can she add marmite to my gal porridge. I will hv to remember to tell her no... nowadays keep forgetting things.

Long time never come in and so many posts..anyway gong xi fai cai....

Butter,
wow u r going to be a SAHM...so nice....how did u manage to convinve yr hubby and wat makes u decide to do it? R u still getting a maid then?

Kelly,
A thousand apologies...think the gymboree class i cant attend last min coz i got something on wif the in laws wich i can push..Sigh...

Piyo,

Ya, zac has constipation with heinz, mabbe it's due to the added iron. On Healthy Times brown rice now, but do not wish to feed brown rice every morning.

You may try to steam pear and puree it, then add to the rice cereal. It helps to prevent constipation.

think Jasmine has given a very detailed introduction to semi-solid feeding. Agree with all her points.

As to how much baby will take, it's thru trial and error. If today baby finishes all the cereal, then try to increase the amt the next day. If baby refuses to take a certain amount today, then try to reduce it the next day. Watch yr child's cue.

I won't intro broccoli so soon, hard to digest and cause gas. If you use broccoli, you may steam the broccoli (stem and florets) and then puree it. Alternatively, you may just chop and use the florets.

Piyo,

a summary to wat zac has taken so far:

1) brown rice cereal with pureed pear
2) porridge with spinach (totally green)puree
3) porridge with carrot puree
4) sweet potato puree
5) pumpkin puree

will start on the following next week:

1) pototo puree
2) porridge with spinach (the red type)
3) apple puree
4) avocado puree
and mabbe
5) treadfin porridge

Piyo,
I feed my girl cereal when she wake up from her morning nap. I also give her water right after her cereal to clear her throat. I supposed with the cereal and water, she will feel full for the time being, actually I also wonder how long it takes for the cereal to digest compared to milk hee...I watch for her cue after that, if she is sleepy or looks hungry (usually after 2 hrs) than I will give her milk.

Anyway, you may want to wait awhile before giving Megan milk. Like Jasmine said, slowly increase the cereal intake so that she is used to solid and also not to let her pine for milk right after food incase she get used to it, my girl is currently taking about 1.5 tablespoon of cereal.

I read somewhere that we shouldn't feed baby milk before her cereal because baby will feel full faster with so much liquid in the tummy and won't be able to take in more solid and thus the body will not absorb much goodies from the solid and puree which they need at this stage.

ya honeyB,

i think give milk b4 feed is only if bb very hungry.. and only to take edge off hunger so bb still interested in solid food.. most important is to make sure bb dun link solid food with anything negative.. otherwise, will become fussy eater..

My girl will be turning 6 months on end of this month and would like to start her on solid. Can i hv some advise on how should i get start as i believe most of ur bbs are more than 6 months now and should be quite experince in this area.

Thank u so much...

Hi Leia!

me using the moulinex hand blender (sama like the philips or braun hand blender).. i originally buy it for cake mixing before i preggie!! keke.. it has a puree/ chopping function.. so juz nice and parts very easy to wash.. but i also have a super old national blender..those like a jug with stand type..

Hi Leia,

I hate washing as well so I use Braun 300W handheld blender. Just have to wash the blender and the plastic container. In fact, you can also just use the blender and directly with the porriage pot so even better only 1 thing to wash.

hi cocomo,
aidan sometimes also doesn't finish his milk.. guess about 10-20% full from the rice cereal... usually i feed him rice cereal 2hrs after milk feed (just increased to 2 tbsps)...

hi leia,
i also use braun handheld blender... can detach the "head" for easy washing... same as amy mentioned, can just blend the food into the bowl directly...

Talking abt feeding semi solid to baby. I tink im a lousy mum..i just anyhow feed her coz i realli dunno hw..hvnt even gave her porridge..only gave Earth's Best rice cereal mix wif milk powder mix wif water & smetimes i oso mix in Fruit puree all at the same time & feed her. Oso tried giving her bottled Vege & meat eg. Salmon with Spinach, Chicken with Carrot. For fruit wise, oso bottled form..gave her banana with apple puree or fruit cocktail.

Dun even know if im doin it rite..i feed her lunch & dinner on these & 2 milk feed a day..dats it.

HoneyB

Thanks for printing out
I'll see you Sunday ya.

Leia

I bought the Munchkin hand grinder thing, about $16.90 i think, so far seems not bad. this morning i made pureed apple for leon, i just steamed until the apple was mushy, then i mashed with a fork, seems ok. also have tried mashed banana for leon, with a fork, seems ok too. may try mashed avocado next.

Sharon,
Thanks for the aprica link.

Augustmum,
Yes, for each type of new food I given Jay 4 days continuously then introduce another new one. But according to your menu for Zac next week, seems like you will be given 1 new food per day (coz I see 5 new one next week)?

Butter,
How's your boy now? His rashes caused by food allergy? If you suspect if due to banana then you shd stop, after his rashes recovered then you try banana again to test.

Leia,
I also use Braun 300W handheld blender. Find it very handy and easy to wash too.

if i have a blender currently, do i have still have to get a separate one for blending my baby's food?

hi jasmine,
u can inform piyo abt the aquaducks swim trial. i haven't buy any swimwear for kayden yet. must quickly go and buy tmr.

hi augbaby,
will not get to see u again.
next time then.

hi butter8,
my son also super scare of heat. sometime in the afternoon when weather is hot, we still need to on air-con for him. otherwise he will get heat rash very easily. he even got white spots on his neck and pd said it's caused by sweat.

hi piyo,
i read some where saying that when first introduce semi-solid, shld do so in btw milk feed. meaning feed baby milk halfway, then give him cereal then finish up the balance milk.
my son still poo as per normal, but his stool is harder than normal.

Kelly/Piyo,
Thanks! I rushed to see Mrs Wong just now straight from Msia. After suffered for few days, now finally ok liao. But she suspects is infection so gotta observe for 2-3 days.

Katherine,
You can start with plain cereal. First day give 1 teaspoon of cereal mix with small amount of BM/water/FM (till it become pasty), second day increase to 2 ts. . . increase amt of cereal until replace one milk feed (normally 2-3 tablespoon of cereal). I will give abt 2OZ water half to one hour after feeding semi-solid to avoid constipation.

hi kelly & mummies,
ntuc having nepia promo: 2 packs for $26.95... cheapest during their promo...

just brot aidan for his 2nd swim... this time not too bad, slowly let him get used to the water then put him into the pool... not as scared as the first time which he nearly cried... btw, should we buy the swimming cap to prevent water from sipping into their ears?

cocomo,

I thought 2oz of water sounds like a lot leh...

Anyway, this is what I just read on offering water to bb...

For babies past the newborn stage

* Too much water can interfere with breastfeeding because it fills baby up so that he nurses less. Babies need the nutrition and calories in breastmilk to grow - water has none of these.
* Breastmilk has all the water your baby needs, even in very hot weather.
* When your 4-6 month old baby is learning to use a cup, giving him a few sips of water a couple of times a day (no more than 2 ounces per 24 hours) is fine and fun.
* Once baby starts solids, you might want to give him a few sips of expressed milk or water with his solids - some babies need this to prevent constipation.

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/baby-water.html