(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Happy New Year and have a great hols.

Any mummies going for the free swim trial on 10th march? seems like i'm the only one.

Hi augbaby,
jayden can sit very steadily liao hor. kayden still cannot. sit for a while then topple liao.

hi pups,
leon is very cheery. let's be thankful that our babies are healthy and growing well. My colleague might be having a miscarriage soon. realised that we are really a lucky lot.

hi foony,
ur boy so cute. he's very chubby leh.

hi piyo,
i made a mistake in kayden's birth date. typed wrongly and din realise until my sis pointed it out to me. His birthdate shd be 5th Aug. If there's nobody else except for me for that date, then cancel my booking ok. so sorry abt it.

jesline
did u ask me abt bumbo seat? i faintly remember u did n wanted 2 reply 2 u. let me know if u did. pai seh if it slipped my mind. i'll post a reply here if u like 2 know.

augustmum
if i not wrong, i hv a brand new pair of knee guard. let me go check n if it's around, how can i pass it 2 u?
my jaw dropped cos i was in shock over zac's leaping forward. very amazing!

pupsandcups
is leon sitting on a weighing machine at home? if yes, where did u get it fr? looks rather ancient.

hi kelly

yep it's at home. my MIL kept it from the time my hubby was a baby. another day i post a picture of his COT even that my MIL kept. my MIL lives in the past mah, look at her values. oops i know im not suppose to goss about her anymore this new year :p wat more during CNY heehee

Harlow all!

How's baby's first lunar new year?????

Kelly,

Thanks. mabbe can snail mail the knee guards to my add. We live so far apart and have two kids, difficult to arrange meeting. Tell me how much, transfer $$$ to yr a/c

Everybody,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

augustmum
no need 2 pay me lah...i juz need 2 go find e knee guards asap 4 zac 1st. i know it's lying around somewhere cos i juz saw it b4 CNY.

pupsandcups
tell me abt complaining abt MIL during CNY. i've done so n not feeling guilty abt it. u cannot imagine how many blood vessels i've burst on e 1st day of CNY.

Happy CNY! gong xi fa cai!!!

I think one of the mummies ask me about bathing after the trial. yes, they have facilities for babies to bath and clean themselves up after the trial so dun worry

hi pups,
leon is so ccuutee and he is such a happy boy! where did you get the weighing machine?

Hi erin,
No worries! I purposely reserved 2 timeslots in case we have more than 6 babies who wanna go for a trial!! I will still put it here so that we can fill up the next slot okie!

Hi babyboy,
It's 30mins and in Suntec.Details of the veue, will share later cos all in office :p

AQUADUCKS SWIMMING TRIAL (FREE!)
3RD MAR SAT 2.30PM (max 6 babies)

1. Baby's name: Megan Tay
DOB: 15 Aug 06
Mummies contact no : Pls PM me.

2. Baby's name: Leon
DOB: 14 Aug 06

3. Baby's name: Jayden Gow
DOB: 02 Aug 06

4. Baby's name: Hannah Lim
DOB: 21 Aug 06

5. Baby's name: Jayden Chia
DOB: 6 Aug 06

6. Baby's name: Jadon
DOB: 29 Aug 06

10TH MAR SAT 2.30PM (max 6 babies)

1. Baby's name: Kayden Tan
DOB: 4 Aug 06

2. Baby's name:
DOB:

3. Baby's name:
DOB:

4. Baby's name:
DOB:

5. Baby's name:
DOB:

6. Baby's name:
DOB:

Hi Piyo / Erin,
I'm interested to join the Aquaducks trial on 10 Mar if there are vacancies, giving priority to the regular mommies here.
My baby boy's name is Max. DOB: 26 Aug 06.

FEEDING SOLIDS

can anyone provide me the link to the other thread in this forum where mommies chat about feeding baby? can't seem to locate it.

just started leon for the past nearly a week now, and he's taking v well to it! im feeding him heinz or nestle rice cereal, sometimes with banana and so far so good. wah poo poo super smelly tho, can peng san. i feed him once at ard 11am and then around 5pm. and been feeding him more and more, i think now it's about 2 tableespoons at least at each feed.
thing is, not sure what the next step is...

FEEDING SOLIDS

seems like every bb takes very well 2 eating solids except my edward who simply refused all sorts of solids fr rice cereal to pureed fruits to porridge. headache!

kelly,
poor thing re: MIL, me also same. sigh. i really think i will grow wrinkles, lose blood from dealing with her. but this is how i reason it out, my mom is the like super nice westernized type of mommy, so it's not that my MIL is 'bad', but she is just not anything that i'm used to at all. this is my 'zen' reasoning ... but i dunno lah, i also find it hard to deal with, n we argue abt it all the time. SIGH. i dunno abt u gals, but sometimes i get a bit of CNY blues.

pupsancups,
LOL abt ur zen reasoning. i also try 2 give myself some kinda reasoning y my MIL is juz so different fr my own mum (my MIL also has a daughter wat...i dun understand y she behaves tis way 2wards me but treats her daughter in a betta manner). no matter how i try 2 reason it out myself, nothing can deny e fact tat my MIL isnt easy 2 handle n definitely isnt easy 2 b wif. me was a lil miserable during CNY too bcos of ILs' issues.

pupsandcups,
next step is 2 introduce a variety of food such as different types of fruits and veg.

i'll email u a doc which i typed out fr the Super Baby Food book on which type of food u can intro at which mth.

Thanks kelly!

like right now, i wanna give him apple, but i dunno should i boil it or steam it? give on its own? mix it w rice cereal and BM? i got the feeding your child right book, but doesnt help me much ...

re: MIL, mine is also without a doubt hard to get along with. but my hubby fave line is 'it's just the way she talks, the way she is, her intentions are always good' maybe im petty or sensitive. but for eg, some of her relatives said leon looks like me, she OBVIOUSLY sulked, and then later on, says all his good looks are from my hubby. i mean! hello, u think your son Andy Lau issit?? she has ZERO pr skills. i know she will never think im good enough for my hubby, i can't stand it. aiya cant stand it, i have to let go some steam and complain abt my MIL, else i will die from high blood pressure.

Do u all stay wif ur MIL ?...When i return to SG, i will stay wif her....cant imagine wat will happen siah..tinking of it make me stress.

PupsNcups-My MIL oso tinks im nt gd enuff for her dear son..we smemore start off on a bad start...i hope nex time i wun be a bad MIL i hv a son..

happy cny! back to work today. so sian.....

just started giving baby heiz organic rice cereal during the cny weekend, but he developed rashes on his body. will stop giving him cereal and wait till rashes recover b4 trying out other brands of rice cereal.

staying wif ILs are not easy, especially if you are staying at their hse. sometime i will also wonder like MH whether wat type of MIL i will be like in future. hee hee....

Hi pups,
i understand how u feel. my mil always say my boy looks like the father. when others says that he resembles me, she will always say "si meh?". she will say my boy looks just like my hb.

my hb also says it's just the way she talks and behaves lor. kept asking me to ignore her but yesterday, she's really too much. i was playing with my boy on the sofa when i sensed that somebody was staring at me. true enough, my mil was staring at me from the side. I carried my boy and asked her whether she wants to carry. she din reply but carried my boy all the way into her room. she put him on her bed and then turned and looked at me to see how i respond. of course, i din say anything. i just walked back to my room. my hb saw what happened and later apologised to me lor.

btw, she's always staring from one corner. if i'm in my room with my boy, she'll be staring at me and my boy from the doorway. told my hb and he says she's smiling at my boy. but can't she make a sound or something? so scary.

my mil din say i'm not good enuf for my hb lah but she always implies that those who can't cook is not a good wife lor. say my hb very ke lian. next time have to eat outside food. not nutritious. Please lah. how can i cook? by the time i reach home, what time liao? even if i have the time to cook, do i dare to cook? she always say her cooking is fantastic. can criticise her own daughters' cooking. my sils are full-time housewives and they have been cooking for more than 10 yrs. if they get criticised, what more abt me?

sorry for venting my frustrations here during CNY but a bit can't stand it liao. don't dare to say too much to my hb cos scared he's in a difficult position.

erin00
your MIL sounds EXACTLY EXACTLY like mine, i'm not kidding. she does the critical stare from a distance too, and like you, i will NEVER DARE cook cos she is like the perfect cook. she doesn't say i'm not good enough, but its q apparent. i really am running out of patience. it's jus a total clash of personalities. she always tells me about my hubby being the top grades, can even take out dusty old school report cards for me to see...

BTW, any of your babies know how to ren(4) ren(2) ie recognise people? i think leon does, cos you know what, he quite often dislikes MIL.

hi babyboy,
have pm u the payment details for the swim diapers.

hi piyo,
can change my boy's birthdate to 5th aug. made a typo error the other day. thanks.

morning and Happy new year Mummies!

re: mil
pups, do you stay with yr mil? i do. and its nightmare. she did something so horrible last nite that i cant believe myself. she was feeding sil's daughter ice cream, the girl just & finally recovered from a bad cough. does one need to have Common sense to know NOT to feed ice cream to a 2yr old aft recovering frm a cough? and she was feeding SPOONFULS of it. i was watching from across the dining table. next thing happen-girl's father saw and shouted. Best part- mil LIED through her teeth saying that she never fed the girl and the girl was just holding her bowl!!!!#&$*(#&$#*&$ the girl had ice cream all over her mouth and hands!

FYI- mil is living with us & is taking care of my boy!!! i was shocked when she lied! how can she? i cant imagine how many times she lied to me already on my boy's feeding, the things he do at home....

i too have 1001 stories of monster-in-law stories...make my blood boil till its making my life miserable..esp since i have to see her almost 24/7! need to vent it out since hub doesnt think the same way i do...

pups - yeah, i think to a certain extent Keiran does know how to recognise ppl..problem is that Keiran smiles at everyone..so at times, i cant tell still.....

Erin - yes, received..thanks!

augustmum - sorry, just saw yr post...dont think i can mail the swim diapers to you and reach u by tmrw...u living ard redhill area? i can pass it to you, if u want....

MIL!

This is always a big issue! Everyone facing n sometime really make us blow up more..
No doubt hw much we do, it seems tat we can never be right or always in wrong.

My Mil sometime good sometime bad. Like 1st day CNY, went over to il relative hse. Den natalie doesnt wan mil to carry but stick to mi she show tat F face & she throw Natalie aside & let mi take care n i don even gotta chance to eat etc. I don mind all these but til 2nd day & til y.day i went over mil hse she stil give mi tat face. She also always have ebahit of staring at mi WHAT i am doing! Always like to comment this n tat BUT Y don she comment at her daughter whom doesnt do a bit of hsework etc? JUS becos she earn more than me and I CANT GIVE HER MORE IS IT?

Well, I console myself. BB wan to stick to me cos IM her mum. N also i wil understand MIL feelig cos she been looking after natalie while i work so she feel more bonding with her...

Sometime realli feel tat grandparents OVER PAMPER BB... we as parents stil have a limit.

Haiz.. learn to close 1 eye bah..
ILs prob NEVER NEVER can solve ....

kelly, i wished the ils were not staying with us either! only son in spore so i dont have a choice and hub dont have the heart to tell them to live on their own. so i am stuck. i keep thinking of moving back to my mum's. big sigh.
look on the brighter side that you dont have to stay with them...and see them day and night....

pups - i think Leon resembles you more actually...almost like 'ang ku kueh'...hehe..

hi mummies, really sympathise with all of u when i heard the horror stories abt yur mils. most impt is yur hsbd's support and yur babies smiles, so hang in there!

kelly, so when edward starts recognizing pp, so u have problems bringing him outside, esp to pp's house? my emma will scream whenever strangers look at her in the eyes or when we step into other pp's house... so awful, duno wat to do. hv to keep bringing her out for little walks.

I don't know if my boy does really recognise people at this stage... though I suspect not quite. He's still friendly with almost anyone who is friendly with him and approached him gently. He gets frightened off by over enthusiasm and loud chattering noises.

He definitely knows me and hb, and my parents who are taking care of him on weekdays. For now, he is generally ok when other people carrying him, though it's also very much a mood thingy, and how the stranger approached him.

hello there, Gong Xi Fa Cai!!!

oooh problems with ILs, the never ending topic...
hiaz... my MIL has NEVER looked after, or even carried my boy for more then 1 minute since the day he was born... she visited me once - just after he was 1 month, and she made a comment about me not knowing how to carry baby... hiazzz then during this CNY when we brought my boy over on 1st day, she watched me change his his diaper on her small sofa, and now he tends to like to roll n kick, then she say - hmmm like i dun really know how to change diaper!!!! xiao hor..i change and carry every day, how not to know??? no brain one.. sorry sorry get angry during CNy :p

My own mum may not know much about taking care of bb since she did not take care of any other baby other then me, but she is not too critical.. she just tries in her own way to help me, but with the feeding, haha she cant keep to the one type of food a week, i gues she finds it fun to experiment... since baby is ok, i close 1 eye..

kelly could you share with me the file on super foods? maybe i can learn something there.
and when i quit my job i can do all the foods for him

Hi mummies & babies,
\red {HAPPY CNY!
}

Juz checking, how much milk is ur baby drinking now? And how often is the feed?
And if mix formula milk with cereal, how much cereal should we add?

Not sure if my boy is drinking too little, he's still at 120ml with a teaspoon of cereal every 3hr. He seems to have an built-in weighing scale, will either auto stop at 60ml or 120ml. If stop at 60ml, we gotta let him rest 30mins b4 trying again.

Anyway, i'm feeding my boy Healthy Times's brown rice cereals. So far, have not encounter any problems with rashes etc. He seems to enjoy it.

My boy is also ok with other people carrying him but he wont smile at them. hehe, he'll show his black black face at them.

babyboy,

hee...the message about mailing is for kelly. Kelly is giving me a pair of knee guards which I have yet thanked her for

Kelly,

thanks for the knee guards.

pus, erin, kelly,

most pple in their generation think they have eaten more salt than we have eaten rice. To survive, just listen and smile. it works
btw, must learn to forget it and not take it to heart...

ningyo,

My boy takes 6.5oz (EBM) every 3 hourly - 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm. Normally, he'll nap in the day and so he'll mostly only need 3 feeds when I'm not around. When I reach home at 7pm, I'll let him latch on thereafter. When he latch on at night, it's definitely less than 6.5oz per feed. Max 4oz I reckon.

While he takes 6.5oz, I believe he has the capacity to take in more. He's now 5.75 months old and is still on TBM. No other supplements yet.

My boy normally finishes his bottled EBM but my mom feedback that he can get rather distracted at times, looking here and there. When that happens, my dad will come around to sing to him so he'd focus on my dad and continue sucking on his bottle. V occasionally, he'll refuse to finish his milk (and not because he's sleepy). My mom will take a break and get my dad to come round and play with him. After playing for about 15mins, continue to give him his unfinished milk, and he'll normally finish it. My dad is apparently quite good at "conning" my boy. :D

OMG..such terrible MILs r out there...U all r scaring me siah...dunno hw my MIL will be.

If such things (like wat u all experienced) happen to me, i dunno hw i wld tahan & behave coz im qte patient wif my MILs crazy temper..

I tink MIL will tink dat the DIL is nt so good if tey dunno hw to cook..but pls lor..nw wat era liao..dual income family.dun expect us mothers to WORK,COOK, DO Hsework & Take care of the family mah..tink we wat..slaves ar..so many roles to portray..can go berserk leh.

Babyboy - Same like u, my hb is the only son so bo bian hv to stay wif his mum..in fact i dun mind staying wif MIL as long as she is nice & dun interfere wif the upbringing of my kid(s).

MH, hahah...i dont mind staying with MIL if she talks less and NOT pretend like she knows everything or even makes things out differently then how it should be... simple.
but that doesnt seem to be the case.

Hi Leia
I have PM u my address on the dvd.. Did u receive?? Didn't hear from u.

Talking abt MIL.. I also very angry with her. On the 1st day of CNY, I went to hse visiting and return to my MIL hse. She cooked food for everyone except for my son. She cooked for her daughter's kid porridge and never cooked for Kayden. She added fish and pumpkin to the porridge for her. I told my hb and he went to asked her how come never cook for our baby. She said he can eat mah?? Urggh. Wah lah. I told my hb, the pumpkin is I buy one, why cannot eat?? The fish cannot eat, but the pumpkin baby can eat. I just dun like that she cooked for her daughter's kid and dun cook for him. I also told her that my sister's friend sis-in-law feed her baby eggs. Then got allergy. Head, nose, hands and even heart swollen. Need to be hospitalised. U know what is her reply, Ah yoh... her daughter's daughter very young eat already..also ok.. I told her Eat already..No allergy okay..If anything happened how?? &#%%^&*)

HI kelly
Can i have a copy of the doc too?? My email is [email protected]. Thank you.

Thanks Amy.

Hmm, leon has a preference already i think. he loves pureed apples, but he doesnt seem so interested in bananas.

leon is initially weary of strangers. but once they smile at him, esp in the lift, he'll smile back pretty soon. with my MIL, well objectively speaking, (as opposed to saying he just doesnt like her), i think he can sense the tension in the air when she is around, and also her voice isn't the v high pitched baby baby type, so he often doesn't take well to her. i take leon out q a lot, so overall he does quite well with strangers.

is Healthy Times only available at Brown Rice Paradise? I wanna buy for Leon too. any of you gals tried the Eu Yan Sang brown rice? any feedback? i have tried leon on Nestle Rice Cereal ( had some sample packs tho not keen on the brand), Heinz Rice Cereal, and Heinz organic rice cereal, so far he's alright with them all.

Gong Xi Fa Cai

Anyone heard the news on the organic bb's food which is poisonous. Apologize to post such unpleasant news on my first cny posting.

Re: MIL. Me oso gt endless stories abt her. Maybe world will be peace without them

hello everyone

Ladies! I feel so relieved and excited! I spoke to my boss about stopping work - looks like I will be a SAHM soon!!!!!! I can't believe it..
Dear SAHM, please help me out hehehehe i will be a total freaky mum for the 1st few weeks hehehehe

pupsncups,
ryan's a lil the same as leon... he sometimes will start to cry if people suddenly pop out at him and start talking loudly to him... but when they step back and smile he will start to smile back... most times he let's strangers carry him for quite a while, but for some strange faces, one look he cried, but very few... maybe those faces scary to him..one was a white haired man and another baldy guy with big glasses hahahaha

can i ask then, when going out, tho ryan started solids, when i go shopping etc, i just give him milk.. should i start packing semi solid foods too? say if it happens to be lunch time?
if so, how do you recommend to do it? such a silly mum here... thx :p

pupsandcups
can i pls sell 2 u e HT cereal? i hv 1pack of oatmeal & 1pack of brown rice cereal. expiry 4 both is aug07. edward's not eating n i wont b giving him cereal anymore. will start him straight on porridge, ABC pasta, noodles, etc.

if u r keen, i'll pass them 2 u tis sun.

leia, honeyhaven,
i'll email 2 u2 once i find e doc.

jasmine,
Earth's best is poisionous?
Keiran had a jar of apple puree already......#&$*)#(*$()#

Any more information about it or where i can find info on the article?

GONG XI FA CAI to all the mommies & babies here!

Welcome butter to the world of SAHM! hehe^^

pups & butter,
Denise behaves in the same manner, she'll turn and study the face of the person carrying her and starts making noise, and immediately wriggles and kicks happily the moment she sees me. if i dun carry her back, she'll shriek! funny thing is, she doesn't want them to carry but very willing to smile back when teased...so can play but no touch hahaha

Regarding MIL, i can't say much bcos mine treats me very well so i'm one of those few lucky ones. However, i must admit no matter how there's bound to be times when we have a little conflict(we both super straightforward type, can't hold back our mouth) but after we said it out, we'll treat as nothing has happened, basically we dun hold grudges against each other...makes life happier and easier for both of us.

My heart still goes out to all the mommies who have to face their "MOM"STER-in-law, i do know how obnoxious they can get, i have an aunt who's just like that! sympathise her daughter and son in law...