(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

I do agreed that those kids that can do things like read, identify and talk at age of 1 or some even 7mth is superb. But please understand that every child is unique. I am sure most of us here will want to provide the best in everything to our own abilities, provided that the child is able to follow and enjoy what they are going thru. At the end of the day, I felt that the most important this is character building and growing up healthly.

It doesn't make a difference if a child start reading, identify or running at the age of 7 mth or 1 year old. Coz at the end of the day, they will reach the same milestone at about about 3 to 7 years old. Unless you are telling me that, "ok, my kid is a genius, at the age of 7mth he can talk, run or walk on their own, I am sending them out to work now." There is no point stressing over such stuff, if the kids happend to pick up faster, good, congrats!! What is the point of comparing? Unless you are telling me by learning so much at a faster age will CONFIRM make him a BILLIONAIRE, CEO, Minister etc...then maybe we should have 2nd thoughts. If not, let's just sit back, relax, let our kid learn at their own pace, and watch them grow up healthly.

I must admit I'm quite scared that my girl will lose out if I don't do all the SM/GD stuff..but also very tired after work to do anything..so procrastinate and procrastinate and hope that as long as Arin is playing happily, it will be alright.

But I also know that in working life, the piece of paper and whether a person is a scholar or not, makes a big difference to how smooth the person's career path will be. So I also want to give my gal an advantage where possible.

There's a story that I read once upon a time in a newspaper article about this journalist's friend who believed in letting his kids play and play and when the kid entered preschool, he did not know his alphabets and the other kids laughed at him. The kid went home crying as asked the daddy (the journalist's friend) why daddy never teach him.

I wasn't even married when I read the article then, but somehow the story stuck to my mind till now and I always have this fear that I'm not doing as much as I could for my girl....sigh.

CHM,
u've got a point there too. can't be too extreme right? sometimes I wonder, if last time had SM/GD thing.. wouldn't life be great if I had photographic memory? would i have done like superbly well for my exams? no need to study n juz flip thru the books! shiok ah. i've always envied those kids who just have to read thru once n 'get it'.

Hi bubble,
you've got mail!

Yenny,
Dun worry! Xavier's health should have priority over everything else!

Update on KINDERMUSIK TRIAL

DAte: 22 April 07 (Sun)
TIme: 1200-1245 (45mins)
Cost: $22.91 (pls trf to my POSB Savings acct 107-17175-4)

1) ylc - paid
2) chm - paid
3) julie - paid
4) kloe - paid
5) brambles - paid
6) poppy - paid
7) Jul04 - pending/paid
8) Zlia - paid
9) Isis
10) Wendy
11) Hong
12) Bubble

sorry to intrude...i am from the June thread..i am currently organising trial for My Gym @ Great world & Marine parade oso..trying to get the min no. to start a private trial class....GW charge $29.50 & MP $20..let me koe ya...

Is reassuring to know that different babies reach their milestone at diff stages. I was a little concerned when I went for the recent TT class and my boy was the only one that is still not crawling....

Now I know to treasure the time I have with him and as long as he is healthy, I guess I should not ask for more....

My girl got "white-tougue" guess from drinking milk. What's the effective way to get rid of it? I use wet towel to wipe her tongue but just can't seem to get much of it.

kin, tks. ll ask my PD abt HEPA

Z-Lia, the Singulair is abt 3 bucks per tab! you gotta buy for your kids? Your PD must be smiling all the way to bank. kekeke

PM ya sure ll say hi if we bump into each other in CP.

Peach, choc?! OMG can faint. My family has tried giving all sorts of stuff to my kids but i'll give em black face. kekeke

Lena, can try using Glycerin mouth wash. can be bought from chinese medicine hall.

Pic of Kayden
760654.jpg

Zita,

Can I change my date to 20 May?

My Gym trial @ Marine Parade

Pls Select dates! 7 to 8 per week, 1st come 1st serve

Date : 20 or 27 May 07(Sun)
Timing: 3 to 3.45pm
Price: after discount $20/- min 7 pax, max 10

Date 27 May 07
1) CHM
2)Peachsorbet
3)MTDT
4)Jul04
5)Zoe
6)Brambles
7)julie lim
<strike>8)Pooh</strike>
8) Bubble
9) Joykel
10)

Date : 20 May 07
1) Blessing
2) Fruitee
3) Missmoon
4) Hong
5) Mich
6) glitch
7) Kiki
8) lena
9) Pooh
10)

wow... today I was out for my induction program. so much to read now... seems like my youtube video cause a stir here...

I must agree - dun compare.
watever u do, be it learn thru play, learn thru tv or learn thru flashcards... all have it's pros n cons. Most impt point is Baby and parents must enjoy it... and not feel stress by it.

alot of u seems to equate learning by a structured manner = stress.... I have to disagree. It's how you wan to create the environment to "play" with your bb. And learning definately is not the same as education. Education is stress becos it involves EXAMS! To me School is not stress... Learning is not stress.... but it is the exams, the expectation of getting something good at the exams that is causing the stress. So I do not think helping bbies to read now or learn to recognise words or learn to noe 1 is more than 2 now is stress.

babies love to learn... they learn language simply by hearing wat adults say. by age of 2-3, they are able to master 1,2 or even 3 languages (including dialect). Arent they a genius. I learn Japanese for 3yrs in my uni days.. but now u ask me to speak Jap... huh... CMI liao. :p

they are learning something new every min... like wat YB says, allow bb to crawl ard, touch at everything tat they wan (as long as safe) is also a form of learning. so why not thru flashcards? Flashcards are also just another media of learning... just like showing ur bb DVD/VCDs.

So I would think: hv a open mind... use a mixture of mtds to simulate ur bbies... no stress n no comparsion and it will be a fun time for all.

I use flashcards, toys, free play like using chair to walk ard the house for zavier (havent started introducing TV yet). I am not expecting him to be a genius, but just diff mtds to play with him. I am not stress... I dun expect anything from him, all I hope is for my boy to be happy n healthy.

pebble - wow!!! K&K are soooo cute!

so when are we meeting at the playground for our kids to "baby talk" haha

pebble... ya.. $2.80 per tablet. my elder boy takes 1 tablet a day, my elder gal half a tablet.. so it's $4.20 everyday. and they've been taking it for about 2 months already, and have to continue till May. That's why everytime i visit the PD, i'll need to spend $200+...buy a few bottles of Zaditen, a few strips of singulair, a few rows of pulmicort, a new bottle of berodual... siong... hai. but hope all this is worthwhile.

Those babies that born at end july might consider 27 May 07 : )
-----------------------------------------------
My Gym trial @ Woodlands
Date : 20 May 07(Sun)
Timing: 2 to 3pm
Price: $20

1) Zita
2) dsiitan
3) PM
4) Yb
5) kloe
6) eeyore
7) Lucida
8) Lena
9) melody
10) OC
11) mezzo17
12) Z-Lia
13 Yenny
14) brambles
--------------Closed-------------------------

Date 27 May 07
1) CHM
2)Peachsorbet
3)MTDT
4)Jul04
5)Zoe
6)Brambles
7)julie lim
8) Bubble
9) Joykel

1) Blessing
2) Fruitee
3) Missmoon
4) Hong
5) Mich
6) glitch
7) Kiki
8) lena
9) Pooh
10)

MTDT,
You also from Jap studies? Me too! My jap CMI long long ago liaoz! Well, come to think of it, I sucked at the language modules after the first year...lol.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">J</font><font color="0000ff">U</font>L<font color="ff6000">Y</font> <font color="119911">B</font><font color="0077aa">B</font> <font color="aa00aa">B</font><font color="808080">A</font><font color="ff0000">S</font><font color="0077aa">H</font>!!!</font>

Venue: MyGym @ GWC
Date: 1st Jul 2007 (Sunday)
Time: 3pm - 5pm (1 hr for game & singing, 2nd hr for cake cutting , food & gym!)

MY GYM will close for our Bash - 2 function room (1 for singing & game, 1 for food & cake) and the gym! Deco, Teacher n helper!

Package price :$688 for 20 babies(Min), each pax $34.40/-! Additional bbies@ $12.90/-, will average out if more then 20pax.
Other Kids (siblings) will be charged at $12.90 per pax.

Food, cake and present of babies are excluded; we have given a budget :
1) Food: $6 per pax (adult n kids)
2) Cake: $5 per baby .
3) Present: Exchange present (discuss later)
Extras will be refund.

So examples:
a) 2 adults (Parents or maid) + baby = $34.40 + $12 + $5 = $51.40.
b) 3 adults (Both Parents + maid) + baby = $34.40 + $18 + $5 = $57.40
c) 2 adults (Parents or maid) + 1 sibling + baby = $34.40 + $12.90 + $18 + $5 = $70.30
d) 3 adults (Both Parents + maid) + 1 sibling + baby = $34.40 + $12.90 + $24 + $5 = $76.30

We need to put a deposit to confirm the booking... Thus would need Mummies to transfer the $$ to Paranoidmummy by <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">18 April 2007 (WEDNESDAY)</font></font>

Account to transfer to: <font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">POSB Savings 052-21574-9</font></font>
Please PM Paranoidmummy the following after you had transfered:
1) By ATM or Internet Transfer (if internet transfer, pls include your SMO Nick)
2) Reference Number
3) Date & Time of transfer
4) Total Amount Transfered
5) Your contact no
6) No of pple attending

<font color="0000ff">Since going for Bash, you may wish to cancel the trial (so save on the trial cost n come for our bb bash!!
)</font>

Other T&C:
*Pls make your PAYMENT as soon as you confirm your attendance
*NO Payment NO reserve of seats
*Cost estimate based on the Min no of 20 babies. Will refund excess once after the event (when all cost are finalise)
*NO show NO refund!!!

Note: the 11 person tat had transferred PM based on the old rates... no worry. dun need to do anything for now. once we confirm all cost, will ask you gals to "top up" the differences.

Updates from our honourable Treasurer - Paranoidmummy

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>Attending </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Dsiitan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>PM</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>YB</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Mich</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + Maid + Celest + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Zita</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Eeyore</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>OC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Jul04</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>YLC</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>cottagefry</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Mezzo17</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Sandy</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Kiki</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>kloe</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>peachsorbet</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>melody</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>lena</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Bubble</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>CHM</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Both Parents + BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>May</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Zlia</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Jurong_gal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Those not on the list - Quick Join us now!!!
</font></font>

Hi mummies, thank u for the praises **blush** thank u thank u.

Kyla means Lovely in Hebrew. My husband found this on the internet. we tot the name's kinda sweet so decided to call our gal tat.
I mention in my earlier post that Kayden means Fighter, cos he 'fought' for his life before he was even born. sound so drama. hahaha.

Lena, i use Kayden's clean hankerchief dab a part of it with cool boiled water and pour some glycerin on top and clean his mouth.

MTDT, Wa work OT for the bash ah? so gan dong lei. kekeke

i oso hope got chance to mit up with you mummies and babies but must ask my 'minister of Home Affairs' my DH lah.

Z-Lia, wow you really spend a lot on med bills! but as long as your children gets well, it's worth it ya.

PM, the bash is on 1st Jul, it's actually Kayden's actual birthday. Got plans liao lei. ll go church den party for family n frens. Pai say, not say i 'bu shang lian' ok.

hello PM, pm-ed you..done the transfer..

hello mummies..sorry i was 'invisible' in msn ytd. haha. had a war with Germayn..she only slpt nearing 1am. have been telling my MIL to let her take one nap only... but hai.. sometimes when i come back from work at 9 plus, i'll see G happily playing, and i'll ask MIL what time she woke up from her nap, and she'll tell me 8pm...then i wanna faint. and ya..despite slpg at 1am ytd night, G didnt slp thru, and woke up at 7am this morning... wah... with her kind of attd, she shld go to work. hahaha.

thanks for organising the bday bash!

anyway, re: not doing anything to let baby learn, i think i havent done anything for the twins (as long as they r healthy and safe, im quite ok liao). for Germayn, it's the same...but the additional thing they she has done would be going to trial classes (as compared to the twins), but today, im going to bring the twins for their first trial class in Kindermusik! haha. abit excited. duno how they'll react.

hi zlia... i think they will enjoy cause is quite fun for kids..to able to dance, sing and run around with the musical instrument!

Taken off my name from WL. Confirmed MP.

My Gym trial @ Woodlands
Date : 20 May 07(Sun)

1) Zita
2) dsiitan
3) PM
4) Yb
5) kloe
6) eeyore
7) Lucida
8) melody
9) OC
10) mezzo17
11) Z-Lia
12) Yenny
13) brambles
--------------Closed-------------------------

Date 27 May 07
1) CHM
2)Peachsorbet
3)MTDT
4)Jul04
5)Zoe
6)Brambles
7)julie lim
8) Bubble
9) Joykel

1) Blessing
2) Fruitee
3) Missmoon
4) Hong
5) Mich
6) glitch
7) Kiki
8) lena
9) Pooh
10)

Julie, not to worry, my boy has yet to crawl yet. he can;t sit very well too. has to support him most of the time.

Zoe, i can find big strips of unfrozen fish here, like salmon. nto too sure abt the others. the names doesn;t look familar to me. anway, i'll go take a 2nd look this weekend. maybe i can find the ones u mentioned. thks for ur help. will let u know if i can find any.

Julie, misaryeo

My girl is crawling...backwards...
she does crawl like one bit but then will go into dive position. Just ytdy morning I woke up saw her pulling herself up standing inside the cot...got me cold sweat for a while!!!

Hi MTDT,

Would like to join in the bash. Both Parents & Baby so cost is $51.40. Will transfer $$ to PM by tomorrow.

Thanks for organsisng.

Pebble - I see. So Kayden is the big bro in the JUL group. Keke. Enjoy yr celebration, u may wanna opo by if ure free ;)

zlia- Sometimes Emerson had 3 naps (1~2hr each) and still able to sleep at 10pm in the night. He will wake up at 8pm for his last nap.

Fai.
My ger don't enjoy Baby Einstein at all. Before you waste the money to buy some, you may go to National Library to borrow first.

PM.
No worries. Take every moment as teachable opportunities for your bb. Studies has showed bb/children absorb well through music and play. Talk to your bb, and introduce what you do and what you see

CG

Ya Summer likes to grab all the things that told not to. She loves flipping book pages and of course decide to taste it also. Just that sometimes find her very poor thing when she just sitting there eyeing around for things to play, like so bored and so restless...:p

PM, tt's good. at least he can slp at 10pm. but for me it's good in a way la..at least i still get to play with her after work. but germayn's naps are generally quite long..abt 2-3 hours each time. hope that she can start napping once a day mabbe when she turns 10 mths? dont want her to be like her bro and sis...only slp thru the night when they were 19mths.

PM, I tink Fruitee's Kayden is the DA GE lei... he was born in Jun i think. I remember reading tat a few mummies popped before i did and Fruitee was one of them. kekeke

saw my name twice... hv amended

Taken off my name from WL. Confirmed MP.

<font color="ff0000">My Gym trial @ Woodlands</font>
<font color="ff0000">Date : 20 May 07(Sun)</font>

1) Zita
2) dsiitan
3) PM
4) Yb
5) kloe
6) eeyore
7) Lucida
8) melody