(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

ooh.. which BJG?
i also thinking of going BJG. pasir ris branch is nearer for me... but heard tat the stuff they do are less than BB one.

Re: Flashcards

I bought a set of flashcards for the fun of it too. I dunno what GD or shichida method or, or how fast/quick u need to flash the card. I only did it at my own pace and tell the bb something from each card. And my girl enjoys it tremendously..esp when I show her the "cat" and "duck" cards and she would kick her legs very hard. The point I'm trying to make is that whatever method we use it has to be an enjoyable experience for both parents and BB and for me, I'll continue doing it till my ger gets bored with it :))

Hong,

I will be going back to work in Jan'07. Now on unpaid leave and my MIL helping me with Joshua cos of my wrists. Finally decided to take the steriod jabs this week, so cross my fingers that everything will be fine now. After so long, a bit sian to go back to work. Yesterday, I went shopping for infantcare centres..

may - agree. main thing is joyous for both bb n parents.

lok - why shop for infantcare? MIL cannot look after? hope ur wrist gets better.

may,

i agree totally. Must be enjoyable and fun for both bb & parents. The library has interesting books (some pop-up, some with animal furs, mirrors, pictures etc). Joshua likes the bb einstein language nursery. I enjoyed the books myself too, so bright & cheery. But now's school hols, so the shelves are swept clean.

Hi Lok,
I understand how u feel. I've not been working since preg & I've just went for an interview on Tue. It's a 6mths contract with no benefits at all. But I thought at least I can spend my time doing other stuff instead of just focusing on bb all the time. But dunno if bb & I can adjust. My mum also have to take care of 3 kids if I start working..Hmm...

Hi Lok,

Hope u r feeling better. Infant care - Learning vision is good. Pat's schoolhouse is also good but heard is packed already. Babies Inc is also great. Anyway, depends on yr accessibility.

MTDT,
I went to the Pasir Ris branch when they 1st open. I stopped cos the teacher is not going to teach anymore.

Feedback from other mummies i know, the teacher is not as gd then but i dun know now.

Lok,
OIC... OK.

MTDT,

She cannot manage alone cos not very mobile (she's 65). Now I go over during the day (like doing a 9-5 job) and then home in the evening when my FIL/SIL/BIL returns. Once i resume work, this arrangement cannot hold... Furthermore, I stay north, she stay east...

Actually, some of the infantcare centres are very good. The one I'm eyeing actually holds kindermusik & bb gym classes for them. Lots of playmates, lots of toys, freshly prepared food (e.g. home made applesauce), story telling, nursery rhymes etc. Minus will be the rush to pick Joshua up and the $$. Some pple say easier to fall sick --- I think of it the other way: so long as it's nothing too serious, it's a way to build up their immunity, so better for longer term.

Btw, I made the NUK teat hole bigger and he's drinking faster now. Thanks!

YB,

Primary sch hols starts tmr but sec sch started in oct. There is a noticeable difference in the availability of books. Maybe parents borrow for shun bian borrow for their younger kids.

blessings,

I'm much better now after enduring 4 mths of pain. The one i'm eyeing is Babies Resort, nearer my place. Those u mention a bit off for me..

blessings,

Yup, that's the one. I went there twice, generally i have good vibes abt the place. Clean, organized, activities for babies and the owners are very accomodating. The owners hv young kids/grandkids like us, so they fully understand our concerns. Search the forum and feedback is good too. But quite ex, after subsidy is $950 for 5-day care. Hope Joshua likes it.
PS: My hubby still reviewing my summary of the 3 infant care centers but Babies Resort will be my pick.

YB,

That's good. At least u can decide whether u want to continue working after 6 mths.

Lok - i see.
my boy in infantcare now. but not so many activities.

Nuk - good!! but i thinking of trying pigeon tat new teat. Y cut good?

hong - i see. hmm i shall see see look look..

Lok
wat's wrong wif ur wrists ah? sorry, cannot rem wat i read in the past postings :p

hope it'll get better everyday.

i'm also about to start looking for infantcare centres...think i have to find one either in the east side or nearer to town area where my mum lives.

Missmoon,

I thot yr mum is looking after yr boy? East side not many good infantcare centres cos I surveyed before...there is one at Simei but cannot make it kind. There are a few good ones near town areas though. You need to go and take a look.

missmoon,

tendonitis - tendons rubbing against bone causing inflammation. Initially very jia lat when I carry joshua. Now's much better.

MTDT,

I'm still using NUK latex. Dunno abt Y cut. I think some of the mummies here using it. Babies Resort incorporated Kindermusik and BB Gym classes to free parents'time for quality weekend. Thought that was a brilliant idea.

blessings,

u stay in the east right? Interested in Babies Resort? They have 2 slots left.

HI Lok,

Babies Resort is in the north leh...abit too far for me. Did consider infantcare centres in the first place but then decided on babysitter...but dun like the way she handled ryan so terminated her service...now ryan is at my mum's place with my maid.

blessings
yes, for now. but my nephew is often over cos he always have recurring bronchitis. so i thought i'd better look around. my mum also travels quite frequently and i cannot take so many days leave so infantcare will be my next best choice liao. dun wan inlaws to take care

ya, Simei that one cannot make it, won't even consider. kkh near my mum's but i not so keen on learning vision

lok
got meds or jabs to make it better? my sis has rhumethoid arthiritis or something like that...taking those pills...even steroids to relieve the pain.

YB,
what kind of job is that?

Lok,
Infant care of Care child, playgrp or kindergarten we cant help that the kids will pass the virus to each other. However kids will grow stronger. 1st yr is always tougher.

U take care!

Hi Lok,
why dun you try chinese medicine? I was aching all over especially my knees....think rhumatism because I bathe during confinement and slept in air-con room without wearing long pants...the pain is really unbearable. So I went to see Ma Kwang...after taking the medicine, feeling better. At least, the medicine makes you feel stronger and not so "bad" for health. You can try it out.

missmoon,
there are other good ones in town...you got to check them out early cos the vacancies are quickly fill up.

missmoon,

just took the steriod jabs this monday. Will take abt 5-7 days to fully recover.

blessings,

i also hesitate with bbsitters. find that infantcare centers have a more stimulating environment.

hong,

thanks. c u tmr. did u get my sms?

blessings,

I tried Ma Kuang acupuncture, physiotherapy. All very slow and I'm getting impatient. So steriod jab is much better. And cheaper compared to the endless visits for acupuncture or physio.

Hi blessings,
I dun think the rhumatism is caused by bathing & sleeping in a/c room during confinement. During confinement, I also bathe at night before sleeping in aircon room. During the day, will on the fan blowing directly at myself. In fact, while we're in hospital, we're also sleeping in aircon wards.

Hi Hong,
It's a Corporate Communications position. Need to organise events in additional to other work. Tat's y will have to OT quite often. Not sure if it's the right job for now.

Hi Lok,
I used to consider either nanny or infant care when both my mum & MIL refuses to look after my gal if I go back to work. But really am not comfy with nanny & infant care is really too ex in S'pore. After voicing out my fustrations at my mum, she finally agrees to look after my gal. But only starting next yr when my nephew starts nursery so she'll have more time then. But this job needs me to start ASAP, so I'm really troubled.Sigh...

Hey YB,

So u haven't decided whether to take the job is it? Actually, if there's no urgent need, why don't u continue searching? What line of work r u interested in? Maybe I can ask whether there's any suitable jobs for u in my company.

oh my..ian still sleeping leh...good~!!! somemore on my bed..hahaha...the battle in sarong ended and i gave up so carried him out and palced him on my bed..pat him and tok to him him in soft low voices.....finally sleep...and till now....*phew*!!! so i pray he will not be too dependent on sarong...

Hi YB,

I think I am the same who is physically weak so the physician said that there is alot of "shi qi (wetness)" in my body...and I need to get rid of it and strengthen my body or else old already will be very "cham".

YB,
that post will required alot of ur time. If need OT and no much benefit, worth or not?

Lok,
Yes, i got ur SMS.
there is one gd acupunture at Tanjong Katong shopping mall - opp Paya lebar mrt. My IL always went there. I have sinus and go there for acupunture and my nose is clear immediately.

Hi Lok,
Yah, I haven't accepted the job. In fact, only went for the 1st interview. They told me there'll b another 2nd interview wif HR. I'm interested in Corp Comms, that's y I went for the interview. But not sure if I should go back to work now, though...

Hi Hong,
The job does not have any benefits at all!! No MC, no annual leave, no bonus etc. It's a temp contract for 6mths.

Hi dsiitan,
Mayb u wanna place a pillow below the sarong, in case ur boy flip & fall out? Better be careful hor.

dsii
Xavier oso like to curl like a prawn in his sarong. Now when i bring him home, he will sleep on his mattress. So i am going to sell the sarong stand in my house.

Dsii
The clothes sizes are ok so far...except for one piece which was too loose.
You can try going to this shop at Arcade (Raffles Place) #03-07, they sell some plus size evening dresses.

Fruitee,
I'll pass the toothpaste to Dsii on Sat.

YB, my company looking for corp comms person also. where did you go for interview?

we are also looking for a manager to take care of community projects, preferably an IT grad. anyone interested?

YB,

Ok noted. Will pm u if there's opening. But Corp comms --- nature of job means lots of OT / weekends right? My friend from internal affairs tells me his weekends usually burnt because those corp events tend to be held in the evening / weekends to garner bigger crowd.

Hi Lok,
Ya lor...guess it's part & parcel of the job's nature. It's fine when I'm single, but now that I have a bb, a bit unwilling lor, although I really like the work.Anyway, haven't work for so long, dunno if can adjust back to working life.

Anyway, I also stopped working since I was 2 weeks pregnant.. and I think I wont be joining the workforce so soon, coz my boy is very reliant and dependent on me, I cant even leave him with anyone else for a few hours. He will scream and cry until he sees me....and its hard to "wean" him off since I'm so soft hearted. Haha. Guess have to wait til at least he is 18mths before I could go back to work. By then, I wonder if I'm still "employ-able"

Hi PM,
I got the clothings at Pratunam & Central Mall beside Chit Lom Station.

Ya, I already feel 'unemployable'. In fact, during the 1st interview, the interviewer kept asking me about my bb & the who would b taking care of bb etc...and asking me if I can cope with OT & heavy workload since I've got a very young bb. She said if I'm not interested, then better tell her cos she dun wanna waste her time...all these just for a temp job?!!

Hi Blessings, Is it you that mentioned that there's a BP for bumper mat at SSW? I would like to join in too. Who is organising the BP?

YB, when i was looking for a job after i gave birth to the twins and they were abt 3 months old, alot of employers also ask me about my baby and who'll be taking care of my bb, blar blar blar. And some job agencies said it's difficult to help me look for job cos ive a pair of baby twins and most companies wouldnt be keen on employing me. For this current job, i got it thru a job agency (was initially a temp position then got converted to permanent staff after 3 months). Goodness the lady helping in the agency me was also a mum of a baby, so she strongly believes tt i should be given a chance. So she really helped me push alot.

Lok, YB, about knowing how to speak dialects when young... My parents told me tt i used to be able to speak very good hokkien when i was young. But now, i speak like... ji3 da4 ji3 da4. But i can understand it, just can't really speak. Then ar.. my grandpa used to scold me alot when i was still staying with him and my grandma. He'll scold me in hokkien cos he only knows how to speak in hokkien. Then I'll get very angry and helpless cos i can understand what he's scolding me but i can't scold him back or defend myself cos i can't really speak in hokkien. then when i attempt to scold him back in hokkien, he'll laugh at my horrible hokkien and i'll get even more gek4. haha.

Re: Jetstar
Wanna go to HK next yr. Prob should be going early March. Hb might be running marathon and we can go visit friends as well. But not sure if should bring baby. Feel like bringing but scared. Cos when we went to suan4 name for baby, they said there are a few things we must take note... one of them is better not to bring her travelling until she turns 3 yrs old...

Have been so tired recently. working till about 8+pm everyday. reach home at 9+. If i go carrefour to walk awhile (really awhile only) b4 going home, it would be 10+ when i reach home liao. Been thinking about quitting. Haha. But must wait till i get bonus next yr in Feb then see how it goes. mabbe look for a shorter hour job after tt.

YB
So nice the pic.. if got girl really can doll them up hor... I wan a sec one to be a gallll.... hehehe...

Hey mummies
I going BKK next month, anyone wan to get anything?? I dun mind to help & get for you all...