(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

mtdt
oooh, i see. hehee, so long as his weight gain is average, good liao.

yb, so adorable ah, 3rd and 4th fingers inside her mouth.

Hi missmoon,
yah, my gal can suck different fingers each time...no particular fav..haa...haa...sometimes, she can even manage to stuff her whole fist into her mouth!

Fruitee,
I think my query confuse blessings.
WOW, Kayden can really drink.

Blessings,
My method of preparing is to use less water to cook the brown rice. Once the brown rice is cooked. I will add water and milk powder to get the amt i want.

missmoon,
for me, once the kid hit 37.6 I will start giving him/her one dose of fever medicine cos i want to press down the fever from erupting.

teat - yah can get a bigger hole teat if feeding the bb with brown rice or cereal adding in the milk. If u bb can take "Y" cut better still. I even tried on my ger. She dun know how to suck with "Y" cut so we got to change to bigger hole. For Julian, i have already started him with "Y" cut teat. It is not necessary to start the kid with "Y" cut teat. really up to the bb and the parents.

YB, MTDT,
ur bb is so cute!!

YB
hahaa, that must be quite a sight to enjoy
my boy can suck his fist until he gag but he'll still continue doing it, like so hungry like that.

hong
okie, next time *touch wood* must give meds lioa. so frustrating lor, cos pigeon thermometer takes forever to read, then i go by sense of touch, if i feel it's warm then that means got fever liao...also dunno zun or not.

missmoon
sense of touch bo zun one. my doctor advised me must use thermometer. Moreover baby's head always hot hot one so very diff to guage...

Missmoon,
u can use the normal thermometer. Put at the armpit like adult but to hold on to him for 1 min. That one is quite accurate. I also got a ear thermometer but very frastrating as which reading is more accurate. So i use the normal one now.

wah so many suggestions on wat we can give bb to prevent fever b4 n after jab..."ling yang", "pao shen", barley water, pearl powder...cant 'digest' lah...phew!

gillian recovered from her fever yesterday so last night resume her training for her to fall asleep on her own again. after giving her lotsa gdnite kiss n reassurance, even bought her a new musical crib mobile...she cried 30 mins then stared blankly into space, ignored us even when me n hubby approached, then slowly dozed off.

MTDT,YB
ur bbs so cute!

my ger weighs 6.7kg at 4 mths but her milk intake oso reduced.

btw she oredi using Y teat now, so can continue if i add brown rice powder into her milk is it? can i know how much is d brown rice powder from eu yan sen? saw some brands at ntuc, those not so gd is it?

yenny
ya, i think so too, but so frustrating lor, cos i oni had the pigeon one to use. then didn't know if the adult one zun or not also cos cannot insert all the way into bb's ear for accurate reading.

hong
ok ok. i think i still hv that free thermometer from sars days somewhere in the house. hehe.

cry to sleep - will ur bb cry until end up hving stuffy nose?

one of the nite last week, my boy suddenly kept crying n crying ard evening time. end up, he had stuffy nose n even cough next morning. i was thinking, like tat how to "train" him??

MTDT
really ah? poor Xav. not sure leh, i see my ger seems ok so i continue to "train". if not i wont force oso. think every bb is diff, then think as they grow they will change 'pattern' oso. im still trying out dat method at this stage, at least dun hv to rock n pat so long every nite.

actually my boy also dun need to rock n pat for long everynite. usu, less than 10mins, he will be in dreamland liao. so i also not v "kan cheong" to train him.

but the problem is, he only wans me to rock/pat him. once his daddy takes over... he will cry n cry n cry. so means tat i hv to be at home everyday to rock him to sleep.

so we tot of trying this cry out mtd... but just crying for that 10mins when his daddy carrying him, he gets stuffy nose etc. think i dun dare to let him cry it out for 1hr+! faintz

MT
I use avent teats no. 2. wont block..

spoon ah.. have, my mum spoon feed him with apple & orange juice.. heheh

Missmoon
Got use therometer to check bo??

MTDT
ya think if my ger can doze off easily with only 10 mins of rock/pat i wont train her oso. in fact we still rock/pat her awhile (bedtime routine")then put her in cot to let her know we wont just "throw" her there like dat all of a sudden.

ya if bb only wants u then a bit difficult, sometimes it's really a habit hard to change

fruitee, got, but wait until very pek chek, so stop...use hand...then dunno got fever bo, just use the pigeon fever pack thing.

wah, can take fruit juice liao ah...mine still on a few spoonfuls of cereal x2 times a day only.

dsii - ur singnet email.

Fruitee - oh, no 2 only huh? i see.

OC - lucky he din get the habit of "sucking on b" to sleep... if not, think worst!! :p

YB
My mum say can ley... he likes apple more than orange... orange sweet sweet he take liao give that kind of goose bump face... ahhaa... good la, at least help to digest mah fruits... poo twice aday.. so far no constipation prob. check with PD also.. she say good try..

Missmoon
uh.. wait?? therometer faster mah.. no???

MT
yah.. no.2 never block also.

YB
hope my ger learns to fall asleep on her own more easily n with lesser crying gradually. at least now me n my hubby can hug each other to sleep while it used to be one sleep first while d other still trying to make bb sleep..haha

MTDT
lucky u! thot usu TBF bb depends on mummy a lot as in to latch them on to sleep during bedtime. so after ur bb hv his last feed u will just rock/pat him is it?

OC - of cos, after latching, he 100% sure sleeps... dun even need to rock.

but last few nites, i gave him bottle milk... after finish, he v fast fall asleep also.

maybe becos baby in infantcare... so nap time not v long. he is tired at nite, so sleeps faster. :p

some personal thoughts to share:

i've read b4 in this forum from some mummies' sharing dat their babies oso require a lot of rocking/patting to sleep, then once put them in bb cot they start to cry so gotta repeat d cycle many times every night or even during day naps.

initially i asked myself,"y is my bb so "difficult" to look after? i felt even worse when my MIL oso complained my ger difficult to look after, not like her first grandson, so easy to manage. eat n sleep easily...then tv on loud loud oso nvrmind but mine cannot, a bit of noise wake up liao. a few times she woke my bb up cos she talked so loudly somemore "scold" my ger bad-tempered...i was so mad!

but now im not affected anymore cos i tell myself every bb is different n i love her all d same. after all they will soon grow up n i might even miss every bit of it!

hi fruitee,

hmmm...after the brown rice becomes paste, then add milk powder...wont it be more sticky? Then bb wont have difficulty sucking from bottle? Initially I thought hong's method is like yours lor....add water after brown rice and milk powder...hee hee

my thermometer also v fast... within secs kind. can be use on ear n forehead. i got it as a free gift when i buy my PIS pump. :p

missmoon - i send to Bright kids at punggol.
development huh...

not to sure leh, well, at 5mths, he can flip, crawl abit (more like creep), can grab things to his mouth, can grab n hold toys for a long time, can stand for v long... can 'sing song" aka grumbling. :p

blessings
no ley.. not very sticky ley.. cos 220ml of water with the brown rice quite dilute ley... me using Avent no. 2 teats.. so far no blockage at all.. my boy finished within 5-10 mins..

Blessings,
I go and find out how my MIL cook the brown rice (I buy from EYS). Actually i taught her how to cook last time but i forgotten liao.

I think fruitee method also ok.

Fruitee,
ur 4 spoonful is teaspoon? I use the milk powder spoon so i dun add so much lah. 5 - 10 min is very fast.

do ur bb kwai kwai finish the milk OR he/she will turn his/her head, push the bottle away althot they wann drink. etc.

Hong
4 teaspoon of brown rice... hehehe...
my boy also la.. push bottle away, make noise dun wanna drink milk although very hungry liao.. your bb also like that? My boy behave this way only when given FM.. brown rice he ok...

wow... 220ml in 5/10mins?
v fast leh.

my boy now takes 20-30mins for 150-180ml.
last time, can take 1hr!! :p

btw, do u gals feed on schedule or feed on demand?

YB
ya sometimes me n hubby take turns to make bb sleep then usu one of us will fall asleep first cos too tired liao...so hardly any chance to maintain intimacy..haha

MTDT
dun think u need to "train" ur boy lah since he falls asleep easily at nite after last feed...kudos to out little darlings!

intimacy - sigh... my hubby scare of my boos. he HATES milk!! so refuse to "touch" me!
hahhaha :p

OC - wanted to train him so tat if i am not home at nite, he will still be ok n go to sleep. even without that 10mins of rock/pat. I wan to go shopping after work!!! hahah :p

MT
my boy also.. 1st 2 mths.. wah lau.. drink milk 1hr.. then blurp him liao.. not long again feeding time liao.. faint.. lucky now ok liao..

MTDT
oic...so now u have to go home straight after work to put him to bed is it? wat time is Zav's bedtime? i dunno how i can shift my ger's bedtime earlier..now her bedtime around 11 plus, earliest 10 plus

haha ur hubby so funny...me opposite, i dun let my hubby touch my boobs cos i scared leak wait stain bedsheet

fruitee,
wah, your boy can finish really fast....good good!
Where did u buy your brown rice from? in powder form like what hong bought in EYS?

Recently, i realised by bb drink his milk at one go...after burping, he does not want anymore no matter how much you "force" him to. When he was younger, he will still remember his milk after burping and finished it all. Mummies, how abt your bb drinking behaviour?

Gebbera,
Dr Ong got comedy face ah? jialat... then you will think my hubby got comedy face also...cos he looks like the younger version of Dr Ong! hahahaha...even eunice chua's nurse thinks so. Agree that he's very nice and reassuring.

Yenny,
Do you normally go to the clinic on weekends? They double book their schedules, that's why so packed. We usually try to go on weekday mornings or right after lunch time, then not so many people.

MTDT,
Your boy so cute! Eyes so nice!
Did he get cradle cap earlier? If so, the rash on his eyebrows may be lingering cradle cap. Will go away eventually.

YB,
My boy also sucks his fingers like your ger. Sometimes suck the first 2 fingers then stick the last two in his nose...so "dat glam"...haha

MT
u so funny
Imitacy ah.. eversince some back to work.. bo liao... no time ah.. hehehe

Blessings
I got the brown rice at Yu ren sheng... $8.90 per tin. dun know they have BP bo.. ahhahah

Fruitee,
I am still giving him FM. Every playful, will drink halfway then look at me and smile. Scare me cos that mean he stop drinking liao then u have to shake the bottle, follow where he turns. He will suck n stop then suck agin. Stime will left 10 - 30ml.

I think ur 4 teaspoons shld be ard 2 milk powder spoonful.

Burping - If i pat him for 5 min and he still not burping then i wun burp him liao. In the day, he will flip over and after a while will *burppp* then i carry him and pat him a few times, also scare he will vomit milk.

MTDT,
My MIL very on, she feed on schedule.
I will feed on schedule in the day and demand at nite.

OC - my boy sleeps at abt 8pm. latest 9pm.

cradle cap - he had it before. but cleared when he was in 3rd mth leh. now still hv "lingering" meh? so long liao. :p

intimacy - i also v bad lah... purposely will "disturb" him with my BM!! so he always run away fast fast! hahaha :p

MTDT,
according to my fren the cradle cap will appear on the eyebrows later...her baby still had a bit at 7mths.

MTDT
haha so funny, ur hubby really got milk phobia ah?...i had to tell my hubby now my boobs "out of bounds" no touch touch!

if ur boy sleeps at 8pm will he wake up for nite feeds?