(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

oh really....

tat's a relieve. i very scare is becos of my enzema prob... kenna him also.

Hong
My mum says burp him 200 times if he never burp then hor.. wont vomit milk out one. I learned from my mum.. came out to be quite true ley..

Sometimes bb just being playful.. mine also like that..

Hu Jul04,
Ur boy so funni!! Can suck his fingers & dig gold from nose at the same time huh...wat happens when he put the fingers in the wrong plc, how? haa...haa...

ya, he really HATES milk!! :p

nite feeds - yup...
usu will be 2pm n 5pm. but recently i started him on FM for last feed at 8+, he can tahan till abt 4am.

I so upset. My hubby says breastfeeding in my living room degrade my status and make a cheap person. Therefore, my maid now treat me with attitude problem becoz i feed in front of her, hence lowering my status...... Sob Sob Sob...
Mummies who still breastfeed, do you feed in the room with closed door..... i have to resort to that from now on.....

kin
dun be upset k? cos ur emotions can pass thru ur BM to ur bb. personally if it's me i will make my stand clear, BFing anywhere does not degrade one's status nor make one a cheap person! u must earn ur hubby's respect on this, it's ur own home! command respect in front of ur maid as well, dun let her treat u with attitude cos there's nothing degrading about it. but if u give in n BF with closed door, it will only show them dat u agree with their thinking.

i only BF in my room if there are other male relatives around

kin
aiyo..dun be sad hor..then those mums bf outside in public how??? y ur hb suddenly said these to u? do wat u think is right and make ur hb understand that thats ur own home leh...and able to bf is great..like me..dont latch on cos bb dun like...haiz...dun sad sad ah!!!

kin
i meant i dun BF openly in living room when there are male family members or relatives around, but if it's only ur hubby n maid shld be ok wat.

in fact when my MIL came over my place to stay during my confinement, i even ask my hubby can my FIL dun come over as well if not i have to stay in bedroom to BF. i thought piority shld be given to me lor cos my FIL only sit in living room n watch tv whole day wat, he stays at his own hm also can watch lor. my hubby actually asked his mum but too bad my MIL say nobody cook for my FIL lor.

Fruitee n hong,

The teaspoon izit use the powder scope? So if my gal drink 120ml milk, then i put 1 scope of cereal cook to 120ml water then add 1 scope milk powder hor?

Kin - My hubby dislike me to BF in the living room too...maybe coz there's other ppl in the house other than him... coz he quite "bao shou" one. Initially he also dislike me to BF in the car, but he has no choice coz BB fuss in the car and wanna drink...but i think it's ok.. coz he has the Vkool sticker on (it's dark) and think can hardly see when he's driving. Anyway, its not like I'm naked loh....majority of my bodyparts are still covered what...

Baby E turn 4mths today. So excited to start him on brown rice.

Bfing in Public is nothing wrong. And come on wats the century now? Think still like last time our parents or grandparents time izit?

Dun let ur emotions get the better of u, do wat u think is right. Wat ppl 1 2 comment, thats their problem. We all know we are giving the best to our baby.

Zita
Yes, that's right...

I BF in the living room with daylight curtains lah... I also BF infront of confinement lady.. think Mich is right abt the century we are in now.. Just do what u think is right!

Morn Kin,

I also bf in living room. Its ur home, so dun need to feel so constrained in our own lovenest rite ? To me, there's nothing sexual abt bf,its a wonderful time to get upclose n personal with our bb.
My whole family is used to it, even my father is ok with it though initially he's abit paiseh but after some time also bochap liao..haha..
As for maid, what we have, they also have wat, so dun tink our maid will b interested to see our 'assets' during bf rite ? so all the more shdnt bother them n degrade ur status wat....Cheer up k?

JP, Geberra
I fed my boy frisocream just now. He likes it! But i made the cereal diluted, slightly thicker than milk. Initially, he had problem swallowing it when i put him in a high chair. Then my mum asked me to put him the cot at a half sitting/lying position and feed him. She was right. After that, he swallowed all the cereal and kept making the impatient sound when i was slow in putting the sppon in his mouth. Guess what? He finished the cereal faster than the milk. My hands were so tired becos i have to be really fast in feeding him.

Hi OC,

Great thoughts for sharing! Initially, I get very fed-up when my baby keeps waking up and hope she can sleep though like adults. But I come to realisation that this is part and parcel of motherhood and like what you said, when they grow up and become indpt, we may just miss all these special moments.

hi yenny,

good for you! how many spoons of frisocream did you mix with milk? I suppose you do not have to feed milk milk since yr boy has finished it all..

blessings
i followed the instructions on the tin and made 100ml of water with 3 tablespoon. yeah, it is recommended tat for babies 4-6 mths, replace one feed wif cereal.

Kin,

I have NEVER EVER heard of people saying breastfeeding will degrade a mummy, infact, it's the other way round, I would see that as being noble ... don't be upset over this issue.

Kin,

Dun be upset. Nothing wrong to BF at the comfort of your home. I also BF in my room and my maid carried my bb to me to BF...I also dun care cos is my home.

Yenny,
I will also start when my bb turns 4th month soon if PD says ok. Hee hee

I dun BF at all. But during confinement, I still experience engorgement & pains, so need to masaage & express out. I did it in my room, but my confinement lady like to walk in & out. I feel paisey, but CL dun think anything about it at all. So I guess sometimes, it's our own thinking lor, cos other ppl might not even think it's a big matter.

Hi Yenny,
Wah...so instead of putting bb on cot, can put in rocker or infant carseat to feed them? Was thinking of using milk bottle to feed instead of spoon leh...might be easier?

Hi Jul04,

I'm the Daddy, but my DW shares the ID as well. I have changed our ID name to better reflect that.

Re PD, we have decided to stop seeing him. Feels that he's not too good. Judgement is based on before delivery experience to seeing him for 2 over months after birth.

YB
My mistake, not cot but pram. Yeah, rocker or car seat oso can. My mum oso ask me to put in milk bottle but I wan to train him to swallow better so spoon feeding in a upright position will be better.

Kin
When i was on confinement, I breastfeed and pump milk in front of my confinement lady in the sitting room.

Hi Patshan,

You mind sharing with me why you think PD not good? can PM me. I'm beginning to question him too cos he did not seem too concerned with my baby's eczema condition and now it has flared up real bad that dermatologist prescribed antibiotics.

sorry for MIA!! Hi yah.....i always thought i was a militant bf mum... i even dare bf in public. but in fact, those close to me don't agree. It is quite sad becoz i think they feel even more paiseh than me... In fact, i bf with bf clothing on some more.. when will society learn that bf is not isolated to a certain gp of people.For the past one day, i bf in my room.... sian.... i guess it is the culture they bring over from their own family. so conservative.... i've to live with it. My MIL will come close close and look at me pumping or even better still, look closely....... must be thinking, so small, enuf milk?????(better not get to details, there are daddies here...)

For those mummies whose babies can flip, pls be extra careful. We were so careless to leave my son on the sofa tat he fell off to the floor. Luckily he was not hurt and did not cry for long. Wah heart pain...

Very busy last few days.. very tired. eyes droppy now.
Read the thread on breastfeeding on public. I did it everywhere, coffee bean, NYDC, etc.. of course with a cloth (those diaper cloth) drap across my should and cover myself properly lar. If people look at me I just look back lor.. Anyway, I never look at people or think if other people are looking at me. I just drink my hot choco, eat cake and let my baby enjoy his milk. My mentally is that my baby needs to eat and it's a natural instinct. I also breastfeed openly even when my MIL came to visit baby last time when I still on maternity leave. All "niu ren" wat.
I dun know what my hubby thinks about this as I never seek his opinion. I just do it.. Even in office I just tell people I'm breastfeeding and need to pump milk so that I can get a room to pump milk.
Agree with PM, most of the time it's our own thinking.

Regarding breastfeeding in public.. duno leh.. i still dont dare to breastfeed in front of my mil. only dare to breastfeed in front of my mum and husband. but quite ironically, i can breastfeed in front of the nurses in hospital.

ya.. these days my gal keeps flipping till like..she's face down, one hand and one leg will be dangling outside the cot and she'll be struggling to 'free herself'. ever since she knows how to flip, whenever she wakes up, the first thing she'll do is flip.

and ya..finally, it's the weekend!
Yeah! but think i might start to have monday blues tomorrow liao. hahahah.

What is WRONG with Breastfeeding be it at home living room or in the public. You mummies are scarificing everything just to give the best to the babies yet these utter rubbish and nonsense that surrounding ppl are giving you. ASK THEM TO WAKE UP THEIR IDEA.

Kin,
There is TOTALLY nothing to be ashame of. In fact, those daddies that are not supportive and not helping in any way should be ashame of themselves instead.

Hi all mommies,

It's been a while since I log on.

My milk supply is really low lately. After many hours of not expressing my milk because of work, only managed to get 100ml. Sigh....

Anyway, any mommies using the baby oil called Minyak Telon? It is really good. If anyone is interested, there is a BP going on.

Hello Fai, am in the BP for Minyak Telon also. hehe. My massage lady gave me a bottle to try for baby and i think it's nice and good.

And ya, my ms is decreasing as well. My freezer used to be packed with febm, but now, it's not that packed anymore. haha.

Me too, I only left with one pack of frozen milk. And now pump only 150ml after 8 hours.

Btw, anyone bought the firstteeth toothpaste already? Where to buy and how much is it?

Hi Lucida, I bought toothpaste liao from BP..I tink include shipement is $8/-! Is normal for bb not to poo for 3 or 4days for formula n 7days for BF...provided that poo is not hard.

My gal poo 1 time every 2 to 3days : )

Hong n fruitee,
1st trial failed...: (
I try 120ml water cook with 1 scoop cereal then add 1 scope of milk, but then into milk bottle (Size 3 Avent) but hor the milk cannot come out leh..izit need to cut to Y or can buy from market?

zita,
only 1 spoon of milk. I dun think is enough.

U can try "Y" teat to see if bb can suck out.

Kin,
breastfeeding dun degrade urself. Somemore u are doing at home.

Yenny,
ur boy ok now?
i fell with Julian last sat, i hurt my thigh but julian is ok.

Brot Julian for his 2nd 5 in 1 jab. He is 7.85kg heavy.

kin,

i dun care wat other ppl think lor.dun b upset,just do wat u think is right..i oso BF infront of e nurses,my girlfriends,CN,MIL,my mum,sisters,elder boy n husband.during confinement when i feel engorgement & pain,my CN offer her help to massage my breasts with warm towel.she told me dun feel paisey abt BFing(need to feed bb when bb is hungry...dun worry abt who or where u r) as i am giving e best to my bb.

gave my elder boy Nestle rice cereal when he was 4mths+.i replaced 1 feed for cereal usually his lunch.(follow e instruction on e tin)i jst add water only.. no milk.
brown rice given when he turn 5mths+,only night feed b4 his bedtime.(cook 1 tablspoon of brown rice with e amt of water tat he require for milk then add milk powder.)

yesterday bro my bb for his 1st 5 in 1 jab.PD said can start cereal when he turn 4mth.(cant wait to feed him cereal now.)he is 7.6kg n 64 cm @ 14 wks.

Brought my boy for his 2nd 5-in-1 jab. He's very brave 2day, didn't cry at all! Still a very lightweight boy (6.2kg & 61cm) -- nurse say it's 50th percentile. Maybe his bones are very light, cos most people tell me he doesn't look very small. Anyway, I have decided that the most impt thing is that he's still so happy & active!

Oh, I checked with the nurse on feeding paracetamol to pre-empt fever. It's not advisable as it may bring the body temp down and cause hypothermia (dunno how to spell it) instead..

hello mummies.. so sad... am taking care of my elder gal who is ill, and baby Germayn alone. Then my elder gal(lycia) is having very bad cough and runny nose. alot of phlegm. then she kept crying, then baby gal cannot slp also.. disturbed by the noise. then i'm feeling so pek chek but can't scold them. now it's finally quiet for awhile, but i think soon they'll be crying again.. and while they're quiet. im here typing and pumping milk at the same time cos im engorged. how pathetic...

then my mil offered to take care of my gal tonight while i take my boy and baby. she told me cos she knows tt my gal will be very cranky and baby will be disturbed and both of them wil be awake together. then, the next moment, everyone disappeared into their rooms, only left with the 3 of us. haha.

Hi Z-Lia, Wow. REally not easy taking care of 2 kids. What's their age difference btw? PEople have been asking whether I wan a 2nd baby (wow liao, my first juz come out 4 mths ago now they asking 2nd...). I really doubt I will.. if have second baby i think i really have to give up alot of things.. too much sacrifice..

Yenny,

I hope your baby is ok. I put my boy on the mattress yesterday night...he used his legs to push imself upwards and upwards and then onto the floor....I did not realised it until he cried. Quickly picked him up and he smiled...aiyo.

Lucida,

my boy also did not poo for about 3 days....he was on partial BM and FM, then yesterday night he poo...what a relief for me...I think for him as well...hee hee

BTW, is it better to start with rice cereal or beown rice first? I am afraid if I buy both, then it will be too much lor. Why is "Y" cut for the teat? Avent brand?

Thanks Lucida and Zita... my older gal's turning 2 yrs old next month... their age diff is abt 19mths. i was basically singing the whole of ytd night.. cos my elder gal was coughing so badly she kept waking up. then had to be super patient with her else she'll be upset and angry... then kept singing her fav song to her.

actually, duno leh.. i feel tt if i can start all over again, i'll wanna get married, then spend 2 yrs er4 ren2 shi4 jie4 first, then have one kid, and close shop. hahaha. think this was my husband's plan initially, but well... it's abit bad to say this now though.. cos got 3 kids liao then say i hope to have only one.. like so mean. And ya, really have to give up alot of things... company d&d can't go..unless my mum can come over to help out.. can't go out alone.. must bring at least one of the kids out. no more late nights out. no more movies. no more ktvs.

YB, baby kaylyn looks alot alot like you. hehe.