(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

yenny,
my galfriend gave me a tin of frisocream too... but i heard frisocream quite sweet and will result to more phlegm leh.. my gal already got phlegm liao and i'm afraid frisocream will add on more phlegm to my gal. since you tried frisocream before, it that true it's sweet?

i also kept wondering when will i start having a good nite rest... seems like this never happens for very long liao. since the day when we got pregnant till now. haiz...

YB,
my gal also likes to suck/lick her fists/fingers. my sil told me that Guardian is selling something bitter (duno what's that thing) that can applied to bb's fingers and when they put their fingers into their mouth and taste that bitterness, they will not dare do it next time... but i duno is it good for bb or not. it is meant for training babies....

May,
I fed my gal fever medicine only AFTER she developed a fever that measures 37.2 degree celcius (if you take temp from bb's ear).
after the jab, the nurse told me to monitor her temperature and if her temp hits 37.2 then start to feed the medicine. if hits 37.5, gotta bring her back to the clinic. if no fever, no need to feed leh...

forgot to mentioned after the jab, monitor bb's temperature for the first 6 hours. if she doesnt develop fever after 6 hours, means most likely she will not have fever liao...

my gal's temperature slowly increased and hits 37.2 degree celcius at the 6th hours after jab.

geberra
I nvr gave my elder gal frisocream, forgot the brand of cereal i gave her, too long ago. or else i try this friday, then let u know if my son likes it or not...

Gebbera
I gave my boy barely before he went for his 4th mth jab. Lucky no fever!

Fruitee, thanks for complimenting Elkan. I guess all babies are cute, especially in their parents' eyes!

Hi Jul04, yes, I remember there's a baby Keagan at the TMC NICU. Elkan stayed 13 nights there. What about Keagan? Yes, Dr Eunice Chua is our OB and Dr Ong is our PD. Glad you noticed the 'magazine' cover!

Hi Hong & Z-Lia, Elkan doesn't look like a preemie because he has grown up now! He was really small then.
Elkan was born 23rd July when his EDD was 3rd Sep.

YB - Ya, heard about mixing brown rice with milk also. Will see by 5th month when we go for his last jab.

Geb - Ya lor...so worried now. Eu Yan Sang? Tell us more. At 15wks and 6 days, my boy weigh 6.5kg..at 50%. Height is at 62cm..at 25%, I think.

Yenny - Do tell us about it when you feed your boy frisocreme, ok?

Geberra
The nurse from the polyclinic asked me to monitor for 24 hrs leh. I gave my son paracetemol when his temp reached 37.4 degees

yenny, although the nurse told us to monitor for the first 6 hours, we monitor her thru' out loh. cos she already develop fever mah. took her temperature every 2 hours for 2 days 2 nites loh...

you know, when i found out that fion developed fever, i heartpain and worried till i cried... my mum and dad were shocked to see me cry loh... kekeke...

geberra
why u cry? aiyo, fever very common after jab. Moreover i dun think they are uncomfortable cos my son still active leh. But u 1st time month, cannot blame. This is my 2nd child, so i not as gan jiong as the 1st time ...

geberra,
my doc/nurse told me 37.7degrees on armpit temp than give paracetemol....(that was the first hep b jab). my girl haven't done second one. I use to feed my older girl paracetemol once home from jab becoz it is more comfortable for them and they will be less cranky. if not, by the time you feed them, they would have suffered quite a bit. Paracetemol is a safe form of medicine. My girl being sick was on paracetemol for abt 1 wk every 6 hrly.
Don't worry so much. they just feel a little uncomfortable.

yenny,
starting feeding soon ah.!!! I think like what you say, bb feel fuller, maybe can sleep better.but usually, feeding is done in the afternoon... my girl also i think is ready, when you put a spoon at her mouth, she will open her mouth!!! But, i'll wait till 6mths and i'll be strict coz my girl seems sensitive to certain foods.
Yenny,

Before I went for Baby's 3rd mth jab, I actually went to Fu Hua to buy Ling Yang, but the sales person there suggust that I start with Chinese Barley first instead of Ling Yang. He says drink Ling Yang only if he has fever.

Me too feel like starting with brown rice or whatever that can mix into milk. My baby been refusing milk and sleep! My household chores are pileing up like a mountain. Fresocreme needs to be mixed? Kin - do u think brown rice will cause allergy? I wanna start but scare at the same time. He's turing 4 mths tmr~~~ but going for jab only at the 11th.

BTW, anyone going for the pigeon WH sales?

yenny,
i very "han bao" one... kekeke... i knew bb will have fever after certain jab and i wasnt informed that 5-in-1 will cause fever. i only knew 6-in-1 will. if i knew, i would have boil some barley or "ling yang" for fion to take one day before her jab loh...

Fruitee,
did you give china barley? heard gotta be china barley leh cos china barley is more cooling (liang) and will not cause phlegm wherelse the normal barley will cause phlegm.

JP,
the EYS sales aunty told me their brown rice is very good and healthy... it's called brown rice si shen powder. the si shen powder will improve your digestion system...

yenny,
ya i know it''s typo error...
no worries...

kin,
thot hep B jab wont cause fever? how come yours will? the nurse and doc me wont leh... hmmm????

Fruitee,
how i wish my gal can reach 90% ar... fat babies looks cuter mah... kekeke...

PM,
really ah? should start with china barley first ah? aiyo... initially i wanted to buy china barley one... then the EYS lady told me "ling yang" will have greater effect... how leh? my bb will be having her 2nd 5-in-1 jab soon. what shld i do? china barley or ling yang? my household chores also piling... see liao also pek chek....

PM, i working liao.. so usually no tim eto come in.. even got time to come in also just read no time to join in discussion..

That day i was at Shop and Safe, i found out that beside frisocreme that is for 4mth old bb, Heinz also have rice cereal for bb from 4mths. U mummies might wanna go take a look. Dunno good or not.

Gebbera
Yah.. my mum brew china barley for him to drink loh..
PD says my boy will have a difficult time to flip ah.. cos of his weight... GOSH!!!

Better start brown rice liao.. observing my boy hor.. eversince when he took brown rice in his 3rd mths when he didnt wanna take FM, his body bua seems more fit ley.. hard hard one.. fit fit.. heheh...

Dsssssiiiiii
My neighbour hor say dun need the pump liao.. U can continue with you... no hurry hor...

yenny,
ya i know it''s typo error...
no worries...

kin,
thot hep B jab wont cause fever? how come yours will? the nurse and doc me wont leh... hmmm????

Fruitee,
how i wish my gal can reach 90% ar... fat babies looks cuter mah... kekeke...

PM,
really ah? should start with china barley first ah? aiyo... initially i wanted to buy china barley one... then the EYS lady told me "ling yang" will have greater effect... how leh? my bb will be having her 2nd 5-in-1 jab soon. what shld i do? china barley or ling yang? my household chores also piling... see liao also pek chek....

oops.. double postings...

fruitee,
kekeke... tell your boi, JIA YOU JIA YOU... seems like it's not too late to start introducing brown rice now... hmm... very tempted to try now since my gal's appetite not so good.

geberra,
My older girl took 5 in one, my younger one took 6 in one. Both have fevers for most of their jabs. Older girl took from polyclinic, younger one took from PD. But not to worry. it is normal and it varies from baby to baby. The PD also told me that although the vaccines used bt all docs include poly are the same, they may come from different companies ie, different grade. so some more prone to side effects. Then again, it really depends on yr bb. so don't worry too much. give bb lots of fluid....smile

Gebbera
I have no regrets to try brown rice for my boy when he didnt wan FM.. looking at his texture of the skin now.. just feel like biting him... ahhahah.. I everyday also tell him, better buck up.. ahha

Fruitee..for a start did u how much milk to add to 1 scope of cereal? can dont add milk?

My gal 25% only, hopefully after ceareal can increase her weight : )

Dsii,
Aiyo...Ian got eczema too? For his face hor, I apply the cream then hazeline cream and it helps. If Ian sleeps aircon then have to apply moisturizer all over the body, cos dry then will trigger. My boy's condition got very bad, until rash oozing...have to bring him to dermatologist at KKH. Was given antibiotics but I still hesitant to give....so xin tong...just now cry again...haiz.

Gebbera,
Yup Yup. My gynae also Eunice Chua. Hee...think most of her patients follow her recommendation and go with Dr Ong.

Pat,
Are you the Daddy or Mummy? I think the night I was going down to the labour ward, we took the same lift with the daddy. Also ran into each other a few times going in and out of NICU. Of course, we noticed the poster. It's very BIG and nice! My hubby also used to be from FC before we got married. Now we are in TCC.

Hong,
If my boy's condition improve then I will come for gathering, else have to stay home with him.

Fruitee,
I also scared my boy too big ah...we weighed him today...8kg! equivalent to the size of a 6mth old for boys...

Gebbera, I gave baby Germayn zhen1 zhu1 fen3 b4 her first 5-in-1 jab. one of my friends recommended tt to me cos she did tt for her boy and he has nv gotten fever after his jabs.

Z-lia,
i also bought the pearl powder for fion but i heard again that it's not advisable to always feed them that as pearl powder is something that is hard to digest as babies are still young and their digestive system are not so strong yet...

Fruitee,
kekeke... i also feel like biting fion though she's skinny. hubby too. he kept asking by when then can he bite fion... hahaha....

Jul04,
dont you think Dr Ong has got a comdey face? kekeke.... he's very friendly that i cant deny...

Geberra
Dr. Ong toks like he's rushing for the last mrt, very fast. Sometimes I really got to listen carefully. nevertheless he's really good, solve all my problems even b4 i voice them out. But he is expensive and his clinic always packed.

MTDT
ur boy very cute. His double eyelid so deep, very handsome. My son's double eyelid only appear when he is tired...

Jul04,
OK OK.

Fruitee,
Yah brown rice is gd... My Janelle also taking it when she is young, took until quite old.

Gebbera, Z-lia,
Both of kids took pearl powder.
My daughter took alot when she was young especially when she cough and got alot of phlegm. Its help to cool the body down and get rid of phlegm. It works well for her all the times. Smore she dun have very gd skin always got mark after MOQ stings her. So also to make her skin smoother. hee hee..

My MIL is giving Julian "Pao Sheng" water for him now so to prevent fever after the jab.

Zita,
most of the cereal contain milk so only need to add water.

zita
I cook the brown rice with 220ml of water with 4 tea spoon of brown rice then after that i add 2 scope of milk powder then let him drink. that's how i did la.. havent tried without milk powder ley..

Jul04
Ya loh I also scare but PD says dun jian fei for him.. how much he wans just let him wor... so maybe just as per wat PD says loh..

Gebbera
ahhaha... your hb so cute loh.. at times I even feel like sucking him back to my stomach.. ahhaha.. especially when smell his bb smell.. wahhhhhhh buay tahan...heheh

Fruitee,
u add so much brown rice? I think i only add 2 spoons, cook the brown rice then add water + milk powder

HI MTDT,

your boy is so cute...can flip and lift up head!!! My boy still cannot leh...aiyo...dunno if it is due to his weight...abt 8kg at 12 weeks.

Hmmm...seems like a number of mummies are starting on solids for their babies at 4months. I was thinking abt it too cos I realise my bb milk intake has been reduced (from 180ml to 120ml) but interval is shorten (from 4 hours to 3 hours now
) What is the first food that is good for bb to start with? Brown rice powder or cereal? How many feeds per day?

Hi fruitee,

You bought the brown rice in powder form or cook them with 220ml of water? Abit confused here :p U let me know okie

blessings - wow!! 8kg at 12weeks?? PICS!!! :p
Zav now is abt 7.5-8kg.. coming to 5mths liao.

actually thinking of starting solid when he turn 5mths... but recently my rashes came back... n he also kenna some at his eyebrow area. so think i will only start after he hit 6mths.

Hong
I ever put 2 teaspoon of brown rice but hor... that boy 2 and half hrs ask for milk again.. so I tried 4 teaspoon at least that make him 4hrs then ask for milk liao..

Blessings
I bought the brown rice powder form... then cook with 220ml of water..

Hi Fruitee,

So that means cook until like paste form? then add milk powder and add water again? wah so complex leh...hahaha

Hi MTDT,
My PD said my bb weight is above average when I brought him for his 3rd mth jab so when I told her abt his erratic milk qty, she said dun have to worry lor. Aiyo, my good friend's son is 10.5kg at 4th month....really little michelin and chubby...cute cute...I will upload my bb's pics soon...hee hee

I love chubby babies!!!
CUTE!

I wanted bb z to be chubbier...
but he start to lose weight when i started work... n was sick twice.

just wondering what is considered having a temperature? 37.5 degrees onwards? bb took his 4th month jab last wk while nursing a cough and had a temp of 37.6. i didn't let him take fever meds ley, just use cold compact on his forehead.

i just started my boy on cereal, mix wif FM into a sort of watery paste and feed him using weaning spoon. thank goodness he didnt reject it.

missmoon - becos i send bb to infantcare when i start work. think lack of TLC from mummy bah! haha :p also he fell sick with cold twice.

rashes - dunno due to wat leh. scare it's becos i hv slight enzema, then kenna him also.

It's at one of his eyebrow there n it seems to be spreading.

I read tat parents with enzema's history, better dun start solid early. so i think i better wait awhile more. lucky now his milk intake still quite ok. recently increase amt somemore. :p

Blessings
dun cook milk powder with the paste ley.. after the brown rice become paste hor.. pour into the milk bottle then put milk powder... no need to add water liao.. remember u already put water cooking with the brown rice liao..