(2006/07) JULY 2006 MTB

Hi missmoon,

I have been practising yoga in True yoga but after I pregnant,stopped already cos cannot exercise at that time as instructed by gynae. By the time, I am able to, already too tired to do so...
Anyway, dun do it in True Yoga...expensive and until now, I have billing dispute with them and they havent settle it for me. So eager to sell me package initially but when it comes to customer service, it is lousy lah!

Gaia Yoga and Shambala are good...classes are small...but also not cheap.

wah..all toking abt exercise.....*faint* all so 'gu lak' leh..me the laziest...do yoga...think i cant lah...all bending and stretching...cant bend and stetch..hahaha...too much fats liao..hahahaa

hi blessings
i see. i was very put off by True Yoga after repeated calls from them to ask me to sign up, but when i ask to see their schedule, they took forever to get it to me. infact, i dun think i ever received it :p

Gaia Yoga - i attended their sessions when they first opened, and the classes were quite big, more than 15, i think. but u're right, they r quite ex too. were you doing hatha yoga or ashtanga led?

since then, i've found some independent small studios and i like that the classes are small, more one-to-one contact so i know if i'm doing the poses correctly. been wif this studio for many years liao

Dsii
Bo pian, must exercise liao... me joining Missmoon.. hehe.. me sooooooooo fat, see myself I also feel disgusted loh..

Hi missmoon, I like some of the teachers there. class size really depends. There's once got over 20 people in the class. However, the teacher is good so she is able to manage the class well.
I ever attended one trial class at pure yoga but did not went back as dun like the environment.

LAst time for astanga I used to go to this place at Club street. Like it there as they dun have aircon so you really sweat. However stop after pregnant. Thinking of going back once my strenght and stamina is better. Which other small studio did you went to??

Hi dsii, should try. Good to keep body flexible so that old age liao won't be too stiff.

but if want lose weight must do astanga liao. others more for flexibilty.

wow... all talking about exercising already? haha.. i broke my toe a 3 weeks back (short version: i walked into a sofa)... so even if wanted to exercise still cannot. now still limping around.

i'm not a yoga person but more of a pilates person tho i've been wanting to try out yoga. hubby doesn't like me to even try yoga.. says it's some type of worship ritual.. (???!) joined a pilates class back in uni.. and was goin to the california fitness one before preggie.. quite like the california fitness instructor.. but it's way too crowded. packed like sardines n so close to other pple.

positive babies trial class - full already? if got space or if anyone drops out i wanna try too.. but only weekends convenient tho..

current list:
1) OC
2) Missmoon
3) MTDT
4) Fruitee
5) Hong
6) Lucida
7) dsiitan
8) zita
9) misaryeo
10) brambles
11) MTDT's fren
12) peachsorbet

Lucida,

Hmm...wat sort of yoga im doing?
those relaxation exercise(savasana),
nose cleansing,
standing postures(chest expansion,ujjayi breath,sun salutation,ballet posture etc..),
warrior postures,
locust n bow,
lying on tummy/back exe n sitting exe(yoga flow etc...),
mermaid,
camel(yoga mudra)

1 week 2X doing all these steps at home.recently no time to practise got to look after bb.been stopped for nearly a year since pregnant.i didnt sign up at california or Amore coz i find them 2 far.i do yoga at SSC or C.C tat r near to my place.

hi lucida
i did hatha and ashtanga at a studio in chinatown, i think it was smith street/trengganu street, then she closed the studio and freelancing now in the bigger studios. now, i am wif yogaheart. just started my practice again, hatha yoga.

i heard about hot yoga and always wanted to try but never found the time to go. doubt i can do ashtanga now without fainting, hehe. after i was into yoga, i didn't really enjoy pilates anymore.

peach, i think there are some places where yoga is practised wif a religious intent but there are many places that offer yoga as a form of well-being and exercise, no chanting one

WOW, talking abt Yoga.
I tired once at the CC, i dun really like the trainer. She doesnt seem very professional and the class is very big like 20++ pple. Mostly are aunties leh.

Joykel,
who is the yoga trainer u always follow when u join the yoga class at CC? Which CC did u go?

Mummies who signed up gym. Can help me to assess to see if the offer is gd.

there is a gym near my office. I intend to sign up so i can go exercise in the morning before work and drop by during lunch time.

$30 (admin fee) for transfer membership from collick
$45 + 2.25 GST month subscription
1 month free personal locker
3 x free vouchor for personal trainer.

Beside gym, they have tennis court, swimming pool, squah court, pool table, free use of aerobic class.

Hi missmoon,

I have been practising hatha and ashtanga but I perfer hatha...tried hot yoga...no tbad, perspire like mad but sometimes can be breathless.

I saw the Wong Li-Lin's slim figure (1.7m at 49kg?? this is skinny manz)....wah...I think I must be abit more "gu lak" already else I feel very fat now...must head down to gym this weekend...cannot be a fat and lazy mama...hahaha

Oh yes, BTW, mummies, do you let your babies sleep on pillow? There is this babysafe infant pillow...not sure whether I shld buy or not...cos right now, I just put a piece of napkin and he sleeps on it. Any advice?

hmmm...hong, swimming sounds good...but then I wonder if I can still fit into my bikini....will look like a fat mama bursting in a bikini...with fats oozing out....hahaha. Aiyo, how to get rid of the extra kgs...headache!!!

blessings
my bb dun sleep on pillows, just napkins. i read somewhere that it's not good to let bbs sleep on pillows until they're about 6 months? cos their neck still soft, so best not to raise their head now.

Blessings,
u can invest on babysafe pillow. It is gd. i got all the range except the one with a hole in the mid. My boy is sleep on pillow, he dun like to lay flat.

Bikini... aiyo i dun dare lah.

Lucida,
I'm also thinking of signing up for TMC's baby massage class. Let me know your feedback after sat ok?

Re: GAIA,
Is it really good for babies with eczema? My boy has eczema and he's always itching. If good must go get and try. see him itchy i also gek sim...

Re: swimming
Haiz...i got a lot of stretch marks from pregnancy esp at the low waist area...red red one...doubt i'll be able to wear a 2 pc liao...any mummies got remedy?

Hi missmoon,

really? cannot sleep on pillow now?

Hi hong,

Yes, I like babysafe stuff...i bought their latex mattress...very good...their bedsheets are equally good as well....very soft and nice feel. So I am wondering if it is ok to buy their latex infant pillow now...cos missmoon said not advisable mah...

hi blessings
that's wat the book recommended ley but i think so long as not too raised shld be ok? for me, i put 2 pieces of napkins so they're slightly raised, a gentle slope for bb to rest his head. i also bought the babysafe one, latex one (now sitting inside cupboard waiting to be used), and currently using their latex mattress as well. oh, when i bought the infant pillow, the sales lady actually told me also, that dun let bb use pillow until they can support their own neck...meaning like ard this time or slightly older?

hi missmoon,

i see. then perhaps I shld wait for a while first...unless they have special discount lah...then I grab lor...hee hee. Thanks for the info!

aiyo, my boy likes to take his nap in the netted bouncer...I bought the playpen with mattress for him at my mum's place but he did not want to sleep in there...slept a while...woke up already. Just afraid that the bouncer may not be too good for his back if sleep for too long...what shall i do? is it because it is too warm in the playpen?

Hong
the gym that you mentioned seems good ley.. where's your office??? Wat's the location?? I dun mind checking it out

blessings, no prob

my boy was sleeping in a playpen and cannot sleep long in it. it's too warm cos he perspires. now, he can nap longer in the netted bouncer or rocker chair, but i think it cannot support his weight liao (esp bad for his back/spine), so i switched him to this korean brand chair, can bounce as well can convert to high chair for later. so now, i more fang4 xin1 wif him on this new bounver/rocker wif better support.

Hi missmoon,

my gal likes to sleep in her fp bouncer in the day but she's getting too long for it! What's the korean brand bouncer? I would like to check it out.

I ever asked the PD whether there will be any neg effects if sleep in bouncer for too long..he said no. I'm rather concern about the bad posture baby may develop though.

cham ah...*yawnzzzzz* im so tired....ian hor..these 2 days ki siao liao..dun sleep well leh...half an hr or 1 hr will wake up..in between still cry...pengz...i want to take nap oso cant....how ah???

hi missmoon,

what is the brand/model no of this bouncer/rocker? How much and where can get it? But will it be too warm if sleep there for too long?

hi dsii,
u mean ian cant sleep long for his nap? this is not often right? If not, then perhaps one of his "unusual" days lor...sometimes my boy also like that...then when it comes to evening time, he sleeps when I am ready to clean him up for the night...pengz...

I also want to join the positive baby trial class. Adding my name to the list.

current list:
1) OC
2) Missmoon
3) MTDT
4) Fruitee
5) Hong
6) Lucida
7) dsiitan
8) zita
9) misaryeo
10) brambles
11) MTDT's fren
12) peachsorbet
13) lala

hi may
if im not wrong, the korean brand name is Les Bebe. you can check this out at baby kingdom/baby hypermart. it's selling in JL also, now having bb fair there. its very similar to the Combi one but cheaper.

i got it at baby hypermart for $140 (a little discount given) otherwise it's retailed at $149. it's got 3 adjustable heights, can rock/bounce. then adjust the back (3 diff inclinations, i think)

ya, i'm concerned about my bb's back also, my PD said the same thing but i dun believe ley cos it definitely doesn't look like it's good for bb's back to be so not supported.

Fruitee,
my office at Science Park 1. Not very accessible. If u are not then tenant here better dun sign up cos so troublesome to reach here. After 7pm, it is like a deserted place. No bus and got to call cab.

If u are not working in Science park then the admin fee is $100.
I got it at $30 cos i take over someone memebership, more like a transfer fee.

Blessings,
if the netted bouncer not gd then how abt sarong also netted leh.

Missmoon,Blessing,
we also got a playpen for my boy but he dun like it. So end up he sleep on the mattress place on the floor with MIL and my girl.

dsii... my girl too. same same. dont sleep for long leh and always keep wanting to be carried and walk around. is this period another growth spurt???

haiz...dunno is it growth spurt loh...damn sianz one...dunno what he wants...i applied ru yi oil liao leh....still like that...u can see his tired eyes...but just dun wan to koon....

Hi dsii/brambles, I think my son growth spurt also.. wow liao every 1 plus hour want to drink. somemore each time latch on for almost an hour and still wan. after that very lethargic..

Hi Jul04, I jsut cancel the massage class. not going. The video I bought got abit of baby massage stuff and I think I can learn from books. Save $$... can spend on my yoga class.. ha ha..

Hi Mich,
I've PM u the contact of my GP already. Todate, I've lost about 2.5kg after taking the medications. But I still have another 5kg to lose b4 I return back to my pre-preg weight.

Hi MICH, did you call the babes & cream under name Michelle?? cos' the lady call me and ask when we want the class to be.

Actually are we all fine with saturday or sunday afternoon??

lucida
hahhaa..MTDT also named michelle leh..hehehe..but surname teo lah...

me ok with any timing...just inform me loh..hehehee

lucida - YUP!!

the lady did say that she reserve one slot for a group of moms. so it's u huh!
hahaha...

i also ok with sat/sun...
but pref to be early of the day, if not, bb too tired to enjoy liao.

hong,
i went to Pasir ris CC beside polyclinic,i dun knw her name..she's a malay lady.learned yoga frm another chinese lady instructor,she used to teach in my condo..i address her (Ling) frm bedok area.as for bedok sport council...indian lady(Carmen).

Hello, depending on the time (if sat mornings), i would wanna join. hehe. Mabbe if we have enough we can form 2 classes? hehe.

current list:
1) OC
2) Missmoon
3) MTDT
4) Fruitee
5) Hong
6) Lucida
7) dsiitan
8) zita
9) misaryeo
10) brambles
11) MTDT's fren
12) peachsorbet
13) lala
14) Z-Lia

MTDT,
next weekend shld be ok for me. I also prefer sat morning. thanks.

Fruitee,
why dun u try Amore but some center can bequite crowded.